Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Brasserie 701

Inspired by Paris’s golden-era brasseries, Brasserie 701 welcomes you in a chic decor with its grandiose neo-classical architecture and a lively ambiance. The bustling brasserie serves French brasserie classics from breakfast through supper every day, with brunch served on weekends.

Please take note that minors are not allowed in the restaurant.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montréal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday to Friday : 6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday to Sunday : 6:30am to 9am

Brunch
Saturday to Sunday : 9am to 3pm

Lunch
Monday to Friday : 11am to 3pm

Dinner
Sunday to Wednesday: 3pm à 11pm
Thursday to Saturday : 3pm to midnight

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://brasserie701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $12 at night and free for lunch.
Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Lucas Hadengue

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Craquez pour l’ambiance chic décontractée de la Suite 701 et découvrez le délicieux menu urbain. Les plats, élaborés à partir de la culture et des ingrédients locaux, offrent le meilleur des brasseries modernes.

Brasserie 701 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (14)
See All
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Scenic View (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful meal with great service. We had an early reservation of 5:30, so initially there were very few in the restaurant. However as the dinner went on, the house filled up, and service was not impacted. Great drinks. Wonderful foi gras. Defiantly will visit again on next trip to Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We were visiting Montreal for a weekend out of town. We've been to Montreal many times and wanted to try a new restaurant. The food and waitstaff were fantastic. However, we were disappointed by our table placement. The restaurant was only half full - the front of the house full and back of the house empty. The hostess offered us a cramped table in front of the front door. We asked if there was another option and she walked us past all the other open tables to a row of three tables for 2 directly in front of the waitstaff station where they enter orders and prepare tables. This was also near the restrooms and hotel elevators. We were stunned. If the restaurant were full we could have understood but the restaurant was 3/4 empty. The table placement took away from our experience. Given the many choices we have in Montreal, we are likely to not return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

They need to get their act together (maybe they can't). Dishes are of poor quality. Beef tartar was ok. Goat cheese salad was poor. Soggy salad and the dressing was wrong. The escargot dis was inedible. The waitress offered to change it. Took the goat cheese salad instead (see above). The flank steak was good but the French fries were soggy . The side salad which came with the steak was inedible because of a sweet inappropriate dressing. The only positive was that our waitress was very good. We spent two hundred bucks. Money out the window. Skip this place. Too many good restaurants in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sommes allé là surtout pour aller déjeuner sur la terrasse. Nous nous sommes fait répondre qu'on ne pouvait pas manger sur la terrasse pour déjeuner. Grosse déception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service with a wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Visiting Montreal and was recommended Brasserie 701 by a friend, and WOW! Great location, right near Notre Dame Basilica in Old Montreal. Wonderful menu, we both had the chicken and waffles, I highly recommend for a nice quiet brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Although nobody told us, we were rejected. Argument was that we had our 13 year old daughter with us and the restaurant claimed access above 18 only. Not a single hint on the homepage (at least not possible to find anything easily) nor on OpenTAble. Totally disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We found it to be extremely loud inside. So much so that conversation was impossible. We asked to be moved outside and were much more comfortable. The food and service were amazing. Best filet I have ever had! Would defenitly return, but only to eat ouside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was really fun ! Beautiful place ! food is good , service good ! A bit pricey but worth it :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Beautiful venue, great food and superb service. Our waitor Gavin made our experience and evening extra special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food here was good. However, with the very high Trip Advisor rating we expected more. The menu was limited with quality ingredients, but not particularly creative or unique. Our drinks and salads were the best parts of the meal. The entree quality may have been better, but I believe it sat on the warmer for quite awhile. My plate was too hot to touch and my fries were flavorful but had lost all crunch. Setting of this restaurant is nice with outdoor seating overlooking Norte Dame. However, in just a few blocks you are within old Montreal port area and all of the charm that it has to offer. Overall, I wouldn't object to eating here again, but don't think it lives up to it's ranking with all that Montreal has to offer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

On visit to Montreal, was searching for a typical french dinner/brasserie
Found this place which is much more than that!
Good cocktails, beautiful ambiente and good food, reasonable priced.
Don't skip dessert !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Though the wait for the risotto was long, the food was very tasty. Good cocktails, nice service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

excellent food/presentation/selection; good bar! Only negative aspect of dinner was the lessening of attentive service as the restaurant became busier- didn't expect constant monitoring, but no one coming by to see if meal OK till half done, no periodic refills of water or checking for additional drink/beverage order, another cup of coffee - seemed remiss for the classiness of the place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Un lieu vraiment atypique ! Une très bonne brasserie chique, des serveurs aux petits soins pour les clients. La carte est assez petite ce qui est à la fois un avantage et un inconvénient. Peut-être suis-je un peu difficile, mais même si je me suis vraiment régalé, je trouve qu'il manque un petit quelque chose pour rendre les plats exceptionnels ! Vous n'êtes pas loin ! On sent qu'il y a quand même une exigence sur la qualité des produits. Les cocktails créés sur place et préparés devant nous sont vraiment bons.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

ambiance beaucoup trop bruyante pour un repas de cette qualité , impossible de parler à ses voisins de table sans hurler
ambiance digne d'une boite de nuit , pas d' un restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Went to Brasserie 701 for a special fine dining meal before viewing Avudo. The service was attentive without smothering us. The homemade focaccia was warm and delectable. The Risotto Primavera was also delicious. A very warm and inviting restaurant!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Friendly staff, great service and wine list. Well located and an interesting menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The reviews on this restaurant are quite mixed. I gave them the benefit of the doubt which was a mistake.

Bottom line is that the food is average for the price. Nothing memorable but fine - except the quality and pace of service are well below average.

Our server was perfunctory- not a word I use often but a good description in this case. She took our order and the starters came out on time but it was downhill from there. It was almost an hour for our mains to arrive. Again they were fine but you could have similar or better in many other places nearby.

While we were waiting a party that appeared to be the owners or other "VIP's" came in and had gushing service with their meals arriving promptly. This gives you a good idea of the attitude of the restaurant.

If you want a drink in an attractive environment this is an OK option. Otherwise there are many better options in the area. It's a shame a mediocre restaurant is associated with an outstanding hotel.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Perfect level of background noise which created a lively atmosphere without it being necessary to raise voices in order to converse. Excellent, friendly and attentive service. Good menu choice and wine list. Food very well cooked and well presented without being over fussy. We chose based on reviews and proximity to hotel Nelligan. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love this place, excellent ambiance, excellent menu (outstanding knife cut steak tartar) and the rooftop bar is simply incredible, a must in Montreal's Old Port area...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2017

nous avions eu une petite inquetude au depart en raison de la musique un peu forte.....mais par la suite avec le repas.....nous avons oublier la musique!. ambiance tres chaleureuse. service excellent, et la bouffe cetait tres bon....je recommande!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was excellent and service efficient. Only criticism, it is extremely noisy, loud music which generated loud diners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Muy grato ambiente, buena gastronomía tipo Bistro Frances con un toque quebecois y un bar en la azotea del edificio fenomenal...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Brasserie 701 was a great spot for dinner. Food was well presented, fresh and full of flavour. A great wine selection and interesting cocktails rounded out this beautiful establishment in the heart of Old Montreal. Check out the roof top patio for some pre dinner drinks to, amazing views of the city!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were a group of 8 and had an excellent table, and the food was very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals, especially the duck breast. And the chocolate dessert was divine. However, while all the staff was very courteous, service was very slow. It took almost 40 minutes for everyone to get their first drink, and the mains were not served until we had been there almost 2 hours. Then we were asked if we would be staying past 9, since they had another reservation. Again very polite, and assured us that we could stay as long as we wanted, and they would seat the other party somewhere else, but they never should have asked us in the first place. We did point out that it was the slow service that caused us to be still there for more than 3 hours. Would I go again? Yes, the food was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

C'était très bon et l'ambiance excellente Nous suggérerons à nos amis(e) d'y aller en tout temps.Malheureusement il pleuvait cette journée là Nous n'avons pas été sur leur terrasse

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing spot to bring a group and have fun. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. The food is on par with other high quality restaurants and the desserts are exceptional.
Will be back when I return to MTL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service, food and ambiance !! Our server was amazing :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here! Our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful, in choosing the best wines, appetizers and entrees.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and really nice servers, plus wonderful welcoming ambiance

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Beautiful, trendy restaurant with very lively and energetic feel! Food and service were both very good and we loved the top 40 music that was blasting but it was LOUD.. Hard to talk and not a spot if you are looking for quiet dinner.. But perfect for girls night out!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing food, ambiance and service! Had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2017

From Toronto, in Montreal for the weekend. Delicious food! The pan seared gnocchi was mouth watering. The ambiance was lovely. Bright, beautiful, high ceilings, fantastic mirrors. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

You can cut the tops off champagne bottles with a saber. Enough said.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service was slow. Food was good. Ambiance was fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I went here before seeing Circ de Solei with my boyfriend in the Old Port of Montreal. We arrived for our reservation early and asked for a table that had a booth side to it, the hostess sat us there and informed us that we were early and could order some food items and drinks but couldnt put in entrees until the kitchen officially opened at five. We had an amazing meat and cheese charcuterie board and the strawberry basil martinis, both the cheese board and the drinks were fantastic. We ordered the flank steak and the quebec chicken for our entrees and they were both outstanding as well. All the food and drinks were amazing. A couple of the waitresses, however, were unattentive and one of them even rolled her eyes when we asked to sit at a certain table that we were originally not being brought over to... kind of annoying because the restaurant isnt cheap and we were the first people there so why not be able to pick where we sit? The food was amazing and I would go back for that alone.... watch out for the blonde waitress with the extra long fake eyelashes - she's pretty rude!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was good we had escargot and burgers. Burger was overpriced for what it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We gave up after waiting for our breakfast for one hour. Atmosphere was fun and energetic and drinks were good, was disappointed with service and didn't get to try the food to comment there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

If the food comes, it is very good
We had a 1PM brunch reservation and were seated within a few mins.
The waiter came over promptly asking about drinks order.
The restaurant was a mostly full brunch crowd with some open seats
Around 1:15-1:20 the waiter came to take our order. We ordered a small share plate to start before our main brunch courses. It was a good thing that we told him to bring that first because our food did not show up for about an hour. The starter showed up in a reasonable time. However, that was the last we saw of food for a long time. The waiter kept on saying, within 10 mins. The people around us who were seated after us got their food, some finished and left.
At 40 mins, I started really inquiring. Supposedly they checked in the kitchen...soon. At 50 mins, it was time to move on. I asked the hostess how long should it take to get a meal, she said about 30 mins when busy. I said, this has been 50 mins. It's time to leave. I was looking for our waiter and the Maitre d' to tell them to just forget it. Within a few mins, they appeared with our food giving up the choice to either leave or take the food at no cost. We graciously took the food. Admittedly, it was very good. Everything was delicious. The pulled pork wrap was superior. The crepes were excellent as were the waffles and eggs Benedict.
I am not sure if it was worth an hour's wait but the restaurant did make up for their shortfall
We will probably go back but we will be on guard for our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.