Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Bourbon House

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Catering:
To learn more about Dickie Brennan & Co.'s catering options, please contact Sales at 504-274-1816.

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Eric Cook

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: (504) 521-8310

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
People Watching (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Scenic View (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

As a local, this is one of my "go to" places to take friends from out of town.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Bailey our drink and dessert server was AMAZING!! He was so nice and personable and made great drink suggestions for everyone. He deserves a raise! Or a promotion!!

Food was amazing too. Red fish on the half shell was just as great as i was promised it would be.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Worst breakfast ever. Overpriced, terrible flavor, sad little portions. AVOID.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always need to visit the Bourban House when in New Orleans 😊

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

38th wedding anniversary !! Food and service was great. We are looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Ate a couple of dozen oysters raw and chargrilled and they were a treat. Had the seasonal pasta dish cooked to perfection and my guests ordered the redfish on the half shell and it of course was terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Hotel restaurants get a bad rap but Bourbon House, like all Brennan properties, is high-quality and consistent. Besides the food, which is always good, I love the floor-to-ceiling arched windows looking out to Bourbon Street. Best people-watching spot in New Orleans. Friendly, expert staff and outstanding food. Love love love the milk punch. Don't pass by this restaurant just because it's connected to a hotel (Astor Crowne Plaza). Go!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

My experience was great. I don't have any complaints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great dinner! Really enjoyed sitting at the oyster bar and talking with staff... highly educational and fun.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was very New Orleans. Delightful cuisine. Robust environment. Good price. Good for groups and business meals.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was excited to go to this restaurant after reading the reviews. I chose this for my husband and I's first anniversary. We ordered oysters to start, which I have to say was the best part of the whole experience. A man who specialized in the drinks came to take our drink order. He said he would be back to check on us, but never returned until our drinks had been empty for 10+ minutes and we were pretty much finished. Our food was rushed, our entrees were brought out before we finished our soup. Other tables were giving bags of French bread, which we were not. The crab stuffed fish was dry. My husbands tuna was decent. Overall very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We went in a couple of times during our visit to New Orleans this past week. Antonio and Sandy were the 1st two we encountered on our monday arrival. I had the BBQ Shrimp - GREAT and messy. Also had the grilled oysters - GREAT again. Try the Dark and Stormy and Milk Punch they were both wonderful, even had milk punch for breakfast.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great service! Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This would be our second trip to bourbon house , first time we got up and walked our as the wait staff didn't acknowledge us after quite some time so we left . Really wanted to try it so we gave it Nother go -big mistake. Really super nice waitress bur very poor attention to detail even though there was a great deal of wAit staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We frequent Brennan's restaurants and don't mind paying for quality food. The service was poor and the food overpriced. Part of the meal came late and cold. The?server tried to fix it by giving us a free drink to go- it didn't work. I will not dine at this restaurant again. The folks seated next to us were very load and appeared drunk. Taken together, we won't be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was excellent and because it was Coolinary month (Aug), the special menu was a bargain. Cocktails were great, atmosphere was wonderful and service was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Located in the French Quarter, the food was outstanding. Also, the protein portions were really large, so you're not just paying to fill up on bread. The service was good. There is construction work outside right now, but normally, you would have a great view of Bourbon Street.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

First night of our honeymoon :-) service was great and seafood gumbo was BEYOND AMAZING!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

5 stars from start to finish. Foo was out of this world

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Spicy, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great spur of the moment early Sunday lunch. Brunch items also available. Everything was tasty with great service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was good, service ok, it was a convenient spot as we stayed at the hotel restaurant was housed in

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 17, 2017

First time visit to this Brennan's restaurant, and it did not disappoint. The Summer special of shrimp fettuccine and house salad was fantastic and worth the money.

The service was exceptional and we did not want for anything. Looking forward to returning for dinner in the future. Definite 'must try' restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Given the crappy places located along Bourbon Street, you'd be hard pressed to find a better cleaner place for a drink or food. Shrimp was overcooked/shrunk down, and oysters were clearly shucked an hour before I had them, so a little dry. Still with the bar and order small plates, save your big meals for Felix's and Acme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Failed to read when the Coolinary Menu wasn't offered; beyond that - the stuffed BBQ Shrimp PoBoy is my favorite French Quarter Fest food buys every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was only decent for the price. Service was great but it was so loud and busy, it reminded me of eating at a restaurant in Disneyland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything started great....wonderful bourbon flight and appetizers. Then the meal began. Mine was between fair and good - the sea bass over vegetables. My wife's first came out as the wrong order (she ordered the shrimp and fettuccine). Once replaced (quickly) it was apparent the shrimp had not been peeled, the dish was extraordinarily salty, and the fettuccine poorly cooked. She picked at it a bit, but ate virtually none of it. We then pointed out the unpeeled shrimp to the waiter, who acted appalled. However, when the bill came, the dish remained on the bill, at which point I asked that it be removed, specifically since it was "inedible," in my words. It was all handled very poorly. Any decent restaurant would have immediately removed the dish from the bill (without request) and offered something (anything, really) for our trouble. A very disappointing experience for a restaurant that was recommended by a local friend. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Neither my husbands nor my entree was very warm.
I had the barbecued shrimp and it was terribly over done.
The sauce was wonderful but the shrimp tasted like it was precooked
and rewarmed in the sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was just okay. Would expect to get something more than just shrimp with a shrimp main entree, ie, a starch and/or vegetables. Too many waitstaff attending a table - they were uncoordinated with one another which led to gaffes. For example, one waiter brought a bowl and towels for my shrimp shells. Another waiter took it away before I had chance to use it and before the "peel your own" shrimp entree arrived.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We wanted a nice dinner to celebrate a friends birthday and Bourbon House did not disappoint! Patrick walked us to our table and got to know where we were from and had a pleasant conversation! Bailey was AMAZING and took care of all of our drinks and dessert needs! He kept us entertained! Amy got all of our food out perfectly! I would absolutely recommend to anybody visiting New Orleans!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Not to be missed. Crab cake is the best in the city and the frozen bourbon milk punch is too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The summer menu was perfect. Special soft shell crab was the dish to have. Also plenty of good redfish as a meal is always perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a table of 5 for dinner. The food was good and the service was great. They split our check 3 ways with no problem. Very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Overall, a disappointment. The LA oysters were outstanding (but they were raw and required no prep). The fish on a half shell with crab meat, a signature dish, was OK but overall boring and far below what we should get from an expensive New Orleans restaurant. Can't even remember the dessert.

Too much money for OK food. Look for more innovative, fresher ideas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I have been by this place many times when visiting NOLA and finally decided to try it. Great attentive service without being in your face all the time. The soup appetizer was a special that didn't quite live up to the description of the waiter. It was a peppered steak soup which was described as basically a pepper steak with a little bit of tomato base broth - what I got was basically a beef vegetable soup with a few pieces of pepper steak in it. While it wasn't bad I probably wouldn't order again and it certainly was over-hyped by the waiter. The seafood platter were described as voted the best in New Orleans. While I don't have a lot to compare against I will say that the fried catfish was excellent and there was a lot of food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had some of the new summer menu which is fantastic. Pasta was the way to go. We had some wonderful oysters as well. Must try the watermelon salad. Don't miss dessert. We had them all.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Spicy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolute MUST TRY -- Charbroiled oysters!!! Best I had in the Quarter. We were in NOLA celebrating my daughter's 18th birthday. Bourbon Street is a fitting place for this restaurant -- a lot of glitz and show. A large space with lots of hard surfaces reflecting sound. It also appears to be a magnet for bachelorette parties, college reunion groups and other rowdy crowds. So meaningful conversation is difficult. The food is good -- not just the oysters -- but variable. My daughter had the creole shrimp carbonara and said it was the best pasta dish she'd ever had. My son enjoyed the fried whole fish because he's a glutton for challenges. My wife had the blackened tuna that, all in all, was a waste of tuna. It was so spicy as to be nearly inedible. I had the smothered chicken which was only passable. Desserts, on the other hand, were universally loved.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Bartenders are awesome
Great oysters always love this place
They tell you what area the oysters are from and the service is the best

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Had a brunch reservation, walked in and no greeting at all, the hostess just started walking away with two menus assuming we would follow her. We were seated and got okay service from that point on. Basically treated like tourists, and the breakfast was not worth the cost. The milk punch is the only noteworthy thing, it was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.