Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Bourbon House

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Catering:
To learn more about Dickie Brennan & Co.'s catering options, please contact Sales at 504-274-1816.

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Eric Cook

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: (504) 521-8310

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Specials

Happy Hour!

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Select Oyster Program

Thursdays - Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour!

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$1 oysters, $3 Abita Amber draft. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Select Oyster Program

Thursdays - Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Compare, Contrast, Enjoy! Every Thursday, Bourbon House receives a fresh delivery of three different select oysters from various Gulf regions, get 'em before they sell out. Includes Tax and Tip. Visit our expanded Oyster Bar to try our delicious Gulf oysters. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 on Thursdays - Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (37)
People Watching (37)
See All
Local Ingredients (35)
Authentic (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Historic (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Casual (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fun (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Spicy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great Beer (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

One of the top ten meals ever in my memory. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 2 days ago

Would like to give it zero stars but can't. Avoid this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my go to every time I'm in New Orleans. It was my sister's first time. Drinks are spectacular. BBQ shrimp was great. The crab claws were a bit gnarly, though. I suggest to not get the cajun sushi app. Maybe I "don't get it". Tiniest bit of seafood on a huge bland cake of rice. The cheeseboard and crab cake remolaude was fantastic. I wish I could remember our servers name, she was outstanding and the cocktail server was as well. I'm a jerk, I should know their names.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food with great service. Went for lunch and all enjoyed their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Red fish was great. Bit loud but fun. Got table right away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Wait staff was friendly, well-informed, and prompt. Pre-dinner drinks arrived well before the appetizers, and our dinner drinks were served with the entrees. Quality of all of the food was A-One. Simply splendid. Topping off the meal, we were most pleasantly surprised to be served, gratis, Brennan's famous Milk Punches. Superb! I can't recommend this fine dining establishment highly enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mother here for Mother's Day and she absolutely loved it. The staff were super friendly, the food was superb, and the live band was excellent. I highly recommend the Bourbon House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was the perfect ending to a three day trip to NO - mothers Day made extremely pleasant - wonderful wait staff and service.
Can't wait to come again - food delish!! Thank you!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was horrible. The noise level was horrific..... I felt that I was eating in a subway station with tacky, loud people walking by our table constantly to get to the connecting hotel.
Would not eat here again if it was free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fine selection of bourbon - taste flights available.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It seemed like our waiter was rushing us with everything.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wiggly table could not be fixed. Paid a nice coin for a nice experience. Spend some my money and fix the tables!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 10, 2017

eaten there many times and always consistent. in New Orleans you need to eat there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Told them it was first time in New Orleans and first dinner. The welcome the table the service and food did not disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The servers are segmented with one taking drink and another taking food orders. Our appetizer was there before the cocktail. Ordered a glass of wine to go with the meal and was half way thru the entree before it shows up. The entree was over seasoned. The menu is marked with gluten free items but the dessert menu is not. I ordered the flourless chocolate cake. It had a strange texture it made me question gluten free. But no one knew if it was gluten free. Granted, the manager did look up the recipe and verified it didn't contain gluten, but I had already lost confidence. Our dining experience was less than stellar and made us feel like they wanted to turn the table and the food was mediocre. It used to be good, but not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Staff was very friendly and the restaurant had a good ambiance. Unfortunately though it is not enough to keep us coming back. The beer that one person ordered was the wrong one and since staff was so busy it didn't get corrected until just before our appetizer was served. Appetizer was served 40 minutes after our arrival. This delay was caused by our waiter who, after 15 minutes of ordering the first time, came back and asked us again what we ordered because he forgot (no, drinks had not come yet). Once our food was served, the bread on the charcuterie plate was hard as a rock and the salads that two of us ordered as entrees were more like a side salad. We asked for a bourbon menu and after finally getting the menu 20 minutes later the "drink specialist" never came back around to talk us through one that would be good for us. He was too busy setting/clearing tables and filling water glasses. This was our first experience with this brand of restaurants and we will not return. Redfish is across the street and I can say with absolute confidence that their bread, portion sizes, and staff service is far superior, how Bourbon House got such great reviews is a mystery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was okay, but no need to return again.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Tom, Kenzie, and Erin are all amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Phenomenal food truly a great value,The only drawback is the service which was basically either a team of inexperienced waiters maître d' and bus service or they were in training.

You should absolutely visit this place if you're in New Orleans for more than a day it's part of the Brennans family and that's the quality of food that I expect that's absolutely the quality that you will receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic authentic food, endless bourbon menu, laid back environment and top notch service. Beware the 12% IPA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My wife & I had an impromptu date night in New Orleans and dined at Bourbon House since we love ALL the Dickie Brennan's establishments. We arrived on time for our reservation and were seated promptly. Our servers both introduced themselves to us and took very good care of us throughout the night. My wife loved her wine selection and we both had the Corn & Crab soup which was excellent. I had the Petite Filets House Specialty and it was absolutely perfectly prepared and the mashed potato's accompanied it amazingly. My wife had the Fried Shrimp platter and it was good but think she wishes now that she had what I had. She did love the Cole Slaw. Our service was A++ and everything came out very quickly and hot. Our evening got off to a great start here and I highly recommend and if, by chance, you are into Bourbon then this the place since when we first sat down our main server announced that they had just broke open (3) casks of a very rare bourbon that was not easily found in a 8-state area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Milk punch is excellent. Great service, food was wonderful

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The drink server was very slow. He brought our drinks after our 1st course started. Then they brought our 2nd course before we were finished with the 1st course. Ordered our 2nd drink and it came after we finished our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We decided to eat at the Bourbon House because of an article in the Los Angeles Times written by food critic Jonathon Gold. He recommended the BBQ shrimp. So I ordered the shrimp. You had to peel the shrimp first before eating but it was smothered in a wonderful sauce that was finger-licking good. However, our male waiter was just ok and he didn't check on us frequently. We got better service from the female who was responsible for the drinks. She brought us hot towels and lemons so we could wipe our hands after eating the BBQ shrimp.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great seafood and outstanding oysters. We had both raw and grilled. Our servers, JD and Morgan, were very attentive and informative. If you are a bourbon connoisseur, this place is Nirvana.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great oysters! Wonderful place to sit out a storm...great people waatching!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful experience. The service is impeccable. Apps to entrees everything was perfect. Some of the best oysters around. Fish is always a best bet.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Cesar salad was awful but everything else was amazing.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have spent 10 days each year in New Orleans for 25 years and have tried a lot of places in the French Quarter and slightly beyond.

We do like The Bourbon House. As per its name, it has a great bourbon list with nice flight tastings - great way to start. Service was top notch - and the food was fabulous. Great place for oyster dishes, especially the char broiled oysters. It is now my favorite place in the French Quarter for BBQ Shrimp. The sauce is great and it comes with Rosemary biscuits - heavenly. We have already put it on our list for next year.

We ate in the dining room and needed the reservation (during Jazz Fest week), but they have a huge bar and an area off the bar with tables that you can wait for. Good for people who don't plan ahead or who just want some great small plates and drinks.

Highly recommend !!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Oysters (raw and chargrilled) were the best we had in NOLA. We all loved our food and will definitely be back. Oh, don't forget to get the bourbon milk punch- unbelievable!!! This place is awesome

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food. Quick service. Lots of bourbon choices

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very nice bright open dining room with friendly and knowledgeable staff. As the name implies, there is a focus on bourbons with an extensive selection with tasting flights and servers are well versed in the differences/subtleties of each. The food was above average and well prepared. The desserts are delightful. One of the few good restaurants left on Bourbon Street, an oasis in a culinary wasteland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Bourbon house. Service was excellent, atmosphere cozy and food was good. I would go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was so good that we had dinner there two nights in a row! The charbroiled oysters are seriously amazing. My favorite meal of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I think our mistake was dining here on a Monday evening. New Orleans is loaded with great restaurants most of which are closed on Monday. Since this Restaurant is located on the corner of Canal and Bourbon streets and integrated with the Crown Plaza Hotel it was open. My guess is the A team kitchen staff were all off on Monday. We only wanted a light dinner so I ordered Fried Green Tomatoes with Crawfish and a Remoulade Sauce. The Fried Tomatoes were brown not golden brown shoe brown indicative of being cooked in old oil. The Remoulade Sauce was more like a paste than a sauce the Crawfish small and rubbery. I followed this up with bowl of Shrimp and Andouille Gumbo that had two small Shrimp and two small slices of sausage. I couldn't recommend eating here especially on a Monday. My wife had Crab Fingers Bordelaise and a BLT Wedge Salad both kinda hard to mess up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food was absolutely phenomenal. The oysters were the best I had all weekend! Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to celebrate two birthdays and the staff was both attentive and friendly. Noise level was a little more than I care for but we went on a Friday night at 7 so this is likely to be expected for such an open, busy, and large dining area. Food was soft shell crab and redfish were both delicious. Parking can be a challenge so if you are driving, leave yourself some time. Great view of some of the characters that stroll along Bourbon Street---I'll say no more than that ;-).

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing food! Incredibly accommodating for gluten feee peeps! Crab cake was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service is a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Went there for a family dinner. We got a nice booth that was able to hold everyone ( 4 adults and 2 children).
The salads and chargrilled oysters were good. The corn and crab soup was excellent.
Portion sizes for the entrees were a bit small compared to other restaurants in NOLA. I had the crawfish etouffee which I had never had before. It was well seasoned but not too spicy. I thought it was very good.
Everyone else had the crab stuffed fish which was acclaimed as 'good'.
The wait staff was very friendly and attentive.
We would go there again.

Tags: , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.