About Bourbon House

144 Bourbon Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Arguably the best oyster bar of any white tablecloth restaurant in New Orleans” per the Times Picayune, Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House is all about local seafood. If it’s not in season, you won’t find it on the menu. Enjoy authentic New Orleans dishes and oysters on the halfshell in a lively atmosphere overlooking Bourbon Street.
Dickie Brennan and his culinary team have created an incredible menu of classic New Orleans dishes complemented by new favorites. Signature favorites include Gulf fish on the Halfshell and New Orleans style Barbeque Shrimp.
Bourbon is a central focus at the bar with 200 bourbons on the list. Bourbon House is the perfect place for a specialty cocktail or a straight pour of that hard to find small batch whiskey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday
6:30 AM - 'til

Brunch
Sunday: 10AM - 3PM

Happy Hour
$1 Gulf Oysters & $3 Abita Amber
4PM - 6PM

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-0111

Website:
http://www.bourbonhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Private Party Facilities:
The second floor at Bourbon House is the perfect location for your next function with five private dining spaces. Bourbon House can accommodate parties of 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee Tilloy: (504) 521-8310

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bourbon House is the official home of the New Orleans Bourbon Society (aka NOBS) -- a spirited society dedicated to the appreciation of fine bourbons. The society hosts regular whiskey events and tastings catered towards the bourbon enthusiast. More info: http://bourbonhouse.com/new_orleans_bourbon_society

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bourbon House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (38)
People Watching (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Groups (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Historic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Fun (21)
Business Meals (21)
Authentic (21)
Casual (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Spicy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to dinner for our friend's 81st birthday and everything was very poor. We had dined there previously but this meal was incredibly poor and visually repugnant. There were noticeably fewer diners and it is obvious that the restaurant has greatly deteriorated. The service from our wait staff and the management was incredibly poor. The management treated us disdainfully when we complained and were eager for us to leave. The waiter threw our receipt at us. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Mary and Jazz took great care of us. The menu was spectacular and really showcased New Orleans food.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The best broiled oysters covered in crab meat ever!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We was seated quickly. Took a while to get greeted and longer to get drinks. Crab claw appetizer was horrible which was odd because it usually isn't. The baked oysters were amazing. The seafood platter could have been better. The catfish was bland and a few pieces was cold. The fried shrimp was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was in New Orleans on business and chose the Bourbon House because it was close to our hotel. The service was great and the food was incredible. The crab cake is unreal and the twin filets were some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The fish was delicious, the charbroiled oysters were so good and the chocolate cake as well as the bread pudding did not disappoint!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my second time planning a special occasion at this restaurant and I noticed each time I'm set up with a waitor who doesn't like to serve me but everyone else. I am of mixed race but is recognized as African American. Everyone else was great but a few seem color stricken. At first I didn't noticed it sssuming that he was busy but he stopped and converse and even shared a few laughs with everyone except my table. He forgot that we existed and even purposely forgot to bring our menu as another new couple came sat down and he rushed to give theirs. He even looked at us while doing so. He was our drink server but our waitress made our night delightful and did everything he was suppose to. As for food it's different and has many authentic New Orleans flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Highly recommend the crab fingers and charbroiled oysters with crawfish topping!

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed Bourbon House very much. The food and wine were wonderful. The atmosphere was great, it had a warm and authentic NOLA feel. Desert was amazing, the wait staff was top notch. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always - great service - great food - oysters galore and New Orlean's classics - local seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Geared to tourists not locals. Very disappointing . Unremarkable menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We did not know what to expect when we got there, but the food was amazing. The grilled oysters and crap cake alone would be worth going for again. Next time I am in New Orleans, I will be heading here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant in the French Quarter with bourbons from around the world on display. The food was delicious and service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had the seared yellowfin tuna and it was amazing

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is not "fine dining", it's a tourist spot, with rushed get-'em-in-and-out service. If you love fried seafood in "energetic" and extremely casual environs this might be the place for you. The one thing I went in for, which is posted on a chalk board above the bar (The New Orleans Bourbon Society Tasting Flight) isn't actually available. They have an extensive Bourbon list, but our server insisted that it's not one of the flights they offer. I'm still wondering what Bourbons might have been included on the flight.

Oh, well...Bourbon House just wasn't what I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

great food, great service. We were headed to Saenger at 8:00 pm and they got us in and out quickly.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was warm, not hot. Would have been better hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice atmosphere and very friendly wait staff, but was expensive. I find it hard to believe their fried seafood platters are the best in New Orleans for the last 4 years as stated on menu. Pile of fries that were so thin, hard, and crunchy; really wasn't like French fries at all. Will definitely not return here on future trips as there are much better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service by Blake and Jason. Started with cup of authentic Gumbo with BBQ Shrimp as entree and finished with famous bourbon milk shake. Great experience and will definitely visit again

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We did happy hour and had a blast tasting New Orleans cuisine

server was on point Oysters to die for!!!

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Drink menu/ bar selection is vary good. Bourbon variety is fantastic ! Food is excellent, but portions were smaller than expected. Great atmosphere looking right outside onto to Bourbon street. Would definitely come back

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Desserts are amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best meal we had in New Orleans! The red fish was amazing! I would highly recommend the oysters with caviar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Bourbon House came with a solid recommendation from a co-worker. We have lived near New Orleans for 20 years and this was our first visit to this restaurant. It won't be our last. We truly enjoyed the wait staff. Mike and Julien were wonderful and very attentive. The food was very tasty and my wife found a new Moscato that she really enjoyed. I will recommend to all my friends and co-workers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great service - great food! Enjoyed meeting the chef and really loved the Bourbon milk punch!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was great. Service could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was lackluster- server was too busy attending (flirting) with adjoining table of 3 pretty twenty somethings to attend to our group of 8 fat walleted middle aged adults - not very smart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful dinning experience. Fresh oysters, perfect pasta and my wife's steak was cooked to perfection. Large bourbon 🥃 list to enjoy.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Ok food, but nothing special considering so many other fantastic options in New Orleans. Location on Bourbon street made it feel more like a tourist oriented spot than someplace special locals might go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were On Vacation in New Orleans. It's very near our hotel. Walked by it often and it Looked very cool. Loved all the amazing Bourbons they offered and cool drinks and adult drink desserts. But our service and food were ok.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance, people watching, drinks!!! Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Did not disappoint. Everything we ate from the raw oysters to the étouffée was tasty. Great selection of Bourbons and a server that knows each and every one of them. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Their flash fried

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. We went for brunch and they had a variety of options for everyone. My husband had the fisherman's breakfast and I had the BBQ shrimp po boy. Delicious. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Spicy, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Real New Orleans food. Nice dining setup and atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was excellent. Try the boiled shrimp, so freah.

It was fun to try different Burbons.

Service was top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Surely host and server. Slow service. Had reservation but waited 40 minutes. Food was great but...

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food and service is outstanding......Top notch New Orleans restaurant......

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent service, food and of course burborn list. Will be back next time to New Orleans.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ate at the Bourbon House for my girlfriend's birthday before going to a play.

The food was amazing and the staff made the occasion fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service was really friendly but the food was really disappointing, nothing to brag about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were in town for the Sugar Bowl and were excited about trying another Dickie Brennan restaurant. Overall it was a disappointment. We ordered crab claws to share as we were still looking over the menu. Our drinks came promptly and don't bother with the Bloody Mary. It was weak and bland. We placed our lunch order and waited and waited for the crab claws. I was about to flag down our waiter and cancel the order when they came out. They were tasty and we enjoyed them. Then we waited and waited for our entrees. When they came, my husband's "blue crab" ettouffe had no crab, At All! My sister's dish was supposed to have crab but it didn't. She asked the server and he assured her it was in the dish. The manager happened by and she told him. To his credit, he immediately brought her a dish of crab and apologized. To top it off our waiter misplaced my sister's credit card. We were just glad to go by that point.

There are too many great restaurants in New Orleans to bother with a restaurant that can't offer good service and entrees that match the description on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All of the food came out cold. The chargrilled oysters had no flavor, and are nothing like you get at Drago's. The Specialty, corn/crab bisque had no flavor, so required using all the seasoning on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was disappointed that the restaurant wasn't serving brunch on Sunday at 11am on New Year's Day, however, the food that we did have was good and our sever, Lee, made our visit a memorable experience. He was awesome. The drinks were a highlight- I enjoyed my bourbon milk punch and my husband had a very tasty bourbon cocktail with chicory and cherry liqueur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service, and décor. Wide variety of bourbon, bear, and wine. We had a great New Year's Eve there, but the only thing I didn't enjoy was that the table right next to us was so close that we could listen to them talking.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first experience was wonderful. Not a lot that a vegan can eat but they tried! The second time was so-so. I think the kitchen was overwhelmed and the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Glad we had a reservation and were taken to a separate room from general dinning area as it was very loud and busy. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were in this evening for New Year's Eve dinner. The gentleman who sat us was incredible! Very friendly and had an old school New Orleans air about him that we really enjoyed. Once seated James and Mary waited on us and both of them were extremely attentive and enjoyable. The food was incredible as well! We would absolutely be back. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.