About bota tapas and paella bar

Bota is an authentic Spanish style tapas and paella bar located in the heart of Union Square in San Francisco. A place to go to share food, savor rustic flavors and enjoy Spanish wine in a casual, yet chic, environment. Inspired by the concept behind our name “BOTA”, a vessel to share wine with the people around you.

490 Geary Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Mon-Thurs 5:00pm-9:00pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Breakfast:
Daily 7am to 11am

Saturday and Sunday Brunch
11am to 2pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 345-2303

Website:
http://botasf.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid public garages.

Public Transit:
Geary muni

Executive Chef:
Chef Alex Bujoreanu and Chef Sergio Nic

Private Party Facilities:
The European Bar and Lounge is also available for private events.

Private Party Contact:
mmiranda@warwickhotels.com: (415) 345-2309

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a variety of events. Please call us so we can assist you. 415.345.2303

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

bota tapas and paella bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (0)
Worth the Drive (0)
Happy Hour (0)
Handcrafted Cocktails (0)
Healthy (0)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Quick Bite (0)
Local Ingredients (0)
Sort By:
S
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, wine and service! Definitel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, wine and service! Definitely going back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After a long day of traveling from DC ar ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

After a long day of traveling from DC area to San Francisco, we checked into the Warwick Hotel (a nice hotel, BTW). Hungry and exhausted, we would have gone for whatever the hotel restaurant offered, but were delighted to find Bota. In fact we wound up having 2 breakfasts and 3 dinners there in a week! I've never been a particular fan of either paella or brussel sprouts - but had a brussel sprouts tapas that was delicious and the seafood paella was outstanding! There was a nice wine list of Spanish wines, too. Breakfasts there were also peaceful, civilized and yummy (served by a friendly and attentive waitress). Try the Avocado Toast for something tasty and different.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is very good. We had the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This restaurant is very good. We had the olives, the Brussel sprouts, the shishito peppers and the mussels. Great wine list. All the dishes were delicious.

The dessert was amazing. We had the almond cake with berry sorbet. Amazing. Highly recommend it. Next time we will try the paella.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is called a Tapas and Pae ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant is called a Tapas and Paella Bar. That is what we came for. But, NO! On Sundays they serve your standard American brunch. Very disappointing. If you want to be a different type of restaurant, why do you have certain days where you are just like every other restaurant? smh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant not ready for prime time. Fri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Restaurant not ready for prime time. Friendly waitstaff and good recovery when things went off the rails, but doesn't make up for waiting almost an hour for an order. Hopefully things get better with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I ate here for my birthday during the re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I ate here for my birthday during the restaurant's soft opening and my friends and I had a great experience! The tapas are delicious. Given that the restaurant is so new, the service was a bit slow at times and the drink menu only consists of beer and wine at the moment (though there is a full bar), but I think this place has tons of potential and I would come back again. A little pricey for a casual dinner but tapas usually are.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food, Wine and service it's outstanding, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food, Wine and service it's outstanding, great value, awesome vibe. We got the recommendation to eat here from a friend from Spain that knows Chef Alex, unfortunately the chef was on vacation but all the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance were amazing! Service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and ambiance were amazing! Service was just okay. We had to ask several time to get water or coffee refilled and waited over 25 minutes for the check to come. There were a total of 3 tables seated, so it wasn't because they were super busy. They had great breakfast food and an amazing fresh squeezed juice mimosa. Overall good experience, with a little more follow-up it could be amazing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We're told they're not officially open u ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We're told they're not officially open until Jan. 15 so I'll give them a break. Primary reason we went there was for paella. They should have a meat/seafood combo paella. Also, not sure if they taste their food, but it was very salty. We've had paella (as that's my favorite food), in several spanish restaurants, so can compare tastes.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The waiter recommended drinks but then t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The waiter recommended drinks but then they were out of it, food was good but really tiny portions of tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I was disappointed with this restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I was disappointed with this restaurant and cannot recommend it. Our server was decent and the Spanish Grenache was very good and a good value, but the food did not come close to my expectations. We started with the Shishito beans, which were drenched in oil and a bit over cooked. We also ordered the spicy Brussels sprouts, which I found to be rather blah. I love sprouts and think mine are better!

This is a paella house so we ordered the seafood one. Plenty of mussels, but severely lacking in shrimp (2, so we each got one), halibut pieces (one each, about an inch square in size and over cooked), a few clams, and a decent quantity of calamari (that was tasty). The server explained that the paella was to be scraped and the rice at the bottom mixed together, which he did for us. It reminded me of overcooked rice that burns on the pan bottom and is crunchy. I didn't care for it. Further the rice was a bit mushy.

There were 4 other tables at the time, so not very busy, though we were on the early side.

Sorry to say, but I will not be going back to bota tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We liked food, wine, and a kind and frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We liked food, wine, and a kind and friendly waiter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great paella! Good

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great paella! Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy breakfast. Service was friendly a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Yummy breakfast. Service was friendly and attentive. Nice atmosphere too. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal after the theatre. Tapas ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious meal after the theatre. Tapas were very tasty and creative. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit over priced for size of portions, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A bit over priced for size of portions, even with tapas. Some items on menu not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was decent, and wine was very good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was decent, and wine was very good. Our server was a little nervous which is fine, it is a newer restaurant and they are trying their best to impress. However, my friend and I stayed for a couple of hours to chat and continue to sip our wine. He never asked to refill our glasses or if we wanted more wine. It was like as soon as our meal ended and we paid the check, we were just bodies filling a seat.

Had he offered us more wine, we definitely would have had more, and we would have ordered another tapas dish as well after the couple hours of sitting and chatting.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an early dinner before seeing a s ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had an early dinner before seeing a show at the ACT. We had a great meal and a great time. The recommendations by the waiter about the amount of food to order were spot on. The lamb chops were superb. The brussel sprouts were good. The seafood paella was superb. The wines from the smallish wine list were good as well. Finally, the location was extremely convenient to the ACT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The razor clam appetizer was quite good, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The razor clam appetizer was quite good, though only 3 clams were provided for a fairly hefty price, at which twice that number would have been welcome. The wine pairing the waiter suggested for this dish was very good, and it also went well with our seafood paella entree, which was excellent, generously portioned, and reasonably priced. We did not care for what we got when we requested bread, which was toast with some sort of cheese topping and a mild burn presumably from red pepper. We wanted actual bread, not this concoction, which we feel all restaurants should provide without customers having to ask for it, as not offering it seems stingy. Despite this, we had., altogether, a good to very good experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This new restaurant in the Union Square ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This new restaurant in the Union Square area delivers excellent small plates that will greatly please, along with a extensive wine list. Strongly recommend them for a wonderful dinning experience!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.