Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About bota tapas and paella bar

Bota is an authentic Spanish style tapas and paella bar located in the heart of Union Square in San Francisco. A place to go to share food, savor rustic flavors and enjoy Spanish wine in a casual, yet chic, environment. Inspired by the concept behind our name “BOTA”, a vessel to share wine with the people around you.

490 Geary Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Mon-Thurs 5:00pm-9:00pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Breakfast:
Daily 7am to 11am

Saturday and Sunday Brunch
11am to 2pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 345-2303

Website:
http://botasf.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid public garages.

Public Transit:
Geary muni

Executive Chef:
Chef Alex Bujoreanu and Chef Sergio Nic

Private Party Facilities:
The European Bar and Lounge is also available for private events.

Private Party Contact:
mmiranda@warwickhotels.com: (415) 345-2309

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a variety of events. Please call us so we can assist you. 415.345.2303

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00AM - 10:00AM 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Fri 8:00AM - 10:00AM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Sat 8:00AM - 10:00AM 11:00AM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

bota tapas and paella bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (31)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Modern Decor (13)
See All
Authentic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Casual (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 9 hours ago

The smoked oysters is molecular gastronomy. The lamb chop is very delicious. Perfect for theater dining. Service is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best dinner out in SF in a good while. This is a much needed addition to the Theater District. Every dish was excellent. Oxtail, lamb and secreto were especially noteworthy. There have been a few restaurants in this location in recent history. Hopefully this one will make it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The restaurant has a clean, uncluttered look; this allows the service to proceed smoothly and the food to positively shine. The lovely smells waft from neighboring tables and you know you are in for a treat. The tapas are interesting and it is possible to have a great meal from just those. But the paella...mmm. Our seafood paella (for 2) was fantastic. You could smell the saffron; the sofrito was caramelized and the dish perfectly seasoned. Bravo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Found this for a pre-theater meal before and ACT performance. One block away. The Paella was terrific. So was the cuttlefish appetizer. And the wait staff was wonderful. Had a great meal and got to the theater in plenty of time.

Tags: Tapas, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great service, wonderful food-- seafood paella and iberico ham were stellar

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great date night , don't forget your $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My guests from out of town had loved breakfast here so we returned for a light dinner of sopa de mariscos that was positively sensational.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This is a perfect early breakfast destination. There are many hearty and healthy options including a tofu scramble, egg dishes, cereal, fruit and delicious morning coffee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was a little slow, but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Too expensive for the amount of food that comes in the plates. The lamb chops had almost no meat on it. Just bones. But the server was ok. Ambiance too noise for a dinner. Good for happy hour with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The surf turf paella had a lot of nice shellfish, fish & meat. Rice tasted nice but I didn't notice much saffron was used. Ordered brussel sprouts with it which were excellent. Sangria was average. I ordered white sangria and I did not care for it. I commented on it and the waiter switched it with red sangria which was better. Our wait people were knowledgeable about the food and were attentive.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good find on our trip to San Francisco! We wish them lots of success as the waiter said they had only been open 8 weeks at that time and was looking for feedback on what they could do to be better. This will become a hot spot when word gets out.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

So disappointing. Even the salad and vodka drink were bad. Everything had way too much pepper. I would not return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome authentic Spanish tapas. Must try the peppers (reminds me of my time in Barcelona), Brussels Sprouts, Pork Shoulder and lamb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

They messed up the bill. My friend paid but I guess they didn't run her card so after we left they called me (the only # they had cause I made the reservation) and I ended up having to pay because what was I going to do, give him my friend's number? I was a server in the past and had he been more attentive and checked the bill (it wasn't that busy) this would y have happened. I feel like this put me in a very bad situation having to pay. My friend was paying because I have been going through Stage IV cancer and it certainly wasn't my fault the bill wasn't processed correctly. I know she put her card down because I saw it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was just OK, nothing spectacular. The waiter said there would be soccarat at the bottom of the paella so we ordered it. When it came out, he stirred the paella and there was no soccarat - very disappointing - so it was just regular Spanish rice rather than authentic paella. The rice was seasoned right, though.

The sangria was good and contained brandy, as it should.

The octopus & potato appetizer was not good - the pieces of octopus were so small as they laid on top of the slices of boiled potatoes. The potato slice was 300% larger than the piece of octopus. Very skimpy portions for the price.

The only tapa that was decent as the oxtail. The sauce was good in the two large pieces of oxtail.

Overall, I cannot recommend this restaurant. However, the service was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The good, though small in portion was outstanding. Service admirable and friendly, though a few kinks were there, they will worked out in time.
The execution and flavor were both on point. Looking forward to my third visit!!

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This place took us back to our recent trip to Spain. Cheese and meat plates are a must. We didn't have the paella but several around us did and they were raving. Made a meal of wine and tapas and I couldn't have been better. Try this one. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

In one word: Disaster.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It's a small place with tables very close together. The people at the next table were practically on top of us. Very noisy. Server not very attentive once the place got busy. Food was excellent. We had several tapas and they were all good, especially the Brussels sprouts. Great location right across the street from 2 theatres. Make a reservation and get there early.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is a good place before ACT or the Curran. I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could. The tapas were all very good. The paella was just average. I'd just order tapas next time. The roasted peppers, lamp chops, olives, kale salad & sambas were very tasty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Any restaurant that has only been opened for 2+ months gets an immediate pass! This place will make it, no doubt! We did Tapas, pre-theatre 5:30 res, the food, decor and service were all great! We did the lamb, pork, B-sprouts and mussels all really well executed! I'd go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great brunch, especially the salmon Benedict. A bit heavy on the salt but yummy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We buy season tickets for A.C.T. at the Geary Theatre, which is across the street. A long-time favorite restaurant in the area closed last year, so we've been trying other places to eat before the curtain. Last fall we found an excellent little restaurant in the space that Bota now occupies. The only problem was the portions were too large for a quick bite before a show. So tapas seemed ideal. Unfortunately, Bota's tapas were only so-so. We had three, plus a salad and dessert. Nothing was horrible, but nothing compared with dishes we've had at Coqueta and Zarzuela. Also, the service was perfunctory. When a server removed dinner ware and brought dessert, I had to ask him to clean up spilled food in the middle of the table and he looked surprised by the request. Our waiter was friendly and informative. We arrived early for our reservation but were seated promptly. As the room filled up the noise level stayed very reasonable. I just wish the food and service had been a bit better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food is fantastic. Very flavorful. Authentic Spanish tapas. The deep fried peppers are as good as the ones I had in Barcelona. Pork shoulder is exceptional. Brussels Spouts are spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Beautiful, comfortable atmosphere! Nice selection of Spanish wines and our seafood paella was delicious with seafood in every bite. Terrific place to come before the theater!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Avery pleasant surprise to find a great little restaurant right across the street fro mthe Curran and ACT theaters. Would definitely recommend and definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food took us right back to Barcelona! Excellent authentic tapas and paella, and well-priced selection of Spanish wines. The service could use a bit of fine tuning (we waited about 30 min before a server came by), but the food makes up for it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bota is a very comfortable restaurant with good Spanish-influenced dishes. The tapas list was not extensive, although it included many of the expected traditional dishes like gambas al ajillo and patatas bravas. We also ordered a paella and were very pleased with the crispy bottom. Prices are a little above the usual but not out of line for the Theater District, and there were several bottles of wine under $40. The lighting is flattering, but the tables are a little too close together to consider this a seriously romantic restaurant. We are subscribers to ACT, and Bota is super convenient to the theaters.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was fantastic. The lamb and pork were incredible. I loved the combo of mascarpone and pistachios with the lamb All of our food came very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Totally surprised with the food!!! Whatever I ordered was pretty good. I didn't what the cost of the meals were going to be. I am satisfied!!!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I love tapas, so decided to try this for a pre-theater lunch. That staff was great, the burgers were lovely, and it was quiet enough for good conversation, but we don't plan to return. I love Spanish food and the only Spanish dish on the brunch menu was Tortilla Espanola. It's too bad that for a noon reservation on Saturday you don't get a choice of the frankly boring brunch menu or the regular lunch menu that looks like it has the nice selection of Spanish offerings I was expecting to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was good and ambience was great. Great for a date

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was fantastic. The atmosphere, service, and food were all amazing. Our waiter Chris was really helpful in recommending things to try and he was spot on. Definitely going to make this a regular date night place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent paellas and tapas before or after a night at the theater

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Some food was well prepared however very overpriced for tapas. A meager cheese selection included flavorless wafers instead of a decent piece of bread. Wine was average yet expensive and service felt a little rushed. Overall the food was not worth the hefty check.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing food and service this is my 3rd visit in only 2 months

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, wine and service! Definitely going back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

After a long day of traveling from DC area to San Francisco, we checked into the Warwick Hotel (a nice hotel, BTW). Hungry and exhausted, we would have gone for whatever the hotel restaurant offered, but were delighted to find Bota. In fact we wound up having 2 breakfasts and 3 dinners there in a week! I've never been a particular fan of either paella or brussel sprouts - but had a brussel sprouts tapas that was delicious and the seafood paella was outstanding! There was a nice wine list of Spanish wines, too. Breakfasts there were also peaceful, civilized and yummy (served by a friendly and attentive waitress). Try the Avocado Toast for something tasty and different.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.