Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About bota tapas and paella bar

Bota is an authentic Spanish style tapas and paella bar located in the heart of Union Square in San Francisco. A place to go to share food, savor rustic flavors and enjoy Spanish wine in a casual, yet chic, environment. Inspired by the concept behind our name “BOTA”, a vessel to share wine with the people around you.

490 Geary Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Mon-Thurs 5:00pm-9:00pm
Fri-Sat 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Breakfast:
Daily 7am to 11am

Saturday and Sunday Brunch
11am to 2pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 345-2303

Website:
http://botasf.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid public garages.

Public Transit:
Geary muni

Executive Chef:
Chef Alex Bujoreanu and Chef Sergio Nic

Private Party Facilities:
The European Bar and Lounge is also available for private events.

Private Party Contact:
mmiranda@warwickhotels.com: (415) 345-2309

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a variety of events. Please call us so we can assist you. 415.345.2303

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00AM - 10:30AM 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Mon - Fri 8:00AM - 10:30AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00AM - 10:30AM 12:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

bota tapas and paella bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (0)
Modern Decor (0)
Great for Lunch (0)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Comfort Food (0)
Sort By:
S
86 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic authentic Spanish paella and tapas at a great price. Service was excellent. What a gem! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely great Spanish tapas in downtown SFO, recommendable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Bofa turned out to be a great surpize. Very convenient for pre or post theater meals. The service was top notch. Everyone was very accommodating for our mobility problem. The waiter made excellent recommendations. Food was delicious. We especially enjoy Tapas. We'll be back.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Tapas in the theater district. We stopped in here for an early dinner between plays on a sunny Saturday. Our server was new to the restaurant but knew the menu inside and out, especially regarding gluten free options. Try the generous portion of tasty olives, tender shrimp in garlic in an iron skillet at your table, divine lamb chops with pistachios and mascarpone, ultra rich canalones del pollo, washed down with an excellent, not too sweet house sangria. They have 4 different tempranillo options by the glass which were also superb. Follow that with their gluten free olive cake and you have a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was very good. My friend and i agreed that the waiter in training was snarky and made a face when i asked where one on the tapas dishes was after we were finished with the other dishes. He said "it's in the oven." Additionally, my friend arrived before I did and in a nearly empty restaurant at 6:15pm, she was seated-behind a glass panel near the door. When I told the same waiter and others at the front desk that we would like to move there was push back until the woman training the waiter overheard and stepped in and moved us to another table in the other room. I didnt feel welcomed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful appetizers, seafood paella and warm services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We went there on our last night in San Francisco. It was close to the hotel (within walking distance). We were seated right away & we chose the tall tables. This was our first visit there & we weren't that hungry so this place was good.

Server took our beverage orders right away. When beverages were delivered, he advised us about the menu. Single (smaller portions) however the center items on the menu are meant to be shared (& more expensive). He advised that those items take a minimum of 25 minutes to cook & to be patient.

We opted for the single, smaller portions which came out quickly. We were all done w/our meals within a half hour of being seated. It was a good place to eat. We were not disappointed. It was just a bit pricey.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good spot for a delicious meal before the theater. Service was attentive and prompt. Good variety of interesting Spanish dishes to share.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Charming restaurant across from the Geary . Food was excellent. Great Iberico Jamon, squid ink paella. The service was great(waiter- Mark), very attentive without being overbearing, and knowledgeable of the food. Definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I was there about two months ago and it was a lot more enjoyable reason why I came back.. The menu was also different. (in a bad way). I have to say that I was quite disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Server not terribly knowledgeable of the menu. Menu was very limited. For the quality of the food the price was high. Very limited wine list. Not a single California wine on the list. I understand this is a Spanish restaurant, but good lord almighty in the skies, this is California wine country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Tapas were amazing-best things on the menu. Only complaint I had was the waiter brought all the dishes at once, rather than one by one, so the food would not get cold. Kitchen should learn to pace things better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beautiful decor, excellent service and food. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The sea bass was covered in deep fried garlic which was over powering. Once you scrape away the garlic, the fish was bland.

The prawns were good, but the oxtail underneath tasted like something was missing... like Jamaican oxtail but missing the spices

Brussel sprouts were good.

The waiter was awesome and the atmosphere was great... but food was subpar for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was a little disappointed... the service was good but SLOW... the food was 'OK'.
I'll be back cuz it's close to ACT... that's the only reason.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Paella was very good. Some tapas are very good and some ordinary. Service was good and they got us out on time for the theatre. The wait staff was a bit stretched and not as attentive as they could be.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Definitely try a paella; order it first thing since it takes 25 minutes to prepare. This visit I tried 2 tapas - the Brussels spouts and the Secreto Iberico organic black pork (acorn fed!) - so delicious! Then came the Surf and Turf paella, the turf side has a smoky sausage that is addicting. The small pan is actually quite generous and we had leftover even for us 2 very hungry diners. We chose a light fruit salad as dessert - the compressed watermelon had been soaked in sangria for a unique kick.
Our server Adam provided quick information on each dish which was especially nice if you haven't traveled to Spain or are new to tapas.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We did the tapas - pig belly, Brussels sprouts, chicken, olives.all were very tasty. Bread with olive oil. Service was good. Bit of a walk to the toilets and they weren't very clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic dinner spot. Adam took great care of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The tapas were great! Enjoyed the wine list as well. The veggie paella was ok - but overpriced for what it offered.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious paella! Beautifully prepared and presented. Great tapas selection. We will be back! Also server was very knowledgeable and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kitchen was overwhelmed as was the front of house, only one front of house employee on a Sunday Brunch service. Took 45 minutes for our food to arrive, the menu was very plain, only one spanish dish. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Needed salt on all the food. Overpriced. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They said the paella takes about 30 minutes to make. After 45 minutes we found out they never put our order in for our paella or other tapas items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We went before the theater, both are in the same block, and will go back for the beautiful setting, authentic right-on Barcelona tapas, and to try the delicious smelling paella being served at the next tables. The red sangria is pure heaven and the seafood tapas, which is all we sampled, are perfectly fresh and presented very attractively. The wait staff were knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. All in all, the best tapas restaurant we have ever been to in San Francisco and we already have reservations for another meal for which we have invited several friends!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Came here when on vacation from buffalo. Didn't have the best dining experience here. After seating we were asked to move to accommodate a larger group. Which was not an issue. They told us our first round of drinks would be free. They eventually did bring us a round but it was about 40 mins later when our meal over. We ended up ordering 5 dishes. We only got 4 of them. The first dish we were giving was wrong. They never asked us to refill our water. The waiter told us he was going to take a couple dishes off because of what was going on. 1 of the dishes he took off was the one we didn't receive anyways. We felt basically ignored and they wanted us to leave because of the mistakes they made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Not actually tapas in the Spanish sense. pricey small plates. The food was good, but service lacking. We sat for almost 15 minutes before our drink order was taken. When the cheese plate was provided, they did not explain the cheese varieties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The paella is amazing! I had intended to dwell on the small plates, but could not resist diving in for the yummy seafood paella. I will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The smoked oysters is molecular gastronomy. The lamb chop is very delicious. Perfect for theater dining. Service is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best dinner out in SF in a good while. This is a much needed addition to the Theater District. Every dish was excellent. Oxtail, lamb and secreto were especially noteworthy. There have been a few restaurants in this location in recent history. Hopefully this one will make it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The restaurant has a clean, uncluttered look; this allows the service to proceed smoothly and the food to positively shine. The lovely smells waft from neighboring tables and you know you are in for a treat. The tapas are interesting and it is possible to have a great meal from just those. But the paella...mmm. Our seafood paella (for 2) was fantastic. You could smell the saffron; the sofrito was caramelized and the dish perfectly seasoned. Bravo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Found this for a pre-theater meal before and ACT performance. One block away. The Paella was terrific. So was the cuttlefish appetizer. And the wait staff was wonderful. Had a great meal and got to the theater in plenty of time.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service, wonderful food-- seafood paella and iberico ham were stellar

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great date night , don't forget your $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My guests from out of town had loved breakfast here so we returned for a light dinner of sopa de mariscos that was positively sensational.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This is a perfect early breakfast destination. There are many hearty and healthy options including a tofu scramble, egg dishes, cereal, fruit and delicious morning coffee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was a little slow, but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Too expensive for the amount of food that comes in the plates. The lamb chops had almost no meat on it. Just bones. But the server was ok. Ambiance too noise for a dinner. Good for happy hour with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The surf turf paella had a lot of nice shellfish, fish & meat. Rice tasted nice but I didn't notice much saffron was used. Ordered brussel sprouts with it which were excellent. Sangria was average. I ordered white sangria and I did not care for it. I commented on it and the waiter switched it with red sangria which was better. Our wait people were knowledgeable about the food and were attentive.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very good find on our trip to San Francisco! We wish them lots of success as the waiter said they had only been open 8 weeks at that time and was looking for feedback on what they could do to be better. This will become a hot spot when word gets out.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.