Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Borgne

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (36)
Casual (33)
Local Ingredients (29)
See All
Good for Groups (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Business Meals (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Fun (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Tapas (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great Beer (9)
Live Sports (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Great fun place to go before a Saints game! Great raw oysters. We would not get the char broiled oysters again but the raw were tasty! Fried catfish sliders, fries and bloody mary’s !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

2nd time going before a Saints Home game. 1st time no reservations and had to stand at the bar to eat but since only apps and drinks it worked. Perfect location near the Superdome & city. Shrimp toast nice and crispy with a delish sauce on top for dipping if desired. 2nd visit we made 9:30am reserv. Great table, good cowd, great energy & barley a hint of fun music in background that, for me, could have been a little louder! We split the breakfast sandwich - eggs, sausage on french with a side order of thin crunchy french fries. Waiter friendly, knowledgable and the silverware shiny clean - important for us OCD people! If you’re staying in the Hyatt or just in the area-
Borgne is a definite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great meal and atmosphere! Service was wonderful also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Creative menu featuring tasty Louisiana cooking, but in an extraordinary way that is deliciously unique. Fresh food prepared right is a real treat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

It was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Well executed dishes and knowledgeable staff. Try the turkey necks...really. Excellent seafood as expected.

Only complaint is that communication could have been better from wait staff. We asked for multiple things twice but that might be because my party is impatient and not accustomed to a southern pace.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Wow, what a disappointment this was. We were staying across the street from Luke and had such wonderful experiences that we couldn't wait to try Borgne. It was terrible. The atmosphere is cafeteria like. I could get past that if the food and service had been good. Nope. We had a variety of things, chopped salad, and grilled Romaine. The person who delivered the food ( not our server) gave the wrong dish to the wrong people. When I questioned that the grilled romaine didn't look like a chopped salad I got a rather curt reply. Upon reflection or discussion the person returned picked the dishes up from the people who they had placed in front of and exchanged them. No apology or explanation. the fish in the bag was the most successful entree. the burger (sent fries back they were cold), Pirogue (not fresh and appetizing) and Stuffed Flounder (lot's of bones) were all met with two thumbs down. For this kind of money they need to do better. I say skip this place and go to Luke!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything about Borgne was perfect. I'm particularly critical when I go out to eat but this was the most perfect meal I've had outside of Commander's Palace. Our waitress Katie was knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing. She recommended a killer wine which fit what I asked for perfectly. Request her when you go! She will take such great care of you. All of the food was great. It was fresh, flavorful, and so very delicious. Good portions and good prices. The timing of the food was excellent. Not too quickly but we never felt like we were waiting on anything. And the restaurant wasn't cold or too noisy. This is a big deal because lots of restaurants, especially in New Orleans, blast the AC which is awful. Like everything could be wonderful but you're too miserably cold to enjoy anything. This was not the case here. It was the perfect temperature and the perfect noise level. I can't wait to come back. This is the first time I've ever feel in love with a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food is usually consistently good. This particular night however, everything seemed rushed. The seafood platter had really no flavor and the usually DIVINE shrimp toast was soggy and Luke warm. We go there frequently and love it, so maybe it was just an off night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2017

If I could I would give it ten stars!!!!Happy Hour was awesome. We loved the food so much that it was our first dinner of a three day trip to New Orleans and our last meal.Brooks the bartender was knowledgeable on both the food and drink.Will Barr the manager was also wonderful. From taking care of our order to setting up a brunch reservation for us. Both Will and Brooks were also great on explaining the local places to visit and the food to try.They both helped to make our first trip to New Orleans a memorable one.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Over loud, over priced, food only so-so. Waitress was nice but that's all the good I can mention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Duck poppers were great! And the dozen raw oysters were Delish!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Saints game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fun time! Great spot for pre game on sundays!! Delicious foods and drinks!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our server was always disappearing for long periods. We had to find her on two different occasions. The food was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We made a reservation for 8 people for a 21st birthday. Food, atmosphere, service was great! Defineltely would come back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very accommodating , 3 of our party of 4 were a little late for our reservation but they allowed me to sit at the table since they were on their way. I ordered our drinks while I waited and the waiter was very nice. It was very crowded due to the U2 concert at the Superdome but I think the staff handled the crowd very well. We did have to wait a little longer for our second drink since the bar area was very crowded. I've always had a great experience at Borgne before concerts. Only complaint is that they do not have a happy hour during concerts.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was way overpriced for the size of the portions! We had the fish in a bag, which was dry and bland. $28 for about 3-4 oz of fish. Also had the ceviche - it was good, but was so tiny it could fit into a child's hand - $15. The gnocchi consisted of 3 pieces. Finally, we had the chopped salad with oysters. It had 1/2 an egg, 1 okra (sliced in half) a couple of cherry tomatoes and a small portion of lettuce. Ridiculously small for the price.

This was such a disappointment, because I love John Besh. New Orleans is about abundance, and although I didn't want huge portions, they could have spared the other half of the egg and more veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time, but definitely not our last! The bar has a great selection of local, canned craft beers and the bartenders were attentive and friendly. The server at our table was also very good and knowledgeable about the menu. The shrimp toast & duck poppers were wonderful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was not worth the price. The black drum was very rubbery and tough to cut. Charbroiled oysters were great.

Service was exceptional but overall, food did not live up to the cost/reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Sunday night is a weird time to eat out, I guess... but service, food and ambience were totally lacking for this meal,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing as always, the food and service was great. Friendly staff that is always accommodating.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great pitcher drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our party of four enjoyed an excellent dinner at Borgne. Every dish tasted fresh and was thoughtfully seasoned. Three started by sharing duck poppers and broiled oysters, then ordered a second serving of oysters - be sure to sop up the delicious butter with their French bread! I enjoyed the yellow tomato gazpacho - refreshing and flavorful. All of our entrees could not have been better - black drum generously topped with crab and pecans, fried soft shell crab balanced with a light Asian slaw, and angel-hair pasta with crab. We usually skip dessert, but everything had been so delicious that we indulged - two sharing the deconstructed key lime pie and two the banana cake. The pie was refreshing, light and deliciously limey. The best part about the banana cake was the caramel - the cake itself was rather dry and bland. Service was relaxed, so we were able to enjoy our dinner without feeling rushed. Our waiter knew the menu well, so was able to answer our questions and make recommendations. The restaurant was spacious and open so conversation was easier than we've experienced at other area restaurants. I've been to many excellent restaurants in New Orleans, and I will definitely return to and recommend Borgne.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This last visit to Borgne was disappointing. We went for a back to school dinner (7 of us) and the food was OFF, and everyone felt the same - meh. Way too pricey for just ok. We have been here many times and typically enjoy it very much. Hopefully it was just an off night, but consistency is king.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food! We went for a date night with friends and were not disappointed. The drinks and food were delicious. I kept heating mixed reviews about it, but glad we went.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderfully light yellow tomato gazpacho. Shrimp toast appetizer is almost like dessert. Quite loud. Staff seemed distracted or perhaps indifferent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic, Casual, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Borgne is best before a concert or event at the Superdome or Smoothie King Center. The food is good, and you cannot beat the location!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Casual, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A great place to dine before heading out to see John Mayer in concert. I will certainly return again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Ate there 2 nights in a row. Enjoyed both times. Louisiana seafood platter was so good, I hate it 2 nights in a row. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The hostess was very accommodating when I asked for as private a table as possible to have a business conversation. The server provided great customer service while I waited for my business associate who was running late. The romaine salad, fried oysters, and duck & andouille sausage were all outstanding and of the quality one expects at a JB restaurant. Thank you for another lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was prompt and friendly. The food was tasty and delicious. We very much enjoyed our experience and will return when in NOLA!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious seafood, divine deserts, great drinks. We brought our 8 year old son and 14 year old niece, and they cleaned their plates. The fish in a bag was perfectly cooked and th whole red snapper was delicious. My son ordered 3 deserts for the table, and they were all delicious and unique. Great seafood, and great waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were so surprised how great the food was. We were caught in the flood watch and couldn't venture out. We went to the hotel's restaurant. The fried chicken was GF and excellent!!! Great service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food of course - but this still very NOLA restaurant is different. The focus is purely the seafood itself, with Besh brave enough to feel no pressure to link up or reference to "traditional" meals in this city
Totally fresh and wonderful flavors yet very simple at times make for a fulfilling yet not at all overwhelming dinning experience
"New" NOLA
Great bar scene also!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food but noisy, frat party atmosphere. Very loud.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Every time I visit I make it a point to go to Borgne and every time it's amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We chose Borgne because it was the hotel restaurant where we were staying and needed a meal before a James Taylor concert more or less next door.

We expected it to be good, it was great. From raw oysters to small plates and the wonderful catch of the day... black drum with pecans and lump crab meat. Perfect!

It is also the hotel bar so it was loud. Also, for a Thursday at 5:30 pm, very busy. Very glad we made reservations well in advance. New Orleans is full of wonderful places to eat... here is another one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service. My husband is hard of hearing. Even With hearing aids in a restaurant that has poor acoustics he has a hard time communicating during our meal. We were seated close to the bar and noise level was over the top. The matri de escorted to a quiet table for 2 in a corner. He checked on us several times during our meal. Highly recommend

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Besides the great food and drinks, it is a welcoming and friendly place for both out of towners and locals. Very professional bar, wait staff and management. Combined they provide a pleasant and relaxed atmospherd to unwind or celebrate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.