About Borgne

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Business Meals (33)
Modern Decor (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Bar Seating (24)
Authentic (21)
Fun (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Live Sports (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tapas (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good... service was good.... ambiance was loud... desert was the most memorable part of the evening... highly recommend the peanut butter semifreddo and the strawberry panna cotta.... ceviche was ok.... octopus salad was good but not great.... red snapper was over seasoned.... The whole night was ok... good... not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Better, much better, than Galatoire's, Antione's, and Tujague's. Up there with Brightsen's. Very, very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We came specifically for the stuffed flounder, a traditional South Louisiana preparation now almost extinct. The fish was about 24 hours past its time, grilled rather than fried, with a bland stuffing. Our server worked very hard to find wines of our liking, so no complaint on that

front. Turkey neck appetizer is "interesting," but too sweet for our tastes. Did not try the

grilled oysters, which might have been good. Angel hair Pontchartrain was ho-hum, nothing distinctive. Same for Caesar salad. Otherwise, noisy and uncomfortable. For younger, less discriminating diners only.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Delicious, inventive and fresh. I recommend the snapper or the steak for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food. Everything paired perfectly... This is another great Besch restaurant, I will definitely be back. The oysters were perfect, the duck appetizer is a must have and the key lime pie, ends the meal exactly how you need it ended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, but average. Great lighting and ambiance. Uncomfortable seating (chairs).

Great service. Nothing stood out to make me want to go back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservations, was seated upon arriving. (Really great, didn't have to wait) Greeted by server. Ordered Mac and cheese for my son, a few appetizers. It came out really fast. However, entrees came out really slow. Took forever for it to come out, more than 30 minutes or more. Weird thing was, when we sat is was just my table, the 3 of us and another couple. A 4 top and a few 2 tops came in way after and their food entree was served before us...our entree came out 5 minutes later, but still... and from what I saw from the 4 top, they had almost the same thing we order, fish in the bag...and they got all their appetizers, salads, and entrees out super quick. Maybe server forgot to put on our entrees? Server gave us on the house champagne, was nice but she should of made my table and the other couple a first priority before all the other ones, being a server myself. But that's just me, to each its own on how he/she would like to treat their tables.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had a noon reservation and was seated right away. Ordered an appetizer which came out quickly, however the entrees were quick delayed.

Restaurant offered free desert as a gesture.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for lunch on Valentine's day to skip the dinner crowds. First time here. Everything was delicious. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best stuffed flounder in all of New Orleans. I am a native and I have had this dish and many restaurants. This was the best

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic dining experience. Great service and even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

John Besh knows how to make sure a restaurant is great. I had the grilled romaine salad, which basically was a deconstructed Caesar salad, but it worked! Often deconstructed means unhinged, but not in this case. The Lemonfish was great as well. The key lime dessert was good, but the ice cream part was too firm so we couldn't scoop all parts into one mouthful to reassemble the "pie". Great taste though. I can't wait to try other dishes. Thank you Chef Landry and Chef Besh

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome food, incredible environment and a great staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

the food and service were excellent, the portions were very large, it was a bit noisy as we were seated across from the bar, overall a very good experience

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great place. But hate that they change the happy hours when events are going on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The seafood dishes here are fabulous, particularly the drum, and the speckled trout. We had the shrimp toast, and that was also delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food, but a bit pricey. Casual ambience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing service. We had as few bumps but nothing that they couldn't accommodate!! We'll come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a first rate experience at Borgne on a busy meal. our waiter was super attentive and gave some excellent advise as to what he felt were some of the best dishes. Had oysters fish with pecans and my wife had a seafood medley served and cooked in a bag. Desert which we shared and loved was a take on key lime pie.

The restaurant itself is clean and well decorated however we both felt that the front window of the

restaurant would be improved if the window was glazed offering more privacy since Borgne's

location is on the ground floor of a well traveled hotel entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The stuffed flounder was fresh, tasty and well prepared. Service was a bit unskilled. Our main issue was ambiance. The restaurant had a rather impersonal vibe. Chairs with metal wire legs gave the feel of a cafeteria rather than restaurant. Borgne is probably a good choice for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good atmosphere, great food!! Great service. Great variety of dishes on menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was excellent. Service good. Nice place for seafood.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I liked the oyster decor. The hanger steak was great, as were the oysters we ate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

With so many good restaurants in New Orleans, Borgne was way overpriced for the mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had a slight problem with my food and it was attended too immediately and we were given a complimentary dessert - very professional and great service for this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Limited menu but what they do they do well. Great and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The duck poppers were awesome! The Grilled Caesar was delicious. The hangar steak and croquettes were amazing and so worth it! We were unfortunately too stuffed for dessert! Everything was great.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our group of 12 only had one waiter and it was difficult to get very attentive service. He seemed to be handling too many other tables and, therefore, we had to continually seek him out for assistance. One of our guests did not get served until nearly 15 minutes after everyone else. I will credit the management for trying to amend for this by providing a table full of desserts.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Unique menu items. Delicious cuisine! Loved having the choice of a value menu for happy hour before dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Intend to take my family to Borgne for dinner to celebrate a special occasion

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Another success by Josh Besh. Loves the atmosphere, although was a louder restaurant. We ordered the broiled oysters and shrimp toast for appetizer and they were very good. The chop salad has a unique spin on each dressing but very good. And the drum topped with lump crab meat was to die for. Good service. Very friendly staff. I would defiantly go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went to Borgne, before going to the Saengar to see a musical. The traffic from the Superdome to the Hyatt was absolutely insane. It took us 45 minutes to an hour to get to the Hyatt from the Superdome. People were driving like complete idiots.

The restaurant and atmosphere were nice. The service was rather slow. The food was good, but it really wasn't worth the trouble, that we went through, to get there. My daughter was served the wrong salad, but she ate it anyway and did not want to complain.

We will try it again sometime, but not on a Friday night, after 5 o'clock, when the Crescent City Connection was closed for three hours.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great Louisiana oysters. Turkey necks are always the best thing on the menu! Fish in a bag and the whole fish are also good. Salads leave a little bit to be desired from a portion standpoint, but overall, good dining experience. Get there during happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. Joe was our server and he took very good care of us. They were busy being a Saturday night but, we did not have to wait for our orders or for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went with a big group for small plates and snacking before an event in the Hyatt and could not have been happier with the food and the service! The duck poppers and the shrimp toast were the standouts but really everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The cauliflower soup was absolutely delicious. Worth a trip just for the soup!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our server, Amanda, was terrific, friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was absolutely delicious...and reasonably priced for the value. We loved it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Restaurant was enormous, vibrant and noisy. Obviously a hot spot for tourist and convention goers. The food was "whelming"- neither under or over. The turkey necks were great. The better Besh restaurrants are August and Luke.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very cool atmosphere with authentic food! We loved everything about it.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Borgne. The cocktails were amazing and relatively well-priced. All of the dishes that we ordered were delicious and generally featured Louisiana seafood, as promised. We also loved the fresh, crunchy bread that was served before dinner. The atmosphere seems to function best for groups or work functions, but it was good for a romantic dinner as well. In short, great service, great food, and great value!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Pre-concert

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great meal at Borgne in a very busy evening before a concert at the Arena. The oysters were a nice size and very tasty. Split a bunch of small plates and everything hit the mark. Will be back.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is a restaurant in a big loud convention hotel. Right in the front, very HERE WE ARE. It's cold. It's noisy. The seats are super-uncomfortable. They sat us near the window (lovely view of the driveway) and we froze. (NOLA was having a cold snap). Service was slow but polite. Prices were high. There are much better options in this town. Trust me, I'm a librarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Being a Sugar Bowl pre-game crowd, this restaurant had an evidently well thought out plan: custom menu separately for drinks and food with helpful notes by menu items of interest. Service was very good considering the high demand at the convenient restaurant next to the Superdome. Lots of staff and accommodating-allowed us to add a couple of folks with extra chairs. Very very good food (did I see something about James Beard?) and loved my cocktail! Everyone enjoyed it and were thankful for the exceptional find!! Hats off to great management and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great place before the Sugar Bowl!!! Awesome experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I was looking for a good place for dinner before the Sugar Bowl and found Borgne, pronounced "born". I am glad I reserved in advance. It was packed! And the food and service were very good. The oysters were fresh, and even the gluten free baked ones were very tasty. The Octopus appetizer was a hit, as was the Ceviche, but my sheepshead in parchment was diappointing - rubbery and not tasty. The panna cotta with carmel popcorn was a hit for dessert, though. The service was excellent, and timely, and we only had a short walk to the Super Dome. While this restaurant is in the Hyatt Regency, don't be deceived, it's not typical hotel restaurant fare. We were pleasantly surprised. And you will be, too. It's a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had broiled oysters, oysters on the half shell, and duck poppers to start- all AMAZING!!! Split a garlic shrimp Po boy with my husband and we both thought it was good, not great. Overall a fantastic meal though!! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

As expected for a John Besh restaurant. Everything simply exceptional !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food everything we had was delicious and the waiter gave great suggestions. Their deconstructed key lime pie was an excellent end to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Atmosphere is very sterile, like eating at a bar in a hospital. Not "cozy" at all. Food was OK, but standard hotel restaurant fare, nothing special. I felt that for the price, we could have ventured out a few blocks away and had a much superior meal.

Dessert was very small for the price ($9 each), cheesecake was dry, altogether wouldn't buy dessert there again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.