Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Borgne

"When people ask where in New Orleans to go for great local seafood,
I want the answer to be Borgne." - Brian Landry, Executive Chef




Chefs John Besh and Brian Landry grew up fishing on Lake Borgne, the epicenter of coastal cuisine in Louisiana.
Their shared passion for Louisiana seafood brought them together to create Borgne, a celebration of coastal Louisiana with a touch of Isleño influence. Borgne will be a gathering place for locals and visitors alike, a CBD lunch spot, a quick bite before the game and a casual setting for a delicious dinner with friends.

601 Loyola
New Orleans, LA 70113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am - 10 pm
Friday-Saturday 11 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Between Poydras and Girod

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 613-3860

Website:
http://www.borgnerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Valet parking with the Hyatt for a $10 flat rate fee

Executive Chef:
Chef Brian Landry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Borgne, Private Dining is available for social and corporate events whether in our private dining room or in the restaurant. Our private dining room seats 35 people, while the restaurant, available for buy-outs, seats 250 or 300 for your reception.

Borgne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Local Ingredients (44)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Casual (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Business Meals (35)
Fun (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Modern Decor (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Bar Seating (28)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tapas (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great Beer (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (9)
Family Style (8)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Scenic View (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

While my wife and I enjoyed our outing, and we will return, we just think the value is a bit overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a quick working lunch after a conference. The service was quick, and they accommodated several dietary restrictions with no problems. I ordered the octopus gnocchi and the gumbo -- both were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The depth of flavor in all the dishes was exceptional. Keeping up the John Besh standards!

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

If you are a foodie who likes seafood you will enjoy this resturant. The food is prepared with the freshest ingredients. I had the soft shell crab that is slight fried along with cabbage that was delish. The fish was moist and light. The Louisiana clams were very good and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food choice in alternative to fresh seafood tower. The gnocchi with charred octopus were exceptional (this said by authentic Italians).. Southern fried chicken was really tasty without being greasy..
Staff were attentive and caring..

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

great waitress and food!
great waitress and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

MUST HAVE Area 3 oysters!!! Best we've had in a long time!
Crawfish bread was DELISH! We stopped in for a late lunch after my daughter graduated at the Superdome, which is walking distance. Main reason we chose this place was for that. It was wonderful to relax and have some great, light food. Would definitely recommend it. It is located inside the Hyatt, which also looked great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Borgne offers a mix of Louisiana favorites prepared with an updated modern flair. The service is excellent and worthy of a much more formal restaurant - always available but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Located inside the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Borgne offers great food with fresh ingredients. I highly recommend the shrimp toast appetizer and soft shell crab BLT sandwich for lunch. You will find both traditional fare and innovative fusion choices as well. The staff is very friendly and courteous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was generally good, though not exceptional... We had the shrimp toast which was tasty but kind of drenched in sweet chili sauce... The grilled romaine salad was tasty though nothing exceptional... The octopus and gnocchi with ragu might have been the best appetizer though it was over salty - the gnocchi and octopus were perfectly tender. We had the seared snapper with crawfish over cauliflower which was fine, but needed more acid. My biggest issue was the atmosphere. I was honestly shocked when I got there - my husband and I were there for our anniversary, and the atmosphere just didn't fit the menu at all. This is someplace with $30 entrees, but the vibe on the restaurant is like a fancy sports bar - much more casual than the menu would suggest, huge screen tvs at the bar visible from all over the room, industrial tile floors, no tablecloths... I doubt I'll go back - if I'm going to spend that amount, I want to do it someplace that feels more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As my first meal in Nola, it was definitely the best, and only 2 blocks from my Airbnb. The Angel Hair with seafood was amazing - creamy sauce without being too heavy. I also go the brussel sprouts which were delicious (not sure very healthy, but worth it ).

Tags: Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great Mother's Day Lunch at Bourgne with our Tulane graduate grandson.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day and the good was exquisite. Shared several plates amougnst the table and I would order everything again. It was nice to eat at a New Orleans restaurant and feel as though the quality was in the freshness and artistry of the food, rather than depending on heavy sauces and spices. And easy to order gluten free options. Definitely look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was excellent. It was my friend's birthday and the waiter brought a dessert with a lit candle to the table. That made the luncheon a more memorable celebration.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Good location. The food was tasty and we'll prepared. No complaints. However nothing was amazing but overall very solid place conveniently located in the hotel. Service was good as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Grilled oysters, romaine salad, angel hair with shrimp. All were great! Pleasant waitress. No complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Advertised as a seafood restaurant, was not many seafood choices. Very different menu, 4 of us all had trouble finding anything desirable. Food was fair at best, did not say on Open Table it was at a Hotel. Would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Could have made a meal just on the Brussels sprouts. The dessert semifreddo was spectacular!.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Specialty is Fish isn a bag which was very tasty. It is a hotel restaurant and it was rainy so was easy to just stay there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great. We got our good fairly quickly and we were on our way within an 2 hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This was before the Neal Diamond concert and the noise level was excessive. However all the rest was wonderful. I had the stuffed flounder and my wife had the speckled trout in a bag. I was also given a birthday treat for dessert. The food was outstanding as was our server Hector.
We are locals and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is ot your typical "hotel restaurant." Always a great meal and fun atmosphere. Noise level can be challenging, but that is typical of most restaurants these days. Kitchen is always accommodating to dietary needs and awareness of a shellfish allergy to be sure to take care in preparations. Tasty cocktails make up for it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great meal, great service. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our waiter Greg was very helpful in recommending choices. Of course it turns out everything there is delicious! Dinner was excellent, as was the service.
We were staying in the hotel and returned several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love the decorated oyster pillars and bar! Super cool atmosphere. It's just a little loud. Service was perfect and all of our food was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I really enjoyed Birgne. The food was excellent, waiter was very good, and I liked the ambience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The meal was a bit disappointing! The mashed potatoes were dry and the biscuit was super salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Awesome food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent Food and exceptional staff! Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always a great happy hour, never super packed except for saints games. I would not be a regular if it weren't for the chill open ambiance, happy hour and great beer/drinks . ALWAYS the best service, probably my most favorite Besh restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic. I am so glad that we decided on 3 different appetizers for the group, as each one was exceptional. Fish entree was delicious and not too big (hubby and I split) so we had room for dessert! There again we all split 3 desserts and "wow" was heard from every bite. Seriously good food! Service was perfectly attentive without being overly attentive, cocktails were refreshing and unique, and we loved the oyster decor. I cannot wait to visit NOLA again and come back to Borgne!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server, Brooks, was very accommodating and friendly! Great food. Would return

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was great, but the catfish sliders were not cooked all the way through, unfortunately. I most certainly paid for that later. That will just be someThe crawfish bread was amazing though. I will be back to try the angel hair pasta. I can say that I love the atmosphere overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter lunch. Borgne is a favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Have eaten here for special occasions, business, concerts and with family, children and friends. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Co-workers and I were on a business trip in New Orleans. Great place to eat in a hotel. We all enjoyed the food, very interesting spin on turkey necks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My nephew was in town from Manhattan and wanted to take him to a New Orleans restaurant but not fight FQ traffic. Borgne is one of our go to restaurants. We had three great fish dishes, stuffed fish, pasta with shrimp and black drum with pecans. Started with a dozen of raw oysters which were good sized and delicious and duck gumbo which was exceptionally good. FInished with a chocolate "snickers" dessert. HIghly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was quick and very friendly. The food came out extremely fast. We were shocked. We had appetizer, entrees, and dessert in a little over an hour. The pork empanadas as an appetizer are served with a white BBQ sauce which is a little on the tangy side. The fish in a bag was flaky, seasoned with crab butter, and the side vegetables were tender. Their peanut butter dessert is just enough to split and has an ice cream texture. Great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service. Love John Besh's restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The waitstaff was a little disappointing after all the great service we received in New Orleans. The waiters seem like they are reading off a cheat sheet instead of having true product knowledge. I'm not even sure he's had the good before.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.