Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

About Bonterra

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 6:15PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Historic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good food and ambiance. The worst service we have had in a fine dinning establishment in many, many years and the restaurant was only half full. After being seated we first saw our server (Kerry) after several minutes only to have the first words out of his mouth be "You know that there is a charge for that bottle of wine you brought in". No hello or explanation of the menu, just a stare. We ordered a few appetizers to share, which were brought to our table by a food runner. The problem was we had no plates to eat on. This went unnoticed by Kerry for over 5 minutes even though we tried to get his attention several times. When he finally came over he blamed the problem on the bus boy. It took another 15 minutes for him to return to take our entree order. Our entrees arrived and Kerry never came by to see if everything was alright with our order, although he passed by several times we were just ignored. When I say never, the next time we saw him after taking our entree order was to ask us if we wanted desert. Also, no one ever refreshed our wine glasses or our waters. At one point, while explaining something to the table next to us, Kerry put his foot up on a chair to pull his sock up. Really! Won't go back despite the good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Mediocre at best. The service was downright terrible, with us frequently having to raise our hands to get the attention of other servers to ask things of our server (we ran out of water, bread, and wine - yet no one checked in on us). My filet mignon was a very low quality piece of meat that actually had to be returned it was so hard to cut - and it was prepared rare. My colleague had a filet as well that was brought to him cold. It took them so long to remake my steak (again, just cooked rare) that all of my colleagues finished eating before my food was brought to me. While the restaurant offered a bottle of wine in return for the steak issue, this was an important dinner and I would have much rather had good food with good service - no one is coming here for a cheap dinner, so free wine was not exactly what I was looking for.

Finally, while the building itself looks nice on the outside (repurposed church), the interior leaves so much to leave desired. A stained drop ceiling, Motel 6 carpeting, and cheap furniture really ruin the ambiance. There are much nicer restaurants in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our evening. The shrimp and grits were great, salmon was amazing and my son loves the steaks. A great place to dine.
Charlie R

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first & last visit. Sadly we chose Mother's Day, they only offered an overpriced buffet. The food was mediocre at best, and full of salt, and the buffet offerings were very limited, nor was the buffet tended to like it should have been. The atmosphere could be quaint, instead was old, stained ceiling tiles. The booth was like being on a ride when the people beside us scooted in or out. The $20 champagne was what I'd consider a smaller pour, and the glass rim dirty with lip prints. The tablecloth was also dirty with a stain & pepper so I used my napkin to cover the area. Since there was no offering of bread or toast of any kind on their breakfast buffet, I asked for an English muffin which was put on a dirty grill and black on one side from grill remnants and the other side was cold. The service was pretty good, but sadly doesn't make up for the overpriced, mediocre experience we had. Do not recommend and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We came for our 9 year anniversary. We had our reception at Bonterra, so this was our 10th time there to celebrate our marriage. The food was excellent. We had the waygu tartar and could have licked the plate clean. With our app we had martinis that were perfect. We split the azalea salad which was fresh and bright. I had the crab cake special which was two large crab cakes and a black rice. The crab cakes were ALL crab! Super delicious. My husband got the halibut which was oh so flaky and melt in your mouth. We finished our experience with what i would like to call a caramel explosion...every bite was better than the last. We'll see you next year, Bonterra!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first experience and it won't be our last!! Jeff B (our server) was one of the BEST servers we have ever had!! We were early for our reservation and they were accommodating and friendly! The food was fabulous and the wine list paired perfectly with our food!! The white chocolate souffle was freaking heavenly!!! I would go just for wine and this dessert...with Jeff as our server, of course!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The experience has clearly suffered in the few years since we have visited. We noticed a change when the new chef started about 6 years ago. We were usuals before then, and are visiting less frequently now. This past experience was probably the nail in the coffin. Waiting for wine orders until the check arrives is not acceptable. The cheese spreads were blasse. My salmon was above average, my husband's steak below. Too much to spend on average food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love Bonterra! Great spot for special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent dinner. Must have been a slow night, being the night before Easter. The ambiance was a little disappointing, the wait staff was setting up for Easter brunch all around us....

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a wonderful meal, attentive server, food was unique and delicious. Great for trying new dishes or preparation never had before. Wild boar was tender and delicious. Shrimp and lobster pudding was unbelievable. Can't say enough about the experience, will go back for seconds soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Well, I have to say it was pricey, but it was very good and the server was outstanding. Very eclectic menu. Portion size for the appetizers are not suitable for sharing, but the peanut brittle chocolate cake, which we did share, was the best dessert I think I have ever had. will probably go back sometime after we save up ;)

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Definitely charming, but for the price not spectacular. You'd think such a nice place would notice things like the water stains on the ceiling (very noticeable and all over), or the bathrooms would get a little sprucing up. Food was good, although very pricey. Good date night, or celebration place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food and timely friendly professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Server and food was excellent. Wine was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Top notch service, excellent food. Beautiful atmosphere. Best wine list anywhere.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Organized a dinner here for 10 people for a birthday gathering. The restaurant is beautiful and unique, and the noise level was just right for a festive occasion - not too loud or too quiet. The extensive wine list was fabulous, as was the menu...and the bartender customized a lemoncello martini that was also uniqe and excellent.

Regrettably, our server was attentive in the beginning but lost touch around the time we needed to order and thereafter. One couple was late and had to wait 15 minutes for their beverages. Salads were swapped by the person who delivered them, and we did not realize until folks already began eating them.

The server seemed annoyed when we asked for coffee and dessert...I was disappointed, having spent $350+ for the dinner. In fact the food was quite good; lastly gratuity was added in at 20%, which is fine, but several people did not realize and tipped again...there are nice ways to tell patrons that you have included the tip. Perhaps that is why the waiter was less concerned about our experience. At any rate, I am hesitant to burden the waitstaff with my presence again and am most likely take my $350 dinners elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Waitress did a very bad job in boxing the leftovers. She crammed the lobster tail and the vegetables into a very small container. Everything was smashed together. Very disappointing and very unnecessary.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our reservation was at 6:30 on Tuesday. The bar was busy but the dining room was not. The noise level was low making conversation easy and the service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was so disappointed I saw the menu and thought this will be wonderful. I ordered the Lobster appetizer, I will say the portion was generious however the lobster was over cooked and dry. I also ordered the veal loin and it was bland at best although perfectly cooked. Bottom line great atmosphere great wine list but the food is NOT worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We haven't eaten at Bonterra's for years and really looked forward to going. Much more fru-fru now. "Too much" going on with the food. The fried lobster tail had too many flavors that negated the flavor of the lobster itself. Pate' was just ok. Likened it to Hormel canned ham.

As diners we felt a little like an after-thought.

I know Bonterra's has a great rep, but our experience wasn't that great.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The steak was amazing. Period. Get the filet.
Service was great. I'd go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent fried lobster tail and ribeye.

Attentive staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of my favorites in Charlotte. Great food and great wine list.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Bonterra. The service was top notch and the food was beautifully presented and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent food. Salad and Seared tuna were great. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The fried lobster tail was something that I was really excited about but I ended up a little disappointed. There was a lot of breading that fell apart when I cut into it. It was good but the breading took a lot away from the lobster's flavor. The waiter explained to me that the lobster was prepared wrong (that sauce was supposed to be poured over it and not on the side like mine was) My steak, however, was cooked perfectly. The waiter seemed a little distracted and took long to take our orders. He was nice but kind of all over the place. I do plan to come in the future and I hope the lobster will be made the correct way.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Fried Lobster Tail was unique and tasty. The Chateaubriand was very delicious. The restaurant has such great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is a very eloquent and high end restaurant. The service is excellent and the setting appears to be an old church. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The menu is limited so just fyi....but their steaks are tremendous and the fried lobster tail is something they are known for and it is amazing. It is very pricey.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had heard good things about Bonterra, so I booked a table for my wife's birthday dinner. We were NOT disappointed. First, our waitress was very knowledgeable and courteous. She gave us a quick history lesson on the building and told us about its features (wine cellar, private rooms) for future visits. She recommended the fried lobster for my wife, and I chose the veal chop. The fried lobster was great and had tons of flavor. The veal chop was so tender and juicy, and the Old Fashioned cocktail I got was excellent. We also had steak tartare for starters and its honestly the best I've had. It comes with a blue cheese mousse that adds a creamy texture to the dish. Service was very good, and the noise level wasn't too bad. It's a great place for a nice date night, and you won't break the bank either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was our first time at this restaurant.......and we loved it. The food was beautifully presented and delicious.
The service impecable!
Loved the place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had been to Bonterra before and felt like we may have gone on an off night. However, we returned a year later and left with the same assessment. While the location is intriguing, has a good wine list and bar- the food is somewhat underwhelming and lacks overall flavor profile. The menu is good and has a lot of great selections, just needs to be more development.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a fantastic Valentine's Day dinner at Bonterra. We have been coming to the restaurant basically since its opening back in the 1990s. The food items were outstanding. We did think the desserts were not as strong as the other portions of the meal. The wine selection was as always amazing. The ambience was perfect. We were looking for a relatively quiet, romantic atmosphere and that's what we got. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We chose Bonterra for our Valentines Day dinner and were pleased. A glass of Champagne at the bar waiting for our table for two, we were early, and then seated. They added more tables for two for this "date night" event and I would say the table we were given was a bit cramped and in the traffic pattern. The service and food were wonderful as we expected. We were not rushed at all, one of the last out, and we will return again for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a canned menu. For $129 a couple very overrated. Food was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

When I made my reservation, I ask if they had a limited menu for Valentine and was told no. It will the regular menu.

Upon arrival and seating we were handed the Valentine limited menu and the waiter told us they were not offering their regular menu. Upon leaving, the manager said we could order from the regular menu. We choose to leave anyway as we know the regular item had not been prepped and would be rushed.

We shouldn't have to complain to get decent service at a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I really want to rate this higher but have a hard time. Firstly the chef does an amazing job and truly cares about the food that is put out. And our server was amazing. But for the price you are paying and definitely a potential romantic date place it is very dirty. Large number of water stains on the ceiling and dusty/cobweb light fixtures. If the front of house is kept in this type of condition what is the kitchen like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food, environment, and service was terrific. Paul (our server) was stellar!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing, waitress couldn't pronounce menu items and had an odd way of describing the foods she recommended. The atmosphere was less hip, a little colonial and stuffy, but maintained well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food here is really great! Unfortunately I went on a Saturday night and it was way to busy to get decent service. I waited 20 mins for a sparkling water and than 10 more for like lol. This place is great service and food wise. Just would not go back on a weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Off its game food-wise. Tuna was over cooked and the food came out slow (which wasn't too bad since it was Valentines Day). Felt like it was more portion controlled than usual. Still believe they have good food usually.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.