About Bonterra

1829 Cleveland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Bonterra is located in a renovated 100 year old church in the historic Southern District of Charlotte. Sommelier & Owner John Duncan has created a stunning array of 200 wines by-the-glass and an additional 300 selections from the cellar which comprises one of the largest wine lists in Charlotte. Featured in the November 15, 2000 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine as one of the New Wave Wine Bars in America. Winner of the prestigious AAA Four-Dimond Award and DiRoNA Award of Excellence. Complimenting John's selection of wines are the menu offerings of Executive Chef Blake Hartwick. Chef Hartwick's elegant approach to cooking shows nightly in his diverse menu of fresh seafood, Midwestern lamb, oven roasted filet mignon and the signature fried lobster tail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open for Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Wine Bar open nightly @ 4:30pm

Cross Street:
South Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-9463

Website:
http://www.bonterradining.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Public Transit:
Light Rail at West Blvd. Station

Executive Chef:
Blake Hartwick

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehersal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Corporate Meetings for up to 175 Guest

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bonterra can accommodate a variety of parties, weddings, family reunions, social outings or your next corporate event for up to 175 guests.

Bonterra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (25)
Historic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fried lobster tail was something tha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 21 hours ago

The fried lobster tail was something that I was really excited about but I ended up a little disappointed. There was a lot of breading that fell apart when I cut into it. It was good but the breading took a lot away from the lobster's flavor. The waiter explained to me that the lobster was prepared wrong (that sauce was supposed to be poured over it and not on the side like mine was) My steak, however, was cooked perfectly. The waiter seemed a little distracted and took long to take our orders. He was nice but kind of all over the place. I do plan to come in the future and I hope the lobster will be made the correct way.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This is a very eloquent and high end res ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a very eloquent and high end restaurant. The service is excellent and the setting appears to be an old church. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The menu is limited so just fyi....but their steaks are tremendous and the fried lobster tail is something they are known for and it is amazing. It is very pricey.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic Valentine's Day dinne ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fantastic Valentine's Day dinner at Bonterra. We have been coming to the restaurant basically since its opening back in the 1990s. The food items were outstanding. We did think the desserts were not as strong as the other portions of the meal. The wine selection was as always amazing. The ambience was perfect. We were looking for a relatively quiet, romantic atmosphere and that's what we got. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Bonterra for our Valentines Day ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Bonterra for our Valentines Day dinner and were pleased. A glass of Champagne at the bar waiting for our table for two, we were early, and then seated. They added more tables for two for this "date night" event and I would say the table we were given was a bit cramped and in the traffic pattern. The service and food were wonderful as we expected. We were not rushed at all, one of the last out, and we will return again for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a canned menu. For $129 a couple ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a canned menu. For $129 a couple very overrated. Food was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

When I made my reservation, I ask if the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

When I made my reservation, I ask if they had a limited menu for Valentine and was told no. It will the regular menu.

Upon arrival and seating we were handed the Valentine limited menu and the waiter told us they were not offering their regular menu. Upon leaving, the manager said we could order from the regular menu. We choose to leave anyway as we know the regular item had not been prepped and would be rushed.

We shouldn't have to complain to get decent service at a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a wonderful time. The food, envir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful time. The food, environment, and service was terrific. Paul (our server) was stellar!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing, waitress couldn't pron ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing, waitress couldn't pronounce menu items and had an odd way of describing the foods she recommended. The atmosphere was less hip, a little colonial and stuffy, but maintained well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Off its game food-wise. Tuna was over co ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Off its game food-wise. Tuna was over cooked and the food came out slow (which wasn't too bad since it was Valentines Day). Felt like it was more portion controlled than usual. Still believe they have good food usually.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our 2nd visit, this time for our anniver ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our 2nd visit, this time for our anniversary - another fabulous meal with excellent service!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at Bonterra. M ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great experience at Bonterra. My husband and I both got steak as our entree and it was delicious. Our service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was just ok. Expected a little bet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was just ok. Expected a little better. Wine was very good!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great decor and atmosphere.. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great decor and atmosphere...waiter was too friendly and not very efficient.

Would go back with other first timers because the setting is unique and the food is spectacular though a little expensive.

Great for a special event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful meal and the service ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and the service was attentive. Quality of the offerings was excellent and the wine list was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was great, but the service was awesome. Jeff our server was awesome, comical, and relate-able!!! This was our first dinner meeting for the organization. Thank you for making it a memorable Jeff!!!!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in the neighborhood and always l ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and always love eating here! They continue to have the same servers who are all absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning facility. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Stunning facility. Excellent service. Outstanding food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at Bonterra and it was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

First time eating at Bonterra and it was wonderful. The ambiance, food, service, decor, and parking were all upscale and well done. Located in a renovated church the high ceilings and white table clothes make for an elegant dining environment. Couple that with well prepared food and you have a winning combination. I had the charcuterie plate appetizer, the NY Strip entree with mashed potatoes and green beans, and the caramel cheesecake dessert. My friend had fried green tomatoes with lump crab for her appetizer and shrimp and scallops for her main course. Everything was perfectly cooked and plated beautifully. Drank a bottle of wine and left VERY happy and satisfied. Will definitely be back and would HIGHLY recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was fabulous and service was top no ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was fabulous and service was top notch! Wine list was beautifully organized. Atmosphere fit for a girls night or a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonterra has always been a great experie ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Bonterra has always been a great experience whether for just a meal out or their special events such as a wine tasting or their James Beard dinner. Experience this time for Queensfeast was no different. Only change from my usual experience was timing as there was a large crowd for this event. Food was fantastic and hot as usual; server was attentive. We shared the various dishes; all were excellent. Is always a great evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was slow, taking about 15 minute ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Service was slow, taking about 15 minutes for the waiter to remember to collect our drink orders once we sat down at our table. No ability to order off-menu during Charlotte Restaurant Week. While the steak option was tasty, everything else felt like it was prepared well in advance and microwaved before being brought to our table. Portion sizes, particularly on the dessert options, were smaller than expected. Desserts were no better than Ms. Smith could have prepared.

I haven't been to Bonterra in over a decade, and it will be at least that long again before I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

There on a Wed night for Queen's Feast. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

There on a Wed night for Queen's Feast. Had pleasant experience before. Three ordered

NY Strip steak. One order had to be returned to kitchen for replacement, other two gristly.

Considered fried green tomatoes too heavily battered and no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I've wanted to eat at Bonterra for ages ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've wanted to eat at Bonterra for ages and my first dinner there did not disappoint. I was impressed by the elegant setting, it's a beautiful restaurant and I loved the 2nd floor overlook. We all had a fabulous meal and we loved our server, who was very friendly and attentive. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonterra is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Bonterra is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. We went during restaurant week, which I've done before at Bonterra. This restaurant week experience fell short of expectations. Both my pork appetizer and short rib entree were dry, though tasty and visually appealing. The waiter seemed somewhat as though he was going through the paces that night. The menu said "no substitutions" and they took that to the furthest degree. I wanted the salad, but no dressing substitution was allowed. Bonterra offers an incredible restaurant week option, but I'd rather pay a higher price and receive the experience I expect from them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

visiting Charlotte and looked up the usu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

visiting Charlotte and looked up the usual sites (Yelp, Zagats) and found Bonterra with 200 wines by the glass so off we went. Nice layout, great staff, good food and various well priced wines by the glass as well as cocktails. Restaurant week prices made it even better. Recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot and great experience! Will de ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great spot and great experience! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent meal with wonderful ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had an excellent meal with wonderful service provided by Anthony.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed both the dinner an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed both the dinner and the atmosphere. It was worth the drive from the Stonecrest area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful experience my friends a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

What a wonderful experience my friends and I had at Bonterra. Food was beyond excellent. And the service was superb! I hope to dine there again very soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing !!! Fried green tomat ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very disappointing !!! Fried green tomatoes were not as good as Memosa's, shrimp and scallops were not as good as Hickory Tavern's shrimp and grits where you get more for less money, the short ribs were like a roast I fix at home but dryer, the chocolate/peanut butter mousse was good, and the red wine was not tasty. Too much money for nothing !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Understanding it was restaurant week and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Understanding it was restaurant week and thus would be more crowded, we knew the service wouldn't be perfect. However, the service was pretty good, considering. Sadly, the food was sub-par, the choices lacking, and overall it was not a great experience. We haven't been in a while and were looking forward to trying again, but I guess we probably won't be back. Disappointed because we used to love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was a bit over cooked and not as fl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Food was a bit over cooked and not as flavorful as I would've expected at a place like this. Service was decent but not anything to write about

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server, Audrey, exceeded our expecta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our server, Audrey, exceeded our expectations. She was friendly and knowledgeable. Huge wine list. Perfect-sized portions. Food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Queen's Feast menu. Our waite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent Queen's Feast menu. Our waiter was a prince. We had two small but well behaved children and he was very accommodating. The chicken was tender and moist, salmon cooked perfectly. Wine menu is incredible, chocolate mousse dessert was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Charlotte Restaurant week

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Charlotte Restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a lovely evening at this amazing ge ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Such a lovely evening at this amazing gem. Food was incredible and service was kind and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did a fabulous job at Queens Feast. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They did a fabulous job at Queens Feast. The options were amazing

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing!!! We d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was amazing!!! We definitely want to go back to see their full menu! We went for restaurant week and was outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our Charlotte Restaurant Week tri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of our Charlotte Restaurant Week tries. The food was very good.....we all enjoyed it all. What set them apart from many, though, was the staff. From the time we walked in the door, they took great care of us. Not just our waiter (who was kind, fun, and helpful) but every person we encountered. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, service, and ambiance. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food, service, and ambiance. And the wine list? Absolutely phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.