About Bones

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (171)
Business Meals (151)
Good for Anniversaries (143)
See All
Good for a Date (119)
Good for Birthdays (118)
Romantic (109)
Notable Wine List (103)
Worth the Drive (92)
Quiet Conversation (65)
Authentic (64)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Bar Seating (54)
Good for Groups (51)
Cozy (50)
Private Room (46)
Historic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Family Style (15)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Comfort Food (13)
People Watching (13)
Casual (13)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fireplace (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
5474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice experience.
Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious. We're new to town. Saw it was #1 on top 10. We had been to some of those restaurants so our expectations were high. The food did not disappoint. Loved foie gras appetizer. We ordered our steak 1 temp up as recommended. Came as we liked it. My husband had his oscar style with crab meat. I added foie gras to my steak. I thought it would be an add on to the top but it was the same as the appetizer. Gave us the Mountain Pie for my birthday. It was an chocolate & vanilla ice cream pie. Layered with different flavors - Oreos, chic chips, pecans etc. delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Once again, Bones delivered with outstanding food and flawless service. From the just right warm bread, to the perfectly cooked steak, to the most delicious baked potato ever experienced, Bones was right on the money. Expensive, yes (I suppose). However, if one wants an exceptional dining experience, it is an excellent value. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and the staff accommodated us in a great manner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious!Steak was cooked perfectly also.The staff was very kind,friendly and professional.I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food and a romantic,cozy atmosphere.I was VERY VERY satisfied.Great job Bones!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and wonderful food. Definitely a return visit needs to be scheduled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The moment you walk inside, you are greeted like an old family friend and the level of service just goes up from there. The food was outstanding - my only complaint would be the size of the steak - too big for me to finish but that just meant I had a great left-over lunch to look forward to the next day. I would definitely recommend Bones as a fabulous place for steak in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 22, 2017

A+++
Always a great place to eat.
Great steaks and lobster!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Dry Aged Bone-in Ribeye was good. But for dry aged a KC Strip is better served for the nutty taste of dry aged beef. If you prefer dry aged explore another steakhouse, although the service was impeccable. That's what this place is known for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary and arrived at a time when there are very few occupied tables. Nonetheless we were directed to possibly the worst table in the upstairs of the restaurant right next to the kitchen entrance. We asked to be moved and were accommodated, but we had reservations and I know it was our anniversary and they elected to put us at the worst table I'm at level when there were plenty of other options. We had eaten there in the last few months for her birthday and holiday celebrations and thought we deserved better. Once that was straightened out, the rest of the evening was perfectly fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had not been to Bones for several years. It was better than ever. The wine list has a variety of choices and the waiter was very helpful. Our meals were outstanding. The service was A+. It was friendly and efficient. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent experience from start to finish! Will be a tradition anytime we visit Atlanta from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Steaks were good, Mash Potatoes were dry, Lobster Bisque was outstanding. Service was below par, they seated a large table close to us and our waiter focused on them and forgot about us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Super great service and food. Waiters are very attentive and flexible

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Every member of the staff was excellent and went beyond expectations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great service, great food, nice and quite atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Two of us ordered the steaks and not only were they tender but extremely flavorful. My husband ordered the lobster, first time he couldn't finish his meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Have been visiting Bones since 1981, and has never disappointed. Many guests I bring are surprised when I tell them how well they do lobster! I had bone in rib eye preceded by Frois Gras, service and dinner were great. One of my guests loved the mac and cheese. I thought the grilled asparagus were very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was extraordinary! 😀 The crab/avocado was succulent and the 20oz dry aged rib-eye lived up to it's name. The red snapper was flavorful and worth it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Bones was absolutely amazing we went to celebrate our 7 year anniversary of being together but on top of that I actually got engaged. Bones exceeded all of our expectations and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Still outstanding after all these years! (This says I have to write at least 50 characters. Hence ignore everything in parentheses.)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent as always! Service outstanding! Food wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time at this highly rated restaurant. And we were not disappointed. The food was fabulous and the service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our go-to special occasion restaurant, and tonight we may have decided to go elsewhere from now on... The food was outstanding, but the service was horrible. We waited twenty minutes to place an order, poured our own wine, and stared at our completed plates for almost twenty minutes while our waiter served every table around us and ignored us. Essentially we were made to feel like second-class citizens... Sad that we had brought our mother here for Mother's Day and we were celebrating our anniversary, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's amazing experience to have dinner with my husband. I love to come to Bones. Always the best in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I'm glad I chose Bones, it was spectacular the server assistant was friendly and very professional. Very welcoming staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were from out of town, looked up best steakhouse Atlanta, found plenty of reviews for Bones so made reservation. We arrived 20mins early, being from out of town we gave ourselves plenty of time to get there. Checked in sat at the bar, bartenders are awesome. We didn't get seated until 25mins after our reservation time so my wife was a little upset. They did comp our 3 drinks at the bar so that was nice. Food was great waiter was great. Being from Chicago the atmosphere reminded me of an old Chicago steakhouse which made me feel at home. Highly recommend!!! Next time in Atl I'll go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Bonus is one of the best places to go on Atlanta for a really top notch steak dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Bones has been described to me as one of the premier restaurants in Atlanta, and it lives up to its reputation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

One of our favorites. A must when we visit Atlanta. Steaks superb as is service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent as well as the friendly service. You feel right at home as your every need is attended too. We enjoyed our visit and will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was tasty and my date loved it!!!! The Filet was like butter!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was outstanding on May 9. We were treated as if we were in someone's home. It was a delicious file mignon meal!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fabulous always. A must for every trip to Atlanta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We came in from out of town and while everything (food, service, ambiance) was good nothing stood out at all. Considering the high end prices I couldn't recommend Bones as nothing was up to the level of the prices. Good place, far from great. Way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This has been and continues to be The finest steakhouse in the ATL. I always go every time I come to town and encourage all to make a pilgrimage to Buckhead for the experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Bones was great. The food was as usual wonderful. The service excellent. We had a constantly changing number for the reservation and they were very patient and accommodating even when we went up to 11 the day before. We celebrated my son's graduation from Emory and it was a memorable night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.