About Bones

3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Zagat rates Bones with the highest marks for food and service over all steakhouses in America. Bones has also been awarded by Zagat Survey as the # ONE rated restaurant over all types in Atlanta. By providing the finest quality food with an acclaimed wine cellar, there is no wonder why Bones has been recognized for the last 38 years as the benchmark of style in Atlanta.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 237-2663

Website:
http://www.bonesrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Leonard Lewis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bones can accept lunch and dinner parties from 6 to 75 guests. Please contact us for details.

Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (160)
Good for Anniversaries (126)
Good for a Date (110)
See All
Good for Birthdays (103)
Romantic (100)
Business Meals (98)
Notable Wine List (91)
Worth the Drive (70)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Cozy (45)
Private Room (39)
Authentic (38)
Bar Seating (34)
Historic (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fun (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Hot Spot (19)
People Watching (17)
Casual (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
5270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent all the way around.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 9 hours ago

Excellent all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with my experience at ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

I was disappointed with my experience at Bone's. It had been hyped up by several friends. It did not meet up to the hype. Food was okay, service was good and the dinner area was interesting. We were placed at table right at kitchen and the table even rocked. I don't like hearing all the dishes hitting together and also don't like all the wait staff going and coming my hole meal. Probably would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Birthday occasion - loved that the rest ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Birthday occasion - loved that the restaurant contracted with a local florist; having eaten at Peter Luger's, The Palm, Smith and Wolensky's, BLT Prime and Charlie Palmer, Bones blows them out of the water.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely beautiful place to eat! Food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely beautiful place to eat! Food is delicious! Steak was cooked perfectly and taste delicious. Service was great and offered great recommendations in the menu for first timers! Will come again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food! ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding service and delicious food! Top notch!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was wonderful and so was the se ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Ambiance was wonderful and so was the service. I took my husband there for his birthday. I had shrimp and it was good my husband had the dry aged bone in ribeye. It wasn't the best cut of steak it had more grissel than marble which made it a little tough My husband said it was fine but not the best he has had at other places I personally just expected more. Will probably go back but I won't be ordering a steak. The price for the steak was high for the cut we got

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Celebrated with my daughter. Great servi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated with my daughter. Great service for her 21st birthday. The wait staff, the host, and bartender were all awesome but the filet was over the top ! Thanks for helping us make this a wonderful memory for our beautiful daughter.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always well done at this classic Atlanta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Always well done at this classic Atlanta establishment. Service is top shelf, steaks prepared perfectly and wine list extensive.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Me & my Fiancé went for the 1st time for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Me & my Fiancé went for the 1st time for Valentine's Day. First let me say the service was awesome! The food & wine was good, but pricey. I expected more from the setting, it was smaller than I expected & nothing fancy for the price, but decent. I would only return for a special occasion with my significant other.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as always. The food & service are ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great as always. The food & service are as good as it gets anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant, i ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant, it was our first visit but definitely won't be our last. Everything was seasoned and cooked to perfection. The waiters were excellent, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here before wonderful place ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been here before wonderful place to enjoy a great steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The wait service was outstanding, we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The wait service was outstanding, we had Charles as our waiter, he was very excellent as was the assistant waiter, our water glass never got below half full. The food was perfect. My wife had the Salmon and I had the Bones burger, both were perfectly done. Bones, thanks for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate Valentine's. Servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to celebrate Valentine's. Services was outstanding, food was delicious, Bones is very romantic and cozy. Overall an excellence expirience. If you love steak Bone's is a most try in Atlanta. I recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very pleasant. The s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere was very pleasant. The service and attention to detail was top notch. The food was delicious, very pricey, but well worth it considering the overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience. Awesome service. G ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent experience. Awesome service. Great food!

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always one of the best steakhouses in Am ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

always one of the best steakhouses in America. experience starts off well with a good bar to grab a drink before going to dinner--excellent if not pricey wine list but the service is top notch and the steaks are as good as anywhere in the country--highly recommend

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I expected more. There are several othe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I expected more. There are several other restaurants of this caliber that are a much more worth the time and money. My experience was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our Valentine's Day date night was so sp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our Valentine's Day date night was so special at this very romantic and delicious restaurant. What a great time!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dining experience. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience. The food was great, atmosphere excellent. We really appreciated the small room with fewer tables.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food to be average, really ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We found the food to be average, really not up to standards for the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We were seated right away in the main di ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were seated right away in the main dining room as requested. Service was outstanding and an excellent wine was recommended. Our filets were cooked exactly to order and melted in our mouths. Take a jacket, it was chilly inside.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A5 Japanese wagyu had a charred crust to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A5 Japanese wagyu had a charred crust to die for. House salad even had a dusting of cinnamon on the Granny Smith apples and no doubt it was Stilton Blue Cheese. To too all that off I brought in my own wine, paid a $15 cirkage fee and saved a bundle-but don't underestimate their sommelier or wine list, both are superb! Only suggestion I would make would be add crime brûlée to the dessert menu-I had to suffer through Graham's 20 Tawny Port for dessert-but I survived-SMILING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A review for Bone's is very simple.....A ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A review for Bone's is very simple.....Always Exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with the hubby! Great service an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner with the hubby! Great service and great food!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything I expected of a high end stea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything I expected of a high end steakhouse was met. Excellent food and service. Will certainly return in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambiance. Hash b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Hash browns are wonderful!!! Was our 31st anniversary. They treated us wonderfully!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bones was excellent in all areas but din ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Bones was excellent in all areas but diners should expect to pay for excellence. One unique service was the "bones" cookies presented at the end of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Periodically dine at Bones, and it is co ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Periodically dine at Bones, and it is consistently a favorite. Most recently, we were celebrating my husband's birthday. Bones ensures the celebration is festive with the confetti and ribbons adorning the table, and a complimentary dessert, the Mountain High Pie - a Bones Tradition with the requisite candle. The dessert is beautiful, delicious, and a generous serving for two. Our Food Recommendations: The Fresh (really and truly) and large Shrimp, the Filet Mignon which was tender, flavorful, and perfectly prepared, and the crisp (the way we like them) Hash Browns. Bones has an impressive wine list, and the staff is helpful in choosing a wine to complement the food. The Server, Stephen A., is a well-informed professional who was friendly and helpful. The decor is attractive and relaxing with the Standards (Sinatra, Bennet, etc.) playing in the background. This experience reinforces our very favorable impression of Bones as a favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, , Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many thanks to the staff for a great bir ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Many thanks to the staff for a great birthday celebration. We had private dining in the wine cellar with excellent service and food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. - STEAK -

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great Food. - STEAK -

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabtabulous! Live the guts at the bar! C ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fabtabulous! Live the guts at the bar! Crab legs and filet were delicious. Best bisque in town

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak house I've ever been to!! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The best steak house I've ever been to!!!! Bones is definitely my new favorite restaurant. Everything was impeccable from the car valet to the food. It is an upscale restaurant, but they make you feel so comfortable. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Bones. Valet ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my first visit to Bones. Valet was a little confusing to start as you have to drive beside the building for valet parking. The entrance is very inviting. Staff confirmed reservations, I had made a special request for flowers and card to be present on the table. The wait time was minimal for the table to be set. The staff and service was superb. The staff is well trained and knows the menu including specials very well. Very pleasant ambiance in the restaurant. Lighting was perfect for a romantic dinner. The special requests were on spot. Our waiter was Tony. He was very pleasant, soft spoken and quoted daily specials from memory. He was very knowledgeable of the menu and answered every question we had. Tony was very observant and took noted this was a special occasion even though I did not speak of the occasion. The food was phenomenal. I had the filet with hash-browns. At the end of the meal, Tony surprised us with this amazing slice of ice cream cake. The final touch that every one in my party laugh was the box of "human bones" they gave as we was leaving. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food is always outstandi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service and food is always outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands-down the best steakhouse in the AT ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Hands-down the best steakhouse in the ATL. The porterhouse is rich in flavor, tender and done to perfection. The hashbrowns are top notch and don't forget the mile high pie. Wow

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Very expensive. Very bland si ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food. Very expensive. Very bland side dishes. Wait staff with an attitude🙁

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was my first time there. My friend ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my first time there. My friends as well as I will definitely be back. I can't say enough about this place. It was definitely one of the best experiences ever. Love this place. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.