About Bonaparte

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montréal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch : Monday to Friday, 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner : 7 nights, 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: (514) 844-4368

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mushroom Ravioli - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Lobster Bisque - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Pear And Champagne Sorbet - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Beef Medalion - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Cheesecake - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Filet Mignon - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Kir Royale - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Creme Caramel - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (89)
Romantic (69)
See All
Notable Wine List (57)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Tasting Menu (53)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Authentic (43)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Historic (32)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Business Meals (27)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Outstanding Value (15)
Fireplace (15)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and ambiance. I had the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and ambiance. I had the lobster stew and it was excellent. The atmosphere was perfect with the fireplace and deco. Excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at this restaurant three ti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten at this restaurant three times. Each time was great. The staff is professional and courteous. The gentleman who waited on me the last two times was excellent. If you want delicious food and an elegant ambiance, I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was insanely good !

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The tasting menu was insanely good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nourriture excellente et service impecca ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Nourriture excellente et service impeccable des serveurs.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived, everything w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Service was timely with just enough time to relax between the courses. Our waiter was very professional with assistance from various other staff members.

The food was beautifully presented and incredibly tasty. Each course had a unique flavor. All courses complimented each other

This is a dining experience to remember . I would recommend to anyone who would love a fine dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous allons chez Bonaparte 2 ou 3 fois p ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Nous allons chez Bonaparte 2 ou 3 fois par année depuis plusieurs années pour de anniveraires ou autres occasions spéciales et n'avons jamais éte déçu. L'atmosphère est agréable, le service est excellent et la nourriture est

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful evening! Fabulous waiter (Jas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful evening! Fabulous waiter (Jason) and terrific bartender, too. Loved everything about it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place. Second time we went ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 8, 2017

What a great place. Second time we went there and it was just as good as the first time, meaning its consistently great. Top class service that treat you and the rest of the staff very well, always talk to the waitresses and bartenders usually to figure what to get and what I would like. Food is also great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our order involved wide breadth. Waiters ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our order involved wide breadth. Waiters were very attentive, food was entirely satisfying, ambience was typically impressive. No complaints, as usual. Only recommendation that anyone dining out in Old Montreal would walk away happy if choosing Bonaparte.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an incredible experience, very frie ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such an incredible experience, very friendly staff as well as delicious food

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant with a professional, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous restaurant with a professional, endearing waiter who amplified the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service, great amb ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent food, great service, great ambiance .

The view of the street lit in the winter from our table was so romantic. In the summer you see the horse drawn carriages taking tourists or lovers around the cobblestone streets.

The food is beautiful and cooked to perfection, and the wine choices are plenty.

Excellent value for the money :)

We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu, and everything ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had the tasting menu, and everything was delicious. The service was stellar. The entire evening was a highlight of our trip to Montreal. Would love to return someday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked a table for four through opent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We booked a table for four through opentable, the greeting staff was very friendly and helpful, the seating process was fast and accurate. Our server was very helpful in terms of explaining the daily special soup and make recommendations. We had a good time together and the food was no doubt delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends when visiting Montreal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While on vacation good friend took me th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

While on vacation good friend took me there, and I enjoyed the meal so much, I returned before I left Montreal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance, great presentation, exc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely ambiance, great presentation, exceptional service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always inventive and delicious w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is always inventive and delicious with amazing service and a beautiful ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was by far one of my favorite restaurants that I have ever been too. Every thing about this restaurant was great. From the menu, atmosphere and serves, Menu has wonderful selection of traditional French food as well as 2 prix fixe menu(3 course or 6 course). I went with the 6 course menu and it was spectacular with a wide array of options. Each one handled with care. On top of the great food and atmosphere our waiters were great, they did not hover over us while eating but where very engaging ands fun to talk to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Très bons repas et service ............. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Très bons repas et service ...................................................................!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service - very knowledgeable and f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service - very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was fantastic! Highly recommend this spot!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another terrific meal at Bonaparte! The ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Another terrific meal at Bonaparte! The service is top notch and the food is prepared to perfection. We travel over an hour from Vermont to have dinner in Old Montreal and always come away feeling Bonaparte was worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A seamless dinner out. Food was excellen ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A seamless dinner out. Food was excellent. Had the Table D'Hote with pork tenderloin, was excellent and very good value. Definitely on a ir repeat list when we are back in Montreal.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, ambiance chaleureuse ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, ambiance chaleureuse et très bon prix par rapport à la qualité. Mon carré d'agneau était parfait.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a pre-Christmas dinner, welco ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed a pre-Christmas dinner, welcoming atmosphere, good food and excellent service. The room was noisy when we arrived because of a nearby group table (not much space between tables) but when the group left the ambiance was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the location in the old city. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved the location in the old city. The décor was soothing yet elegant. Our server was pleasant and attentive. We (3) each ordered something different, they were all marvelous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most amazing experience in Montreal. Suc ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Most amazing experience in Montreal. Such a sophisticated and formal dining restaurant. Happy to meet and chat with a canadian australian visitor as well who lived in sydney 5 minutes from where we live. Recommemded for any traveller to Montreal looking for a classy restaurant. Everything about our experience from the food to the services was first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tres bon service assiete généreuse sans ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Tres bon service assiete généreuse sans tout foi etre excésive.

c'était ma première foi j'y retournerai.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bonaparte is a wonderful classic Fre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Bonaparte is a wonderful classic French cuisine restaurant in the old city of Montreal. The dining rooms have a gracious, elegant atmosphere. The menu offers many interesting and delicious options. The focus on classic French cuisine is far more important to us than the use of "the latest rage in cooking"....which too often translates in to strange flavors and textures in an attempt to cover up the fact that the head chef is not as accomplished as at Bonaparte!

We are definitely looking forward to dining at Bonaparte during our next visit to Montreal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great and romantic dinner spot! T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Such a great and romantic dinner spot! The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly! One of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The delicious goat cheese filo pastry wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The delicious goat cheese filo pastry was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The goat cheese appetizer was incredible ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The goat cheese appetizer was incredible. My lamb was perfectly done, and my girlfriend's seafood was also delicious. A fantastic night out, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu dégustation avantageux et avec beau ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Menu dégustation avantageux et avec beaucoup de choix. Tous les plats sélectionnés étaient succulents.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful ambiance. Delicious chef tasti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful ambiance. Delicious chef tasting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent comme a l'habitude , service c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent comme a l'habitude , service courtois et agreable . Nourritude san pareil

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations and asked for somewh ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I made reservations and asked for somewhere intimate as it was our 1yr anniversary. Not only did we get set at a beautiful quiet corner but the view of the Christmas decorated in candied fruit was spectacular. The service was excellent, very personable, the menu deviné, and for the dessert they came out with sparklers in the dessert to wish us many more happy years. Definitely worth every penny spent. It's not cheap but the atmosphere, the service and food are definitely well worth it.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vraiment très bien petites attentions ég ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Vraiment très bien petites attentions également. Nous avons bien aimé pour la deuxième fois. C'est très agréable belle ambiance et super bon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Très belle soirée avec ma femme pour son ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Très belle soirée avec ma femme pour son anniversaire. La nourriture était excellente ainsi que le service (distingué sans être snob ou prétentieux comme cela est parfois le cas dans certain restaurant plus chic). La seule distraction était un problème électrique de lumières que les employés ont bien tenté de réglé mais sans succès et pour lequel ils se sont excusé.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service et atmosphère excellent! Recomma ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service et atmosphère excellent! Recommande beaucoup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bonaparte has recently been redecorated ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bonaparte has recently been redecorated and seems somewhat brighter than before. However, the menu remains much the same, not the most innovative but a very high quality traditional French menu. Plates and portions seem a bit larger than formerly. The service remains efficient, informed and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful setting, exceptional service a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful setting, exceptional service and perfectly prepared and served meal. Every person in our party of 8 was very pleased with the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.