Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bonaparte

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montréal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch : Monday to Friday, 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner : 7 nights, 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: (514) 844-4368

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (62)
Romantic (61)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Tasting Menu (46)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Authentic (34)
Historic (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fireplace (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Outstanding Value (13)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

10th Wedding Anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Amazing experience! Great food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

I had eaten here before, decided it was a great place to entertain customer, everything was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my best dining experience in Montreal. The food was phenomenal and service was exceptional. Expensive, but I feel it was worth it. In addition, the views in Old Montreal were gorgeous. I definitely would go back and recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service, one of my favourite restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, la cuisine très bon. My wife and I love the place,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter was incredible. The food was outstanding. Such a wonderful and memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Bonaparte never disappoints! Our waiter, Jannic, had a great personality and was very knowledgeable. The food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Another great meal at Bonaparte, Catherine and Martin are always the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was about as perfect as you can get. Great, diverse menu and impeccably prepared and served.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As we had read the service may not be outstanding yet not bad, and in my experience the food is great . A lovely dinner of great french cuisine, in a lovely old Montreal setting.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was fabulous the service was impeccable the ambiance was charming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic restaurant with lots of choices and great table dote options. Service was stellar and ambiance was warm and welcoming. Could not recommend this restaurant enough!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nothing overwrought, just well executed and presented. Service was unobtrusive but excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Beautiful building , with a charm about it. Dinner was excellent, we had the tasting menu and it was more then enough food. Very traditional French and we recommend you try the duck. Overall a great night and a nice change from the Brooklyn French restaurants we usually go to.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fantastic evening with not only beautiful but delicious cuisine. A true fine dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Sophisticated dining option in Old Town. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service and food were exceptional! We were treated like royalty from the moment we entered the restaurant. Highly recommend Bonaparte to anyone visiting Old Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 11, 2017

4 of us went for pre-theatre dinner. Excellent meal, not rushed and plenty of time to make the theatre.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The The food was good but half of the fish they were already out of so they should either buy more fish or not put so much on the menu

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our party of four enjoyed Bonaparte's warm, quiet ambience and attentive service . The recommended wines were affordable and complimented the dishes. The soup and salad starters were very tasty with the crisp asparagus and goat cheese of particular note; the mains--haddock and hangar steak--were classically prepared. The steak tartare, while ordered "very spicy", was not. Toast points which are normally served with this dish would have been appreciated. Our dessert, the lime meringue pie, was very disappointing. We wished we had ordered the classic creme caramel instead.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A lovely dining experience. We had an attentive waitress. The food and wine was delicious. They have 2 wonderful options for a tasting menu. A great value for the food quality and quantity.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

the location is perfect
the service was above average,

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Trip to Montreal

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We first went to Bonaparte a few years ago, and had a wonderful experience. This weekend, however, the dining room was very hot - the thermostat near us read 75 degrees Fahrenheit. Also, the service was slow and our server seemed burdened with too many tables. My food was good, but my husband was disappointed with his hanger steak.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was my third time going to Bonaparte. The food was great (portion is a bit large in my opinion, perhaps it's for the North American crowd), delicious as always.
The service was outstanding. We were first seated at a corner table but soon a party of three sat next to us and they were very loud and obnoxious. We gently asked the server if there's another table. It was a very busy night but he managed to change us to another quiet corner booth. We have a fantastic meal. Wine list is very extensive, and price reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Delectable food with exceptional service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Nice ambiance and good food, enjoyable experience overall

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was, as usual, amazing. The mushroom ravioli was one of the best dishes I've had in a while. I love their modern take on some old classics.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Get the tasting menu - worth it. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had only one night to "go out on the town". We were going to see Aura at Norte Dame and picked Bonaparte as a convenient location. We enjoyed their six course tasting menu. Everything was delicious and service was friendly and unrushed. Definitely a place to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went here on a snowy evening and were lucky enough to be seated in the alcove facing the window and street. And we had a wonderful meal here---the best we had in Montreal in fact. Service was impeccable, food was excellent and beautifully prepared. One of us had the 3 course meal at $39.95 which in our opinion was a delicious bargain. And the lime meringue pie was a beautiful finish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. The food was amazing. Celebrating the day of my 35 year career. Thank you will definitely return.

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 24, 2017

From the warm and gracious welcome, through the courteous, friendly and prompt service and to the main event, the excellent food, our evening was a delight. We found the food to be not too "fussy" but fresh and perfectly prepared. The green salad was crisp and dressed just right and the soup was tasty. The roast pork and the cassoulet were our choices for the main course, and were both excellent. Desserts were not heavy or too fancy: the lime and meringue pie and the creme caramel were just the right endings for our meals. Thank you! We will be back the next time we have Centaur tickets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A lovely and traditional restaurant attached to a small hotel. We particularly enjoyed the quiet atmosphere that allowed us to concentrated on the excellent food and our conversation. Service was attentive without being overbearing. The wine list has a focus on French wines (including a large selection of Burgundy) with some good choices at moderate prices...particularly when considering the current (March 2017) exchange rate with the US dollar!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and service within a boutique hotel in old Montreal. Had a colonial era feeling, which added to the atmosphere. Would be great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was prompt and the food prepared exquisitely

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Well trained staff attentive to customer needs and great food. This is what makes the Montreal xperience great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is a cozy restaurant in Old Montreal. We had the tasting menu and it was excellent. The wine list has a wide variety of wines with a wide variety of prices. We selected a Volnay which was very nice. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If we lived in Montreal, we would come here regularly!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.