Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bonaparte

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montréal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch : Monday to Friday, 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner : 7 nights, 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: (514) 844-4368

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (67)
Good for a Date (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Tasting Menu (43)
Authentic (40)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (12)
Historic (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fireplace (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Classic French food served in quiet elegant setting. Attentive service. Very reasonable prices for class of food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful French meal. Met and exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed the five course meal and every course was exquisite. The lamb was incredible! We highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Table d'hote is great deal. Lamb shank and pork belly were delicious and incredibly tender. Staff were all friendly and gracious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, service, beautiful decor, would dine at Bonaparte again & would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys delicious food, superb service & overall great dining experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our best meal in Montreal. The staff was attentive and everything was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved Bonaparte! Truly the food was as delicious as the presentation. Wait staff enjoy their work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A family member who visits Montreal regularly recommended Bonaparte and it proved to be one of the best recommendations we've ever been given. We are a family of 4 with 2 (very well-behaved) teenage kids and we did the 7 course tasting menu. There were plenty of selections for different courses to please all palates. I've dined in fine restaurants in France and this one beat them all. Service, ambiance and, most importantly, the food were all 5 star and we all loved it. I will definitely return to Bonaparte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our group of six had the most wonderful meal of our 5 day Montreal trip at Bonaparte. Fine dining in a lovely setting elevated to an even higher level by the professional staff. Our knowledgeable and charming waiter, Marc, was the type of waiter to whom all others should aspire. We have never had better service. From explaining menu items, answering our questions and suggesting wine pairings, he was stellar......as was the food. As a first course, several of us who are foie gras lovers tried a paring of two different preparations....unique,amazing and ambrosial. Can you imagine Foie Gras Crème Brule?? Delicious!! Every entrée was a success, among us we had Dover Sole(2), duck(3), and a Veal Chop(1). Each of us thought our selection was the best because they were all so good. Dessert and Irish Coffee capped an truly special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was so much more than dinner it was an event. Our server Yanik made it even more special and entertaining.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent meal in a chic French style restaurant. We were staying at l'Hotel so the Bonaparte was in a perfect location. We just had to take a stroll around the bloc and there it was! It was a quiet oasis in old Montreal where throngs of people gather on a hot and humid Saturday night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent service! L'entrée de saumon fumé et le plat de pétoncles étaient délicieux! Je vais y retourner c'est certain

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good food. Not great, but very good. And wonderful service. But a little pricy for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Came here for a first date, and once the wait staff knew that they went above and beyond for us, truly making our experience unique, funny, and one of a kind. Would highly recommend this place for any couple. I had the rack of lamb, medium rare, and it was amazing. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This is , in my opinion, the best French restaurant in Montreal; possibly all on Quebec. Rather than fill pages with accolades I'll just say make a point of going there if you're ever anywhere near it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Filet Mignon was cooked well wanted medium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

C'est magnifique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Lovely meal, excellent and entertaining gentleman waiter (Zannick), beautiful venue, good wine. While my daughters and I chose to dress for dinner, we saw everything from dress jeans/ knit shirts or business casual on men to business casual to Sunday best on the women. However, the venue is high end but lively in a pleasant way. A treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My second time in Montreal. Both trips I made a special trip to Bonaparte. Elegant restaurant with delicious cuisine and very attentive staff. Took my daughter for her 15th birthday. Definetely highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife and I were spending the weekend in Montreal and booked this restaurant to try some French cuisine. This restaurant is elegant but not snobby, the service was amazing and the food superb!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exquisite food, attentive service, great location, easy parking. The best restaurant we ate at in Montreal during our visit.....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exceptionally helpful and pleasant waiter. Food good traditional French, we took the table d'hôte, the skate wing was overcooked. Ambiance pleasant. An enjoyable evening as expected, very reliable for out-of-town guests.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We stayed at the Hotel and decided to book the restaurant for our last evening - what a delight!

Our server was exceptional - polite, friendly and attentive in all the right ways. Then came the food which was wonderfully plated and seasoned, in addition to being a perfect portion - not too much, not too little.

It was a wonderful way to celebrate our milestone anniversary and end an amazing trip to such a vibrant city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 6, 2017

very elegant location, good service, not over priced, but find food is basic and simple:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 5, 2017

挺不错的,因为预定的早所以坐在靠窗的位置。服务真的太热情…点的基本是最贵的菜单,大家推荐的龙虾汤和蘑菇那个真的好吃,牛肉也不错,总之还是很棒哒 Good!!I really enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The staff was warm, attentive and welcoming. The decor was rich with chandeliers but not overstated. I tried the tasting menu and every dish was to be savored. The in-house smoked salmon and the mushroom ravioli were highlights of the meal. The wine list is very extensive. Do not miss this experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Bonaparte was recommended by a random person online. I checked it out and loved what I read. It lived up to, and exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were in Quebec City for vacation and wanted great French food during our visit. This is the place! The food and service were incredible! An elegant ambiance to enjoy a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had an OUTSTANDING dinner with first-class service! Our 6 course tasting menu was worth the cost.

I am gluten-intolerant and they were thoughtful in providing gluten-free bread and adjusting the meals for me.

I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Awesome dinner course, reasonable & delicious kids food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Amazing service and beautiful presentation. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Truly a fine dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Cuisine was as expected, very authentic and delicious. Service was exceptional making dining there a pleasant experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful place! The food, atmosphere, service, and location were great! Fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Bonaparte and really enjoyed it. The service and food were both fantastic. The bartender made a great Martini and was engaging and informative. Our waiter (Yanich?) and the entire wait staff were attentive, friendly and really allowed us to enjoy the whole experience without feeling rushed. There is a great wine list and the food was amazing! The Mushroom Ravioli appetizer was delicate and light. My wife had the Salmon which was prepared in a way we've never seen before, but will try at home. It was delicious as was my Filet Mignon. The accompaniments were all unique and flavorful. The Mandarin Napoleon Crème Brule was the tasty topping to a wonderful and memorable evening. This is Dining at its best. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were in Montreal for a few days and at at Bonaparte our first night night. The food was exceptional and the service was outstanding. Will definitely be returning when next we are in Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a great booth near the window. Very nice ambience and good food. Very nice way to kick off our stay in the Old Port.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is excellent and the wine list will meet all pocketbooks. The service is courteous and stress free. Our additional requests for choice of table and arrival times were met without hesitation. We ususally make reservations at Bonaparte for special occasions along with a visit of Old Montréal.

Would not hesitate to recommend Bonaparte for a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Lobster bisque was bland, duck confit not crisp, scallops and seafood pasta underwhelming. Surprising given the reviews we read. Don't waste your money. Many other great restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.