About Bonaparte

443 rue St-Francois-Xavier
Montréal, QC H2Y 2T1
View Larger Map

Three delightfully decorated halls in the Empire style that dominated
the Napoleonic era give the restaurant the intimate character
that guests treasure. An exquisite cuisine, prepared with French savoir-faire
and showcasing the finest fresh regional products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch : Monday to Friday, 11h30 am to 2h00 pm
Dinner : 7 nights, 5h30 pm to 10h30 pm

Cross Street:
Notre-Dame

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 844-4368

Website:
http://www.restaurantbonaparte.com/

Parking Details:
Three private parking lots nearby

Public Transit:
Place D'Armes Metro station

Executive Chef:
Gérard Fort

Private Party Facilities:
La Verrière, for groups from 15 to 20 persons.
L'Impératrice, for groups from 26 to 40 persons.

Private Party Contact:
Martin Bédard: 514-844-4368x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Ravioli - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Lobster Bisque - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Pear And Champagne Sorbet - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Creme Brule Duck Fois Gras - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Beef Medalion - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Cheesecake - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Filet Mignon - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Butter Lettuce Salad With Goat Cheese Grape Truffles - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Palate Cleanser With Pear And Tarragon Sorbet - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Kir Royale - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Tilapia A La Sauce Au Buerre - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Creme Caramel - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC
Duo Of Fois Gras, Creme Brulee And Terrine, Sauted Apples And Brioche - Bonaparte, Montréal, QC

Bonaparte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (120)
Good for a Date (104)
Romantic (97)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Notable Wine List (68)
Tasting Menu (63)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Historic (45)
Cozy (44)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Authentic (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Business Meals (32)
Local Ingredients (29)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Outstanding Value (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fireplace (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful ambiance. Delicious chef tasti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful ambiance. Delicious chef tasting menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent comme a l'habitude , service c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent comme a l'habitude , service courtois et agreable . Nourritude san pareil

Tags: Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations and asked for somewh ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

I made reservations and asked for somewhere intimate as it was our 1yr anniversary. Not only did we get set at a beautiful quiet corner but the view of the Christmas decorated in candied fruit was spectacular. The service was excellent, very personable, the menu deviné, and for the dessert they came out with sparklers in the dessert to wish us many more happy years. Definitely worth every penny spent. It's not cheap but the atmosphere, the service and food are definitely well worth it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vraiment très bien petites attentions ég ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Vraiment très bien petites attentions également. Nous avons bien aimé pour la deuxième fois. C'est très agréable belle ambiance et super bon.

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Chaleureux, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Très belle soirée avec ma femme pour son ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Très belle soirée avec ma femme pour son anniversaire. La nourriture était excellente ainsi que le service (distingué sans être snob ou prétentieux comme cela est parfois le cas dans certain restaurant plus chic). La seule distraction était un problème électrique de lumières que les employés ont bien tenté de réglé mais sans succès et pour lequel ils se sont excusé.

Tags: Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Lieu huppé, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service et atmosphère excellent! Recomma ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service et atmosphère excellent! Recommande beaucoup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bonaparte has recently been redecorated ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bonaparte has recently been redecorated and seems somewhat brighter than before. However, the menu remains much the same, not the most innovative but a very high quality traditional French menu. Plates and portions seem a bit larger than formerly. The service remains efficient, informed and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful setting, exceptional service a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful setting, exceptional service and perfectly prepared and served meal. Every person in our party of 8 was very pleased with the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, friendly service and good lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food, friendly service and good location in the heart of Old Montreal. The tasting menu was a great way to sample all of the delights that were on offer. We went for a late dinner so the restaurant was quieter than earlier in the evening when we walked pass. The staff were attentive and polite. Highly recommend if you wish to have a well crafted meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service with a humorously inte ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service with a humorously interactive waiter. The meal was one of the lengthiest I've had, with a tasting menu that lasted three hours, yet flew by. My only complaint is the bistro-style wooden chairs that could have been more comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We very much enjoyed our dinner. Waiter ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dinner. Waiter and staff were exceptional. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and amazing atmosphere! Wou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing food and amazing atmosphere! Would highly recommend the Tasting Menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance. A little pricey ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and ambiance. A little pricey for everyday dining, but definitely worth it for an occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, excellent food, excellent ser ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, excellent food, excellent service. Our favorite in old Montreal. Outstanding value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Great service!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, my wife and I loved it ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great restaurant, my wife and I loved it. Great food and service. Thanks

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. The mushroo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The mushroom ravioli was honestly amazing, and the service was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

cuisine et service excellents en tous po ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

cuisine et service excellents en tous points - recommandé à tous les amateurs de bonne bouffe

Tags: Cuisine créative, Environnement paisible
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the highest rated Montera ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is one of the highest rated Monteral restaurants. So went there with high expectations. Maybe they were too high. Because they were not fully met. Make no mistake, this restaurant serves some good food. Also the decor of the place exudes a quiet elegance. But given the very high prices they charge one feels that things could have been better. The Foi Gras, Lamb chops and the Soufle were all good, but it is possible to get equally good, if not better renditions of those dishes at few other places in Montreal while spending significantly less. Also the portions do not do full justice to the prices they charge.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Quaint with an attentive staff that took ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Quaint with an attentive staff that took great care in serving us. Food was excellent, for the most part. We enjoyed the tasting menu, and the price was reasonable compared to many fine restaurants that offer one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All you do is have to answer one simple ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

All you do is have to answer one simple question: "Do I want possibly the best French meal I could get west of the atlantic?"

If you said yes, then you are on your way to Bonaparte. Or you might be on your way there for a second meal.

The experience is one that simultaneously caters to all the senses. The soft clink of silverware against fine porcelain, the smell of white linen and leather chairs, the feel of warmth from the fire, the taste of mellowness in the Bordeaux to the tapestry of interwoven gustatory experiences in each little course.

By far and away, the Mushroom Ravioli (tender, hot and filled with melting mushrooms) and Duck Magret (cooked rosé) with a melange of fresh vegetables, were my favorite dishes. Don't discount the Creme Brulee. The hard crystalized top hides beneath a creamy dessert so well blended that you can't taste the egg yolk at all.

Go here or go back. Either way you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience in a French ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my first experience in a French Restaurant and it was phenomenal. The food and the staff were amazing. Definitely a great restaurant to go to if your in the Montreal area.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, great service, g ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, great wine, great service, great ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great time. The food was a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had such a great time. The food was amazing and so is the ambiance. Good for friends and date.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous avons passé une très agréable soiré ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nous avons passé une très agréable soirée en famille. L'accueil, le serveur, le service, la nourriture, l'endroit ... tout était exceptionnel! Nous retournerons assurément!

Tags: Menu dégustation, Lieu huppé, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing from the beginning to the end. A ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing from the beginning to the end. Ambiance, staff and food are fantastic. The servers are kind, and informative. Highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very nice and the service a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was very nice and the service amazing. I am certainly going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Très bon restaurant dans l'ensemble. Pas ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Très bon restaurant dans l'ensemble. Pas de surprise dans la cuisine mais tout est très bien exécuté. Bon service et très beau décor.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Très belle soirée avec un excellent serv ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Très belle soirée avec un excellent service! Très bon menu dégustation, c'était une superbe soirée!!

Tags: Romantique, Plats réconfortants, Environnement paisible, Chaleureux, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent endroit, cuisine de grande qua ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent endroit, cuisine de grande qualite, de l'entree au dessert. Un vrai régal !

Tags: Une carte des vins remarquable, Historique, Repas d’affaires, Menu dégustation, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Il en vaut le détour, Environnement paisible, Authentique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Excellent !!! Service and food w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Simply Excellent !!! Service and food will definitly go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mes 5 amis et moi sommes allés chez Bona ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Mes 5 amis et moi sommes allés chez Bonaparte dans le cadre du festival Mtl à Table et avons vraiment apprécié l'expérience. Le service était très bien et la nourriture ici. Excellent rapport qualité/prix, car ils proposaient un menu 4 services en plus du café/thé pour l'occasion, alors que les autres restaurants offrent généralement un trois services. Seul petit bémol, tous les plats sont servis avec les mêmes accompagnements, et seule la protéine change, donc on n'a moins l'impression que le plat est un "tout". Ils ont été très accommodants envers mon végétarisme, ce que j'ai apprécié. À refaire!

Tags: Il en vaut le détour, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Parfait pour les groupes, Authentique, Romantique, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Salle privée, Saisonnier, Une carte des vins remarquable, Avant/après une sortie au théâtre, Repas d’affaires, La perle du quartier, Une occasion spéciale, Ingrédients locaux, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Menu dégustation, Idéal pour les fêtes
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

J'ai beaucoup apprécié le service, perso ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

J'ai beaucoup apprécié le service, personnel très gentil et attentionné. Bon choix de menu, pas pour les végétariens, dans le menu MtlàTable, du moins. Salade correcte, sans plus. J'ai pris le tilapia, gros morceau de poisson, mais accompagnements minimalistes. Bon choix de vin, plutôt dispendieux. Ambiance agréable, petite salle à manger. Service rapide, nous avons demandé à retarder le service, car nous n'avions pas le temps de finir notre cocktail. Ingrédients de qualité.

Tags: Environnement paisible, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service, plats, etc.. Tout était parfait ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service, plats, etc.. Tout était parfait! Très belle découverte. Nous y retournerons.

Tags: Santé, Une trouvaille nocturne, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale, Décontracté
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant in the Vieux-Montréal a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great restaurant in the Vieux-Montréal area. Good value, good presentation, very good service... Overall , a must, in Montréal. We want to return absolutely in the near future.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant élégant avec bonne cuisine fr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Restaurant élégant avec bonne cuisine française. Belle décoration, très propre et service rapide et courtois.

Tags: Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bonaparte is a beautiful restaurant!! ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Bonaparte is a beautiful restaurant!! The service is impeccable and so is the food :)))) They surprised us with a special table to celebrate my husbands birthday, it was amazing and we'll thought of. Overall we had an amazing experience! The food was delicious and they have a great selection of wine. We recommend Bonaparte for any occasion :D I thank the staff and owner once more for making this celebration so special.

Merci à tous!!!!!

LB

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal. We wanted somethi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a lovely meal. We wanted something more traditional and this fit the bill. We had the prix fixe menu, which was a very good value. The meal was excellent - all of the components were executed well. I tend to prefer something a little more lively and spirited - this was definitely a quieter, more formal, dining experience, but we still very much enjoyed ourselves. Service was good and professional, not overly friendly or familiar. Recommended for a more traditional fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited for restaurant week in Montre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We visited for restaurant week in Montreal and had a wonderful meal. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was attentive and friendly. We would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I reserved I requested and was grac ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

When I reserved I requested and was graciously got a corner table. My date loved the ambiance and very much enjoyed all the delicious offerings on tasting menu.

 No question I would love to come back.
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.