Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Norfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster BarNorfolk Seafood Company & Big Easy Oyster Bar
(102)
$$$$
Seafood | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 1 time today
Byrd and Baldwin Bros. SteakhouseByrd and Baldwin Bros. Steakhouse
(544)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 13 times today
219 An American Bistro219 An American Bistro
(162)
$$$$
American | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 1 time today
456 Fish456 Fish
(319)
$$$$
Seafood | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 3 times today
Leone'sLeone's
(54)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 3 times today
Texas de Brazil - NorfolkTexas de Brazil - Norfolk
(1122)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 38 times today
Todd Jurich's BistroTodd Jurich's Bistro
(710)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 3 times today
Shula's 347 Grill at the Marriott Norfolk WatersideShula's 347 Grill at the Marriott Norfolk Waterside
(339)
$$$$
Steak | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Mannino's Italian Bistro - Olde Towne PortsmouthMannino's Italian Bistro - Olde Towne Portsmouth
(264)
$$$$
Italian | Portsmouth, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 1 time today
The Bier GardenThe Bier Garden
(180)
$$$$
German | Portsmouth, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 8 times today
Vintage KitchenVintage Kitchen
(362)
$$$$
American | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 1 time today
Scotty Quixx - NorfolkScotty Quixx - Norfolk
(5)
$$$$
American | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Pasha MezzePasha Mezze
(131)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Norfolk, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Virginia BeachRuth's Chris Steak House - Virginia Beach
(851)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 7 times today
Coastal GrillCoastal Grill
(1414)
$$$$
Seafood | Virginia Beach, Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Booked 25 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Permanently Closed - Bodega on Granby

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - A Spanish/ Mediterranean influenced eatery specializing in tapas style dinning.

442 Granby St.
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:30am


Closed Mondays & Sundays

Cross Street:
E. Charlotte St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 622-8527

Website:
http://www.bodegaongranby.com/

Executive Chef:
Russell Sawyer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bodega on Granby - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tapas (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We went with visitors from Germany before the opera. Out table was waiting for us. The server came immediately and was helpful and attentive throughout. Out guest looked at the menu online and wanted the small plates- particularly the fried calamari. That wasn't available so they had the ceviche which they really enjoyed. I had the tuna rare and served just right. The roasted beet salad was tasty. It the greens were too big to be mesclun and a little tough. All in all it was a pleasant meal with good food and excellent service.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We brought my wife for tapas on her birthday and are glad we tried it. This is a very neat place with an interesting and really classy interior. Our server was really helpful and enthusiastic, no issues there. The food was pretty good, cannot say the most flavorful, some of the tapas even being a bit bland. But bad again, just a bit bland although the lettuce wraps were awesome. A little bummed no military discount because tapas is not cheap but not the end of the world. We would not run right back out from Hampton but would give it a second shot if nearby.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great little eatery in central downtown Norfolk. Excellent variety of tapas small plates as well as Southern European-style dishes. Great place to eat before going to the nearby theater and show locations.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A little quaint dining experience in the heart of downtown Norfolk. Good food, great drinks, and the smoked Ahi Tuni was amazing!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

First time to eat there. We were in town visiting our son. He had Ben there before and recommended this place. Enjoyed it very much and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Table service was poor and food extremely over cook for seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Menu was slightly different than past visits. Food was good but preferred the previous menu items.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Good place to eat or have drinks before going to Chrysler Hall or the Scope

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great atmosphere for a date . Upscale design with out going to classy. The food was delicious, leaving us wanting to come back to try more selections on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food and service! Ramen and empanadas were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is the second time here. the portions seemed even smaller than the first go around. Food, service was good but for $10 a small plate seemed a little exorbitant since the portions were so small. Empanada dish had 3 small empanadas and the tortellini was about 4 in a 3" round bowl. I had 3 small plates my partner had 2 and the bill came to $65. Not terrible except I left still hungry. Not going back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

2-17-17. Great food, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

would recommend land, duck, and paella croquetas, they call it on Italian "aranchetti" instead . Service is so so

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Too small portions for the price of the tapas. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was seriously underseasoned. Paella had no flavor and was dry, falafel special was flavorless. Waiter was okay although once we said that the food wasn't very good he pretty much vanished even though we didn't blame him for the kitchen's lack. The space is nice but we won't come back to eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I ate at Bodega after seeing the Virginia Symphony at Chrysler Hall. It is in walking distance to the venue which meant that we were able to leave our car in the Bank Street parking garage while we ate dinner. Because the symphony did not end until 10 p.m., Bodega is a good choice as we were not able to get to the restaurant until very late. Although only the late night menu was available at that time, the food was terrific. The staff was also excellent. We will definitely go back to Bodega so that we can experience the full menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Friendly staff. A little pricey
My 9 yo son thinks that food is great.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Have always like this restaurant. The food is good quality and delicious. Not a fan of the restaurant week menu but the regular menu is good. Nice place to hang out with friends and talk quietly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We visited during restaurant week and it was very crowded and noisy. The food was delicious but service was slow. I'll go back to try more of the appetizers - best part of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

good food, good friends good times for before an event at the Chrysler!

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing as always. Bodega never lets us down. Can't wait until the next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Tapas, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I thought the seafood paella was fabulous. We had a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great find for dinner next to Chrysler theater in that cute little Norfolk neighborhood. Excellent service and delicious food. Get the empanadas, garlic shrimp and the seafood paella. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious food, cozy ambiance, great service and easy parking.
My favorite place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food was excellent but very small portions for some options and price was high. For example crab cake was 12.99 and we had a party of 3, so each of us had one bite and the baked Brie was a 1.5 inch square that we each had a bite of for 8.99. Probably best for a party of two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bodega is always changing the staff and the menu. Both are unfortunate and lessen the experience. The latest menu, assumingely due to the latest chef, as well is a huge disappointment. There is no hostess on a Saturday night and you have to wait for a waiter to notice you to be seated. No longer enjoyable and won't return, used to be a favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wil was awesome greeting us and seating us. He was also our waiter. Reason for my friend and I coming was to enjoy dinner before a concert. It's a great location close to the Scope. Being that it was. It's our first time at Bodega, we didn't know what to expect but I found the spot to be intimate and cozy. Food-wise, it was just ok for me. I had the Cubanini dinner special that came with shoestring fries. The carnitas used for the sandwich was tender and easy to eat, however the sandwich needed some kind of seasoning or something. It was a bit dry for me. I also ordered for the first time in my life, a Moscow mule, however I wasn't feeling the apple cinnamon flavor they offered so I asked if they can make it with pineapple. Interesting drink. They asked if we used the valet, which we didn't, but I'm assuming it's because they will come get your car, and if so, that's pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing!!! Was a surprise find, and worth every minute and penny. Definitely recommend

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bodega is an attractive, warm place; the servers were courteous, but a bit slow on a night when they said they were understaffed. We went for a pre-concert snack and drink; for convenience and closeness to Chrysler Hall, you can't beat the location. The tapas were only OK, however; when compared to some really good tapas places like Jaleo in DC, nothing stood out. Our major disappointment was the sangria. We love a rich red sangria, fortified with brandy and brandy-soaked fruit -- but this tasted like Kool-Aid. (Truth in reviewing: my dad liked it, so we got him seconds.) We want to find the go-to pretheater downtown restaurant; unless and until there's a new sangria recipe, we'll keep looking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very quiet for a Friday night. Great food and wine and a very relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second visit to Bodega as we visited during restaurant week previously and really enjoyed it. This visit not so much. The Seafood paella was watery and tasteless. Not worth the $18 we spent on it. The poached pear salad had frozen raspberries on top and when I told the server she just brushed it off saying oh I guess we need to thaw those more. No apology. She never bothered to even ask how our meal was. I had to tell her myself. We will not be returning to the Bodega.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Met some former colleagues for tapas and drinks and we sampled the entire Happy Hour menu. Each item was only $5 so that was an easy decision. We continued with several other small plates which were okay, but not as great of a value. Our server, Tara, although new was outstanding and seemed to know a lot about the menu and was also spot-on with service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love Tapas and when our friends recommended we meet at Bodegas we were quite excited. We ordered several items off of the tapas section of the menu and all 4 of us split each dish. All tasted good. One odd note was that the cheese platter was not served with any crackers or bread or item to put the cheeses onto. The second note was that the beer was WAY overpriced. $7 a glass is crazy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! One of the best gems in Norfolk!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to dinner before a concert, and chose Bodega because it is half a mile from the venue and perhaps less likely to be packed. We were mistaken, but the staff was working very hard to serve in a timely manner. The kitchen must have been backed up, but the food was well prepared and we enjoyed our meals. The only real problem was the noise level. It was hard to carry on a conversation. I would return and I would encourage others to dine there, but at a quieter time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were in town for a show at Chrysler Hall and located this spot on tripadvisor. We all had high hopes after reviewing the menu. The atmosphere is good. Location is terrific.

While we were pleased overall, We did have a couple of issues, our server was not very well versed in the pricing or what items were on the menu. (She told us $18 for a pitcher of sangria but, it was $28, and didn't know what a chorizo was when we asked if it was a traditional Spanish chorizo or the softer type you get here in the States.)
The manager seemed on the ball and we were able to get our waitress over to the table by asking him (she didn't check on us or ask for our order) . I try not to judge a restaurant solely on the server but, she made it very hard NOT to be negative.

The tapas arrived individually at the table instead of all at one time and contrary to what other reviews said it is NOT enough for three people to share (unless each of you has ONE bite of each item) So, technically NOT Tapas. They were pretty good overall, flavorful, and interesting. We had cheese platter, Garlic shrimp and country bread, Spanish Country Bread, Serrano Ham and Manchego grilled cheese, fried oysters, sangria, and martinis. Prices were decent and I would try this restaurant again if we had a different server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was really delisius but the service es very slow and don't are familiar with de Menu , and how you have a spanish restaurante in town and you don't have nobody who speak spanish????

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable. fourth visit, never been disappointed. Relaxed atmosphere, tasty diverse small dish menu items that are great to share. True treat in store with the chocolate sphere desert, I won't spoil with detail, but it is a recommended surprise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Good food but poor service. We were there 45 minutes before any food arrived, then the wrong bread order arrived then delicious salad. Another 10 minutes before anything else arrived. An order of (3) crispy artichokes almost arrived--one dropped onto the floor by the waitress with a promise of more to come (never arrived). We needed to leave to go to a concert. One dish arrived after we paid the bill and were ready to go out the door. The food was good but the experience was a bit maddening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.