About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: (202) 589-0060

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (33)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great steak - average service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I had the steak with crab meat and hollandaise sauce - it was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Bad experience with waiter and manager. They don’t understand how to treat “paying” customers. I will NEVER go back or recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I took my boyfriend here to celebrate a big work accomplishment and this did not disappoint. The cocktails were delicious, steaks were some of the best we have had, and the staff was welcoming and made sure our every need was met. We would highly recommend if you're looking for something for a special occasion or a romantic date!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The evening was amazing and the service was great. The steak and sides were prepared to perfection and the service was above average. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a nice evening with great food. It’s a bit pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We enjoy going to BV's for their Steaks. Often share the Porterhouse for Two (with leftovers). Always cooked as ordered and presented sliced and with a drizzle of butter sauce. Just excellent. Sides are top notch. Traditional mashed and creamed spinach are fine but the sweet potato fries and brussel sprouts with bacon and blue cheese make it special. The outdoor patio is our favorite in late spring and early fall. Some city noise of course but always shaded in the afternoon. Outdoor area for the bar patrons as well. Drinks are well-made. Appetizers and Desserts are adequate.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I often go to the Bobby Van Grille down the street, which I love. I was disappointed in the Steak Houses salad selection compared to the Grille. I order the " Bobby Van's Salad," listed as an entree salad and it was so small, I had to go and get something else to eat right after the lunch ended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times. This visit was slightly disappointing. I ordered lamb chops (first time here) and, while they were cooked to my satisfaction, there was not much taste to them. Moreover, since the menu mentioned no sides to come with the chops, I ordered a side of sauteed mushrooms/onions. Imagine my surprise when the chops arrived with potatoes and carrots. The potatoes and carrots were somewhat utilitarian, with nothing special to recommend them; however, the mushrooms/onions were outstanding. The cinnamon ice cream I had for dessert was also fine, and the crabcake I had as an appetizer was excellent. This minor blemish will not prevent us from dining here again; my recommendation is to order the Steak a la Stone, which is my go-to meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was mediocre, the lobster was as chewy as taffy and the steak dry. For the price ($200) the quality just is not there. Would not recommend to anyone looking for a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Bobby Van’s Steakhouse is one of my favorite “after work” restaurants. The linguine and clams is my favorite entree on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

A truly remarkable experience. I used a Groupon and was blown away by the service and quality. Our waiter was funny and personable. He made great recommendations for food and wine. Even made a few pretty good jokes. I would definitely go back. It's a lil pricey so if you don't have deep pockets try and snag a Groupon. Well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Service was fast and efficient, although I don't believe English was a first language for most of wait staff. I found some difficulty understanding some verbal statements of waiter due to language and background noise. Food was excellent and so were the drinks. Ambiance was nice. Items on menu maybe a little pricey but this could be due to location.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

As usual, the wait staff is outstanding! And the Maurer d displays outstanding professionalism.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Vacation- outstanding service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Arrived for our 8pm reservation promptly seated. Food orders came out fairly quickly and my steak was cooked correctly. Also had the tipsy Arnold palmer which was very good. Felt the steak was a little pricey for the quality but this is a high end steak house in the city. I'd recommend a cab or uber if staying in a downtown hotel as the area can be a little sketchy after dark. Overall I was pleased and would def go back to BV for dinner next time I'm in town.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Staff was friendly and attentive to me needs and wants.I tried tried Harry's Salad and it was fantastic. I had the seared sesame tuna, and was delicious

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I am a frequent customer of Bobby Van's Steak and use it for both dinners with my family and business meals. The food is excellent and the service is very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food with excellent service and a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Most of the meat was a bit salty. The filet mignon was not carefully cut: there was more gristle than one might normally expect. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great location and ambience. Devin was superb with his customer service

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The service is top notch every time. I've been here three or four times and had different waiters but the service is exemplary.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Staff was friendly and cordial. Food was great, NY steak cooked right . Harry's salad was tasty.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went during restaurant week for a bachelorette party. The service was wonderful and the waiter was very accommodating. However, out of six diners only one person had their filet mignon cooked well. The rest of us had meals that were overcooked and dry. Additionally, there was only 2 pieces of potatoes as the side to the filet. If I'd had to pay full price I would have been felt even worse. Sadly, my expectations were not met foodwise but our service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Decent food and attentive surface but not really much to distinguish it from other steak houses.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

For one the best meals DC has to offer go here it is terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I absolutely love Bobby Vans!!! It is my go to restaurant for any occasion because I can always depend on the service and quality of the food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

I came here for restaurant week to catch up with friends, the atmosphere the restaurant creates was perfect for that. The only reason I gave the food 4 stars instead of 5 was because my steak was cooked for too long and some pieces were burnt even though I asked for "medium well". I'll probably return and order something different next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Ate during restaurant week. Meal was great, especially the dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Not sure if it was because it was restaurant week but everything was just meh. The steak was just ok, the service was just ok, not a memorable experience at all. Can't say I'll be coming back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was very good from the time we arrived and our departure. The food was hmmmm "just okay" for most of us. We decided to have our team building meeting for work at this location while taking advantage of restaurant week. While the food was not bad, it was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I ordered the catfish . It was just ok. Could have had more flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I’ve had many meals at Bobby Van’s and the experience has always been excellent. Unfortunately, last night was not one of those nights and that’s because the server was extremely inattentive. Server couldn’t even tell us all of the specials and, at one point, was gone for nearly 30-minutes as we waited for our check. I’m assuming this was all just a fluke and I will certainly go back as I’ve never had an experience like that there. But it was disappointing, especially because we had talked it up to our out of town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good food and service. I had the prime rib and my wife had the filet mignon. We both enjoyed our meals very much. While the prime rib was good; I would not say it was over the top. The meal did come with a baked potato. Think next time we go back I will go with the filet.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

excellent service, very friendly but professional and competent. very good cocktalis. we had a special seafood appetizer...shrimp crab and lobster ($100 for 4). nice shrimp, decent crab but watery lobster claws. typical steakhouse, everything is a la cart. my rib eye ($50+) was mostly fat. what edible portions there were were very good but even for a rib eye which is a fatty cut, this was over the top. overall, very expensive and unless someone's expense account is picking up the tab, not worth it

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Staff was attentive, pleasant and courteous. Food was disappointing. Location very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best steaks I have had with these high end steakhouse chains. You will pay but it was worth the money. The wine list could have a few cheaper options especially what they are charging for the meal. Sometimes u just want a little break.

Tags: Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Classic Steakhouse. Great food and service. Prices comparable to other local steakhouses,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Top notch service per usual - always know what you're getting with Bobby's excellence in their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Arrived for a business dinner. Fantastic Service! Fantastic Food! Great Martini!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.