About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: (202) 589-0060

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (43)
Business Meals (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Family Style (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Historic (8)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Restaurant is old and not in great shape. Seats were sunken. Very disappointing experience. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good. We ordered the porterhouse for two, which was cooked perfectly and excellent. The sides were good, but not great. The prosciutto mac n cheese was a bit on the rich side because of all of the parmesan and the garlic mashed potatoes were just average. The service was a bit on the slow side and it is definitely pricey, but it was a good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Love it here! But meat my $50 steak was a little on the bloodier side ... yuck ! I wish I would of said something :/

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there for the first time after purchasing a Groupon. The service was literally just OK. Server was not what I expected for a steakhouse. I have had better service at other similar restaurants. However the food was great, ordered the porterhouse. Chances are I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We asked for medium rare and not only my burger but my husband, steak, ribeye were well done... we were very disappointed... poor experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Bobby Van's Steakhouse was easy to get a reservation, the host was very friendly and we were seated quickly. I had a special on the menu of New York Strip steak covered with grilled horseradish, with grilled asparagus, and a wonderful margarita. All was outstanding. I liked it so much I went back the next night with a friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything we expected it to be. Great food, (we shared the porterhouse for two), perfect ambiance for a nice evening, perfect balance of attentive service without constantly interrupting. If you are looking for a bargain (note most negative comments seem to be from those using Groupon or other discount opportunities) this is probably not the place for you. Yes, it is pricey, but worth every bit for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great fooday! Dessert was not that great however I would go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went to Bobby Vans for a friends birthday. The food was great, so was the service and the ambiance. The only thing that made our experience bad was that the server didn't explain the menu well. I didn't know what prosciutto was and asked the serve if it was cheese because the item was labeled prosciutto Mac & cheese. I asked if prosciutto was cheese and the server said yes. So I ordered it. My friend noticed that there were pieces of ham in the food and pointed it out to me. I cannot eat pork due to religious reasons and quickly asked the server to get us Mac and cheese with no prosciutto. The staff was very accepting and changed our order. Other than that, the experience was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was terrific and every last waiter assisted whether they was assigned to my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Exceptional food, service and environment. I frequent their often and recommend it highly'

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time during our visit tonight to Bobby Van's! The waiters were exceptional and the food was amazing! We made reservations, but got there early and we were seated right way and spoiled! You won't be disappointed! My husband and I shared the Porterhouse for 2 and it was sliced in a way that it came right off the bone...delicious and easy to share. We left with leftovers...stuffed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Superb service!! Our waiter and all the others who kept our drinks full were so efficient, friendly and attentive! We wanted for nothing while dining! We both chose the special which was a petite filet, full lobster and mashed potatoes and it was excellent! Presented beautifully, brought out extremely hot and delicious! We both ordered our filets medium and mine came out a little more on the medium well side but it was still so delicious that I ate it anyway without complaint :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place to gather with friends for lunch. A very good selection of sandwiches and salads.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went there on a Groupon. Can't imagine paying full price. Food was fair. Service was attentive. The butter is the best part of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my boyfriend and I first time at this restaurant, I wanted to go for quite some time; however, after this experience I doubt if I'll be returning. First and foremost, when we entered there was no host at the desk for about 5-7 minutes and after finally being seated, it took about 15 minutes for our orders to be placed. My boyfriend ordered the 10oz Filet Mignon cooked medium well and I ordered the penne pasta with shrimp, mussels, and Italian sausage in Alfreda sauce amongst an appetizer and desert that came on the "Restaurant Week" menu. Our main course were the problem!

When we finally received our meals after 25 minutes of waiting, my pasta was undercooked (hard), and taste chalky; my boyfriends steak was medium rare instead of medium well like he had asked. We both sent out entrees back. They brought mine back, my pasta was better this go round; however, when they brought back the steak, it was the same exact steak drenched in sauce with potatoes on the side this time. This was not how the original plating was. He asked for a new steak without sauce. About 10 minutes later, a third steak came out; however, it was the same steak just rinsed of the sauce. I noticed it was the same steak due to where the steak was cut the second time. Each time they brought the steak out, it was the same steak; however, smaller each time.

The waiter was nice enough to take off my boyfriends entree; however, I know it wasn't the waiter's fault. He was such a nice man.

I seriously can't believe they brought out the same steak three times. That was so unacceptable, especially at a restaurant that is supposed to be of such high class and standard.

I am truly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great meal. Service was lacking a bit. Didn't seem to be too busy at the time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Terrific DC Steakhouse serving beautifully prepared "monster" steaks !!! Loved It.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a review for restaurant week. We had a really lovely meal at Bobby Van's. I ordered the Caesar Salad, the Filet Mignon and the Chocolate Mouse Cake. The steak was cooked to perfection, with a nice crust on the outside. The only thing it was lacking was basic seasoning. I like my steak with a little salt and pepper on it, both of which seemed to be missing. Otherwise the meal was lovely, the ambiance was perfect and we never felt rushed to finish our meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visited during restaurant week and 4 of us ordered the filet mignon, and one, the seafood dish. Everyone's steak looked different and no one raved about the taste. The seafood dish was just ok too. Dessert was chocolate mousse pie or cheesecake with raspberry. Again ok at best on both desserts. Signature drinks were $15, so most of us had wine. The bread was delicious. I thought Restaurant week was a time to try a new restaurant and hopefully become a customer; not the way BV's thinks obviously. I must add though that the service was excellent!!! Nothing else was outstanding or piqued my interest enough to return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After reading negative reviews on the food and the service - I figured with a Groupon it was worth the risk - well, IT WAS NOT. Everything about the meal was off - it was very sad to see such a 'nice' restaurant be so bad. If you are expecting the quality and service of Ruth's Chris as I was - you will be greatly disappointed. Let me explain -

  • the food was mediocre at best - had a small filet Mignon it was rather tasteless and very tough. Sides were okay, but not great - mash potatoes were old tasting and the green beans were just plain
  • the services was what I would expect at a Chili's - nice, but not very good. The server reached over us, splashed a drink and asked up to hand him dishes -not very attentive and too informal in his approach

  • the table and place settings were very basic - bread basket was lined with a piece of paper (no napkin, nothing nice), the glass wear was basic and not very clean (lipstick mark on a glass) and the flatware was very basic

Overall, a big waste of money. For this level of food and service, we shouldn't have paid even half of what it cost. Save you money and skip this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is an okay steak house that we recommend for Restaurant Week. Otherwise, we left feeling like it was a little overpriced for the ambience and entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and the service was some of the best, it definitely has that old steakhouse feel and the bar was exceptional

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner experience. Staff was attentive and very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Overall, everything was good. Only issue I had was the greeter who met you at the door. We asked for a booth and he said "we have some but that it would be tight" I did not understand. All the booths were the same size and we had plenty of space. I felt this was rule and we are very large people either so I did not quite get that. Other than that, the service was good and the meal was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The staff is always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and service, but it was so noisy. The table next to us ruined our romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Desserts and appetizers tasted like they had been microwaved from frozen. Steak had no seasoning, but the drinks were good. I won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were there for dinner because it was restaurant week. The food was delicious and our waiter was awesome

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great service and good food. Can't ask for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I was there during Restaurant week for lunch. I had mushroom soup, grilled steak, and chocolate mouse cake. The soup was meeting my standard, it was balanced well. I have to mention they had very warm bread, which was the kind temperature I like. That is the extra point for their nice warm bread. The grilled steak is in average. I assumed the meat was not the top quality meat, but chef's choice was good, medium rare. However, I was not fan of other sauce on the meat. Although the sauce was lightly touched, but I prefer meat with only salt and pepper, not the sauce. The side dish was tasty Parmesan cheese truffle fries, but touched with the steak sauce. Again, I don't like the sauce. The fries was hot, not warm. I liked that. The chocolate mouse cake was just average, no surprise. The service was nice. The waiter understood what my requests and executed well. Did not let me wait for long between each dish. I gave it average because of the sauce, and little lower grade of meat. (But I was in the restaurant week, I assume they can give lower grade meat due to the cost control).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had a wonderful experience. I will go back again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waiter, Mike, on the night of 1/31/3017 for out dinner date was excellent. He was very polite, funny, and professional. We loved his attention to the details of what we wanted and made sure our night went well. The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful and perfect for our dinner date.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Historic, Happy Hour, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was a last minute selection and turned out to be more than I bargain for. From the walk in the door Myself and my guest were greeted with a warm welcome and seated without delay. The food was amazing I had a 10 oz NY Strip that melted in my mouth. It was a Special Night as I was Celebrating my Birthday and to my Surprised our waiter Mike, brought out a Nice Chocolate Cake top with Whip Cream & Vanilla Ice Cream!!! What a Birthday Treat! The Staff was Amazing, everyone was Friendly and Welcoming! I will be back soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great time. Great service and drinks and food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have dined here 8-10 times over an equal number of years. My wife and I have never failed to be thoroughly satisfied on every occasion, both with the meal and the quality of service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, options on menu were fantastic but most of all their service was second to none. I have been to restaurants all over the US and I would definitely visit again...take a date or even clients.

A++ place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Rod was a great server! He took great care of us. Looking forward to going back the next time we are in the city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Awesome, as always. Cajun Ribeye is excellent. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great dining experience. Excellent wait staff. Outstanding food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was amazing and they made me feel special on my Birthday. I'm already planning to go back next month for Valentine's Day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Superb. There's nothing negative to say about Bobby Van's. If you go, you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dined at Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC to celebrate my wife's 55th birthday. Everything I requested with the reservation was taken care of including a warm greeting from from maître d'hôtel. A great dinner and experience, we'll be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our experience was excellent, from the food, to the waiter (Rod), to the atmosphere. We enjoyed the salmon special and the filet, which was unreal!

Bravo!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

solid restaurant with it's active gather. Good food and service and a nice ambience. Won't win any Michelin stars, but it's not trying to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, great ambiance. Came here for a date night with my wife, and was pleasantly surprised. The waiter was excellent and steak was amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A high point of our trip to DC. I had to compare many aspects of the trip to the services or accommodations in NYC. Up until the dinner we had found the DC area somewhat wanting in comparison. We used the same hotel chain and were not impressed at all with the staff or accommodation/infrastructure upkeep. We had eaten at Bobby Vans in New York. Although we found it nice it was not outstanding in ambiance or meal quality. The DC hotel was superb from beginning to end. We we greeted directly in a warm fashion. The wait staff was very attentive and always accommodating . The steaks were perfectly done, not all the common any more. The room was nicely lit and quiet. We never felt rushed or ignored. It was a great experience and a high point of our trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The tuna special was magnificent, but I would recommend that you inquire about the price of the specials if you don't want to be suprised by how special it was.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food, superior service. I always have lunch at Bobby Vans when guests are in town. They never disappoint. They are convenient and priced reasonably. Both lunch and dinner are easy choices for good food and friendly service. Five stars for me!

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant several times. This time we had the most attentive, but not overbearing waiter. I had always ordered and loved the filet mignon in previous visits but decided to order the steamed lobster this time. I was disappointed. It wasn't warm and lacked flavor. I know that our waiter told the chef but nobody came out to talk with us. I will probably return and order the filet and hopefully get the same server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.