About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: (202) 589-0060

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Business Meals (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great. I had mussels as an appetizer which were the largest and plumpest I ever had. The steak was great as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Expected a real up scale, romantic, exceptional steakhouse. It was not. The décor was outdated, the food only mediocre. The service was great but you could hear the wait staff using the same, canned lines at every table nearby. Kind of took it to no personal attention. Not a good value!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

First time eating at this location. The food was wonderful. We went because we had a Groupon, but I will be back! Crab cakes were really good and the Spinach Salad with Bacon wrapped barbequed shrimp special of the day was very good. The hashbrown side dish looked really good that someone ordered at another table. Plan to try that the next time. The chili calamari appetizer was delicious as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our waiter was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great experience! Very attentive staff and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The best service in a long long time. Just a good experience. Food was good as usual. Steaks done just right. Love that banana bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wanted dinner with a friend visiting DC and put Bobby Van's into my gps app and did not pay attention. I directed me to the closer Bobby Van GRILL ... oops. The waiter there told me "We're more fun than the Steakhouse!" and I thought "Yeah, we'll see ...!" Eventually, I found my way to the Steakhouse and have to admit: I do think the Bobby Van Grill is bit more "fun." The Steakhouse has a staid, well-appointed, downtown-DC, "suit and tie" feel to it. Food and service were fine and the wine by the glass options went well with the "old white, business man" menu. The Grill has a few more adventurous menu items, but either restaurant is a dining treat with good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Bobby Van's always gets it right. Good food and drinks!! I had the special (Prime Rib) and my boss had the fish of the day (sorry, don't recall what it was but she said it was very good). I also had a baked potato that was ridiculously large. The restaurant was quite and it was easy to have a conversation. The waiter was helpful by describing the various dishes to us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a splendid time celebrating my hubby's birthday last evening. My both had meals that was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

God was great thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. A little pricey but well worth it for a special occasion. Staff was friendly and attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I ordered the strip steak and my husband had the scallops. Everything was delicious, but the prices were definitely steep. Our server offered us a complimentary drink for our anniversary which was very thoughtful, and when he found out I couldn't drink he offered me a complimentary dessert instead. It is a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love this place. We had a 3 lb lobster which was delicious. The crab cakes were just so so. Rod, our server, was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Really nice staff! But the food was tasteless, needed lots of salt and pepper

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Gilber was our server and remembered he had served us 2 months ago! He is impeccable!
Have not received our open table points!?

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was pretty good, but I had to wait a while to be served. The wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this restaurant!! My husband and I have been coming for the past two years and Rodney (Rod) is amazing. Very professional and welcoming. He is the best!!!!
Thank you Bobby Van's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was the second time I went to Bobby Van's and no reason to return except my husband liked his steak. I'm not a big steak person and the menu leaves little options but my sever neglected to inform me of the pork chop special that was not listed in the menu. I only realized it was an option when I saw it on the daily specials board after ordering. My chicken Parmesan was "okay" but nothing special. I cook often enough that my main reason for going out is for a special experience or for food I'm not as opt as the chef or restaurant makes. Bobby Van is not one of those restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great dining experience and the food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent place for an American Steak experience. The food and the service was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was OK but value for money it was not! I used to dine at the Park Ave outlet in NYC and was so excited to find this version in Washington. What a massive disappointment it turned out to be! The service was shockingly bad.......I've never had a server check my cheque folder twice, (to see if I've left money/credit card) before my wife and I had even finished our wine. I will never use this restaurant ever again!!!!!! Avoid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent in all respects. Rod Gribsby and his team offer superb menu suggestions and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Worth every penny we spend

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food and service both real good but absence of happy hour specials hurts offerings

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Chef Eric was amazing and very attentive to our service we received. He personally made and effort to ensure my dish was prepared to my liking. Thank you for such great customer service!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was taste I had the special spinach pasta with lobster & mussels and my wife had the suffering &turf special. We both enjoyed our meals as we sat outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Chef, your food was on point!
The service was poor and slow. The valet did not bring the car, instead pointed my party in the direction ......down the street!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Sat outside great day, great food, and great service.
Recommend always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Simply put, a $50 filet shouldn't have huge sections of gristle that you need to cut around. Mine and two other people had the same problem.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is a very nice Steakhouse with excellent food options. The wine list has several outstanding wines to pair with the meal. They do not offer any special cuts but what they have in the menu will pleasantly surprise anyone when the order arrives. The stakes were excellent. Grilled to perfection and large in size. All the sides we ordered (Brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes, asparagus and sautéed mushrooms) were excellent. The service was very good and they have an excellent list of after dinner drinks and deserts to choose from. Overall, its a very good steakhouse in downtown DC at a very reasonable price for the quality, with was excellent. You get more than what you pay for.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had to take a business call while midway through the salad course. Waiter and chef didn't miss a beat.

The tomato and onion salad was great and the onions are potent! Bone in ribeye was great and perfectly done despite my extending the prep time as a result of the call.

Lots of people and everyone seemed very happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We both enjoyed the restaurant, service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Another delightful evening at Bobby Van's with remarkable service and excellent food in a comfortable atmosphere for great conversation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I ordered the lamb and my friend ordered the steak - both was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our monthly Friend' Get Together lunch was wonderful. Two dined on Fish and Chips and one dined on the Crab Cake Sandwich. As always the food is fresh, hot, and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Last time I came into DC (6mos) The Filet was very good. This time, Not So. Ordered Filet Med Rare, as well as my son's Ribeye. "Both" came back "very" rare and sent back. It came back to us over charred on outside but still 'rare/rare' inside. After 2 bites, left the rest. Very disappointed this trip. Sorry, but would be hard pressed to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Overall good ambiance. Asian Pear Salad was drowned in the dressing - too much vinegar.
Would've been nice if our waiter checked-on us after we started on our meal.

We did have a groupon - is this a turn off for the wait staff? But we always tip on the gross total amount, not after the deduction.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have never been disappointed at Bobby Van's on 15th Street D.C. -- food is always awesome and Rodney is hands-down the best server ever! We always request to be in Rodney's area of responsibility -- he is always so warm, charming, and just a pleasure to converse with. On this occasion, I wanted the chicken marsala with penne pasta and my son wanted the fancy braised short ribs dinner -- neither of those two entrees were on the menu. However, we didn't heed, as Rodney came to the rescue, just as he always does --all on his own, Rodney placed a special request with the chef for a couple of our favorite meals and we got what our palates had been craving! And Bobby Van's did not disappoint -- both dishes were exceptionally rich, savory, and delicious! My wife always orders the the rib eye steak -- and she claimed it was cooked to perfection...nothing but pure deliciousness was brought out from the chef on this night! Additionally, Rodney also recommended another cocktail for my wife -- a blackberry - cranberry vodka martini -- and like everything else he recommends, my wife claimed it was another fantastic choice! We had three side dishes to share between the three of us -- the green beans, creamed spinach, and the Rodney-recommended prosciutto mac and cheese. Each side dish was similarly sumptuous; but, if force to pick our favorite side of the night, it would have to be the prosciutto macaroni and cheese. It was creamy and cheesy, and the prosciutto as not at all overpowering -- it was a perfect integration of several strong flavors all-in-one single side dish! For dessert, we shared my wife's favorite -- the vanilla bean crème brulee....very rich, flavorful, and delicious! Not to end on a bad note, but the bathrooms really don't match the rest of the experience at Bobby Van's -- seems a little outdated, un-fancy, and perhaps, as if it has seen its better days. Recommend to management that they upgrade the bathrooms to match the overall experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food portion was smaller than I expected. I wasn't full when I finished eating. The server constantly refilled my table's water so I was pleased with this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.