Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Bluehour

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Modern Decor (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
1470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Lio, our waiter, was helpful in helping us make our selections. Great service and good food & drinks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were a party of 6, late evening on Mother's day. It must have been a long day for rhe staff. The dishes, albeit quite tasty, arrived cold after nearly 45min. Service was pretty poor. It felt as if the staff couldn't wait to get rid of us. Disappointing and little value for the high prices!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day so the place was very busy. We had the brunch, everything was really good. The only thing I can think of is it would have been nice if the plates would have been warmed before the food was plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were a party of four that came for Mother's Day brunch. They offered a prix fixe 3 course at a reasonable price with plenty of vegetarian and omnivore options on the menu. Service, food and decor were all amazing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very ordinary culinary experience, with few layers of mediocrity.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The system was down so it took longer to get our food and our check. The burger was kind of bland but I loved the salad.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

we loved our dinners. great server leo.sun. very quiet night, but room did not feel empty.
recommended to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great as always. Creative and delicious food, excellent service, lovely atmosphere for this Sunday lunch with the in-laws.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing service by Bret. The food overall was good. Some dishes of the tasting menu lacked flavor where others were very good. I didn't like that I wasn't explained that selecting sparkling water was an upcharge of $10. I would've rather spent the money on wine if that was the case.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch, My wifes salmon covered bisket looked good but it took a steak knife to cut through the bottom of the bisket. sent it back..
Had a steak and egg breakfast, they need to give guests a sharper steak knife as it nearly could not be cut into pieces to eat. My pink center request was served blood red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice Easter Brunch...but a few hiccups. Coffee was bitter tasting. Bellinis were different colors/strengths (mine was very peachy, my brunch mate's was very champagne-y). Potatoes were cold. Donut holes were greasy and cold. We were part of the first seating at 10am,and it was not very busy so it was surprising to have all these issues. At least the service and most of the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I brought my 12-year-old daughter to Bluehour for a "fancy brunch" for her birthday. We were not disappointed! We walked in a half hour earlier than our reservation (not realizing it), and were seated anyway. The host was very friendly, and the atmosphere was delightfully relaxing. It was "fancy" for my daughter, but not so much so that she felt uncomfortable. We saw smaller children nearby, so we knew they were kid-friendly. Our server was very attentive, friendly, and suggested a mocktail for my young lady, which we very much appreciated.

We had the donuts with salted caramel sauce, and the french toast with orange sauce and chantilly cream. My daughter had a Bootsy Collins Mocktail, and I had some of their $2 Mimosas. Everything was most delicious, and servings were perfection - we ate everything and were satisfied.

I was very impressed with Bluehour, and have since recommended it to my brunch-loving friends. I will visit again in the future, and hope to have just as wonderful a time as I did with my daughter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall good experience with a couple hitches.
Meals arrived; wine didn't...needed to remind waiter about it.

Gem lettuce salad very good. Chicken liver pâté was excellent.

A combination complimentary appetizer was quite tasty with carrot pas de fruit, a pork rillete, and a cracker with cheese and caper berries.

One person ordered chicken--the thigh portion was not fully cooked. The breast was good but was a bit overcooked.

The ginger creme brûlée had a good taste but lacked the very creamy texture of most brûlée I have eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Cocktails very slow to get to table. Happens often. Food excellent and service ok

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The meal started off amazing, and then I got my main course. I had a pork tenderloin and it was so fatty and gristly that I couldn't get two bites down. The manager came over and acknowledged it was fatty and unedible. He offered me something else, but I was on a time crunch to get to a show so couldn't have an alternative. Then the manager still charged me for the $30 tenderloin! The manager acknowledged the problem then provided horrible customer service! Everything before that was excellent but the manager mishandled the issue so badly that I will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The girlfriends had a wonderful brunch/lunch. The service was great and the setting very relaxed. Perfect for visiting. Our server was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu. I liked the variety of the brunch menu -- both breakfast and lunch options. We opted for Bloody Marie's and Mimosas - can't beat the price of $2 for the Mimosas. The hanger steak and eggs are wonderful, but found they grill on the rare side for medium rare. Overall, would recommend as a great Sunday brunch spot.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

PDX Best Find during Restaurant Month
Loved the Steak Tartar. The rabbit with palinta. Loved the steak with mashed potatoes . Loved the open kitchen and dining room. Loved the service. Great value. I do recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Bluehour is an excellent restaurant with beautiful decor and exceptional food. It is a perfect choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Disappointing this place has gone so far downhill. After waiting at our table for more than a 1/2 hour, I had to ask to place drink orders and flag them down to order dinner. No one else was in the restaurant when we arrived for our reservation. By the time we got service, other tables were eating. A waiter spilled water down my back while walking around the table filling glasses. Food was fine but given the dreadful service, it wasn't worth it. Pdx has far too many restaurants that have good food and service to come back to one that failed so miserably. Now I know why it's so easy to get last minute reservations here. As my friend said, "Bruce is asleep at the wheel."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My first time there for dinner Portland Dining Month. Will look forward to going again. Scallops starter was delish and the house wine and bubbly were excellent. Their coffee is Cafe Umbria! Love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was good but not enough so to lure me back. The ambiance is what turns be cold. It is cold and stark with views through the windows that is nothing but brick and concrete. The pasta dish we both had was good but the dessert was pretty average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Those big curtains are wonderful -- creating some noise suppression and making for much easier conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Server was not attentive and the eggs on the benedict were solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Bluehour is such a beautifully refined restaurant filled with character, richness and flair. The menus represent the highest quality of both food and drink, the service is impeccable and the price corresponds to the dining experience. Simply stated the dining experience was exquisite, gracious and memorable. Personally, I highly recommend Bluehour!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The host and bartender had a bit of a pretentious attitude. My server was nice though, and the food was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Strange experience, we were drawn to it because of March dining month, but this option was not offered to us. We did find nice things to order and we were fine, but it seemed quiet and very isolated there. A little too quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Incredible decor, friends staff and perfectly prepared food! The meal opened with an amusing amuse and wonderful drink menu! Followed by fresh oysters and a delicate, beautifully crusted nacelle steak! Dessert was a lite little chocolate hazelnut cake and a warm cup. Blue Hour is a Portland gem and one of the rare places in town one can dress like an adult and dine in elegance.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, delicious appetizers, and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a wonderful time at BlueHour! When we arrived, the hostess greeted us warmly and promptly showed us to the table and took our jackets (which seems rare in Portland nowadays). The server was friendly, recommending some sights for our out-of-town guests and had thorough knowledge of the menu. We had initially planned on trying the tasting menu, but there were so many appetizing selections we opted to order separate starters and entrees to share! The courses were perfectly timed; we never felt like we were waiting for anything once we stepped through the door. I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It's a nice place, although a bit pricey. Dinner for 4 was pushing $200 with tip, including three (total) glasses of wine. Portions are adequate, but don't expect to take anything home. Half of us had the three course $29 Portland Dining special, which was interesting and tasty. Others had the grouper, which was also very good. Ambience is nice, except for music that was too loud. Would go back again, for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Blue hour is showing its age. The food was good but at the price point they charge it was disappointing. Nothing really special or memorable. The waiter was nice but clearly was not trained in knowing the menu. We asked definitions of words on the menu and he had to check. Overall not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Hunter is a fabulous waiter! I always enjoy my evening with him serving me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

always delicious food and prompt professional friendly service

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We drove up from Salem to meet friends in town from NY NY and everyone was pleased. The foie gras made it for me and the sole was great. Our guest choose steaks and very satisfied. I want to go back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great dining experience as usual. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We first tried Blue Hour on a Sunday morning (11 am) for brunch before going to as theater matinee. Our service was spot on and the food was divine. We were so impressed we came back a couple of weeks later for the Happy Hour and then dinner around 6 pm. The food was exquisite but the place was near capacity and the few people on the service staff were nearly overwhelmed by large crowd. The service was still great but the attention to us was not 100 %. They missed adding our bar tab to the dinner tab which I pointed out to our server who corrected the error.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Not great! Service was really bad - I usually judge by the food,but that was just ok.
Brunch, large group - not memorable except that I think it was 45 min in to get drink and 1.3 to get food. Some of the guys left hungry. I had the eggs / hash which was good ( also small )
Portland has so much great - why settle for ok?

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent experience as always. I send as many people here as possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took my wife to bluehour for Valentines. We really enjoyed the experience. Food was amazing,desert out of this world. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Set menu felt rushed. Seating was too tight. Food was good but not great. Brisket was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.