Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Bluehour

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I made quite a few visits to Blue Hour while visiting Portland during the years prior to my relocation to this area. I have never been disappointed by the food which has always been excellent. The busy happy hour bar scene makes the noise level quite high on many evenings, but my last visit was on a Sunday which quiet prevailed and quite conversation was easy.

I'm sure I'll come back regularly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food and service were best of our trip to Portland

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The service was noticeably outstanding. I eat out a lot, so good service is expected and exceptional service is noticed. Ambiance is great. Great location. Good was very good, but only met expectations. I would definitely dine here again and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Bluehour was absolutely amazing! Every course was exquisite! Culinary perfection ... and we take part in Portland's dining scene often!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Blue Hour is an elegant, white tablecloth restaurant with great food. More suits and dresses than cut off jeans, but not stuffy or pretentious. They have a great terrace for fine weather and huge windows overlooking the Pearl's vibrant 13th Street historic district. Our Oregon tuna was superb, as was the duck confit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Beyond beautiful food presentation. The menu is a bit pricey which probably explains a quiet dining room on a Thusrsday night. Desserts were flawless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Restrained, masterful touch to a solid, diverse menu with creative use of seasonal produce. Amuse-bouche was a nice surprise and thoroughly enjoyed the snap dragon cocktail and wine selection! The space was equally enjoyable. Did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Anniversary Dinner at BlueHour.
I would have given BlueHour a 5-star. Except, my husbands 1st entree of tuna was not tasty. The server quickly offered to replace it. He ordered the chicken dish as his replacement, it was delicious. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Initial greet and seat, really friendly. The poached eggs on pork belly benedict were hard and not oozy and creamy. Disappointing. When the waiter brought my coffee, spilled quite a bit onto the saucer which melted the sugar on the saucer into a sticky mess. French toast looked amazing and the eater of said French toast cleaned his plate. The donuts with the raspberry gel were delicious. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfect! wonderful food, terrific attentive service, lovely design and friendly too.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Brunch was great! My fiance made reservations for my bday, and to our surprise they had $2 mimosas! Each dish we ordered had such great flavor. He had the Whisky Tango and I had the Lumber Jack breakfast sandwich....so de-lish! Awesome service, as well, our waiter was great! I will definitely go back for brunch, and look forward to trying the dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I alway enjoy bringing friends here.
Great location for wandering around the
Pearl - good food and low noise level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The interior is gorgeous for sure and the staff is very attentive and wonderful. Much else was not what I've grown to expect from Blue Hour. -The back of a staff member's white shirt looked like it had been slept in...literally -One of the empty bread plates came out a bit dirty and about 4-5 tines of my dinner folk had dried on sauce from god knows what...darn...forgot to ask for new fork so I guess I ended up using the dirty fork without thinking -My $44 steak was charred to the point of almost being burn...ate it cus I didn't want to make a fuss -Of the three complimentary amuse-bouche...1 was delicious and other 2 were meh -The cocktails and dessert were phenomenal though! Overall, I worry that this place has begun slacking and relying on past laurels. Maybe it was just one off night, but so much was off and they weren't busy. Perhaps that's why the place wasn't very busy for a Friday night. This is all very sad to report because I had always really loved Blue Hour in the past and have brought out of town friends there for dinner and have always looked forward to going for special occasions. Sadly, I guess we'll have to find another place to fill that spot.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The Blue Hour remains my favorite. My guests from Virginia were mightily impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely place to have brunch; first visit 'happened' to be their first time having live jazz music. So pleasant to have a delicious meal WITH musical accompaniment. Patrons talked quietly which was another 'rare' plus. We were warmly greeted, seated immediately and enjoyed our meals. Donuts were delicious though very 'TINY' sampling. Waiter also attentive throughout without being in our space too often. NICE BALANCE.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dinner was great, great service ask for Josh, great service and very knowledgeable. Food was spectacular, the foie gras is to die for! Great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Service was a little slow and it wasn't particularly busy. Usually the food is exceptional - but on this occasion, our steaks were quite well done. We sent them back, but still not the quality I would expect from BH. Overall, still a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I took a special date here and it was one of the most wonderful experiences I have ever had! My daughter set up the reservations and enchantment began from there. The atmosphere was elegant and warm. The decor was top notch and enviting. The service is one for the rich and famous to talk about and beyond delitful for us. The food was AMAIZING! I wish I was able to pronounce some of the dishes so I could highly recommend what to eat. I will just tell everyone to go and have the experiance of a lifetime and let you tastebuds celebrate life!

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Surprisingly we probably didn't need reservations on a Saturday night. Good selection, presentation and serving size, fantastic waitstaff. This was the atmosphere and food selection we were looking for for a celebration. Excellent wine and liquor list and the waiter was very knowledgeable about local wineries and distilleries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our first time to Brunch there and it was GREAT !
I had the corn beef hash and it was distinctive and delicious.
So glad they have opened for brunch

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Jason is an amazing bartender, excellent memory and phenomenal service!!! Why I keep coming back that and the amazing fresh local food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was good, but portions were very small for the price, and everything had to be purchased separately.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Entree portion on the small side. I had the pork and it was great but could have had 50% more vegetables and meat . Ambiance and service excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was our 3rd anniversary and our 3rd visit to Blue Hour, service is always #1 and the main reason we go. I ordered the rib eye it was very large and cooked correctly medium rare. My wife ordered the Roasted Duck bad choice it was very fatty and tough to eat. Being our anniversary we were surprised when we arrived by 2 complimentary glasses of champagne. There was a noisy table of business guys that distracted us but they left 1/2 way threw our dinner. We did not try wine as we always bring our own and the corking fee here is $20. At the end of our meal we were treated with a complimentary desert. All in all good experience just a wrong choice in the order. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The restaurant had ONE table of 6 people seated when our group of 8 arrived. We informed the server and hostess that we needed to leave within 90 minutes to catch a flight.

The drink orders were a disaster. On this Sunday lunch/brunch we were informed that nearly every drink we ordered was either sold out, or key ingredients were not available...including full bottles of champagne. Drinks took nearly 20 minutes to be served.

We ordered 4 plates of the donuts, which came 30 minutes later. Meals came nearly 45 minutes AFTER ordering, leaving us with 10 minutes or so to eat and run.

The server kept assuring us the meals were "just about ready" for over 30 minutes.

Considering the place was empty except for one table, the continuous delays were not understandable at all.

If you have less than 1.5 hours for a slow served food experience, pick something else. It's a very nicely decorated restaurant, but the lousy service is unacceptable and there's a lack of stocking ingredients and bar items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The restaurant was almost empty (on a Saturday night at 8pm) which led to an awkward dining experience where we felt like the staff could hear our whole conversation. They played strictly too 40 hits from the early 2000s. The food was pretty good with nice presentation and some nice surprises like a complimentary amuse bouche. However, I am concerned about cleanliness as there were several fruit flies in of our cocktails. The server was embarrassed and promptly replaced it with one that he checked before serving... unfortunately there was still a fruit fly floating inside. No concession was made as a result of this mishap, so while this restaurant's menu has some promise, I would not recommend it to a friend (or stranger for that matter). For a $235 meal for 3 including tip, I'd expect a little more on most fronts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We love going to this restaurant. It has amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I've always appreciated the table spacing at Blue Hour, second only to the food. For some reason this time, we two were seated in a window almost on top of a party of four even though there were lots of empty tables. Fortunately, they were a quiet enough 4-some....

The food is always well prepared, especially the traditional dishes. The more experimental choices don't always quite work but they, too, show care in preparation.

A very nice place to retreat to if a little expensive for regular dining. Can be noisy at night but spacing helps.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our evening could not have been better; the service, the food , everything was beyond expectations. No better meal or dinning experience in Portland

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

One word... "Outstanding!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This used to have excellent food for special occasions. I wouldn't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My favorite restaurant. A class act. Reasonable size portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is a below average experience and way too expensive. Caesar salad was tastless and risotto was over-salted and minuscule about even for my 11 year old.
Very Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Nice atmosphere, dry professional service, tasty food. All in all, a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We enjoyed it! Food was well-prepared, interesting and not huge plates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and patio!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The hostess was unpleasant and said nothing. Our waiter was very helpful, but the food was unacceptable. One meal was rejected, and the replacement should have been. Overall, the worst dining experience in several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Whiskey Tango at brunch on Sunday is now the standard that I will judge all other biscuits and gravy. Meaning, I am ruined for enjoying them anywhere else!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic food. Great cocktails. Very elegant and refined. One of the better fine dining spots in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Bluehour is our favorite restaurant in downtown Portland. The menu changes and evolves each time we go. The chef is a master creator of fabulous seasonally fresh food.The vegetable options are always terrific. My husband had the filet this time and it was perfectly cooked. The service is always outstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.