About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (42)
Romantic (39)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Live Music (33)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (10)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Healthy (6)
Private Room (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Slow inattentive service, flimsy impromp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Slow inattentive service, flimsy impromptu table set up.

Good drinks and scallops though.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

This place was amazing! Not going to lie ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

This place was amazing! Not going to lie, in the beginning our waiter was slammed, so he was a little unfriendly. But after about 10 minutes there was a complete change with him and he was a great and funny waiter. Just was probably busy for a moment. The food was OUTSTANDING and they have options that you may not see anywhere else such as bison steak and wild boar. The live jazz music was also great and not too loud to hear yourself have a conversation. On the expensive side but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Server was not attentive.. seemed to be ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Server was not attentive.. seemed to be in smutty about everything. Pre-fixe menu was great for going to the theater. My friends sea bass was full of bones

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Ordered lamb chops. Extremely small port ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Ordered lamb chops. Extremely small portion, not even appetizer size. Spoke to manager who couldn't have cared less. Perhaps they were taking advantage for Valentine's Day. We eat out 4 to 5 times a week and know most of the good restaurants in Charlotte so by comaprison we wouldn't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was great but our service was t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great but our service was terrible. At least three tables that were seated after us were finished with their meals before we even got our entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was average. Foie gras was sub par ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was average. Foie gras was sub par and under cooked, but I'm use to having it in Paris. The menu system states it's Mediterranean and that's mostly greek and Lebanese and this menu isn't that. Even the "Mediterranean" food wasn't authentic. They have a Moroccan chicken tagine wasn't authentic (which isn't Mediterranean) because they use Israeli couscous! Really? I wouldn't go back. I've had the pleasure of traveling the world and tasting all types of food and this restaurant doesn't do it fo me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was VERY slow. food and ambiance ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was VERY slow. food and ambiance were good, but for the price, service should have been a lot better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

4 of us went here after a Hornets game. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 12, 2017

4 of us went here after a Hornets game. The place was very busy but we didn't have to wait for our reserved table.

Our server, while quite knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly, left us several times "stranded" when we needed a piece of silverware or had to let him know one of the steaks wasn't cooked correctly.

The food was incredible. Despite one steak having to go back for more time in the broiler, everything was delicious. The diver scallops were the best scallop dish I've ever had. My wagu ribeye was also delicious and cooked uniformly at medium rare all the way through. Dessert is my weakness and Blue did not disappoint, I had their toffee concoction and it was to die for.

Lastly, I thought the prices were steep so this would be reserved for a special night out.

Overall a very good experience, we would recommend.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service were excellent. Noise w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Noise was intolerable. We could not talk over noise and band.I would suggest a quiet room for diners so inclined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dined at Blue the Saturday before Valent ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dined at Blue the Saturday before Valentine's Day with my husband and two teenage children. Our table was very small, which made it difficult to negotiate shared appetizers and a wine bottle. Two us ordered beef tenderloin cooked medium and both received steaks that were most definitely medium rare. Would have sent them back, but we were on a time crunch to get to a show and I was concerned that putting the steaks back on the fire would pretty much ruin them. There are so many great restaurants in Uptown, next time we're out for a big night out, we'll hit one of them instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Blue excelled Saturday with a fantastic ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Blue excelled Saturday with a fantastic Valentines menu of delicious dinners. The stuffed trout was outstanding as was the Tiramisu cheesecake. Service was excellent, and wines were selected with care.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the BEST dining experien ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was one of the BEST dining experiences my wife and I have ever had: outstanding food, great ambience. Our server, Candace, was an absolute GEM; very knowledgeable, very professional, and genuinely friendly and concerned about our enjoyment of the experience. Don't lose her! We are out-of-towners, but we'll definitely be back. Thanks for helping make our concert weekend so special.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great dining experience with great ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was a great dining experience with great food and staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the wine deal. Wonder if it w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed the wine deal. Wonder if it would happens again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were looking for a great r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a great restaurant to have a daye night!! Chef Gene Briggs and his talented staff never fail to deliver top notch cuisine!! My wife had the short ribs and I the duo of wild boar!! Absolutely superb!! Our server was fantastic as well!! She was very attentive without being overbearing!! We will always be loyal guests to Blue Restaurant and Bar!!

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Blue previously and had ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been to Blue previously and had great meals. Since we were attending a show and they still offered the restaurant week menu, it was a no brained. Excellent food and service ensuring we were done n time for the show!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy Blue most nights when we have t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We enjoy Blue most nights when we have tickets to the Symphony. The food is always good and the service as well. The only suggestion I would make is to add one or two traditional meals to the menu like a steak, a pasta dish and something from the fish variety like Salmon. The menu is a little exotic for those that prefer the more traditional meals. Drinks from the bar are always excellent and the covered walk to Belk Theater in bad weather is a blessing.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience. One of my favorite p ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Awesome experience. One of my favorite places to celebrate life milestones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we've been to Bl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is the second time we've been to Blue and we simply love it for a "special occasion" night. Perhaps one day we will have the money to go here on a casual evening out, but we'll keep it to special occasions for now. The cocktails are phenomenal, the appetizers are unique and delicious, and I cannot say enough good things about what they do to fish at this place. My trout stuffed with crab an mancego cheese and wrapped in bacon alongside sauteed greens and fingerling potatoes was out of this world! And we loved the live jazz.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overrated Restaurant imo. The food was v ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Overrated Restaurant imo. The food was very disappointing. I could have made the short rib and pasta in my crock pot with canned tomato sauce. I would have rather spent my money at a chain restaurant than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Besides being restaurant week, it was al ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Besides being restaurant week, it was also our anniversary. They gave us the most secluded booth they had. Service was awesome!! Ambiance was a bit noisy. The live band had a xylophone player as the lead, he was great! We enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great first experience at Blue, phenomen ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great first experience at Blue, phenomenonal wait service as well. Must listen to the live jazz music, it was truly a treat while we ate. Food was excellent as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Waitress was even be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very good. Waitress was even better. It had been a long time since I had been to Blue. I need to remember how good the food is. The only downside was the decor hasn't changed in years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mediocre restaurant trying to be high en ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Mediocre restaurant trying to be high end. Inconsistencies in food; example: two scallops on same plate, one overcooked and chewy the other cooked perfectly. For a table of 3, appetizers were not served together. Generally under seasoned food. Desserts were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My date was highly impressed and loved i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My date was highly impressed and loved it!!! As did I.

Tags: , Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely nice ambiance. Tables were we ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Extremely nice ambiance. Tables were well spaced to allow for more private conversation. The menu offered a variety of food options and our entrees were excellent . Fantastic wine list and the service was awesome.never felt rushed and was asked if this was a pre show meal, would highly recommend and plan to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and good value for restaura ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Amazing food and good value for restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blue offered an excellent Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Blue offered an excellent Restaurant Week menu. The dining room was quiet enough to have conversation at your table without feeling you had to raise your voice. The mood energetic and happy. Our server knew the menu well and offered suggestions. It is one of the best Restaurant Week experiences we have had…and we have had many!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Blue is my favorite restaurant uptown. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Blue is my favorite restaurant uptown. Alex Myrick is a wonderful, gracious host and the food is always outstanding

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant week selections - l ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent restaurant week selections - loved the stuffed trout and the scallops/pork medallions combo. Table bread was fresh, warm, moist and delicious with the creative kalamata butter. I want to return for the duo wild boar. Service was thorough, patient, and friendly. Also, Blue is clearly a favorite spot as there were many dining on a Tuesday evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. Great service. Love the style ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent. Great service. Love the style of the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined with Theresa, she was great. Came ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dined with Theresa, she was great. Came for restaurant week. Had to order a couple things off the menu as well. Enjoyed my dinner! Loved the bruschetta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but they were short s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was excellent but they were short staffed so service was off.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

food was delicious, service was great. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

food was delicious, service was great. Nice place for a date.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First let me say I've passed this place ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First let me say I've passed this place at least a hundred times going to uptown and never once did I pay attention to it. Well since it was restaurant week my date and I decided to have dinner there. Well glad we did because the place was "VERY-GOOD" and the food was delicious.

We got a windows seat which I recommend if your having diner there and we loved the view.

You can't go wrong with this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Service. Nice wine list. Great dat ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great Service. Nice wine list. Great date spot. Music after dinner was a great touch. Bar area was cool

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food every time we have eaten at B ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food every time we have eaten at Blue! They had a nice menu selection and plenty of items looked and tasted delicious . We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very slow the night we d ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was very slow the night we dined there (you were busy due to restaurant week, however). An individual in our party had their entree forgotten and didn't receive the meal for about 8 minutes after the rest of the party received their meal. The last course, dessert, took so long that the server told us that she was going to bring our check first before we ever received the course! We enjoy Blue thoroughly and will dine there again but thought some constructive criticism would be useful.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.