Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Romantic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (12)
Live Music (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic date spot . Very nice place. It's not the cheapest in town, but the food justifies the price

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a Mother's Day Brunch buffet and the food was just not good and a strange combo. There was no bread items for breakfast whether it be toast, bagels or muffins. The food wasn't hot and barely warm. This was only one hour after they started serving. Everyone commented they did not like the food and we had a table of 10. We won't be going back HOWEVER the service was excellent, not their fault the food wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day brunch! Excellent jazz band added to the experience. Server very attentive!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic dinner, food was excellent! Service was great even though our waiter was also trying to balance several prom parties in addition to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had excellent tajine. The wine was great, and our server was very attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

From beginning to end, both the service and meal were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome date night for food and live Jazz. Do yourself a favor and eat the Boar. Perfectly cooked.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our visit can be summed up in two words: impeccably perfect. And by that we mean setting, service and food. This was a dinner prior to a concert at a nearby venue, and what a great kickoff to a most enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I went on a Monday night with my boyfriend. We had the Wild boar duo and the lamb. Both very very delicious and our server was amazing! We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a wonderful Easter Brunch.
Service was slow. Otherwise a great Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our favorite go to place! Go about once every month or two. Did Easter Brunch, food was exceptional as always. But it cost me $60 with tip and all for one. I had one plate and half a plate if tiny desserts and was full all day. Will not do brunch again. To overpriced. $3.50 for ice tea that never got refilled because they were so busy. My 70 year old parents paid $7 for coffee and juice. Yea, coffee and juice should have been included in price. $120 for two 70 year olds was not worth it either. Food was great as always. But $60 to high for brunch for me

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was EXCELLENT including our awesome server David

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Outstanding service from the moment our Limousine arrived and the friendly valet attendants took photos for us. Fantastic waiter and the chef is out of this world!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

A great experience for our anniversary. From the decor, quality service from very good waiters to delicious food & wine. 5 stars all round!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great dining experience. Reid was an amazing waiter. While staff was great

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent cuisine - best stuffed trout we have ever tasted, every course (appetizers and desert) was superb. Service was outstanding and the ambiance was great for a nice quiet date. Priced right for this kind of fine dinning - excellent wine (though a little pricy). Definitely will be returning to sample the other dishes and spread the word to family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We returned to Blue after many years to see if our experience would be better than the first time. We were delighted last night! Our meal was wonderful. Our server was knowledgable and charming. Just moved here from Miami; we're glad she did.

We split the Arrancini and the pear salad. Both were very good. For entree, the Duck Bolognese and the wild boar duo. Both were excellent. The boar tenderloin was really noteworthy. The wine recommendation for the boar, James Mitchell Cabernet was just right. We finished with gelato; cinnamon pecan paired with cannoli. Just a bit of sweet. The entree portions were very generous.

Wonderful night out, thank you, Blue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great meal we shared appetizers and all were delicious. Our server was most pleasant and we were headed to show after so he was accommodating

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife learned about this restaurant some time ago, but it took us a while to find time to visit. I'm glad we did- the menu was varied and inventive, but we didn't need a dictionary to understand the ingredients or preparation. There were several items on the menu we wanted to try- but we settled on the scallop appetizer (wonderful!), the poached pear salad (very good), and two of their most popular entrees - duo of wild boar, and bacon wrapped stuffed trout, which were both excellent. Our server was attentive, and the courses came out a a moderate cadence. Unfortunately, we didn't have room for dessert, several of which also sounded delicious. We're adding Blue to our list of favorite restaurants in Uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, excellent service. I recommend branzino, a Mediterranean sea bass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I chose to eat at Blue prior to attending a musical at The Blumenthal. We were excited to try something new. Upon our arrival, we were seated right away. Then we sat for more than 15 minutes without a single staffer acknowledging our presence. I had to personally ask a random waiter to bring us water and to allow place our order. By this time, we were only willing to order appetizers so we would have enough time to make it to the show on time. Finally our waiter arrived and apologized for the service stating they were unusually busy on this Saturday night. The restaurant WAS NOT busy. Another couple arrived after we did, were seated directly behind us and were attended to promptly. When the food arrived, the crab cakes were cold. The service, quality and quantity was not worth the price to eat at Blue. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent dinner. Atmosphere was great. Wine was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My husband and I went for my birthday celebration. It was marvelous. Our server was helpful. Delightful. Entertaining. Perceptive. His recommendations due to our diet restrictions were delectable. And he graced me with a lovely birthday dessert surprise. Looking forward to our next evening at Blue.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant was amazing! From the food, service, and atmosphere! It was expensive, but we knew that going in. Our server went above and beyond to be sure our experience was delightful. My only complaint was that we were sat too close to another couple. We were so close that we might as well joined them. Besides that, we enjoyed ourselves, and will ask for a booth opposed to a table next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It has been several years since I have been to this restaurant. The experience then and now was very different. I had reservations after a CIAA event was hosted at the restaurant. The restaurant appeared to be back to normal and reset for dinner service and the restaurant was less than half full at the time of my reservation. Overall our experience was okay but our service was lagging and there were a couple of tables that sat down after us but received their food before we did. Don't get me wrong - my meal was delicious and cooked very well. I ordered the Pan Seared Beef Tenderloin and I was very satisfied with the food. There was just something about the overall experience that left something to be desired.
Lastly, there was no toilet paper in the restroom - and when I informed one of the servers she seemed frustrated and the response was "we were busy due to a CIAA event".
This could of just been a bad day for the Blue team but the ambiance and service that I thought we were going to get was not there on Saturday Night. I am not the type of person to avoid uptown when events such as the CIAA come in to town but there was definitely a different vibe in the Blue restaurant and I am still debating if I would recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Slow inattentive service, flimsy impromptu table set up.

Good drinks and scallops though.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place was amazing! Not going to lie, in the beginning our waiter was slammed, so he was a little unfriendly. But after about 10 minutes there was a complete change with him and he was a great and funny waiter. Just was probably busy for a moment. The food was OUTSTANDING and they have options that you may not see anywhere else such as bison steak and wild boar. The live jazz music was also great and not too loud to hear yourself have a conversation. On the expensive side but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Server was not attentive.. seemed to be in smutty about everything. Pre-fixe menu was great for going to the theater. My friends sea bass was full of bones

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordered lamb chops. Extremely small portion, not even appetizer size. Spoke to manager who couldn't have cared less. Perhaps they were taking advantage for Valentine's Day. We eat out 4 to 5 times a week and know most of the good restaurants in Charlotte so by comaprison we wouldn't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great but our service was terrible. At least three tables that were seated after us were finished with their meals before we even got our entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was average. Foie gras was sub par and under cooked, but I'm use to having it in Paris. The menu system states it's Mediterranean and that's mostly greek and Lebanese and this menu isn't that. Even the "Mediterranean" food wasn't authentic. They have a Moroccan chicken tagine wasn't authentic (which isn't Mediterranean) because they use Israeli couscous! Really? I wouldn't go back. I've had the pleasure of traveling the world and tasting all types of food and this restaurant doesn't do it fo me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was VERY slow. food and ambiance were good, but for the price, service should have been a lot better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 12, 2017

4 of us went here after a Hornets game. The place was very busy but we didn't have to wait for our reserved table.

Our server, while quite knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly, left us several times "stranded" when we needed a piece of silverware or had to let him know one of the steaks wasn't cooked correctly.

The food was incredible. Despite one steak having to go back for more time in the broiler, everything was delicious. The diver scallops were the best scallop dish I've ever had. My wagu ribeye was also delicious and cooked uniformly at medium rare all the way through. Dessert is my weakness and Blue did not disappoint, I had their toffee concoction and it was to die for.

Lastly, I thought the prices were steep so this would be reserved for a special night out.

Overall a very good experience, we would recommend.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Noise was intolerable. We could not talk over noise and band.I would suggest a quiet room for diners so inclined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dined at Blue the Saturday before Valentine's Day with my husband and two teenage children. Our table was very small, which made it difficult to negotiate shared appetizers and a wine bottle. Two us ordered beef tenderloin cooked medium and both received steaks that were most definitely medium rare. Would have sent them back, but we were on a time crunch to get to a show and I was concerned that putting the steaks back on the fire would pretty much ruin them. There are so many great restaurants in Uptown, next time we're out for a big night out, we'll hit one of them instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Blue excelled Saturday with a fantastic Valentines menu of delicious dinners. The stuffed trout was outstanding as was the Tiramisu cheesecake. Service was excellent, and wines were selected with care.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was one of the BEST dining experiences my wife and I have ever had: outstanding food, great ambience. Our server, Candace, was an absolute GEM; very knowledgeable, very professional, and genuinely friendly and concerned about our enjoyment of the experience. Don't lose her! We are out-of-towners, but we'll definitely be back. Thanks for helping make our concert weekend so special.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was a great dining experience with great food and staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed the wine deal. Wonder if it would happens again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.