About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Valet and private paid lots.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 233-6623

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly staff. Food was delicious. We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent. Server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the specials. Food was well prepared and visually appealing. The lobster bisque and Spanish octopus starters were memorable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

I came in from out of town and selected based on the ratings. As you know this is a crapshoot at times. I was with clients so I was hopeful. Blue Point did an outstanding job!!! I was more than impressed with the food and the service was exceptional. I had the scallops and goat cheese salad ... excellent. Next time I am in San Diego I will visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We're snowbirds who have been dining here for years. The food is consistently delicious and innovative and the service friendly and first rate. It's the Gas Lamp's shining star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Nice place, very comfortable. Service is great. Food was OK this time around. Mussels had way too much garlic. Also, chocolate lava cake was cold and missing the poached pear. Otherwise, a very nice restaurant. I think this was an off night for them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As always, Blue Point was outstanding even on a rainy, cold night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Visiting from out of town and found this restaurant in the Gaslamp District to be an outstanding choice for delectable seafood and fine wine! Wish we were closer to be able to come more often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Meh. I made reservations well in advance and got seated next to the noisy kitchen, thanks for that. I was also very disappointed that it was a fixed menu. You should have had the option for a fixed menu, whilst also choosing from the regular menu. Got to listen to a couple arguing all dinner, which was awesome. So far, my least favorite Cohn restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Anniversary and a birthday

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our overall experience was Awesome!! Thank you for the great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Great food and service. Wonderful cocktails too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was slow even though we came early and there were not very many people dining at that time. Food was excellent. Nice treat for our birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

First time trying this restaurant and was not disappointed. We will definitely return before our holiday ends. Living in a major mid-west city we are used to fine dining and Blue Point Coastal is a must try.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We wanted an elegant, stylish, restaurant, with superb food, and attentive knowledgable staff. Boy, we were blown away. Our server Chris, was delightful, and extremely knowledgable about the menu, even offering wine suggestions to accompany our choices, saying if we did not like them, he would change them no problem. Needless to say, everything he suggested we loved. The beef cheeks were outstanding, and my husband's black ink linguini with shrimp was amazing. One of our best meals ever. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first visit, the service was great and the food was delicious!! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A good selection of seafood, presented well, and most importantly, delicious. Am just sorry that after appetizer, salad and entree that we didn't have any more room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great meal with excellent flavor profiles. Service was very good and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food as usual. Flexible on my reservation since I had to change it. Good waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It's a great experience. The only bemol is the price. It's a little expensive. But I will recommended that restaurant for the seafood. And the service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

enjoy my time and dinner at blue point. The waiter was great and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food, nothing great and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitress forgot that it was my friends birthday even after I wrote it on the reservation and reminded the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We come here pretty rarely but always enjoy the experience. It's a bit pricey but you really get the full dining experience with competent and gracious hosts and waitstaff. The food is always excellent but seemed to even surpass itself with the grilled lobster that I had. Perfectly done. We will make it a point to return more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service, delicious food! Swordfish was perfecto...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food and start!

You will not be disappointed!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

went to blue point coastal for dinner sevice was exceptional started with a bowl of lobster bisque which was excellent then braised short ribs with mashed potato and grilled asperigus a fantastic meal and great service

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went for restaurant week. The service was excellent, the food was delicious. Loved the entire evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We came in for restaurant week and were not disappointed! The deconstructed salad with cheese, beets and greens was delicious. The ahi tuna was served rare and was perfect. Plus an awesome martini served the old fashioned way. The ambience had an old world quality to it- we all had a fun time!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had a Tuesday evening dinner at the Blue Point restaurant. It's a very nice place in downtown SD. We hit some traffic on the way there and opted for the valet parking ($15) since we didn't have time to do any self parking. We had a comfy booth and our server, Jade, was friendly and courteous. Her assistant, Zack, was also attentive and friendly. Our cocktails were delivered promptly. My wife had the Goat Cheese Salad, the Ahi and an Apple Crust dessert. I had the Fried Oysters, Short Ribs and Sorbet Trio dessert. The presentation on everything was excellent and the whole meal was great. We had a very enjoyable leisurely dining experience at the Blue Point. We did notice that had the onerous 3% surcharge on the bill, which was not appreciated, but evidently is becoming commonplace. Downgraded it one star for the surcharge.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Blue Point. Our server Elliot was the best and the food was sensational. The tables were set a bit too close together, but I don't blame the crowds for wanting to eat there. Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Blue Point Coastal remains one of my favorite restaurants in San Diego. I have had many good meals there and have never been disappointed. I like the décor and the whole style of the place. The entire staff is very professional and attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome food- we had the sea bass and mahi mahi- all recommended by our server Elliott- he was right on target! And he was a GREAT server!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We started with oysters which were an assortment from three locations-- all delicious.

Our entrees were really over the top.

Prepared perfectly with complex flavors.

I wish I lived close enough to dine here again, really great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Third visit not as good as previous two. Inattentive service. My favorite app (smoked salmon) no longer offered. My favorite entrée (beef & reef) is different. They replaced the half lobster tail with a lobster/scallop combo dish that isn't very good and shrunk the tenderloin portion down from 6 oz to 5. The whole menu is getting more and more "artisan" for me. Also, dislike the 4% surcharge to cover CA minimum wage hike. Lots of places doing that, I know, but shouldn't they reduce the "recommended" tip amount on the bill. It still starts at 18% and goes to 24%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Wonderful lobster dishes and great wine list. Came with colleagues for work dinner and had a great time. Server and manager were both very attentive. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Susan, our server was wonderful & attentive. Food & seafood is delicious. We enjoy returning often since we're local

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere! Best steak I have had!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was wonderful. We had the sea bass and bouillabaisse. Both were flavorful. The atmosphere was very nice; not a lot of noise and we could actually carry on a conversation.

The only areas for improvement would be to clear dishes a little quicker and the crème brûlée needed more caramelization.

Server was personable. He ensured the dessert charge was removed when we expressed our disappointment with the quality.

We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great, Great and great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lobster bisque is so amazing!! Everything we ordered was delicious and perfectly cooked! Great service too. Highly recommended!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner while visiting SD. Arrived early for our res and had a great time at the bar ---oysters and crab cakes were excellent and excellent values (happy hour prices) Dinner was also very good-- Barimundi and mussels stand out. Sat in a "shell booth" and enjoyed the service. Would go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were seated right away in a nice window booth. Great service and nice menu. Food was served fast and everything was wonderful. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

spectacular food with excellent (informed, friendly, efficient) service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food as always, wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food was amazing...I really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great experience. Food and service were outstanding. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We started with a dozen oysters, delicious. My friend had their crab crusted sea bass - excellent. I had the mahi mahi, also excellent. Service was great, beautiful space. Would appreciate a more expansive wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.