Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Street parking and private paid lots. Please note that 5th Avenue is an Active Loading Zone on Friday and Saturday nights between the hours of 8:00 PM and 3:00 AM.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 233-6623

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I enjoy this restaurant very much. The service is phenomenal and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, good steak, nice napa cab, we all enjoyed our meals

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants of all time; we keep coming back over and over again. It's pricy, but you definitely get value for your money. Service is amazing, food is exquisite- we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Jamie attended to us and was a gem of a Server. We couldn't have asked for a more attentive and knowledgeable representative of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great tasting food especially the oysters are the best! Our server David was very polite and attentive.
The restaurant had a funny smell but I guess that's because the building is very old. overall the experience very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Not only is the food great but the chief and the staff really care about you the customer. When I setup my reservation I asked if they would make a sugar free desert other then berries and the chief not only complied but came out to make sure we enjoyed our meal and desert. Great place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great service. Excellent seafood menu. Oysters were fantastic as was the beef and shrimp. While a bit prices, the food, experience, and presentation was excellent. Suggest you make a reservation.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was good, but not spectacular. I had the mussel & shrimp pasta which I really enjoyed. The mussels were excellent. My date had the seared ahi & shrimp dish. The ahi was great, but the shrimp was fried & not very flavorful (the shrimp in the pasta dish was better). The salads were good and the creme brûlée was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As usual, wonderful service and wonderful food. It's our go-to dinner when we see a concert downtown. Will continue to go back there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

They always give you a great meal in a great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Best crabcakes I've had in San Diego, highly recommend if you love fresh crab without all the breading.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Prices are crazy high here, not a great value. The "Lemon Pound Cake" has nothing in common with what a normal person would expect. Not tasty at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I had my family as guests for my birthday. The service was impeccable, the food was excellent (I mean really good), the portion size was more than adequate, and the atmospheres is great. It is pricy but within reason for a great dinner. (Wine and all ~$50@). The "chef" provided complimentary hors d'oeurves and birthday dessert! Perfect for an event (and an everyday dinner if that fits your budget). Thanks Blue Point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful decor. We sat on patio which was a bit loud, but fun to people watch. Pretty expensive, but the food was delicious so that's ok. Service was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great service, very attentive to our table. Makes you feel special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were disappointed with the quality and taste of our meal. Additionally, our server made us feel rushed even though the restaurant wasn't crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Whenever I am in San Diego I love to eat at Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, which has superb seafood.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Pretty average and consistent food - the service was outstanding - Jade was our server. Really nice - highly knowledgeable. Would absolutely go back to see her.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. AC was broken but they quickly moved us to a table in a cooler area of the restaurant. This was our second time dining at this restaurant. We traveled from New Orleans and the octopus apatizer was worth it all. Beef cheek was amazing as well!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and went out to dinner and thought we would check out another Cohn restaurant. At the first our waitress was attentive, then it went down hill from there. It took forever for our appetizer and food to come out. Plus filling up my husband's ice tea. The food was good, but the overall service is slow and not very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Superb seafood in a great setting. A bit pricey but delicious and festive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and Service were exceptional!!! Our waiter was just perfect and probably the best service we've had in a long time. Thank you!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was SO hot inside. The scallops were great, but the rest of the plate I didn't eat. Didn't care for it. The lobster bisque soup was bitter, sent it back. Not good. They replaced with the mushroom soup which was nice. Service was great! Wouldn't go back for the price and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was outstanding. We were there early on a week night for a pre-theater dinner. My husband's cioppino was excellent as was the ceviche I had for a starter. The ahi was also great. The shrimp that came with the ahi was a bit dry. It wasn't too noisy as we were there early.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always wonderful service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service was great. Food was ok. Was hoping for some more traditional seafood dishes. They charged a 3% amount for volatility of costs which I am not sure was noted on the menu and doesn't seem right given how high their prices are anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Terrific, as always! Whether you sit at the bar or in the dining room, the service and food are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Outstanding meal and service as always !!!! Ambience is pure perfection.... can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food, service, ambiance was outstanding. The Cohn Family have it down. They know what they are doing in the restaurant business. I feel like a family member with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wow. Squash blossom appetizer was stupendous. Lobster risotto was mmmmmm. Always great service. Went 1/2 hr early for oyster happy hour then dinner. Best of both.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We waited almost 30 minutes between when we finished our first course and when our second arrived and nobody bothered checked in with us and let us know what was going on. When our main finally came out, it was WAY overcooked. None of the wait staff seemed at all disconcerted with our bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was decent. Service was prompt and attentive. Weird smell turned me off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The bar had a happy hour oyster special and our appetizer orders were backed up. Server was very apologetic. Our appitiezer arrived at the same time as our food. Didn't want our food to get cold and didn't want to waste our appitizers. Server offered to pick up one of the appitizers which we accepted but turned around and gave the entire cost plus 20% to him for his apology. Dinner was good but the tuna appitizer was not what I had expected. Mango was too ripe, sweet and mushy. Tuna was not as firm as it should be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Perfect Birthday dinner for my husband:

This is a favorite neighborhood restaurant for my husband and me - we come by often for desert and coffee in the bar. However, it is a special treat when we have dinner at BluePoint Coastal. We started with some excellent Champagne. Our daughter and I had the exquisite shrimp and whitefish ceviche and my husband had a spectacular lobster salad. Presentation is greatly important here and this was truly a work of art! Our entrees were all beautifully prepared. My Ahi tuna was the best I've ever tasted - succulent and flavorful set on a wonderful peanut sauce. My husband loved his medium rare lamb tenderloin, which was cooked to perfection, and our daughter's beef filet and shrimp was equally praiseworthy. Service was excellent and relaxed - everyone in this restaurant makes us feel like we are part of the family. We decided to split a warm chocolate lava cake for desert - this is a real winner and a nice finish to a memorable dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Server, forget his name, very friendly/perfect timing. He was top notch, best waiter I've ever had.... Best romantic spot too. Food is fantastic, you will not regret it. Cocktail was perfect. Lobster was cooked to perfection. So was my salmon. Cream corn with vanilla is soooo good! Had a small food issue but taken care of with class by our awesome waiter!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First class experience from the time we stepped in. All the staff was friendly and professional. The food was excellent. The atmosphere and music was classy. Our server, Mark, was exceptional. This is our new go-to place for those special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I would consider this restaurant a "high end" establishment. Their scallop dish was superb. I described to the waiter a campari, orange slices, and crushed ice drink that I had in Mendoza, Argentina. He and the bartender reproduced it exactly to my specifications.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our server and his assistant were amazing and patient. We were talking business and slow to do our order etc but both were great and the food....delish...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service and location was perfectly placed within the gaslamp district. Drinks were made very well but a tad expensive. Appetizers were delish. (Shrimp and half dozen oysters) only complaint was my wife's halibut dinner was over cooked and not very flaky. More like the texture of chicken. My beef and reef was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Octopus was outstanding; the most tender we have ever had. Definitely worth exploring for those who worry it can be tough. Lobster risotto was good but needed more lobster flavor even though it was loaded with lobster! Mussels were a disappointment; broth needed more flavor. Service was outstanding! Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.