Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Street parking and private paid lots. Please note that 5th Avenue is an Active Loading Zone on Friday and Saturday nights between the hours of 8:00 PM and 3:00 AM.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: (619) 233-6623

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
People Watching (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a party of 4 with diverse dining desires including one member who is both gluten and dairy-free. Our server was very helpful and happy to assist each of us with our choices and special needs. A very friendly and efficient staff and an all around lovely dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately, they missed the bar here. We went to celebrate my birthday and this place was listed as fine dining/seafood restaurant. The ambiance was nice, our server was great, but the food was sub-par. My fiance ordered his steak medium, it came well done. The sever noticed and asked if he wanted her to take it back but he declined because he was very hungry, and embarrassed to do that. I ordered crab legs, which tasted over cooked some how. They weren't sweet and fresh tasting and my asparagus was so mushy that my fork smashed it when I tried to pick it up. I wouldn't go back, it wasn't worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the seafood and preparation
Service great
Recommended
We were here for a conference, ate outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food options were varied including fish, meat, vegetarian and gluten free options. Presentation was beautiful and portion size was just right. Our table was inside, but close to the street, which provided a good opportunity to see the local foot traffic. The service was attentive, without being intrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another great dinner at the Blue Point! When we are in SD, we always have dinner here and it never disappoints. The service is always spot on and the food is excellent. Best seafood in town!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This restaurant has excellent food and wonderful wait staff. Cool building, remodeled but retaining some old school charm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good meal and friendly attentive service but prices were higher than called for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was suburb; nice wine list; hubby's martini made perfectly; Sea bass and scallop entrees were very creative; wonderful ending to a great week in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The BEST shrimp cocktail sauce ever. Service was friendly and prompt. We ordered 4 appetizers and a few drinks and the bill still came to over $100 for 2 of us. Maybe that's common in San Diego's Gaslamp District.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Just an iffy meal. Pretty lousy table in the rear, staff seemed overly busy which made the service spotty, one dish was gr8, the other so-so...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and fresh fish! Kinda costly and the cigar place next door makes eating outside tough, but still one of my favorite places to get great food downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The sea bass was perfect, tried the squash blossoms and Veuve Clicqot, all divine! Great server!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very good food. Sat outside with the street noise and people watching. Staff very good and attentive.
Talked with manager for hints on finding live Jazz in Gas Lamp district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Outstanding seafood. The best meal I've eaten in San Diego.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our experience was great! The food was wonderful and the service impeccable. We actually left our credit card there and had a call waiting when we got home - before we realized we had forgotten it!. My husband had the yellowtail and octopus. I had the day's special - swordfish. Both delicious - we also had the Farm salad and the Ceasar salad - excellent and just the right size. My husband was treated to a lovely desert as it was his birthday. Great wine selection as well. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 2 year anniversary. We had a wonderful time and the service, food and ambiance was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delicious, best oysters I have ever had, outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was our first time. We were there for a pre-theater dinner. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our waitress Susan was very polite, courteous and knowledgeable. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were perfect! No complaints. The lobster Oscar was delicious and the scallops were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was good in that the waiter was attentive. Salad, bread, and wine was good. Both ordered seabass, which was terribly overcooked and rubbery. Alerted the manager and waiter who offered to have the meal recooked, but we were on a time crunch. Surprised though that no compensation was given when you are paying $45 for rubbery fish. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Second time we have eaten there and food remains high quality. Service is good. Fresh raw bar and sushi. Helpful staff. Not pretentious. Did not feel rushed. We will go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything we tried was awesome! Can't go wrong. Our server Jamie was on point and helped make our evening great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Standing service with excellent food

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our waiter (Phil) was outstanding catering to our every need and smoothly transitioning courses to accommodate our conversation. All of our selections were fabulous (lobster bisque = amazing) and Phil's recommendations were spot on. Even the lemon drop martinis were smooth as silk. Highly recommend for locals and travelers as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The stuffed squash blossom appetizer was wonderful!! The lobster dinner was a perfect meal! We loved the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Expensive nothing special. I had the salmon which had a strange sauce on it which masked the salmon flavor. The waiter was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was excellent and the waiters were outstanding. Teri had the Maine Lobster and I had a steak and both were very nice!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Although my fish sea bass was a nice piece ( large and meaty) I felt that it lacked flavor. I could have zipped it up with some lemon, sea salt, a little bit of old bay and maybe a parsley garlic blend. It was expensive - roughly 40 dollars but tasteless. Veggies that came with the entree were tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I didn't realize until I arrived that I had eaten here about 20 years ago when I had a memorable shrimp chili rellano appetizer that the chef kindly shared the recipe with me. We both had the beet and goat cheese salad which was excellent. It was larger than I would have expected and I was sorry about that because when the very excellent crab cake appetizer arrived, I could not finish it. There was a single large crab cake with no breaking filler. It was excellent with a perfect crust and great seasoning. There was a small salad with a ginger flavored dressing that was superb. We both had sparking wine and my only complaint was that my Chandon was not cold enough. It was more at white wine temperature and not the colder temperatures that sparking should be served at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Have eaten here several times in the past few years when visiting- consistently good food and interesting beer selections. Had excellent lobster bisque and salmon- excellent service. Unfortunately too full for dessert. Would recommend highly for seafood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My service, meal were simply excellent. Every time I visit San Diego I will go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wonderful fresh oysters and great roasted mussels. All things we enjoy especially fresh.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Room was too warm. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice place I would go back again sometime. The food was good, portion and presentation good but,to much ice in the mix drinks. Skip them I won't get again. Would like to have been offered fresh crack black pepper and other seasoning for my pasta seafood dish. The fresh bread was very good and hot the first time. Ask for a both better then seating at a table across from a both or sit away next to other tables.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you come to San Diego to enjoy and ambience, then this is a must visit Restaurant . Don't miss the chance in indulging in some of the best seafood available, and the steaks aren't half bad either!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Hectic night due to huge convention. But did a good job.
We will go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great restaurant that hasn't changed in 20 years. Lovely fresh shucked oysters. Amazing fresh seabass topped with crab. Perfectly cooked scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 14, 2017

For a recommended ocean-side seafood restaurant, the food was not consistently good. While my entree of mahi mahi was very good with a unique sauce and excellent presentation, the crab bisque was average and the fried oysters were simply flash-fried and not cooked well. Finally, even with the oysters removed from the bill, the total was still quite high making the value of our evening at Blue Point quite low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great time!! Love Blue Point!! Thank you for the great food & service.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Late-night Find, People Watching, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent t fresh seafood. We had raw oysters to start and then I had the sea bass and my husband had the octopus. Fresh, interesting and excellent service.

Loved the banquettes - very 50's feel!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.