Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

CampfireCampfire
(542)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 82 times today
The Land and Water Co.The Land and Water Co.
(374)
$$$$
Sushi | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 16 times today
PAON Restaurant & Wine BarPAON Restaurant & Wine Bar
(774)
$$$$
French | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 11 times today
Gregorio's RestaurantGregorio's Restaurant
(140)
$$$$
Italian | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 7 times today
Vigilucci's Cucina ItalianaVigilucci's Cucina Italiana
(698)
$$$$
Italian | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 19 times today
Vigilucci's Seafood & SteakhouseVigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
(1320)
$$$$
Italian | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 23 times today
Benihana - CarlsbadBenihana - Carlsbad
(905)
$$$$
Japanese | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 31 times today
Solace & The Moonlight LoungeSolace & The Moonlight Lounge
(600)
$$$$
American | Encinitas, North San Diego
Booked 19 times today
FrescoFresco
(437)
$$$$
Italian | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 8 times today
King's Fish House - CarlsbadKing's Fish House - Carlsbad
(320)
$$$$
Seafood | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 7 times today
Bistro West - CarlsbadBistro West - Carlsbad
(1783)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 14 times today
West Steak and SeafoodWest Steak and Seafood
(1555)
$$$$
Steak | Carlsbad, North San Diego
Booked 16 times today
Market Restaurant and BarMarket Restaurant and Bar
(2276)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Del Mar, North San Diego
Booked 51 times today
333 Pacific - Steaks & Seafood333 Pacific - Steaks & Seafood
(2959)
$$$$
Steak | Oceanside, North San Diego
Booked 32 times today
Le PapagayoLe Papagayo
(390)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Encinitas, North San Diego
Booked 23 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Blue Ocean Robata & Sushi Bar

Blue Ocean Robata & Sushi, located in Carlsbad, California, serves Japanese cuisine with a focus on robata and fresh, handmade sushi for lunch and dinner. Each dish is made to order with the finest and freshest ingredients available. Blue Ocean Robata & Sushi has a full bar which is known for its specialty cocktails.

Start out with an order of caramelized eggplant or crispy soft shell crab served with jalapeno slaw at Blue Ocean Robata & Sushi. Choose from dinner items like the caterpillar roll or the heart attack roll. If you�re not in the mood for sushi, try the pork belly robata or the five-spice duck tacos.

2958 Madison Street
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Sushi, Yakitori

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Daily: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Bar
Daily: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM

Cross Street:
Carlsbad Village Dr & Grand Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-4959

Website:
http://www.blueoceanrobatasushi.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on the weekends

Executive Chef:
James Pyo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2014

Terra was out server and Chris was out host. They were both awesome. You could not ask for better service. I always look foreword to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2014

Restaurant was closed on Friday lunchtime. No notification on door or website. Even allowed me to reserve a table online. This is usually my favorite sushi place to eat at. Very disappointed since I'm not very local and drove 1/2hr to get there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2014

We love the fresh fish here! It's delicious and the presentation is beautiful. The staff is friendly and attentive. We are definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2014

This place is trendy while delivering great sushi and Japanese dishes. The rolls were especially appealing because it was the first time that I've eaten at a sushi place that offered quinoa or brown rice instead of white rice! I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2014

Knowledgable wait staff., very helpful
Hostess a bit unfriendly

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2014

Not sure if I caught BOR on an especially boisterous night but my biggest takeaway was how really loud it was. Not in any way that affected my experience super negatively, but was distracting in a few instances. You know, the 'turn your head' kind of loud people. But that being said, the food was tremendous, service was great and definitely will be back again. Our reservation was at 730 and at around 830, the noise level quieted down. So next time, a later reservation and we'll be good to go. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2014

Every time I go here I am more and more impressed. Marissa the server and Chris the Manager are the best. I can't wait till the next time. I tell all my friends about this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2014

Awesome, neighborhood spot for sushi lovers. I consider myself a sushi foodie and this was some of the best sushi I have had in a long time. Must try The French Kiss and the Albacore Delight. The black cod robata was also super tasty. I can't wait to visit Carlsbad again so I eat at Blue Ocean!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2014

This was our first time here and it was fabulous!! We sat at the Robata Grill and it was fun talking to the "grill chef". The pork belly was amazing, as well as the sushi rolls and the duck. We are anxious to come back and try many more things on the menu. We will bring our daughter and son-in-law, who are foodies also.

My husband brought me here for my birthday dinner and with our dessert I was presented with a sparkling birthday candle!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2014

The food was outstanding. The bacon wrapped scallops were by far the best I have ever had. I made my wife try one (and she doesn't like scallops) and she is now a fan of scallops. I could order those for the entire meal and be completely satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2014

This place is great, the sushi is quality and pretty much anything that comes off the grill is good. Rolls are good sized and have lots of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2014

We were immediately impressed by the futuristic ambience. We also recognized some movie stars, but that's STILL not the reason that we can hardly wait to come back, (despite making the trek from Silicon Valley)! Anyway, to get properly over ourselves, we "need" to say that that the drinks and sushi/sashimi were the best we've ever had!!! We happily over-ate and were thrilled rather than remorseful. One of the sushi chefs. also gave us some fabulous tastes of super-fresh fish. AND, finally, we had a dessert that was off-the-chart in deliciousness: a dark-chocolate torte, with toasted nuts, coconut sorbet and so much more. WOW, it was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2014

Love this place. Went for my husband's birthday with a group of friends. It was really noisy, but for our purpose, that was fine. The food was excellent and the service was stellar. We loved what our server recommended and had a great time. Get the warm cashew salad. It's amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2014

The quality of their sushi is excellent. They are one of the few places that offer toro and blue fin tuna- which is hard to find. They offer unique rolls (like the tango mango) in addition to making traditional ones. I've also tried pretty much all the robata meats and they are all great. My favs are the lamb chops, wagyu meatballs, and sculpin. Nice wine & saki offerings as well. I haven't tried any of the other main entrees as I like to eat just the sushi & robata.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2014

Lots of energy (very noisy), great vibe and decor. The food was good (not great). The robata dishes were good and interesting. The sushi, while good quality wasnt our favorite. We are sushi snobs so if we were dying for amazing sushi we wouldn't go here but it definitely satisfied the our sushi craving while offering a more vibrant and versatile menu than your local sushi restaurant. The staff was very nice (especially Marissa) and the service was very good. The restaurant is fairly new and definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2014

Third time going to this newer restaurant in downtown Carlsbad. Food has been excellent every time - we love the Robata grill. The first time it was almost midnight and we were the only people there. The next two times it has been jumping, with a potential for wait times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2014

Live Uni, live scallops, ohhhh ya! Sashimi list is pretty awesome. Abalone, Giant Clam, Toro, Live Uni, Live Scallops, you crave it, they have it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2014

Eggplant dish & wasabi roll are a must!! Great addition to Carlsbad night scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2014

The place is nicely decorated, the food and service very good, but it's SOOOOO noisy! However go anyway, it's a fun experience, especially the robata grill--little skewers of meat and vegetables grilled over hot coals. The pork belly is fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2014

Lots to love about this place-beautiful dining room, fun cocktails, good scene & we had some great food. Our robata selections (tomatoes, black cod & meatballs) were fantastic-especially the black cod. The sushi was also really good although it was clearly pre-made as it came out within moments & the rice had that "been sitting there for an hr" texture. We were there at 5 pm so I assume they were just ensuring the kitchen didn't get behind. What bothered me, however, was that they list "crab" on the menu & it's actually krab. I asked our server-so it's real crab correct? And she informed me that it wasn't-nor could we upgrade to real crab for an additional cost. Disappointing for a restaurant that clearly prides themselves on their kitchen

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2014

Could not have asked for a better place to eat last Friday. Service was great and food was perfect. French kiss albacore dish and pork belly, will get us back real soon. Kudos!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2014

If you love contemporary interior design and delish sushi, this place is for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2014

The food here is great but if you want to hear your table mates, come for lunch! We were surprised that the lunch menu does not feature any Robata items and wish the website said so - but some of our favorites from the kitchen were available (peppers and eggplant) and the sushi rolls were wonderful.

My wife had the chicken wraps - which turned out to be enough for everyone to share and then some!

If you come for dinner- the Robata is wonderful but be prepared for one of the loudest restaurants you will ever visit. (But the noise isn't enough to keep us away - it just isn't a place we would choose if we wanted a place to converse). Lunch is quiet and it is a great place for friends to get together.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2014

Food was fantasic! Service was good but the servers kept bringing items that we did not order. I guess a little confusion when doling out food orders. Need to incorporate some art on the walls from local artist. A little color would be good. Just some suggestions for improvements. My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary and had a great time. We will be back to dine again. By the way, the green tea sunday was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 24, 2014

THE GOOD! The food was good and seemed fresh. The service was also good.

THE BAD! The noise level was very loud and it was hard to understand our server. The tables are so close together it was difficult for the servers to go between them and when they did their bottom would be in someones face ,you hear everyone sitting next to you conversation. liked the food but don't know if its worth the noise. not a place for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2014

The food was excellent. The service was great. Brooke was our server and she was awesome. I tell everyone I know that likes sushi to go Blue Ocean Robata.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2014

Every time here like it here more. Tried new things and all were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Fish was fresh with beautiful presentation. Oysters were tiny, but sweet and fresh. Scallops were beautifully presented. 3 course with Miso Cod was delicious. Robata skewers were okay, flat iron was better than the meatballs. A for Sushi, B for Robata

Services was wonderful, Andrew was friendly, fast and made great suggestions. A+

Hostess was VERY NICE, but seated us after an 8 minute wait. Would have preferred they had our table ready right away for Mother's Day since it was special occasion. We mentioned we were driving from LA in Res.
B+

Best seats in the house are the booth tables along the back wall or long tables for big groups. Bar area is pretty noisy, the area near restrooms is quieter. Nice music, ambiance and decor. A

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2014

This is a neighborhood gem. Very nice easy to order menu without being overwhelmed by too many options. Sushi fantastic but service lacking in friendliness and warmth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Had a wonderful time at the restaurant for Mother's Day lunch...food was very good as well as service.Had chicken teriyaki/salmon/white tuna/green tea sundae..highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2014

We made reservations for 8pm arrived early 7:45 and were seated within 5 mins. Service was excellent Brooke was very attentitive and friendly. The sushi was so fresh and tender melted I. Your mouth. Not our first visit and we will be back !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2014

Not memorable. No really. I can't even remember where it was located or if I liked or didn't like the food. Sorry. It just didn't impact me.

With that said, I just looked up the place. I don't have one thing nice to say about this place. Now remember, I ate there a while back, with bad food and an even worse 'wait' staff.

It could be totally different today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2014

unique rolls, good cocktails. a tiny bit cramped for space. well worth a visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2014

Having tried many of the Sushi spots in north county we have found Blue Ocean to be the best and more importantly they have an excellent kitchen on Robata Bar serving up not seen in other sushi restaurants. It's crowed so get a reservation and it is noisy. also appears to have an active bar happening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2014

Wow, Quail eggs lightly grilled over open flame, teriyaki egg plant, chopped real wasabi, Tuna belly, Nigori sake and a super cool chef cooking right in front of us. What more could you want? The owner greeted us as we walked in dressed like we were in Monaco and proceeded to engage in conversation about the menu while the hostess graciously waited to seat us. Oh, don't forget the sweet and salty butterscotch pudding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2014

Food is fabulous, both the robata and sushi are top notch - really creative upscale menu. The bar is also really cool, it's a great new "hot spot" for the Village. Make sure you make a reservation, gets packed and the wait can be long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2014

Could not have been more surprised to find this restaurant just on the outskirts of downtown Carlsbad. Bar has some excellent unique cocktails. Everything we ordered for dinner was outstanding. Extremely fresh and delicious sashimi. Did not get to try the Robata but sat in front of the chefs and everything looked terrific. Can't wait to go back. Only downside was the noise level. Nothing in the room absorbed the sound but still food and drink was well worth the effort!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2014

I absolutely LOVE this place. Fantastic Sushi, and everything Robata Grilled is over-the-top Delicious!
It's a fun place to eat- really " lively"... And loud. Not really a place for a quiet romantic dinner.
I loved every single bite! The Carpaccio was my favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2014

Would not go again because of noise level was so loud!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2014

The cusine was very innovative. Loved the mussels with linguisa sausage in a wonderful sauce.
The Black Cod on top of greens and "crunchy rice" was world class.
The sides are also innovative, and healthy besides. I can't wait to return and work my way
through the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.