Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: (802) 363-3639

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Cozy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great little quiet nook in an old brick building. The food and ambiance were delightful. The food was well prepared , delicious and with perfect portion sizing.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great night beautiful decor great service.Very professional friendly wait staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a busy Sunday night at the Blue Cat. None the less, the service was excellent as always. Everyone in our party enjoyed the meal. Steaks were prepared just as ordered. I had the NY strip which was a bone-in cut. One of the best I've ever had. The Rutherford Cabernet was a perfect compliment to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

In town for my anniversary. Did a little research before heading up to Vermont and landed on Blue Cat. I wanted a place we could get a good bottle of wine and a decent steak in a comfortable yet romantic setting for our anniversary dinner and Blue Cat did not disappoint! The ambiance was cozy, dim and romantic with rustic decor. I ordered the bone-in NY Strip, which came with a side of cooked greens and garlic potatoes. The greens alone were incredible, my steak was fantastic. I would equate this location to Gibbet Hill back home in Massachusetts. Best to limit yourself to a small party - it's a small restaurant but worth it. It can be tough to find, we circled the block before finding the entrance. Grant yourself enough time to locate it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our entrees took way too long. Didn't know why because the place didn't seem that full. I don't fault our waitress because you can't bring the food out until the kitchen produces it. Other than that, nice atmosphere, delicious food and wine. I'm hoping the long wait was an exception, I'm not giving up on The Blue Cat.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Unfortunately there was one waitress for all the tables and bar on a Friday night. She completely ignored our table and went to the table next to us (who sat after we did) twice before coming to us. They ate and had desert 30 minutes before we even got our dinner. It took over 2 hours to get our meal. 7:15 reservation, we ate after 9:00 Cute place and good food, a bit overpriced. It's unfortunate the running of the place clearly needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We has great service and the food itself was wonderful. Most notable was our cheese board, the best I have had in VT, and our cocktails. I highly recommend Blue Cat for special occasions. Its best fit for smaller parties.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Me and my mother got the filet. It was ok. Was cooked to med rare but was just a little firm/tough. My fiance was very happy with the duck and my father enjoyed his lamb. The foie gras was amazing!!!!!!! Will be going back just for the foie gras alone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food delayed more than 1 hour. Left without main coursr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We found out about this restaurant from the bartender at our hotel. Blue Cat is tucked away inside an otherwise nondescript building so you have to know where you are going but once you find it, you will be greeted by friendly staff and quickly lead to your table. The location only holds about 15 tables so it is cozy. The decor is nice and the music is well selected and played at a suitable level so you can have a conversation with your table mates. Our waitress knew the wine list well and allowed me to taste a few options before I made my selection. This was a nice touch !

My wife ordered the filet mignon and found it tender but lacking flavor. Perhaps horseradish sauce would have been a help. I ordered the ribeye and found it rather tough. Instead of a nice marbling of fat, my steak contained a lot of tendon that was not edible. My son's ribeye was the same as mine. We ordered a side of cream sauce to share that contained locally sourced chanterelle mushrooms for $10 but received a $3 serving size. While flavorful, the portion size did not fit the price tag. The garlic mashed potatoes were good and grilled asparagus was prepared well but a couple more stalks (we each got three) would have been nice.

If you are looking for a cozy place with a nice wine list and friendly & helpful staff, this is a good choice - just be prepared to pay handsomely. If you are looking for Chicago quality steak, you'll have to get on an airplane.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious food expertly prepared. Great service and charming ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very good food. Blueberry pie was actually homemade and you could tell Very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We are always pleased with the food and service. Steaks perfectly cooked and very tasty. Grilled asparagus a new treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First of all, there were normal tables free, even we left, but they put us in a minuscule table with very uncomfortable chairs. The environment tried to be European but missed the point.... said by one European....just poor illumination and red curtains doesn't make a local "European"
Waitress was robotic, saying 'learnt' sentences without really listening or establishing a conversation. She mistook the wine and every time she left there were at least 5 minutes before she was back....and there were a total of 5 tables with people
We await 55 minutes for our food, basically steaks, and the people on the table close to us awaited almost one hour and half.
Food was good, not wow, but for then our experience was ruined. Just wanted to eat, pay and go.
There are much nicer places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was delicious and interesting. The wine list seemed extensive, the beer list was pretty short, but there's not a whole lot of space in there so this is understandable. One of the best steaks I have had recently.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was my first visit and it was wonderful! He food, the ambiance, the service and the low playing jazz playing in the background were fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I was instantly a fan just by the name of the place. The food and waitress were fantastic. Excellent wine. I couldn't recommend this place enough. My ONLY issue is that there wasn't enough of the "blue cat" decor. I was a big fan of the cat theme on the sign and was slightly disappointed when there wasn't any cat decor in the place. Being a crazy cat lady I was hoping for some cat salt and pepper shakers or something.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Dinner was good but not fantastic like it has been in the past. They were sadly out of their hummus, the garlic olive oil was a sad substitution. The desert was really wonderful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent meal, we were a group of 6 for a birthday celebration! Isabelle was our server and she was super! Good wine selection ! We had appetiser salads ( not complicated but good, complementary humus on arrival , filets were great the menu is not complicated but served spot on! Would not recommend children definitely adult and cozy! Expensive but depends on how much you drink!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was excellent. Went for a special occasion on June 10, 2017 and had purchased a Jump-On-It coupon in March 2017 which expired June 8, 2017. Was disappointed that with a check exceeding $500 that the coupon was not honored for it's full value. Otherwise, very nice dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good food. Good service. Secluded.
What's not to like?

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is our third time dining at the Blue Cat and we've enjoyed it each time. The food is always prepared beautifully and we just love the cozy ambiance. We will definitely return for another wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

2nd visit where service died between salads and entrees
The cocktail and wine selection is well chosen and the food well prepared
Love this little spot
Just not sure why the service falls flat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food is good, not great. Proximity to the Flynn, including parking is a HUGE plus. The atmosphere is quaint, the service is good and the atmosphere is Pleasant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Blue Cat is a nice, small, intimate place to have dinner for any occasion. The food was very good, just the right proportions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

VT City Marathon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We love Blue Cat for special occasions. The NY strip steak is just the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our dinner for 5 was superb and wine list was great! We had various cuts of beef as well as salmon and lamb with a wine from South Africa from an all female sustainable vineyard. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I love the ambience at the Blue Cat and was concerned that things may have changed after Ozzie's death. Lovely painting of him on the wall and as warm and delicious as ever.
Had a salad with the bistro steak for the first time. Excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very good graduation celebration meal. Filet mignon was EXCELLENT with the garlic mashed potatoes. Cheese and fruit plate appetizer was perfect for the three year old.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lovelyy dining experience great ambience excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants ... such a nice cosy, romantic spot.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The menu is terrific and the food is wonderful, Service is impeccable and the food presentation is inspired. We're particularly fond of the steak selection and have always been very pleased with the overall dining experience. Blue Cat is a small place tucked away on Lawson Lane - you won't stumble on it accidentally, and it's worth finding. The atmosphere is casually elegant and the table setups ensure an intimate dining experience where while other tables seem close, it never feels crowded or that you are intruding on anyone else's dining experience or they on yours. Wine and cocktail selection is good though we're not experts. Can't recommend Blue Cat more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our server Kira suggested a really good wine and the overall service was excellent even though the two servers were extremely busy. The steak was prepared perfectly as was the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was excellent but the service was subpar. Our appetizer was brought in a timely manner but it was 1 hour and 20 minutes until the next course arrived and it was our entrees. They had forgotten our second course. They were very nice and brought the second course after our entree-less than ideal though. The place is very small and upscale so I think the waitstaff should have realized they did not bring us any food for a very long time. They did give us a free cocktail to say sorry but... The food was very tasty so we will likely give them a second chance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

They were out of several things on the menu and when we paid our bill we were immediately asked to leave because they had people waiting for the table. I have never been asked to leave a restaurant before. Unbelievable especially since it too nearly 45 minutes for our food to be brought to our table after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My girlfriend and i ate here and had an amazing time . The food was delicious and the service excellent . The restaurant is small but very comfortable and romantic !!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food and presentation is outstanding at Blue Cat. We were quite disappointed in a few things though...the servers do it all. They seat and bus their tables AND bartend their own drinks which slows everything down. We sat for 35 minutes before a cocktail arrived, and appetizers. This restaurant was full and to not have a bartender in a restaurant is unheard of. We were also disappointed in that there were a number of items on the menu they were out of which was not communicated to us at all until we ordered and had our minds made up. This should be told when the menus are provided to the guests. It was a three hour dinner for two people because of the slow bar service. But did I say the food was outstanding??!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Jumbo shrimp that were more like brine shrimp. Steak was ok if served in a diner with eggs. Service was slow, but then the waitperson was waiting on most of the restaurant. Pathetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went on a Friday with friends. We sat down at 7:10 and left at 11:00. The server was pleasant and the place has a European atmosphere. Drinks were very good. Food was average but our salads reached us at 8:30, second plate at 9:30 and entrees at nearly 10:30. The kitchen is clearly unequipped to handle a capacity restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.