Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: (802) 363-3639

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (21)
Cozy (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner for 5 was superb and wine list was great! We had various cuts of beef as well as salmon and lamb with a wine from South Africa from an all female sustainable vineyard. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the ambience at the Blue Cat and was concerned that things may have changed after Ozzie's death. Lovely painting of him on the wall and as warm and delicious as ever.
Had a salad with the bistro steak for the first time. Excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovelyy dining experience great ambience excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good graduation celebration meal. Filet mignon was EXCELLENT with the garlic mashed potatoes. Cheese and fruit plate appetizer was perfect for the three year old.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants ... such a nice cosy, romantic spot.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The menu is terrific and the food is wonderful, Service is impeccable and the food presentation is inspired. We're particularly fond of the steak selection and have always been very pleased with the overall dining experience. Blue Cat is a small place tucked away on Lawson Lane - you won't stumble on it accidentally, and it's worth finding. The atmosphere is casually elegant and the table setups ensure an intimate dining experience where while other tables seem close, it never feels crowded or that you are intruding on anyone else's dining experience or they on yours. Wine and cocktail selection is good though we're not experts. Can't recommend Blue Cat more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server Kira suggested a really good wine and the overall service was excellent even though the two servers were extremely busy. The steak was prepared perfectly as was the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was excellent but the service was subpar. Our appetizer was brought in a timely manner but it was 1 hour and 20 minutes until the next course arrived and it was our entrees. They had forgotten our second course. They were very nice and brought the second course after our entree-less than ideal though. The place is very small and upscale so I think the waitstaff should have realized they did not bring us any food for a very long time. They did give us a free cocktail to say sorry but... The food was very tasty so we will likely give them a second chance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

They were out of several things on the menu and when we paid our bill we were immediately asked to leave because they had people waiting for the table. I have never been asked to leave a restaurant before. Unbelievable especially since it too nearly 45 minutes for our food to be brought to our table after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My girlfriend and i ate here and had an amazing time . The food was delicious and the service excellent . The restaurant is small but very comfortable and romantic !!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food and presentation is outstanding at Blue Cat. We were quite disappointed in a few things though...the servers do it all. They seat and bus their tables AND bartend their own drinks which slows everything down. We sat for 35 minutes before a cocktail arrived, and appetizers. This restaurant was full and to not have a bartender in a restaurant is unheard of. We were also disappointed in that there were a number of items on the menu they were out of which was not communicated to us at all until we ordered and had our minds made up. This should be told when the menus are provided to the guests. It was a three hour dinner for two people because of the slow bar service. But did I say the food was outstanding??!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Jumbo shrimp that were more like brine shrimp. Steak was ok if served in a diner with eggs. Service was slow, but then the waitperson was waiting on most of the restaurant. Pathetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went on a Friday with friends. We sat down at 7:10 and left at 11:00. The server was pleasant and the place has a European atmosphere. Drinks were very good. Food was average but our salads reached us at 8:30, second plate at 9:30 and entrees at nearly 10:30. The kitchen is clearly unequipped to handle a capacity restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Went for restaurant week wonderful meal attentive service delicious food will be back

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The restaurant is small and beautiful. Great ambience. Our server was prompt and pleasant. The food was good, but not comparable to that in other restaurants with comparable prices. I wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Enjoyed the lamb chops they were melt in your mouth. Interesting seasonal ingredients. The restaurant is small and we ate early so it wasn't loud our crowded. Definitely would eat there again if in Burlington. If you have a picky kid eater there aren't many options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were very disappointed with our dinner here. The steak was terrible and was not cheap! The table next to us waited over an hour for their dinner ! Overall very upset by our experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The server was very nice. However, it took forever to get our dinner and it was very mediocre. Dessert was fabulous though!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went here for our anniversary. It was suggested by a coworker of mine. I liked the ambiance, dimmed lighting and candles. The food was good, not great. I wish the dessert menu has more to offer. It is also very small so sitting is close to others so I didn't feel like we could have really private conversations. Overall, nice for an anniversary or date night .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Blue Cat exceeded our expectations. It is a small restaurant with a great, intimate atmosphere. Isabelle our waitress took excellent care of us (and was fun to converse with). She was happy to recommend between two choices, and I'm glad I followed her advice. I had the local salmon on a bed of mashed sweet potato topped with grilled asparagus (and roasted tomato and some kale), and I ate every bite. The presentation was beautiful and the salmon was cooked medium rare to perfection and was lightly seasoned with sea salt. The vegetables were fresh, perfectly prepared and delicious. My husband had the same experience with the prime rib - cooked to perfection, with a fabulous presentation and sides.

This restaurant is perfect for a romantic date. The lights are low, there was candle light and nice jazz music playing at just the right volume. That said, for a steak house, I thought the prices were reasonable. It was not a la carte. The price of your entree was all inclusive.

Oh, and the large, sharing piece of warm peach pie with ice cream at the end sent us off with a smile. Thanks, Blue Cat (and Isabelle); we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at the Blue Cat. We walked from our hotel in the pouring rain and easily located the restaurant hiding in an alleyway. But don't despair - the food and beverages were worth the trip. The dining room is casual and dim-lit. The menu had some excellent choices, and the wine and beer lists were exciting. We would definitely eat there again! Great service, nice waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thought food was very good. Service was really slow, they apologized and desert was on the house but it tarnished the experience. Liked the atmosphere, small, relatively quiet, good for conversation

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was delicious - 10 out of 10 on the filet mignon. Music was a couple notches too high, they were out of Rose, and $5 extra for blue cheese crust seemed excessive. Definitely a place where you pay top price, but the quality of the food delivered - this trip at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food itself was PHENOMENAL. Almost gave it 5 stars just for that! My boyfriend had the rack of lamb and I had the duck and they both were incredible. We also had an amazing chocolate cake for dessert with some delicious ice cream on top of it. However, the parking was a bit of a struggle on a Saturday night. They give you a voucher to park in their lot, but it was full when we arrived on time for our reservation. I feel that can cancel out, however, because (probably) anywhere in Burlington at that point would have been an issue for parking, so I didn't let that ruin my rating. The atmosphere was quaint but the place was very small, we were at a tiny table at the corner that even the waitress acknowledged was a difficult spot to be sat in. All the tables were close (you could practically bang elbows with your neighbors) and so we could hear the entire conversations of at least 4 tables next to us. The service was also a little slow, even after considering that fine dining usually is slower / non-rushed. I still thought the pace maybe could have been kicked up a notch. That being said the servers were knowledgeable on the menu and polite. A solid 3-4 star place with 5 star food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Looked forward to this reservation for weeks.
Service did not match the food.
Meal fell flat after appetizers .
1/2 hour late to the Flynn for our show.
Disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love Blue Cat and it has been my favorite spot in Burlington for a few years now. However, there has been a noticeable change since the owner unexpectedly passed away last year. for a few months, I gave them the benefit of the doubt knowing that it would be a time of transition, however, the quality has not returned. A place can only go so far on its' history. Please put the care and diligence back into the food and service and things could improve. The past few times, service has been slow and limited to 1 server, and the vibe just hasn't been the same. It is still my favorite place, since I love the location and the venue, but please bring back the level of quality that Ozzie started!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here for 1 year anniversary dinner. First glass of wine was great, second was much different. Upon approaching waiter with concerns, he dismissed immediately saying it was correct. I asked if he was sure, he looked at the bottle he poured and said no, I will get you the correct one. Waited 45 minutes for our entrees from time-of-order and they came out wrong. Medium-rare steak with blue cheese came out medium-well to well done. Medium steak plain came out medium-rare to rare. Girlfriend doesn't like when "the steak is still mooing" or blue cheese so i could not simply swap the plates. Approached the waiter about the issue and the chef confirmed that they were incorrectly cooked and offered us to wait 10 minutes for new ones. We already waited plenty and were not trying to stay longer here, a reason that caused another couple to walk-out while awaiting their food. I ate my overcooked steak with blue cheese and had them cook my girlfriend's further, which took about five minutes. The entire atmosphere and service we received was terrible. I dont know if this is recently under new ownership but this experience was severely different from my original visit in 2014 - from greeting, to the menu, to service, to the food. Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Kind of small place located inside of an office building. Should probably have a smaller bar and more tables/room. Service was attentive and friendly. Some comments on lack of steak taste are accurate. I had a piece of sirloin that was kind of tough and did lack taste. Probably laying off the salt in the kitchen but at the expense of tasty food. The sides were tasty. Food took a little long considering we had a table of 2 and no other customers at 5pm. The place filled up quickly as we ate dinner and was packed when we left at 7:30. Only complaint was they had NO SOUP that day? I will give them another try when I'm back in the area but they definitely need to up their game on steak taste and tenderness if the want to keep "steak" in their name. Cost was fair and portions were appropriate.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was my first ' just ok' experience with a dinner at Blue Cat. Normally we have been wowed with the dinners. I had the asparagus soup special to start and that was very good. My husband had the shrimp cocktail and they weren't that jumbo (or WOW) as the last time. I ordered the Petite Steak Stack and was disappointed for the first time. The steak wasn't seasoned at all and it wasn't that tender. Cooked as I asked, but it wasn't a great tasting steak. I was surprised the spinach leaves were left uncooked on the plate on top of the smashed sweet potatoes (those were yummy). My husband had the ravioli special and he said it was good. Hopefully this was just a 1 time experience. We'll come back and hopefully it will be back to being amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

May be the smallest full service restaurant I have been in. Very strange in that it is in the middle of a building , so to me it was very claustrophobic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best steak in town, bar none! Cozy, quiet, romantic and exceptional food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My favorite overall Burlington restaurant. My wife and my go to place for a "date" but I've also brought clients. Consistently great food and service. Very good wine list at a reasonable price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great wine and food, but the restaurant was dead on a Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome experience. Small and cozy, really cool atmosphere. Our glasses were. Why empty and the food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great. Our server tended to disappear for long periods of time. We were seated for 20-30 minutes before we placed our food orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A very good steak house with prices that are fair. My wife and I shared a 24 ounce steak for two. We ordered salads as appetizers, but between our finishing the salads and the arrival of the steak, approximately 45 minutes passed. The waitress apologized and said the restaurant was packed. It was, but there should have been more than two waitresses working, especially since one of them was working the bar. The restaurant itself is very small and we had a hard time maneuvering around columns and tables when we left. It is in a good location especially if you're going to be in the Flynn Theater area. It's only a couple of blocks from the pedestrian shopping area of Church Street.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unique ambiance takes your mind out of Burlington, and the food was simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pricey but for special occasions,perfect,will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was much smaller than I thought it would be and a bit cramped. Other than that I loved the ambiance. It reminded me of a speakeasy. The food was delicious and the waiter (who was also our bartender) was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious meal great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.