About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: (802) 363-3639

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love Blue Cat and it has been my favorite spot in Burlington for a few years now. However, there has been a noticeable change since the owner unexpectedly passed away last year. for a few months, I gave them the benefit of the doubt knowing that it would be a time of transition, however, the quality has not returned. A place can only go so far on its' history. Please put the care and diligence back into the food and service and things could improve. The past few times, service has been slow and limited to 1 server, and the vibe just hasn't been the same. It is still my favorite place, since I love the location and the venue, but please bring back the level of quality that Ozzie started!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here for 1 year anniversary dinner. First glass of wine was great, second was much different. Upon approaching waiter with concerns, he dismissed immediately saying it was correct. I asked if he was sure, he looked at the bottle he poured and said no, I will get you the correct one. Waited 45 minutes for our entrees from time-of-order and they came out wrong. Medium-rare steak with blue cheese came out medium-well to well done. Medium steak plain came out medium-rare to rare. Girlfriend doesn't like when "the steak is still mooing" or blue cheese so i could not simply swap the plates. Approached the waiter about the issue and the chef confirmed that they were incorrectly cooked and offered us to wait 10 minutes for new ones. We already waited plenty and were not trying to stay longer here, a reason that caused another couple to walk-out while awaiting their food. I ate my overcooked steak with blue cheese and had them cook my girlfriend's further, which took about five minutes. The entire atmosphere and service we received was terrible. I dont know if this is recently under new ownership but this experience was severely different from my original visit in 2014 - from greeting, to the menu, to service, to the food. Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Kind of small place located inside of an office building. Should probably have a smaller bar and more tables/room. Service was attentive and friendly. Some comments on lack of steak taste are accurate. I had a piece of sirloin that was kind of tough and did lack taste. Probably laying off the salt in the kitchen but at the expense of tasty food. The sides were tasty. Food took a little long considering we had a table of 2 and no other customers at 5pm. The place filled up quickly as we ate dinner and was packed when we left at 7:30. Only complaint was they had NO SOUP that day? I will give them another try when I'm back in the area but they definitely need to up their game on steak taste and tenderness if the want to keep "steak" in their name. Cost was fair and portions were appropriate.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was my first ' just ok' experience with a dinner at Blue Cat. Normally we have been wowed with the dinners. I had the asparagus soup special to start and that was very good. My husband had the shrimp cocktail and they weren't that jumbo (or WOW) as the last time. I ordered the Petite Steak Stack and was disappointed for the first time. The steak wasn't seasoned at all and it wasn't that tender. Cooked as I asked, but it wasn't a great tasting steak. I was surprised the spinach leaves were left uncooked on the plate on top of the smashed sweet potatoes (those were yummy). My husband had the ravioli special and he said it was good. Hopefully this was just a 1 time experience. We'll come back and hopefully it will be back to being amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

May be the smallest full service restaurant I have been in. Very strange in that it is in the middle of a building , so to me it was very claustrophobic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best steak in town, bar none! Cozy, quiet, romantic and exceptional food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My favorite overall Burlington restaurant. My wife and my go to place for a "date" but I've also brought clients. Consistently great food and service. Very good wine list at a reasonable price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great wine and food, but the restaurant was dead on a Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome experience. Small and cozy, really cool atmosphere. Our glasses were. Why empty and the food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great. Our server tended to disappear for long periods of time. We were seated for 20-30 minutes before we placed our food orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A very good steak house with prices that are fair. My wife and I shared a 24 ounce steak for two. We ordered salads as appetizers, but between our finishing the salads and the arrival of the steak, approximately 45 minutes passed. The waitress apologized and said the restaurant was packed. It was, but there should have been more than two waitresses working, especially since one of them was working the bar. The restaurant itself is very small and we had a hard time maneuvering around columns and tables when we left. It is in a good location especially if you're going to be in the Flynn Theater area. It's only a couple of blocks from the pedestrian shopping area of Church Street.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Unique ambiance takes your mind out of Burlington, and the food was simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pricey but for special occasions,perfect,will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was much smaller than I thought it would be and a bit cramped. Other than that I loved the ambiance. It reminded me of a speakeasy. The food was delicious and the waiter (who was also our bartender) was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious meal great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was our first visit since the space has been Blue Cat. The ambiance simply couldn't be any more pleasing. The wood paneling and beautiful bar give the place a club-like atmosphere, and the service was outstanding. We decided that, at a steak place, you should try the steaks, and we were both very pleased with the cut and preparation. I prefer a more foodie menu, but next time we'll try one of the several more complex dishes on the menu and maybe go that last star. We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service. The steaks, appetizers, and cheese cake were amazing! Just a bit pricey, especially the wines. Overall we (a party of 6) loved the meal and the experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We dined at Blue Cat to celebrate an event that my daughter had worked very hard for. We were a larger party (8) and we were received very gracefully (I did make reservations in advance). The food was delicious, the atmosphere outstanding, and it was quiet enough that we could all talk and hear each other. Those were the upsides, the down sides which were not major, were that we were seated close to the door and those closest to the door were cold and that service was on the slow side with no explanation as to what was taking so long. Our waitress was polite but very cool, there seemed to be no warmth or personality, she did her job but with great reserve. All in all the experience was more to the positive than negative and we will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Heard great things about Blue Cat and decided to give it a try with my other half. We won't be returning. Our server was good, however, the food was not. From where we were seated I was able to watch the "chef" occasionally as he stepped into view. I watched him pick out blue cheese crumbles using his hands and then place themy onto my girlfriend's steak. He then picked out more blue cheese crumbles and put them in his mouth before placing more on the steak again. Nasty.

We got our meals after quite a long wait even though there was only one other couple at the restaurant. From the first bite of my steak, something tasted very wrong. I then tasted my girlfriend's steak which was OKAY, nothing special and definitely not worth the high price. Her steak did not taste off like mine did though.

Im not one to send food back or complain so I ate what I could (not even half of the steak). I feared the meat was rancid. I ate some of the potatoes and bland carrots that came with my meal and decided that was enough for me. My girlfriend felt that her steak was okay, but definitely not worth the price and could get a much better meal from just about anywhere else.

To clarify, I don't mind paying for an expensive meal as long as the food is good. This was in no way good and I would not go back even if it only cost me 10 bucks.

Funny thing is they were giving out $10 gift cards at the end of the meal hoping to get customers to return. Business must be bad and I can see why. The one thing I am thankful for is that I did not get sick following my meal at the Blue Cat Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was a great place, very quiet, good food and very friendly service. We loved it

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Chittenden County. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I've eaten here many times while visiting Burlington. This is a Hidden Gem. I've had the rack of Lamb, the salmon, the confit Chicken. All excellent. But the Steak Foie Gras is amazing with a salad first. Perfect amount of food and delicious as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding find in the middle of Burlington.

Service is professional, food is wonderful. At exquisite find for a business meal. A quiet conversation makes the evening most enjoyable. Local ingredients are featured with great wine options. Make it a point to find this truly cozy restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our 2nd time there and just as great as the last time. Wonderful and friendly service, warm ambiance and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at The Blue Cat on Saturday. Everything about this restaurant was outstanding, with the possible exception of the total bill. The curried mussel appetizer was delicious, and I would recommend it highly. I had the rack of Vermont lamb as my dinner entree. It was perfectly prepared and served with garlic mashed potatoes, asparagus, and a rosemary tinged sauce that was superb. My wife had the top sirloin steak topped with brandied mushrooms. She loved every bite. We washed it all down with a very good California cabernet. The place is very small, but has a nice romantic and friendly atmosphere. Our server, Storm, was one of the highlights of the meal. She was very attentive and friendly, and offered great suggestions about the menu and the wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great selection of food including a Vegetarian option. Very friendly service. It is a small place and a little hidden but worth looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, a delightful experience. Food and service are great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Blue Cat is a charming, off-the-beaten-path restaurant in downtown Burlington. Even though it is on the small side, you don't feel as if you're sitting on top of the table next to you. The menu has enough variety to provide something for everyone and the wine list provides an extensive array of choices. Our meals were beautifully plated and flavorful. One of the rare times I've had salmon that was cooked properly (not dried out) and was actually tasty. My husband's Middle-Eastern kabob had him literally smacking his lips. If there was a downside to our dining experience, it was the fact that there were only two servers working and they both were forced to perform multiple roles: hostess, bartender and waiting tables. As a result, service was slow at times and there was a significant wait between our salads and our main

course. To the waitresses' credit, in spite of having to be in two or three places at once, they were always cheerful and did their best given the cirumstances.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Except for slightly slower service than ideal, this was a fabulous dining experience. The food was delicious, wait staff was courteous and attentive, and the atmosphere was pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The evening was as expected- excellent food, excellent atmosphere and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was very good...prompt, friendly and courteous, the restaurant itself is very quaint.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal from the vodka infused cocktail sauce for the shrimp cocktail to the amazing Cabernet we were advised to try, to the perfectly cooked and dressed filet mignon steaks. It was a memorable night! Cozy, quaint, upscale without being stuffy....We were thoroughly impressed. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu, and was very good at giving us space to enjoy the meal. We will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you like excellent steaks and wines and a quiet place where you can hear your companions speech, this is the place for you. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our waitress was a little spacey and service a bit slow. The wrong main course was brought to me but quickly corrected. With that said, the food was excellent, ambiance very nice, and the evening was enjoyable. This was a dinner with just my college-aged son and me. He felt service was slow but really enjoyed his meal. I'll go back with my wife.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food was decent (beet salad with flank steak, and ny strip) as was the wine. Unfortunately two big parties of 8 and 6 (big is relative to the size of this tiny place) walked in on a Monday night and they were hopelessly short staffed (just a cook, a bartender, and a waitress). They did their best but couldn't keep up; we waited an hour for the food and it just wasnt a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great spot for a cozy meal. Food was good not great. Restaurant was a little hard to find. Definitely would recommend it for a quaint evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great for a date, very quiet. Food is good, but not amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The only good thing I could say about this restaurant is the ambiance was very nice. The food was mediocre but very expensive and the service was poor. Would not recommend this restaurant nor would I ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very accommodating. We changed our reservation from 2 people to 7, & they were able to seat us. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A little tough to find tucked in an alley but once you do you'll love it. Great ambiance and intimate. Food was great but service could be better. Our waitress seemed a little frazzled and even got one of two meals wrong. All in all the food was worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent steaks cooked exactly as each of us requested. Very friendly, knowledgable server. Over the years have always enjoyed the Blue Cat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had our first negative experience this time unfortunately. We love the Blue Cat and have always saved it for special occasions as it is a very special restaurant for all the reasons we look for in a great dinner out. We waited for nearly an hour before we interrupted the fast moving waitress (the ONLY one on duty) and flagged her to ask for bread and to express our concern that we had been largely ignored while others around us were being served. The bread finally came when our dinner was served about 15 minutes later. One couple seated near us got up and left after waiting for service as the waitress was about to deliver wine to their table..

Our food was great and we love the place. But please make sure that you have adequate staff coverage to be sure all guests are served appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I absolutely love coming here and use every excuse to spend the extra money to have a great meal. The only reason I gave 4 stars on food instead of 5 is that my steak was slightly over cooked but I would still go back. Also they usually give out pita bread and hummus and this time we didn't get any and we always used to look forward to it. But the waitstaff is fantastic and the food is great. I absolutely love the maple manhattans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding. The restaurant is very cozy and the Thursday night that we went it was very quiet.

The service was very good.

The only downside that I would say is that the meal took a while to arrive but we were enjoying the drinks and ceaser salad, so

it didn't really bother us.

I would recommend Blue Cat and hope to

return soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Quaint, romantic atmosphere. The food was amazing but it took almost an hour to get just our appetizers. The food was worth the wait but we wish the service would have been better, especially since it is such a small place. Great if you want a date night to get to know who you're out with.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second meal at the Blue Cat and it was a wonderful evening. More people should know about this little gem but it's a bit off the main drag so a casual tourist is not likely to find it by chance. We shared some mussels in a delicious broth, had a reasonably priced bottle of French wine and ordered two different steaks. Everything was done perfectly. It was an excellent meal. We love the ambience...around 30 seats, dark wood, low light but enough to read the menu and see your partner. Just right. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came here for our wedding anniversary dinner. I wanted an expensive steak house and could not find many others in the area. The food was fine, but the ambiance and service was lacking. I found the place very dark and quiet, and extremely cramped. I felt awkward getting up to use the restroom, because I had to ask several people to move their seats in as I walked. I found the service to be extremely slow. I want my dinner to be an experience, so I am used to the long haul. But the service was slow even for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice small and cozy atmosphere but lacking enough servers. Food was good but not exceptional for the price. Difficult to find off an alleyway and in a commercial building but charming once found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have had a number of good dining experiences at Blue Cat but my most recent experience was not so great. Not only was there no AC in the restaurant, which really detracted from the experience, but two of our 6 steaks were so overdone that they were inedible. It will be a long time before I give Blue Cat another shot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Decent food, good wine, great service! Very noisy and crowdedcrowded. Pretty spendy for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.