Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Black Sheep Restaurant

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Business Meals (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We've enjoyed our meal and the experience every time we've been there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great neighborhood spot! Service, staff, food is consistently pleasurable. Comfortable yet stylish. We always have a great experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to meet for a meal on the rooftop. Had the trout rillette, fried green tomatoes and fish special. Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Why are the grits here so awesome? Brunch was great definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Bartenders on the rooftop were fun and our dinner inside the restaurant was awesome as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Well...the restaurant was nice and the drinks were good but, the food wasn’t worth the price. Would I go back? Maybe. Will it be soon? Nah.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food. Reservation process easy. Waiter with attitude and mumbled all conversation. Would not accept this waiter again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We love Black Sheep and have been back on several occasions. The food and service have been consistently great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Two of our party of four had the Eggs Benedict and they said they were terrible, the worst they had ever had anywhere. Cheese Whiz like sauce on top and dried out muffins on the bottom. The vegetable hash was ok until trying to eat the beets and carrots which were way undercooked. The starter of ham, sausage, and bacon was good, and enjoyed by all. The coffee was ok. The gelato with cake and blueberry dessert was met with mixed reviews. The cake was very dry, but the gelato and berries were yummy.
We would not recommend brunch at Black Sheep to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Honestly, the food was only mediocre. The descriptions weren't very descriptive on the menu, which was an issue. Most of the food was under-seasoned as well. Our server was okay, but not very friendly overall. The decor and setting was stunning.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Rooftop dining at sundown was fabulous, but needs a little more lighting; many interesting menu items that we will return to explore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Been here many many times. The food is always outstanding! Be sure to ask for a cheese and charcuterie list (great selection)! Best ribeye in town!! Will always go back for more black sheep

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Service mediocre, duck was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We came in for the Sunday night fried chicken and to quote my husband... "it was the best friend chicken " he ever had! Our served Blaise was awesome! We are coming back - next time, without the kids - so we can enjoy a nice cocktail on the deck! What a great place with great service and food that was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Never disappointed with food service or view. Fantastic service from Kyle!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were dining with friends before heading to a concert at Daily's Downtown. We shared a bottle of house red, a fine everyday wine. We all had a salad to start and we always say BLK SHP has the best Caesar in JAX. Hubby had the vegan Eggplant entree and was quite pleased. I had the Fresh catch and it was perfect. Our friends had the Salmon, and the Salmon Tartare + shoestring fries. We ate everything! So tasty and the service is top notch as always. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good food and cocktails. Server was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend black sheep.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

If you have never been to Black Sheep I highly recommend it. Black Sheep is always at or near the top of our list of places to dine. We took my father in law to lunch to celebrate his birthday. I had the Hot Pastrami Sandwich while my wife and her dad both had the Korean Short Ribs. For apps we had the deviled eggs and the fried olives. As always, the food was excellent. For drinks I had the Bloody Winston followed by a Beermosa. I must admit I was joyously surprised with how yummy the Beermosa was!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One of our favorite Sunday brunch spots, great food and service! Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a great dinner with friends. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything was great! Food! Service! Ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The best restaurant in Riverside. The food was amazing and the drinks were inquire with a Florida flare. A must for all foodies.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

10/10 would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was outstanding including a fantastic bourbon flight. Our server, Blaise, was extremely knowledgeable about the food. His hospitality was excellent as well as being fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great service and good food. Always have a great experience there. Recommend the balcony if the weather cooperates.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food is always good. This past Sunday the French Onion Soup was some of the best I've ever had. It did need to be to be heated some more. The Lamb bacon was also outstanding, as was the biscuit the waitress nicely brought me.

The service is enthuastic. I'd like to see the servers be sensitive to conversation occurring at the table and not just verbally impose themselves on the table. For example, while we were talking our server came up to the table and spoke over one of our party to get the ordering process initiated. That's rude.

Secondly, the server should serve the dish by approaching the diner from the side and not leaning across 2 customers to serve/remove plates. I had to snatch a glass away from the server's stomach to keep it from turning over - on me.

And third, don't clear dishes while some of us are eating. It presses the unfinished customer to hurry up. And when we're hurried we don't order that next drink or desert, because the waiter needs the table. Why the waiter needs the table on a Sunday night when the restaurant is empty befuddles me. But we finished and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Well prepared food, imaginative menu, friendly service, good value

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Interesting, eclectic dining location. Hot sun with no shade made it difficult to enjoy rooftop drinks or dining. Thoroughly enjoyed the creamcycle creme brulee!
Mussels complimented by fries??? Not sure about that one...Wonderful server!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We went about 30 min before closing, and the service was a bit slow. But once we got our food?
The porkchop was absolutely divine. It was succulent, tasty, and well-flavored. It was a quiet environment good for dates and enjoying good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Blacksheep never fails to please in every way. Food is excellent, service is never disappointing and the atmosphere is lively. We went a bit early (6:30p) for this neighborhood so it was not as crowded as it gets as the evening goes on. When the dining room is full, it can be a bit loud making conversation a bit difficult. They do have covered dining on the patio as well as a spacious open rooftop deck with a full bar. As with anyplace in the Historic 5 Points District, parking can be a challenge - you may have to park down the street a bit and walk if there is nothing available right in the surrounding area. Do make a reservation to guarantee a table to accommodate your desired dining time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fiancé got the burger, and also got good poisoning that night after eating it....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Lovely dinner on the rooftop. Would return. Our server was very nice and efficient!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Interesting menu with plates in a variety of sizes, from full entrees to nibbles. Some things a little overly fussy and unnecessarily complicated, but overall food was good. Not sure we really need another hipster-y place doing poutine, but extensive salad menu and fresh seafood preparations were solid. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. Pacing for the meal was a little rushed if you were ordering several different courses from the various menus. Vegetarians will struggle a little, as this place still seems to embrace the pork belly and let's-add-bacon-to-it trend of recent years. Overall, enjoyable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2017

To a person it was one of the best meals our group of 7 ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a great time and the food was amazing. Services are great. Our only problem were it was noisy on the next table and we could not even talked. Not recommended for dates if you need to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary & it was a great choice. The atmosphere was great, there was no wait with our reservation, the food was delicious & our waiter, Michael was on point!!! When we are back in Jacksonville we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance! Sunday Happy Hour is great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is a great place for some local chow. Excellent service and nice contemporary atmosphere. Sunday's chicken biscuit dinner is superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday brunch, was great. Can't wait to try for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I set a reservation for the rooftop and when I arrived I was informed the roof had a 45min wait so I was seated downstairs. After a few minutes I decided to go upstairs anyway, when I got up there half of the tables were empty, WTF. I was able to be seated finally, but it was after undue hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.