Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Black Sheep Restaurant

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Scenic View (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Hot Spot (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Casual (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Fun (18)
People Watching (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great Beer (10)
Tapas (9)
Fireplace (9)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (4)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Contemporary facility cubist design. Fresh locally grown foods with great preparation. Fried green tomatoes are AWESOME. So is the carrot cake.

Staff is beyond friendly and well versed with respect to the menu.

Just a nice place to go to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vegan, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had been wanting to try Black Sheep and went on a Monday night with a group of six. Food was good, service was pretty good although we sometimes had to wait for refill of water & drinks. Prices were what you would expect at a "trendy" restaurant that serves fresh, locally sourced food. There was only a handful of diners in the restaurant yet when a large and loud group arrived shortly after my group, they were seated directly behind us and we could not help but hear their conversations for the rest of the evening. I would go back to Black Sheep but probably not on a regular basis.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Black Sheep. We also enjoyed visiting the bar on the rooftop after dinner.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to Black Sheep a number of times and have always enjoyed our meals. My oldest daughter went there for Prom her Senior year with a big group and they had a great evening.

This year, I booked a table for 7 students for my Junior and her friends eat dinner before they left to attend their Prom. The table was ready on time and they all said the service was very friendly, if a bit slow. (It is a busy place!) Everyone enjoyed their food very much, but for the two who ordered the "Endive Salad" which arrived with three lettuce leaves with a strawberry on each leaf. That was it. I saw the photos. $10! They talked with the server who removed the item from their bill without any fuss. They went on to enjoy the rest of their evening with the server treating them very kindly! (As both a mom and a former food-server, I appreciate this very much.)

I would like to thank Black Sheep for providing a nice and fun evening to both Prom groups! We have heard stories of students being treated poorly by servers/and or management and that did not happen at your restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great spot for a mother's day brunch! The staff are nice, the upstairs is pretty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love Black Sheep - especially the roof top. Even when the weather is warm, it seems the screens and river breezes make it a great spot. And the food is always a winner!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The ambiance, our service and availability was outstanding. The food was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We can't from out of town to visit and have a date night. We enjoy everything.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very fun atmosphere, inviting, creative food options. Only wish is that the fireplace and heaters were still available to make the rooftop experience more enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were on a girl's weekend to attend the Eric Church concert. The venue was very nice, appealing to the eye, and not over crowded with furniture. Every food option was delicious.... favorite being the soft shell crab special. The waiter was excellent, and very attentive. We appreciated the fact that he asked the bartender about the wine options when he was unsure how to answer. You were recommended to us by a local friend and I would gladly be passing along the recommendation to others visiting your area! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Broccoli rice casserole was amazing! However the deserts, carrot cake and spiced chocolate creek brûlée were lack luster😕

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This restaurant has always been excellent but service and food were a little off this visit. Our waiter was inattentive and was taking shots with the people at the table next to us. Not very professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It took a long time for the waitress to return back to the table when she did. Also she never refilled my water.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I recently visited Black sheep for the first time with friends from out of town and chose it for the location and rooftop bar. We loved the brunch and mimosas as we had a low key bridal shower for one of the girls. Our waitress allowed us to hang a bride to be banner and bring in a personalized cake. Great atmosphere and food! Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back at night for the views and cocktails!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Cool concept and great service! The wine selection was great but the food was mediocre. Great opportunity here to showcase local ingredients but missed the mark the evening we were there. We have heard so many great things about this restaurant but the menu selections were lacking. I had the pan seared yellow fish but it was like they tried to cross French onion soup with seafood? Didn't really work Imo. Desserts were good but could really be taken to the next level as far as decadence. Service was top-notch and drinks on the rooftop before dinner was a great start!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 25, 2017

7 of us converged for a post wedding celebration. Our server, Holly, was outstanding in every way! She was so on top of everything and took care of us like we were her family . Of , the food and drinks were everything we hoped for and much more. Amazing experience over a full 3 hours of love and celebration!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was outstanding from the hostess downstairs to the hostess upstairs. Was a smooth transition and the server was fantastic

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We loved it fast and professional and very helpful with the reservation over the phone

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Luke warm Chardonnay is unacceptable - as is tepid soup and under-cooked steak (twice)! The view, our waiter, Jake, and the Park St. Collins cocktail were the highlights of the meal. Otherwise, take your money elsewhere for a fine dining experience.

Tags: , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food and service! The rooftop was an amazing atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Service was spot on but entree too salty . Barrel aged run cocktail amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, very friendly staff, service was excellent and the food even better

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice restaurant but the food was very disappointing. Trying to order something not too off beat, first we tried the Green Fried Tomatoes as an appetizer. They looked great until you put a piece in your mouth and discover they are absolutely drowned in Cayenne Pepper. Why would you do that? If I wanted fried green tomatoes with hot pepper on them I could add it myself at the table.

Then I selected the Pork BBQ sandwich as an entree- the description sounded good, nothing out of the ordinary in the listed ingredients. Once the sandwich arrived, the first taste reveals a distinct flavor of Horse Radish in the sauce! WHY??? That was not listed in the description of ingredients and why would you think anyone ordering a traditional Pork BBQ sandwich wants to have it adulterated with Horse Radish? I despise the taste of Horse Radish and this ruined the entire experience for me. There are too many other restaurants in the area to choose from for me to return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always great, service was friendly and helpful but not intrusive, knowledgeable about the menu. The food always rocks, we had shrimp and grits, mussels, roasted chicken, butternut squash pasta, fried green tomatoes, all delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always consistent excellent food! While the staff is always terrific today had Janna and she is the best server ever! My advice, go, ask for
Janna and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love this restaurant!' Excellent food and service. It's a great place to come for dinner, drinks and to hang out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

40th Birthday

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chef's catch of the day was delicious and always a favorite of mine. This time it was fresh red snapper in a savory broth with chorizo and vegetables. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and wine selections. Highly suggest a reservation as this is a Jacksonville favorite. Definitely start on the rooftop for a cocktail. Try the Dusty Boot!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great. Sat on the roof. Nice but too bad windy

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The ambiance is excellent. The food... not so much. Steak was very chewy and butternut squash spaghetti had wayyyyyy toooooo much butter.

This place is great for drinks, maybe an appetizer but nothing beyond that.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were in Jacksonville for work and wanted to get out of the hotel. We found Black Sheep had a rooftop bar. It was the PERFECT relaxing atmosphere. Our server was perfectly attentive, the food was very good and it fit our needs perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Lovely for brunch, outside on the patio or up on the rooftop.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Needed food. They had food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The atmosphere is very nice and enjoying a drink on the rooftop is ideal. However, the food is often under seasoned and bland.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I ate at Black Sheep last Friday evening and I felt it lived up to its strong reputation. It was a lovely evening so we dined outdoors. The setting was pleasing (and quiet enough for conversation) but also lively. I had a signature cocktail, and it was wonderful -- creative and well-constructed. The soup (tomato bisque) was flavorful and pleasingly hearty. I enjoyed the braised short ribs with rice grits, kimchee, and soft-boiled egg. The flavors and textures combined beautifully for a satisfying meal (the soft-boiled egg was a perfect addition). The lemon chess pie dessert was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the meal, but was still enjoyable. The service was outstanding. I would definitely return to Black Sheep, and I would recommend it to friends. Memorable meal.

Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 31, 2017

First time at Black Sheep (we are in town for a wedding). Excellent food! We will come back, when in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good for some not for others. Some meals were just OK. Table for 6 to small. If It was just for two it would be more fun. Wanted to love it thought it was good but needs work. Love the concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The mussels are solid as are the scallops. Menu is diverse without being everything for everybody. If you eat upstairs at the bar service can be mixed. The newer female bartender was not top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The only restaurant in Jax I have to dine on our annual vacation to my hometown and family. However this last visit felt like someone else was running the kitchen that night (it was a Tuesday). Plates a little less polished, lacking the love I've felt in every other meal there. Not the subtlety or pops that have you nodding your head or bug your eyes out. Still a nice meal and always excellent service, and maybe just an off night I hope.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.