Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Bistro Vendome

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (92)
Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (78)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (64)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Authentic (51)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Cozy (41)
Great for Brunch (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fun (22)
Historic (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Private Room (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
4528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

I love this place but my last visit fell flat, on a positive side, the pomme frites and mussels were amazing. My halibut was not. Service also felt flat. Would return but hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always good and adequate. Portions could be larger for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We went there for brunch on Sunday and were greeted by a friendly staff and a bartender that went above and beyond to make my husband's favorite drink which was no on the menu. The server was great and the food was so delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic! Our server forgot about us most of the time. We had to specifically ask for the specials. We had to ask for items we've already asked for multiple times.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Superb. The lamb was requested medium rare and cooked exactly right. The whole fish special was the highlight- just outstanding. All of our dishes came out hot and ready to eat. Best french bread I've had in Colorado. The service was attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an excellent time here last night...and our table and service were great!
Everything was delicious as expected (No surprise there since the food is always TOP NOTCH!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We went there after seeing a play. The salads were so delicious. I had a chicken crêpe that was so full of flavor. Then a macaroon dessert. Great restaurant, location great. Waitstaff very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful ambiance, matched with excellent service and delicious food. I've eaten there twice and both times were spectacular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Perfect evening and my daughter's birthday was recognized by all staff. Lovely evening and cuisine was excellent as always. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day brunch! Simple menu with original French cuisine. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Breakfast and brunch are typically predictable, until now. The most elegant brunch entrees that we've ever had. Thoughtful. Culinary. Balanced. Loved it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great brunch especially the french pastries! We also loved the outdoor seating option.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere, food and service were impeccable. I would recommend everyone to go here at least once....it is a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ambiance of a Paris Bistro, inside and out. Great food. The closest to a neighborhood Paris Bistro I have found stateside. Just a little pricy but worth it. We will go back and bring friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to BV many times and usually for special occasions or to show off excellent food. This night was my poorest experience yet. Last year we ate at BV and I thought the menu and offering had slipped a bit, but still considered it one of our city's better gems. Perhaps it was an omen for the night when our waitress informed us they were out of lamb (early Saturday night...poor planning kitchen manager). Although my meal (Steak and Frittes) was excellent, several in my party had poor outcomes. Overall the food was over salted and the portion sizes were too small for the price paid. I'm not looking for a huge pile of food, but skimpy vegetable servings diminished the meal value. Table consensus was "avoid the chicken leg" (and yes, that was the dinner entrée - Chicken Leg. Several had it, and none liked it.)

I found there bar menu had good variety, but was typically downtown Denver over priced, except for the beer. I had a Rosemary 75 (variant on the French 75) and could not taste the Rosemary, and would not order this $12 cocktail again.

The dessert offerings were a mixed bag. The parfait was overloaded with fudge, which killed all but the orange flavor in what promised to be an exciting offering. The almond macaroon's were hard and barely tasted of almond, yet the mascarpone filling we tasty. Again, the price to flavor to value just wasn't present.

The highlight of our meal was the outstanding bread! Yes, the one item they offer complementary... Still, nothing beats fresh hot French bread with real butter - yum.

I will have to think hard about coming back again (unless I'm invited and someone else is paying for the meal). Part of me hopes this was a bad night for BV, but after my previous experience, I'm not so sure. Hopefully the BV ownership and management group will read this review and try to take and objective look at there operation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there right after a large party was seated and for that reason, it was a long dinner. But, fortunately, it was a Saturday night with family and the additional time was not noticed until we looked at the time we left. The wait person was attentive throughout dinner.

The food was all delicious and well prepared. The only negatives were that the mussels were rather small and with a menu of less than 10 entrees, they were out of two entrees early on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have enjoyed this restaurant for years. Try to go once a season as menu changes a bit and is always interesting in a very French manner. Service is excellent! Staff is trained to answer questions in pleasant and knowledgeable manner. I have a garlic allergy and a hearing problem and always feel welcomed. Truly a pleasurable dinning experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

So glad we chose Bistro Vendome to celebrate our son's graduation from CU Denver! They were accommodating when I called to expand the reservation from 8 to 9, and actually put us in their private room. The food and service never disappoint and on top of everything they gave my son a card congratulating him that included a card for a free dessert for his next visit. Nicely done, I highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My birthday celebration was fabulous thanks to the wonderful food: quiche, French Press coffee and free dessert: Creme Brûlée. The staff wished me Happy Birthday and gave me a beautiful card signed by all the staff. Thank you for adding to my wonderful day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch at Bistro Vendrome to celebrate Mother's Day this year. Lovely croissants and so many things we wanted to try! It was hard to pick just one. The food was delicious and everything on the plate belonged together - nothing struck a jarring note. Dessert was fabulous. Our waiter was attentive without rushing us or hovering/interrupting, and service was perfectly timed. Such a great experience that we're coming back in June to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Bistro was gracious enough to accommodate us when we needed to push our reservation back 1 hour. Although we love sitting outside, the sun was going down and it was still just a little nippy. We sat by a window looking out at the gardens and it was a perfect spot, also one of the quieter 2-tops, placed just right. Ate our way through the menu with great delight, including a very nice white wine we had not tried before. The "amuse-bouche" was an interesting carrot soup with some tiny carrot top greens--makes me want to buy some fresh carrots and try to cook the greens myself. Really a delightful evening, we were in no hurry and the staff obliged.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was pretty good, but not the best we've had. My wife got the steak frites; steak was awesome but frites came covered in a sticky lemony coating. Why do this to good frites? My cassoulet was also a bit untraditional, but not bad.

While our server was great, the worst thing about the place was our experience with the hostess. We'd made a reservation on OpenTable, and she checked us in when we arrived. After we've been at the restaurant for 10 minutes my phone starts ringing, and I ignore it because we're having a nice meal out, right? When my wife leaves the table for a moment I check my phone and it's the restaurant, same woman who checked us in, asking if we were going to show up for our reservation, and then reported us to OpenTable as a no-show! This is literally just after taking our names and checking us in.

I tell our server that the restaurant called, and reported me as a no-show on OpenTable, and he promised to check with the hostess. Nothing happens, so I ask him again. Finally, the hostess comes over and brusquely informs me that if I want the OpenTable points I can just make another reservation with them. WTF? Not an apology, sorry I spaced after checking you in, here have a dessert on us, nothing. She seemed angry she was having to deal with us.

So, I'd give the food 7/10, our server 9/10, and the strange interactions with the hostess 1/10. They need to replace her with someone who cares about taking care of their customers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The waiter was very nervous, which was off putting. The food was all good except the bread was way too crusty. We like crusty bread, but there is a limit. The tables are very, very close together, making it difficult to have any private conversation. Food is good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I love this tucked away bistro, be sure to get seating outside, its the place to be. I have tried the benedict, burger and always order the beignets! cocktails are very good (French 75!) Service was great! it began to sprinkle outside and the staff offered to move us immediately, but we tuffed out a few drops and the sky cleared to a beautiful brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our party of six dined at Bistro Vendome prior to attending a performance at Opera Colorado. The food, as always, was tasty, hot and creative. The servers (themselves) were friendly. Although we had advised our principal server of our curtain time, our dinners were substantially delayed. As a result, we had to eat far more quickly than we would have preferred. We had to make two requests for our meals to be brought out before they were.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

There was paper (looked like 2 separate straw wrappings) in my muscles... not great impression for that reason

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Impeccable standard French fare in a convenient location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I went to have her 30th birthday dinner here. The service as before was impeccable and very friendly and helpful about menu options. The drinks were amazing and we found out that some of the servers have helped in the creation of the recipes for the beverages. It's great to know that you support your staff and their creativity. We will go back probably many times as we love the food and the ambience. Thank you to the staff for an excellent evening and for making my wife's birthday so special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Bistro Vendome never disappoints There is something for every taste !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I took my loved one for our anniversary and it was just an excellent night dining out. Highly recommend this French bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All of the staff were incredible! We celebrated our 1st year anniversary and were treated as if we were family. The food was amazing as always!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our first time at Bistro Vendome. It is tucked back in a courtyard on Larimer Square and had a very nice, warm atmosphere. The food was very good, but not spectacular. The bouillabaisse and the coque st jacques were prepared very conventionally but very good. Our only complaint were with the frites. They must use a sweetener which really detracted. So if you are expecting frites as you would get in France, you will be disappointed. Our server was just great and very helpful, especially with helping us pick a good French white wine as we are not familiar with French whites. Overall a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our first visit to Bistro Vendome. Overall a nice experience, but with a couple of nits to pick.

1) Everything seemed authentic French bistro, except for the music. They were playing pop/rock. That was a disconnect. Why not play some nice French bistroesque music?
2) The frites were drizzled with sugar or some kind of substance that left them cloyingly sweet. Why is this? Very off-putting.

On the plus side, the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a lovely evening. Nice wine and the charcuterie was excellent. The amuse bouche of leek soup with Pernod was a treat. Each one of us enjoyed our meal, the leisurely pace and the quiet atmosphere. It is always special to dine with you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was outstanding! Every dish was delicious. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for Dining Out for Life to support Project Angel Heart. Best meal I have had in a while. Thanks, Bustro Vendome. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The wait staff was amazing, the extra thoughts and suggestions, the attention without being overbearing, and their thoughtfulness since we were celebrating a birthday. Loved the food which was uniquely France and beautifully presented. Besides it was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Haven't been here in quite awhile so was very happy to find the ambiance, food, wine and service great! Their sauces are always flavorful and delicious ! Breads are great....loved the snails with nettle butter.....everything was delightful and a lovely evening with an old friend to linger over with wine and chat.
Thank you for all of that, Bistro Vendome!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nice place but my food was mediocre at best. Had steak frites and it was quite a disappointment. Staff was terrific though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Surprising very good French bistro food in real Parisian ambience. Went for dinners in 2 consecutive nights during 3 nights stay in Denver.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.