Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Bistro Vendome

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (111)
Great for Outdoor Dining (111)
Romantic (87)
See All
Special Occasion (86)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Authentic (60)
Cozy (53)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Great for Brunch (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Notable Wine List (39)
Scenic View (27)
Casual (26)
Fun (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Business Meals (16)
People Watching (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Seasonal (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous!!!!! Escargot was delicious and cooked to perfection as was the halibut!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our food was delicious and our server was very nice. I wish our food would have come from the kitchen a bit faster but everything was delicious and well worth the wait. In my reservation I expressed I would like a patio if available (normally they don't take reservations for the patio). Not only did the hostess set a table outside for us, she also set one inside since it was a chilly morning. I appreciated the extra thought in making sure our party was comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Bistro Vendome did a lovely job hosting my birthday dinner with 12 guests. Above all else my favorite part about celebrating here was the service. The staff was friendly and attentive and they had great attitudes. My friends were happy with their meals and the setting was lovely. 5 stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

It's nice, I go to France every year so it did a pretty good job compared to most places at recreating that experience for me. I had the friend I was with imagine she was in Paris as I plan to go there with her in the future. I appreciated this moment. Go here if you want a hint of France. Though if you're French you may not find it special, I'm sure many Americans do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was lovely. The ambiance takes you out of Denver to a little French bistro. The service was very nice. We were there for brunch and wanted to order the mussels, but they had not gotten their seafood shipment for the day, so we ordered other items. As soon as the shipment came, without us asking, they prepared an order of mussels for us and did not charge us for the dish. They mussels were OUTSTANDING. If you order one thing on their menu, that should be it. Overall, it was a lovely meal, and we will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a fantastic evening! The food, service, and atmosphere were exceptional, and we all felt like we were back in Europe for a few hours! Highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

This was pop upright for upcoming Tapas restaurant, which sounded, and was fun. Food was spotty, however. Portion sizes also varied, so hard to know how much to order.
The regular bistro menu is always delicious and reliable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, fabulous, fabulous! The Ultreia pop up was awesome!! Can't wait for the real deal to open in November! Flavors and menu was a breath of fresh air for Denver- well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The waitress was very good. She knew the menu and let us know about extra spicy dishes and nuances about our selections. This was a pop up restaurant called, "Ultreia" which is owned by the same chef and will debut in Union Station in about a month. The chef was very visible and asked us about our food. We ate outside and it was a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Lovely restaurant, outstanding service. Reasonable prices. The salad du marche was heavenly, also the mussels. My husband had steak frites; the steak was very nice. The frites are interesting flavored.
We were pre-theater, and our server took good care to make sure we were done on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My wife and I chose to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary at Bistro Vendome. I sent a note along with my reservation stating what we were celebrating and about our love for the restaurant years ago. We hadn't been to Bistro Vendome for about 9 years, but decided to come back after a recent trip to France. The restaurant is very charming and accurate of what you'd expect to find in a traditional French Bistro. The food was terrific, certainly did not disappoint there.

What did disappoint though, was the service. Like I said, as part of the reservation I mentioned the importance of the evening to us and asked for a good table which wasn't crowded. When we arrived for our reservation the hostess pulled it up on the computer and I saw my note very clearly on her screen. She didn't even read any part of it before seating us in a table directly next to a party of 4 and surrounded by other full tables. Now, I understand that most tables are fairly close together at this restaurant. With that said, there were two tables across the dining room that were both more spacious, and neither were sat. We sat at the table she took us to and hoped to forget about that aspect in favor of beginning our night of celebration.

The server did not greet us first, but another member of the wait staff, rather friendly. Once our sever did arrive she was not very friendly, didn't seem very patient during the entire evening. Seemed annoyed as we presented questions about wines or menu items. Seemed very ready to get our main courses ordered although we had quite a bit of our charcuterie remaining and hadn't had it long. Slow to return to the table after our food arrived to check on it. My wife and I are both from a restaurant background, we did not feel like her service was elevated as we would expect of a place offering food at these prices.

No mention was ever made about our anniversary and I feel as though even if it wasn't a special occasion I'd still feel shorted by the service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I took my husband out for his birthday to Bistro Vendome. The atmosphere was perfect and the staff were so friendly and inviting. We felt comfortable and the food was out of this world. If you get a chance to eat here, don't pass it up. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My colleague was very impressed.
Just perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a reservation and requested to be seated outside. When arrived, there seemed to be an extreme confusion between the three young hostesses. First they could not find our reservation, then one of the ladies informed us that outside seating is on first-come-first-served basis. In that case, why even bother to make a reservation? Why not also reserve outside seating, just as they do for inside seating, like all other restaurants? This policy has always been annoying! The restaurant should correct this illogical practice.

The fish appetizer smelled very fishy. A lady with a chef's clothing came to our table and asked how our appetizer was. When we informed her about the smell, she said she was sorry and walked away! Why bother to even ask? No offer to replace it with something else!

We ordered two deep fried whole fish for our mail courses. Although we have had this fish before, this time both fish were boney and dry. What a disappointment!

Our server brought a wrong sald, but he corrected the error when asked.

This was our anniversary and a birthday celebration for the other couple at our table. We spent over $200.00 for dinner and drinks, and went home hungry!

Bistro Vendome used to be one of our favorite restaurants, since we live in downtown, and have gone there often.. What a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We dined at Bistro Vendome before heading to the theater for a performance of the stage production of Frozen. We dined outside on their glorious patio. Dinner could not have hardly been better. The Classic Steak Frites cannot be missed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food and drink...as always. Patio is a lovely way to dine during warmer months.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Been to BV several times. Great food and service as usual. A little loud inside - get a table outdoors if you can. Mostly friendly staff, one waiter and one the support staff delivering food was a bit snotty, but don't let that stop you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Colorado. New chef Jen is awesome. Her Fuax Gras Creme Brule was outstanding, rich and sophisticated. Best french fries on earth as always. The while rocky Mountain Bass always satisfies as a dish to share. Enjoy with white burgundy, can't miss.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fantastic! Amazing steak and French fries and delicious desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Date brunch with my wife. Excellent food and service in a low key atmosphere. Quiet and elegant. Great service. Bistro Vendome is one of Denver's remaining iconic French restaurants, in the tradition of Tante Louise and Café Central, both sadly gone now.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I absolutely love to meet friends on patio.. such a beautiful place to sit with a glass of champagne and have a catch-up chat . Love the Sunday brunch menu!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Bistro Vendome. We mentioned this to our server who then surprised us with complimentary champagne. She also comped us on the dessert we ordered and gave us a happy anniversary card with a card for a free drink on a future visit. Aside from all the niceties, we enjoy the menu and love the outdoor patio ambiance, tucked behind Larimer Square. Very romantic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lovely ambiance on the outside patio. Great service, and really good food. I had the Steak Frites au Poivre - steak was excellent - but I didn't take to the frites. My partner had halibut, which was very well prepared. Good French wine list - albeit a little pricey (most wines upwards of $80).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We always make bistro vendome a choice for dinner when visiting Denver.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We have made this our go-to place for special occasions. The food is excellent and service great. I love the outdoor patio --can easily imagine I'm in Paris.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food is always consistent, very French, great ambiance and service excellent. This was a Sunday brunch and we wish they would add an item or two, perhaps as a special to provide just a little more variety.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time eating at Bustro Vendome. Had lunch with a friend on a asunday & we were lucky enough to sit on the beautiful patio on an end of summer sunny day. The service was excellent, the ambience was perfect, & the food was exceptional. The French onion soup along with the burger topped with Brie were outstanding, but the frites were over the top. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

One of the best meals i have had
Food was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Will not return. This was a "second chance" visit and it was just not good. Sausage and chorizo were over cooked or burned. Food salty, very slow service when the restaurant was not busy. With so many other choices, we will try something different next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and ambiance was great but service was horrible! My boyfriend and I were there celebrating our anniversary and we were rarely attended by our server. I feel as though just because we didn't order any alcohol and looked younger then the majority that were there for dinner service at the time, we were treated very poorly as if our service wasn't important to them. Even the manager was oblivious. Bad night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fabulous atmosphere. Great for a romantic date. Everything down to the bread was amazing. Just get the Freitas. Unlike any fries you have eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We went here based on a suggestion from our uber driver. Best decision ever! He raved about the place and we couldn't agree more. Cute, romantic, ambiance for a date night or inimate friend dinner. We had just gotten married and were in Denver for our mini-moon. We decided to take our friends with us who were celebrating their 1 year anniversary. The food was fantastic! Wine delicious, and we even had dessert (rare for us). Everything was so delicious, rich, and yummy. We will come here again when we visit.
We stopped by the green russel speak easy after (right down the hall/alley). Great end to the night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Absolutely the BEST!

Great food, service and ambiance. Nothing negative about this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent pastries and Eggs Benedict in a charming outdoor setting. Looking forward to our next brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My husband and I were having a romantic evening and Vendome was the perfect place for romance besides the food was absolutely perfection and the service delightful - I love this place!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were there for brunch . . . The Croque Monsieur, Onion Soup, and Brioche w/ Nutella we're delicious!! The steak tartare, while good, wasn't my favorite, simply because the accoutrements were already mixed in to the meat ( think capers, onions, etc.) and I prefer them to be on the side. Beautiful al fresco dining, attentive service, and reasonably priced. Definitely would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was excellent, as per usual! Every member of our family thought it was all delicious!! Only thing I was a little disappointed in, was I'd mentioned earlier for the Booking that it was my father inlaws 70th Birthday Celebration (he came from England) and I really thought the restaurant would've acknowledged that a little bit or something....but they didn't do anything. Perhaps it's not customary at this location?

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Best French food in Denver, by far. Classic dishes prepared with unique flair. Fried whole fish was not only spectacular to see, but was delicious as well. Pork chop melted in the mouth. Can't recommend highly enough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The setting is beautiful and the food was very good, but the portion size was so small it almost could not have been considered even an appetizer. I ordered a pasta dish and the flavor was wonderful, but I bet I did not get more than 1/3 cup of a serving for about $23. There was an appetizer that was a burrito or crepe and it was by far the largest portion of anything the group ordered for about $8.50. The comparison of that burrito and my dish was a little ridiculous considering the difference in price. I love Rioja and I think the chef that now has Vendome is great, but they need to work on the value of their entrees as well as the flavors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our second time here, still fantastic a year later. The food is amazing, you can actually get a reservation (impossible in SF for a restaurant of this caliber). Highly recommended. Steak Frites, Whole Fish, anything on the menu. Can't miss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.