About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Romantic (91)
Special Occasion (83)
See All
Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Pre/post Theatre (52)
Authentic (50)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Cozy (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Great for Brunch (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (26)
Casual (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Seasonal (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (9)
Historic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Organic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 14 hours ago

Awesome. Enjoyed restaurant week with my friends here. The food was so delicious. Service was attentive and helpful. It was quite busy but still very cost and comfortable. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service!! Missy made our evening very special!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Very French. The steak frites were cooked to perfection with delicious sauces. I would have preferred French fries that did not have a champagne treatment and were not so sweet and sticky. We had to dip our napkins in our water glasses after handling them - they are finger food, after all. The service was excellent and we were in and out in a little over an hour and made our curtain in plenty of time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great experience. Want to come back for more. Wish you didn' t have the bank

policy of adding 20% tip when I paid in cash. Confusing... sorry about my date giving the waiter a hard time about the trout that was on the dinner menu only.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

great spot in Larimer Square.

provided a complimentary dessert to celebrate a birthday. a favorite place of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, very slow service. Couple next to us got their food first even though they got there 15mins after us. We got ours 20 mins after them. They ran out of bread and gave us bread from who knows where.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious food in a cozy setting! Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Un lugar muy acogedor! Nos encanto! La comida francesa deliciosa... el servicio fue muy bueno, los meseros muy atentos. Precios normales, no es un lugar barato.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We ate here before going to a show at the DCPA. We used the valet for parking. The food was excellent, the wait staff was excellent and they got us to the show on time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Bistro Vendome never disappoints. The ambiance is great, the service is always wonderful, and the food is fantastic. I love this place. It's top notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Bistro Vendome is and will always be one of my favorite restaurants. I simply love everything about this place. The food is outstanding and it has a cozy, romantic atmosphere that can't be beat. I would 100% recommend paying them a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. The price is a bit steep so this is definitely not a restaurant to go to frequently, but it is great for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our Pre Valentine experiences was tremendous. The atmosphere, service and food were wonderful. A very good dollar value as well. Have already shared our dining with several others. See you again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our valentines dinner. Very special place for an excellent dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for a long time. You just can't beat it.

We now reside in Boulder however it has not stopped us from running down for a

great meal. And, we always take out of towners there.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I almost felt I was in Paris. Great food and ambiance. Our waiter was very professional and knowledgeable regarding the wine list which I appreciated. When the food was served it was placed correctly instead of being asked who had what which I find most annoying.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On our list to try and never do as we make the stop at Rioja. Since a sister Resturant we figure why not and the Hyatt regency staff said he and wife liked their brunch. He was not wrong. Cute little place and order the chef special which was a steak crepe along with an omelet and frites. Would stick with crepe and frites. Can't wait to try more and use the patio. Enjoyed the brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delightful in every way! We all loved it! A wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was rushed. But food and overall atmosphere was beautiful, intimate, and lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice restaurant with an interesting take on French food. I had the Steak Frites Classique that was divine; steak was cooked perfectly and the seasoning was a great contrast to the wonderfully sweet sauce on the fries (they were sticky - eat with a fork)! My girlfriend had the Cassoulet with duck confit and it was magnificent! Very good food & very nice time for Valentine's Day celebration. I would highly recommend the Crème Brulee as well!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bistro Vendome never fails to impress with its food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was all around excellent. Came here for a Valentine's Day date and both agree it is the best meal we have had in a long time. Great wine list, great service, and the location is gorgeous and romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday. Food was outstanding and the service was excellent. Worth the trip and we will be returning soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We sat at the bar for Thursday happy hour -- the bartender took great care of us without being intrusive. We ordered small plates and drinks off the happy hour menu -- the house-made kielbasa and potatoes were outstanding, as were the moules et frîtes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I brought my girlfriend for a date and left very happy, it was a wonderful evening. My only criticism is the service could have been a smidge faster, it did not take away from the evening at all, though. The ambiance in the back room by the wine rack was cozy, quiet, and romantic. The warm bread and Chardonnay made for a pleasant wait for the entree, Quail for her and I had the trout. The food was excellently presented, bursting with flavor and the delicate care put into each dish was very apparent. The price was very very reasonable for the quality of evening we had. I will definitely recommend Bistro Vendome to all of my friends.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had Brunch there last year and it was great--this year not so good--menu seemed sparse and food not anything special; kind of a let-down for brunch; we had a good time nonetheless and service great, room as nice as before.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We loved our dinner! Perfect for a get together, special occasion, or date. The steak frittes was cooked perfectly, as well as the venison and duck! We loved our drinks as well. Reasonably priced for a great dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was amazing with great service! I would recommend it to anyone who like French food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We were there with our Son and his wife to celebrate his birthday. The service and fool was great and excellent cocktails and wine. Very nice, competent and friendly service. The only comment I have is that the temperature was too hot to the point that our daughter in law had to go outside to get some fresh air. Otherwise, great as usual. We will definitely be back., probably on our anniversary since we share the same anniversary day with our son and his wife.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner at Bistro Vendome before a play at DCPA. Food was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Everything other than the music was superb. Food and service were sensational and the location is as well.

But a simple music change would put my rating at 5 *s.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always such a wonderful experience. Amazing food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Once again, Bistro Vendome was the perfect spot for a friends dinner. My NYC friend who has dined all over the city loved it. Delish and great service time and time again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place to see friends we hadn't seen in a long time.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

fabulous as always- great food, warm and perfect service. A Denver favorite in our book

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent as always, food, service it's all great. We were celebrating a birthday and it couldn't have been better

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

From the perspective of someone who lived in France for several years, the ambiance of Vendome is quite authentic, at least with respect to the France of 50 years ago. The menu features creative takes on traditional dishes; e.g. cassoulet does not traditionally include duck leg, but does have a lot more beans. Nonetheless, this version was delicious and faithful to the genre of a good dish in cold weather. Never had escargot in puff pastry before, but it worked quite well. The quail entry also got raves. Wine list has some nice, if slightly pricey French wines. Service was attentive and timely. The room was pretty full, but it was still possible to converse at a normal level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I hadn't been to Bistro Vendome for several years. Must say that I was disappointed in our dining experience this time, mainly due to lack of service. We had a larger party of people (7), and were seated in a separate room. We received minimal service and waited what seemed like forever for a waiter to come to take our order and then again for the food to actually show up. The food itself was just ok, nothing spectacular, nor did it match the price charged. Overall, my experience was mediocre, and I will not be returning to Bistro Vendome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Never disappoints! Always fantastic food and exceptional service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

My girlfriend and I have gone to your restaurant the past couple of years for our anniversary and every time we go we are provided with a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had Sunday brunch here for the first time. We loved it as much as we enjoy having dinner here. The food is fantastic and the prices are very reasonable, around $12 for an entree. The service is excellent. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Denver.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Although the food certainly was presented and served beautifully my soup and my salad seemed very heavily salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I made this reservation for my girlfriend's birthday. A day before the restaurant called me to confirm and asked if I had any questions or requests. I wanted to confirm a vegetarian option as my girlfriend happens to be one and I presumed they had a rotating menu. They mentioned that the menu had recently changed, the woman on the other line asked me to wait one second as she went to talk to the chef and/or manager, she came back and said they would add to the menu the gnocchi they had just taken off. Immediately I was impressed.

At the restaurant the waiter we had, whom was spectacular, greeted her with a happy birthday and walked us through our options for cheeses and wines. We didn't even have to bring up the fact that I asked about the vegetarian option, he brought it up and explained the gnocchi and one other option without prompting.

My girlfriend chose the gnocchi and I had the venison. Both were great dishes of which we were both happy with.

At the end we were asked if we would like dessert, however, I had already made plans at another restaurant for dessert. The waiter came back with a card signed by the entire staff saying he was sorry we wouldn't be joining for dessert; the card contained two smaller cards: one for a complimentary glass of wine and the other a free dessert. Once again, we were very surprised and stunned with the offering and overall service in general.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This quaint and intimate French restaurant is a true gem, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Larimer Square. Sorry I haven't dined here earlier. The food was varied enough, creative, and superb! Portions sizes are reasonable and filling. French bread, served in crunchy brown bag, is to die for! Two things to improve 1) Seat those who arrive first (with reservations) on a first-come, first-serve basis. We had reservations, and yet were seated after two parties arrived after us. 2) Use a less tougher cut of meat (with less tough, stringy fat) for your steak dishes. We look forward to coming back in the spring or summer when everything is in bloom.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing brunch with the best French toast I've ever had, and eggs cooked to perfection.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food here is always reliably tasty. Escargot appetizer was particularly good. One of our favorite go-to places.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Love the steak. New menu. Tried the new cauliflower salad. Was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We return time and time again and are never disappointed. Service great. Menu constantly changing and creative without losing its French roots.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Consistent without being boring. Reliable without being predictable. Delicious, varied menu with tempting specials as well as old favorites. I am never disappointed with Bistro Vendome. Their excellent service makes it a favorite place for pretheater diners. Yet one does not feel at all rushed. The venison was a nice red medium rare with a sauce and garnish that enhanced but did not compete.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had the fish which was very tasty. French bread hot out of the oven with a great crunch! Bar did not have favorite vodka-Bellvedere😲

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.