Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Bistro Toulouse

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Weekday Happy Hour

Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Weekday Happy Hour

Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Unwind with us Wed-Fri, 5-6:30PM $2 off Signature Cocktails and Wines by the Glass $1 off Draft and Select Bottled Beer $6 Mussels $3 Frites $3 Marinated Olives. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2017 - Oct 24, 2017 on Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Make Wednesday your favorite day of the week! $10 off all bottles of wine all day and special by the glass features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2017 - Oct 24, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (21)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Authentic French cuisine in this neighborhood gem hidden in a the Harris Teeter shopping center off of Coleman. Great service, wonderful food and wine list. Don't miss!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food as always. We ordered off the Restaurant Week menu and our dinner did not disappoint. We opted for the wine pairing and enjoyed interesting choices that went very well with our food. Our server was attentive and helpful. The only negative thing I have to say is that the tables are very close together and we were seated uncomfortably close to a table of 4 middle-aged women who were obnoxiously loud. They were so disruptive we should have asked to be re-seated and I now regret not doing so.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent cuisine. Well presented and timed. Will revisit not for the atmosphere but for the outstanding preparation of the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Mt P and maybe Charleston too!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Visited many times now over the last year. Always well prepared food and service - using veteran servers - is wonderful. In an area with so many great choices, this is reliable for a nice dining experience. Thank you and keep it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Bistro Toulouse providws the "real deal" in country french dining. Casual, unpretentious and delicious food. If you are not familiar with french cooking, try this. If you are, you will not be disappointed. Handcrafted cocktails and a well thought out wine list to compliment the menu make this a great dinner experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Bistro Toulouse is always consistent as a great Brunch Spot with perfectly prepared Eggs Benedict (love the Hollandaise!) and excellent service. Jason and the Bartender gave us very attentive and friendly service. We enjoy Brunch after church many Sundays at Bistro Toulouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My 4th time here and it never disappoints.
Dinner,brunch,happy hour all fabulous.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The server seemed harried and was very slow in getting drinks to the table. At re end of the meal, we waited at least thirty minutes for the bill.

All of the food was very good with the exception of the escargots, which suffered from a strange preparation. We've had the escargots here before and they were fine.

We've eaten here before and will return, but this was not up to our usual experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our first visit. We had heard/read a lot of good reviews so we decided to try it. Our experience was somewhat influenced by restaurant week....not necessarily the best time to try a restaurant the first time. Nevertheless, our dinner was quite good, and certainly tasty enough to draw us back for another visit. My wife had the mushroom soup, superb. The onion soup I ordered was very good, as expected in a French bistro. For entrees, my hanger steak was done exactly to order and was very good, well seasoned but perhaps a little overpriced at $26. The accompanying frites were fresh and perfectly fried. My wife's coq au vin was a bit bland. I don't think it is a regular menu item. Our server was excellent, informed and attentive without being intrusive. We will head back to try the mussels, a house specialty, and other dishes. We would recommend this restaurant as a pretty good value on the greater Charleston dining scenes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place needs a make over, seating comfort is totally lacking, better seating in a luncheonette! Noise level of the charts. No French influence at all, drabness all around, food is lacking flavor and punch! Will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Nice evening out with plenty of choices on the menu. Excellent wait staff. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We celebrated my fiancé's birthday there. The octopus appetizer was delicious and different. The Napoleon with goat cheese was absolutely delicious for a vegetarian entrée and everyone at the table and agreed that the chicken was the best. This was also the recommendation of our wait person. Everything we ate was really really good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service at times a bit slow, but the meal was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I can't say enough about this restaurant. I have been there many times and it is always very good. The mussels are the best I ever had and such a value at $14.
The steak tartare is excellent and the French onion soup is superior. Chef here has a great touch with sauces and bases for food. Great place!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Catch of the Day has been excellent both times we ordered it. Be sure and order the souffle when your entree is served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Small dark restaurant, with quaint decor of a French country chateau. Small authentic French menu. Steak with frites , I choose well. The chocolate soufflé divine. Seems odd you leave this place to your car in a strip mall parking lot!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent food. Eat here any time we are in the Mount Pleasant, sc area. Always consistent. Very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very good, authentic French food and nice service. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Third time here, very good each time. The only down side on the food I have is it is served with "sort of" a side, but the amount is very small. I guess they figure you will order an app which we normally do not. Jason our server was basically new or inexperienced. He barely had a clue what to do. Good value for the quality of food...and they have a reasonable corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great, so was the service. Odd location, but once you're inside, you forget you're in a strip mall.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Bistro Toulouse was a lovely surprise in Mt Pleasant. The location is not where you'd expect to find such a charming French Bistro. In the middle of a shopping center on Ben Sawyer Blvd. Yet, there it is. We went for my in-laws anniversary and they loved it. The bread amazing! We just got back from Paris and, while the outside environment was not close, the food and ambiance was great! I had onion soup (yes, this is a must) and the special of short ribs, whipped potato, and spinach. Perfecto! My wife had the seafood platter (not really a platter) that was lovely. The deserts would make the French proud. The only thing I missed was a French waitress and French music. Our waitress was from New York but she was awesome! Great place. We are going back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Will definitely return! Our food and service were amazing...recommendations were spot on, too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice interior.
Disappointing food - mixed green salad was boring and tasteless. Snapper special was bland.
Service was terrible. Our waitress completely ignored our table throughout the evening - took 30mins just to get our order in. Didn't get our bread until order was taken. Food came out fairly promptly but then we had to wait 20mins for the check. We basically had to throw ourselves into the aisle to get her attention. Otherwise, she never made eye contact with us.
Don't plan to return...too many other great restaurants to go to in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Dinner and drinks, and especially the dark chocolate souffle, were all excellent as always. A standby for us whenever in Charleston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall everything was good except getting the food was so slow. It wasn't busy, maybe 4 tables total and took almost 2 hours for brunch. We had a small child with us so we weren't trying to have a leisurely meal. The beignets were overcooked, the mussels were very good and a great value. We liked it and would go back but definitely not for a quick meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always...excellent! Best Eggs Benedict!! Always great, friendly and professional service, perfectly cooked Eggs and awesome Hollandaise with great Fries for
Sunday Brunch...or Any day! Great for
After Church Sunday Brunch 😎

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. The mussels were fantastic. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bistro Toulouse is a wonderful local gem. The food is consistently great and the service is always attentive. I love this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Enjoyed celebrating Bastille Day there. Always good menu choices with a French flair. The mussels are very popular & the Escargot.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Have been several times and am never disappointed. The food is delicious, the service is also quite good even when crazy busy. Noise level can be high with a crowd, I think only because of the arrangement of all the seating. Nothing that could be done about it....it's a Bistro! They have
some great drinks to compliment your food selections or just to have with a nice appetizer. Don't forget to order a souffle!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Bistro Toulouse is always such a wonderful treat - their mussels are especially yummy - great for lunch - always delicious soups and sandwiches

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dinner at Bistro Toulouse the day before Bastille Day. Great specials but the menu here always pleases. We started with foie gras pate and blue cheese plate. Mussels and frites and a fine halibut special for mains. Raspberry souffle was fantastic. They were featuring a 3 wine tasting flight for $16 per person that was a great value and paired well with our entire meal. Adam was our server and was very attentive and knowledgeable. Service was as good as the food! Bistro Toulouse has to be the best French restaurant in Charleston (even though it is in Mt Pleasant). Been here several times and will be back even more.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time diners, read many good reviews finally had the opportunity to give it a try. Had the escargot for an appetizer with their fantastic warm bread it was wonderful. Being our first time I wanted to do the classics so my next course was the Cassoulet, absolutely wonderful the pork belly could have been more crisp. My husband had the hangar steak with a green peppercorn sauce and frites very good but the item that will definitely bring him back was the raspberry souffle it was outstanding. We will return to try other interesting items on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food and service! Good wine list and menu. The location is not great in a shopping center.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The most pleasant dining experience and best food we have experienced in a long time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food is very good and the service people are very friendly and attentive. This is a great little spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Especially appreciated that they featured high quality meat from the Keegan-Filion farm who puts extra effort into sustainable, humanistic farming practices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.