Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.69mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Bistro Toulouse

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Wednesday- Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Weekday Happy Hour

Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Make Wednesday your favorite day of the week! $10 off all bottles of wine all day and special by the glass features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 4, 2017 - Jul 4, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

Weekday Happy Hour

Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Unwind with us Wed-Fri, 5-6:30PM $2 off Signature Cocktails and Wines by the Glass $1 off Draft and Select Bottled Beer $6 Mussels $3 Frites $3 Marinated Olives. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 4, 2017 - Jul 4, 2017 on Wednesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Authentic (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service great , ambiance was awful. The noise level was actually painful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We've been here few times and quality of food is consistent. Ingredients are always fresh and flavors delicate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first visit was this past weekend. The steak frîtes was very authentic, and the red snapper excellent. Owner and staff were welcoming and very pleasant. Our only small disappointment was the escargot: good butter garlic sauce but a little rubbery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My friend and our husbands went to BT for Mother's Day. We had a lovely time and enjoyed authentic French cooking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bistro Toulouse gets it. "If you're going to make food, make it delicious," I summarized to my kids about French cooking. The serving sizes are not large yet full of flavors and textures and in fact plenty filling. The service is far more Dixie than Dijon, that is very friendly and accommodating, but the rest of the experience does cuisine right. We've eaten here several times both with kids and without and have yet to encounter something that wasn't sumptuous.

The Croque Monsieur, the Beignets, the Crepe a la Nutella, the Moule et Frites... all winners.

Parking is a breeze, because it is in a shopping center. The environs are quite humble but the restaurant interior is charming. Give Bistro Toulouse a try!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had Mother's Day brunch here. They had a great specialty menu. Good beverages and the mussels were great.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We found this little gem a couple of years ago when we were visiting in the area. Strangely located next to a laundromat this was an unexpected fine dining experience. The food is French with local influences and the service is exceptional. We will be back again next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice dinner with friends at Bistro Toulouse. Watched the Kentucky Derby at the bar before being seated. Shared some pate and cheese for appetizers- nice selection. Duck breast entree was outstanding. Friend had the wreckfish which was also very good. Excellent service and good affordable wine selections. Best French bistro in Charleston.

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The staff was exceptional...super friendly, engaging and helpful. Treated us like we were longtime regulars on our 1st time in. True good was phenomenal - best French in Mount P!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We visit every six months or so as we live out of the area though we used to live close enough to walk in. Still, upon each visit, the staff remember us and save our favorite table for us!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Bistro Toulouse is always consistent with food and service. It is a hidden gem in Mt. Pleasant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love Bistro Toulouse. It's easy to overlook because it's in a non-descript strip mall but we've gone there several times and never been let down. Some of my favorite dishes there are the grilled octopus appetizer, the steak frites and the mussels. If you save room, the soufflés are also terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed our evening. Our 4th time there. The service was excellent. The food was a 4/5.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Awesome as always! Best kept secret in Mount Pleasant!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As expected, The chef director d not disappoint. The warm asparagus salad was outstanding as were the mussels. Tender perfectly cooked mussels in a sauce with bacon and mushrooms pushed us over the edge. Delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was stellar. The staff always make you feel special. Best food in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cozy, typical bistro. Food never disappoints. Good and different drinks. Service is always good.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Once again an outstanding Sunday brunch with friends. Food is great, parking plentiful and easy a true neighborhood gem. Don't be put off by outward appearances it is located in a grocery store mini strip mall that seems as if it has seen better days-open the door and be ready for good food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Best authentic french food in Charleston. I get the onion soup every time we go as it is very close to what I use to get in Paris. We went for their 3rd anniversary special and the meal was spectacular. I had to coq au vin - was so flavorful and rich, served over a pomme puree that complimented it perfectly. My husband had the mussels in truffle cream w/ white wine that was spectacular. We also opted for dessert. They do baked to order souffles , I had the chocolate and it was as rich and decadent as you could hope for. Do not let the outside fool you (in a strip mall next to a laundromat) this is wonderful food with great service that is definitely a little piece of France in Charleston.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always excellent food (perhaps one or two less than excellent) but the service is fantastic and special request honored. I regular go-to place!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Authentic French cuisine with good service and reasonable wine list. French onion soup was great, steak tartare very good and duck breast excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

the best service in charleston with great food . We love this place .
Food allergies handled with care and clarity .

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A gem of a restaurant tucked in a boring strip mall! The garlic wafting out the front door is the first clue that this is a real French Bistro. Exquisite escargot, onion soup, moules frites, and other French staples are joined by daily specials making it hard to choose. Excellent seasonal salads. Be sure to save room for dessert. The reasonable wine list (reasonable prices and interesting wine selection) makes the experience wholly enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My daughter and I visited Bistro Toulouse for some authentic French food. We were not disappointed! From the beignets and French press coffee to the crepes and pain perdu, everything was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was outstanding, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant never fails to provide an excellent meal and great service. The specials menu has different options and an opportunity to taste wines not available by the glass. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Bistro Toulouse is a great find. The decor is very close to bistros I've been to in Paris, and the food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The only negative is that it was noisy, but most bistros are noisy. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Two visits so far; excellent each time! Food was delicious and service attentive without being disruptive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always enjoy my evening there. Great atmosphere and attentive to needs. Would recommend good French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A wonderful little french restaurant hidden away in a mall. Lovely menu, really nice food, great service. A nice getaway for a lunch with friends or dinner for special occasions. Nice wine and a good selection of cocktails with very reasonable prices.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My husband and I just love Bistro Toulouse. Don't let the fact that it is in a strip mall deter you from trying this wonderful place. They always have delicious fish. What a hidden gem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Two words, "charcuterie board". Everything we had was delicious; fun cocktails, great wine, delicious food, but the charcuterie board was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not the same experience we had when they first opened. Good bar and the ambiance was nice. I felt that the server was in a hurry to get the table in and out. My escargot was not hot enough when it came out and my main course was not what I expected. Smaller portion than prior visits, striped bass was a little undercooked and the lentils were definitely undercooked. To the point where they were hard, not just a hair undercooked. When I asked about it I was told the chef always prepares them the same way. If that were the case I would have remembered that and not returned. I think that because we were with friends and I was happy to be out of the house I did not care at the time. I expected more from the restaurant but c'est la vie.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 1, 2017

had special of day, tile fish, very bland and sauce was tasteless, very small portion, and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Had a NO style Fat Tuesday dinner...very tasty. Enjoyed the Jambalya

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was wonderful, service was great. We really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

almost hesitate to recommend it(so I can always get a reservation) but will not be selfish

friendly wait staff and unbelievably good food

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wow ! We were blown away by the great service by Stella, even real attention to a food allergy for one of our party. A new favorite for us in Charleston ...free parking , great food. Dinner with wine for $75 dollars for two, including Chocolate souffle for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Exceptional food ALWSYS!! Great staff and beautiful quaint place! Becoming one of our favorites in all of Mount Pleasant and Charleston!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day tasting menu: very well done. Consistency is a rare commodity today. This bistro delivers it. Nothing crazy creative, just FRENCH cuisine done right and well ... Every time. Refreshing. Selections were appealing to all. All were correct. Soufflé was beyond delicious. Sauces, across the board, were subtle and flavor enhancing, a high grade adjunct to the perfectly prepared offerings. Wine pairings were a bit disappointing. Service is reliable, attentive and correct ... always. Difficult to create ambience in the shadow of Harris Teeter and a mall parking lot. The establishment is locally very popular, popular and successful enough to upgrade its location.
This is a good one ... Go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.