Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Bistro Romano

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 29th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cellar Club Wine Tasting and Dinner
Wine Store for take out sales

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (107)
Good for a Date (99)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
See All
Special Occasion (84)
Cozy (69)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Notable Wine List (52)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Authentic (50)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (14)
Fun (14)
Live Music (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Waterfront (4)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

It was delicious and a nice romantic atmosphere . We were very happy that we tried it for the first time and we would definitely go back again. I had chicken Milanese and gnocchi and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Flavors were lovely and authentically Italian. Service was attentive without being intrusive. All tables happily occupied. Lovely ambiance. The only drawback: the noise level is high.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Our dinner was ok but not really flavorful. Salad at $10 was incredibly small, italian fish stew was rather bland with "pea" sized scallops, and the filet and mashed potato were ok, especially at this price point. The seating for this restaurant is in the basement. Server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Best Italian Romantic restaurant in all of Philly. Our go to for many years and more to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the first restaurants I tried in Philadelphia back in April 2017, and I fell in love immediately. I go back regularly for the constantly updating menu, the amazingly warm service, and the exceptional quality of the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A warm and welcoming place with great food and attentive service. We each had different homemade pasta dishes and the Ceasar salad was table side and one of the best that I have had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We found this wonderful gem years ago by accident and have since returned many times for special occasions. We live a good distance from Bistro Romano so don’t get to visit as often as we would like, but when we do we are never disappointed. Table side Caesar is not to be missed! Service is top notch, and the food...well don’t even get me started, suffice to say we will make the drive again and again. LOVE IT!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had the diver scallops with risotto off the regular menu, it had changed from the last time I had it, but everything was cooked to perfection. The scallops, mussels and shrimp broth was delicious and made for a creamy, but not runny risotto. Again the staff was excellent. Several of the patron's who sat around me, commented on how knowledgeable they are, about the wines and cocktails that they made. EXCELLENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a fantastic evening. The GM Anthony made the celebration of our 25th anniversary a most wonderful celebration! The table was decorated with rose petals upon our arrival and it just got better from there. The food was off the hook! The veal oso buco was one of the best meals I have had anywhere. The wife loved the fish and the pasta dish we shared was amazing. If you have not dined here you have to try it. Anthony is one of the most amazing hosts you will ever have. The service,atmosphere and food are by far one of the most amazing and romantic restaurants in the city.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was amazing. We sat in the private room in the wine cellar. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Sat at the bar solo and it was great. Great food. Great wine. Live pianist was a nice touch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was great, but the server forgot about us. We felt like we were held hostage for the last 20 minutes. We asked for a check and was handed a desert menu, had decided to get desert but they never checked back with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I had the leg of lamb special, and it was delicious. The lamb was succulent, the right balance of fat to meat that paired well with the wine I had. As always the bar and wait staff were professional and proficient. It's always enjoyable to come here for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food — loved the Caesars salad prepared table side. Pasta dishes were all exquisite. Entrees very good Had to sit upstairs as we were not able to navigate the stairs to the more formal dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The pumpkin gnocchi was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had the Chicken contadina special it was delicious, it had just the right amount of a vinegar and tomato balence; and the potatoes were not bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Have been to BISTRO ROMANO several times. Every time has been amazing! Quality and sumptuous offerings have sated my palate

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great time. Very romantic restaurant. Food delicious; service wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had to wait a bit for our food after ordering . We were very satisfied for the most part with the service and the meals . It was very notable that one of our party was not completely satisfied and the waiter and manager went well above and beyond offering to replace the meal. The guest decided to retain the meal and, without asking or suggesting, her meal was removed from our bill . That was a wonderful gesture and will work to ensure our return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

What a Tremendous restaurant , your hospitality from the time we walked in was pure amazing ... and the food WOW ......Your food has amazing flavors to them.....

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! The staff is beyond friendly, polite, and attentive! The owner (I think) came by twice to make sure we were enjoying our meal. Fantastic food, great piano music, and romantic and cozy atmosphere! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

When we arrived the table was ready for us and there were rose pedals on the table to celebrate our anniversary! The waitress brought us complementary champagne! The food was amazing as was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The fresh Pasta was amazing. The specials were great & everyone enjoyed their choices and said they would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Had a great time! Sitting area was very romantic and food just right with the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

had a really nice dinner, beautiful restaurant itself, very romantic with candle-lit table. friendly service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant, the food was amazing, we went for restaurant week and once again it was a great choice. I definitely recommend the bistro, you will not regret it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had a wonderful time visiting this restaurant for the first time during Restaurant Week! The ambiance is magnificient, and I was mesmerized as we were led to the lower level of the restaurant. The mozzarella salad had a great presentation and all the ingredients were fresh. My lobster ravioli were delicious (I could have eaten a double portion), and the cannoli that I chose for dessert was wonderful! All in all, a great experience! Will definitely return for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Out of 120 restaurants lined up for restaurant week, we decided to go with Bistro Romano and I'm glad we did! The restaurant was very nice with a rustic feel, soft lights and some very nice music playing. Service was quick and courteous, checking on us from time to time. The food was delicious, having been flavorful and filling. I honestly feel this is a great place for anyone looking to dress up and experience something more elegant or just a nice place to relax and eat after a long day's work. Would certainly dine here again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've never been disappointed at Bistro Romano. Restaurant Week menu was fabulous. The mushroom soup, gnocchi, lobster ravioli and tiramasu were all stellar dishes. Service was impeccable, as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were there during Restaurant week, visiting from out of town. That's not a fair time to gauge a place with a prix fixe menu so you may not get the dish that drew you to the place. The waiter was a bit stressed, understandably, but the ambience and food was worth a second non-Restaurant week visit some day.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, great environment, friendly waiters and ovreally good experience. Would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went there for Restaurant Week unknowingly. It was our first time to Philadelphia and I picked it from reviews on TripAdvisor. They did not disappoint everything was wonderful from the appetizers to the desert. Would definitely recommend it and if we come back to Philadelphia we will definitely there again. The banquet manager took exceptional care of us when she realized that we had waited a few extra minutes for our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our first meal on one of our regular trips to the US. Our biological clocks read 12.30am but the meal and venue were good enough to hold us awake. Food was first rate, service good and not over the top. Portion sizes comfortable for an English visitor. Altogether a great night out. We would happily revisit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lovely historic restaurant. Food was excellent, wine was exceptional. Our server, Florian, was very attentive and informative.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a great evening with friends - the food was terrific and our server was friendly and fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was excellent. The server was attentive. The live piano player was very good. The dining room has a lot of character.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had the pasta with sausage and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had an incredible experience thanks to our server Ricardo and his colleagues. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I were in Philly from New York just for a day to celebrate his birthday. We just quickly googled restaurant for dinner and were blown away by the quality, and amazing experience we had at Bistro Romano. The food, the service, and the entire atmosphere made it the perfect night for us. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to come and dine here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.