About Bistro Romano

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (93)
Good for a Date (86)
Special Occasion (75)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Cozy (62)
Notable Wine List (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Historic (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Private Room (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Live Music (9)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

It was okay...but won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Always have a good experience at Bistro Romano. Last night's Caesar salad was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Met old friends from out of town at Bistro Romano to catch up. First time at the restaurant for all of us and the consensus was that the meal was EXCELLENT. I ordered the salmon special which was served over cauliflower puree and thought it was delicious. I then ordered the cream brulee for dessert and its flavor and texture were perfect. Our server was attentive and the ambiance was neat -- exposed brick. Overall the restaurant gave a sense of intimacy and my friends remarked about they appreciated hearing the conversation without having to strain their ears or shout over the other patrons. I highly recommend this restaurant and hope to be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

While making the reservation, we were told about kids menu and that vegetarian diet would be accommodated. The server was unfriendly, there was no kids menu and the 1 vegetarian dish on the menu, was the one they ran out of by 6pm on Sunday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We just love the overall feel of Bistro Romano. It's romantic , quiet enough to have intimate conversations and the food is very good, consistently.

The Caesar salad is always excellent, I think partly because it is made fresh at table side but also because the ingredients are fresh and the lettuce is cold!( to me that makes all the difference)!

Recently I have tried the meat entrees and have found that both the lamb and the filet were excellent quality.

The tiramisu is the best I've had anywhere (well, maybe in Florence I've had better).

The waitstaff is respectful and attentive.

Thank you for an excellent birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

What a great experience. My Wife and I have been coming there for 4+ years and have always had a good experience. On Sunday our experience was over the top. Florian our server was outstanding and attentive to our needs from start to finish, and should be recognized for his service. We have already referred friends and family to the restaurant, and my In-Laws when for their anniversary a few months ago and justed raved about it. Cant wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! This was our second time here. Totally worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have enjoyed Bistro Romano for more than 25 years. It has excellent food and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you, thank you, thank you. We had an incredible dinner, everyone in my party was blown away by the delicious food and impeccable service. Kudos to Elena, Anthony and Florian, and everyone who came by to deliver food, water or take away the empty plates. We all had a great time, thank you. And chef, the veal special just melted, it was a perfect balance of sauce, with the potatoes and mushrooms, it was delicious, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The power went out but the staff kept their cool and did all they could to take care of the patrons. Which they did in spades. I did not hear one bad thing about the Resturant, just that people were disappointed. But if they had only waited the special pasta was delicious and piping hot. I will be back in tonight to try the other specialties, I can't wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. We had the Roasted Squash appetizer which some may over look but it was loaded with flavor. For dinner we had Lobster Ravioli and Chicken Milanese, both dishes melted in your mouth. The chicken was perfect and the arugula and buffalo mozzarella were perfect compliments to it. The sauce on the lobster ravioli was perfect and would definitely get the dish again! Will definitely be returning again in the future to try out the rest of the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First Valentines Day together. AMAZING food and priced VERY reasonable.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bistro Romano is an old world style elegant sophisticated and classy dining experience but not at all pretentious The wait staff is top notch friendly professional, knowledgeable and charming. The food is very fresh and expertly prepared. This place is a real treasure and I will return again and again.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

So so so amazing place Great staff, Nice Owner! Romantic setting. Very inviting place

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was really really great I enjoyed everything about it and my wife loved it couldn't get over how good her filet and my veal was

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was amazing. Very romantic. I would definitely recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Can not say enough good things about the food and hospitality. I recommend taking your date or friend here, it's worth your time. Cannot wait to dine here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm a returning customer, and it has been always an amazing experience, my waiter was outstanding, unfortunately i can't remember his name but he treat me so well that it reflect the well management and professionalism of the restaurant, i can't wait to visit again.

I work on a restaurant as well and I'm aware customer service is the key and this restaurant ROCKS!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service, food and dinning experience were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing place, and great romantic atmosphere. The food was good and the staff was very helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive and I loved the old wine cellar vibe. The octopus was tender and excellent. Both of our entres- lobster ravioli and a scallop linguine- were delicious. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I went to Bistro Romano on the Saturday night before Valentine's Day, I had a later reservation and did have a short wait but the staff was very accommodating when we requested to sit downstairs in the "cellar" area. It was very romantic with rose pedals on each table and a pianist upstairs at the bar. The seating downstairs is intimate and allows for a very private feel. The food was delicious and they have an extensive wine list to fit all pallets and price ranges. I would for sure go back!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The amazing food was paired with a consistently high level of attentiveness from every last member of the staff. We dined in the private wine cellar and loved every minute of it. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Could not understand menu because used Italian words but the waiter was good. Food was great. And the environment was amazing. RESERVE TABLE NO TABLE NO FOOD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bistro Romano is one of our favorite restaurants. The Caesar salad is the best around.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for a Valentine's Day dinner and had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious (Buratta Toast, Lobster Ravioli, and Veal Saltimbocca)! The room was dimly lit, and the table was decorated with actual rose petals and a candle to set the mood. Service was friendly (even those that weren't our waiter).

The only thing about this restaurant that turned me off slightly was how close the tables are to one another. We were practically on top of the table next to us.

I would definitely consider making another reservation to come back for a special occasion in the future.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I love Bistro Romano! It was our second time here! We have now celebrated Valentine's Day and New Years Eve here and we highly recommend it! The food, ambiance and wait staff are terrific! If you park in the lot on Lombard they even throw you a coupon for discounted parking on your way out! I highly suggest this restaurant!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Will definitely be returning. GREAT atmosphere. I got the veal and it was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very romantic place and the food was fantastic! Wonderful piano player as well.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We are never let down when we come here. It was very busy. Definitely make a reservation. I would ask if any large parties are scheduled at the time you would like to dine. In my experience large groups really have to yell down the table at each other, then wine gets everyone loud and it destroys the experience for everyone. It is very quiet more often than not, though. The food is SO SO SO GOOD which obviously is the best part!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely have loved dining here twice. Will definitely be back... fabulous ambience, yet good for a girls night out as well!!!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went to Bistro Romano for their (extended) Restaurant Week menu. The food was very good and unlike so many "small plate" restaurants, plentiful as well as tasty. The squash soup was very good albeit a tad too sweet for our diner. The grilled octopus w/ potatoes was a large portion of the most tender octopus I've had anywhere including Greek places that specialize in this dish. The entrees were large and very good. Lobster Ravioli surprised the diner in that it actually had large pieces of lobster as well as a rich sauce. The lamb shank was large enough to provide another complete meal the next day. The lamb dish was an earthy mix of vegetables and kidney beans that was very rich and satisfying. Deserts were a rich Tiramisu and a chocolate torte. The torte was so rich that coffee (decaf) was a required accompanyment. The Tiramisu was a tad "wet" so that the texture of the homemade lady fingers was a bit lost -- but very good nonetheless. We've been before; we'll definitely go again. A great neighborhood Italian eatery

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We eat out very frequently all over the Philly area, and this was definitely in our top five. The food was delicious, but that was just one piece of it. The ambience is warm and cozy, the service was friendly and unpretentious yet efficient, and the menu was varied. The wine list is extensive to say the least. Just a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday dinner with my family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was not great and I was just dissappointed. I told the waiter that I would like to change the order and he said they already put the order in and I can't change it (mind you this was literally 2 minutes apart from when I ordered first). I was just so sad that the food I got was not what I wanted

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was outstanding, but sadly the server was not attentive at all.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This restaurant was beyond expectations. From the bar upstairs with a man playing piano to the dining room downstairs that was cozy and romantic. The food was amazing, service unbelievable and we even had rose petals waiting on the table for us since it was our anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We went for our 2 year anniversary and because it was restaurant week. The food was spectacular! I had the butternut squash soup, lobster ravioli, and the canoli. Would recommend each dish. Waiter was professignal but not very personable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I'm in town on business. I found this place on yelp while I was searching for places to eat. The reviews were all great and my experience was the same! It's such a neat place. It feels like you're in the cellar of a castle. Great atmosphere. Great food. Great service. I happened to be in town during restaurant week, so it was a great value too! I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food. Definitely hope to return.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everything was outstanding. We ate the restaurant week menu and it was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was very good and service was great as well! Tried this place out for restaurant week and would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everything was delicious, I had a great birthday. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome place. Its ine of my favorites. Just expect to spend at least $100 but definitely worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Seven of us tried Bistro Romano for Restaurant Week and weren't disappointed. Our table was spacious and the food was great. We were pleased that the special menu still provided lots of choices. The lobster ravioli were a big hit with our group and the veal saltimbocca got high marks also. There was a good wine selection and glasses were reasonably priced. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Meal was excellent and everyone was so attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent and the service was great. Our server made very good suggestions all evening and someone was consistently checking in on us to see if we were ok. Much to choose from on the restaurant week menu. Very unique setting, it was cool dining in the wine cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time dinning at the restaurant and it was a great find! The service and food made for a great experience. Sean the bartender was very helpful and nice when we first arrived. Even though we were his only customers he toook the time to make conversation with us and also suggestions. We sat downstairs, which I recommend. Our sever was great. The mangager went above and beyond. He made us feel very welcome and brought out a sample of the house made gnocchi, these are some of the best I have ever had! All the food was very well done from appetizers to dessert. I will definitely be going back

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service! Comfortable atmosphere. Delicious food!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First but definitely not my last visit. Spent a few hours on the internet looking for the perfect place to enjoy a birthday dinner and the search was well worth it. Food waste fantastic and the wine selection was phenomenal. GM Anthony was extremely personable and our wait staff was superb, attentive but not overbearing. The atmosphere was amazing, can't wait to enjoy the experience again. Had the calamari and table side Caesar to start. Lobster ravioli mid course and chicken Milanese and veal saltimboca for main course. All were cooked to perfection. Must admit the Tiramisu was probably the best I've had in quite some time. A close second only to my own. Overall a must try, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.