Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Bistro Romano

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 29th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cellar Club Wine Tasting and Dinner
Wine Store for take out sales

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (109)
Good for a Date (98)
Special Occasion (90)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Cozy (72)
Notable Wine List (61)
Authentic (51)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Historic (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Business Meals (20)
Private Room (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (14)
Live Music (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (6)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (0)
Sort By:
S
2105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the second Mussels at Mid-week, absolutely delicious and filling. Can't wait to try next week. I saw more people having the Mussels and they all seem to have enjoyed them. I know that I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The chicken bolnase was a perfect, light pasta entree for the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service as always!!!! Would definitely recommend to friends and family

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great atmosphere, and great wine! I will be back again soon.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

I had the Duck breast special. It was cooked to perfection, it was the perfect temperature inside with a delicious salty char on the outside. The mushrooms and sauce that accompanied, added to the its overall excellent balance of flavors. On a Kobe beef scale, it is the 100 of poultry. Best Duck that I have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

"Mussels Wednesday" was delicious, filling and at a very reasonable price. I will be back to try the other two dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It always feels like I'm at home when I go to Bistro Romano. The staff is so friendly and go a few times, they remember you and let you know you are valued. The food is always just as promised and delicious, too! Surprising as it is for an Italian restaurant, they make their own gluten free pasta (order upon request) and will always customize, e.g., primavera for veggies, just mussels, no clams. Love this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The Caeser salad was amazing, the service was great, and the ambiance was romantic.

The entrees were so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service, as always. I know Mother's Day can be trying on even the best server. Ours was funny and laid back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Creative menu and tasty. Lots of good seafood and pasta offerings

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We returned here for my daughter's graduation celebration dinner, as it's her favorite place to dine in Philly. It also happened to be Mother's Day. We had a delicious meal with outstanding service - the complimentary glass of rose "for mom" was a nice touch! Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome dining and Matthew our waiter was friendly...will be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The soup was delicious, like velvet, so smooth with the dried pancetta, excellent garnish but also an excellent flavor profile with the cauliflower. The mezzaluna were rich and delicious, good call on the tomato relish, it cut the cream sauce perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wow! Bistro Romano keeps getting better. Anthony is the best host in the city! The wife says the scallops were the best she's had ever. The pork loin was perfect. My daughter had the filet and said it was amazing. The pasta is always a treat. The wine list is one of the best in Philly and Anthony knows wine better than most sommelier's. We love this place the ambiance and food are amazing and with Anthony you can't go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a wonderful experience and I have already recommended it to my friends

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service at Bistro Romano was truly attentive, the specials were good, and the pricing very fair. The Olde City area is very scenic and the historical building adds to the ambiance. This was a nice new place to try- certainly a good restaurant that will not kill your pocketbook, and definitely worth coming back too. Thanks for a nice meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The hanger steak special was delicious, it cut like butter. I couldn't have asked for a better cut of beef, unless it's Kobe beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wish you would bring back the Veal Rossini although the Risotto Verde was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always one of our favorite places to dine in Philly. On this visit we chose to have the tableside caesar salad followed by scallops with crab for me, seafood stew for my husband and filet with gorgonzola for my niece. Everything was perfectly seasoned, served promptly and delicious. Bistro Romano has an intimate atmosphere which makes it ideal for special occasions and if you are on their e- mail list you get perks like discounts and rose petals on your anniversary! My husband's favorite part is that they genuinely care about your experience- the manager has table touching down to an art and stopped by several times ....BRAVO, BISTRO ROMANO!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Scrumpious meal.
Wonderful ambionce
Superior service

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The Risotto Verti was delicious but it was not Muscles at the bar. But it was perfect for national shrimp day, so it's a winner, like always. Ain't gonna lie, it was not Kobe beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food quality was exceptional. The unique "takes" on regular items was well presented. I could have used a cup of the sauce and more bread as my dessert. Very good taste.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was a perfect pairing of wine with happy hour dishes, with excellent company at the bar, in a very energetic bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We always enjoy our meals, service and staff here. We appreciate the attention given to our meal, comfort and overall the service and food presentation and timely deliverance to our table. The specials are always addressed, and questions about the meals are always answered with a great explanation. We will continue to go to this restaurant because we are always treated well, and or the continuing delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Hands- down one of our favorites. The food is always delicious, and the service is top-notch. The atmosphere is very romantic and intimate. Great for a first date ;) and also for any date night or special occasion. The piano bar upstairs is great and the 2 guys we always see bartending are fantastic. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Glad we chose Bistro Romano for our anniversary. Loved the food and ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The romantic ambiance is always great. The food was always good, but we had not been in a while and the food was better than we remembered. We had the Octopus appetizer which was really good! This is a great romantic dining spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had the aged steak special it was perfectly cooked, balanced between the the finishing salt and umami flavorings of the mushroom and reduction sauce. On a scale of the Kobe beef being 100, this was a solid 98. EXCELLENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Definitely delicious and went well with the red wine, but it was not the Kobe beef. But still was perfect for what I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was good but the menu had changed and didn't realize it. Liked the previous menu more but food was still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My food was delicious, the staff was excellent and professional. But I have to apologise now, I am still smiling from the Kobe beef special I had on Friday. Chef, what did you put in that delectable meal? Unbelievably beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Terrific food and service. The dinner specials were spot on. We were looking for a quiet place to have dinner with friends away from the crowds in center city. We found it. Ambience is really great with unique bar on the main floor and dining below. I would go back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was my second visit and was less impressed than my first. Requested table and area was not available. I was told the table (round) was no longer was available, however the location in the room was also requested. They were going to put us up at the bar and I pushed back and asked for a table downstairs and pointed to the one I wanted and was told that was reserved.
I made my request and reservation over 5 months ago and they wanted to put me up at the bar.
was not happy, overall food and service were great, 5 out of the 6 dishes were very good and of course my was below par. Will go back as everyone deserves another chance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everyone was very nice except for our waiter, who kept pushing us to order more food and drinks and was clearly displeased when we didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat at Bistro Romano. Michael (owner) has consistently kept the food and service at a high level for over 15+ years. I had the Shrimp Risotto - WOW. it was terrific with a great presentation. there is an authentic ambiance about the place, never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had the spaghetti with clams and shrimp. I will have to apologise now. It was delicious, but it was no Kobe beef special. I have to say that on Friday I got an order for the Kobe to go. The two people I shared it with, very beautiful woman I have to say, not only were knocked out by the presentation in the to go box, but it put a smile on their faces of how unfucking believable it was. That was their words also.

If anyone​ said anything bad about the Kobe special, I will tell you that it is now Monday and the both of them are still raving on how great it was. EXCEPTIONAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I had the Kobe beef special. I will have to apologize now. It was unfucking believable. Delicious. It was perfectly balanced, all flavors melded together. Better than sex, not that I can remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Bistro Roman is our go-to place for pre-theater dining ... before the Walnut Street Theater. The food is great and the ambience of the historical building is outstanding. Beyond that, the service and friendliness of the staff is exemplary. Every time that we return, we are welcomed back as if we are family. That ... goes a long way in my book. Do yourself a favor and don’t miss out on Bistro Romano!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food, great service. Overall a wonderful experience

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Let me start by saying WOW! Bistro Romano was spectacular. It's located in an interesting, iconic building in historical Philadelphia. We had reservations and were seated promptly in a rustic, beautiful corner of the restaurant. Bread was served with the most wonderful sun-dried tomato relish that I just couldn't stop consuming. The wait service was the best I ever had. Our server was interesting, informative and attentive. The menu was shorter but loaded with interesting choices. The 3 of us chose different pasta dishes ranging from lobster ravioli, tasty gnocchi and Pappardelle Bolognese. I tried them all and all were excellent!!!!

This is an exceptional restaurant well worth checking out and then going back. I know I'll be back. So good!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.