About Bistro Jeanty

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (94)
Authentic (83)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Worth the Drive (76)
Good for a Date (64)
Comfort Food (61)
Romantic (61)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Cozy (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Casual (47)
Great for Lunch (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Fun (40)
Local Ingredients (32)
Fireplace (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Outstanding Value (16)
Business Meals (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Seasonal (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (10)
Historic (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, and great service. Defini ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, and great service. Definitely worth visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stay in Yountville at leat once a yea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We stay in Yountville at leat once a year, but it's been too long since we revisited Bistro Jeaunty. Boy, have we been missing out!

We dined Thursday, Feb, 16, 2017. Waiter was excellent, engaging and fun, as well as professional.

Food was same good stuff. The value of this little bistro cannot be beat in the valley.

Go, eat, enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, , Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were outstanding this particular evening,

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Jeanty has been a gem in the Napa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Bistro Jeanty has been a gem in the Napa Valley for many years and it never disappoints. The food is amazing the service is impeccable and the atmosphere makes you feel like you are in Europe. A must for an all around fabulous dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Organic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to restaurant when in Yountville. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Our go to restaurant when in Yountville. Great food and love the Cassoulet

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss the tomato soup! It sounds cr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Don't miss the tomato soup! It sounds crazy that at a world-class french restaurant, that is the go-to, but trust me you'll love it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day....and Philippe's Chocol ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day....and Philippe's Chocolate Bag with Raspberry Milkshake...so yummy!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Waitress was not French, but she was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The Waitress was not French, but she was extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. The ambiance is comfortable, but sophisticated rural French. The restaurant space is cozy and welcoming. We were lucky to sit next to locals who were more than willing to engage in friendly conversation with their neighbors. What a great experience :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visit Yountville every year at this t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We visit Yountville every year at this time and dining at Bistro Jeanty is a must. This year our visit fell on Valentine's Day, so we made sure to secure a reservation, but on a typical weekday evening we haven't before. The tomato soup is the best and something we always look forward to. We have eaten inside and on the patio, and neither has been disappointing. The staff is attentive. We will definitely keep coming back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a wonderful time....but they did not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful time....but they did not pay any attention to my request to be in the back room.

This was very important to me as

I had made the reservation and feel

if they had paid attention it would not have been any problem.

I would have left if they had not honored this request, they did however ....and there was plenty of room!

Why

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We chose the restaurant because it was n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We chose the restaurant because it was near our hotel and we're glad we did. The menu offered a good selection of French cuisine. Some items, like lambs tongue, are probably for the more adventurous diner! My husband and I shared the duck foie gras mousse. Served with only three small brioche toast corners, we were surprised to be charged for an additional three! Unfortunately these additional toasts also came with a long black hair on the plate! When I asked for a different plate, pointing it out, it was quickly picked up and replaced (without apology). My husband enjoyed his scallop special and my sole meunière on top of mashed potatoes was amazing. We shared some great Brussel sprouts, cooked perfectly with large pieces of ham-like bacon. The portions were large enough that we did not have room for dinner but enjoyed some great tasting coffee! A wonderful night despite the hair!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bistro Jante' is our personal favorite. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Bistro Jante' is our personal favorite. The food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! The service was just ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great! The service was just a little slow. After our starter soup, the entrees were served after a long wait of more than 15 minutes. Nevertheless, our dining experience was enjoyable. Reservations recommended as the place is quite popular and fills up fast.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As always, but haven't been in awhile, a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always, but haven't been in awhile, an awesome meal. Had my usual Cassoulet and Creme de Tomato en Croute and new, for us, Salade de Betteraves Heirloom Beets and started with Deviled eggs with black Truffle & Mache.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good. Great tomato bisque! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently good. Great tomato bisque! Love this place!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It has been more than 15 years since I l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It has been more than 15 years since I last ate here but I promise it won't take me that long to go back. Dinner was amazing! The most difficult part was deciding what to eat since there were so many choices, each one more enticing than the next. As a rabbit farmer I had to order the rabbit and I was so glad I did, best rabbit I have ever tasted. It was my lovers birthday and they comped us a scoop of ice cream with a candle, just perfect.

My only complaint would be the volume, it definitely is difficult to have a conversation. I was impressed that they did not have music, or if they did it was very quiet, because it would have made it even louder. I don't see how they could make the room less noisy, it is a small room with lots of happy people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to Bistro Jeanty many times ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been to Bistro Jeanty many times in the past and where there on a recent Saturday afternoon. It was nice becuase the restaurant was slow but the service has fallen off dramatically.

While the food was fine the service was terrible. We were not brought any bread. We had to ask. We were brought the wrong appetizers. The waitress removed "part" of the appetizers when were were still eating them. She took our flatware and left just a jar of pate on the table with no flatware or toast. She couldn't remember who had which entree.

In the middle of service she said "This is my Monday. I am having a hard time getting it together." We asked for the check twice. When it was finally brought to us the signature copy was missing. We needed to ask for that. To top it off she handed us a pen that didn't work. We were frustrated but laughed because we had seen her hand the same pen to two nearby tables.

Overall this was an disappointing and frustrating experience for the level of expectations we have for Bistro Jeanty. I don't think we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Not much to say other than it is always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not much to say other than it is always AWESOME!! It's must while in yountville or the valley area

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just fabulous! We have been going to thi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just fabulous! We have been going to this restaurant since it opened. It went thru a dumb period.............but it is BACK and worth a visit. We are locals and will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Whenever I visit Napa I try to include o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Whenever I visit Napa I try to include one meal at Cafe Jeanty. It always takes me back to France. I highly recommend this bistro to anyone who appreciates superior French cuisine and great service.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Drove all the way from Yakima Valley Was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Drove all the way from Yakima Valley Washington just to eat here and look forward to doing it again. The Pig's Feet and Bone Marrow Bones were out of sight.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVED the restaurant, our waitress wa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We LOVED the restaurant, our waitress was awesome and the food was unforgettable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In addition to the classic country Frenc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

In addition to the classic country French cuisine, fabulous wine list - by glass, carafe or bottle...well selected

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always end our Napa trips with a visi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We always end our Napa trips with a visit to Bistro Jeanty. This meal was as good as ever!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Roger is a gem! He has been there for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Roger is a gem! He has been there for years.

Service was right on.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want to have an amazing French b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

If you want to have an amazing French bistro meal while reasonably priced - head directly to Bistro Jeanty. Food is simple and great, reasonable wine list, friendly attentive service. I prefer to sit on the patio. It is open year around .

Steak Tartar and the Rabbit is to kill for. Everything else is also very good. Tres Bien!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been here several times when we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been here several times when we come to wine country. Food is excellent and our waiter, Dennis, was very informative regarding the many items on the menu. It is a great place to relax after an afternoon of wine tasting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always. Lots of good service a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great as always. Lots of good service and special attention for my 80th birthday""

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first experience with Frenc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first experience with French Country cuisine and it was quite the treat! We had escargot which was great and the fried goat cheese salad was fantastic! The tomato soup with the puff pastry cannot be missed....it was Amazing! We also tried their dessert special that night of Rice Pudding with Port Cherries and it was great as well! The meal felt heavy but it was a great finish to a day of wine tastings! This restaurant was recommended by many locals and they were not wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent environment and food, like bei ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent environment and food, like being in France with better service, would visit again, book early for weekends, a fantastic place

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of our favorites. Never get bo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Still one of our favorites. Never get bored with the menu. Plus it's great to walk in downtown Yountville.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely Disappointing !! We ordered 2 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Extremely Disappointing !!

We ordered 2 Entrecote Steaks, we noticed they changed the cut of meat to Rib-Eye, from previous visits. The meat was tough, chewy and terrible! All four (we split both) did not enjoy the entre....my dog got it when we returned home.

Lunch was a Birthday celebration and we brought a bottle of Champagne and a bottle of Chardonnay....we paid a "Corkage 750" fee of $25 (reasonable) but then we were charged an additional "Multi Corkage" fee of $35! No prior explanation! Ridiculous and just plain wrong!!

We have taken many people to this restaurant and between my mother-in-law and ourselves, we have visited BJ more than a dozen times in the past 18 months. So, I called BJ Friday morning at 8:53 am....left message....no return call as of Sunday 11:00 am! They do not care!

Our bill #30013 paid at 2:47 pm, server Jona E....was $275.40 w/o tip, my mother-in-law paid the cash tip. Of the total, $94.00 was for 2 glasses of "House Wine" and corkage fee's of $65!

Local wine was brought, no imports, we have the money, but we also have firm principals....we will not return!

Chuck Dooly & Kate Olivier

(561) 716-9600

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had an amazing time at Bistro Jeanty. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had an amazing time at Bistro Jeanty. It was our anniversary, and so we were sat at a small table next to the fireplace. Was really great. The service was amazing, and everyone acknowledged our anniversary. The good was equally incredible. The tomato soup and the bone marrow appetizers are a "must have." Incredible and interesting flavors. The scallops on the special menu were so delicious and cooked to perfection. We were too full to finish but did anyway as it was so delicious. Great salted caramel chocolate dessert too. Would recommend highly to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to meet friends for lunch or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place to meet friends for lunch or dinner. The food is really good and waiters are well informed and friendly. Tomato soup with puff pastry dome top is fabulous!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic ambiance. Food is wonderful w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic ambiance. Food is wonderful with an excellent wine selection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual. On our top three l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding as usual. On our top three list of favorite restaurants in the Napa Valley. Service was superior and all our requests were met with a smile!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Jeanty has long been a favorite o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bistro Jeanty has long been a favorite of ours and our friends and we make sure we go there every time we are in Napa. We love the atmosphere and the food is consistently good. Our favorite dish, which at lease one of us orders every single time is the Epaule de Porc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, , Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Forgot how great this restaurant is! Won ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Forgot how great this restaurant is! Wonderful food and solid service.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walked into to the restaurant and was re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Walked into to the restaurant and was really impressed with the main dining room setting. We had reservations. The hostess walked us to our table...outside on the covered patio. No background music, no table cloths... no ambiance at all. (There were tables in the main dining room that were not in use.) Service was very good. Bread was very hard. Beef and pork shoulder were very good. Onion soup was okay... Lacked the depth of flavor expected from the broth. I was disappointed overall, however, with just a few simple improvements (to the covered patio area) the ambiance would be the same for all customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

went for the Michelin recommendation. fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

went for the Michelin recommendation. food is ok. service person was not friendly because I gave less tips (7%) than usual(10-20%). I realized that later because this was the first time I paid a meal in the US. I lived in Germany and 7% is more than enough.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.