Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Bistro Jeanty

In everyday French life, it is the Bistro that is woven into the daily pattern of meals and celebrations. The only French owned and operated restaurant in Napa Valley, Bistro Jeanty has been received by patrons from all over as a true French bistro. The warm interior is a reflection of the casual elegance you find in every meal. Classic dishes such as Mussels au vin rouge, Cassoulet, or of course Philippe’s famed Tomato soup make you feel as if you really have traveled into the French countryside. From all of us here at Bistro Jeanty we invite you to come and share in the excitement of dining.

6510 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-0103

Website:
http://bistrojeanty.com/

Parking Details:
Bistro Jeanty has a few designated spots for the restaurant as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Jeanty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Jeanty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (147)
Good for a Date (108)
Authentic (105)
See All
Special Occasion (102)
Worth the Drive (97)
Notable Wine List (83)
Romantic (82)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Cozy (79)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Comfort Food (71)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Great for Lunch (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Local Ingredients (64)
Casual (58)
Fun (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Good for Groups (34)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Business Meals (28)
Fireplace (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Historic (23)
People Watching (23)
Great for Brunch (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Healthy (14)
Seasonal (12)
Family Style (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
5089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food! If you are a wine snob, I would suggest bringing your own and paying $25 corkage, after all, your in the wine country. If you have a small group and have had wine already,they have a decent selection of half bottles which would be best to put with your dinner. Half bottles start at $45

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

My family and I had a very positive experience at Bistro Jeanty for lunch. The food is always excellent, the service was perfect and the Sparkling Cocktails are delicious. We love having lunch on the patio, the atmosphere is always comfortable and we enjoy how dog friendly Bistro Jeanty is. I also appreciate how accommodating and kind they are to my little one who absolutely loves Bistro Jeanty Frits.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Spectacular as always. Best in the Valley, not even close. Bone marrow and the escargot were excellent!! Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Not a big fan of the food or overall experience. Appetizers were good after that entrees were downhill. Duck had to be sent back. Short ribs were just ok. Waiter apparently only felt comfortable suggesting wine that was $150 and up...really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We eat here frequently. The food is always outstanding & the lemon pie worth eating a meal just to get to dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent meal, service and ambiance. I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of booking and parking for this gem. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have been everywhere in win country to dine. But we will always make room for Bistro Jeanty. Their food never gets old. Their service is always impeccable. We love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful! We eat here every time we visit Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I've eaten at Bistro Jeanty countless times and it never disappoints. The food is phenomenal and I always allow the waiter to pair the wines accordingly. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Read other reviews about Bistro J being loud but food is totally worth it and I have to agree. we were seated outside and it was really hot on the patio. Reservation was at 7:15 pm. Cooled off and quieted down after 30-40 min. I started w the beet salad. It was amazing. Fresh, flavorful, amazing dressing. Hubby had truffle infused deviled eggs. Great dish. Had a few greens that went great w the egg flavor. My dinner was on the specials menu - seared scallops w corn & pea sauce over mashed potatoes. It was amazing. Can't believe I ate the whole thing. My husband had rabbit papparadelle. He enjoyed it very much. Darryl was our waiter. He was fun and had a lot of suggestions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was great! However our server was simply too busy to give us an outstanding service. The noise level is very high and the tables were so close together that you could hear your co diners conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Consistently good! Food is always fresh and atmosphere so inviting. Always hit this restaurant when in Yountville.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fifth time I think I have been there. Great meal as usual. We had the onion soup and tomato soup to start then the ham and cheese quiche and side order of frites - always a must in a bistro. The frites did not disappoint. Tomato soup was fantastic. Onion soup was a bit cheesy but good. Quiche was just the right amount and good. We were wine tasting that day so no wine at lunch although they had some good priced sancerres and other French whites. All that and for a great price. Definitely coming back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had the veal chop but it was underdone. The salad was great and my wife's dish the Coq au vin was quite good. Make sure you ask how much the daily specials are as you may be surprised by their price and should factor that into your decision.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

An excellent French restaurant. The food is outstanding while reasonably priced. My personal favorite is steak tartare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I was so pleasantly surprised with this Restaurant.
I would come back many times.
Starting with the service, it was exceptional. The waiter knew the menu by heart and he sold us every plate as the best. And they were!
The food was absolutely incredible. We tried different plates and we could not decide which one was best.
We will definitely come back!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were on a business/pleasure trip in sonoma and decided to go to Bistro Jeanty for lunch since we had been there on our last trip for dinner (and had loved it). Unfortunately we had horrible, apathetic kind of service and our food took forever. They also only had tropical ice tea vs regular. Not a good match w our food. Our food was good- pork shoulder dish and scallop special dish, but definitely not outstanding. Not worth the $28 and $36 per dish! Needless to say we were disappointed and will have to give caution to our friends who ask for recommendations in Napa area. We may try again someday, but will try some others first to see if we can find a new fav in Napa/ Yountville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

it's been good for years xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I always love going to Bistro Jeanty when in Yountville or Napa

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great ambiance and service. Cheese plate was actually the highlight of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Cute little French bistro style restaurant with great service, but the food was just OK. We went in mid-May and the menu was HEAVY and hot focused. Lots of cream, cream sauces, fat and heavy food. Few lighter options. Overall we were not impressed. Wine selection was great and the multiple sizing options (half carafe, etc) were great. But food was just OK and pretty basic. With all the options in Napa/Yountville I would not recommend this place.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was well prepared classic French bistro . Service level was superior. Server was knowledgeable. Overall positive experience. Happy to return.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! Try the tomato soup you will absolutely love it! The service is impeccable and presentation is perfect. I wish we would have come here sooner on our trip so we could have experienced more dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A perfect Mother's Day !
Roger & the staff were wonderful towards my four-legged daughter Jolie & we truly enjoyed DOG-MOM's day.
The food is always amazing and this is my favorite place to be when in Napa.
Thank you for a Great Dinning Experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This quaint an homey restaurant offers great menu items that would satisfy any palates. The usual suspects in the region may have the flare and recognition but I bet you none can prepare a great comfort dish as Bistro Jeanty. I had reservations at one of "those" restaurants but changed my mind after reviewing some of the dishes offered. The downfall with "those" restaurants, no pizzerias around to substitute for the portions the offer. All in all Bistro Jeanty offers quality, value, ambiance and great service. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers day

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We come here for many special occasions, including Christmas dinner and we're never disappointed. This time it was for Mothers Day and the food and ambiance was as good as ever. We always get the tomato soup along with other side dishes and entrees. This is one of our favorite places in the Napa Valley!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best tomato Soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Never disappoints! Wine country French restaurant jewel. Decor and food is authentic. You can order anything and you will be sooo happy! We drive an hour to get there-well worth it. Often have big family lunch there and everyone has great time(they request it also!)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time at Bistro Jeanty in a year. It is still the quintessential perfect French Bistro.
From the food preparation, quality, and service, it is a fabulous experience. The menu choices are a deep sample of classic French Bistro dishes.
We went back the following night.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unbelievably authentic and memorable French cuisine. We were a party of four and kept passing bites of everything to each other as we were all trying to decide who had ordered the tastiest dish. Appetizers; Pike Dumplings, Crispy pigs feet and foie gras in Sauternes gelee were off the charts. Main course special was veal chop with morels and Camembert sauce... I mean come on! Does it get any better than that? The coq au vin was also out of this world! Service was charming and efficient all at the same time. J'adore Jeanty!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have been coming to Bistro Jeanty since 2006 for every Mother's Day weekend. The food is delicious (steak and fries, quiche, stews, yum!) and the service terrific. The staff really wants you to have a wonderful dining experience and we always do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was great.The only reason I wont give 5 stars is the way their front receiving person behaved.we were 10 mnts early so wanted to know if we can be seated.She was stern,did not smile,told us she will seat us in 9 mints.When we went in exactly at 7 pm,she again was very rude expressions,not smiling saying will seat in 2 minutes.everyone in our party felt same way.But once we were taken inside ,everything was EXCELLENT!!food was fantastic and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A fantastic dinner with friends prior to going to the Lincoln Theater. Food was delicious

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ugly experience with the hostess who asked for my name 3 times and interpreted by taking a phone call without politely excusing herself. I was a none entity to her and I was there to celebrate my Birthday. I was the only person at the door. I have booked reservations for 15 years, will not nook again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The menu and ambience are très français. The restaurant sticks to a tried-and-true classic French formula. This time we had pig's knuckles and foie gras. Last time we had marrow bones. No experiments in fusion cuisine for Bistro Jeanty!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very comfortable, great service. Menu has gotten better with age. We'll be back

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Phenomenal meal that was like a quick trip to Paris. Wine list is extensive and deep. Service was good.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone I spoke to in Yountville recommended this place, with good reason. Excellent French food (a Frenchman in our group agreed), friendly service and a lovely ambience make this a great choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing food! Friendly staff and great ambiance. We will be back!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.