Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Bistro Cacao

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11 am - 4 pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday 11:30 am - 2 pm, Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Cozy (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Authentic (29)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 hours ago

Lunch on their lovely patio. I had the trout, which is very tasty. My husband had the Nicoise sandwich with fries. Both are excellent. We both love the fries, which are nice and crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Exquisite food, with premium service. And the ambiance is unique and charming. Great for a romantic dinner or a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience. Wonderful atmosphere. Great food and great service. Will definitely be back next time we are in DC.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Nice, quiet and very atmospheric in a late-19th century Parisian way. Excellent food and wine list; good service. The music contributes to the atmosphere. Recommended for intimate, romantic date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food and a beautiful place. Our server was very knowledgable, if a little overly familiar. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I loved it , don't miss out on trying this place !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Amazing atmosphere, hosts and waitstaff. The food was astounding and the atmosphere was cozy and romantic

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Surprisingly good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 20th wedding anniversary (we had dined at Two Quail -- the restaurant that preceded Bistro Cacao in this old row house on Capital Hill -- the night I proposed in 1996). The food was excellent as was the service and attention to our special occasion. Great for special occasions or a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Authentic French cuisine
Great wine list
Attentive, friendly service without being intrusive.
Three good reasons to return, so we booked again for our final meal in Washington

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Celebrated my birthday and our anniversary. Setting was very romantic, intimate, and interesting. There were red curtains around our table and rose petals on the table. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Being 9 mo pregnant, I got a mocktail and even that was outstanding. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was absolutely to die for. Our server was also very nice and friendly. We were given a complementary dessert for my birthday and some of the staff sang happy birthday to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Damien, Johnny and the manager (Carol...?) were great. My wife and I came to D.C. For our 25th wedding anniversary. I chose Bistro Cacao based on the great reviews and romantic decor. It exceeded our expectations. Food, ambiance and service. Great job!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. The restaurant was gorgeous and the staff was very warm and friendly. The food was superb and well definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants! Not only is the staff some of the best (so friendly and accommodating), the chef does an amazing job with all my allergies! And not to mention, they take the time to know their clients!!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent meal as always at this French gem near Union Station and the Capitol. Great wine list, attentive service, genuine French cuisine. Recommended. Loud Germans next door but the French win this battle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went here last night for my wife's birthday celebration. It was a bit chilly so we requested a table near the fire pit. The first table we were offered was a bit close to another couple so we got another table away from the fire pit. As we were looking at the menu, I saw the manager re-arranging some tables near another fire pit. A couple of moments later, he came by and offered the table that he had just re-arranged. That is going above and beyond. The rest of the evening followed the same high standard of service set by the manager. Excellent food, service, and ambience. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service was tremendous and the food was original and tasty!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

What an amazing place to take your sweetheart. The ambiance is pretty nice and the service is top notch. Our waiter was very helpful with the food and wine pairings. Speaking of the food, DELICIOUS!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Really enjoyed it. The service was except and the food is very good and getting better each time I go.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2017

I was a bit disappointed this go around. Perhaps it was simply an off day for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Brought my girlfriend here for her birthday/our anniversary and we both loved it. The service was great, we were always being checked up on. Food was amazing. And the overall atmosphere was wonderful. The seats were cozy and table setting was cute and romantic. Prices were also reasonable! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was delicious. Better than I had anticipated. I would highly recommend this place for date night, anniversary or any type of occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Tres francais. The menu has the classics. We both had the magret de canard, which had a little ginger in it for variety.

The decor is high class French bordello - not that I have ever seen one, but I have read about such things. Red velvet curtains, red beaded chandeliers, slightly beat up but very comfortable furniture, Syrian waiters attempting French accents, etc.

It is only a 10-15 walk from Union Station.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I love this place. The food and service are always exceptional. Last night our service was extremely slow but we enjoyed ourselves nevertheless. Great venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This place is absolutely stellar. The manager is just a gem, the servers are incredibly nice, the ambiance is unbeatable, the decor is stunning but the food... The food is a star. Absolutely fantastic. You will not choose a bad dish. If I didn't live in NJ this would be my go to. It is pricey but no more than any other place that serves similar items. Speaking of similar, this place is one of a kind and thoug they have chicken, steak, salmon, lamb, etc, it is NOT comparable to other places. It's unique, the flavors all compliment eachother and I wish I lived closer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We loved our French wine that the waiter recommended. The mussels we ordered for appetizer didn’t taste fresh and were very small. My rack of lamb was delicious and my husbands duck was just ok. The desserts were yummy the chocolate filled cake and cheesecake.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The owner of this place lacks professionalism. Make sure your party doesn't change last minute or she will let you know how upset she is due to her troubles. Food is mediocre at best. There Sangria was awesome as well as Bridget the server. Great patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, excellent customer service, the apple dessert it's to die for. Keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was tasty as usual, but the weekend brunch menu has changed slightly and it was disappointing that the bread/French pastry basket is now smaller and not included in the meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was truly perfect from the minute we walked thru the door. Service was exceptional, food was delicious, everything was perfect. Strongly recommend for a nice evening out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We so enjoyed this restaurant. The food was fantastic and cooked perfectly. The suggestions of our server were right on and especially the wine selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great restaurant. My only comments is that the appetizers were the best part.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wanted to take my wife out to a romantic dinner for her birthday. This place was perfect for the occasion. Food was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good welcome accompanied by a very Courteous and professional service - the atmosphere is so special if you like French ambiance - good value for money... you have to try

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food and service! Ambience was great and when in DC again we plan on visiting the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Always a big hit with friends, and for me. Ambiance is good, quiet enough for serious or private conversations, and the Salmon was perfectly done!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The service was rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

5 couples getting together while traveling. Had semi private area opening to patio. No one ordered same item and all were superb. Service exceptional. Wonderful evening. Would recommend highly to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The filet minon meltrd like butter in your mouth and the apple pastry is transcendent when properly paired with a muscato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.