About Bistro Cacao

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11 am - 4 pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday 11:30 am - 2 pm, Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Romantic (71)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Cozy (59)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Authentic (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Private Room (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fireplace (8)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Family Style (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
2042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our first time there, and everyth ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our first time there, and everything went the best it could have. I was not disappointed. The food was amazing, the service was better and the ambiance was perfect. Thanks for a great visit. It's now my favorite restaurant so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for our Valentine's Day din ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for our Valentine's Day dinner. Bistro Cacao did not disappoint. The food, service, charm, friendliness, and hospitality of the entire restaurant was, in a word, superb! The Valentine's Day Prixe Fixe Menu was very nice and comforting. The Pate de Faison (Pheasant Pate) was very will done.

I would have liked to see a more creative menu offering from the restaurant for Valentine's Day. There was nothing wrong with the Valentine's Day menu but it's something you can probably get at most other fine dining restaurants. I believe Bistro Cacao is a cut above the normal. Their regular menu is far more creative and inspiring. I will definitely come back to enjoy and sample more of the creative dishes they offer. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dining here is a mistake, I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's dining here is a mistake, I didn't know Prefix is the only option for four course tiny dishes for the price of $100/person. Lets just say we left hungry... My husband was surely disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

My wife and I went to Bistro Cacao for V ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went to Bistro Cacao for Valentine's Day dinner. The place was absolutely beautiful, the service was great, and the food was delicious. It was very expensive for Valentine's Day because the price was set per person, but it was worth it to have the perfect date. I'd recommend it to anyone looking to indulge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a Valentine Day lunch and it wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for a Valentine Day lunch and it was perfect. Food and service was right on. I have been here for diner and now I will be adding lunch to my schedule. The atmosphere was in tune with the day.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my wife out on an early Valentine ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took my wife out on an early Valentine's Day date and the restaurant was spectacular! Food was great, service was amazing, and it was truly an experience I have never had at a restaurant before. I would definitely recommend this Bistro Cacao for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great,very romantic. Something on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was great,very romantic. Something on the menu for everyone, get the scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and my wife went here for Valentines ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Me and my wife went here for Valentines Day and its a very quaint place but it has a very romantic vibe to it. We had a very good time, the service was exceptional and the food was exquisite. I would definitely go here again for a good date night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic and even gave my date a ro ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very romantic and even gave my date a rose after we sat down. Food was amazing and phenomenal service. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and night there!!! Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience and night there!!! Food and service are all excellent!

I love the grilled quail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food first and foremost. Very g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fabulous food first and foremost. Very good, knowledgeable service. Kind of funky but quite pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Escargot was tender but flavor was nothi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Escargot was tender but flavor was nothing more than garlic.

Salmon was little over done . Most disappointing part was dessert , menu said puffed pastry so I was not thinking cream puffs but that's what it was.

Restaurant week menu wasn't worth our money.

Although I was told that pate, roasted rabbit and boar supposed to be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Tried the Sunday brunch. The food was w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tried the Sunday brunch. The food was wonderful, tasty and service friendly and efficient.

The Mango mousse was heavenly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time at Bistro Cacao. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our 2nd time at Bistro Cacao. The food was very good but we had to ask our waiter on two occasions to bring clean knives (three knives were dirty with dry food stuck on the knives). Something to improve!

Patricia Fauvel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, tried out this place during ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, tried out this place during the DC 2017 restaurant week. The food was great and the environment was very unique and gives a good family-owned vibe. Will definitely come back and try out their Chef's tasting menu.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Restaurant Week, so 3 friends a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was Restaurant Week, so 3 friends and I decided to try a new place. We were very pleased with the food and friendly service. I really liked the ambiance. With several smaller rooms, it definitely cuts down on the noise level. We all agreed, we would return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Best lobster bisque I've had and the Bis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Best lobster bisque I've had and the Bistro salad with grilled shrimp is fantastic. One of my favorite meals in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary on restaurant w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for our anniversary on restaurant week. Romantic ambiance, delicious food and great service. Good wine list with reasonable price range. They had prix fixe menu with several good choices and also a la carte. The creme brulee trio for dessert was amazing.

They gave us some delicious port on a plate with good wishes for our special day.

We had a great experience and hope to come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have now twice requested a very quiet ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have now twice requested a very quiet table when I made my reservation. They did a great job of putting my party in a quiet spot both times,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and excellent staff, very ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food and excellent staff, very helpful, great wine list. I will go back again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, fabulous service - there ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious food, fabulous service - there when needed but not hovering. Always a great choice with many waitstaff being there for several years.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Resto week: extremely and positively goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Resto week: extremely and positively good experience. Attentive service & delicious food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Four of us went for Restaurant Week. Tw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Four of us went for Restaurant Week. Two had trout; one had a salad with salmon ( she has a gluten problem) and I had hangar steak. The food was outstanding. I do not normally eat steak, but the hangar steak here was wonderful. The service was also outstanding. Bistro Cacao has developed a devoted following and I can see why. I have been here several times and I have always had an outstanding meal. We will all go back again during the year. I highly recommend Bistro Cacao.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went out for restaurant week. 35$ ap ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went out for restaurant week.

35$ appetizer, entrée, dessert

The duck was so good!!!

I wish I remember our waiters name... Sam? Mark?

Idk but he was very good.

And he knew the gluten free menu by memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited here recently, as I always enj ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I visited here recently, as I always enjoy their rack of lamb. This time, however, it was a bit too salty for my taste. Our appetizers and the desserts were fine, but I was a tad disappointed that the delicate flavor of the lamb was overpowered by a salty jus, as was the duck. that masked the entrée. Hopefully, this was an off night, but if not, they need to re-think the salt level in food. Service, as always was friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere is always a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love this place and have been several ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love this place and have been several times. While it was Restaurant Week which allows for some additional liberties, I did feel primarily that the dessert was quite underwhelming. The entrees were excellent though. The service was great but for a multi course meal, it seemed that the kitchen was pushing meals almost too fast. In addition, for a late dinner I felt it to be exceedingly brightly lit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Really nice and pleasant service. Food i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Really nice and pleasant service. Food is really good and cooked as in France (except for the French fries). Although the place is full of France's clichés (the decorations, the music), the mood is intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service and food. Ambience was per ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service and food. Ambience was perfect. A must do for the romantics

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Damian was personable and made us feel r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Damian was personable and made us feel relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Exceeded expectations. Nice "Frenchy" d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Exceeded expectations. Nice "Frenchy" decor and very personable server.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, as always, was great, from soup to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food, as always, was great, from soup to entree special. Wine list is extensive. Service is excellent. The 'booths' formed by draped curtains make for a quiet, intimate dinner for two. Bistro Cacao is a terrific choice, whether for a special occasion or just a very pleasant dinner out.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience was beautiful as usual and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The ambience was beautiful as usual and the food was outstanding!

Our server got a bit carried away and could barely check on us; however, his colleague noticed us and immediately began assisting. Excellent team work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I reserved a table for 11 initially for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I reserved a table for 11 initially for a small office baby shower. The day before I had to add 3 additional people and was told that they would need to move us to a private room AND that I would have to choose a pre-selected menu for the group.

To my surprise, EVERYTHING was perfect when we arrived. We were in a quaint room on the second level. They had even remembered to add an extra table for the gifts. I couldn't have been more satisfied.

The wait staff went above and beyond for us. Everything ran so smoothly. THANK YOU.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really liked the way this place is lai ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I really liked the way this place is laid out and the bottomless mimosa deal is pretty great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic meal. This spot is deceiving f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic meal. This spot is deceiving from the exterior; it's actually 4 townhouses inside - all kinds of nooks and crannies. Our table felt like a throwback first class train dining room compartment, complete with velvet drapes. Our table had escargots, swordfish, arugula salad, filet mignon, and steak frites. All delicious. Service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed a location near union station. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We needed a location near union station. I found Bistro Cacao on OpenTable and we were so pleased with our meal here. The staff was so friendly and we had a relaxing and delicious meal. It was also only a few blocks away from the train station –– perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to Washington DC for a long week ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We came to Washington DC for a long weekend and are SO happy to have found this restaurant. The restaurant has numerous small dining areas that allow you to easily talk with your dinner companions. The menu is large and varied and the four of us each got different entrees and appetizers. All the items we received were beyond compare. This was the best restaurant of our trip so good that we considered returning the next night. Do not hesitate to enjoy this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Cacao always delivers an excellen ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Bistro Cacao always delivers an excellent experience. We live nearby and go here often for dinner, weekday lunch and weekend brunch. Indoor or outdoor, the atmosphere and service are professional and friendly, the food is fresh, flavorful and interesting, the wine list thoughtful, and the prices represent very good value. This past weekend, with a friend visiting, we each had the chef's six course tasting menu with an excellent red Burgundy. For me, the Chilean Sea Bass is the best dish in Washington but everyone loved every dish along with the chef's personal attention.

Washington is now a serious foodie town and Bistro Cacao is one of its very best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food, warm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, warm ambience. Would highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has a very interesting de ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The restaurant has a very interesting decor, most smaller tables are draped by red curtains with moulin rouge paintings on the wall. The dim lights on the tables give it a romantic ambiance. The ambiance and good service make visiting this restaurant fun.

The food was a bit less exciting. The French soup and beet salad were quite good, but the escargots were overly dry and tasteless.

The pistachio encrusted sea bass was over cooked and almost dry. The duck was tasty but under cooked which made it but hard to cut even with a sharp knife.

The poached pear desert was ok. Could have been better with less chocolate. Overall the food was fair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.