Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Bistro Cacao

Where Romance meets Flavor… At Bistro Cacao, chef-owner Kemal Deger brings nearly 25 years of culinary expertise to your table. In Bistro Cacao’s historic location we now invite you to enjoy our new concept of modern bistro-style French cuisine in a romantically charming and comfortable setting blending old France with modern creative touches.

320 Massachusetts Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11 am - 4 pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Lunch: Monday 11:30 am - 2 pm, Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd and 4th NE

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 546-4737

Website:
http://www.bistrocacao.com/

Catering:
Yes we do Cater

Public Transit:
Union Station red line three blocks away

Executive Chef:
Kemal Deger

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

All type of private events welcome, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cocktail etc. Green Room, up to 26 people Red Room, up to 40 people Rouge Room, up to 16 people Cacao Wine Bar, up to 50 people cocktail, receptions, happy hours etc. Private outdoor available.

Bistro Cacao Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (81)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Cozy (58)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Historic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful for occasions--this time our anniversary dinner. Always have liked indoor seating, but weather cooperated and outdoor seating for six worked great. All the food was delicious and very good value. Coquilles St Jacques appetizer and bouillabaisse entree were favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is excellent and I will always recommend it to people who visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

A lovely evening at Bistro Cacao. It's a pretty restaurant with intimate seating, comfy chairs with pillows and soft lighting. Very inviting.
The smoked salmon appetizer was attractive and tasty. Their salad with apples, blu cheese and raspberry vinaigrette was fresh and good
Hangar steak and pomme frittes were perfectly cooked. The sea bass with beets were also good.
There's a good wine list too. Service was terrific and friendly.
We are visiting DC, but we'd return if we visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere, quite, and romantic.
The food is outstanding. Try the specials, they're usually to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great setting and excellent food. Every city should have one.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The waiter wss good but quirky. All the staff worked together to ensure good service. The food was good and the flavors were balanced. The bottomless mimosas were well done and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We are in from Rochester, NY for a realtor conference, and this is our second time dining here. We returned because we love it! Unfortunately, traffic jams made us late for our reservation, and the staff could not have been nicer about it. We are likely to return next time we are in Washington!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere. Cozy shabby chic interior. We went for Mother's Day dinner and enjoyed every course of the chef's tasting menu. Damian was our server. Very attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day brunch location. Very few children but the staff accommodated my two elementary-aged boys perfectly fine. Great food, great service. Be prepared for a very (intentionally) leisurely meal with many courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bon Appetit! Authentic French cuisine & decor; you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this best-kept secret. Been here three times in a year, dining both indoors in the armchairs, and outdoors on a lovely day. Quiet and cozy, its so nice and rare to be able to converse easily. Rich decor but not stuffy or pretentious, and the cuisine is top-notch but not "frou-frou." Every bite is amazing. This foodie is generally not a French-food fan, but their menu has broader appeal than the escargot-onion-mushroom focus of many French restaurants. Tight menu from a tiny kitchen but every item is stellar. Extensive wine selection. Reasonably priced, and special prix-fixe menus are perfectly portioned. Excellent service, very relaxing--no employees seemed stressed. Was delighted they always had an open table even on holidays--good for my poor prior planning. One of the few places left to actually take reservations. Afraid others will find out about it. Shhhhh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cacao pays close attention to both food and attentive service, and courses move along at the typical leisurely, but not neglectful pace that defines the French. Flavors are abundant and precise, and balanced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Bistro Cacao is one of the best restaurants in DC! I highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went there this past Sunday evening, March 7, 2017. This is an incredibly romantic restaurant with amazing service and fantastic food. The tables for two have red curtains around them that create an increased sense of privacy, there is quiet French music playing in the background, and the serving staff are attentive yet unobtrusive. I was there with my wife to celebrate 30 years together and it was everything I could have hoped it would be. The atmosphere was such that even mediocre food would have been ok, but the food was fantastic. She had the rack of lamb and I had the sea bass - both delicious. The wines suggested were perfectly matched to the dishes, and we topped it off by sharing an order of profiteroles. The bill was not cheap, but it certainly wasn't outrageous for what we got. Also it isn't a place where they focus on rapid turnover. We ate at a leisurely pace and never felt rushed. I should note that they have tables for larger parties and I would certainly go there with friends. I highly recommend Bistro Cacao to anyone looking for wonderful evening's escape from the outside world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really good food in a really neat ambiance, and with a front and serving staff whose members are gracious and highly competent. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We like the place. It feels like you might have taken a short trip to Paris, at times.

We ordered a special appetizer which was pan seared foie-gras. A nice portion and presentation but it was lukewarm at best and that detracted from the enjoyment.

I had the bouillabaisse which was very nice. My wife had the sea bass and she enjoyed it.

Our friend had the frog legs and remarked that it was not tasty. He enjoyed his entree and his wife said the grouper special was excellent.

We had a little discussion with the waiter about his presentation of a half bottle of wine. He appeared with a carafe of wine which surprised our European guests who asked to see the bottle. His body language expressed exasperation but he came back with a full size bottle that had not been opened. It may have been a small point but he seemed to not understand the questioning. If you order a half bottle as it appears on the menu, then a half bottle should be presented. Instead an unidentifiable carafe appeared. He asked "You mean you don't trust me?"

Again, not a big deal and it did not affect our experience greatly but it was easily avoidable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing meal! The service was divine! The food awesome. My whole group enjoyed the experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed Bistro Cacao very much. It was our first time there and it was what you would want in a good French restaurant. It's in a multi-roomed older home that is decorated in quasi-turn-of-the century bordello style with dark red draperies, etc. The ambiance is very cozy and the food was excellent, a mid-day Brunch on Sunday. My quiche was very tasty and my wife enjoyed her cinnamon -flavored French toast. We highly recommend this restaurnat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The best French restaurant in DC! The atmosphere, food, staff, and overall dining experience is consistently excellent. I highly recommend Bistro Cacao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and wine were the best I've had anywhere (and I have been to many that are regarded as NYC's best). Highly​ recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We sat outside. Service was very good and the food even better. The boulliabaisse and venison meals were both superb. We found it a little odd that our wine bottle was not left at our table, but was kept by the server. I expect it has to do with keeping the bottle cold - it was a white - and perhaps they treat reds differently.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We have been to this restaurant before, and as we were back in Washington we made a point of returning. We ate outside, the food was excellent and the service also.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

1 year anniversary :)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food and service at reasonable prices. Although decaf coffee is usually mundane, theirs is superb. We went for a Sunday brunch before seeing someone off on the train and are looking for a return visit for dinner some evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the chefs tasting menu and we were blown away at every course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I eat here a lot. It is consistently: delicious, delightful and friendly. I highly recommend. Do yourself a favor zinc have the nicoise sandwich with well done fries. Heaven. The hostess and waitstaff make you feel like you are at home and are excellent at accommodating all your needs. One of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

What a neat place! Perfect place for a romantic dinner. Really unique setting and friendly wait staff. They even surprised us with a little anniversary dessert after reading a note in our reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This is a unique, friendly place. We could not have asked for more attentive service and the food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food never disappoints, and the waiter was excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Since the start we had an excellent experience. It was my wife's birthday and they arranged one of their best table for us. Amazing food and stunning decoration at the main room. All the staff was extremely polite and nice, from the hostess, the bartender and the waiter. I want to thank Bistro Cacao for providing an wonderful night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went to Bistro Cacao for dinner, my wife and I. I ordered the Bouillabaisse and was disappointed because it lacked its most important ingredient: the 'rouille', without which it is just a banal fish stew.
My dessert was a poached pear with wine sauce and chocolate. Unfortunately, it was not warm enough.
Altogether, an average dining experience but in a nice setting.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing ambiance! Very stylish and comfortable seating. Delicious flavorful steaks! Staff made it a Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, and service was great

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food, service and ambiance are excellent! Had the rack of venison in port wine this time, and it was perfectly prepared. Strongly recommend for dessert the pear in red wine that is dusted with cinnamon and covered with chocolate sauce and creme fraiche -- it was fabulous! Love the candied ginger that's available on the way out, too. Have eaten there many times before, and intend to do so many times in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful. It was my boyfriend's birthday and I had to eat then get to the JFK Center by 7. I told them this and they were very accommodating. I was in and out within the hour. Awesome!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My friend and I came here for a lovely dinner outside to celebrate her birthday. It was a delicious meal. The bouillabaisse was so flavorful. The broth was incredible. My friend ordered the chicken, which was super tender and tasty. We had some lovely Sauvignon Blanc to complement the meal. And shared the mousse for her birthday dessert (not my favorite part of the meal but good nonetheless).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had such an amazing time with my date. Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Take advantage of the chefs tasting menu! Almost every dish was not on the regular menu...including and adventurous braised rabbit with chestnuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a tremendous experience, but first, when you book, you should probably call and ensure that you are having a private booth or table. In our case, we were a party of two and put into a booth/room with another couple, so it was more or less impossible to have a private conversation, but in our case this proved hilarious as we enjoyed the company of the other party immensely. The lamb shank was to die for and the duck quite good. It's a gorgeous venue in general and the portions are substantial. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.