Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Birroteca - Baltimore

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday, 5pm -7pm , Saturday & Sunday, 12pm- 5pm at the bar

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning an intimate family gathering, rehearsal dinner or your next business social, you can coordinate with our attentive and knowledgeable staff to create a unique, one of a kind experience!
Private Party Contact: Jordan Depriest ,
Jordan@bmorebirroteca.com 443-708-1934

Parking Details:
Two private parking lots available. Free parking.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Matt Campbell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay informed about our upcoming special events http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/baltimore-events

Specials

SPARKLING SWINE SUNDAYS

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Magnificent Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

TASTER TUESDAYS

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Thirsty Dog Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

SPARKLING SWINE SUNDAYS

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$20 Flights & Bites Featuring Three Sparkling Wines Paired with Three Charcuterie Selections. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 3, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Magnificent Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Drink Specials All Night (At Bar Only) $3 EVO drafts, $5 wines, $8 Apertivo Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 3, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

TASTER TUESDAYS

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

6 oz. Tasting Glasses of Any Draft Beer for $2. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 3, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

$.05 Glass of Wine with the Purchase of any Pizza, and Select $20 Bottles of Wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 3, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Thirsty Dog Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

ON THE PATIO....$3 EVO Drafts until 8 pm and free ice cream treats for the dogs (weather permitting). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 3, 2017 - Oct 31, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (49)
Good for a Date (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Casual (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fun (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Cozy (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Authentic (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tapas (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (4)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to Birroteca twice in the past month and absolutely love it! I am a vegetarian and there so so many options. The waitress was also very accommodating to our needs. I would definitely recommend this place to others and I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the atmosphere and the food was great:)
I thought it would be hard to hear each other but it was fine. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

It was fine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service and food always reliably excellent. Try the Brussel Sprouts! You won’t be sorry!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Mussels were quite good and nicely presented and the bread was out of this world. Brussel Sprouts were generously given, but too greasy and overdone for me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Be careful where you are seated! On Open Table three options are given, Standard, High Top and Outdoor. I selected Standard and booked a week in advance. Was not happy to be put outdoors on a 50 degree night with no coats. When asked to be moved, was told everything was reserved but I could try for a seat at the bar. The Outdoor area has absolutely no charm and had about two or three other diners, and lots of empty tables. Our waitress was not knowledgeable about the menu, and forgot to bring my husband's soup. Very disappointed in a restaurant I had previously enjoyed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our group enjoyed the menu choices and our waitress was very helpful and attentive. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This place is consistently good.Weeknights are a little less crowded which helps with the noise level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We won't be back. Waitress didn't know anything About menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We love it here but this is the worst meal we have had. Our apps and entrees came at the same time, the whole meal was rushed. Server forgot drinks, food was poorly cooked etc. Our out of town guests were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The beer and cocktails were very tasty. We followed that up with the Brussels sprouts which were satisfyingly bitter and crunchy. Next we ordered the duck pizza and mushroom pizza which were both delicious as well as the wild boar pasta and creamy polenta. My two favorite dishes were the polenta and mushroom pizza. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. My only criticisms are that the pasta portions are on the small side for sharing and that the dining room gets very loud. Other than that I thought the experience was very pleasant and I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Have been here many times . we were a group of 5 so split 3 appetizers -The Brussel sprouts (outstanding), the muscles (not fully up to par), and the octopus( really wonderful. For mains we had 2 orders of the Family Duck ( finger licking good) I have had the duck several times over the last few years -it is always fantastic , and always served a little different. The salad that came with it was memorable . Interesting wine list and good value.
Our service was spot on. Always there but never in your face.
It was a 5+ for overall.
Birroteca is noisy, in fact -the noise chase me away. WE ate outside in the covered patio- we could actually talk. It is possible that I will limit my visits to those days that I can be seated on the patio, or very late when it is quieter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

*UPDATED*
My wife and I enjoyed a date where we order 3 appetizers, I had a cocktail and a beer, and we ordered one pizza. Our server Louis was one of the best we've ever had. It was a really fun night.

The food was delicious. I ended up getting really sick a few hours later—not sure if it was the Spicy Italian Pizza (the only thing I ate that my wife didn't eat) or just a 24-hour bug.

Still an amazing evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

One of the best place for foodies in Baltimore. Everything on the menu is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We LOVED it! We can't wait to go back to try different entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have been to Birroteca once before, and it was noisy; but this past Saturday was horrible. There was a group of 16 yo celebrating a sweet 16, and the noise level was off the charts. Our waitress had clearly too many tables- we sat for 15 minutes before anyone came over. Our food came out at all different times. We rarely saw the waitress, and had to ask several times for items (like a fork). The service and noise ruined the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to Birroteca on a Saturday. Our reservations were for 5:30 (which is all we could get last minute). There were four of us and we stayed there for over four hours. We never once felt pressed to leave. Our waitress was perfect. She knew the menu and she was very informative. We had the Calamari alla Plancha and the tomatoes for appetizers. For dinner we had Spicy Italian Pizza and Handmade Pappardelle. Both were perfectly cooked and delicious. I would recommend going here for any occasion!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wow. The team at Birroteca exceeded my expectations. They delivered outstanding service, delicious food and cocktails, and great recommendations. Birroteca helped create a very special evening with my out-of-town guests. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Birroteca is a great eclectic locavore type of restaurant. I usually get a pizza- great choices there. But the menu has italian and spanish influences, so you get great pastas, risottos, but also octopus, charcuterie, cheeses, and some very unique dishes. all well prepared. the drink menu is as creative as the food menu - whether you like beer, wine, spirits, cocktails- or water. I do not remember ever being disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The charcuterie gentleman, Rob, was a wonderful delight!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Casual, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Bar Seating, Organic, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Once again, a fabulous meal. Reasonably priced. We had friends meet us from PA. They were enamored immediately. They shared the cheese plate that was prepared at the bar while they waited for our arrival. We shared four wonderful entrees. I have never been disappointed at Birroteca.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I would like to see more vegetarian menus. Something I missed. Also, most restaurants provide bread and olive oil to start even before we place our first order. I am surprised that this restaurant doesn't provide one. Also, something has to be done about the parking area. It is very uneven and with lots of gravel. It could potentially hurt people. Especially old people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Nice stone and wood beam interior. Family friendly. Excellent bar. Decent food

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

A wonderful experience for our company celebration. Special thanks to our wonderful server Zen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server was awesome. It was however EXTREMELY busy and she had the whole room, weeds. It was pretty loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food. A fly was bothering us. But the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Bottomless bloody/mimosa/EVO brews, plus breakfast and non/breakfast items to choose from - how could you go wrong?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

There were some very large parties that really bogged down the service. I've been here several times, the food never disappoints, but it took a very long time to get served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Birroteca is one of our top 5 spots, and our last experience only secured the restaurant's status for us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Birroteca is a "go to" place for us if we are looking for good food and good beer offerings. Staff is attentive, fun and the atmosphere is cozy and lively. We always can count on a quality food and good conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good food, excellent service. The negative is that the talk table area is so loud we could not hear one another talking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Birrotecca never disappoints! If the weather is nice, be sure to sit outside - it's private, shaded, and lovely.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife goes to Birroteca almost once a month, and I've been at least a half dozen times, and I always forget how consistently good the food is, and how friendly the staff. This time the polenta with fresh corn and the red shrimp risotte were the outstanding components, d the mussels very good, whereas the spicy roasted chick peas were a little saltier and spicier than would seem optimal. Nonetheless it was a very good meal overall, the outdoor seating is quieter than ndoor, and despite being packed on a Friday night the service was quick, friendly, and accurate.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice experience. Very good food, pleasant staff, enjoyable setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Wonderful waiter. Incredible experience. Great appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love this place. The steak tartare is to die for and the duck duck goose pizza is amazing!! It's a little pricey but it's worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Vegan, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

First time at Birroteca. We loved it! Wait staff was friendly and attentive, great selection of beers, and fabulous food. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

What an amazing place! From the food to the service, they always exceed expectations. Try the Duck duck goose pizza and wash it down with a delicious local beer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, amazing beer selection

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.