Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Birroteca - Baltimore

Located in the Hampden/Woodberry area of Baltimore, we're the destination for modern, rustic Italian cuisine, crafted using ingredients sourced from local ranchers, farmers and local fisherman. Guests enjoy communal dining service in a refined, casual setting. We offer 24 craft beers on tap in addition to an Italian focused wine list, and unique craft cocktails prepared with artisan distilled spirits and house-made mixes.

1520 Clipper Mill Rd
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday, 5pm -7pm , Saturday & Sunday, 12pm- 5pm at the bar

Cross Street:
Clipper Mill Road & Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(443) 708-1934

Website:
http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning an intimate family gathering, rehearsal dinner or your next business social, you can coordinate with our attentive and knowledgeable staff to create a unique, one of a kind experience!
Private Party Contact: Jordan Depriest ,
Jordan@bmorebirroteca.com 443-708-1934

Parking Details:
Two private parking lots available. Free parking.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk from the Light Rail MTA stop at Woodberry

Executive Chef:
Matt Campbell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Stay informed about our upcoming special events http://www.bmorebirroteca.com/baltimore-events

Specials

$23 - Wild Boar Bolognese

Specials

$23 - Wild Boar Bolognese
Details

Wild Boar Bolognese made with Handmade Pappardelle and Parmesan

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 28, 2017

Ends: October 28, 2017

Availability: Sun-Thu 5:00PM-6:30PM 9:00PM-10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in a historic 19th century mill building, Birroteca is the perfect venue for your next private function. Our menu offers rustic, Italian cuisine complemented by a selection of 24 craft beers on tap, an "Italian" focused wine list and unique craft cocktails.

Birroteca - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Great Beer (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Fun (30)
Casual (29)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Authentic (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Happy Hour (14)
Family Style (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. We had salad, bruschetta, spaghetti, and pizza. All great. Nutella cheesecake was perfect! Great service.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

A great spot for pizza, pasta, and wine! A nice ambiance as well.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, very noisy in the bar although that is the best place to sit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is consistently excellent and the service exceptional. We eat there frequently because it's a very pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

I personally wasnt thrilled with the menu. But I was trying to satisfy to taste personalities. Beer selection is great. Cocktails well made.
AC was blasting. It was 90 the day before guys only 70 that day. (Just saying...)
Dining area is cramped and LOUD. Go for bar area if you can All in all. I'd go back

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Amazing food, friendly service, cozy ambiance (even in the bar area), and amazing drink menu. They are always on point when we go. We all got pizzas which are tdf. They even ha e gluten free crust for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food especially the famous Brussels sprouts! Never had a bad meal. Service is friendly and not overbearing. Pizza is also fantastic! If you've never been, check it out!

Tags: Wood Oven, Historic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic spot for mother's day meal. Excellent food and service. Our server said it was his first day on the job; he was fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived early on a busy day for our reservations and were seated immediately. service was fast and attentive, menu had original brunch items and part of their regular menu, so everyone was able to find something they liked. Outdoor space was nice. Excellent beer selection and the waitress offered great advice.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

After several false starts this unusual location has finally found a good fit. Nice re-use of an old building without being precious. Food is surprisingly good. While known for their beer and artisan pizza, be sure to try other items as well. The night we were there, the Caprese salad - often just a pleasant placeholder in the appetizer menu - was worth the trip all by itself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I rarely write a review, and when I do, I tend to write favorable reviews. However, our experience at Birroteca on Friday night was not particularly favorable. It was very loud in the bar area where we were seated for our 8:30pm reservation. Sadly, our food did not arrive to our table until nearly 10:00pm. The explanation was that lots of people were ordering pizzas and so the kitchen was backed up. And once served, the pizza was really only of average quality. I am sorry that I cannot write about a more positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My past experiences at this restaurant have been very good but after Friday night's experience, I honestly hesitate to visit here again. We ordered two pizzas and only one showed up; apparently, the other one was dropped...it took another 45 minutes for its replacement to show up. The waitress seemed overextended, with too many tables, and we were left waiting for drink refills for entirely too long. The waitress whisked the leftover pizza away without even asking if we'd like to wrap it up to take home, and at that point, I felt as if she was more interested in getting us out of there than in serving us any longer. Top all of this off by the fact that we were screaming to be heard among ourselves; they could use some noise softening measures. We left there wondering if Birroteca has become a victim of its own success. Very disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 1, 2017

With an incredibly inventive menu and a great beer selection, Birroteca is tucked back in a part of Baltimore I never even knew existed. The food was outstanding. Get charred brussels sprouts or grilled calamari as an app for the table and dig in. The atmosphere has a definite French country charm and the staff was knowledgeable and attentive. I'll definitely be back soon...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. I had a beet salad and a mushroom pizza. Both dishes have the potential to be great, but they were both too salty for my taste.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Rather noisy environment with a limited menu. All food was extremely salty. Pizza was ok, but again too salty. Service was attentive and responsive. Meals served in a timely fashion. Did have an extensive beer selection. Overall good, but unlikely I'd be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always reliable. Always a variety of choices. Always great service. Never leave hungry. Choices for every appetite. One of our favorite place to drop by.....at almost any time!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Family Style, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have dined here numerous times and have always enjoyed it. This visit was not as good as previous visits and it seemed like they might have been under staffed. We will likely give the benefit of the doubt and return again, but this visit in particular was a disappointment especially as it was for a special occasion. The server was friendly but was not prepared with specials and we found ourselves waiting often. We decided to skip dessert and after drinks to head somewhere else.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was excellent, as well as the wine. The server was very helpful and attentive. Would return - lovely ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved our evening at Birroteca! Our server was very nice, well informed, professional. Food/drinks were all excellent. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was a bit uneven and we weren't at a peak time. Beer selection and food were fantastic. Dessert really stood out. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was great. The atmosphere very good. The wine was very good. The menu was good but many of the items at our table were very salty. That was my only complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great first time. Pizzas were delicious, even had good gluten free option. Specialty cocktails were what we were looking for. Spicy chick peas were the best!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The whole experience was excellent! For a while, something happened that Birroteca was not very good. It is much better now. The menu is not very extensive, but the pizza and the bruschetta continue to be very good. There is a good beer selection. I had a glass of Spanish rose wine that was delicious. I like the standard tables in the main dining room, the bar area is noisy. Our waitress, Sara, who we knew before, is outstanding. She makes the whole dining experience so very pleasant. We had a family Sunday dinner, we were very pleased. We will return for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I like the place. little expensive, but it is certainly worth a visit.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our first visit, and we were very satisfied, as we had heard good things before going. Because of its location, we thought we might not be "hipster-y" enough to fit in, but it was a very eclectic, open and inviting space, and the crowd was very diverse. We had the shrimp pizza, and split a Caesar salad. Everything was delicious, and we are looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice selection of craft brews and mixed drinks, great pizza. Beef tartar is excellent. Cool vibe - will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birroteca has one of the best meat and cheese plates I've ever tasted. Plus the dinner and service was outstanding. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was our first time in the restaurant and it was amazing. It's family style so the servings are large enough to share. The food was so good. I would recommend the charred octopus and the puttanesca pizza. They have a nice beer list. I will definitely recommend this place and will come back!

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food and service is very good. Lighting is too dark. Hard to see until eyes adjust. Parking is scarce and lot is in poor condition

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Reliable neighborhood go to, good comfort food. Burrata is the best I've ever had.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was great, nice atmosphere and an over the top friendly and just perfectly attentive waitress. Her name was Ashley and she rocked!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was my second experience at Birrotecca and it didn't disappoint.

First I want to give a shout-out to Tom at the bar. He seems like a guy who truly enjoys making cocktails for people and puts passion into the task. You can tell when someone likes what they do and I find that rarely so thanks for that.

Second, noise level is loud. It is sometimes hard to hear the people you are talking to - at least on the upper floor.

I think the portions could be larger personally.

The food is good, its a comfortable place and they have some interesting choices.

Like many of the restaurants I have gone to in B-more, I wouldn't say I was wowed. But I would return to eat again because the overall experience was enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We always have a great experience at Birroteca. We were excited to introduce a friend, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Impossibly loud and poorly lit. Bar room decibel level (classic rock and patrons' chatter) makes real conversation undoable. Dining room only slightly better. Food --- salads and pizza -- were okay but not stellar. Not a comfortable place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The atmosphere and food were great. Our waitress was awesome.! She was patient, unhurried, kind, professional and sweet. This is a fun place to be, and with all the people and the energy it could easily turn into a feeling of being rushed - but our waitress kept that from happening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was great! Food was delicious. Server was well informed and helpful. Service was quick. Drinks were strong. Everything was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great vibe and great pizza! Would definitely go back!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Happy Hour was exceptional.
Kale salad and Italian Kit Kat were
among the memorable bites for dinner.

Be sure to let the staff know if you are using a promotion.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.