Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bin 36

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 6 days a week!

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 11:30am–10:45pm
Fri 11:30am–11:30pm
Sat 3pm–11:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and street parking available.

Public Transit:
- CTA El: Clinton Pink Line/Green Line
- CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
- Metra: Ogilvie Station is 2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food! Our private dining room and out door patio is the perfect place to host your next event. We welcome any event from 15 to 250.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 6:30PM - 9:00PM

Sat 3:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 offers seated dinners, cocktail receptions, networking events, holiday parties and a variety of social events. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 250 guests. We also offer a variety of fun activities, such as wine tastings, blending events, wine and cheese pairings and mixology classes.

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Business Meals (16)
Fun (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (8)
Tapas (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We made a reservation for a business lunch. Upon arriving saw outdoor area was open, but chose to sit indoors for shade. Indoors had AC turned off on a hot 80+ day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food wasn't great and the service wasn't either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife, kids and I had a fantastic Mother's Day brunch. Great food, service and atmosphere. Can't wait to come back on a warmer day and eat out on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A wonderful evening. Outside dining with friends. Made some new friends at the table near us.The food was delicious and the wine fantastic. The owner is very friendly and made some excellent suggestions. Always enjoy our visits here. Will come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The service was so terrible that we left after ordering drinks. We were seated for about 20 minutes before we were able to get the attention of our waitress to order those drinks and then she didn't come back to the table for another 20+ minutes after that point (drinks were dropped off by another server). At that time we told her the service was unacceptable for us and we would like our check, to which she didnt say anything and just turned around to get it. It was the most attentive she was all evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was just Ok, the portions are small and the taste is ordinary. The grilled calamari was chewing and the spiece was not blend in. The service was minimal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were inconvenienced by the OpenTable e-gift card untransferable digitally. My phone was dead and I assumed that from the reservation, the gift card was automatically applied. Other than that, it's a good neighborhood place. Outdoor dining looks to be good!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We came during the week for lunch and every option looked good! I ordered the chicken sandwich, two co-workers ordered the burger, and another co-worker ordered the lobster pasta and everyone was very pleased. We also shared some appetizers and the crispy Brussels sprouts were delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Ambiance is always good. Food is hit or miss. Its a miss this time around. Their grilled cheese though is amazing, still the best in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The ribeye is excellent. Also get the cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

New and varied menu; new and brilliant young chef; same fine service and the special touch of an owner who makes one feel welcomed and at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Mind you they said they just had just gotten a new chef but the burger I ordered was salty, salty. Never have a had a burger that was salty. Asked for no pickles on the burger and it came with pickles, I just picked them off.

The drinks were good, great variety of wine. Service was good. Tables are a little too close to each other but I've had worse. Owner walks around asking if things are going good, nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I ordered the chicken sandwich for lunch and was expecting a chicken breast sandwich. Instead I got small little pieces of chicken on a bun with a hugh slice of tomatoe that was 2x the size of the chicken portion.

The wait staff was was ok. Not the best. The best part of my lunch was dining on the patio. Nice weather. Unfortunately the food didn't meet my expectations. Definitely wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great place for a formal, romantic, or casual dinner. The menu is rich and is about to get revamped (April 2017). The staff are all courteous, your glass of water rarely goes below half and they will refill it immediately. I recommend the deconstructed carrot cake, an exceptional experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Bin 36 provided an exceptional blend of attentive service and tasty edibles. The moment we walked in, the hostess greated us and quickly got us seated despite the fact that we were running late for our reservation. The owner came around and spoke with us, ensuring that our meal was to our satisfaction. I think he did this with everyone so every customer knew they were valued. The cheese flight offered the opportunity to experiment outside of our comfort zones and the wine flights complimented the meal.

The meal option for 2 served nice size portions and the flexibility to try one another's a la cart items.

Oh and the creme brûlée! Perfect consistency and delicate taste!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great date spot! Go see Juan at the bar for wine flights!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Bin36 because they advertised what looked to be a wonderful Easter Buffet. In reality it was terrible and I would never go back. The eggs benedict were cold, the special crab benedict equally awful with cold crab that was taken from a can and smashed together. The bacon was incredibly greasy and fatty or broken into small burnt pieces. The potatoes dry and flavorless, the Belgian waffles over cooked and hard as a rock. Nothing about this meal was good except for my mimosa. The shrimp cocktail didn't look fresh and the salads were almost gone and never replaced. It was a total waste of money as I ate nothing. My husband found his omelette to be ok but cheap as it was only one egg. We paid $50 per person and definitely didn't get our money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was just okay. We basically had zero service while we were there. I ordered soup and never received a spoon. Nobody came by to see how we were doing for me to ask for a spoon. The soup wasn't that great so I didn't even waste time seeking out a spoon on my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome place to catch up with friends. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great staff and wine! Everyone is very attentive and kind. Best brussel sprouts!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Innovative menu and well presented - particularly the dessert

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wine and cheese flights were excellent. Main courses were great as well. Overall a great place for a unique dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrific. First time here, but not the last. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Server was overly enthusiastic in the beginning of the meal, but when it was time to get our checks and leave, was nowhere to be found. Also assumed we needed no change when we did. Was not tipping $16 on a $24 meal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

So good!!
Lovely experience .. fun selections
Small plates very nice.
Signature wines excellent
Enjoyed the Flight.
Most of all GREAT service with a smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food, but small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were there quite early so we had great service. Happy hour prices are a good deal. They've moved and I liked the old place better. Very friendly, good food, good flights!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

A pleasant surprise for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great dining, and wine list, the only drawback was the overwhelming noise. The music was loud, and seemingly out if sync with the style of dining, but worse was the out of control bar crowd shouting and laughing. Dining of this caliber doesn't mesh with softball team cheering sections more suited to the bar at TGIFriday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Wine and cheese flights! Enough said. Go here and go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The good: Love their wine! I've been to Bin 36 multiple times. They have a great wine list, including wine flights that are fantastic. They do some fun pairings with their cheeses (and salami, if you're a meat eater) as well.

Other: The regular food menu is pretty small, and the vegetarian options are minimal. My understanding is that the meat options are truly fantastic, though; both of my friends ordered a steak dish over (I think) cauliflower and said it was excellent. Also, this new location in the West Loop is much darker inside than their old location.

Note: not from this visit, but -- they have a good outdoor patio as well, which is is pleasant and fun when the weather is better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Can't speak more highly of this place! Been here a few times now and have been wow'd each time! Juan has taken care of us twice now and is superb! The menu is fresh and modern, tastes are excellent! Portions are better than expected. And you absolutely get more than you pay for. We always look forward to coming here.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was excellent, very lively place, we had a great time. Food and wine are very tasty but portions are on the smaller side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Honestly, this was the best dining experience that I have EVER had in the city of Chicago. The food and wine setup were extremely enjoyable and both the owner and head chef are extremely delightful people! We will be back soon and with more people. Thank you, again.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our first Valentine's day as a married couple at Bin 36. The service was great, the food was great and the wine was awesome. We highly recommend this well established and well run restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bin 36 is a great place to talk in a warm and inviting ambiance where you really feel like you can nestle in as a guest. We shared the roast duck last night as our entree, preceded by the scallops appetizer. Both prepared perfectly and paired with wines from their vast selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Enjoyeable. Went before the Opera. Small plates so you can have choise of food but not be to full to enjoy a 3 hour opera. The lamb shoulder was great. The mushrooms quite taste. Picked a couple of small pours pf wine spanish wines both outstanding. The wines are so well organized. You can become an 3xpert after a few visits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was terrible. They ran out of sangria at 8 pm which is kind of early. The squash was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The wine flights and dessert menu are key ingredients. We weren't ecstatic about the food. It's not bad, but it is easily forgettable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner tab was $149.00 and we left very hungry. Wine was nice, but food was way overpriced, not especially tasty, and miniature portions. I would not return unless it were just for a glass of wine.
And my husband now informs me that he does not wish to ever return because both glasses of wine he had were inferior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.