Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Bin 36

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 6 days a week!

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 11:30am–10:45pm
Fri 11:30am–11:30pm
Sat 3pm–11:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and street parking available.

Public Transit:
- CTA El: Clinton Pink Line/Green Line
- CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
- Metra: Ogilvie Station is 2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food! Our private dining room and out door patio is the perfect place to host your next event. We welcome any event from 15 to 250.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 offers seated dinners, cocktail receptions, networking events, holiday parties and a variety of social events. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 250 guests. We also offer a variety of fun activities, such as wine tastings, blending events, wine and cheese pairings and mixology classes.

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
1712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Due to the timing of the year and the plants outside it was very buggy, a larger number of fruit flies, really killed the mood. The waiters were very nice, However all of them actually spoke -broken-English and it was extremely hard to understand. If you are selling wine at a wine bar you should have the proper people to do that. I wouldn't be back there are better wine bars in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Gracious host, expert waitstaff, lovely outdoor seating, kale salad and short ribs very good; hummus was salty and average and accompanying veggies were old (celery brown on edges, carrots and cucumber rather soft ). Nonetheless would return but not order again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great place. Had a wonderful evening. Glad I found it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wait staff was extremely attentive, food was outstanding. Will come again and have already told friends about it.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Go for the happy hour! Small plates with not the usual options plus a small menu of entrees. In addition, you can get cheese 'flights', wine 'flights'. Prices are reasonable, portions are reasonable and designed for sharing. One caveat: white bean hummus is boring, but fish tacos are very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

food was average. wine was good. better place for drinks and apps than dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Every dish came implacable. I love the seasonal ingredients.
Wine recommendations were great and the atmosphere on the patio is relaxing despite being in the inner city location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was a lovely evening that began with complimentary Rosé Champagne on the terrace for the start of the Birthday celebration. The Kale salad, Squid Ink Bucatini and Octopus were delicious and well portioned enough for two. I will definitely make it back to this location in the very near future.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Went after work with a group. We tried the different wine flights and took the food option where we got one of everything on the menu. The food was fun and the wine was great. We sat outside on the patio and the great weather certainly added to the fun!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great happy hour! Good food, wine and great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was fantastic. However, the portions are small for the price. Good location and nice atmosphere with friendly and helpful wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fulfills its promise. Good suitable food. Limited menu well executed, with a inexpensive and low inib
rihation way to test your palate for wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

nice time at night. nice patio. thanks for a nice evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've been to Bin 36 three times over the past 15 years. Always the same experience- nice flights of wines I've never tried, well-paired, and quality, food, mixed with excellent, friendly service. Always a good experience for not a lot of money. We had two flights of wine each, a cheese board, a salami board, calamari, and my wife had a salad and I had a burger. Too much food, but all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food and excellent wine. Pleasant quiet ambience.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I used to really live the diversity of the menu. I don't know if ownership has changed but the menu is much more limited and the good is at best, average. The wait staff was very good but I will not be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A most pleasant evening with 1/2 price cheese plate appetizer when we arrived just 10 minutes prior to our 6 pm reservation. Italian wine flight was well rounded for a most agreeable price. Entrees were on the small plate size but who cared after all that good cheese?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Bin36 never disappoints. Enoch is unfailingly friendly and knowledgeable and new chef Angelina has actually improved the formerly wonderful Brussels sprouts and added several innovative dishes. Perfect for business or family dinners or lunches.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic wine list in a lovely setting. The chef's cheese board selection was outstanding. The glazed chicken wings were also delicious. In addition they offer a variety of wine flights which looked tempting if we'd had more time. The 2 Chicago residents I brought there had never heard of the place, but they will be going back. We were on the early side so it wasn't super-crowded. Our service was great but I didn't experience the place packed with people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Love this place! The staff is awesome & the wine is better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Can already see the impact of the new chef on the menu. Innovative. Thoughtful. Yum.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

After reviewing the menu on-line disappointed to see item I was not offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Enoch, the owner, and his team are fantastic! I've been several times and have never been disappointed. Great wine selections, including flights, and tasty, thoughtful food options! Service is outstanding as well. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had an amazing time! Marlon was outstanding, food was awesome, and wine was perfect. Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

First time using the app so I didn't realize that I had actually made a reservation until I was notified that I didn't show up. My bad. Anyway, I was staying up the street at the Hampton/Homewood and got take out from here one night. The hostess was very friendly when I ordered and so was the bartender as I sat at the bar with a Stella Artois while waiting for my food. The burger was delicious. Fries a bit above average but that could be due to the 10 minute walk in a take out container.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I was there yesterday for a business lunch. It was 80 degrees and very windy. Too windy to sit outside and the restaurant did not have the air conditioning on.The restaurant does not have any ceiling fans either. The brussel sprouts which used to be very good and probably sauteed came out brown and were deep fried to a pulp. Not a glimmer of green. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We made a reservation for a business lunch. Upon arriving saw outdoor area was open, but chose to sit indoors for shade. Indoors had AC turned off on a hot 80+ day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food wasn't great and the service wasn't either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife, kids and I had a fantastic Mother's Day brunch. Great food, service and atmosphere. Can't wait to come back on a warmer day and eat out on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A wonderful evening. Outside dining with friends. Made some new friends at the table near us.The food was delicious and the wine fantastic. The owner is very friendly and made some excellent suggestions. Always enjoy our visits here. Will come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The service was so terrible that we left after ordering drinks. We were seated for about 20 minutes before we were able to get the attention of our waitress to order those drinks and then she didn't come back to the table for another 20+ minutes after that point (drinks were dropped off by another server). At that time we told her the service was unacceptable for us and we would like our check, to which she didnt say anything and just turned around to get it. It was the most attentive she was all evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was just Ok, the portions are small and the taste is ordinary. The grilled calamari was chewing and the spiece was not blend in. The service was minimal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were inconvenienced by the OpenTable e-gift card untransferable digitally. My phone was dead and I assumed that from the reservation, the gift card was automatically applied. Other than that, it's a good neighborhood place. Outdoor dining looks to be good!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We came during the week for lunch and every option looked good! I ordered the chicken sandwich, two co-workers ordered the burger, and another co-worker ordered the lobster pasta and everyone was very pleased. We also shared some appetizers and the crispy Brussels sprouts were delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Ambiance is always good. Food is hit or miss. Its a miss this time around. Their grilled cheese though is amazing, still the best in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The ribeye is excellent. Also get the cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

New and varied menu; new and brilliant young chef; same fine service and the special touch of an owner who makes one feel welcomed and at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Mind you they said they just had just gotten a new chef but the burger I ordered was salty, salty. Never have a had a burger that was salty. Asked for no pickles on the burger and it came with pickles, I just picked them off.

The drinks were good, great variety of wine. Service was good. Tables are a little too close to each other but I've had worse. Owner walks around asking if things are going good, nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I ordered the chicken sandwich for lunch and was expecting a chicken breast sandwich. Instead I got small little pieces of chicken on a bun with a hugh slice of tomatoe that was 2x the size of the chicken portion.

The wait staff was was ok. Not the best. The best part of my lunch was dining on the patio. Nice weather. Unfortunately the food didn't meet my expectations. Definitely wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place for a formal, romantic, or casual dinner. The menu is rich and is about to get revamped (April 2017). The staff are all courteous, your glass of water rarely goes below half and they will refill it immediately. I recommend the deconstructed carrot cake, an exceptional experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.