About Bin 36

161 N. Jefferson St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Bin 36 is a casual, friendly and affordable spot where wine novices can enjoy over 50 wines by the glass. Learning about wine does not have to be complicated! BIN 36's staff is enthusiastically prepared to offer people a great environment to learn and enjoy great food and fantastic wine. Open for lunch & dinner 6 days a week!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 11:30am–10:45pm
Fri 11:30am–11:30pm
Sat 3pm–11:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Between W Lake and W Randolph

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 995-6560

Website:
http://www.bin36.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and street parking available.

Public Transit:
- CTA El: Clinton Pink Line/Green Line
- CTA Bus #56 Northbound on Jefferson, Southbound on Desplains
- Metra: Ogilvie Station is 2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Shane Graybeal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ongoing series of classes on a monthly basis around wine, cheese, and food! Our private dining room and out door patio is the perfect place to host your next event. We welcome any event from 15 to 250.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 6:30PM - 9:00PM

Sat 3:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

BIN 36 offers seated dinners, cocktail receptions, networking events, holiday parties and a variety of social events. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 250 guests. We also offer a variety of fun activities, such as wine tastings, blending events, wine and cheese pairings and mixology classes.

Bin 36 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (10)
Fun (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (0)
Sort By:
S
1655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The good: Love their wine! I've been to Bin 36 multiple times. They have a great wine list, including wine flights that are fantastic. They do some fun pairings with their cheeses (and salami, if you're a meat eater) as well.

Other: The regular food menu is pretty small, and the vegetarian options are minimal. My understanding is that the meat options are truly fantastic, though; both of my friends ordered a steak dish over (I think) cauliflower and said it was excellent. Also, this new location in the West Loop is much darker inside than their old location.

Note: not from this visit, but -- they have a good outdoor patio as well, which is is pleasant and fun when the weather is better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Can't speak more highly of this place! Been here a few times now and have been wow'd each time! Juan has taken care of us twice now and is superb! The menu is fresh and modern, tastes are excellent! Portions are better than expected. And you absolutely get more than you pay for. We always look forward to coming here.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was excellent, very lively place, we had a great time. Food and wine are very tasty but portions are on the smaller side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Honestly, this was the best dining experience that I have EVER had in the city of Chicago. The food and wine setup were extremely enjoyable and both the owner and head chef are extremely delightful people! We will be back soon and with more people. Thank you, again.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our first Valentine's day as a married couple at Bin 36. The service was great, the food was great and the wine was awesome. We highly recommend this well established and well run restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bin 36 is a great place to talk in a warm and inviting ambiance where you really feel like you can nestle in as a guest. We shared the roast duck last night as our entree, preceded by the scallops appetizer. Both prepared perfectly and paired with wines from their vast selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Enjoyeable. Went before the Opera. Small plates so you can have choise of food but not be to full to enjoy a 3 hour opera. The lamb shoulder was great. The mushrooms quite taste. Picked a couple of small pours pf wine spanish wines both outstanding. The wines are so well organized. You can become an 3xpert after a few visits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was terrible. They ran out of sangria at 8 pm which is kind of early. The squash was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The wine flights and dessert menu are key ingredients. We weren't ecstatic about the food. It's not bad, but it is easily forgettable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner tab was $149.00 and we left very hungry. Wine was nice, but food was way overpriced, not especially tasty, and miniature portions. I would not return unless it were just for a glass of wine.

And my husband now informs me that he does not wish to ever return because both glasses of wine he had were inferior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Brussel sprouts were amazing but everything else (scallops, butternut squash) were very meioker. The drinks were very good, the people busing the tables and bringing the food were great but the immediate waitress was average.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was a disappointing experience from beginning to end. Starting with a clueless hostess, to a server who was rarely seen and did not bother to explain any of the wines, and ending with a bill that contained items we never received. The food is very mediocre (the only good dish was the side of french fries) and the portions are tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great for meeting up with new online dates in the city.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Complex flavors , beautifully executed. The lamb was a standout

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We used to go to the old location all the time. There are 8 of us and we loved the big, open feeling of the restaurant, the well-priced wine flights and the abundance of food found on the cheese plates. Sadly, the new location changes the ambiance and the food, while delicious, was not nearly as filling. We order the Chef's cheese plate and expected the usual - large, thick slices of cheese, a full apples worth of apple slices, a pile of nuts and a bunch of bread. What we received was everything on a much smaller scale. Again, delicious but disappointing. We also got a bunch of small plates and a salumi flight, not to mention multiple wine flights. The server was great, the wine was great, the food was delish but it just wasn't the same.

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome spot if you're a wine lover! Great ambiance, we went at a quiet time and felt very spoiled with service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The space was large and airy, which I'm sure is lovely in the summer, but was quite chilly with the 0 degree weather outside. We were sat promptly despite arriving a few minutes before our reservation time. Food portions were a little small for the prices being charged, although the wine flights were delicious and worth the cost. Our server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is one of my favorite places in Chicago and I dine out for work and with family all the time. Great wine, amazing food, wonderful service and the owner is one of the best humans on the planet. He will surely come say hello, share conversation and make you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great happy hour deal! Try the fish tacos, Brussel sprouts and cheese plate.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I won a gift card to BIN 36 and decided to take one of my girlfriends with me for dinner. We had a good experience and would definitely go back again. The waiter greeted me promptly after I was seated and did a good job of explaining the menu. I had the sweet wine flight and my friend ordered one of the white wine flights. We ordered the squash and Brussel sprouts which were both very good. Our main meal was the salmon and the flank steak, and the hamburger. The steak was not cooked as well as we would have liked, but everything else was good. It would be great if there were more food options to choose from due to the fact that many people may be coming for dinner and not just a wine tasting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We don't get here as often as we'd like. The owner Enoch came over twice to say hello. One of our favorite places.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service was lousy. Inept reception. Unfriendly. Came early and it was freezing inside. Trying to think of a positive but can only come up with it was close to our meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Heater didn't work so freezing. Food came out cold and was very bland. I would try them for dinner, but for lunch again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Everything was great except for the food. I came here for a business lunch and was embarrassed for picking the place.

I ordered a steak sandwich and a side of brussels sprouts while my guest ordered the burger. Both orders came with fries which were highly undercooked: they were still yellow and had absolutely no crisp. The steak sandwich was cold and the bread was not even toasted (or had been toasted many hours prior to serving). Furthermore, the sprouts were deep fried and completely soaked in oil. So much oil to the point where the sprouts were soggy and sitting in a large puddle of oil on the serving plate. To make things worse, they were served cold so I think, as with the other food, there was probably a long time between when they were cooked and served.

Not what I had expected from such a location, I'm very disappointed especially since I live in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful food, the steak was cooked to perfection, the muscles in pumpkin coconut broth was to die for. The wine is always good, and the staff does an excellent job. We have been going to Bin 36 for years and it is always good.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went last year and the food was much better. Portions were smaller this year and the dessert I had was not good

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I visited Bin 36 for Thanksgiving dinner after a friend recommended it and I had a great night. The food was delicious and the wine pairings perfect. Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

To say it was a disappointing Thanksgiving dinner experience is a bit understated.

Did not feel welcomed when we entered even though had made a reservation days in advance. Seated right by the door even with other tables available. Waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged by the waitstaff.

Honestly should have left, as nothing following made the above tolerable.

We had reviewed the pre fixe menu so we knew what we were ordering.

Best dish was the cauliflower soup even at room temperature.

The turkey dish including the sides were cold and I have seen better presentations at cafeterias.

The prime rib was ok but again presentation and cold food.

It was too late to turn back eat what we could and move on.

Desert well, pumpkin pie had an off taste and the pecan pastry seemed right out of the fridge,

Lastly, the pours for the wine pairings were not much more than a shot glass,

This may be a good place at other times but doing thanksgiving is not a strength.

At least we did not get sick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Love this restaurant. Tasty, interesting food delicious wine and great service. The thanksgiving menu was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing Thanksgiving dinner. Patronising staff member who then proceeded to mix up a whole lot of orders for different tables. Wine pairing a total rip off. Tiny volume of wine. Food served cold. Staff member did offer a discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have only positive things to say about Bin 36: I had been to the old location in River North years ago, but the West Loop ambiance is even better. The service was great, the wine flights are fun, the food is delicious, and the owner is very friendly and has so much knowledge to share (if you want him to!)... The dessert flight is truly amazing. We had a perfect night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Casual restaurant with a vast variety of wine to choose from. We stopped in for wine and a snack before heading off to the nearby distillery. We both had wine flights and shared a couple of plates that were good. Friendly and efficient staff .

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went went my wife for our wedding anniversary. Service and staff were excellent, attentive, and had great meal suggestions. Couldn't have had a better experience. Ambiance was great, drink selection was a plus. Would suggest Bin 36 to anyone for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server explained the menus very well. We had a cheese flight and 3 small plates and all were superb! Highly re recommended and a great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A very disappointing brunch. the restaurants opened at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday and we arrived at 10:30 and were the first customers. They were not ready for customers. We order the beignets and were told that they would not be ready for a long while. So we went ahead and ordered our meal and told them we would order beignets after the meal if we were still hungry. Two of us ordered "Lemon and Ricotta Pancakes Blueberry compote, whipped mascarpone"). I ordered one egg over easy. When our pancakes arrived the plates were cold - not a major problem but it is nice to serve hot food on warm plates. The pancakes were large with 3 very small dollops of lemon mascarpone and about 10 fresh blueberries (not a compote as we expected!) The whole dish was very dry so I asked for some of the lemon sauce that the pancakes were served with in the past, but they said they did not have any and gave us some warm maple syrup instead. The over easy egg was hard and cold - perhaps because of the cold plate it was served on. A desultory meal at best. They did bring us 3 beignets at the end of our meal but as none of us as finished our meals we did not really need the beignets but we tasted them as they were offering the beignets to us free of charge. They were disappointing too. They were more like the hush puppies you get at Long John Silver than beignets which are supposed to be light and airy. And they were heavily coated in cinnamon - not what we had hoped for. We did not eat them. In addition to the problems with our meal and the service, we found the menu very limited. On our previous morning in Chicago we had had brunch at The Kitchen on Clarke Street and found the food and service there to be excellent. We had also enjoyed breakfast at Grand Lux - again excellent. We will not be returning to Bin 36.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall, Bin 36 was a very nice atmosphere. I went with my sister for dinner and drinks, but the portions were very small and I don't think the cost was worth the amount of food served.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch at Bin 36. The apple beignets are to die for! Also had their delicious Fancy Toasts and a unique fruit plate. Cannot recommend them enough; service is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As the name implies, this restaurant has a nice wine list. The grilled cheese and fried brussel sprouts were excellent. If you have more than one glass of wine, this place can get expensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was good. Service mediocre. Prices high. Overall, just not worth the spend.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a great place to celebrate our two runners after the Chicago marathon. The menu had something to offer everyone. The french fries are DELICIOUS! Everyone loved their meals, and we had some picky people with us. The space is very nicely decorated. Great outdoor space also. They have a private area also. The staff was excellent. Nothing bad to say about this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The wait staff went above and beyond to make our granddaughter's 16th birthday special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good location specially after or before the opera. Excellent wine collection and good guide for wine and food pairing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Best brussel sprouts in the city!

Bin 36 is a bit far from my office but worth the long walk or short cab ride. The brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for and great for sharing among 2-3 people. I also enjoy receiving the e-mails about their daily (Monday through Friday) $8 lunch specials, which are a great value and always seem to offer an interesting variety from week to week. Overall, great food and great service and I can't recall a dining experience at Bin 36 where I left feeling disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Bin 36 is a wine bar that happens to make great food. They have an excellent and simple recommended wine pairing system. Our service was impeccable. The menu is small, but the food was good, if not especially noteworthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great dining experience Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great wine selection. Brunch options were phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

good location, a bit expensive, food is good, but not great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Perfectly lovely place for a Friday night al fresco dinner with friends. Don't get the scallops - there were only 3 little ones. Delish, but come on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Delicious and expansive wine selection. Would love the charcuterie plates to be a bit more full, but overall delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Probably a great after-work wine bar with a good wine, cheese and dried meats selection. Food was good too but not a good option for a date night - we got there around 9 and it was pretty empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.