About BICE - San Diego

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (24)
See All
Business Meals (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Modern Decor (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best authentic Italian in town. We love its out of the way urban setting with big room views. The food is very fresh and savory. The wine collection always very tasty. We enjoy this space several times a year.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valenitines Day dinner. The fixed price 3-course meal was fabulous, just the right amount of food, beautiful presentation and sumptuous. The staff is delightful, the ambiance very romantic, and great downtown location. Second time here, will make it a regular stop when I come to town!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great evening. Food is excellent and having the chef come and put together some of their amazing cheeses together with fig bread was really nice. Excellent place for date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expensive restaurant and the food was bad! I expect to spend the money I did and have my pasta cooked al dente. Horrible experience. Fire the chef

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was phenomenal. I highly recommend the cured meat appetizer. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wine list and suggested a great white Italian to go with our seafood pasta dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is very good. The cheese and Italian cured meat appetizers are small but high quality. The pasta dishes we had as entrees were all very good. The issues, and reason for a 3 star is two fold. Firdt, they brought one of us the wrong entree. Then they come back with the correct one 5 minutes later. So I questioned them on how that was possible and the waiter tells me they stuck what was supposed to be an oven baked dish under the broiler. Also, 2 out of the 3 wines I ordered were out of stock. You cannot make these type of mistakes when you are a top rated restaurant that is premium priced. They did try to make it right by giving us our desserts and 1 bottle of wine free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We found Bice to be very unremarkable. The menu is limited. The desserts are marginal and everything is very pedestrian. Go over to Little Italy in San Diego for much better and more diverse Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a long term customer dinner here of approx 12 people and the staff was excellent and catered to all of our needs (vegetarian, allergies, etc). The wine and the food were paired perfectly and the suggestions were all enjoyed. Definitely will return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Three friends met for dinner. We had a delightful server and two of us enjoyed the James Beard Foundation award winner -- rabbit ravioli. Delightful evening.h

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Go for the cheese bar! 20 different Italian cheeses. Cheese chef needs to slow down his explanation of each cheese. Waiter had to be instructed on the purpose of a wine decanter but caught on quickly. My veal dish was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

the service was great. great overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good restaurant. Excellent food. Good wine list. Expensive, but not overpriced. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I was here on a slow Sunday night. The waiter took about 10 minutes to even acknowledge us or take a drink order. Drinks took a while to come and overall service was slower than expected. Food was good, but I don't think I'll come again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have dined here previously and were sorely disappointed this time. They were more interested in selling fancy drinks than fine food. We ordered the special pasta of the day which featured fennel and shrimp. We couldn't taste the fennel and couldn't find the shrimp. We paid almost $35 for what was a disappointing flavorless dish. We were embarrassed to take our friends there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cost is expensive for the quality, quantity and flavor of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just a lovely place to dine. White tablecloth dining in San Diego is hard to find and a place that has the excellent service to match. Lisa, our server, really knows the wines and the menu.

Her authentic Italian language and her smile made the evening so enjoyable. Tried the Trio di Tartare di Pesce and I would give it rave reviews. Fresh and flavorful. Also tried the Trio di Tartare di Pesce. Wasn't in the mood for pasta so tonight was all about seafood. The pastas are great and they do a terrific job with seafood. Not many Italian restaurants can do seafood well.

Overall this is an excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fast friendly staff and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

everything went well until we ordered. I advised the waitress to not rush the entrée after our appetizer. She said no problem and will wait for us to let her know. Guess what? Entrees arrived while we were eating still our appetizer. I then called the waitress to table and returned the food and that I was disappointed that I had requested to wait until I tell her but in a restaurant such as Bice how come entrees are served while still eating appetizers. She said not problem and I asked to make sure to redo the entrees and not served them again while reheating. 30 minutes later we told her we were ready and they arrived 4 minutes later with our plates. I called her again saying it was impossible that was a new dish as I was eating Veal Chop. She then called manager that was not very pleasant either but he offered to redo our dishes. Food was ok nothing exceptional. He offered a discount but we declined. But still he sent the bill saying there was a promotion of 50% on wine which was a nice gesture after. Meanwhile 2 other things happened. A table not too far from us with a couple left the restaurant and on their way the girl stopped at our table to tell me that I should be nicer to my waitress. Obviously a friend of hers. I want to point out that I never raised my voice neither been unrespectful to the waitress. Then the bill comes and 20% gratuity was already added. We were a party of 3. I asked how come and have been told it was a mistake.

I am really not recommending this restaurant/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Enjoyed it very much! Food was great, noise level enjoyable and service was excellent. Recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was lovely, zero complaint on that point. Our server did not seem quite as polished as I would expect for the style of restaurant and price point. I may have been a bit impatient (I was fairly ravenous when we arrived) but no one acknowledged us or brought water for at least 5-10 minutes. (You know how one minute can seem like forever? It was like that but I'm pretty sure this is a fair approximation) We had a couple of menu/ordering mishaps (he ordered the wrong dish for my friend, and the first bottle of wine we ordered was unavailable) but we ended up sharing everything so it worked out fine. We ordered a dessert for her birthday and he brought us a second dessert on the house which was nice. Overall we had a nice evening but I guess I had hoped for a more seamless experience on my first visit, having heard great things from friends who've been. Would definitely be willing to try it again as I know these things happen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This may be a great place to have dinner NOT on a holiday but for a holiday it was awful. We spend thousands on fine dinners and this was horrible service, the food was no better then that of a chilli's or olive garden and for 400 for two on NYE was awful. The wine was great. The meat and a cheeses were also great however the rest of the meal was god awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding dinner! Federika's attention to service is noteworthy.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been going to Bice for years and it is always a great experience. Mario and his team deliver service, great food and an ambiance hard to find in the restaurant world today. Classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very elegant and great plating .. this is a special place that serves special food for special people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

For Christmas dinner we thought to go to an upscale Italian restaurant. There were 5 of us, 4 foreigners, one American. We were greated at the entrance by the lovely Melissa and her co-worker Arno who turned out to be our waiter.

The food was not to our liking, having a chef among our guests sometimes makes it hard to be real impressed. The kitchen had made a mistake and we asked for the manager to come at the table, his name is John. We have never been treated more badly in a restaurant than by this full of himself attitude horrible unfriendly person. Our waiter did what ever he could to take the disappointment away, in fact he bent over backwards to still make our evening enjoyable. Arno understands the business so much better than that John guy, who was rude and who should not even have been there that evening because of his bad mood.

Their chef Mario came to our table and smoothened things out for us, apologizing and making things right. We advised to owner (the franchise manager) to put Arno up for manager, this beautiful person knows what it means to serve clients, and how to be hospitable and accommodating.

Will we go back? I don't think so , or maybe one day when Arno is the manager.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were a party of 5 at the Christmas dinner. The starters of polenta, gnocchi and kale salad were fantastic. The first course of gnocchi and soup were also very good, the cherry tomata and buccata salad was ok. The lamb osso buco was excellent and the side of risotto paired with it perfectly. The sea bass was also excellent. The desserts were good but othing special.

The service was outstanding up to the main course but went down from there. Our server was essentially MIA. We waited for such a long time for the desserts that we decided not to order coffee/dessert wine. The server brought me the bill, I glanced at the total and put my credit card on it. Then he came back and snatched away the bill saying the wine was extra - the wine was not on the bill. He took it away and came back with another with a higher total that included the wine. I understand that mistakes can occur but he could have said something like "I am very sorry but I forgot to add the wine!" He did not apologize at any point during this.

To cap it all, there was a 20% gratuity added to the bill. There was nothing in the menu that stated a gratuity would be added on.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have enjoyed this fine location, excellent service and superior food many times but still enjoy visiting and dining here every time we go. The warmth of greeting and savory meals make it a must goto place for food and enjoying a meal. Thanks for providing the best.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My first bad review. Christmas dinner with the family and started with they were out of a few small items. Our waitress was very nice but did not know the menu. If you are spending $$$ and ask about the menu it would be nice to have someone that knows it. I had to ask three different people to clear the appetizer plates when they had already served the entrees. Of course we left a above average tip for Christmas and I commented to the manager before walking out and he literally brushed me off. The food was nothing I would recommend, it was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It's been several years since I've been to Bice and it remains one of the few elegant dining experiences in the Gaslamp jungle. The décor is simple and understated and, although the dark wenge wood look is getting dated, Bice remains a visually attractive. For an international restaurant chain committed to superlative service, our experience was quite spotty. The young server was friendly and attractive. I gave her my little service test -- request fresh ground pepper for my "Simple Salad." A response in a minute gets high marks but it took her more than 5, and that with only one other party of 3 having drinks in the dining room. Lacking a fresh seafood appetizer that was neither raw or deep fried, we settled on Parmigana di Melanzane al Pesto, i.e. eggplant parmesan. It was excellent. My spouse had the Taglioni al Basilico, a dense basil pasta with Mexican shrimp. She didn't care for the noodles but loved the large shrimpwith heads attached. Problem was the dish only had 2 of them. I had the Filleto di Branzino, plank-roasted Mediterranean sea bass. It was tender and moist. The bread basket included rolls, cheese crisps, both fine. It also included bland focaccia that was hard, almost stale. Everything to that point was acceptable. We ordered their signature Tortino al Pisachio (Italian lava cake) and Sorbetti for dessert. The chocolate cake of the Tortino was surprisingly devoid of chocolate flavor and quite dry. The Sorbetti is a hearty serving. There are 3 flavors offered but when I asked to get some of each, I was told I could only choose one. I settled on lemon sorbet but the pungent flavor became so redundant that I lost interest and didn't finish it. Prices tend to be high with a "large" bottle of flat mineral water, which turned out to be a 750cc bottle, costing $9. Best bet for Bice -- late night drinks in the dining room watching the hoochie mamas line up at Fluxx across the street.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The cheese bar was great way to start a romantic evening prior to dinner. The dinner was excellent yet a bit on the pricey side. The service was very good and location is in the heart of the Gaslamp district so parking can be an issue. Find a lot. Overall very good food but don't fill up on cheese first as it may alter your taste buds. I thought it was a great dinner when in the restaurant but could appreciate my doggy bag even more as I wasn't full when it that time. The chicken with ham and cheese was very good as well as the Veal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was impeccable. Food was presented in a visually exciting way. My fresh sea bass was salty, and my husband ordered one of the specials--Ossobocco ($42) He has had this dish become at other restaurants, and had not been satisfied with it; however, we thought for the price and considering the reputation of Bice, this would be an excellent entrée to accommodate our appetizers. The Ossobocco had a stringy texture and was extremely tough. My husband did not eat his entrée and when he told the waiter, the waiter asked if he'll like to order something else. He had already tasted my salty sea bass so he declined to order another entrée. Fortunately, the appetizers and octopus salad that we ordered was delicious and he was not too hungry when we left.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I tried this restaurant since I had received a gift certificate to it. The reviews I had read always mentioned poor service so I didn't expect much. From the moment we stepped in the restaurant we were greeted by a courteous reception to a very polite and efficient server. Our server, Melissa, was thoughtful, attentive and tried to accommodate my husbands request for gravy. The food selection was good and the rolls they served with dinner made me blow my diet. There were always some one coming by to check on our meal or clear away excess/used dinner ware. The noise level was quite ....a welcome change from so many restaurants. I don't know if our experience was the result of a slow night or a change in the staff but I do know that we enjoyed our time there and will recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. Service a little slow and no Caesar salad. A little stark for my liking, but will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very nice environment and ambiance. I won't got there to regularly dine but me and my date had a good time for her special occasion (birthday celebration).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves. Good food and great service! We attended a show and the restaurant was right across the street-very convenient!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food. Not so great service - requests were late or simply forgotten ( e.g. Request for water).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

If you have ALOT of time to waste this is the place. The service is extremely slow and food is below average. They are using the name to draw business but do not hold a candle to BICE in NY. Don't bother! Waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

When we arrived it was early so we could take part in happy hour and the cheese bar. Upon checking in with the young women at the front, they began to put up a fit because we were early instead of offering the bar area. Once we said why we were there they said ok and went back to their conversation. We looked at the bar in front and it was full. We didn't know if the belly bar seating was part of the bar or not nor where the cheese bar was. So we stood there a few minutes while the ladies at the desk ignored us. We finally settled at one of the tables and had to ask a passing waiter if we could sit there. We ordered a cheese plate and this waiter was wonderful. Once it was our reservation time we went back to the desk and the girl asked if we were finally ready. So we were seated and our waiter took quite a while to come over. When we ordered I told him it was our anniversary and I almost thought our waiter was going to say something like "And I'm supposed to give a sh*t?" The noise level was very loud and I had a hard time hearing my fiancé from across the table. Overall the food was good but not enough to be put through that rudeness again. What a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very unpleasant experience - server was quick and short with us. Put grated cheese on my meal without asking. All our meals were over salted. The appetizer we ordered was so bland and tasteless. Thankfully, they took that meal off the tab.

This was our second bad experience at this restaurant. We gave it a second try, big mistake. We won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had been looking forward to eating here for quite a while. We were really disappointed by the last of service and were underwhelmed by the food. Gave them two stars rather than one because of the eggplant app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We liked the experience, but unfortunately my lady friend had to send back her order of veal scallopini. The manager sent a replacement order and comped it from my bill. Had a very congenial visit at our table with a bartender when I raised the question of a vodka "martini pour" with the waitress. The bartender came to our table and chatted for about ten minutes. Lengthy wine list, but not many reds for under $100. We will go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great service and excellent updated Italian cuisine. Will definitely return when back in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Giancarlo was attentive, as were the several other staff. While the presentations were well executed, the food missed the mark. The crudos lacked seasoning...ahi/seaweed but no dressing, sea bass/citrus just a blood orange suprem- no flavor. Entrees-rabbit ravioli good, but scallopini tough, too salty. Should have stayed at front bar happy hour $5 apps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Wow! The service was impeccable and the food was so well crafted. They were out of one of the cheeses I ordered and substituted a cheese for it, that was so flavorful. All of the cheeses were fantastic. I had the tortelloni with spinach and ricotta. It was the best. The pasta was so fresh and the tortellonis were huge-they had a lot of filling. Usually it's more pasta than filling.

Sadly, we didn't have room for dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was AMAZING!! everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable I even got a birthday treat and a card. The food was great although I feel that the appetizer were A LOT better then the entrees. It's not that they weren't good but they just were not anything special, out of the three entrees we got the seabass plate was the best. The Ravioli was a bit hard and the marinara sauce on the seafood spaghetti was really lacking any flavor. Maybe I just didn't try the right dishes. I would definitely come back for Happy Hour since the apps were pretty amazing. The chefs choice cheese plate was perfect!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We've dinned here quite a few times over the last 5 years. Always really enjoyed it. We haven't been in about a year, but it was clear on this visit that the chef has changed. The food was really good, but not outstanding. For example, the risotto tasted great, but was obviously prepared in advance and was not creamy. The risotto use to be the best dish on the menu, now it is a poor shadow of the former dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good food excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place, good ambiance, the comfort food, and the good and friendly service have me coming back to this restaurant for the past 6 years!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Bice presents itself as an upscale, high cuisine restaurant, but the dishes were not terribly appealing, with little effort to make a tasty sauce. I had the lamb ragu pappardelle, where the ragu had the taste, consistency and flavoring of a beef sloppy joe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful! The food was great and the service tremendous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.