Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About BICE - San Diego

Ideally located in the heart of San Diego's downtown Gaslamp Quarter, BiCE San Diego offers a skillful mix of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine prepared with the best seasonal ingredients. As recipients of the 2015 Wine List Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, we boast a temperature controlled wine cellar as well as an award-winning, full-service Italian cheese bar, which offers a constantly rotating selection of formaggi. The BiCE menu includes both classic and trend-driven Italian dishes, with standouts including homemade pastas, unique meat and seafood dishes, and decadent desserts. BiCE was recently recognized by the renowned James Beard Kitchen, where Chefs Mario Cassineri and Francesca Penoncelli were invited to share their Italian creations with some of New York City's greatest culinary minds. Awarded the 2015 ZAGAT RATED Extraordinary to Perfection for food, combined with our warm and inviting atmosphere, BiCE is guaranteed to impress.

425 Island Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 am - 2:00 pm; Sunday & Monday closed.
Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-2423

Website:
http://www.bicesandiego.com/

Catering:
We offer catering at events both at BiCE and events located elsewhere. Restaurant buyout is available, as well as private and semi-private reservations. For more information, please refer to our website, bicesandiego.com, or email Fabrizio Donato at events@bicesd.com.

Parking Details:
Street or valet parking available.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop at Market and 4th ave. San Diego Trolley at Harbor and 5th ave.

Executive Chef:
Mario Cassineri

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday-Saturday: 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-Close
Free Corkage: Sundays, All Day

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bice restaurant offers a skillful mix of classic and modern trends in Italian Cuisine, combining local and seasonal ingredients, bold spices and European sauces. From our homemade pasta dishes and tempting desserts to our award winning “Cheese & Salumi bar and authentic Italian wine selection.

BICE - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Always amazing service by Arnold. You just can't go wrong for a great night out. Good food and amazing service - thank you Arnold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My daughter, Dr. Claudia Taylor, sent me a gift certificate for Mother's Day. She had researched all SD restaurants and found this at the top. She and her husband are "foodies" in Portland. OR.
The service was impeccable and professional AND friendly. All three courses were excellent except for the beef dish which I had ordered "rare". It was more than medium rare and a little tough. My friend's lamb was very good. I would return with friends at the Vi retirement facility if we could solve the parking problem because your food is very, very good. It was a lovely Mother's Day treat and I sent her photos of the menu and all the courses .

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I asked three times to get the ice water LOL. The main dishes are not really worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! Service, food, all great. I highly recommend and would come back for sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service here is gracious and attentive--just right. Every thing about our meal was as we expected /hoped, appetizer was interesting and piqued our appetite but didn't kill it! The entrees were tasty and generous. Only fault might be the wine list. Especially the non-Italian selections. None of the California selections are the current stellar wines from the Central Coast or the Napa Valley or the other districts. You might consider starting all over again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely evening advice. We opted for a plate of truffle cheese and olives, the beef carpaccio, and the Sea-bass, and all were quite good. The bread basket was amazing. The only negatives were the noise level and our waiter who seem to forget about us for a while.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The Hostess did not even greet us, she escorted us to our table with out a word to us, handed us our menus and dropped the wine list on the table and curtly said "Wine List! ". She never made eye contact with either of us and and we were both shocked the way she acted towards us.
Our waiter, was just the opposite, warm , conversational, engaging and attentive.

Unfortunately the meal was worse than our experience with the hostess, the food was not fresh, it had clearly been precooked and then just reheated before serving us, the veal was tough and saturated with oil as if it was reheated in oil the was not up to temp, the ravioli was rubbery and cold and the sauces had a "skin" or film on the top, as if they were not properly heated either.
All in all, inedible. Despite our waiters professional service and his sincere apologies, the meal was the worst I have experience in years.
What would I recommend this reatraunt for? Nothing.
Clearly with the exception of our waiter this place is just going through the motions and counting on it's location for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We went for our daughters 16th birthday (her find). Our evening was superb, The food, the service, and the ambiance were outstanding. I would definitely eat here again and recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

About an hour before our reservations I received a call stating "you know you
made reservations in our lounge and not our dining room. Is that ok?" I was taken back but asked if the lounge would provide us a comfortable dining experience where we can talk together. She reassured me and I kept our appointment. At the restaurant, we had a rotation of three different waiters throughout the evening which caused a rather disjointed experience. Then there is the food. It was somewhat expensive. I would not complain except it also was not very good. The fish was overlooked. The other courses were bland and the desert was just weird. The only bright part of the evening was one of the waiters (who was apparently a bartender doubling as a waiter that evening was very nice. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great pasta. I love the mushroom ravioli. Atmosphere was wonderful-did get noisy with some larger parties arriving

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fabulous food! Attentive knowledgeable service. Amazing meal. We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A great Italian restaurant with world class food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dined here quite enjoyably for years. I'm afraid that many of the more recent reviews are telling. The food is still great but the service and attitude was on the verge of rude.

We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My experience at Bice was among the most disappointing I have ever had at a restaurant that aspires to be considered fine dining. It took 3 requests before the hostess finally seated our party for our 7:00 PM reservation.

Once seated, the waitstaff completely ignored us, and it was 7:30 before they finally brought a bottle of wine to the table. While we waited, I asked the hostess to send the manager over. After a few minutes, a guy dressed identically to the other waitstaff came over, and to his credit, he did apologize profusely and hurry some appetizers to the table. Once he left, however, the service lapsed back to interminably slow, and the meal took well over 3 hours.

I would be willing to overlook some of these lapses had the food been exceptional, but that was unfortunately not the case. The menu is inventive and exciting. I was truly eager to taste the appetizer and entree I ordered, but they were both poorly executed. The octopus on the grilled octopus salad was fantastic, but the arugula salad was bland and undressed, and almost seemed as though it had been dumped on the plate straight from its container. The lamb ragu on my pasta was solid, but the kitchen staff inexplicably failed to salt the pasta cooking water (a cardinal sin if ever there was one), so the pasta was bland and unappetizing.

All in all, there seems to be a serious void in leadership and management at Bice. The entire staff seemed to be distracted and overwhelmed, and even the wine list was disorganized, with numerous listed bottles unavailable. It's a shame, because I had big expectations, but I don't think I will be going back to Bice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

the cheese twist is special with the wonderful assortment as an appetizer and then presented mild to strong so you actually could keep track of the tastes. Entrees were elegant also and the price was moderate given the downtown location and type of high quality entree served

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food always is good and the service is always excellent
We really enjoyed it

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing meal! The pork chop is out of this world. The experience is just wonderful. Arnold is our favorite server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The pasta choices are an interesting mix of traditional Italian and new world cuisine. The bar serves the full menu and the bartenders were entertaining. Excellent desert.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

" Bice Continues To Be SOOOO Good ! "

My wife and I went to Bice Ristorante in downtown San Diego last night and enjoyed a great dinner. I had purchased a special total dinner coupon off the internet where we received 2 glasses of wine, a shared Appetizer or salad of our choice, two entrees of your choice, and a shared dessert. We were met at the front of the restaurant by Bice host Melissa P. , who was very nice as she lead us to our table and handed us our menus. Our server Giovanni Tartaglia from Italy, was incredibly nice and bubbly, as he answered all of our questions about the menu, and was great handling all of our needs during dinner. Fernando, Giovanni's assistant at our table also did a great job coming around often making sure we everything we needed. Bice's Manager for the night Indira Velazquez was also all over the restaurant helping everybody and doing anything to make everyone's experience at Bice Ristorante a great one. For our dinner starter, we had the Trio di Tartare di Pesce, which is a Trio of tartar / fresh ahi tuna / avocado / salmon / chives / sea bass / and citrus. It was very good ! For the main entrees my wife had the Costoletta di Vitello alla Milanese which is a huge pounded veal chop / milanese style / arugula / cherry tomato salad / and balsamic vinegar dressing. Just look at the picture I took of it, and you can see how good it was. I had the nightly special of a huge rib eye steak with mashed potatoes, grilled Asparagus, and tasty peppercorn sauce. The steak was cooked perfectly, and was very tender. For the shared dessert we had the Tortino al Pistacchio, which is a freshly baked to order molten pistachio & chocolate lava cake / raspberry sauce /and amarena ice cream It takes about 13 minutes for Bice to cook this fresh dessert, but it is worth it, because it is a great way to finish a wonderful dinner. If you want a great, fresh, delicious dinner, setting, go to the Bice Ristorante, you will not be disappointed !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

BICE is our choice for pre Theatre dinner, and this visit did not disappoint. Excellent food, service and ambiance. And they make sure we leave on time for the theatre!
My only disappointment is that the menu no longer includes my favorite Lasagna :-(.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food. Salad portions too large when ordering a full meal. Can you offer half size?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious food. Great service. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Had wine, which was recommended and delicious. The salads were fresh and interesting. I had ravioli stuffed with beef and veal and a mushroom
Sauce. Outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful food and ambience. The beet ravioli topped with shrimp was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Went with a friend who was craving good Italian. Atmosphere and service are great. Our cocktails were good. But...there were no classic dishes. I like alternative takes on traditional dishes, but there was something sacrificed in these turns. The hollandaise for the carpaccio was good, but the meat itself was chewy, and the presentation (carpaccio wrapped around bread batons) made it difficult to eat. When you dipped it into the sauce, the carpaccio fell off. The desserts were mediocre at best. The lava cake was gritty, the panna cotta was fluffy rather than creamy and somewhat flavorless.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is rated the best restaurant in the Gaslamp district for a reason! It delivers! The food is outstanding and the service and wine are even better. Talking to the sommelier, Paulo, is one of the tears of this restaurant. Charming and knowledgeable this man knows his food and wine! The kitchen delivers. The lamb ragu and bronzino both outstanding - just like we were in Italy!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was good - beet ravioli with shrimp and meat ravioli with mushrooms. Service left a lot to be desired. Ordered champagne before dinner. When it was served, the waiter didn't give us a chance to have any before he started leaning over us to point out his favorite items on the menu. The food was served by busboys and the waiter did not come back. Finally flagged down another waiter to order a glass of wine. Our waiter noticed the wine, but never asked, when the glass was empty, if we wanted another. The busboy cleared plates as soon as we put a fork down - we were still chewing so it was hard to object! It was clear that they wanted us to move on, even though it was a 7:45 reservation on a Saturday night, it was not busy (wonder why!), and diners were still being seated as we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I really liked our server who said she was the Manager. The side dish with mushrooms and truffle sauce (can't pronounce or spell the name) was out of this world. I am trying to be vegan so the manager/waitress was very accommodating to my dietary restrictions. The four sides that I ordered were fantastic. I only have one complaint which was that the food was a little on the oily side. I would have preferred less oil in the eggplant side dish and the mushroom truffle side dish, but other than that, the food was first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I can always count on Bice for being consistently excellent. The service, ambience and food are always perfect. Every time I dine there I am reminded of why it is my favorite restaurant in San Diego.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

SeaBass was not cooked thoroughly, fresh ravioli dish tasted good, but looked unappetizing, and the lava cake was gritty. Don't recommend and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This is my favorite "go to" Italian restaurant when we have friends in town, or want nice upscale food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful evening - ambiance and food A+

Tags: Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Bice is consistently wonderful and tasty! The service is top notch, they really know their cheese and wine there! And the dinner won't break the bank totally. Great happy hour, too. Five dollar food and wine on weekdays until six I think!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had a great dinner with my daughter. The waiter suggested an appetizer that was wonderful. Food was great as was the service.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Everyone enjoyed the restaurant and found the food to be delicious. Will go again.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service although it took the server awhile to get to us. Food was fantastic and the bread was simply delicious! We would definitely go back. The fried calamari and seafood basket appetizer is a must have there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very nice restaurant but the food was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This place is on our list every time we visit San Diego! Good food and wines, nice atmosphere, great service. We've been there for drinks and appetizers (LOVE the variety of cheeses), as well as a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This scene gets more energetic as the night wears on, so go early if you like quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

mu first time at BICE, incredible food, the rabbit ravioli , incredible, the wine list very wide rage of great wines.
it been one of the best resting i have been latly.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.