About Bevy

The newest addition to Central Park South's dining scene. Chef Chad Brauze who cooked in some of the most esteemed kitchens from a series of apprenticeships with famed Chefs such as Thomas Keller and Daniel Boulud. The menu is focused on grilled fish and meats and rounded off with a large section of seasonal vegetables.

153 W 57th Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
7th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 774-1257

Website:
http://www.bevynyc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $45 for four hours.

Public Transit:
Subway: N,Q,R,W to 57th Street & 7th Avenue
F to 57th Street & 6th Avenue
A,B,C,D,1 to Columbus Circle

Executive Chef:
Chad Brauze

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Bevy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Private table in the back room. Mushrooms are delicious. Also recommend the oysters and the scallops.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Space is modern and rather cold. Waiter was very good and presentation of the food was fantastic, but taste and value were lacking. Bar area in front is not affiliated with restaurant which was also strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The restaurant was perfect---in fact, we wanted to return with a group but were informed that the restaurant is closing on January 8, 2018. Was disappointed UNTIL we received the bill!! They charged us $31 for a Stoli Elit gimlet????????????????? It wasn't a large gimlet---fair size but $31 DOLLARS??????????? We could have bought a whole bottle of vodka for the cost of one drink!! Unfortunately, we should have questioned the cost but were in SHOCK! We are not cheap diners and enjoy a good meal at a high end restaurant but this should have been mentioned when presented with the bill---or at least brought to our attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Eat all the starters and appetizers. They were fun, delicious, shareable and interesting. Thoroughly enjoyed the raw oysters and the foie gras.... It's also a beautiful and modern restaurant. We didn't sit in the bar area, but that seemed incredibly busy and popular!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food very good. Portions are on small side which is fine with me but you pay for everything separate, and since this is a pricey place to begin with, be prepared to spend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

I ate at Bevy with my wife and daughter prior to a show at Carnegie Hall - right across the street. Our meal was excellent. Venison, rib-eye cap and striped bass. All were prepared masterfully and seasoned terrifically. Service was impeccable. Great wine list and reasonable bottle prices. Would definitely like to return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Inventive, delicious cuisine on all four times when I have enjoyed this restaurant. It is an undiscovered treasure.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2017

We had another excellent dinner at Bevy. Our contractor friend/relative said that it had to be good since it was in a premier NYC cutting edge Building. The ambience is modern but warm and comfortable and the food is delicious , seasonal , and interesting. The cocktails are excellent and beautifully presented. The beets were delicious. The fish was perfectly cooked. The Apple pie was so good from the first time that we ordered it again. We will definitely come back again when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We had a lovely evening with friends here recently. My only complaints was that my dinner was a bit too complicated. I had the striped bass that was well prepared but two sauces, and many different little sides was a lot on the plate. My husband also felt that the wine pour was a bit skimpy for the price. All that being said, the service was impeccable, the ambience was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Very expensive. No bread on the table and no little treats if you don't order dessert. Not going back. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This is a beautiful (pricey) restaurant but that’s where the joy ended.
Charge for bread.
Waiter asked how our apps were and didn’t respond when I said the soup was very salty.
We both ordered the venison entree. The loin portion was good but the shank portion was so dry and tasteless.
When discussed with the manager she said the chef tasted it and said that that’s his preparation.

She did say we appreciate your feedback.

No offer to bring us something else.

Lovely dessert menu for the non chocolate crowd as there was nothing even remotely related to chocolate.
I expressed my surprise and the waiter did offer a chocolate soufflé.
I was curious about some unusually flavored $24 eclairs but they didn’t have any.

On the way out the host asked us about our meal.
When we filled him in he said that other people have also requested a chocolate dessert. Hmm.

That was his only comment , but interestingly,

We appreciate your feedback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

A really good spot!!
Good service as we had a very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. He took great care of us.
Food was delicious. Well cooked, well seasoned and the quality of products is undeniable!
The eclairs for dessert were good quality wise but the taste were a little bit too “crazy”. The same with chocolate, coffee, vanilla, strawberry or more classic flavors would be awesome.
We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

The food and service were top rate. While the menu, at first glance, features some odd combinations, the results are excellent. The roast chicken and striped bass entrees were of the highest quality. Do not skip the warm apple pie for two.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

What an amazing meal ! Beautiful presentation and impeccable service . Cannot wait to return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

First time visiting this restaurant. It is across from Carnegie Hall where we were attending a concert. A very welcome member to the neighborhood as dining options in this neighborhood are very limited.
We have reservations for a second visit soon.
Would highly recommend it. very upscale food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was so enjoyable, every bite. Excellent selection of wines by the glass. Lovely comfortable contemporary feel. Lastly, the wait staff is very welcoming and competent. We arrived late and needed to finish service within an hours time and our server knew exactly what to do to manage things perfectly, and allow time for dessert and coffee. Easy walk to Carnegie Hall, City Center and Lincoln Center. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were very happy with this restaurant. The food, service, and drinks were excellent. The ambience was relaxing. We will definitely return when we are back in NY. We took our cousins who live 30 minutes outside of NY and they really like the food too and plan to return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Lovely restaurant with beautiful finishes where you can meet friends for a wonderful meal and conversation. Nice crowd but low key. Great artisanal cocktails. Lovely staff. Food was very good but the ambience and staff are the real stars.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Delicious food. Pricey but mostly worth it. Great service. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I loved the lively vibe of the restaurant. The sweet potato chips and the crispy candied

bacon were out of this world ! The white asparagus was amazing.

The service was spot on and the wine pairing's were perfection.

The bison rib eye was perfectly done . I look forward to returning and trying the lobster

next time !

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.