Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Bestia

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (128)
Hot Spot (117)
Good for a Date (111)
See All
Special Occasion (105)
Creative Cuisine (102)
Handcrafted Cocktails (78)
Fun (69)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Worth the Drive (66)
Open Kitchen (64)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (61)
Modern Decor (59)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Casual (53)
Bar Seating (51)
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Groups (47)
People Watching (43)
Family Style (43)
Authentic (41)
Local Ingredients (38)
Romantic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Wood Oven (24)
Tapas (21)
Seasonal (20)
Organic (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Cozy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Business Meals (15)
Great Beer (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome service and great food. The pasta was simply awesome but a little small in portions. They should have an entree size pasta option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for business dinners or friends and family wanting a unique culinary experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was wonderful! Delicious food and service and such a fun environment. My only complaint is as a diner I am so over paying $22-29 for offensively small portions of pasta but it is what is and for that reason this place would be somewhere I might go a couple times a year rather than a couple times a month.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and friendly service. Our waiter gave us really good advice on what food to order and his selection and advice made a great difference!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always great food great service and so much fun...thanks Steven (Mgr) for your hospitality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

One of our dishes came out of sequence and the manager came by to apologize and pay for that dish. Great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Never fail at Bestia! Always exceeds my expectations!

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing experience. Came here to celebrate my fiance graduating and she loved it. The menu seems simple, but everything we ordered was beyond flavorful. The wait staff is extremely attentive and everything was cooked to perfection. Would definitely come back here for another special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Absolutely one of the best restaurants I have ever been to, if not the best. Every single dish they put out for our group tasted amazing and was made to perfection. That said, our waiter told us everything was family style and shareable. Which to us implied the sort of family style you get at say a family style Chinese restaurant. If anything all the items are good for sharing between two people. And to be fair, the waiter also said that the menu items get heavier as you work down the list. Regardless I'm a cheapass and the only time I'd give 5 stars for value is when I question how the restaurant makes its money. Anywho thank you Bestia, if only every restaurant I eat at leaves me this feeling happy with the food that is served. This will not be my last time here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food and service was amazing! Every bite was an explosion of flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was unbelievable! The portions are pretty small and therefore are good to try multiple dishes. The waiters were awesome. They were very efficient and nice. The food came out pretty quickly but we did not feel rushed. The only thing is the seats are not very comfortable but overall great place that I would recommend to my friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wedding anniversary, daughter 's 21st birthday, oldest daughter visiting from New York. Food and service were WONDERFUL!! The lamb was out of this world. The best I have ever had. Great Experience. Thank you, Bestia!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Loved everythijng we ordered and the customer service was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Felt very lucky to grab an open reservation for 8 people on a Monday night! This place is always booked. Love the flavors of each dish. You don't come here for a quick bite, you come here for the whole experience and opening your palate to different flavors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is the best Italian food in Los Angeles. Best value

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for Mothers Day, great food, great service, great location!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had heard such great things about Bestia and wanted to celebrate Mother's Day as well as my son's college acceptance there. It did not disappoint! The atmosphere was magical and I love how the integrity of the original building was kept. The service was wonderful, everyone was polite and helpful. The food was absolutely fabulous - everything was savored by the entire dinner party. The flavors were divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Came for Mother's day. Food was outstanding. Second time here and would come back. Only drawback is the difficulty in securing a reservation at a decent time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing Food, Excellent Service, Great Ambiance! A win win win :)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mouth-watering cuisine. So worth the wait. Some of the more popular secondi dishes run out fast tho like the lamb neck and the pork dishes. Best to book dinner reservations earlier rather than later or you'll miss out on these. Great service too compared to other LA restaurants.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

An amazing food experience. We had pasta and the grilled branzino. Delicious and highly recommend this restaurant for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The sommelier was extremely pretentious and took personal offense when I didn't like a wine. Made the manager come while I had my pasta in front of me so had to deal with him rather than eating my food. Annoying to say the least considering it was simply over the dislike of a wine which was in all fairness terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good but not great. Didn't live up to the hoopla I had heard so much about it. So many other great places to eat in LA that are easier to get into at a reasonable time (I don't like eating at 6:30.) and whose patrons don't have to talk loud to hear one another.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

First time here and it was great! Delectably crafted Italian dishes using a variety of ingredients. Solid cocktails and a decent wine list. The Somm was very helpful. I highly recommend this place. It is busy so plan ahead...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We loved the ambiance, the food and the pace of the evening. Thank you Bestia for making a weeknight so special!! The outside patio was lovely, cool and beautiful, without the noise and hustle and bustle of the interior. Food was delicious. Cocktails sublime. We will definitely go again when the occasion arises.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

really disappointing, pizza was burnt and dry, they really skimped on the cheese on a white pizza. will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Little expensive but good food and ambience. Should go for dinner. drinks are also good

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing food. Amazing staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fabulous! It's one of the places that I would reserve for a special occasion and make it a treat for myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I took my parents here and my dad claimed that this was this best meal he had ever had!!! Absolutely a treat and so excited to return here in the future. One of my favorite restaurants, ever.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The atmosphere is great the brands in the fish it's stunning nice people good service I wish I have reservation at least once a week they're always busy love it
בתאבון
אחלה מקום !!!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Overrated and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food experience in an "ify" area -

I need to emphasize that the food and the service were amazing. While the prices were a little high everyone in our party not only enjoyed their meal, but they also talked about the food. It was one of those food events where the person sitting next to you says "You have to try this,"
and then they start grabbing the bread plates and sharing their entree.

We went for a business meal with clients and an Uber car took us from the hotel. Make sure they know the exact address - 2121 E 7th Place. He originally had us at 2021 and let's just say that was not going to be a place you want dropped off at during the evening. That started our evening and the area feels "ify." That is the only negative I will put on the overall event. I travel worldwide and have eaten from street vendors in Taiwan to luxury hotels in Tokyo and NYC. I had to overcome this initial reaction by my business guests, but once inside and at the table, the attentiveness of the staff quickly alleviated the initial concerns.

I would recommend this restaurant for a special event, or for those food experience individuals looking for a meal they will remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Hot spot in the Arts District; great vibe and I love the notion of making everything fresh right there (pasta, sausage, etc.) The service was excellent: way to go on that score. Everything we had was very tasty; that said, it did not compare with the top of the line Italian restaurants that LA has to offer. For example, the pasta with pork sausage and truffles was surprisingly bland. The kale and gorgonzola pizza was good but had too much kale and not enough cheese. On the other hand, the pasta with the little oxtail bundles was superb. So come for the vibe and to eat well but maybe not the "wow" you want with every dish.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Still one of my favorite LA spots! A must-visit for the adventurous and carnivorous.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful dining experience! We will gladly go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food looks and tastes amazing! Service staff is extremely knowledgeable and super friendly. Very accommodating. If I have to complain about one thing it'd be that the pizza did not come with a pizza cutter. Had to cut with a steak knife which pulled the pizza topping apart. Otherwise amazing! Whorth it worth it! Bravo Bestia!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our experience was very pleasant and our waiter(s) were so kind and hospitable. Excellent service. Our favorite dish was the bone marrow gnocchetti.
I recommend for a special occasion, since reservations are killer. We came for our anniversary and it was a great experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This place is over rated. Food is okay but not impressive for the price, Valet parking is $7.50 won't come back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.