Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 1.32mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Bestia

A multi-regional Italian restaurant in the Arts District of downtown Los Angeles

2121 E. 7th Place
Los Angeles, CA 90021
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Closed on most major holidays

Cross Street:
Santa Fe Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 514-5724

Website:
http://bestiala.com/

Executive Chef:
Ori Menashe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please email events@bestiala.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bestia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (104)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Hot Spot (90)
See All
Special Occasion (88)
Creative Cuisine (83)
Worth the Drive (75)
Fun (56)
Good for Groups (55)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Casual (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Bar Seating (41)
Authentic (40)
People Watching (40)
Romantic (30)
Comfort Food (25)
Late-night Find (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Business Meals (18)
Tapas (17)
Seasonal (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Organic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

2nd visit, food is still consistently very good. Loved our seats at the chef’s counter. We had Lobster Crostino, Bone Marrow pasta; Gorgonzola pizza; oxtail agnolotti and chocolate budino tart. Cocktails were also delicious. Service staff very knowledgeable and their dish recommendations were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Bestia was a good restaurant. However, I didn't feel it lived up to all the hype. It was not the "end all, be all" foodie experience that I thought it would be. It was good, but not earth-shaking. I think there are some restaurants here in San Diego that are better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was pretty good. Not much for the price. The wine was astronomically priced. I googled the bottle we ordered and it had a 160% mark up. That's a lot.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

A bit noisy, so we sat out on the patio, where it was possible to hold a conversation with a longtime friend. Wine prices are really high, so it's best to pay the $30 corkage fee and bring your own! But the food is exquisite, and the service is incredibly responsive without being overbearing. Friendly, knowledgable, attentive, yet casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Bestia never disappoints. Fantastic tasting food, and superb service. It’s awesome seeing how everyone works great as a team.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Super high energy restaurant with incredibly good food. Everything we ordered was outstanding. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious! By far the most amazing food I’ve ever put in my mouth. Got seated well before my reservation time and the service was excellent! Only downside is that some dishes were sold out later in the evening.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Bestia had remarkable food that melted in your mouth with flavor and deliciousness. Tables are a little cramped and place is a bit loud but the servers, expeditious manner the food was served with great attention to detail with hand crafted bites was remarkable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Next to Maude in Beverly hills probably the second worst and most expensive meal I have had in Los Angeles in over 10 years

Doesn't come close to the hype but surpasses the non-value/price relationship by factors of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Everything was fantastic, as usual. 1 of our main dishes took a lot longer than expected but the server and the manager were very apologetic about it and made it right by comping it and a desert. We love Bestia! Food is fantastic and service is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Did not live up to the hype. the cocktail wasn't great, I've had better shishitos, pork porterhouse was okay. Cavatelli alla Norcina was the only outstanding dish. Can't lie, I was disappointed overall. Loved the ambience, it is a beautiful space.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We go there once a month the food is excellent and very consistent .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and ambiance.
A must. Marrow bone pasta was our favorite.
Couldn't believe acclaimed "donuts and coffee" are no longer in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of the two best dining experiences we've ever had. The other was at Vero Vino in Sorrento' Italy. Bestia has great food, atmosphere and service. Truly outstanding not just food but the service was over the top, especially our waiter Justin and sommelier Ryan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

It was an amazing experience and the food was phenomenal. The portions were a bit too small. The quality, taste, ambiance and service was incredible.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Amazing all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Amazing as always! Still the best Italian restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great for date night. Everything has an amazing taste and they bring out the good in order of your palette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

AMAZING FOOD! Excellent service as well. Bravo Peter and Bravo Bestia for an outstanding dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Had to book far in advance but was worth it! Great food (order the tomahawk pork chop) and bone marrow with spinach gnokkietta. Eleclectic wine list with a good selection of offerings.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Food was amazing, and the service was very attentive. Seating outdoors was much less noisy, and we enjoyed the entire evening. Our selection of small dishes was correctly organized to create a memorable meal, and brought out at the right times. Loved it all!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Made a reservation for 830pm for Saturday night a month in advance, we showed up at 815, waited for 45 min for a table. We requested to be seated indoors because it was pretty chilly outside, and the ambience inside is nice and that's what we had come for, however we were told it would be an additional hour wait for inside. Fine. So we agreed to an outdoor table and asked for the heater to be turned on, we reminded staff twice and it was never turned on. Our waiter was unfriendly and rushed, seemed overworked and actually careless. He spilled wine while pouring a taste for my boyfriend and didn't even apologize. We've been here before and returned for the food and ambience but were sorely disappointed.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was excellent!!! I liked veal tartard. I’llbe there soon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Got in at the last minute . Got the only reservation available which was very late and went early. Got an uncomfortable small table in the bar . I was a bit disappointed ;. Food good but notcspectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Hands down best restaurant in LA. This restaurants is one of my favorite place to eat. The food good is amazing everything is different s

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Bestia was absolutely fabulous in every way! I had this restaurant on my bucket list for some time and when I got tickets to the Museum of Ice Cream I decided that was the perfect time to go. Every dish we had (four in total) was absolutely delicious! The salad we started off with had the most amazing dressing, we devoured it. I had the Kale Gorgonzola pizza and it was superb. We then had a pasta dish that had the most delicious tasting sauce I have ever eaten. We finished off the meal with Frozen Strawberry Torte that was to die for!!! The service was impeccable, everyone was so very nice and hospitable. I cannot to wait to go back and taste some new dishes. Bestia is now my favorite restaurant, you MUST try it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Bestia was good, and we totally understand why their revelations are booked into the night. Lively nightlife even on a weeknight—so this is where everyone is hanging out! Thanks for the great service. We enjoyed our leisurely paced meal with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Sommlier was awesome - super helpful and unpretentious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Food was excellent and creative—ranks among the best Italians in LA. Crowd was sceney, vibrant and hip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Overall it was ok. Food was decent not the best but above average. Seating was very tight which I don't like but the service was great. I would recommend to friends but nothing I would want to go back to frequently.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Had reservations in advance but still ended up waiting 30 minutes for our table. Other then that is was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Really disappointed in my overall experience at Bestia. The pizza was soggy, the bone marrow was "meh", and the service was slow. Valet also had me park my own car, and then charged me $8 for "Valet Parking". I don't think I'll ever come back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

awesome pizza and service!!!
everything is good!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Overall excellence. Service was unbelievably great-- ask for Joe as your server; food was delectable-- easily a Michelin star worthy experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food is consistently good as well as service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our waiter Justin was fantastic, great food, the cucumber and melon salad and the Margherita pizza were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I was super excited to visit Bestia since I've heard so many great reviews about them!
All the staff members were very informative and attentive, which I really appreciated. Knowing how each dish is made helped me appreciate the experience even more. The restaurant was packed and relatively loud; so I kind of felt like I was yelling across the table to converse with the rest of the table. So I feel like if you are on a date, you might want to sit next to one another instead of across from each other.
We ordered the bone marrow, which I was the most excited for, two pasta dish and a pizza. Each dish was served with accompaniment of explanation. Each dish was very, very good! I feel like I wasn't WOWed from the experience, only because everyone hyped up the restaurant so much. But overall, it was definitely a worthwhile experience :).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Nestled into the warehouse industrial district of East Los Angeles Genevieve Gergis and Ori Menashe have carried on in the traditions of legendary LA Ialian establishments from Gino Angelini to his mentor Mauro Vincenti of the famed Rex il Ristorante. The torch continues to have been passed and anyone who delights in authentic Italian cuisine will only be enamored and delighted. The ingredients melt in ones mouth as your taste buds experience a sensory glee. The staff are a terrific group of dedicated participants in the process. LA has yet to overcome the horrendous driving nightmare which makes downtown dining almost inaccessible from other parts of the city, yet Bestia makes that journey more than palatable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Really loud. Hard to converse. Food was unique and really interesting. Service was excellent. Parking: only valet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.