HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Best Girl

4.2
377 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual (5)
  • Creative Cuisine (5)
  • Good for a Date (5)

Similar Restaurants

About

Best Girl is a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, the chef's presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
7am-10pm Sunday-Thursday
7am-11pm Friday-Saturday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 235-9660
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
9th
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 377 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipLADiner (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on November 11, 2017

The food is not so great, it is kind of small and the restaurant is crowded. There is really no reason to go to this restaurant unless you want something convenient to the theater next door.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 31, 2017

Unsure about this Permanently Closed status. We had a great time on Halloween at Ace's UPSTAIRS eatery; so my ratings are for UPSTAIRS. Upon checking-in early for our 7:30pm L.A. Chapter reservation, we were encouraged to eat at the Mezzanine bar up one flight, or to checkout the 'rooftop'. So happy with our beverage and small plates at UPSTAIRS, I informed L.A. Chapter (called downstairs two flights) that we wouldn't need our table afterall. Loved the Tetanus Shot cocktail! About an hour earlier, I'd rec'd a text reminder of our reservation with BEST GIRL which I didn't understand until leaving the restaurant venues and seeing that name above the coffee/bakery eatery. All very friendly employees.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on October 29, 2017

We enjoyed our time at LA Chapters (which I don't think is permanently closed, as suggested by the note in the title currently). The staff is courteous and kind, and although the food was a bit bland the people-watching more than made up for it. Especially good if going to the theatre at the Ace Hotel.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on October 29, 2017

Such an amazing place. I chose this restaurant as we were seeing a performance at the Ace Theater. I was not expecting to be so pleased. The food was so good. I live in Orange County but already I am thinking of returning. The egg white frittata was the best egg dish I have ever had. So many delicious flavors. My niece and nephew had the chicken sandwich and the ricotta pancakes. I tried them all and definitely all were amazing. The rooftop bar also is open for food service and what a gem it is. The view is spectacular and there is a tree In the center which is so charming. I truly cannot wait to return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on October 28, 2017

Brunch was delicious, we decided to have our meal Upstairs on the rooftop, however, we would have preferred more options on the Upstairs brunch menu, very limited options.

Report
Helpful
PaulaJ (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on October 28, 2017

This place has been a favourite place for awhile. Discovered the breakfast menu had gotten smaller & all my favourite sides are gone. No more Kale, roasted tomatoes, hash browns, mushrooms.....really!!
Coffee is still good, as are the staff.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on October 22, 2017

The ricotta pancakes are to die for, but his time, I tried the egg white frittata and it was (nearly) as yummy. I was with three friends for brunch and we ALL loved our food. Great lunch and reasonably priced (for LA).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 21, 2017

I always love a night out at LA Chapter!! Thank-you team!! x

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 13, 2017

I fell in love with Christian and Ruth. Christina is a hard core tough but sweet organizer and nest keeper. Ruth is the hardest working person I've ever seen at a restaurant, smart and absolutely beautiful on the inside. Great service. Terrible music and too loud. Impossible to even have a conversation. There is great music in this world. Most of it is Millennial too but it exists in the jazz world of NYC. The 60s - 00s is over and who needs it ? It is really cool when a young person asks: who is this ? Then they find out and are stunned at what they are missing right now. Instead of destroying their ability to develop an ear for music you should nurture it. Overall dining is not just food and service: it is also an experience.

Report
Helpful
Suzie (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our second time to dine at LA Chapter. We had an early dinner before a 7pm show at the theater at the Ace Hotel presented by CAP UCLA. All was excellent and service was great. The lovely woman who seated us checked back several times to be sure all was going well. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
vipMichaelF (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on October 8, 2017

Went for brunch. Good was inventive and service terrific. Vibe very art-y so you have to like that. Recommend the huevos rancheros with the green Chile.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was not that great for the price. A revamp of the menu would be expected before another visit which I am open to becuase everything else was very good!

Report
Helpful
JessicaButler (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

We chose this restaurant and I'm so glad we did. We had AMAZING service, the food was great, the ambiance was terrific and it was not expensive to do valet ($7 with restaurant validation) I highly recommend if you're in the downtown area!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the avocado toast with poached eggs on top. Would highly recommend it

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful service and yummy cookie plate at the bed of the meal with a cup of coffee

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 16, 2017

This is an excellent review for an evening which had a couple of misses -- a martini ordered came out wrong, and my date's fish was initially overcooked. Both were sent back. But there was much to like about the place -- it was hip and cozy and not overdone, and the service was impeccable -- Tommy was our waiter and he not only was understanding, he made the evening more enjoyable. My GF and I both hate sending anything back and having to do so twice in one dinner seemed excessive, but Tommy -- and the host-manager who also stopped by -- were very nice and supportive. Ultimately the fish came out great the second time and my burger was excellent. Lovely place, good people... I was nervous as being in the Ace made me worry about pretentiousness and over-hipsterness, but it ended up being a very nice little neighborhood bistro. Will go there again.

Report
Helpful
BernardLeslieF (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on September 15, 2017

It was our first concert at the Ace Theatre. We wanted to eat close to the venue. Made 6:30 Reservations at LA Chapter. The Dinner and Drinks were Fabulous. It was a easy walk next door to the Venue. We Saw 'Chris Thile and Brad Mehldou in the Beauty of the Ols United Artists Theatre.

Report
Helpful
vipjobim (Orange County)
3.0  Dined on September 15, 2017

The best thing about this restaurant is the wait staff- fabulously helpful and dear and attentive
The hostess was charming as well
This is the only reason( and the proximity to the theater at the ACE) that we might try it again
The bar was good- and the appetizer of the ricotta and honey with grilled bread was perfect
But then- such a disappointment!
pastas ( both) were al denta- but tasteless
The hamburger -not special at all- though the fries were good
the mussels devoid of -anything
But the dessert( apple tart )was delicious

A shame- because we would love to come back- for the location --- and the staff ( but sadly - not for the chef)
Perhaps- simply go for appetizer and drinks
And then- dessert ---that would garner the most praise

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on September 14, 2017

Our server was CC. She was super cool! Great food. The roof top is amazing. I wish I knew it was so cool. I'd have been all the time in the summer. Really overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
Disappointment (Los Angeles)
2.0  Dined on September 12, 2017

Service was very slow. Food was burnt. Usually decent food but not for the price

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19