Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Bertrand at Mister A's

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (119)
Special Occasion (113)
Romantic (108)
See All
Good for a Date (101)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Notable Wine List (50)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Business Meals (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Tasting Menu (28)
Cozy (24)
Historic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Private Room (11)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Waterfront (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Casual (4)
Vegan (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 14 hours ago

This is the best restaurant that I have been to in San Diego!!!! The food and service are beyond compare!!!' A must visit in San Diego!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Our lunch at Bertrand's at Mr. A's was like an afternoon at a spa. All three of us have very high demand jobs and escaping for fabulous food, pampering by the perfect staff and the view was like a vacation in the middle of the day. Thanks to our server Jerry. He is the BEST in San Diego!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The whole dining experience took over 3 hours. Drinks right away but then 30 minutes to take our order. Then 45 minutes later we saw our appetizer and finally 45 minutes later our main course. Took us 30 minutes trying to enjoy the meal that went cold right away since the AC was blaring. 20 minutes later we received dessert. They were nice but the flow of service left a sour taste in our mouths. So sad because I do love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My friends and I had a wonderful lunch together on the occasion of my retirement. All of us are so pleased with the excellent customer service of the staff--very professional, knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful besides good food and fantastic view.
Be sure to dine at this restaurant when you visit San Diego!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Beautiful views. Service was not up to par though. Disappointed with server. Food was good, but not WOW great for this type of a restaurant and the value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High school Prom at the NAT and dinner at Mr. A's was the best pairing! Food, ambiance were top notch and the views were spectacular!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service. Fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent view. Good food. Nothing spectacular. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Reliable elegant top shelf service food ambiance. A unique experience every time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Had a great lunch with my fam and friends - our server , I believe his name was George, was spot on and very nice. Hope to come back soon :)

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Best waiter on earth. Took care of us including my 9 year old with best service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I commuted from Inland Valley, Riverside County, California to Mr. A’s; crowned-jewel Balboa Park San Diego California. I previously lived in the greater San Diego county area for more than thirty-years and was excited to dine at Mr. A’s; however, the fine dining experience was very disappointing. Me and my wife attended Mr. A’s and opted for the Mother Day Special Bunch. The meal was so-so, however, our server was unprofessional and careless. I ordered Octopus which was a wee-bit overcooked and chewy. The Lamb Osso Buco was my second dish which was very good however I was extremely disappointed with the serving size I had more bone than meat. At the end of our meal, my wife ordered coffee and ask for cream and sugar. We waited about fifteen minutes before our server got my wife’s coffee however she forgot to bring the sugar and cream. I ordered a beer at the end of my meal and waited more than ten minutes to get it and when our server came to our table, my beer was warm, very warm. I hate Warm Beer. At the end of our experience at Mr. A's we returned to the garage to get my car and the vehicle Custodian gave me the car keys to someone else’s car. He could not located my car. I had to get my our car key's out of the key locker and find my own car. Not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It started off poorly with being seated around 15-20 minutes after our reservation. Service was a bit lackluster. Not even any checks on drinks. When the waitress did finally come over, she quickly grabbed the empty glass and ran off with it. Then didn't return until she brought the check. Lamb was a bit fatty, but otherwise the food itself was decent. To top it off, there was an automatic 4% surcharge and an automatic 18% gratuity even though there were just two of us dining... which wouldn't normally have been an issue but service really was that bad. The check was also initially brought 45 minutes after being seated and an hour past our reservation time... definitely felt like we were being rushed out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have never been disappointed at this great restaurant

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. A bit disappointed in the menu- needed more brunch options and wish upon my reservation that I was given a view option

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food awesome service and great views of San Diego sky line

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A great evening dinner for a special occasion. Thank you

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Bertrand at Mr A's is a throwback restaurant to the 60s & 70s when cultured, sophisticated diners went out to eat at high end, white tablecloth restaurants. One of the few restaurants in San Diego that publishes a dress code on their web site, albeit not a rigid one, you still have the feel of dining out with a crowd more interested in fine food rather than the latest sou vide fad. The menu is creative but stays within the bounds of recognizable ingredients and preparations, the wine list is extensive with many excellent choices although somewhat pricey, the staff is polished and attentive without being obsequious, and they know how to craft the original martini. My wife and I celebrated her birthday there and had an outstanding meal. And there was no singing Happy Birthday by the staff! This is definitely the place to go for a relaxed, quiet, excellent meal and worth the cost just to enjoy dining out in the classic fashion.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Celebrated my cousin's 30th Birthday and it was just wonderful! Amazing service, food and drinks. We all had a great time & thank you for his "birthday treat". Cheers!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mr. A's is a classic, upscale San Diego institution with excellent service and spectacular view, with a breadth of very fine menu options. Quite spendy and worth every cent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Well, this was Grace's 85th Birthday Party. We had a group of 10 in attendance and Berger did an exceptional job of serving our group. A few of the comments I heard from our friends were "my water glass never went empty", "what a beautiful presentation!", "the service was exceptional!", the scallops were perfect!", "that's the best seabass I've ever had!" , "what a wonderful restaurant - we've been want to come here for years!", "what a view!!".
To say the least, everything was done exceptionally well. We brought our cake for your staff to serve and they went above and beyond cutting and serving. The presentation with the additional chocolate & fruit was a lovely addition. Overall a great party and dining experience.
Thanks for still being in town after all these years!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great service & delicious food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful evening. We could not have had a better experience. It truly was wonderful, on all fronts; server and all staff, atmosphere, food, and views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really delicious meal and outstanding experience with the staff -- we'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing view and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Came for brunch. Just really lovely - Gracious service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

What a wonderful evening! It was our anniversary. We had an amazing window table. We could see the planes land and take off. We had the specials all around. We had the soft shell crab appetizer which was amazing! And the rib eye for 2 on the bone! Beautiful! With carmelized vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Got a resa. Still had to wait 20 min
Food is so-so (we're french) the chicken jidori is really good.
View and chicken jidori are good reasons to come

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We hadn't been here for awhile but it was every bit as good as we remember. Definitely need to get here more often

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Bertrand's at Mr. A's is the quintessential place for fine dinner with a view. Always consistent with excellent wine and food selections. Michael, our waiter, was attentive without being intrusive; well versed in all menu items. Stephane's tasting menu, not only was exceptional, but also a good value; three courses plus dessert for $75.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Have gone here for 50 years. We are local and wish there were more back to basic dishes on the menu......just to many foo foo dishes for the tourists. Still the service and ambiance is top notch as it should be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Was a great environment with the best view of the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great service and excellent view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I celebrated my wife's birthday here on 4/30/17 and the food, service, and view were spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I have been to Mister A's several times over the years and it just seems that the menu is too average I would expect more from "the restaurant" in San Diego. Don't get me wrong it's good, but is it a cut above, not so much. Actually returned a dessert THAT should have never happen. Is it more about the location then anything else, maybe ?

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our meal was outstanding and the service was top notch. Our server Matt made excellent recommendations as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Did a great job at making our anniversary very special!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server was amazing and really added to the quality of the experience. Will go again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As usual, Gerry was "Spot On" - - -one of the many reasons we go to Bertrand's; also, when there, George is one-of-a-kind fun!
Our server on this occasion ( 4/28/17, around 1:15pm; outdoor seating ) was" less-than-Bertrand's", subpar over what we've come to enjoy and expect at Bertrand's

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.