About Bertrand at Mister A's

2550 Fifth Avenue, Ste 406
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

You’re just a few minutes from downtown San Diego; take the elevator to the top floor. You won’t believe your eyes! Huge jetliners sweep past at eye level. Our beautiful city’s skyline, San Diego Bay; why settle for just an ocean’s view when you can see the entire city from one vantage point.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30am - 2:15pm. Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 9:30pm. Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm.

Appropriate attire is required. The dress code is dressy business casual, meaning nothing you would wear to the beach or a sporting event. Nice jeans or Bermuda shorts are fine with a collared shirt but nothing overly casual.
Dinner Dress Code 2 PM until Close is Fashionable evening attire is acceptable for dinner. For gentlemen collared shirts and slacks are appropriate. For ladies a dress or blouse with a skirt or slacks are appropriate.
Jeans are permitted, provided they are not ripped or torn. No shorts are allowed during the evening. Beach wear, gym attire, athletic apparel, hats, flip flops, and open toed shoes for men are never permitted.

Cross Street:
Laurel St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-1377

Website:
http://www.bertrandatmisteras.com/

Entertainment:
Bertrand at Mister A’s restaurant offers one of the most exceptional city views in all of the country. A true site seeing experience with a panoramic view; which encompasses the breathtaking city skyline, San Diego Bay and harbor, Coronado Bridge, Point Loma, Sea World, Balboa Park, the world famous zoo and Mexico high a top Bankers Hill.

Catering:
For parties of 10 or more, it is necessary to call the restaurant directly for reservations.

Parking Details:
Street and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Stephane Voitzwinkler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private spaces include our Park Banquet room seating up to 75, Boardroom seating up to 20, Rotunda seating up to 30 and a semi-private space the Downtown room seating 45. A full buyout can accommodate 300 seated, more standing reception style.

Bertrand at Mister A's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (147)
Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (101)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Notable Wine List (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (33)
Historic (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Waterfront (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Seasonal (12)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (11)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The environment and aura of the restaura ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

The environment and aura of the restaurant was outstanding. Although, the food was severely overpriced for the way it tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Mister A's had fantastic food and stell ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Mister A's had fantastic food and stellar service! The atmosphere and views are spectacular. The staff is very knowledgeable and enjoy pampering the guests.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food and excellent service! Bes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and excellent service! Best meal we had in San Diego. The view is also incredible.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lobster bisque extremely salty . Appetiz ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Lobster bisque extremely salty . Appetizers extremely salty. Steak cooked as ordered . Lobster was bland and over cooked . Manager was rude and more worried about the wealthy costumers he had there that night . Waitress never refilled drinks . Waitress helper asked if we needed anything and we told him yes and he never returned with what we asked . Never made our special occasion special . Two thumbs down! I got better service at a apple bees or dennys then this supposably high end restaurant . And not one staff member or manger seemed to care . Guess if you ain't wealthy you ain't worth there attention or time .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

It's been a year since last in SD and Mi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

It's been a year since last in SD and Mister A's was a given. Not a bad table in the place, spectacular view and great food. The service at Mister A's is terrific....attentive but not overly so...every member is professional and enhances the experience. With the help of the sommelier we found a fantastic Cab from Santa Ynez Valley. Can't wait to dine at Mister A's when in SD again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner with my girl. Tried the Valentine's Day tasting menu. Everything was fabulous!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The salad was weak ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing! The salad was weak, it was mostly lettuce. The mac n cheese was to die for! The selection for desserts was sad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre. For a $115 a person p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was mediocre. For a $115 a person price tag we got some very average if not below average dishes. The raw tuna as entre was nothing special, almost felt like it had been defrosted. Then the duck for main course consisted of 5 to 6 thin slices of duck, topped by a piece of a spring roll! The kind of which you can get at a chinese fast food. For that price the least they could do is serve me the whole springroll. It was almost comical that they would think that the piece of springroll would add sophistication to the dish....

only thing decent was the desert, but that's not difficult to get right, and again it was nothing amazing either. They automatically charged an additional 4% surcharge and 18% gratuities. I got a 20% discount after voicing my discontent. I still would not go back or recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

To mechanical and commercial for Valenti ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

To mechanical and commercial for Valentine's Day. Normally happy with the offering but that felt like a buffet served table side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointed. Been in San Diego sin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointed. Been in San Diego since 1980 and probably been here 30 times. Seems to be getting worse and worse. This is the first Valentines Day I went. $115/per person + 18% gratuity + 5% surcharge. most expensive meal I have ever paid for. both our meals were not impressive. ordered my steak medium well, came almost raw. took 15 minutes to get our waiter, who was terrible, back to resolve the problem. dessert came out fallen over and the waiter didn't seem to notice or care. made special request 2 months in advance "Special Requests: Window table, South or west facing" they sat us the furthest away from ANY window in the entire place staring at a wall. we even got there 30 minutes early to ensure a good table. Host responded "sorry there is nothing available...while we watched numerous people come in and be seated at open tables next to windows. Twice while waiting in the lobby, we saw people come in and hand the host cash since they didn't have a reservation. one of them was seated before us with his date. (probably by a window). Overall a huge waste of money and had to deal with getting yelled at by my date the rest of the night for picking a terrible place for valentines day. do not recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I wanted to take my lady someplace speci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I wanted to take my lady someplace special for Valentine's Day. I checked out the menu and thought, while a little high, we could share something or make it worth while. When we arrived, however, we were told there was one ONE menu, that it was $115 per person, no sharing. They didn't tell me that on the website or when I made my reservation. While the view and ambiance was nice, it was a shock to be forced to pay that much. I was totally disappointed and would NEVER have gone. One top of the overpriced menu, they added a 4% "surcharge" and then added an 18% gratuity. The total bill for 2 people and only 1 glass of wine: $335.

While nice, it wasn't THAT nice. Plus, the service was bad. The ravioli appetizer was cold, as was the after dinner coffee......when it finally arrived. My girlfriend ordered horseradish with her oysters, that didn't come as well.

All-in-all, the view was nice, we sat on the patio and the heaters kept us adequately warm. The service was less than would be expected for the price they forced upon you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great service and the beautiful scenery

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and the beautiful scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No way is it worth the cost. Food is med ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

No way is it worth the cost. Food is mediocre. The only good part of the experience is the view. We will not return or recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

This restaurant used a switch and bate t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant used a switch and bate technique on me. Took my wife for Valentines and when I arrived, they offered one menu with a price of $115 per person.... they need to advertise this special on their website so that people know in advance. I had researched the day before and they had the full menu available but no mention on the website that it would only be one menu. BIG THUMBS DOWN!!!!!! Never will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

It's not a bad restaurant however I'm no ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

It's not a bad restaurant however I'm not into subsidizing the minimum wage law with the added surcharge. So, even though I have in the past frequented for business lunches and dinners, I now will be taking clients elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Loved the food the service and the view. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food the service and the view. This is 5 star on my list. you gotta check it out!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions. Not a plac ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great for special occasions. Not a place for young kids. $$$. Food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Usually come for rack of lamb. Didn't ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Usually come for rack of lamb. Didn't have tonight☹️But Lobster tail was good with the exception of the tomato sauce on top. Didn't add anything. Hubby special porterhouse veal left much to be desired. Over cooked. Ordered medium came back medium well, both times! Oh well, will order medium rare next time. It was Valentines Day and extremely busy so will chalk it up to that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and great service with a view ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food and great service with a view like no other in San Diego

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a delightful evening ! Had a perfect ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a delightful evening ! Had a perfect view of the city light's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

When I am asked to pay $15 for a salad I ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

When I am asked to pay $15 for a salad I don't want to see scraps of snap peas and a hint of other salad material. It is far too "French" to be edible. I don't want to photograph the food I want to eat it and enjoy it. I can say the same about the entrees as well. The best thing we ate out of all was the bread sadly (which we had to ask more of).

Also, if you are going to fancy yourself as a high class restaurant and remind people of a dress code please make sure you enforce it!!! There were many people with ridiculous outfits and sneakers, tattoos all over them and proudly showing. What is the point? Either accept the fact that you are but another high priced tourist attraction or enforce your own dress code...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great views. Quiet and private for busin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great views. Quiet and private for business lunch. Attentive service. Superb food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fabulous food! We cam ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service and fabulous food!

We came to celebrate a friend's birthday, and received the best service. The view is spectacular.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect except for one mi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was perfect except for one minor hiccup. I specially ordered flowers for my girlfriend for Valentines Day and called the restaurant to double check that they received the notification and make sure that the flowers would be on the table prior to our arrival in order to surprise my lovely lady. When we arrived the flowers were not on the table. I had to go ask the hostess what happened to them and they mistakenly placed them on a different table. A few minutes later they brought them to the correct able. They apologized, but that was it. Surprise ruined, but at least I got an apology :/ I called to confirm that this exact thing wouldn't happen and it did anyway... Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice views, great service, but the food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Nice views, great service, but the food not much to brag about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Sun setting over Point Loma, a quiet din ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Sun setting over Point Loma, a quiet dining room, creative food items and a staff that knows precisely what it's doing, from the bread man to the table waiter. A real joy to find a place that knows how to prepare and present interesting, delicious food in a gorgeous setting where you can actually HEAR what the person at your table is saying!...While the baked alaska needed some help, the rest of our dinner was perfect, from a sidecar cocktail (no easy feat these days) to a glass of Chateaunauf de Pape, an appetizer of a flaky pastry streudel filled with shrimp and scallops, and entrees of a beef trio(small filet, melt on your fork braised ribs, and a shepherds pie) and Japanese sea scallops, preceded by a delicious amuse bouche and house baguettes, and as each course ended it was whisked away and the next arrived. Professional, creative, and delicious. Take your friends or visiting relatives and let them watch the boats bobbing in the harbor at sunset and you'll be their favorites for life, even before the food knocks their socks off...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Business Meals, Vegan, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just love coming to this restaurant! Ou ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just love coming to this restaurant! Our Valentines dinner was perfect

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is an extraordinary restaurant, the o ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It is an extraordinary restaurant, the only thing they have to work on (a lot) is the hostess girls, how don't accept errors and mistakes they do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, great view, great service, g ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great view, great service, great time! We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Still can't understand the allure of thi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Still can't understand the allure of this place, other than the view. Food was good but neither innovative nor spectacular. Service was competent but not outstanding with many small lapses. Price is not commensurate with the experience, especially with the 4% surcharge which seems totally a matter of greed. Plenty of more interesting places.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Occasion we was there was to celebrate m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Occasion we was there was to celebrate my two year anniversary. Initially I chose Mister A's like so many was the view was gorgeous San Diego right before the sunset. My significant other loved every moment. From the view to the delicious meal we ordered.

Special shout to Roman. He was very attentive and patience which made the visit even more awesome than we expected.

I have been commenting to my family and friends on how Mister A's was a great place to share memorable moments for all this intimate occasion. Highly recommended!

Tags: Waterfront, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, with mostly good food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful space, with mostly good food. One of four dishes came to our table as a rather bland variation of swordfish and the side, which should have been hot, was nearly frozen! They tried to rectify the problem by providing a replacement side dish but the side arrived at the table after everyone else in the party had finished their meal. Unfortunately, the replacement side was nearly tasteless although it was hot. When the bill came, no consideration was made for the shortcomings. As a group we had a great time together but only three of us really enjoyed the fare. Our server was really good in so many ways, but again, we were disappointed that the bill didn't reflect an ill-served entree. I feel that overall, the experience was inconsistent. This visit being our first, I couldn't tell you if this was an anomaly for this establishment or something else. I could have been great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had dinner there two years ago when w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had dinner there two years ago when we were in San Diego and really enjoyed the food, the view and the ambiance. Since we were in San Diego again this year my wife and I thought we would see if it was as good as we remembered --IT WAS!! We had two of their specialty cocktails which were both excellent. We loved their warm bread and followed that with sharing a beet salad. The salad was outstanding and was plenty to share. We then both had medium rare filets that were cooked to perfection. The mushroom sauce was great. The entrée was accompanied by mashed potatoes and asparagus. A good bottle of wine with dinner was easy to choose from their extensive wine list. Ice cream and cappuccino capped off a special evening. While expensive, it was an experience that we enjoyed and we will definitely return when we visit San Diego again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding, as usual. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was outstanding, as usual. The preparation of the dishes attractive, but the sauces and toppings was a bit much and did not seem to complement the dish. A lot of "fusion" activity which I do not always appreciate. We dine here several times a year, and this is the first time the flavors were too adventurous. However, will dine there again to make sure we were not off.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

If your looking for "Classy" this is the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

If your looking for "Classy" this is the spot! important business dinner, special occasions, a special treat! The service is the best in the business, and they views will stay with you for years to come.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience, fabulous view, exquisi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

great experience, fabulous view, exquisite sauces. foie gras delicious. vegetables sides al dente.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant recognized for its cuusi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This restaurant recognized for its cuusine, impeccable service, incredible view and romantic atmosphere is a must to enjoy if you are in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent. A classic, one-of-a-k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always excellent. A classic, one-of-a-kind fine dining experience. Outstanding cocktails, classics and nouveau on the menu, impeccable service, beautiful space with equally beautiful views. An experience that is inclusive and welcoming for anyone and everyone. I just wish the clientele would dress as well as the wonderful staff! A great place to make any occasion special and every special occasion memorable.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Customer service experience. T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent Customer service experience. The food was excellent. Very tasteful and desserts were lovely. Very happy with the service overall.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr A's service & food was terrific with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mr A's service & food was terrific with a great view of the city.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.