Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Benvenuti Ristorante

To share our love and passion for Italian cooking, Benvenuti Ristorante (formerly know as Salvatore Ristorante) features exceptional traditional Italian cuisine in a warm and welcoming environment with local, sustainable, organic ingredients, an extensive list of Italian and Californian wines, a full bar and a robust cocktail program.

1627 N Broadway
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Tue-Thur & Sun 4:30pm-7:30pm
Dinner: Tue-Su 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Civic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 932-2828

Website:
http://benvenutiwc.com/

Catering:
From an office meeting a a few to a corporate conference of many, we have menus for every occasion and dietary preference.

Parking Details:
The First Republic Bank at the corner of N. Broadway and Civic Drive is allowing all Benvenuti diners to park at their lot at no cost after 6pm.

Walnut Creek Library parking garage offers metered parking on the corner of N. Broadway and Lincoln.

Also there is a metered parking lot behind Benvenuti that is accessible only threw North Main St.

Public Transit:
14 min walk from Walnut Creek BART Station

The 4 take exit Locust St/Bonanza St

The 21 take exit N California Blvd/Bonanza St

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant is available for private events and cocktail parties during lunch and/or dinner hours upon request and based on availability.

Please contact us or visit our website for samples of our menus that can be customized for your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Angela Alagna: (925) 932-2828

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benvenuti Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Authentic (19)
See All
Bar Seating (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been waiting for the former Salvatore Ristorante to reopen as Benvenuti for many months, and we were delighted to be able to celebrate my birthday there. It was our favorite restaurant in the area before and is even more so now. The food is even more delicious than ever, from appetizer to soup/ salad to main dish. The grilled artichoke, potato-fennel soup, Caesar salad and filet of sole (both of our choices) were fabulous, good, satisfying portion sizes too. Even the dipping sauces for the Acme bread (gratis) and artichoke were scrumptious. The cuisine is delicate, flavorful, well seasoned, with herbs and complex flavors. Birthday (gratis) tiramisu with whipped cream was yummy, and the drinks were outstanding. Truly perfection all around!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed our experience. This was our first time here and we'll definitely be back. The food was really good and only outdone by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

First time after the remodeling of the old Salvatore's. Same good service, with slightly updated menu and a nice uplift to the decor. Still sold and authentic Italian food with great ingredients and taste. Highly recommend for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a favorite. Glad they are back after remodeling.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Glad they reopn
The food is excellent and friendly family

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is my home away from home. These people treat you like family. Total comfort food, and the staff is amazing! When my husband and I go out to dinner we like to take our time and they really let you enjoy yourself. I always tell my husband this place is my Disneyland. The Salmon is my favorite and the servers even remeber my favorite dessert! I don't even have to ask for it. Its their homemade tiramisu! It pairs great with a glass of port wine and cup of coffee! Thank you all for always making us feel welcome!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The restaurant has been remodeled and it is fresh and clean. The food was delicious, service good, and Angela always makes guests feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Everyone had very good meals, but the fried calamari were exceptional. Best I have ever eaten.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We are so happy Salvatore's is back as Benvenuti! The pasta was homemade and delicious, just like we remember. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Welcome back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Angela and the crew are back, and none too soon. It was a long time coming, but we can once again experience the family feel of dining at an old fashioned Italian restaurant. Her greeting upon arriving sets the tone for the whole meal, with courtesy and good will to spare, the people who make this restaurant great are genuine and positive, and the food is superb.
Always try the special if they have one, since it was likely made in their own kitchen, and it's going to be memorable. On our last visit the risotto was the special, and what a pleasure it was with a deep nutty, subtle savor. Fresh shaved parmesan cheese lightly dusted over the dish provided both complimentary flavors and aroma, as well as a fun, loose visual affect.
The Angela Salad is our favorite, with the gorgonzola providing just the right contrast to the sweetness of the apple and honey vinaigrette. Have it split to share, and they'll bring it in two bowls.
The drinks are delightfully paired with the food, and we recommend the Dessert in Bloom for it's spiciness and kick. It was wonderful for snapping the eyes open and providing contrast that worked well with the risotto.
With luck you'll score Giuseppe as your waiter. His energy is contagious, and by the time he's bringing you your food if you don't also have a smile on your face you need therapy. Put yourself in his hands, sit back and relax.
The name has changed, but the people haven't, and we're pleased to report that the food is as good as ever, if not a touch better. Bravo! Benvenuti Ristorante is once again going to be our "usual place."

Koan Seeker Reviews

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

A little noisy. Liked it better before they remodeled. More casual now.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I was so happy to see our "old" Salvatores opened again however, under the new name Benvenuti. It was also great to see Angela's smiling face greet you as you enter. I was slightly disappointed with my meal selection. For years I usually had the manicotti (cheese stuffed pasta tubes). This time they were flat like enchiladas and I didn't care for the cheese and Swiss chard stuffing. My husband had salmon and didn't care for his that much either. Someone else at the table had the meatballs and pasta, again, he thought they were okay. Bring back your old tried and true recipes. They were always a winner. Because we love Angela so much we will definitely go back and give it another try.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonder place outstanding food, the La

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

An unbelievable find! Food was fabulous! Seemed very loud when you walk in but you soon find that everyone is enjoying themselves and the wonderful dishes.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My friend and I spent the day in Walnut Creek and were revisiting this restaurant after their renovation. Great place, great food, great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was fantastic! Service was excellent. They have recently installed sound panels, so the noise level has been reduced. I would eat here every night if I could!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love the pasta here. It is made at the restaurant and it is a stand out. After a lengthy remodeling it is now open again and the restaurant has a very similar menu as before, which I was hoping for.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We often dine at Benvenuti's (formally known as Salvatore) and always enjoy it. I miss my favorite dish which is the pasta with squid and hope it will be returned to the menu. The owner, Angela, is delightful and her staff is very friendly and helpful. Three of the four of us had the veal and all loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The menu is very pared down from what the predecessor (Salvatore's ) used to offer, which was a classic Italian menu with tasty original Italian dishes. This new restaurant offers pretty much what other restaurants have on their menu - it no longer is a different option from your typical middle of the road California restaurant. It seems that even the recipes for whatever dishes have been kept on the menu have been changed. After 30 years of happy dining at Salvatore's it was sad to see what has happened to the menu. I can see that the remodel was needed, but not the change in the food. For example, salmon was featured that day, so everything was salmon, the pasta , the fish of the day etc. What happened to Frutti di Mare or Alfredo sauce pasta? I hope they change back , but I am not holding my breath. It seems to me that a restaurant consultant was used to develop the new menu .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was fantastic but was very noisy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

New environment. More light as compared to the old place. Nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

So happy to see the beautiful renovation of Benvenuti, formally Salvatore. We've been going once or twice a year for years. We don't dine out all that often or we would go more. The new décor is tastefully done. The beautiful wooden tabletops are smooth and warm. Yes, it is loud but the owners are aware and are addressing this problem. Please don't let this keep you from a delicious meal. Our cocktails were delicious, and served promptly. We were dying for their delicious calamari fritti and it did not disappoint. We loved the new dipping sauce served with it! Warm bread was served with another new bruschetta type sauce which was also delicious. Veal picatta was flavorful and good sized portion. Housemade fettuccini with hopper shrimp and snap peas was delicious as well. Had to bring the leftover pasta home. Happy to see some of staff/servers are back. We wish Benvenuti many more years of success.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Soooo disappointing. We were so looking forward to the re-opening and I fully understood they are having a "soft opening" for the next few weeks. The food was OK, nothing like I remember from the old Salvatore's. The noise level is unbelievably loud. So bad we almost got up and left when we finally got our menu's. We were told by both the owner and the server that new noise panels were going to be installed in about a month. The service was absolutely terrible. They were out of several of the wines on the list. The ladies in our party wanted coffee and desert, but we could not attract our server, so we finally just asked for the bill and left. Won't be back for a long, long time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very good food! Great service. We always enjoyed Salvatore's and are glad it's reopened.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is just ok. Salads were overdressed. Clams were swimming in butter. Manicotti was just ok, very bland. If you liked the original Salvatore's you'll like it here. Love the bread with tomato olive oil compote. Nothing's changed. Very nice, friendly service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

okay, so there is an extreme noise issue here in the newly remodeled restaurant which the owners plan to address, which is essential. Food is in transition, drinks were ok. Time will tell.
We love the owner so will continue to check in and hope all goes well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were excited to try this place, as it is a refreshed and rebranded version of venerable Walnut Creek restaurant Salvatore's. The decor is much lighter and brighter and the menu is also improved. The service was pretty slow, but they've just reopened so we gave them a "new restaurant" break for that. I ordered a second glass of wine which didn't arrive until well after my entree plate was cleared from my table, which was disappointing, but they took it off the bill, so no big deal. What is truly awful about this place is the NOISE. IT IS SO LOUD THAT EVERYONE WAS SHOUTING WHICH MADE IT EVEN LOUDER. IT WASN'T "ENERGETIC" LIKE THE OPEN TABLE SCALE SUGGESTS, IT WAS PAINFUL AND THERE WAS LITTLE WAY TO HAVE A CONVERSATION WHICH DEFEATED THE PURPOSE OF GOING OUT WITH OTHERS. ANYONE WITH TINNITUS (LIKE AT LEAST ONE MEMBER OF MY FAMILY) WOULD HAVE TO LEAVE. I WON'T GO BACK UNLESS THIS IS FIXED. Don't like the shouting? Neither do I while trying to have dinner with my friends and family. Truly painful and unacceptable. My low stars are entirely because of the ridiculous noise level, which is a shame because otherwise the place would be a fun place to go.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Way to much noise,had to seek out a waitress and request service. Taste of food was good but serving size small for the price. Almost done with the entree before the wine came. Very disappointed,this used to be a very good restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Noisy when most tables are occupied. Would white noise help? Needs wall coverings, paintings, photographs, etc.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Glad it is back under same owners but new name. Real noisy, but they are addressing the problem. Food is excellent and service is just right. Wish they were open for lunch. Will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Recently remodeled, very noisy. Had to yell to talk.
Food ok, kitchen staff needs more time to perfect menus.
Service excellent.
Won't be going back unless they can find a way to soften noise level.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

One of my new favorite restaurants. Every entree is delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is the first time we have been here since they changed their name (and owner) from Salvatore's. The food is still terrific. Angela is always very welcoming and had the best service from her son Giuseppe. Glad to see that Angela and Manny are keeping the restaurant as wonderful as it has been for all the past years. It was on the noisy side, but were informed that they are working on doing something to get the noise level down to a manageable level. We will definitely keep this on the top of our list for "go to" places.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I had been waiting for this place to reopen its doors. I've loved since it was Salvatore restaurant and now as Bienvenutti! Food is great as always, I highly recommend it! I can't wait for them to finalize last details w/decor to minimize noise and to expand their regular menu, other than that it's all great! 😊

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always great food and service.
This evening lasagna was on the menu and it was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was one of our favorite restaurants and we looked forward to the reopening. The service and food continue to be excellent but the menu selections are reduced in number and my favorite dish, a squid pasta, is no longer on the menu. The noise level has increased so it was very difficult to hear our friends. Our hope is that the missing menu items will be returned. We also hope that carpeting will be added to help with the noise level. If these are done, the restaurant will be perfect!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They just reopened and it was amazing as ever!! Love it !!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

So happy Benvenuti is open! I've been patiently waiting since it closed for remodel back in July. The atmosphere, servers and food is like it never closed. Great Italian food, cannot wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The noise level was NOT energetic. It was LOUD, VERY LOUD! We were a small party of four and could barely hear each other without yelling. My ears were actually ringing when we left. We've enjoyed Salvatore's for years but won't go back until an enjoyable, conversational evening is a possibility.

Note to Open Table: Loud restaurants are NOT energetic. They are awful! I honestly have never talked to a person, young or old, who enjoys a meal when table conversation is a constant struggle.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good. Different than before. Newer more modern

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.