Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Becco

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (465)
Special Occasion (249)
Authentic (247)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (230)
Good for a Date (222)
Notable Wine List (212)
Fit for Foodies (203)
Casual (200)
Comfort Food (194)
Good for Birthdays (159)
Great for Lunch (155)
Good for Groups (152)
Good for Anniversaries (148)
Creative Cuisine (140)
Cozy (130)
Fun (129)
Family Style (121)
Romantic (103)
Outstanding Value (92)
Business Meals (92)
Sunday Lunch (76)
Worth the Drive (65)
Hot Spot (60)
Tasting Menu (53)
Bar Seating (47)
Late-night Find (39)
Seasonal (34)
Kid-friendly (34)
People Watching (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Healthy (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great for Brunch (19)
Quick Bite (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Private Room (11)
Historic (11)
Organic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
15199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 18 hours ago

Wait staff threw our food on the table and pasta on to our plates. Very loud and crowded. Our table was under a cold vent. I've been to this restaurant many times and the food today was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Met family for a reunion, family service worked great. Left us alone with no rushing. Great time to get together!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

An old reliable. We've been going for years and years. Best deal is trio of pastas with assortment of appetizers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Becco is outstanding in so many ways. A really superlative meal with many menu options. Be sure to get a bottle of wine at a reasonable $29 with many outstanding choices. The food is always perfectly prepared, and presented with flair and efficiency. Staff runs the restaurant like clockwork. In the many times I've had the pleasure of dining here, I find even more reasons to love it and plan for the next opportunity to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We frequently go to Becco for lunch before Broadway matinees. The food is consistently excellent, the service is prompt and courteous, the $29 bottles of wine are wonderful, and the prices are very reasonable for Manhattan. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the pasta tasting menu. Best deal in the city.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible experience! Love this place, we go almost every Friday just to have the most delicious meatballs. The special 3 pasta no limit... and of cause the Apple strudel is unbelievably tasty. The service is always nice and fast. The place is great for a family dinner. My favorite sitting area is the main room. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely incredible experience! The food was magnificent and all completely affordable!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the second time we returned to Becco after a horrible first experience. The second time was very well worth it and they have officially won us as repeat guests. Everything was delicious - the only thing I took off for was the fact that one of the pastas had way too much cilantro/parsley (not sure which) in it and it tasted a little soapy. Other than that, everything was perfect and we will be returning. Thanks Becco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

surprisingly mediocre food. we went for tasty, amazing food as we heard that was what Becco served. The Ceasar salad was bland, both Pastas were overcooked with runny, watery sauce.
So disappointed, I would never go here again. not to mention deafening. zero stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to go for pasta before a Broadway play!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was more interested in the table next to us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Becco is a great pre or post theater restaurant in the heart of Broadway area. Menu offered a nice variety of options. Especially appreciated the gluten free and vegetarian notations. Wine list was plentiful, and there was a special list where all were $29/bottle. Food arrived in a timely manner and was well presented - and most importantly, all was delicious! The all you can eat pasta special pre-fix was delicious, and several in our party ordered seafood which was equally good. There are different dining rooms throughout, which helps keep the noise level down. Will definitely recommend this to friends and family as a terrific option when in NYC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was great! The party I was with had a reservation for 3 and we were seated at a table for 2. Space at the table was tight to say the least. Hopefully next time we dine at Becco there is a little more room to enjoy the truly tasty Italian food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Delicious homemade pastas. Extensive wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

From start to finish this was a great experience! Impressive wine list, which also includes several $29 bottles ! Dinner was awesome and I've never had Gnocchi that I've raved about. It was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Impressed my italian in-laws with Becco so it was a win win for me and Becco!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been to Becco's many times over the past years and the food is always delicious and creative with quick service . The symphony of pasta was excellent , especially the beets ravioli ! On this occasion we were seated upstairs and it was much too noisy for us to even have any conversation. We complained and were told "I'll see what I can do" but she never came back and did nothing . Other people were complaining as well. Due to that , we left before ordering dessert and coffee. I felt that they should have made some compensation or effort to have the patrons enjoy their dining experience . A complimentary drink or cup of coffee would have been in order or at least come back and address the situation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the idea of the $29 a bottle wine list along with the additional choices on the extensive wine list. It offers diners the option--good move. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our luncheon choices. Service was attentive without being smothering.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The range of fantastic food the kitchen puts out is mind boggling. From the bread and white bean purée to the Caesar salad to the red snapper special, everything was dynamite. Especially when washed down with a glass of Primitivo.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Wine list has a ton of bottles for $29, best value at any NYC restaurant; we ate pre theater and service was fast and attentive, food was great, selection outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Becco many times over the last 25 years. The food is always excellent, the wine list ($29/any bottle) is exceptional, the service is good, and the ambiance is very welcoming. The 3 dish pasta entrée has been around from the start; we were a group of 4 and, although I had fish (excellent) the other 3 had the pasta "all you can" entrée and all 3 loved it, coming back for seconds. All in all, still a great place for dinner! Recommended highly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Unfortunately one of the servers accidentally dump a plate of olives on the table and on my pants. No apologies or new table cloth. The food was awesome and so was the wine!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Great food. The location is great- restaurant row, so close to theatres. It was quite busy when we arrived at 7 on a Sunday evening. It is clearly a popular place.

Had read reviews raving about their all you can eat pasta. I was not disappointed. It was delicious, as was the Caesar salad that came with it. Really appreciated the $29 wine list for all wines- lots of choice.

A la carte menu was good too. Really enjoyed Asparagus soup. The bread, olives and dips they bring are a nice touch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was excellent. Friendly staff. Food is reasonable and very tasty. Complementary tapas very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Not what I expected, but very good. I was looking for a quiet, basic Italian restaurant. Becco was very good for a highly energetic restaurant with mostly large meals containing meat and seafood. There wasn't a lot of pasta selections that I was mostly interested in. They have an all you can eat pasta selection, if that is what you are looking for, and it is very good. The staff is Excellent, but they get a little stressed during high volume times. Too be expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were tourists who ate at Becco following a play. We were early to our reservation and were seated quickly. Our table for two was very close to our neighbors, and we struck up conversations with diners on both sides. As much as we enjoyed the close quarters, this might not be the place for you if you're looking for a romantic experience. Our server was Jonmichael and he was THE BEST. We ordered the fixed price meal and liked it very much. This is a lively place to which we hope to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for my moms 84 Birthday. Staff was accommodating.Food always consistent and the all you can eat pasta trio that comes with Caesar salad - always delicious and a good deal for NY along with the reasonable $29 wine list.
My favorites on the menu are the pork chop and the veal chop along with the pastas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food, great service, great time !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a reservation and upon arriving we were seated promptly. From the hostess to the wait staff everyone was cordial and professional. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and specials for the day. He was attentive without being over bearing. Our food came out within a very short time frame and for how crowded the restaurant was, we were really surprised. Of course the food was excellent. I would highly recommend Becco

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were pleased with our pre-theater lunch, both with the quality of the food and the service. I had the pasta sampler lunch and my friend had veal piccata, a special that day. The service was good, and the food was delicious. We were not rushed, and we made our theater curtain with plenty of time. We would definitely return again, especially to see what new pasta would be offered!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is our "go to" restaurant in the theartre distrct.
Always a great meal and service.
LOVE IT.
We ordered a salad to share and they split it ahead of time.
Recently went to Tavern on the Green and did the same and they did NOT split the salad ahead of time.....awkward!!!!
The halibut is outrageous as is the pasta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

When my boyfriend and I came in for date night, we thought "oo, this place is so cute and small. The food should be really great", Wrong! We love to eat out especially at Italian restaurants and/or steakhouses. The food here was terrible. Their ceaser dressing tasted like Mayo!!! I got the $29 unlimited pasta, yuck!!! The ravioli tasted like dish soap, the pesto sauce pasta tasted broccoli, and the spaghetti and red sauce was SO hard(harder then al denti). My boyfriend had the chicken parm, that itself was the best thing even though it tasted like cardboard. We had to leave immediately!!! Before picking this restaurant, I read the reviews and everyone raved about this place so I was so happy but I would never come here again. They also spoke about the noise level and I also thought oo it can't be that loud and bad (side eye) they was so right!!! They sat us by what seem like a kitchen the food came out of there but no smells of the food being cooked, the waiters ran past constantly, they brought out a Hugh table in the middle of the already busy restaurant... It was just too much going on at one time!!! Moral of the story we hated the food and will more then likely never return!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

really great restaurant! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food and lots of it. Great ambiance. Very good value . Extremely busy but that's part of the fun. The staff could be a bit friendlier.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent as always. Food is always hot and authentic. Only problem is you are always in mass chaos. It is noisy and chaotic, but still worth it

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I took my in laws to a broadway show and dinner. We chose Becco on recommendation of our son. The experience started out nicely as we arrived almost an hour early and they were able to seat us. The wait staff was attentive but not overbearing. Atmosphere was lively and a little loud, but not so much that you had to scream to be heard. The food, outstanding!! Our conversation actually came to a lull because we were savoring our meals. We had Osso Buco, Veal Chop, Short Rib Special and Calves liver. Four very different dishes and each was incredible. Presentation, flavors, portions, all 5 star. Bonus, their signature Caesar Salad comes with all entrees!! The the $29 wine list was vast. The apple strudel was delicious and enough to split. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Unbelievable once again. Every time we go to Becco we are never disappointed. Food & service are fantastic, can't beat the wine list. Try to go every time I'm in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is the second occasion that I have dined at Becco. The first time was because I had heard of the owner Lidia as was not disappointed. This time is because we wanted a great place to go before a show and again it could not have been better. From our server Raymond being tremendous to my being able to have a casual conversation with Executive Chef Bill Gallagher. Chef Gallagher was nice enough to give me a couple of minutes while he was taking a breath of fresh air from a hot kitchen, the whole experience was truly spectacular. If you haven't eaten there before you are not being fair yourself. Make the trip it's worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.