About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (459)
Authentic (249)
Good for a Date (235)
See All
Special Occasion (231)
Notable Wine List (202)
Neighborhood Gem (200)
Outstanding Value (196)
Comfort Food (187)
Fit for Foodies (181)
Casual (176)
Great for Lunch (171)
Good for Anniversaries (154)
Good for Birthdays (148)
Good for Groups (136)
Creative Cuisine (133)
Fun (126)
Family Style (117)
Cozy (107)
Business Meals (94)
Romantic (92)
Sunday Lunch (73)
Worth the Drive (67)
Hot Spot (65)
People Watching (50)
Kid-friendly (41)
Seasonal (41)
Good Vegetarian Options (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Great for Brunch (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Tasting Menu (35)
Late-night Find (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Private Room (21)
Healthy (20)
Quick Bite (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Historic (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
14571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sadly, our food arrived 90 minutes after ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 20 hours ago

Sadly, our food arrived 90 minutes after ordering.

The fact we had 2 young children with us made it seem even longer. NYC dining is not typically this slow. Very disappointed.

There was only 1 waiter for the entire top floor!

Very loud as well. We will not return. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We have dined at Becco a couple of times ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

We have dined at Becco a couple of times before and enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance. We were seated upstairs, which is very plain and not much atmosphere for NYC. If you want to be more quiet, it's OK, but not the true Becco experience. You should make the atmosphere better upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Had possibly the worst dining experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Had possibly the worst dining experience I've ever had on Saturday. Had a 630pm reservation (which I made approximately 30 days in advance). Table was not ready, but that is quite understandable at that time on a Saturday. We were asked to wait in the bar area. The bar was already overcrowded with patrons waiting for their tables. We were basically standing next to people that were trying to have a meal as well. It was very uncomfortable. Everyone was trying to stay out of the servers way and keep a distance from the patrons that were trying to eat.

When our table was ready we were seated at table directly inside and to the right of the front door. Our server finally came over after approximately 10 minutes and we asked for waters and wine. My wife has a shellfish allergy and was attempting to discuss this with the server and stated "I had a few questions on the menu.....", he rudely interrupted her, spouted off the three pastas of the day and the specials and walked away. At this point, the table next to us that was seated almost 15 minutes after us began receiving their salads and we had not even gotten our drinks yet. While this was going on, the area around our table became overcrowded with people attempting to get a table. I was continuously bumped in to and had to constantly move the table further along the wall so I could sit comfortably. We asked our server if he could speak with the hostess about controlling the overcrowding and he responded by saying "You want a new table?....Fine" and walked away. After a few more minutes the hostess came over and asked if we were the ones that wanted a new table. I explained to her that we never asked for a new table, just to have crowd controlled a bit and that our server was extremely rude about the whole thing. Including interrupting my wife. At this point, we had no desire to eat here and we left. We were looking forward to eating here. The restaurant has the feel of cash grab cashing in on Lidia's name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food and service!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta was homemade and delicious, th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The pasta was homemade and delicious, the wine perfect., the waiter knowledgeable and patient, the service prompt, the atmosphere friendly, the restaurant spotless, the bathroom clean, the price reasonable, the experience 9 of 10.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Lunch for two, pre-theater, two entrees ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Lunch for two, pre-theater, two entrees and one bottle of sparkling water came to about $70. No salad, drinks, or dessert. About par for NYC as was the crunched-in tables that we've come to expect. But the entrees were delicious and ample. I had a mixture of beef, veal, pork served in peppers, served on a bed of spinach spaetzle, with a red sauce on top. So tasty. Partner had chicken parm, huge portion, but no pasta which we found strange.

The service was top-notch, and there was no wait for the table and a reasonable wait for food. Bread basket was amazing. Bread sticks, bread, some kind of cheesy huumus dip, and a skylight in our dining area which made for a sunny, pretty ambience.

We didn't have drinks or dessert as it was noon and we were going to theater. Drinks and dessert would be later!

Lovely experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant for before the theater. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant for before the theater. Staff is very accommodating.....quickly seated, good service. And the food is always excellent.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious although the servers ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious although the servers with the pasta did not come around at all after the first visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had the most amazing server!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the most amazing server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time, and the food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time, and the food was delicious! Nice atmosphere, attentive waiter, and beautiful art work! Perfect venue before the theater. Thanks!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and outstanding service. My ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and outstanding service. My client proclaimed it her new favorite restaurant. And there were Italians (from Italy) dining there, so you know it's good. GREAT place. Quiet, service above and beyond. Truly excellent experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value. Price was good for the qual ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great value. Price was good for the quality of food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it have been going there for over ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it have been going there for over 10 years, and everytime I go, it gets better and better.....

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has had consistently goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has had consistently good food for years. We go because we KNOW what we are going to get and we love it. We always order the "lunch special" which is three different pastas (served family style) for lunch. It is a great value for NYC that includes salad and endless pasta if you wish. Of course, the meal is started with a huge box of bread/breadsticks for you to enjoy with a side of oil and hummus! YUM!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was excellent and food was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent and food was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I've been to Becco a number of times. Th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been to Becco a number of times. This place never disappoints! The food is always outstanding, great service and good prices! Will continue to come back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The veal osso buco was excellent the sal ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

The veal osso buco was excellent the salad very very disappointing in terms of the size for the price point

The real disappointment was the pasta for whatever reason I expected much more flavor and it was to the bland side at least for me....

I make a whole lot better pasta and that's no exaggeration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very few restaurants can hold the atten ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Very few restaurants can hold the attention of a client for year - let alone more than a decade.

Becco is one such place- my guests are always treated like long term clients - whether or not I am there - the food is literally perfect- the staff professional and friendly... Nuf said!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service was good, re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, service was good, reasonable, however tables too close together- you could conversations from other tables- too noisy for my taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food and very personal staff. Perf ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and very personal staff. Perfect evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to NYC for the dog show and have ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We came to NYC for the dog show and have always eaten at least one night at Becco's. Love the food, wait staff is helpful and friendly and the food is fairly priced. It will always one of our "stops" in the Big apple.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere was warm and authentic, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The atmosphere was warm and authentic, and the host changed our table to downstairs to accommodate my grandmother. The waiter put a candle on her sorbet and sang happy birthday. We were a bit disappointed in the pasta trio, but the dessert sampler was amazing and the coffee was good.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Possibly good for pre-theater eating fas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Possibly good for pre-theater eating fast food before show or after show but not for a fine dinning experience. Felt rushed. Food being served from community pot(s). Waiters running around. Would not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

I guess I expected more from Felidia's s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I guess I expected more from Felidia's sister restaurant. Since Felidia is one of my favorite restaurants I was hoping post theater dining at Becco would be a treat. However, only go if you are going pre-theater as they can get you in&out with a decent meal. But don't expect anything special. It is almost like good cafeteria food. The all you can eat pasta special (3 kinds) was bland as was the Caesar salad that comes with the entree. I was very disappointed overall. I would go again pre theater but only to eat quick. Otherwise if you want a good meal and have time go to Felidia on the east side, I wish I did!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I have been here before was much better ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been here before was much better then but not this time. Food was okay but not the best. Tried to sit us where it was blowing cold air asked to be moved and they were not happy so they stuck us at another table that was not the best. I made the reservation well in advance so I feel we should have gotten a good table. I don't think I will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Absolutely loved our meal. Meatballs wer ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely loved our meal. Meatballs were just like my grandmoms, lemon chicken was amazing and my girlfriend had the pulled pork with the apple slaw on top of it. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing evening! Lydia and her t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What an amazing evening! Lydia and her team never disappoint. The menu is truly one of a kind

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been there in years, but was as ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Haven't been there in years, but was as good as I remembered. Noisy and cramped but excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If they have the cocoa pumpkin ravioli w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

If they have the cocoa pumpkin ravioli while you're there get it! You won't be disappointed, delish! Be both did the $25 table side, amazing value. Was pretty loud, packed, and felt a little rushed in there but food was DELISH!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

As always, a fantastic meal! Service ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always, a fantastic meal! Service exquisite, as always. We had the table next to the door, which wasn't optimal, but didn't dampen our enjoyment.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tasty well-prepared food. Generous porti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tasty well-prepared food. Generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Becco. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second visit to Becco. We love it. In general it is,a phenominal place for dinner and we will without a doubt return. This trip there were just a couple things I was a little disappointed with but none that would change my mind about returning. The thins were minor in nature. We were seated at very small table for dinner and basically had to climb over another table (we're not small people) with a family of 4 with two young children who when talking would shout over the rest of the patrons (again we came at the height of dinner time and they were young) once they and the theatre crowd left left the noise factor went way down so that was great!. The only other thing I was disappointed with was that we were there celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary (which we did notify them of in our reservation) and not that we were expecting anything from them for it, it would have been nice if they just acknowledged or at least thanked us for coming to celebrate it with them. Otherwise, the food was fantastic! We had the special.. short-ribs with sweet potatoes & kale. Absolutely delicious! I recommend this place for everyone!

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Becco and I assure you it ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time at Becco and I assure you it will most definitely NOT be my last. The Bastianich's have created a beautiful space with awesome cuisine. Went pre theatre party of 4, sat at the bar where the bartenders were not only cordial but masters of their craft. Great martini except they didn't have my favorite vodka, oh well. Now for the main reason I am going back, the food was fantastic. Started with the pulpo salad which to be honest was not the best I have had, but the meatballs were outstanding. For my main course I had the veal picatta, what a treat, delicious although I prefer artichokes with my picatta. Everyone else had the pasta special which is apropos given how fantastic all 3 yes all 3 pasta dishes were. The ravioli and pesto were superb, my favorite was the pasta and shrimp. All keep coming as much as you want. This was capped with a $29 bottle of a excellent red which unfortunately I neglected to get the name of. Imagine buying a bottle of wine for $29 in NYC, crazy good. This is the real deal, Cent'anni to the Bastianich familia.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, , People Watching, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great value. On busy nigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great value. On busy night family style table service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Simply the best authentic Italian food a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply the best authentic Italian food at a very reasonable cost in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Becco is always great!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Becco is always great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb food and great service at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always superb food and great service at Becco. I am never disappointed

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived as the last of the matinee go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We arrived as the last of the matinee goers were being served, so the service started out slow, but overall it was a friendly atmosphere and the food was outstanding. Exceptional. my friend had Pasta I did the lemon chicken. The Ricotta cheese cake is the absolute best I ever had, topped with fresh strawberries! I would happily eat here three or four times a week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, , Great for Lunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our third visit to Becco All occasions w ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our third visit to Becco

All occasions were pre theater dining

Food was fresh and delicious

Wait staff very nice and didn't rush us

Recommended to friends

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becco is fabulous; the food and service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Becco is fabulous; the food and service are terrific. I can't wait to return again and again

Tags: , Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.