Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Beacon Bar and Grill

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Specials

Showtunes & Cocktails

Mondays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Showtunes & Cocktails

Mondays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for a special and fun night. Relax and sing along to all your favorites broadway/showtune musicals with Washington Theater. This Event is hold one's a month on Monday. Next events: March 13th, April 17th, May 8th, June 12th. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 13, 2017 - Jun 12, 2017 on Mondays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (60)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Casual (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Family Style (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Seasonal (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was ok but the service was really slow. The waitress was nice but kind of had a laissez faire attitude.
The restaurant was fine for an informal hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

another great brunch at the Beacon Bar and Grille - it has never disappointed us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiters were amazing and the food was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I have visited 2 times before, usually love the chicken and waffles. This visit all of the meat and seafood and poultry did not taste fresh(had a spoiled taste to it).

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location valet parking made it even better! Great Sunday brunch location!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Plain vanilla hotel associated steak house. Nothing out of the ordinary, but simple good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Menu wasn't as good as usual. Burger tasted frozen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Maybe the only restaurant in the neighborhood where you can have an important and private conversation. I rely on the Beacon.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Staff and service are always a hallmark for our business lunches at the BBG. My guests totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was expecting a more upscale experience. I was very disappointed with the quality and presentation of the food. I was also disappointed with the table service. It felt like the staff was disorganized and rushing people to hurry up and clear tables. I realize that it was Mother's Day but it could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my Mother and family members to the Mothers Day Brunch and the food was amazing. Everyone loved the fried chicken, shrimp and grits and the waffles just to name a few.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed Beacon Bar and Grill. I came with a few other people for Mother's Day. My overall experience was great. The two things that kept me from giving all 5s was 1) the waiter didn't refill our drinks too often (we had to catch him when we wanted another drink) and the other thing was that they ran out of plates and there was a long line of people waiting for plates to get food for about 10 minutes. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day brunch, but I don't think I'd go for a special event like that again. It was WAY too crowded in the small waiting area, ( and they won't seat you until the entire party is present), the buffet/food station room was unbearably hot, and the lines were crazy long. The food choices and taste were excellent , but everything was cold by the time you get what you want and get back to your table. I will try this place again on a less "special" day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

SIMPLY FABULOUS. YES IT HAD A BIG CROWD ON MOTHERS DAY BUT BEACON BAR AND GRILL STAFF, COOKS, WAITERS, WAITRESSES ALL PERFORMED EXCELLENT. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE ALL AROUND. I HAVE BEEN RAIVING ABOUT IT TO EVERYBODY. I WILL BE BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL MOTHERS DAY

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here for Mother's Day brunch, and we weren't the only ones with that idea. The place was packed, which was to be expected. The team there did a good job keeping up as there were plenty of food options available. Food quality on a buffet is normally going to be less than with plated meals, and with the crowd I will also give them a bit of a pass. I'd like to go check it out again on a weekend other than Mother's Day. Staff was friendly and attentive, good selection overall on the buffet, we had a nice spot outside to sit, the mimosas and bloody marys were tasty. All good overall

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was recommended by a Real Estate agent and the experience exceeded our expectations, you have my referral!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A renovation is greatly needed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Seated Fast and serviced even faster. The food was amazing and I can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The head host is very short with guests but server was great. Buffett is amazing wonderful food and great choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is a great place to go for brunch. A wide selection. It is best to make a reservation or you may not get a seat. The brunch is advertised as $38 per person but it comes out to really be $50 a person which I didn't like.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved the food and drinks! Well worth it. Went for a friends birthday and they even brought her cake and candles!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The host stand was located in the front first set of doors. Noone was there to great us. We waited a good 5 min waiting for someone. Being in the industry, I know how to use open table and I almost sat myself. Finally a man came out, looked like a manager. Our table was cute for just the two of us. Im assuming our server was serving all the tables plus working at the bar. We got the three course brunch. I got the cesear salad-wilted lettuce, chicken and waffles-ok, and the flan-I didn't eat it. The chicken had hints of indian spices in it. It was pretty good. They kept our mimosas full the whole time. I would try this place again. My server wasn't bad, she was very nice,but impersonable. She dropped the check off without asking us if we needed anything else-only flaw. I do wish they had better dessert options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. The food was delicious and the ambience was just right. The ONLY thing that bothered me was that towards the end I felt rushed as if I was holding the table and keeping new customers from coming in and getting a table. I got my bill without being asked. Aside from that it was all fine.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My only suggestion is that they split checks during brunch. Also we wasn't notified of that prior to booking the reservation

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great place with awesome food. Parking is a little hard to find but food is well worth the wait.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time having brunch here but ended up with great disappointment. Food is ok, ok for me means it's edible and won'T poison you. The staff is by no means friendly, serving us with a poker face and the service is super slow and poor. Still tipped, but i don't think the service even merit the tip. Won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were disappointed after being told that it would cost $100 to valet my oversized vehicle when a car only cost $15 to valet. We rode around and found a spot. We were seated early. Food was not consistent; mac and cheese was dry & tasteless, fried chicken was cold and the prime rib was not the greatest. The champagne was great, the birthday celebration was fun, but had to wait many times fresh food to be brought out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great. Enjoyed the unlimited mimosas for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent place for Sunday brunch. I love the waffle station and egg station. The waffle cook was rude on this visit at Easter Brunch. I was standing in line for a waffel and he gave the two people that came after me and place them on their plates. Then he tossed the other in the heating bin and a kid came up and put his hand (not using tongs) to pick up a waffel. However this server didn't ruin my time or meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Upon arrival there was too much confusion about seating us in the area that we requested. We requested Ms. Desi's section and eventually got there but it took Cameron to get it right for us. We always have a great dining experience with Ms. Desi. She's friendly, always goes above and beyond to make sure our brunch is great. She's the reason why we continue to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and have been coming to the restaurant for the last 3-4 years for Easter brunch. And we always have a pleasant experience. The food is good and the staff is very nice and attentive. I also like the fact that we were seated before all of our party had arrived. Thank you for that!. We celebrated my sister's birthday as well as Easter and that was a very nice presentation. So we will definitely be coming again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was amazing! Ms. Desi made our experience exceptional. We will return just to be greeted with another amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a must. Food is never low drinks are always full.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family was pleased with this all you can eat and drink Easter brunch . The food was delicious and there were plenty nice options to chose from. The servers were very pleasant and attentive. The decor and additional holiday theme touches here and there enhanced an overall comfortable and inviting atmosphere. This was our first time visiting Beacon Bar & Grill. Whenever I get a chance to go back to D.C. I will put this back on my list of places to eat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

There are two sections to this restaurant and they are a totally different experience so be sure to specify which room you would like. I do believe the menu is the same but I can't be sure. Again, double check. Last year when we were there we sat in the bar area which is bright and casual. The other room is dark with hardly any outside light and a little more formal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were looking for a casual place to lose the business suits and unwind. Beacon did not disappoint. We started at the sky bar, which had great music and perfect atmosphere. We dined downstairs, outside. The risotto and the watermelon/arugula salad were perfection! I will definitely hit this place again on my next D.C. trip!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was very good. My average rating I based on the decline of food selection/quality at Sunday Brunch for the price $38 they charge. I remember a nice carving station , more veggie variety, and more entree variety. The collard greens were the type from a can.
Overall the food was limited for what was charged.
The service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Still the best Sunday Brunch in DC. The food selection is the best for a buffet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

1st time I went here was for my birthday a little over a year ago and thought it was fantastic! I got my work friends together to have an outing and EVERYONE loved it! They were definitely patient with all my changing of the number of attendees and was very happy with everything except for one thing - they change what is being served and I was hoping for one food item which they didn't have - but that really didn't matter. I still loved every bit of it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.