Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Beacon Bar and Grill

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 4, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Wine Night Special

Wednesdays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 4, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

7 days a week from 4pm to 7pm. Appetizers and cocktail specials start at $4. Plus Pitchers, Platters and Buckets of Beer specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 4, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Wine Night Special

Wednesdays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% off all Wines by the Bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 5, 2017 - Oct 1, 2017 on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Sunday Lunch (18)
Casual (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The salmon and risotto was amazing. Eric took great care of us and he was super attentive. We will definitely be returning for future date nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and we loved the atmosphere. The service was very slow. There was a large group behind us that was loud but didn't interfere with our conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was my first time at Beacon Bar and Grill, it was a wonderful experience. I was there for the Sunday Brunch too celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were so disappointed with the food! The. chicken was over cooked, out of American cheese for the omelet ( only had mozzarella), and young lady at waffle station bracelet was touching the waffles - mentioned to her as a courtesy and she rolled her eyes.

We were going to have a gathering this fall for brunch; however, now will look elsewhere. Going forward, when reading bad reviews about this restaurant believe it! Not worth the money - go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Beacon Bar and Grill has an Excellent Sunday Brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by a family member for brunch. I suggested to my friends to take me there to celebrate my birthday. We had Sunday brunch the place was awesome. The brunch had a variety of food and unlimited mimosa's, coffee, bloody Mary's etc...My friends and I were able to find parking right down the street by the church for $5 which is exceptional for DC. I highly recommend this place and will be going back again in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

BBG is always a great experience. We go there on a regular basis.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I made last minute dinner reservations here for a party of 12 on a Saturday evening. After looking at several locations in the Dupont area and having party changes, we settled on Beacon. Originally was planning to have a party of 15 and manager requested we make a pre-fixe menu but we didn't want to do that and was told that with a party of 12 or less we didn't have to. Our party ended up being exactly 12 after some cancellations and I made my reservation through Open Table the same day! For a Saturday evening the restaurant wasn't that busy. Our server, Eric, was amazing! The food options, drinks and prices were great, I had the salmon and rissoto which was delicious, my friends also loved the food and I was told the wings and quesadilla was great (even though they were appetizers they were filling). They had a complimentary desert (chocolate mousse cake) and sparkler for my bestfriends bday. My only complaint would be I wish they had a wider selection for menu. We heard some of the great music they were playing on the rooftop and figured that was where the crowd was. I heard brunch here is great too, will deff be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've done enough brunching in the area to know good from bad. I'll give places an objective try despite reviews. You never know, right? This place was so mediocre. I mean, completely mediocre. First, it was a buffet. Now, I'm not a fan a buffets but again, let's see what they have to offer. Food was cold in some instances. The room where the food was held was smoky and crowded. The selection was decent. Pretty basic actually.

The seating was odd. We were at this booth that faced the windows. But there were three other booths attached to us. We had to squeeze by on either side to go anywhere. So when we had food, we had to lift it up over other people to slide by to get to our seats.

Next, there were quite a few people there. The bathroom (one of them) was stopped up. The second single stall had a line. Despite asking several times, I didn't find out about the third bathroom until an hour or so later.

The manager (I think he was the manager) was not a nice person.

The coffee mugs we received had ants crawling on them.

I was overcharged for my meal (significantly) as was my friend. I have receipts.

The best part about this visit? Valet. And that was $15.

I won't visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

CAMERON THE HOST NEEDS TO RETIRE!!!! Made my experience extremely uncomfortable he is the rudest ever and i work fulltime as a lead hostess at a busy casual dining downtown foggy bottom, he sucks worse attitude badd for business!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I should start by saying the food was delicious (we had the hummus app and the Salmon and shrimp risottos) and our server was very nice. But it is a bit strange. It's located in a hotel and has a distinctly "hotel restaurant" vibe... the loungey decor felt garish and overwrought, especially since it was empty on a Friday night. The menu is limited and has no unifying concept... like a combination of a bar menu and a more upscale menu... there are quesadillas and burgers and risottos and steaks... felt very random. I have no complaints about the food or service... just be aware that it feels a little corporate and not quaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was the best Sunday brunch I've had in awhile.. after party was different but yet very nice. I would definitely do it all again!!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was great! We had the steak and a burger, which were both delicious! My husband can be picky about steaks, but he was really happy with his meal. Then we ordered dessert - chocolate cake and almond sponge cake with pear - both delicious! Don't be fooled by how quiet it is there (the dining room was just about empty). We really enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and service were great. The older man who sat us at our table was very rude to us and the wait staff. Won't be returning or recommending because of him.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was amazing. Our waiter Mauricio never let our bottomless mimosas get half empty!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating a very special birthday today and this is our 5th time at the Beacon. We simply love the variety of food and deserts. The service is good and the ambiance is very cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was kind of bland. The wasabi s ceasar salad and white bean and ham soup was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good food. Excellent service. (Desi!) Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Showtunes and Cocktails on Monday Nights! Best in town.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Unfortunately I cannot recommend this brunch and will not return. This is my second visit to this establishment. On the first occasion, there was a fight?!?!? Against my better judgment I gave them a second chance. The food was awful. They had 3 fried chicken stations, I wish that was a joke but it was not. Other stations were constantly empty. Shameful. Variety seriously lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfect brunch spot! Server was amazing and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The only issue I have with is restaurant is the...is very rude and disrespectful. When you work in this type of industry he should have good customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was good, even though I got there 15 mins after my reservation I was still seated promptly. Food good service great only thing maybe have two lines for omelets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It's wasn't bad. I was hoping to eat diner on the rooftop but they don't serve diner up there. So that kinda of took away from the whole reason I made reservation there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Beacon would not honor our Open Table reservation, even with my confirmation. However service and food were worth the wait. We were frustrated with their hostess and reservation policy. They told us they NEVERTHELESS take reservations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My seating was horrible and it was too many people inside of the cluttered room I was in. The other three tables surrounding me were too noisy and it was my birthday. I really expected a better scenery instead of a cluttered room.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

While visiting D.C. I Came here for my 30th birthday brunch. It was amazing. The price was definitely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall this restaurant was great and the food was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Long lines, picked over food, and patrons literally screaming at each other/face-timing at their tables. Good service, drinks, and some other nice patrons but...the rudeness factor...once was enough.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My friends and I had a wonderful time! The food was great and full of flavor, with a variety of options for any type of eating lifestyle. The free flowing mimosas and poinsettias are definitely a highlight as well. The staff maintained the warmers consistently so they were never out of a particular option. The servers are friendly and attentive which definitely adds to your enjoyment. There are some inconsistencies with seating upon check-in but overall a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service - from the door to the table- was absolutely wonderful. Big shoutout to Desi and the older gentleman at the desk. Unfortunately, the food was shockingly subpar, and we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Beacon Bar & Grill has an awesome brunch on Sundays ! I have been on more the one occassion and the food is great. The mimosas are a good addition to the brunch and it is a great price. Server was good, but should been clear on gratuity before seating guest. Other than that I truly enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was totally worth it! Food was amazing! I was stuffed off two plates. Wait staff was amazing. Her name was Alina and she kept the mimosas coming! My friend and I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Brunch buffet: Subpar food proving out all the worst negative cliches about brunch. Really, really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This "restaurant" if you can call it that was probably the worst dinning experience I have ever had. I decided to take my girlfriend and 7 other people out and from the website I thought it was going to be a great experience, boy was I wrong. First of all the server had no idea what he was doing. We had 8:30 reservations, and he didn't take our order until we stopped him from walking by us at 9:00. He never came by on his own to see if we needed anything. Towards the end of dinner I walked up to him and asked if he could bring out a candle for dessert for the birthday girl, he said yes. I figured that he would come by and take our dessert order and then bring it, but boy was I wrong. He brought it out while half of the table was still eating. Finally, when the check came, instead of asking if it was on one check or multiple he just placed it on the table and ran off. He then told me they don't split checks but we can write down each card holders name and write the amount we wanted on eat card. I think thats called splitting a check. I will NEVER go back. DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service, but this restaurant has went way down as far as food quality and decor. Sorry, but unless this establishment undergoes major renovations, I will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My server was inattentive and did not refill our drinks often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Champagne brunch was enjoyable. I would have given four stars but my food was served warm - not hot. Service was very good, we didn't feel rushed. Definitely worth trying again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The The waitresses could be a little bit more patient. But apart from that everything was good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Though I enjoyed the brunch here I must say I was disappointed in how hot the restaurant was something definitely needs to be done with the air conditioning the room with the food was cool but the front waiting area and the dining room were too hot!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.