About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: (201) 798-1798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (66)
Scenic View (53)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fun (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Casual (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible dining experience. Would go back in a heartbeat. Crab cake was to die for, scallops wrapped in pancetta were heavenly. Squid ink pasta was the most delicious thing I've ever tasted and it's got a killer kick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I would not go back to this restaurant or recommend it.

The room was cold .

The food was not terrible. When it arrived it was warm and became cold quickly.

It is very over priced for what they offer.

They have valet parking that you have to pay 10.00 for.

I dine out a lot and this was by far the worst meal I have had in recent memory

.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

All in all and very good experience. we would return. It is a big "event" location making parking tricky. Views are hard to beat. Menu varied enough for everyone's taste. Tight seating, FYI. Service was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

the views were beautiful but I was not blown away by the food or service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent Food and Nice Manhattan view!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Beautiful view. Solid food. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the place , but the I've have had better tasting food at less expensive restaurants

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A red rose to the ladies was a nice touch. She loved the ambiance, food and the views.

Place is amazing both service and food!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Relaxed atmosphere, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The view accompanied with the food and service made it a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance is great, but we weren't too pleased with the food. Fabulous oysters but the other options we had were bland.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place was ABSOLUTELY amazing! My wife and I flew in for Valentine's Day and wanted a great place with a view and we were not disappointed. Every course was amazing! The food was quite possibly the best food we've ever had

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exceptional service and food in a gorgeous location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It's usually been my experience that waterfront restaurants serve mediocre food, so I was pleasantly surprised by Battello. I would definitely recommend getting the $65 prix fixe menu - it is a great value and there are no restrictions in terms of what you can order. I do think when you order a la carte, the items are overpriced. Our server, who was very cheerful and attentive, made some excellent recommendations - particularly the grilled octopus (the best I've had outside of Spain) and the bucatini with crab. The jumbo crab cake and the pignoli crusted cod were also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place to take someone you want to impress. Reservations are hard to get for prime dining day/times so book in advance. Definitively worth the price of admission. Definitively recommend valet parking the car. Nearest lot is quite a walk away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great, up until my girlfriend got food poisoning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant but the food was nothing special. Would go back for the view though!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was perfect!! Food was soooo delish!! Ambiance was good, nothing to crazy. We went for brunch and had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food great as always a busy night so it was a little noisy but nothing to complain about. Seating out on the I closed patio gives great views of the NYC skyline. Note: dress for the season as it can get a bit chilly on windy nights. Still my favorite place to enjoy a great meal and outstanding choices of scotch whiskys!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

enjoyed the view the great food and the service

no loud music which was much appreciated

sat near the light wall and was able to conduct business as well

thanks

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Location! Location! Location! And just wait for the warm weather which further enhances this location with a very specialized outdoor patio terrace (Michael Anthony days). Available parking makes the entire dining experience worthwhile in fabulous JC. Food and service were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

What a great place to bring visiting out of towners. Great view in a comfortable atmosphere. Was here on a quiet Monday night but it looks like this place rocks when its busy. Will be back to take advantage of the view in the spring!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Love the service, amazing chefs menu and waiters so helpful with the menu, wine selection! Ask for them tammy & Geovanni

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our first time and a very good experience. Food, service and a beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Found B on best views n went with the reviews altho not all were complimentary. Had two small children with us& were staying nearby. Staff were fab trying to help with allergy but unable to accommodate simple off menu request. Noise level horrific - everyone needing to shout at all tables to be heard. Very overpriced. Would never return. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Here you clearly pay for the view. The food is not bad but quite average and the prices are not matching this average quality. While the service was efficient, our waiter told us if someone at the table choose the lunch menu, all the table should take it which I think is weird because I wanted to take "a la carte". And on the bill he put 2 lunch menu + my selection of appetizer and entree which makes no sense for a 2persons table. When I told that to him he mentioned this is what I wanted to happen and brought an updated bill corrected (with my fiancée and my choices all "à la carte"). It was difference of 12$ And he didn't apologize or just say "here you are". Which made me think that he tried to screw us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Perfect place to spend our 6 years! Beautiful view!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Great service and wonderful wine pairings. Really great ambiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Apps were good. I plan to check out their happy hour. Restaurant week was a good deal too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

what a great place. We went here for our 15 yr anniversary and it was wonderful. Beautiful inside, great food and the service was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The restaurant did a great job from start to end...easy service, great food and fantastic ambiance! My clients have already booked another reservation for Friday Feb 3rd...Thanks

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had a great time at Battello and loved the atmosphere and gorgeous decor. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was restaurant week & we took advantage of the special menu along with the wine pairings. We had a nice selection of the three courses offered & thoroughly enjoyed each of the courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place but don't understand why they charge 10$ for valet when they have a parking lot on premises. 10$ is a bit more than most other restaurants also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had the chef's menu which was a great value, 4 course for less than $50. We ordered the meat selection but really appreciated the vegetarian option. Our daughter is vegetarian and it would have been great for her. All our choices were from the menu so it was a great way to see the range of dishes. Wagyu beef tartar with qual egg was especially good. Food came out promptly, very imaginatively presented. The dessert sampler was wonderful. We are getting older and love dessert, but have trouble finishing a whole portion. The four tastings were just right and a perfect way to end an excellent meal.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely restaurant, great food, very friendly service and a spectacular view!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Server was very attentive and informative. Everything he recommended was great. Then there's the VIEW....... Amazing !!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great and delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Batello is delicious. Been there twice and everything I ate/drank was awesome! The gnocchi, lobster soup, apple tart were wonderful, to name a few. Love the atmosphere and set up of Batello. Feels upscale but not snobby! Had a great time with friends, can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

One of the top 3 restaurants in Jersey City, hands down! Beautiful decor, excellent food, fabulous service, awesome location. Overall 5 stars across the board, one of my all-time favorites!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing great atmosphere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply Amazing!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food- service was very uneven. Attentive staff but it took over an hour be served on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome place awesome food i like theme

Very good service the guy is awesome he's give as very nice service

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great dining experience

Enjoyed the food and the service

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ambiance was great but the food and drinks were ok. Service was impersonal and when asked for recommendations, the waiter had none.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sami, our waiter was incredible . We had an excellent time, the food was great and we cannot wait to be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very happy to bring my date, I would I like tonswe more personable option for a bday event or any other event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.