Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Battello

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: (201) 798-1798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (92)
Scenic View (86)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (49)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (32)
Modern Decor (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Fun (21)
Casual (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
People Watching (10)
Private Room (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Live Music (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place and location. Only 2 issues. One being the parking. They have limited reserved spaces for patrons. You will need to either find street parking or pay for park in a lot. They also need better ventilation in the outside seating. They do have fans but they don't cool you off if you happen to be there in a warm day. Guests were literally sitting there fanning themselves with items they found. Aside from that, great place for drinks/dinner

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I requested a table with a view well in advance of the reservation. They stated that they could not guarantee a table for Six with a view.
I find that hard to believe.
You are not going there for spectacular food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great view of the city. However, the food leaves much to be desired. The fishy crab cakes and chewy grilled octopus were extremely underwhelming. Not to mention that at 7:30 p.m. on a Wednesday, the restaurant was "out of" 3 items on the menu (2 main courses).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I had many clients in town and wanted to rake a group of 20 out for dinner. Unfortunately you are forced to go through their event center for groups larger than 11. In doing so, you are offered a limited menu. Sorry, that does not work for me. I was able to get them to raise the limit to 12, so that was what we did.
Food and service were very good, but not sure I can use them again, due to their limitations mentioned earlier. Sad part is they could have sold more dinners had I been able to bring the amount of people originally requested.

NAD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service by PJ...menu looked great and plating was beautiful however every dish lacked a tremendous amount of flavor

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was terrific. Food was delicious. Good value on the Mother's Day brunch Prix Fixe menu. Wonderful atmosphere and great view of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I loved the restaurant. Just the food was not as expected, but not bad at all. The view is amazing and the service perfect.
Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

convenient waterfront place to have a reasonable meal overlooking manhattan on the river!!!! great staff and reasonable food quality!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Beautiful venue. Wonderful cuisine. Impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, attentive service, worth the price!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great manager Evan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The view and ambience of the restaurant is lovely, however; the service is severely lacking to the point that it takes away from the overall experience. I'd be happy to pay for an overpriced plate of mediocre pasta if the service was good, but it only adds insult to injury when the staff is inattentive, slow and a bit rude.

Would I go back? No. Should they step their game up? Yes, they're not the only restaurant in the area with that view. Did I feel rushed and like I squandered our money? Yes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had an awesome brunch here! Steak and eggs amazing. Great views of NYC and fun atmosphere on the water with the marina. Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was very good, service too.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The dinner and drinks were excellent. Busy atmosphere, staff very attentive. A little on the louder side. Beautiful fireworks over the Hudson.

Enjoy.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great view, hopping space, and great food! Can't miss!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Took my staff out for lunch and had a delightful meal at Battello. The always do a great job there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The experience started off great--I changed the reservation multiple times online and even wrote a note about having one fewer person with us, and all was accommodated for. Food options were good and prices were good. Scenery was beautiful, right on the waterfront and the ambiance was very rustic and cool. Overall not 5 stars because the server hovered around the table sort of just staring at us--he wasn't checking/refilling waters or drinks, because my water stayed empty for awhile even though he was watching us. Then my friend reported other employees staring at her as she tried to find the bathroom. We felt like they thought we were going to dine and dash or something, which made the overall experience less than ideal because we were uncomfortable most of the time. Then when we left to get our car from the valet, it became clear to us that we could have had our valet validated by the restaurant and gotten our $10 back because the couple in front of us did that. No one at the restaurant mentioned this, even though the only real way to park was by valet. I didn't feel like going back inside to request validation, especially because of how uneasy we felt when we were inside. But knowing for next time is good, and if you are a prospective guest reading this, now you know. I could be wrong about this of course (maybe the couple in front of us came from somewhere else? I didn't see any other place they could have been, but I am unfamiliar with the area), but at least you know to ask!

I would highly recommend this place because of the ambiance and food--I would go back. I just hope we don't get stared at so weirdly next time!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food. Beautiful view. friendly service. But not a place for an intimate dinner. Loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Is it still possible to get great service (Thanks Sammy), great view, great food, solid wine list that doesn't break the bank, wonderful ambience in the New York area at a reasonable price? Battello's hits a home run in all areas. On top of the meal, you can see some interesting boats docked at the pier!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fun time. Great food and wine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Birthday! Great food and drink options. Beautiful views of the city.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Everything was amazing. View is breathtaking. Definitely a space worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic experience for wedding anniversary #23! Treated like royalty with special treats and attention from wonderful server Tammy who made sure it was an evening to remember. Food was excellent - full of flavor - did not rely on view like some destination locations. Bravo!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We decided to have Sunday Brunch at Battello and we are glad we did. The inside is very nice with high ceilings, lots of windows and just an overall cool vibe. We were seated in the enclosed terrace and the view of Manhattan is wonderful. The waiter was friendly and attentive. As an appetizer we ordered the shrimp cocktail which the shrimp were extra large and tender (not fishy). We also ordered a hamburger (delicious - juicy) with salad and also chicken panini (crunchy). Both lunch entrees were really good. Overall we enjoyed our brunch at Battello and are now looking forward to go for dinner to see the Manhattan skyline at night time as well as the evening ambience inside the restaurant and of course to try some dinner entrees.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Gorgeous and romantic place. The service is not always the best. The last few times was not the best.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A great ambience combined with delicious food and truly exceptional service (even on a day like Easter when usually you walk away disappointed they went above and beyond!). I would highly recommend Batello and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a fantastic time. Good was excellent. View is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lovely food, good service and a beautiful spot overlooking Manhattan

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome meal, great views, great service. Can't wait to return

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food! Service was exceptional. My only complaint was the tables are a little tight in the patio area other than that I would go back again! Loved it

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was quite nice. The food was good and so was the service. I would return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had en excellent afternoon. Zacarias our waiter the best!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It was my parent's anniversary and mines with my boyfriend. It was a great place but the food wasn't as expected. We thought more choices on the menu makes a difference. The quality was good though. The view was remarkable. Might go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Service was slow but ambiance is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We spoke to 2 or 3 local Jersey City residents who heartily endorsed Battello, so we selected the restaurant for our 1st anniversary dinner. I made the reservation and requested a window view (of the Manhattan skyline), stating it was for our anniversary dinner. I received a call from the restaurant a day or two before, confirming the reservation and our special requests. Upon our arrival, we were seated at a table away from the window and were told that it would be a 45-minute wait before such a table would be available. This was disappointing. We complained that were were promised a window table, so the hostess notified us that a table was settling its check, and she seated us at a window table in a few minutes. The service was average to below average. There were extended periods (toward the end of the meal) when the waitress was nowhere to be found. Standard services such as filling our water glasses needed to be prompted. The food was very good. We ordered the octopus and crab cake appetizers, followed by the shrimp rizzuto and black sea bass. Toward the end of our meal, the waitress checked on the adjacent table and neglected to check on us at the same time. We were clearly finished with our entrees but were required to wait at least 10 more minutes for our plates to be cleared. By this time, the restaurant was well past the dinner rush. After the plates were finally cleared, we waited another lengthy period for the check. The waitress appeared with a small dessert, compliments of Battello, for our anniversary, which was a nice touch. All in all, the food was very good, but the service was below average.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant is very nice. The food was wonderful. Pricey but it was a special occasion and we did order more than someone just going for dinner. The octopus appetizer was delicious. Very nice atmosphere !!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The drinks, appetizers, and desserts were wonderful. The main course did not live up to the rest of the meal but we were satisfied overall.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.