Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Bastille Kitchen

Bastille Kitchen, located in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, is both a neighborhood restaurant and destination dining spot. With a French-inspired menu, we offer familiar Parisian brasserie favorites prepared with local ingredients and a “tip of the hat” to the history of our beloved Boston. Unpretentious hospitality, hand-crafted cocktails, and a welcoming & warm atmosphere make Bastille Kitchen perfect for anything from a simple after work dinner to a complete evening out. …and please join us in Chalet too ...our subterranean cocktail lounge -- early evening, late night or anytime in between!

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Please phone directly if you are unable to reserve preferred time & date

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Business Meals (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Our fourth time there. Tuna not up to previous standard. Service, however, was exemplary.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Underwhelming. Over cooked meat, overwhelming accompaniments in comparison to small entree portions. They did take some dishes off the bill after some complaints but this place has gone completely down hill.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's day celebration

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was very good with nice presentation. Service was very good and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

High quality food, great presentation and service!
Also a good wine list.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a terrific evening. Food was amazing and the our waitress was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The room was beautiful, well decorated, open but very comfortable . Unfortunately, the food was sub par . The staff greeted us warmly and was so friendly, all except our own waiter who had an attitude. Maybe because it was 8pm on a Saturday night and the place was shy of half full . Anyway , oysters were good , but salads mediocre, small portion of fish was ok on bed of flavorless beans , and the sirloin my friend got was tough and fatty .... at a French restaurant?! Won't be back .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very Good food. Well prepared cocktails...Great Service and infant Friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful date night and fun to go with friends. Highly recommended

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I'd go back to Bastille Kitchen. It seems like it's a hidden gem because if it's location.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary and were surprised with some bubbly! Food awesome! Cocktails tasty and unique. Service balanced out the whole experience. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bastille Kitchen may be our new favorite restaurant. All the classics, well prepared. We are going to come back often and work our way through the menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Bastille Kitchen for Mother's Day Brunch. The decor is somewhat rustic in nature (lots of wood beams) and the interior is spacious with comfortable seating. The restaurant was about 60% full and the music (mostly Reggae - nice!) was not loud, so conversations were able to be had without much effort. We were seated promptly and the service was outstanding. Unfortunately, the quality and pricing of the food did not meet our expectations. Three of our party ordered the steak and eggs. The steak was a bit on the chewy side even though they were ordered medium and the eggs on all three orders were cold. The other order was for the French Toast stuffed with strawberries and, although excellent, the portion was VERY small (three pieces about 2"-3" in diameter each). The mimosas were excellent as was the coffee with Baileys. The desserts were a mixed bag: the creme brulee was cold, the brownie was excellent, and the carrot cake was a unique interpretation (not overly sweet, carrot was not discernable and very small). The brunch bill came to almost $200 with tip, which is what we have paid on other occasions for a brunch in Boston. Unfortunately, the quality of the food this time was certainly not worth this expense. We likely would not be back for a brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Found the noise level objectionable

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Returned in May 2017 after an initial visit in May 2016. It is my opinion that in just one year's time, they have lost their mojo. Steak frite was overcooked and lacked flavor (the fries were amazing though). Drinks were okay. Had to have one remade. At least they got it right the 2nd time. Service was inconsistent. With all the good establishments nearby, who needs the aggravation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is the second time I have been to Bastille Kitchen and again, it was amazing. The atmosphere is great and the food is even better! Would highly recommend to anyone looking to grab a bite in this area!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tapas, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We'd been to Bastille Kitchen several times because it was so good. Frankly, it was a little off this time around. The new menu seems to be limited. While I know that spring is asparagus season, it appeared with several of the entrees. Enough!

I love the ambiance and will return, hoping to find the menu a bit more interesting next time around.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Use to be a favorite in the Fort Point Channel area. Value has declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went to Bastille Kitchen for the first time and it was wonderful!! A friendly greeting at the entrance set the tone for one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The ambience is welcoming, hip, and smart. The food was amazing: delicious and creative! The Boston lettuce salad was the best I've ever had but then the entrée was delicious too and don't forget to leave room for dessert! They are scrumptious works of art! All in all, I definitely recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere was really nice, I felt like I was dining in the 5th district in Paris

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The dress code is business casual but they don't enforce it. We got dressed to go to dinner but there were many young people with tshirts and baseball caps. It was very loud. More like an after work hangout than a French resturant.

The food was good but with the noise and casual atmosphere I wouldn't recommend it for a date where your goal is to hear each other's speak.

If you say business casual you should enforce it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

By far one of the best meals I've had in a long time and we go out often to higher end restaurants. The scallop dish was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Can't wait to go back. Atmosphere is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time to this attractive looking spot. Great bar scene with wonderful cocktails and wine selection, ample room for conversation. Downstairs nightclub as well.

Had short rib and boursin flatbread with crispy fried scallions to start and was pleasantly surprised when hos t brought out complimentary deviled egg appetizer for us to celebrate our first time there. Had brisket burger while wife had the rabbit. Bothe were amazing. Back to the couches after dinner for after dinner cocktails. Really a nice find with a lot of options for drinking and eating.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Dining room & bar are attractive, but I found dining room dim and dull rather than charming. Food was good but particularly small servings. Waiter was good, attentive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place/nice people. But too dark! Good and staff were great and a very nice setting. But again, too dark inside.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food, cool atmosphere and excellent service. Would defiantly go again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Def one of my favorite 1 or 2 restaurants in Boston. Service with a smile and every server we've ever had knows the menu inside and out and was able to answer every question we had about it. Also, this past occasion we had a reservation for 8 pm. We arrived at 7:30 to hang out at the bar for a drink but they were able to get us a table right away, which was great.

I will say that I was disappointed when I saw they had changed the Braised Short Ribs. On 2 previous visits I got this entree but it used to be with cheddar/grits. Not sure why they felt the need to change something that was already incredible.

But all in all, it's a great place for dinner. That was the 4th time we've been in the last 12 months+ and we will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our second time at Bastille Kitchen. Our first experience was very good but we left disappointed this time. I ordered the scallops and when the plate came out if had THREE scallops. I asked the waiter if I ordered the appetizer portion by mistake and he said no. Three medium sized scallops for $34 was not good. My wife had steak which was average plus but not great for $42. The deviled egg appetizer was good. Overall pretty disappointed in the experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best dessert I've ever had. Their pastry chef is incredibly well-known and does a phenomenal job bringing multiple flavors into one dish; a true artist.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service good but food less than average.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was fantastic. The service was impeccable. Bastille Kitchen has become a go to spot for my wife and i.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent food. Server never rushed us and was very friendly. Great atmosphere. One of my favorite placesong.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was good but the portions (at least at our table of 4), were small for the price. The vegetarian option (couscous dish) for example, was supposed to be bursting with tons of
vegetables, etc and in reality it was a meager portion of Israeli couscous with just a few small chunks of a vegetable. The quality of the meat on the other dishes that my friends ordered was very good (one ordered steak, one ordered chicken and the other ordered rabbit).

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I like this restaurant. The ambiance is great, the service, while a little over zealous at times, is top notch. The night we went, I wasn't incredibly hungry so I chose a very salty and bitter endive salad and french onion soup. It wasn't all that hot and I've tasted better. My husband loved his dinner of rabbit. So, maybe my experience was colored by my lack of appetite. I would definitely come again and give it another try.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good food, good ambiance, good service. Only caveat is that the food is a bit pricy, but definitely a good option every once in a while.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent! A great find! Loved the decor, and food was terrific.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We here for dinning week, good taste !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is my second time to the restaurant and food was even more delicious than I remembered the first time. Ambiance was great. Will definitely return

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice food, nice decoration, the service was ok but you don't feel very welcome, also it is very loud. Overall it is too expensive for the experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.