Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Bastille Kitchen

Bastille Kitchen, located in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, is both a neighborhood restaurant and destination dining spot. With a French-inspired menu, we offer familiar Parisian brasserie favorites prepared with local ingredients and a “tip of the hat” to the history of our beloved Boston. Unpretentious hospitality, hand-crafted cocktails, and a welcoming & warm atmosphere make Bastille Kitchen perfect for anything from a simple after work dinner to a complete evening out. …and please join us in Chalet too ...our subterranean cocktail lounge -- early evening, late night or anytime in between!

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Please phone directly if you are unable to reserve preferred time & date

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent! Love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner at Bastille Kitchen on 9/19. This restaurant never disappoints. Great food, excellent service, lively and pleasant ambience. The French onion soup was awesome. $1.00 oysters from 5:00 to 7:00pm at the bar. Delicious! We had lamb. It was very good. Overall a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 18, 2017

It's a good restaurant. Not great. Not terrible. In a market filled with choices for dining I question is lasting power.
Food reads well on the menu but is delivered sub standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was my second time at Bastille. Excellent experience again. It was our 3rd wedding anniversary and we included it in the Open Table notes, thinking nothing of it. We were greeted with champagne and a candle in our desert. Wonderfull touch and the staff was great. The food was memorable, so delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The total experience was first-rate: from the restaurant calling to confirm the reservation to the reception by the hosts to the friendly and attentive service by the waiter to the incredibly tasty food. The noise level was higher than I expected but not intolerable nor disruptive to the conversation at our table. The menu offered a variety of interesting choices throughout - appetizers, soups/salads, entrees and desserts. I'll definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

From the moment we walked in until the moment we left the staff was so accommodating. The ambience, service and food was wonderful. We live in Seaport area and had never been. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Bastille Kitchen offers superb, authentic French cuisine prepared and served beautifully. Our party had food ranging from appetizers like Bastille Deviled Eggs and Grilled Octopus, to entrees including Whole Branzino, Bacon Wrapped Rabbit and Steak au Poivre. All were spectacular (served in smallish portions). The Truffle Fries are a nice addition.

The food is quite above-average (as are the prices). This is a wonderful culinary event.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best branzino in town and it's de-boned! Also amazing truffle fries! Chic, industrial ambiance. Can sit at formal table, lounge, or bar. Nice take on trendy, modern, French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went early with our two kids. The service was excellent and food was terrific. Us adults enjoyed every dish, and our 10 year old asked to go back on her birthday. Interesting how they have been able to create an elegant yet relaxed experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Bastille Kitchen. The service was excellent as was the food. It can be a little loud at times but as the evening went by it seemed to get quieter. We would happily return to Bastille Kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I made a reservation here for my husband's birthday - just the 2 of us and we had a wonderful dining experience. The server was one of the best I've ever had. He gave us great recommendations and made
the dinner feel special. The food was delicious- my favorite was the tuna tartare but it was all very good. We have already recommended this place to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

All good except the uncomfortable benches in the bar lounge

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We were celebrating her birthday at our first time at Bastille. It's a great space, with high ceilings and very well designed remodel of a great old warehouse space in the beautifully restored Fort Point Channel area. Food was delicious, and our server was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service. High energy staff made it special!
Can't wait to return!

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This is a very spacious restaurant with ample room between tables, making conversations not intrusive. We were there during restaurant week and the $39 dinner menu included halibut as a main course. Great value (although the fish was slightly overcooked). Everything else was perfect. Good service also. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I still can't decide what was worse the food or the service. Wine selection for ore fix menu was disastrous. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Took my wife out for her birthday. Bastille Kitchen was the perfect choice. Having never been before, I was blown away by the food. Cool decor in large open area too. Wait staff were professional and very good. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were going to a concert at the Blue Hills Pavilion, and were tired of the typical waterfront restaurants. I decided to try #BastilleKitchen, and we were not disappointed! Authentic menu, hand-crafted cocktails, and wonderful ambiance! I would go back again, and have already begun to spread the word!

@ninilynndu #Foodie

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great French onion soup! Steak Frites was another story. I don't think I've ever eaten a worse piece of steak in a very long time. Great ambiance though. Would definitely recommend for a good night out of dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Celebrated my best friend's birthday here today! Amazing food, wine and service. Our waiter's name was Michael and he took such great care of us! Front of the house was welcoming and accommodating. Very sophisticated atmosphere without being too snooty or sterile.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, very good food. Good for date night or business dinner. Extensive wine list.
Will go again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is my second time eating at Bastille. The first time I went was for a holiday party which they were packed. Food was great but service was horrible. I gave them a pass since it was during the holiday. I visited the 2nd time this past Friday for restaurant week. Service again was terribly slow and food this time was ok. My steak was cooked more than the medium that I ordered. It took our waiter a long time to get napkins which we then flagged another waiter to get it which took him 3 tries. Towards the end after finishing the entree, it took them 20-30 mins to get the dessert which we pre-ordered in the beginning. It was just one creme brûlée which had good texture but was cold, almost like it was sitting out awhile. If you're not in a hurry, then it's an ok place to go to, but otherwise you can expect to flag down your waiter/waitress whenever you need something from them.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We came here for restaurant week/ dine out Boston and will definitely be back soon. We tried the french onion, the crab appetizer, the halibut, the steak frites, and the coffee & doughnuts dessert. The french onion and the beignets were the true standouts, but everything was pretty solid.

I'll be back for the atmosphere and service, our server was outstanding- we had a later reservation and he never made us feel rushed. We had seriously outstanding service. While the space is huge, the way the tables and booths are set up give it a nice intimate feel- definitely a great date spot.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food here is to die for. Rabbit, lamb and steak were all great. Octopus was cooked perfectly. I can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Crowded seating and ended up next to a group of six who were very loud. Not their problem, but difficult to talk. Food good but not outstanding. My steak frites had no vegetables. We ordered haricots verts but never got them. My husband had bronzino. Bill was $174. Whoa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our first time in, we will be back! Food was amazing, service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Went with some friends using a gilt city 3 course meal with wine pairings. I've been here for brunch previously and they were both great experiences. We had a good time and my friends were impressed.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The charcuterie and pate was good, the escargot was tasty but nothing special. The entrees of roasted chicken and lamb chops were very good. The sirloin au poivre was not typical as it was not crusted in pepper but came with an au poivre sauce on the side.
The chocolate mousse and ice creams were very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Terrible server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Portions on the entrees -- the salmon and the cod -- were incredibly small. Appetizers and salad was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very enjoyable and memorable meal for a special occasion. The food was mostly outstanding: Red and Yellow Beets, George's Bank Redfish, and Charcuterie and Pate Selection, Petit Fours for dessert plus a glass of Porto. The one food that didn't quite meet our expectations was the Grilled Octopus appetizer that was a bit rubbery (we've had better in Amuleto and Gustazo restaurants in Waltham). The Cotes de Provence Rose went perfectly with the meal, especially in the hot weather. The service was professional and accommodating. We look forward to going back sometime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good: restaurant design; service assistant (water, clearing plates, etc.); frites.

Bad: server; cocktail was bland and the menu hasn't been updated in years; bland food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and wine choices were excellent. The waitstaff was very helpful. Noise level was high making conversation difficult until tables emptied out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our fourth time there. Tuna not up to previous standard. Service, however, was exemplary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Underwhelming. Over cooked meat, overwhelming accompaniments in comparison to small entree portions. They did take some dishes off the bill after some complaints but this place has gone completely down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Father's day celebration

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was very good with nice presentation. Service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

High quality food, great presentation and service!
Also a good wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

While the food was wonderful, the service was subpar. We waited approximately half an hour after our reservation for our table. Upon entering the dining room, there were a number of empty tables. Our waitress was inattentive and excruciatingly slow. Several tables were seated after us and ate and paid before we received our complete main course. One bright spot in terms of service was the sommelier. He was engaging and knowledgeable. While our food was delicious, we likely won't return with as there are so many restaurants with more reliable service in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a terrific evening. Food was amazing and the our waitress was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.