About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen, located in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, is both a neighborhood restaurant and destination dining spot. With a French-inspired menu, we offer familiar Parisian brasserie favorites prepared with local ingredients and a “tip of the hat” to the history of our beloved Boston. Unpretentious hospitality, hand-crafted cocktails, and a welcoming & warm atmosphere make Bastille Kitchen perfect for anything from a simple after work dinner to a complete evening out. …and please join us in Chalet too ...our subterranean cocktail lounge -- early evening, late night or anytime in between!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Please phone directly if you are unable to reserve preferred time & date

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wildly overpriced and we were being rushed by the waitstaff that seemed more interested in turning the table over than our experience. Food was good but nothing special , particularly not at that price. Thoroughly average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time but the food was extremly price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal spoiled by terrible service. It's really too bad that our server was so inattentive to us and the table next to ours (who didn't receive some of their appetizers). Food was very good, wine was not (it was his recommendation and was not good). We had to ask him to take our dinner order because he forgot.

That said, it's a great spot and hopefully he will have been fired or forgets to show up at work so that you can get a server who is on-par with the food. We may go back, but it's not likely.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good. However we were very dismayed by portion sizes. We dine out regularly and do not expect large quantities of food. However we do think that when serving mussels more than 1 slice of 1/4 inch baguette toast is not much to ask for. Nor when they prominently display Hen of the Woods mushrooms should we expect one morsel of mushroom on the plate (2 separate dishes had same quantities). One dish also called for a vegetable "chips"- well there was exactly 1 small chip on the plate.

Bottom line if this was a degustation menu I would not have any question on quantity size. But for a bistro type restaurant this left us a bit dumbfounded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was attentive in good, the card was a bit bland and the truffle fries were overpowering with truffle. Otherwise everything was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a very comfortable atmosphere with a touch of up-scale opulence. The surroundings are inviting and the service is very fast and attentive. At no time did I feel rushed, but I also was not ignored. The lighting is dim, but not in an overly romantic sort of way. This feels like an escape to renovated French farm house with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

Second time there, even better than the first.

Lovely setting, not too noisy and sitting in the booths makes you feel sheltered and very comfortable. The food was beautifully presented and just the right amount. Definitely going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Came for a birthday dinner in the middle of the week. Love the area and the atmosphere of the restaurant! Had a great waiter. Our entrees were delicious, but unfortunately the mussels weren't too much to be desired. They seemed over cooked and chewy. However the braised short ribs and the lamp were amazing!! Overall, we had a good night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was expensive for portion size and our server was not knowledgeable about the wines and gave us two different wines that did not fit the description he gave us and was not apologetic. The vibe and ambiance was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have dined at Bastille Kitchen many times. Every time our evening has been wonderful.

The setting is just gorgeous, the ambiance very warm and the good delicious.

The wait staff is very warm, yet professional and knowledgeable.

The manager, Matt Dix has been very attentive and thoughtful. We will continue to drive in from the south shore to dine at Bastille Kitchen.

Thank you !

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

Downstairs area was great to grab a drink and hand out. the mill building makeover makes this a great location.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have been few times at Bastille Kitchen and the food gets better each time. I love the atmosphere and the staff is very friendly and efficient.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed a birthday celebration at this restaurant. there was something on the menu for everyone on the family--including my picky eaters. We really enjoyed the French onion soup--served in a deep terrine that we could share. All the entrees were great from the flatbread to the burger, the vegetarian couscous and the skirt steak. Service was attentive and polite. All in all a lovely time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Every one from the hostess to waiter were extremely nice and knowledgeable and the food was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Restaurant was overall quiet. Not an upbeat environment for a Saturday night, but nice for a quiet relaxed dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love this place, I've been there 3-4 times, the food is great as well as the ambiance, never too crowded so its great place to meet with fiends and have good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place. Amazing food and great service. The ambiance is really nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall good experience. Mini croissants were the BEST! Great salads, apps - entrees were good just not as great as previous courses. Wanted to be blown away by the rabbit dish and while it was good, we weren't amazed. Atmosphere was beautiful and Saul was a wonderful server. We will absolutely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The ambiance was amazing and the food was too die for. Favorites were the enjoyed mussel appetizer and lamb shank entree. Even the croissants with homemade aioli were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food at Bastille was a tasty, well presented, melt-in-your-mouth experience. We were waited on efficiently and expertly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Charming restuarant, with the look and feel of and of a french bistro. The food was very good. We had the rabbit and the halibut. The rabbit was excellent and the halibut was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Xmas dinner with my colleagues. It was the first time at the restaurant for all of us. The decor is very comfortable, food was excellent and service attentive. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love the flexibility of the menu - options for everyone. Nice wine list, great service. Relaxing environment with great food and drinks. A simple thing like butternut squash soup was taken to a new level.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Thank you so so much for a phenomenal experience, especially in celebrating my friend's birthday! From little touches like writing "Happy Birthday" on the check to gracious service, to a wonderful table and beautifully plated dishes, we all had a wonderful time! I will absolutely be back again, if only for the decor (which was so clean and chic and inviting) and I will be highly recommending this restaurant to all of my Boston friends. Thank you, Bastille Kitchen!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

A terrific spot with, generally, superb fare. My wife and friend shared the seafood platter with me and also had salads for dinner, that they each loved. My braised lamb shank was a bit too dry and could have been more seasoned, but it was OK as was the pumpkin cake desert. The waiter was touchy with both me and my wife (but not with our younger female friend.) I find this offensive. I also disliked that my wife and I were called by our first names, after having been asked what they were. The waiter was otherwise very attentive and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

the team was great and the food tasted delicious but I was very sick to my stomach before I even left the restaurant - asparagus salad, scallops - both GF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great French food in Boston! The steak frites is one of the better flavored steaks I've had in the city (not as good as Grill 23, but better than Del Friscos), cocktails were delicious and offered some interesting selections, and the restaurant was packed on a frigid Saturday night. Fast, attentive service. We weren't in a hurry, and they didn't rush us at all, but we were in and out in 75 minutes with three courses consumed. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a great night. The food was great and the drinks were just as good. I got the lamb which was cooked perfectly and my fiancé got the salmon. She said it was the best salmon she's ever had and she eats a lot of salmon. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Loved the building and atmosphere. Our food was lacking- we'll give it another chance since they had several holiday parties to manage, but overall, our meals were unimpressive. Broccoli Rabe was bitter, lamb was dry, tuna tartare starter lacked flavor, mini croissants were average. Service was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant!! Food was amazing, martini's excellent. Loved the atmosphere (beautifully decorated. Service was great. Would highly recommend and go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful pre Boston Pops dinner. Wait staff very contentious of our time restrictions but did not rush the meal either. Food top quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Was a little disappointed that they somehow didn't register my OpenTable reservation, so I had to appeal for the points. But the service, food, and cool space were all wonderful. The server made an excellent and modestly-priced French wine recommendation. I recommend the Bacon-wrapped Rabbit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good experience...loved the menu. We both ordered the skirt steak and it was tough as shoe leather unfortunately. You should really upgrade the cut of beef (strip steak or filet) as that was the only steak frites option. Outside of that, everything was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The servers were short and impatient. Was not impressed with the service. The food and ambiance were great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

First time that food was only ok....service was slow and spotty (forgot drinks till brunch was thru)...just a really off day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and service and beautiful restaurant but way too pricey for some bacon and eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Firstly the staff were super friendly on the phone. Next the waitress was super nice and friendly. I forget her name but she was a painter who'd gone to SVA in NYC! The food was really good. Would've liked the potato gratin to be more authentic in that the huge amount of cheese that was melted on top right before it came out was way too much and too rich and not how the French do it and not browned on top as it should've been. I picked it all off! The shortrib/foie gras beef Wellington dish I had again wasn't quite authentic. I can understand making changes to the prep but would be nice to know in advance! The foie gras wasn't on the meat but presented on top of the potato fondant--which made the potato soggy and the foie gras kind of melted on top of them. Potatoes fondant, like the gratin--should be browned on top. But the short rib in the pastry was divine, extremely rich which was expected. That's prob why the foie gras wasn't put with the beef, it would be too too rich! The carrots were done to perfection. The butter sent with the croissants for the table was spiced and herbed beautifully (and the young woman bringing it knew exactly what was in it! Impressive). The croissants were lovely but didn't taste/look homemade from the kitchen. We would def go again as the waitress and other staff were so lovely and the space is wonderful. And the food on the whole was divine.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very dependable. Only disappointment is the valet parking fee which @$18.00 is ridiculous considering the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The best napoleon I've ever had. Had a citrous flavor that was a great surprise. The flat bread bacon was fabulous. Rabbit wrapped in bacon as spectacular. The pate was the best any of our party ever had - and a generous portion too. Onion soup was generous and cheesy. A nice ambiance. Not crowded seating. Great service. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were there on a kind of scouting mission. We are planning on hosting a rehearsal dinner in early summer and wanted to find a Boston restaurant conveniently located to the hotel. The food was very good. The wait staff very attentive. The bar area was quite large and offered several seating options. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful waiter. Fast service. Really great food. Nice ambiance. We have been trying to get here for a while, and it was totally worth the anticipation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Got together with some older friends and the manager was so kind to them. They were very impressed. The food was wonderful and the waiter was very helpful with selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely loved it. I would have given a full five if it weren't for the waiter we had. The server barely checked up on us, we had to ask for utensils and flag him down for the most part. He wasn't too friendly either. Other than that, our entrée did come out a bit late but it might have been my food that took a while to cook. We didn't mind it since we were already full from the appetizers. The food was absolutely amazing, great plating, perfectly seasoned and flavorful! The ambience of the restaurant is fantastic, perfect for dates. Great wine list and cocktail menu as well. Overall, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Bastille Kitchen is my favorite Boston restaurant and I had t been there for a few months. I was a little disappointed the lobster gnocchi is no longer on the menu because it was my favorite! But the rest was still excellent. As always the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our food was very slow to come. Our orders were not correct. The service was not good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great and the location is excellent for dinner with your spouse.

The menu has enough to choose from (some specialties) and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Third time there including dinner. Consistently excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a fabulous time Saturday night with our best friends! The ambiance, food and service were all two thumbs up!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, food was decent but presentation messy and nonsensical. Service friendly but inattentive and took awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.