About Bartlett Hall

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Limited menu: 2:30pm- 5:3 0pm
Dinner menu: 5:30 pm -10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 12:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30-1:00
Lunch menu: 10:30-5:30
Dinner menu: 5:30 - 10:00
Late night menu - 10:00 - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lee

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
See All
Comfort Food (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Live Sports (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Vegan (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Good for a beer if you're willing to put up with the noise. It was really hard to believe that a place that bills itself as English doesn't have HP Sauce. In fact, nobody had even heard of it. Good fish and chips, but only two small pieces of cod. We might stop in for a beer at the bar, but we would not return to eat.

A private party in the back made it too loud to hold a conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Loved the warm fireplace on a cold damp afternoon. Some of the best Fish and Chips I've ever had. Found the food and beverages very reasonably priced.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

There were 10 of us dining and unfortunately, a very loud group had bought out the rest of the space. So, we really could not converse much at all. The saving grace was our server and the mgmt. who gave us 20% off of our invoice. We were dining before theatre so ate relatively early. The food was excellent and innovative. We all decided to return at another time and check first if the rest of the restaurant was bought out by a young group of 30 somethings enjoying pitcher-after pitcher of beer. The funny part is that we were all a group of women 75 plus watching a bunch of guys who could have been our grandkids!! It does take a sense of humor. Recommendation: go for it for a casual night out. Excellent food and drink all around.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd rank the falcons 4th quarter defense ahead of the food. Service was good

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Convenient location for pre/post show bites in the Union Square area. Some good choices from appetizer and small plate menu. Small plates are not cheap but come with almost dinner portion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a nice place. The drinks were really good and all of the staff were wonderful -- very friendly and attentive. Had a chicken caesar salad. The ingredients were very fresh and good quality, but it wasn't the most flavorful I'd ever had. Still the ambience and the company made up for it. I'd go back and give the place another try, though not the caesar.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Friendly and shockingly fast service. I had the smoked salmon benedict, and my friend had the fried chicken benedict, both of which were great (especially the little deep fried potato cake that comes with). Price is comparable to other brunches in the area, although it would have been nice to have a cheaper, simpler drink option vs. the signature cocktails (although the pour was generous, so that helped!)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Perhaps an off night for service. The cauliflower app was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First time here and it was good. It's a great vibe if you are into sports and looking for comfort food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice and cozy, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great evening, excellent wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Brunch menu was different at the Restaurant compared to what was on-line. I choose it because the Grass Feed Burger and when I got there it was not on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was wonderful , lots of ambiance, food we ordered great, service attentive & perfect. I would certainly recommend this restaurant & will go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was horrific as we sat for over 20 minutes watching workers simply continue to walk right by us and they weren't even busy. One of the bus boys even came to the table and grabbed the empty water bottle they leave for you to drink if you choose but didn't bother to bring it back refilled!

I finally had to grab someone to take a drink order so we could at least start with a cocktail. The service improved slightly after that but still that original wait left a lingering bad taste in my mouth.

Then the bill comes and it's got a 20% gratuity already added to the check. WTF is that? If you're going to automatically charge a 20% gratuity make damn sure your employees work their arses off to earn that much. They certainly didn't earn it on my visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Loved it! Perfect spot after the tree lighting in SF! Waitress was great but don't remember her name!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoyed a couple of appetizers, a couple of small plates, and cocktails and dessert. I booked our table for pre-theatre dining, but didn't expect such whiz bang fast service. Which is fine, but I would have liked to relax more. The server Alfredo was super attentive and I appreciated his thoroughness. The food came out so fast and all at the same time, and the waiter traffic next to our table was constantly moving. So, not the most romantic setting, especially because of noise level, but still fun. Shishito peppers and the kale salad were fantastic. Pork meatballs and fried fish very good. An interesting menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been to Bartlett Hall many times. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great Kale salad. Service was great, the waitress might have been a bit too formal and eager but it wasn't a problem.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ond of the best dinners we had during our stay in San Fransisco

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was quite good. Portabella mushroom sandwich was delicious. Could be vegan if the diner requested no cheese included. They are accommodating. Pub food and better. Lots of dark wood in the establishment and they are going for an old timey feel; it is also a more masculine feel. There are several flat screens with current sports, however it is possible to sit close to the front on the sofas or table in the window, or request a table in the back. The back room is a nice touch. It will accommodate a medium size group or just a few tables for 4, where the people want to talk. It works for before theater. It was weird though that ACT touted the theater deal as an appetizer for the table. It isn't actually so. They offer fish and chips at half off.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great Beer, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place to watch game 7. Problem was one of my colleagues purses was stolen from the back of her chair. Reminder that nice though this place is inside, it's still in downtown SF with all that goes with that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good food in a slightly touristy environment. Great for casual dining. Consider bringing a flair gun to attract the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Alfredo was a most attentive server. And the kale salad was delicious, as was the mushroom pizza.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I have had in San francisco. We were ignored by multiple servers when we asked to place both drink and food orders. When I mentioned this to the manager he said basically said too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at Bartlett Hall. Burgers were cooked perfectly and the service was outstanding. House made Manhattans were a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Not very impressed by the food. Margherita pizza was quite bland and the overloaded sauce that came on it tasted like it came straight from a tomato sauce can. Price seemed somewhat steep as well. There are so many other good restaurants in the area that I would recommend prior to wasting your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Bartlett's Hall is a great sports bar/restaurant. The fish & chips are outstanding - really fresh. Very good service. A great pre-theater spot, for a drink & bite with friends, and brew pub.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall, it was not very good. The food was fairly mediocre in terms of taste and the portions, given the prices, were small. I had macaroni and cheese with bacon added and, while it was perhaps a hair beyond Kraft out-of-the-box, there wasn't very much flavor to it. It was more watery than rich. My wife had a salad with chicken added and, strangely, the chicken was neatly arrayed on the side of the salad plate rather than mixed with the salad. We had nothing to drink beyond water, no appetizer or dessert, and our bill, out the door, was nearly $50, including tax and tip. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We've been looking for a place to have a light lunch before attending matinees at the A.C.T. theater two or three blocks away on Geary. Bartlett Hall is a great find. We had the house-brewed ale and it's excellent. The fish and chips is also very good and we found several other things on the menu we want to try. We'll be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Bartlett Hall's menu is great. There is something for everyone. Our party of 8 was there on 9/24 before an A.C.T. matinee. Our table was ready. Our server was responsive. We all tried a variety of items from the brunch menu: eggs benedict, avocado toast, mahi mahi tacos, Bartlett burger plus more. My only minor complaint was we could have had our beverages (coffee, ice tea) refilled and our water. We finished everything off and enjoyed the meal very much. I would also add the restrooms were very clean and tidy. I always judge that as part of the care the manager has for the whole operation. Give it a try.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A fun place for an occasional meal...pub like atmosphere and the food is quite good.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Would never have gone here were not on ACT's wesite page for where to dine near the theater. Turned out to be a very good choice: the food service and environment were all good-quality, particularly for the money. The bonus complementary appetizer for showing our ticket stub made the meal even more of a good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Nice Change of pace service excellent, special food fish and chips had little taste. Bill had to be redone as was offered at half off and bill came at full price. Was supposed to be a special pub night to ACT play. Enjoyed it anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fish Tacos and the Fish and Chips were outstanding. Very noisy on game days but the food was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We received a notice from ACT that Bartlett Hall was taking part in ACT's current production KING CHARLES III by offering ticket holders 1/2 off their Fish and Chips. Decided to try something new so met friends there for lunch before the show. Told our server we had ACT tickets, he asked to see them and acknowledged we had them. We ordered two orders of F & C to be shared along with three arugla salads, one fruit bowl, two glasses of cuvee and one iced tea. He offered to split the F & C which was very thoughtful and appreciated. The salads were wonderful and the fruit bowl one of the nicest we had seen in a very long time. F & C were tasty, although the chips were not very hot. We enjoyed our window seat, the food and our server. The bills were presented, separately, without us asking, which also was very nice. However, we realized after paying our bills (in cash, with a very adequate tip) that we had not been given the 1/2 price for the F & C. I decided to mention this to the hostess (two of them) and they apologized and finally, after many trips, did refund each couple 1/2 of the cost of the F & C. That left a disappointing feeling and felt like we had been "taken." While it is certainly close enough to ACT to revisit easily who knows if we ever will. What started out as a great experience ended up being disappointing and embarrasing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a nice time- it was a little noisy but we are glad we tried it. The food was really good- we had a cheese/meat platter and a po'boy we had bloody mary, and a beer tester. The desserts looked amazing- we will try those another time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great Beer, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess was rude, the ambiance terrible. Food was ok. A touristy sports bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was great and our server, Alfredo, went out of his way to accommodate our needs. Wonderful service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great find in SF. Prices more reasonable than most, so I could have a decent meal on my business expense travel budget. Halibut was so delicious. Energy level was high, loud, but made it easier for a one diner. I sat at a table across from the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went to Bartlett Hall for a work happy hour with four people. This worked out great for us, but next time we will show up earlier so we have longer to enjoy the happy hour specials!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

There are not many good wild mushroom pizzas. This restaurant has a very good one (porcini & wild mushrooms) and I will put it on my list for lunch. Less than a block from Macy's it is a good location for shoppers.

This is a bar & restaurant. The place has a dark rich ambience. As there were only 6 people in the restaurant for lunch I cannot give good advice as to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was greasy and the portions were extremely small. Will not return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good downtown Friday night dinner. Service quick and friendly. Very loud table of six just behind us who seemed oblivious to the noise they were making but hardly the fault of Bartlett Hall. Would recommend and would go again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for happy hour which is great. Prices are right and their regular french fries are the best! They also offer sweet potato fries but we stick to the regular fries. Seems like they fry the potatoes twice -- the crunch on them are what makes them great. Thanks, Barlett!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2016

There was no one else in the restaurant but my group of 8 for lunch. But still the waitress left us unattended most of the time. We waited too long for the food and for drinks and water. The menu was extremely limited, and the food was mediocre. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The menu is very creative, unique and delicious! Fun place with great wine and beer selections.

Service was excellent....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2016

I went with friends during a recent visit to San Francisco. Bartlett Hall was a half block from our hotel and a welcome variety to the very pricey, Italian or steak restaurants that the group had been going to for dinner. There was a range of food options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, entrees, small plate/starters), which was great for our group, and the prices were reasonable, especially compared to other Union Square restaurant prices. We also enjoyed the microbrew offerings. We were seated in the back and dined a bit on the early side and the noise was still moderate -- it seems like it could be quite loud when packed. That being said, there was a decent happy hour crowd at the bar and we were sheltered enough to be able to hear each other speak. They offer a range of seating options which could appeal to different kinds of groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was adequate, food less than average and welcome poor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy going to BH to watch the Giants and the Warriors! The drinks are on point especially the Goose Greyhound! The vibe is typically dictated by the crowd of course but the atomosphere has been vibrant every time we've gone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.