Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Bartlett Hall

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Limited menu: 2:30pm- 5:3 0pm
Dinner menu: 5:30 pm -10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 12:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30-1:00
Lunch menu: 10:30-5:30
Dinner menu: 5:30 - 10:00
Late night menu - 10:00 - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lee

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great Beer (11)
Bar Seating (11)
See All
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Live Sports (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was just so-so.... Bland Mac & Cheese was overpriced at $16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We popped in here for a pre theater lunch. Their beers are great be sure to flip the beer menu over to catch the goodies on the back. We had the kale salad and carbonara pizza. Both were excellent and came in a time for us to eat a relaxed meal and get to the theater.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent but the service was a little slow. One of the plates came significantly later than the others and one of the plates had a special request that needed to go back to the kitchen. It would also be nice to see more vegan options on the menu. The ambiance was very nice, it wasn't too loud and was easy to have a conversation in. All in all a good brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I mistakenly thought this would be a good place for a business meeting. This is a pub, not a restaurant. The noise level was too high for good conversation, even in the dining room area that wasn't the bar area

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We are regulars for happy hour and since they know us, we've had good service. The happy hour menu is sufficient for what that is. Workers are always kind, courteous and helpful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food and beer! Only thing missing is a patio for those nice days.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A friend and I had brunch here on our last day in the City. It was absolutely delicious. The staff was so great, and they even seated us before our reservation time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Inattentive server with poor attitude, seemed irritated when we asked questions or requested anything from her. Sub par service at best. Food was pretty good, nothing special. Disappointing over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had been to Bartlett Hall before for dinner and was pleased, so I decided to try it for a late lunch. This visit did not disappoint.

Four of us went for a light post-performance meal after an ACT matinee. Our reserved table was ready and set up. No waiting.

Our server was friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. When we weren't sure which beers to try, he brought us tasting samples, without prompting.

The menu is not large, but it is interesting and diverse. We ordered four small plates to share. They were all very good and more than enough for the four of us.

The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed.

I would definitely recommend Bartlett Hall, and will be returning again myself.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Really relaxed brunch that morphed into the whole afternoon just chilling, enjoying the surprisingly good coffee and One Hundo pale ale. Buffalo cauliflower was really great for a mid-afternoon snack.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dreadful! The worst pizza we have ever experienced in our (long) lives! I am surprised that such a place is linked to the Geary Theatre website as a recommended venue for a pre-theatre meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is excellent. Try the fried cauliflower.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was a typical pub-style restaurant with a pub-style menu. The venue and the food were good. The service was fast and efficient. I would say the noise level was average, and we were able to talk. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Enjoyable spot. A bit loud but it is a lively bar. I would go back again next time we're in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Surprisingly decent fish and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was fantastic, as it always is. Great selections of beer made in-house.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Overall, it was a cute space with plenty of room. And we arrived later at night, so the kitchen was still open. The only downsides were that my order was incorrect when it came to me, and it was a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very friendly staff. Great food great atmosphere and the drinks were great! Recommend the jerk wings!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good for a beer if you're willing to put up with the noise. It was really hard to believe that a place that bills itself as English doesn't have HP Sauce. In fact, nobody had even heard of it. Good fish and chips, but only two small pieces of cod. We might stop in for a beer at the bar, but we would not return to eat.

A private party in the back made it too loud to hold a conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food. Loved the warm fireplace on a cold damp afternoon. Some of the best Fish and Chips I've ever had. Found the food and beverages very reasonably priced.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

There were 10 of us dining and unfortunately, a very loud group had bought out the rest of the space. So, we really could not converse much at all. The saving grace was our server and the mgmt. who gave us 20% off of our invoice. We were dining before theatre so ate relatively early. The food was excellent and innovative. We all decided to return at another time and check first if the rest of the restaurant was bought out by a young group of 30 somethings enjoying pitcher-after pitcher of beer. The funny part is that we were all a group of women 75 plus watching a bunch of guys who could have been our grandkids!! It does take a sense of humor. Recommendation: go for it for a casual night out. Excellent food and drink all around.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I keep going back for the halibut and green beans. Nicely cooked halibut atop crispy green beans. Always so delicious, and a bargain by SF restaurant standards. It's a great place to pop-in for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd rank the falcons 4th quarter defense ahead of the food. Service was good

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Convenient location for pre/post show bites in the Union Square area. Some good choices from appetizer and small plate menu. Small plates are not cheap but come with almost dinner portion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a nice place. The drinks were really good and all of the staff were wonderful -- very friendly and attentive. Had a chicken caesar salad. The ingredients were very fresh and good quality, but it wasn't the most flavorful I'd ever had. Still the ambience and the company made up for it. I'd go back and give the place another try, though not the caesar.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Friendly and shockingly fast service. I had the smoked salmon benedict, and my friend had the fried chicken benedict, both of which were great (especially the little deep fried potato cake that comes with). Price is comparable to other brunches in the area, although it would have been nice to have a cheaper, simpler drink option vs. the signature cocktails (although the pour was generous, so that helped!)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Perhaps an off night for service. The cauliflower app was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First time here and it was good. It's a great vibe if you are into sports and looking for comfort food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice and cozy, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great evening, excellent wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Brunch menu was different at the Restaurant compared to what was on-line. I choose it because the Grass Feed Burger and when I got there it was not on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was wonderful , lots of ambiance, food we ordered great, service attentive & perfect. I would certainly recommend this restaurant & will go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service was horrific as we sat for over 20 minutes watching workers simply continue to walk right by us and they weren't even busy. One of the bus boys even came to the table and grabbed the empty water bottle they leave for you to drink if you choose but didn't bother to bring it back refilled!

I finally had to grab someone to take a drink order so we could at least start with a cocktail. The service improved slightly after that but still that original wait left a lingering bad taste in my mouth.

Then the bill comes and it's got a 20% gratuity already added to the check. WTF is that? If you're going to automatically charge a 20% gratuity make damn sure your employees work their arses off to earn that much. They certainly didn't earn it on my visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Loved it! Perfect spot after the tree lighting in SF! Waitress was great but don't remember her name!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoyed a couple of appetizers, a couple of small plates, and cocktails and dessert. I booked our table for pre-theatre dining, but didn't expect such whiz bang fast service. Which is fine, but I would have liked to relax more. The server Alfredo was super attentive and I appreciated his thoroughness. The food came out so fast and all at the same time, and the waiter traffic next to our table was constantly moving. So, not the most romantic setting, especially because of noise level, but still fun. Shishito peppers and the kale salad were fantastic. Pork meatballs and fried fish very good. An interesting menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been to Bartlett Hall many times. The food is good and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great Kale salad. Service was great, the waitress might have been a bit too formal and eager but it wasn't a problem.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ond of the best dinners we had during our stay in San Fransisco

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was quite good. Portabella mushroom sandwich was delicious. Could be vegan if the diner requested no cheese included. They are accommodating. Pub food and better. Lots of dark wood in the establishment and they are going for an old timey feel; it is also a more masculine feel. There are several flat screens with current sports, however it is possible to sit close to the front on the sofas or table in the window, or request a table in the back. The back room is a nice touch. It will accommodate a medium size group or just a few tables for 4, where the people want to talk. It works for before theater. It was weird though that ACT touted the theater deal as an appetizer for the table. It isn't actually so. They offer fish and chips at half off.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great Beer, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great place to watch game 7. Problem was one of my colleagues purses was stolen from the back of her chair. Reminder that nice though this place is inside, it's still in downtown SF with all that goes with that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.