Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Bartlett Hall

Bartlett Hall, located in the heart of San Francisco’s Union Square neighborhood, is a modern saloon and eatery that fuses the city’s historic elements with today’s conveniences. A menu of California-inspired American fare, including a variety of pizzas, small plates and entrees, are served daily for lunch, dinner and late night, with a beverage program that features barrel-aged cocktails, California-focused wines, and local and house-brewed beers. Bartlett Hall is located at 242 O’Farrell Street www.bartletthallsf.com, or call 415-433-4332.

242 O' Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily until 1:30am

Monday to Friday
Lunch menu 11:30 am - 4:30 pm
Dinner menu: 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Late night menu: 10:00 pm- 11:30 am

Saturday and Sunday
Brunch menu: 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Lunch menu: 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner menu: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Late night menu - 10:00 pm - 12:30 am

Cross Street:
Powell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 433-4332

Website:
http://www.bartletthallsf.com/

Parking Details:
There are dozens of nearby parking options, including local hotels and an assortment of parking garages. We encourage guests to take MUNI to our establishment.

Public Transit:
38, 38L, Powell Station,

Private Party Facilities:
We have both private and semi-private options for your next event. Email events@bartletthall.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Anathea Meade: (415) 684-7136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bartlett Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great Beer (11)
See All
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (9)
Live Sports (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Tapas (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Eleven of us for a football weekend. Fun and loud, but service very sketchy. Had to hunt down waiter, who was barely friendly. They think their menu is creative and cool, but end results were just OK. Off Union Square so location is good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great waiter suggestions. Very excellent taste and environment experience for a nice lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Good beer in a dark ssports bar. Plenty of screens. Food is satisfactory.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were looking for something casual and low key, informal and not too expensive. This fitted the bill perfectly. Our waiter was great - friendly and attentive in the best possible way. We were all very happy with our food - what's not to like - great quality pub food, at a reasonable price and a really great Gin and tonic!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a very wild table next to us. Not the restaurant's fault. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Generic, nothing special. For those from the U.K., it is quite reminiscent of a Wetherspoons .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food and a cool space. Originally from Chicago so I'm used to high prices but these seemed a little high for sized portions served. Waitress didn't bring a drink for my wife until reminded again and never refilled water glasses. Didn't even bring the appetizer or meal from kitchen and when we were done she didn't clear the dishes. Real star of the meal were the behind the scenes people! Good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service is outstanding and very attentive. The food was even better! Highly recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Cool ambiance, our waiter was terrific but other than the buffalo cauliflower the food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Moderate food and service. The location is great, next to union square. The interior is really nice and relaxed, however they could skip the tv screens with sport!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was good but the food was not. Nothing special and a very big price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The mac n cheese was dry and everything was overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went here on a Friday evening and it wasn't too busy but the people at the table next to us were pretty loud and drunk which made for a frustrating first 20 minutes. The food actually was pretty good (I had the chicken, others in my party had salads and thought they were good) the trouble came with the service - our server was pretty pushy and then forgot our in a few of the apps we ordered and in general was very slow even though there was nobody there. Hard to understand why you're going to rush us, push us for the upsell but then not actually provide good service. Would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very attentive waiting staff. Food was good and came in a timely manner. Would have been nice to see a kids' menu but perhaps because it's more of a bar atmosphere, few families attend?

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great service! We all enjoyed our food. Service was quick and attentive. One of the best burgers I've eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We needed a place for a quick bite to eat before an ACT performance and saw Bartlett Hall on the ACT website. You could pass by thinking it was a pub for the many tourists in the area, but it was a nice surprise. The food was straightforward--we had salads and a "small plate" of meatballs--and it was tasty, with fresh ingredients and nicely prepared. A nice selection of wines by the glass. Service was friendly and excellent, and they even gave us a 20% discount because we were going to ACT.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food, nice fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is our second post theater visit. We enjoyed the house brewed beer and split the chicken po' boy and the stone fruit salad. This combo was great p. After finishing the po' boy my husband and I couldn't finish the salad so we took it home. Very tasty.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great beer selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We we're looking for a place that stayed open late in Union Square and found this on Google maps. The service was good at first, but after we ordered drinks, the server didn't​ come back to check up on us or ask for our food order. Other than that, it was a vibrant and fun place to go, with good beer and especially good French fries. Also a great place to go for parties.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our experience was great! The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious! We plan to go back again!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great location for ACT theatre. You get a discount if you have tickets to ACT- which is a nice little bonus. Odd....they call you the day before and ask where you would like to sit, and then they seat you somewhere completely different....
Also - we booked through OpenTable, we checked in and advised OpenTable, they had already called us...but then they marked us as a no show....
Service...so so - she knew we had tickets to the theatre - but then we couldn't get her attention to pay the bill - we had to chase her down and pay in cash and run out to make the theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Chacuterie app pricey but good...pizza just ok...drinks pricey too. Noise level very high.
Also , make sure the hostess acknowledges that you have an Open Table reservation. Open Table had us as a no show which was irritating

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was excellent even for a party of 6. Pizzas and beer were delicious!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The location of Bartlett Hall is terrific as it is close to Union Square as well as BART at Powell. We had early reservations as we were going to see a performance at ACT. By 6pm the place was packed and the decibel lever was ear piercing. We were immediately seated and brought water, but it took 40 minutes for us to get glasses for wine, evidently because all of the glasses were being used. Service was turtle slow, again, due to the number of people. The stone fruit salad with arugula and goat cheese was a refreshing choice, the burger was quite good, the Casear salad was bland, and the lightly breaded calamari came as a large portion and was okay. Two of us ordered the halibut, which was over-cooked and dry. The beans were crunchy and nice.
It was impossible to have a conversation, but the energy was fun. We agreed to give 3 stars because Bartlett Hall generously gives a 20% discount to theater goers when you show your tickets. This is a very popular sports bar so I would recommend this to friends who want to be around lots of people having fun and yelling at games. It’s not a place to come for a romantic or quiet meal. When you come, be prepared to wait for your drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The elevated bar food, pub ambience & excellent service make this one of my go-to places when I'm by Union Square. And I'm addicted to the buffalo cauliflower!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was just meh. Not bad at all, but felt really generic.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was just so-so.... Bland Mac & Cheese was overpriced at $16!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We popped in here for a pre theater lunch. Their beers are great be sure to flip the beer menu over to catch the goodies on the back. We had the kale salad and carbonara pizza. Both were excellent and came in a time for us to eat a relaxed meal and get to the theater.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for Mother's Day brunch. The food was excellent but the service was a little slow. One of the plates came significantly later than the others and one of the plates had a special request that needed to go back to the kitchen. It would also be nice to see more vegan options on the menu. The ambiance was very nice, it wasn't too loud and was easy to have a conversation in. All in all a good brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I mistakenly thought this would be a good place for a business meeting. This is a pub, not a restaurant. The noise level was too high for good conversation, even in the dining room area that wasn't the bar area

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We are regulars for happy hour and since they know us, we've had good service. The happy hour menu is sufficient for what that is. Workers are always kind, courteous and helpful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food and beer! Only thing missing is a patio for those nice days.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A friend and I had brunch here on our last day in the City. It was absolutely delicious. The staff was so great, and they even seated us before our reservation time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Inattentive server with poor attitude, seemed irritated when we asked questions or requested anything from her. Sub par service at best. Food was pretty good, nothing special. Disappointing over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had been to Bartlett Hall before for dinner and was pleased, so I decided to try it for a late lunch. This visit did not disappoint.

Four of us went for a light post-performance meal after an ACT matinee. Our reserved table was ready and set up. No waiting.

Our server was friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. When we weren't sure which beers to try, he brought us tasting samples, without prompting.

The menu is not large, but it is interesting and diverse. We ordered four small plates to share. They were all very good and more than enough for the four of us.

The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed.

I would definitely recommend Bartlett Hall, and will be returning again myself.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Came for brunch and ended up just hanging out pretty much all day. Really relaxed, no pressure or hurrying. Nice brunch menu and some good ales.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Dreadful! The worst pizza we have ever experienced in our (long) lives! I am surprised that such a place is linked to the Geary Theatre website as a recommended venue for a pre-theatre meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is excellent. Try the fried cauliflower.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was a typical pub-style restaurant with a pub-style menu. The venue and the food were good. The service was fast and efficient. I would say the noise level was average, and we were able to talk. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.