About Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

929 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Barra Rossa is a bustling burst of Italian flavor and energy. The lively atmosphere is perfect for sharing a meal with friends or family, or for a late night snack. The dynamic bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 40 Italian wines served by the bottle, glass or half glass. Begin your meal with a sampling of Italian meats, cheeses and olives. Next, try several of our signature hot and cold small plates. Then, choose from a selection of our wood-fired pizzas and pastas, or one of our signature entrees.

Creative and traditional dishes are brought to life with local and fresh ingredients. An extensive wine and specialty cocktail list pairs with each dish to complete the dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am to 10 pm



Tuesday: 11 am to 10 pm



Wednesday: 11 am to 10 pm



Thursday: 11 am to 11pm



Friday: 11 am to 12am



Saturday: 11 am to 12am



Sunday: 11 am to 9pm

Cross Street:
10th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 644-9074

Website:
http://www.barrarossa.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering menu available.

Parking Details:
Indoor Parking Garage with Valet is right next door! Central Parking entrance located at 925 Walnut Street. $8 Valet Sunday-Thursday after 3pm. $12 Valet Saturday & Sunday after 3pm. Metered Street Parking also available.

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Stop on the corner of 10th & Walnut for routes 9, 12, 21, and 42.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Connelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Group Events. Business & Professional Events. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, & Family Events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Barra Rossa – Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Barra Rossa – Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (55)
Casual (45)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fun (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Quick Bite (14)
Business Meals (14)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Family Style (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

From the moment I walked through the door, everyone who I met, from the hostess who greeted me, to the bartender, to person who delivered my food was professional and friendly. I will be coming back, a great place to go to in the area around the hospital.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was excellent, he didn't treat us like any other guest but was genuine to our inquiries. Our table, while comfortable, was ill situated for someone who had made a reservation rather than a walk in. We were placed in high chairs next to a register making foot traffic heavy with an occasional bump to our chairs. The food was incredible, however I was expecting bigger proportions for the given price. I recommend going here for a three course meal but expect a larger bill.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

In town to see a show at the Walnut Street Theatre, reataurant was close by and food and service was very good. Would definietely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was, beginning to end, the worst meal I have ever had. We were surprised when we arrived to find out that the classy looking restaurant looked NOTHING like their pictures on open table. Clearly, the place had a rustic style make-under. We ordered an appetizer, salad, entrees and wine. The rolls were stale (and we noticed other tables had good looking flat bread instead) and the wine tasted like it had turned. The appetizer (arancini) was ok, but the spicy was SO spicy that it made them inedible. We never received the caprese salad nor did anyone ask if everything was ok. I had the gnocchi bolognese and it was just terrible. Jarred sauce would have been better. Much better. My friend had the crab linguini and it had that same awful spicy sauce as the appetizer. Again, she was unable to eat it. We didn't bother to ask for something different since it was clear that better food was not going to be found. We decided, for sh*#s and giggles, to order dessert. We each had a mini layered dessert, which should have been two different flavors. I'm pretty sure mine was solid cream cheese and hers was solid cream cheese with a couple Oreo crumbs on top. I wish there was something redeeming to say about our experience but there just isn't. Obviously, I don't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable evening with friends before going to The Walnut Theatre. Great service and pizza was fabulous! Not handicap accessible.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been here a number of times (20 or so) and have never been disappointed. Saturday night provided a delicious fare, courteous, attentive service and great ambiance. A Philly favorite every time we go!!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

What a wonderful gem to have on Walnut Street and close to the theater district.

Food, drinks and our waiter were awesome.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

There menu has a variety to choose from and the food was excellent,first time there definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The gnocchi with braised beef was amazing, calamari superb, pizza got top ratings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a delicious Italian dinner from Barra Rossa for Valentine's Day. Growing up Italian, I am very picky and like to avoid places that just don't get that special "Italian Touch" correct. Barra Rossa had great food, and a great atmosphere too. Wines by the bottle, fun for a fancy dinner or occasion with friends!

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It is our favorite spot for Theatre night. Convenient, great food, casual atmosphere, great service...what more can you ask for !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice corner table for two by window 2nd floor. Pleasant server. Choice of three menu, one being for Valentine's Day. Pre-Fix Menu was excellent value and meal. Though wine emphasized, draft and bottle beer available. Pre theater dinner w discount with theater ticket.

Block walk from the Walnut. As subscribers to Walnut will be coming back to Barra Rossa!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sat upstairs. Service was attentive and Drew was the man. Portions were perfect so we didn't need to tote around doggie bags from a monstrous portion of pasta. The cheese and olives were very good and Drew makes a fabulous Old Fashioned. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to this restaurant alot as we love the food and then can walk to the Walnut St. Theatre afterwards. Also give 15 % off as a theatre-goer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service and food were great. Had family in from out of town and they really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Been there a couple of times and have really enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant on performance nights at Walnut Street Theatre. The food is so good. Prices are reasonable. Service is efficient and friendly. Who could ask for anything more?

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love Barra Rossa..The food is excellent..I love the gluten free options and the wait staff doesn't miss a beat..We love it there!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been to Barra Rossa multiple times . Always for lunch and always following a childrens play at the Walnut Street Theater . To be honest, the food has never blown me away . It is okay . Our granddaughter calls it her favorite pizza spot in the city. The location is convenient, the staff is fantastic. Service is good , even when they get swamped with families after the play . It is our tradition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had made a reservation that was originally for 1230 for seven people that ended up being eight people and we were 45 minutes early. Dan at the front got us a table with no problem and made us feel completely at ease and was extremely helpful. Definitely going back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I took our three teenaged sons out to lunch after attending the auto show. The food was exceptional and the service was friendly and attentive. We can't wait to eat there again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place - love the food and the atmosphere. Been here many times and it's always a treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

dinner was great

waitress was so helpful and pleasant

I will return !!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

6 of us met for lite fare before the theater on Thursday evening. Service was excellent, food was delicious, atmosphere is cool. This was my first visit so I can't speak to the full dinner menu or how it is on weekend enights, however, it is a perfect spot for the quick, before theater bite-to-eat. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was excellent but the food disappointing. The chicken piccata on linguini was dry (both chicken and linguini). The Caesar salad was mediocre- lettuce with a few croutons and the dressing was nothing special. We will not return. We went because it's close to Walnut Street Theater but there are much better restaurants nearby.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food arrived quickly. The service was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I ordered salmon w/penne and I received a big bowl of pasta from a box and tiny pieces of salmon cut up inside the pasta.

The floors were filthy and the bathroom on the second floor was down right scary!

In all it took over an hour to complete our lunch order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My theater group won't let me make a reservation anywhere else before we go to the WST! They have the best eggplant parm in the city!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

2nd visit and both times, the service was impeccable, the server was super nice and attentive, and the food was great! If you are doing a preshow dinner, they can get you in and out efficiently without feeling rushed. Love the ambiance, too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice looking place and good food. Very good gluten free menu. My wife has Celiac's and we ordered 2 entrees. We thought we made it clear that both needed to be gluten free. The pasta wasn't. The server did stop my wife but she had already eaten some of the pasta.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner at Barra Rosa was absolutely amazing! I am gluten free and there were so many yummy options! The set up and mood was great and would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have been here many times. Food and service are always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great experience! I would recommend this place without a second thought!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had the prix fix $35- meal, was seated right away for our reservation. Our waitress was polite, and food was good. Fruit fly flying around was annoying. Restaurant feels cramped, and noisy. Don't go here for quiet ambience . Would probably not come back, it was just okay, nothing spectacular . I guess if you want a quick bite before a show it might be adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a great meal. Prices are reasonable. The pre-fixed menu (3 course meal) is usually very good. I recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have found the Barra Rosa is a great place to go prior to the Theater for a good dinner at a fair price. It is a short walk to the Walnut St. Theater and you can park in the lot right next to the restaurant for a reasonable price. Reservations are good to have on a Friday night when we usually go to the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My sister and I have been coming here many times before going to the theater. We find the food very good and the atmosphere very friendly. The wait staff are very friendly and helpful with the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Omg the dessert that Hazel nut chocolate chip and cake yes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We often visit Barra Rossa pre-theater. The service is always attentive, but not intrusive. The food is always well prepared and, while the menu is heavily Italian, the dinner salads and daily specials are of excellent quality. The steak dinner salad is an especially good quality dish at a bargain price for what it is. A Filet Mignon cooked to order served with a good salad. The only negative that I see is that the space is limited and tables are very close to each other.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not our 1st visit. Excellent food, good service, relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food as always was very good and service was attentive. We had theater tickets and this restaurant works with getting you served and out in time for your show. Due to the location of this restaurant to the theater I do recommend reservations since have not had them in the past and wait was over an hour. Will be visiting again for sure.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Barra Rossa is one of my favorite restaurants to go to before catching a show at Lantern Theater Company. The capellini primavera and the ravioli are two great choices. Good selections of wine by the glass as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exceptional service, decent meal, great atmosphere. The food is good enough to make me return but the service guarantees it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great service, great food, warm environment. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our dinner on a recent Saturday night at Barra Rosss was disappointing. My filet mignon was a chewy, charred piece of meat not worth the $30 price tag. Although I had asked for it to be cooked between medium and medium-well, it was quite overdone. My husband's modest piece of salmon ($22) was neither fresh nor tasty, and was placed on a large bed of very oily pasta. The service was mostly fine, until towards the end of our meal; when I wasn't looking, the waitress took away my glass of wine before I had a chance to finish it. Not going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place!!! SERVICE ALWAYS GOOD..FOOD TERRIFIC.. HAD THE CHICKEN RASPBERRY SALAD

Manager the best in town.

Always come here when we have a show nearby. Never even think of another place..

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best restaurant for before or after shows at the Walnut St Theater. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our waiter was awful! He couldn't even open a bottle of wine. Not on top of things at all. We left a 10% tip when he really deserved nothing!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We went before a show at the Walnut Street Theatre. The location is perfect for a dinner/lunch before a show because it is close to parking and the theatre. Our food was excellent. Our waitress was very nice and service was pretty good.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.