Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Barra Rossa – Philadelphia

Barra Rossa is a bustling burst of Italian flavor and energy. The lively atmosphere is perfect for sharing a meal with friends or family, or for a late night snack. The dynamic bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 40 Italian wines served by the bottle, glass or half glass. Begin your meal with a sampling of Italian meats, cheeses and olives. Next, try several of our signature hot and cold small plates. Then, choose from a selection of our wood-fired pizzas and pastas, or one of our signature entrees.

Creative and traditional dishes are brought to life with local and fresh ingredients. An extensive wine and specialty cocktail list pairs with each dish to complete the dining experience.

929 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am to 10 pm



Tuesday: 11 am to 10 pm



Wednesday: 11 am to 10 pm



Thursday: 11 am to 11pm



Friday: 11 am to 12am



Saturday: 11 am to 12am



Sunday: 11 am to 9pm

Cross Street:
10th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 644-9074

Website:
http://www.barrarossa.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering menu available.

Parking Details:
Indoor Parking Garage with Valet is right next door! Central Parking entrance located at 925 Walnut Street. $8 Valet Sunday-Thursday after 3pm. $12 Valet Saturday & Sunday after 3pm. Metered Street Parking also available.

Public Transit:
Septa Bus Stop on the corner of 10th & Walnut for routes 9, 12, 21, and 42.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Connelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Group Events. Business & Professional Events. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, & Family Events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Barra Rossa – Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Barra Rossa – Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (59)
Casual (57)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Cozy (23)
Bar Seating (19)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Authentic (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
People Watching (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Family Style (8)
Great Beer (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

The usual outstanding food and service was a bit off...but manager was quick to step up and make things right! Still love this spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the steak salad entree and it was perfectly cooked and very tender. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrible food and generally Poor service make this a restaurant to avoid. The food actually seemed like something that was purchased mass prepared at the local supermarket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and a very nice wine list. Casual but up-scale. Great location for theater goers.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice atmosphere and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We were put at a table right next to the kitchen. On the wall next our heads, there were 100s of fruit flies, which was quite disturbing. The food was sub-par. At one point during the meal, my purse fell on the floor. Instead of picking it up, one of the kitchen staff just pointed to it and asked if it was mine. I would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Made reservations for a pre theater dinner. They promised to hold our table however late we might be as we were coming from the suburbs at rush hour. I really appreciated that courtesy. Other places we've dined offered just 15 minutes.
We opted to share the zucchini fritti and a margherita pizza. The zucchini were very good, lighter than most that are fried. The accompanying sauce very tasty. The thin crust pizza was decent but not what I expected. They didn't use fresh mozzarella or any fresh tomato slices. There were about 5 basil leaves which were left whole so you had very little basil flavor overall. Essentially it was a cheese pizza with less cheese. Service was attentive and ambience was nice. Proximity to the theater was also a plus. Would return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was delicious and the service was good. My beet and goat cheese salad was out of this world. The chicken parm is always a winner as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was amazing and hada huge gluten-free menu that was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My friend & I enjoyed Barra Rosa very much! We had tickets to see a show at the Walnut Street Theater (Saturday Night Fever) & needed to meet close to the theater. I had the steak salad & my friend had a pasta dish with a glass of wine (she said it was excellent). I would definitely return to try some of the other dishes on the menu (specifically the Chicken Parmesan - the man sitting across from me had ordered that & it looked so appetizing). Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We made a reservation and we were going to be 10-15 minutes late due to traffic and they were so understanding and did not make us feel bad at all! They were accommodating and understanding when we arrived. Our waiter was superb and patient while we went over the menu and offered suggestions when we asked. The food was unbelievable and I would 100% reccommend to a friend.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great spot to grab dinner. Food was excellent. Only problem I had was with the bread they offer to the table. But everything else we ate was excellent. Service was great. The floor/service manager was very astute and on top of things and also very friendly. Atmosphere is nice too. Nice but doesn't feel too fancy and would definitely be a great spot to come grab a drink as well as dinner.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our table had a spacious amount of room to accommodate my party. We were seated right away. Our server was cold and short with us. My first drink tasted like cough syrup... it was supposed to be a strawberry margarita-I did not drink it and it was not taken off of our bill. We ordered a cheese board to start and put in our entree order shortly after. I requested that we have some time in between our courses because I was hoping not to rush through the occasion. Unfortunately, our server did not remember to do as I requested and our food came out long before we were even halfway through the cheese board. I had the chicken picatta which was nothing special and the ratio to chicken (not enough) to pasta (too much) was way off. My boyfriend ordered the Fru Fru ( funny name I know) pizza which was very good... pizza is probably the safest bet to order here. Something strange I thought about the restaurant was it's bathroom. It was a multi-gender bathroom which is fine, but it had sexualized pictures of women on the walls- a distasteful detail that makes the bathroom more of a men's room. Will not be returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was good, not great. Average Italian food. Nothing special and we had a variety of Italian dishes at our table of six. It also didn't help that we had a new waitress, and it was obvious that she was still learning. I had to take some points off for that, but we still tipped her well to encourage her. I'd go back though.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First time there and I was so pleasantly surprised! There was something to eat for everyone - including my pescatarian mother. The food arrived very quickly and was absolute delicious. And best of all, the bill was very fair.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A nice spot to do lunch or after work dinner/drinks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My food was great. Others in my party said theirs was good but nothing special. Very attentive and friendly server.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My friend and I went for lunch before seeing a play at The Walnut Street Theater. The service, food, ambiance were all just perfect. We had a very nice pre Theater meal. We split a Gaetano pizza a panzanella salad and a cannoli. We didn't finish the pizza and had more than enough to eat even though we split everything. The meal was very tasty. Thank you so much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Discovered this restaurant using Open Table. We had a lovely pre-theater lunch. Delicious food. The outstanding waiter/bartender, 'Justin', made our luncheon fun. He was very knowledgable about local beers and entertained us with Philadelphia facts. Our meals were excellent. Look forward to return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great Beer, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our favorite italian place! We go every time we see a show at the Walnut and they never disappoint!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very knowledgeable and patient staff. Rich and delicious cuisine made for an enjoyable team dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food excellent. Lively atmosphere. Service a bit slow. Convenient to theatre. Reservation system easy and able to be modified

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

nice place to dine before theater, Staff very friendly

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

very delicious food and atmosphere... very close to Forest Theater ...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was absolutely to die for. The anarcini was good but the chicken park was amaaaazzzinnngggg!!!! Really nice service and we're quick and fast. Definitely will come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had an early reservation before the show at the Walnut St. Theater. Very convenient. We were supposed to get a 15% discount for subscribers.
Our waiter , Derek, was totally unacceptable. He had an attitude from the moment we sat down.
The four of us ordered from the menu and I ordered the salmon special. Apparently , Derek misunderstood what I ordered and brought me Veal. When I questioned him, him was very indignant and said that I was absolutely wrong and he heard veal. He was indignant and nasty to me and the service went down hill from there. i ate the veal so not to make a fuss. He was virtually invisible the rest of the meal until we tracked him down to fill our water glasses.When the check came we asked for our discount and presented our Theater tickets. He never asked us to clarify if we were subscribers, etc. When the check came he gave us a reduced discount because he said we were not subscribers(which we are). He never asked us anything.
The manger came over and apologized for the misunderstandings and offered a free dessert which we never got. He ruined our nice meal.
The food was delicious. The service was horrible! I might go back again because the food was so good , but will not sit upstairs with Derek.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place for a wide variety of food - the kids love the pizza, and we (the adults) love the entrees, especially the creative specials. The cannolis are terrific!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our meal started out great. Cocktails were great. Appetizers were great. Then all of a sudden, the service went downhill. Water wasn't refilled. Cocktails were not replenished as ordered. Entrees came out in spurts and one was missed completely. Not sure what happened but we were so disappointed that a promising meal went wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always great food and service. Amazing wood fired pizza. Great location! Winner all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food here was great! Not huge portions but amazing pastas and great prices overall. Solid service and nice decor, although the upstairs dining room is a bit tight in the seat-to-table distance. Happy hours at the bar seem like a great value too.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. Food had no taste. It was suppose to be spicy crab sauce. I asked for it to be very spicy. No spice at all. I had to ask for red pepper seed flakes to give it flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was very good! We went before a show at the Walnut street theater. The atmosphere was quaint ! The service was good , friendly and quick. The food was delicious and a nice selection. House wine also good! Will definatley go back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pretty busy at 5:15 or so on a Saturday. Had choice of table of high-top and chose the latter. Prompt and friendly service by our server. My son had meat tortellini with a substitute of marinara for the more adventurous offering. He loved it! I had a glass of house Italian red, which was excellent. Started with beet salad served over greens and then had eggplant parmigiana . All the food was very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

the service and server were amazing. Vanessa was very accommodating and friendly. She made the experience even better that it already was. Great food too by the way.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great place for before and after theatre - Walnut Street Theatre. Food was really good and service was excellent!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We go after every Walnut Children's Theater. They are great with the children. Every thing is delicious

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. This is the second time we've been there and have had the same experience both times.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was good, very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 30, 2017

not quite the dining experience I'd expected. MANY steps to the second floor

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.