About Barking Frog

It's difficult to say what is most appealing about the Barking Frog - the food, the wine, the atmosphere. All of the above earned this casual bistro featuring country fresh Northwest cuisine rave reviews. Honors have included "Restaurant of the Year", "Most Innovative Wine List" and "Wine Grand Award" awards, presented by the Washington Wine Commission. Delectable dishes entice guests to linger in the light-filled dining room or to gather around the fireplace. While in the summer, lunch and dinner are served in the courtyard.

Wine tasting in Fireside Cellars - Many wineries are open for public tastings, others are not. However, there is one place where you can relax with friends and fellow guests to taste the finest that Woodinville Wine Country has to offer - Fireside Cellars at Willows Lodge. Join us from 4PM-11PM Sunday-Thursday and 4PM-12AM Friday and Saturday.

14580 NE 145th Street
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Rte 202

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 424-2999

Website:
http://www.willowslodge.com/wine_dine/barking_frog.html

Catering:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $7, or you can self park in the hotel lot.

Executive Chef:
Bobby Moore

Private Party Facilities:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care. Whether you’re planning a wedding or a family reunion, a fundraiser, board meeting to corporate teambuilding retreat, we’ll work with you to identify and manage every detail. The unique ambiance of the Lodge adds an extra dimension of charm to all occasions, while our five acres of gardens lend themselves to truly unforgettable events. Facilities
include six separate meeting rooms with over 5,000 square feet of space.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Laccinole: (425) 424-2587

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer an ideal setting for social, professional and personal events, where every gathering is handled with the utmost care.

Parties of 6 or more include an automatic 18% gratuity and one check is appreciated, however multiple checks are available.

Parties of 7 or more may be seated around our fireplace based on dining room availability.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Barking Frog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Fireplace (36)
Local Ingredients (30)
Romantic (26)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Seasonal (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Casual (11)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely food, great ambience and great staff, all contributed to a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I just moved back to PNW after living in the Midwest for several years. I tried several places upon my return,looking for something unique and delicious. I found it at the Barking Frog. Inventive menu. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

As a diabetic I would like to see a few items on the menu for diabetics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We had dined here a few years ago and had a nice time. However, this time the food was bad. The dinner menu is now very limited. The dishes were a jumble of ingredients that really didn't make an edible dish. I think the chef was trying to be cutting edge, but ended up being a moleculer grastronomic failure. The acoustics were so bad you couldn't have a converation with the person sitting across from you. However, you could hear the conversation from across the room. The only saving grace was the waiter. He was very nice amd attentive. We definitely will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Our family went for Sunday Brunch. The food was delicious, cocktails were great, and service was excellent. In other words, a typical Barking Frog experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We finally went, and I see why everyone has recommended Barking Frog so highly. Definitely a special occasion place because it's on the more expensive side, but everything we ate was delicious. I'm not a big seafood person, so I passed on the tasting menu, but our baby kale salad, beef tenderloin and port loin entrees, and beet-chocolate cake dessert exceeded my expectations. The wine list was extensive, and the servers were incredibly knowledgeable recommending dishes and wine pairings. We'll be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

This place never disappoints! The menu has been recently updated - the fillet was amazing as were the scallops! Service is always impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was great and the service very amicable. Great date night for my wife and I.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had one of the best meals! People need to plan to be there for the evening. We were glad the wait staff told us it would be 30 to 40 for our entire to be at our table. We had a great time relaxing then.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The waiter had excellent service, always there when we needed him and had excellent manners. He knew the menu and was able to recommend drinks of the types we said we liked. He knew all the answers to our questions about the food and menu and constantly kept us updated on our order. I can't remember if his name was nick or not, but he definitely deserves a shout out for giving the best customer service I have received in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Beautiful, small restaurant with amazing wine selection and flavorful food. Perfect spot for date night with the low lighting and intimate tables. Portion sizes were a bit small for the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The lamb chops were perfectly cooked at medium. They were juicy, tender and succulent. Would definitely order again. The bread with lavender butter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I treated myself to a weekday breakfast on my birthday, since I have always wanted to try Barking Frog's huckleberry pancakes. Everything was so lovely, and I wished it would never end. Absolutely worth the 40-minute drive each way, and I will absolutely visit again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm not sure who served us on February 14th for our 7:30 PM reservation for last name Sanghera on our 4 top table in the back of the restaurant. Nick (Not sure) But he was excellent, I appreciate all the time and care you took making sure we had an exceptional time. I believe you had been working a couple of days straight and are going on vacation to Florida? I hope you have a great time! I know it's not easy working on a holiday but thank you! You made it a very special night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Friendly staff that were well knowledged in the food, wine and the wine pairing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the grand marnier prawns were amazing, as usual. The only complaint would be that when the server brought our entrees she picked up my wife's half eaten salad and stacked my salad dish on top of it. My wife wanted to have the remaining salad boxed up to take home but was not even asked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was great, our server was a pro and very friendly but did not over burden us with her presence. The only thing that I didn't like was that we were seated at a two person table, we sat across from each other, and there was no intimacy in our conversation. We could hear both sets of couples conversations who sat next to us. Personally this isn't a problem for me, but my date was much more shy and our conversation was stifled because of this.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I think the new menu is not as good and now seems very expensive. I had a "shared plate" as my entree and it only had 1 piece. Then I ordered bread because I was still hungry and we had to pay for bread. Really? Finally, the credit card reader wasn't working and I don't think the waiter handled it well. He said time for plan B. Our credit card worked fine everywhere else. He should have apologized for the inconvenience. We consider ourselves regulars but now will have to find a new place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server Tim was amazing!! Thanks for a fun birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food with amazing flavors!! Creative and multidimensional flavors!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

the food, our waiter Casey and the entire staff made it a night to remember

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time at Barking Frog for Brunch. Highly recommend. One of the best I have had on the Eastside and very reasonable for what you get. Perfect for a special occasion or just because.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a good experience! We wanted it to be special for our 3rd wedding anniversary. We enjoyed our time and food here. :) Please do not say no to the dessert menu., that's the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very reliable restaurant. I love their menu, and the service is always friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service and food were fantastic. This was my husbands birthday and the overall experience was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

So good, great good great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We chose Barking Frog for our 44th anniversary dinner. Reservations are recommended. The seating was prompt and the service exceptional. Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. The wine is expensive but with a wide variety and quality, mostly high end. We split a baby kale salad. The flavors were great and the baby kale was not bitter and was softer than mature kale. My venison and her pork entrees were full of flavor and delightful. We chose an 'Italian' coffee for the desert (coffee with Amaretto). The two seat tables along the outer windows are a natural for conversation with your neighbors. This made for an excellent evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was the best vegetarian I ever had

I am normally a carnivore but looked good on the menu. Service was excellent as was the ambience. My wife and we're able to have an intelligent conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had a great experience for our Anniversary. Knowledgeable staff in regards to the menu and the wine. Manager approached the table to check in and treated us to desert. Great selection of menu items that included entrees that you wouldn't ordinarily see in most restaurants.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Brunch was fantastic! Great food and service! I had the huevos rancheros and they were scrumptious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Its Amazing.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with delicious food. It is very romantic and cozy. Enjoy!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Guests in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

One of my favorite lunch spots ever! Their Dungeness Crab and Bacon-wrapped Prawn Cobb Salad is the bomb! The half size is huge! Beef burger with cartelized bacon and bleu cheese is also very good!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The menu offerings had changed significantly since the last time we were there. We were a bit disappointed that the famous shrimp appetizer was no longer on the menu. The scallop dinner entree was excellent and the black cod was good. The excellent service and ambiance has not changed. It was a very enjoyable and memorable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've dined at Barking Frog many times, and I have never been disappointed. If you have a special occasion or just want to feel special, this is the place to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely the best service, ever. Amber was fantastic; knowledge of menu, preparation and wines.

Food preparation and menu selection while limited, is wonderful, with flavors all very complimentary within the dish and elegantly presented in refreshing fashion.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere if you are looking for a very energetic and LOUD atmosphere. Not a good place for trying to talk with someone across the table.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My husband and I have been going to Barking Frog for at least a decade now, and in all that time we have never once been disappointed. It's a little out of the way, but worth the drive.

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My sisters and I met for our annual get-together on Saturday, Jan 7. We were seated promptly and service for coffee, meal selection etc.. Was prompt. However we were not served our meal for almost an hour after seated. We had to check in with our waiter a couple of times regarding our meal and one time was told that it was the hamburger ordered that was taking time and then another time was told it was a large party. When we did receive our food it was lukewarm. I've had breakfast here a couple of times and enjoyed it and will most likely try it another time but was somewhat disappointed this time especially as I had raved about the location and restaurant to my sisters and felt it didn't meet the standards of what I had previously encountered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Too much going on in the plate and consistent use of same ingredient

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic experience, great food, excellent wines/cocktails! Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was very good just not a lot for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there with my daughter, wife and mother-in-law to celebrate the new year. All of us absolutely loved our food and our waiter was extremely attentive without being obtrusive. A very special place to eat some amazing food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Their new year's eve event was outstanding! So relaxed, first rate food, table side visits from chef Bobby! Could not have wished for more to ring in the new year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Only complaint was the odd music. Felt like we were at a lounge in Vegas or New York .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 29, 2016

While the food was fantastic,in my party of four, one person is gluten intolerant. We explained this in detail to waitress & she seemed to have an understanding yet by 1 hour post meal that person in my party was quite ill. I expect a resturant that presents itself as gluten aware, this expensive & this sophisticated food wise to be able to prepare meal as promised. while I gave high ratings for non gluten meal, overall impression was less than sublime.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday and it was a delightful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We always enjoy our dinning experience at the Barking Frog. From the time we book our reservation throughout a wonderful meal with exceptional service it is always a pleasure. Barking Frog is our favorite "Special Occasion" spot for our guests celebrating an anniversary or special birthday. We look forward to our next opportunity to dine at the Barking Frog.

Cheers,

Michael

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My meal (the scallops) was pretty good, but my wife ended up receiving a pappardelle that was exceptionally boring and oddly flavored, most certainly not worth the price. Their menu was pretty limited, and I have to say that we have had much better food at similarly priced restaurants, so it was a bit of a disappointment (this could be due to the hype we had heard about this restaurant from friends). Our waiter was very good (and ended up removing the pappardelle from our bill), and the rest of the staff we interacted with were very friendly and polite. Perhaps it was just an off night, but I cannot say that I will be making the trip back again, when there are other restaurants with better menu options nearby.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.