Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.87mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

About Bari

Bari Ristorante Enoteca is the city's only Southeastern Italian restaurant and wine bar. Creating the regional cuisine of his family, Chef Jason Severs' renditions of antipasto, salads, meats and seafood, over 20 Italian cheeses, plus homemade pasta, bread, and desserts, give diners a true taste of this Italian Region. Whether you order a multi-course meal like they do in Italy, or only one or two dishes, you will love the simplicity and freshness of Bari's food and excellent Italian wines. The Enoteca is open an hour before and after the dining room, offering and extensive all-Italian wine list.

22 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Madison Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 722-2244

Website:
http://www.barimemphis.com/

Catering:
Call us for catering information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant, on the side, or across the street.

Executive Chef:
Jason Severs

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bari Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was lovely but the food was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We've given Bari several tries and always walk away disappointed. The price for the quality and quantity is just not good enough. It's great for wine and cheese but I would stop there if we go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I went here with my girlfriend for our second anniversary last week, and wow. This was one of the greatest restaurants I've been to in a while. The food was absolutely incredible, the waiter was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu, and the atmosphere was absolutely perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Bari never disappoints! Another wonderful evening with friends- great food, attentive knowledgeable service and intimate setting make for a lovely time!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wonderful Cheeses and Meats! Would Highly Recommend a stop prior to the Theater or a Group Happy Hour! Stay for dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Bari never fails to deliver. My wife and I live 90 minutes away and when we come to Memphis for anything, we make it a point to eat at Bari every single time. We've tried restaurants across Memphis from top to bottom and this one delivers an outstanding experience every single time... so we don't bother revisiting the fancy places we've hit before or even trying new ones: Bari never lets us down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a great meal here, and I am comfortable eating here alone. Sea scallops were great as was the cheese selection. Wonderful wait staff too.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent service from Leigh! The food is great. The ambience is quiet and romantic. The wine list is perfect. I recommend the coffee after dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Bari is always a great choice. The food is always excellent, and the owners make a point of using a lot of fresh local ingredients and sticking to healthy ingredients. Unlike most restaurants in Memphis, you know what you are getting here. Healthy oils (olive oil), good quality ingredients, a focus on keeping the food simple and elegant, and consistency. The wine list is excellent, and the cheese menu is easily the best and most extensive in the city. The atmosphere on the weekends is great: it's busy and the bar is hopping, but there is no loud background music thankfully. That's the worst mistake most restaurants make. When you go to Bari, even when it's packed, you will experience a relaxed atmosphere that's rare not only for Memphis but also for the surrounding area (Overton). Thanks as always for creating such a wonderful space in Memphis! Also try the upstairs bar. Really unique, and Vince makes EXCELLENT cocktails. He always has great recommendations, and my friends usually end up branching out and trying something new. Recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

AWESOME in every way! I WILL be back.... WE went to the lounge for cocktails beforehand & AMAZING! The service in the private room INCREDIBLE :) THANK YOU

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Bari is always a favorite with us. We had a wonderful meal with friends. The whole bass was a special treat, if you are there and it is offered as a special GET IT!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I always enjoy Bari. The atmosphere, the food, the drinks...great choice for a night out with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I really enjoy going to Bari. The food is always great and healthier than other restaurants and has the right portion. I love their seafood dishes and antipasto. The prosciutto di Parma is liked being in Italy.
They have a wonderful assortment of Italian cheeses and wine selection.
Most importantly the service is always outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The calamari dish needed to have more calamari and less spelt, less sardines. Plus one of the fish I bit into had bones. It was disgusting.

The steak loin was also terrible. No flavor. Never before have we wanted to put salt on a steak like we did that night. Had the food been excellent, then the value would have been worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Love the cheese selection and the food is really good/fresh.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We eat out frequently and are quite picky about where we eat. Having now dined at Bari well over a dozen times, I can tell you that they are consistently very good. Service is always very friendly and approachable. Try a cheese plate appetizer and let your waiter/waitress pick two to four cheeses for you. They have over a hundred options!

Pastas are fantastic.

The scallops, whole fish, and specials are often very worthwhile.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

disappointed overall, would not go back. Nothing was great, all very average

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and service at Bari is always outstanding, among the very best in Memphis. They serve cheeses and salumi that are nearly impossible to find outside of Italy, and their wine list is likewise very good. Although the decor could use some updating, Bari offers a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Meal was excellent, as usual. Service was a bit off-kilter (I think it may have been a newer server). Didn't affect the overall experience, though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Brandon was a fantastic server, and the host was also very accommodating. The rigatoni was to die for, and affordable.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We are regular diners; however this time most food was prepared with too much salt. All servings particularly the fava beans

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food and service in a lovely environment

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It's been a couple of years since I'd been to Bari, so I was looking forward to visiting again. The food is as good as I remembered it - not incredibly creative, but really well executed and flavors/textures were all how they were supposed to be. Pricing is a little high, but as we'll come to later in the review I imagine this is down to low-volume issues.

Service was fine, but at this price-point I expect the non-tableside service to be better. Our waitress was really nice and knowledgeable, but she also appeared to be the only one working the hostess stand and dining room at 8:30pm on a Thursday - granted we were one of only 3 tables in the restaurant. Never saw a manager or chef, which again is something I would expect, even if it was just in the background walking around.

The ambiance was poor, and I really think Bari needs a remodel/interior design shakeup if it's going to survive. There was music playing, but it was so quiet that we couldn't make out what kind of music it was. Lighting is poor - it's too bright, and spotlights in restaurants is something I expect to find at a casual-dining place, not at a romantic, chef-driven place. The bathrooms weren't 'dirty', but certainly weren't clean.

We dropped just under $200 for 2, and I think Bari has some way to go to make that feel like good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bari is an often overlooked jewel in our better Memphis restaurant scene. Wonderful menu items that are nowhere else in town. Keep those sardines and anchovies coming!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Waiter was great. Suggested cheeses and wine. Recommendations were spot on. Always enjoy dining at Bari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I am never disappointed by Bari!!! It is my favorite restaurant in Memphis. The owners and staff seem to always remember you and make a real effort to honor any requests. Plus the food is always fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. Great service. Nice and quiet😍 Would recommend in a minute.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overall it was a great experience. I would recommend for any special occasion. The service was great and wasn't intrusive. Don't expect to eat pasta just because it's Italian. It's actually more of a seafood place. I had "bronzini" which was great. It had a head and tail but was nicely descaled. My date had fish also which was a filet but i still wouldn't trade my bronzini for that. Manhattan was legit, as a guy I actually appreciated that it didn't come in a martini glass :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food & wine were superb..as good as any we got while traveling in Italy. Could we suggest that you find a way to cover the window in the dining room? It was in our eyes for ⅓ of our dinner until one of the other servers figured out how to cover it with a napkins. Despite that..we heartily recommend Bari..not to be missed on a visit to Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I really enjoyed my dining experience at Bari. The menu has original combinations. The fish dishes were very good quality. The server Rebecca was very informed and able to describe the options in detail. I enjoyed the food and the setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. The huge cheese menu is unique and very good. We will definitely return and recommend this restaurant as a must visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bari is one of my favorite restaurants for ambiance, service and cuisine! Their craft cocktail/wine list is wonderful as is their extraordinary menu of unique cheeses and cured meats. I would highly recommend Bari.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It is our go-to place for special occasions, or pretty much anytime we want a great meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

On a rainy night in Memphis Bari was cozy, warm , and delighted in every aspect. We are at the bar and Hunter suggested the perfect wine and cheese combo. The carbonara was delicious as usual! We will be back!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great authentic cuisine & atmosphere! I will definitely return to try other menu items.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Bari is consistently one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always excellent and the service is great. They were very helpful in accommodating some special needs for our guests: food allergy and hearing problems. Our friends were very impressed with the special treatment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An excellent dinning experience. A different take on traditional Italian food. The server was so knowledgeable and explained in great detail how each dish was prepared. Food was delivered on time and in order. We loved the Muscles in garlic with white wine sauce and pasta carbonara! Excellent wine selection as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.