About Bari

22 South Cooper St.
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Bari Ristorante Enoteca is the city's only Southeastern Italian restaurant and wine bar. Creating the regional cuisine of his family, Chef Jason Severs' renditions of antipasto, salads, meats and seafood, over 20 Italian cheeses, plus homemade pasta, bread, and desserts, give diners a true taste of this Italian Region. Whether you order a multi-course meal like they do in Italy, or only one or two dishes, you will love the simplicity and freshness of Bari's food and excellent Italian wines. The Enoteca is open an hour before and after the dining room, offering and extensive all-Italian wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Madison Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 722-2244

Website:
http://www.barimemphis.com/

Catering:
Call us for catering information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant, on the side, or across the street.

Executive Chef:
Jason Severs

Private Party Facilities:
Contact us for private party information

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Severs: (901) 722-2244

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bari Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary. Will not go back. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food. Cheese selections are unique and all entrees were outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

If you've not been to Bari before or if it's been a while, make a trip! The menu had all our mouths watering and everyone was happy with their selections. The pasta portions were the perfect size...no one was so full that they could not have dessert. My friend said her salmon special was cooked perfectly. Our group ordered several different salads as well and they were all beautifully presented and delicious. Several in the group ordered specialty cocktails and were very pleased with their selections. Though I was not familiar with the Italian red wines offered, our server recommended a reasonably priced bottle that we found to be delicious. It was a wonderful way to spend a birthday celebration with friends!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food & service very good.

Rather small portions. Had fish which was excellent but serving size was probably only 3-4ozs

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot for a special night out. Lovely food, nice atmosphere and great service. Wine and cheese lists were fabulous and a nice treat if you're looking for something a little different in memphis.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a fantastic dinner on an early Valentine's Day. Was perfect after leaving Hattiloo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a fabulous dining experience! I have a hard time deciding what to order because everything is always delicious and this time was no different. The rigatoni and mussels are two of my favorites! One of the best restaurants in Memphis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have driven past this restaurant a thousand times so I decided to give it a shot for my best friends birthday dinner. We spilt an amazing bottle of wine, tried several cheeses and had pasta with crab meat. Yes you read that right CRAB MEAT. It was amazing, and the server was very knowledge and answered all of our questions with ease. Definitely would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I've dined at Bari many many times. The food and service is usually consistently very good. But, my most recent visit was disappointing. Service was slow and sloppy: the food was just ok (the carbonara was bland and the calamari was greasy). I spoke to the manager on our way out, but she seemed disinterested in my constructive comments. What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Bari is wonderful. The service is impeccable and the food is authentic. It is quiet, yet the bar is always fun, happening and lively. Need to go more often!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service are consistently among the best in the area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was really excited about trying Bari, but ended up disappointed and frustrated by the service and overall experience. The food wasn't good enough to give it another try. Maybe we just hit it at an off night though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

As always, a great meal. Artisan cheeses, good drinks, great salads and pastas, and a wonderful marscapone strawberry dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love italian and was disappointed in the limited pasta options offered here. Specifically, there was not a lot here for fans of read sauce or anyone looking to customize their dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great meal! The staff is kind, friendly, and accommodating!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We chose Bari for a birthday celebration because the honoree loves pasta. Food was good, service was excellent, but portion sizes are very small for the price. Would we go back? Maybe not as there are other Italian restaurants that are nicer with better prices.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was outstanding. New Years Eve dinner. loved everything

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server Rebecca is simply awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were so disappointed. The waitperson was unfriendly and curt. The food was mediocre and over priced. We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have visited Bari for over 6 years and have called it our favorite spot forever. Our last visit 12/26 we had terrible service. The young woman was not knowledgeable about the cheeses and gave us the wrong one. She then argued and said we were wrong. Embarrassing since we bragged about Bari to the guests we brought.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

White wine was too old and not good. Beets were not cooked enough--they were raw!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Authetic Puglian cuisine and well-selected Italian wines. Great skill and caring in the kitchen. Nothing better in Memphis at any price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was amazing and Rebecca was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable and attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a delicious meal here recently. The cheese plate was an outstanding appetizer

, and our salads and entrees (all different) were all a hit with our party. Even dessert was especially good, with a birthday candle for the member of our party whose birthday we were celebrating! A great restaurant we always enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have been wanting to try Bari - and my birthday was a perfect occasion. Our waiter Brandon, was excellent. The food was delightful. I would have thought we were in Italy except for a noisy group of work associates at the next table. Maybe they had a bit too much to drink, but they were loud enough for us to hear every word! It affected the mood.

Anyway, we loved Bari!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Bari never disappoints! We love this place. The food and service are superlative.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time to eat at Bari, but we will be back! The service was excellent and the food and drinks were delicious. Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First timers at this Memphis jewel. Service started off good, but waned as the night progressed. Food was exceptional. Will definitely try again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went for date night with my boyfriend, made a reservation just in case but there were a couple of open tables in the dining room when we arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night. The bar area in the front was full. The dining room had a very nice intimate, romantic feel although there were definitely people in there that were not couples/on dates. Pretty much everything is served a la carte so you will be ordering several courses. We started with cheese from their extensive (and somewhat overwhelming) cheese menu, it was delicious and creamy, we spread it on the bread served to our table. I believe it was called cravanzina. I definitely wanted to try more of the cheese but I didn't want to fill myself up, I will make a point to go there for just wine and cheese. Then we ordered pasta, spaghetti carabonara, another good choice. For our main dishes, I got the swordfish special which was served over green beans and my boyfriend got the steak and we ordered a side of potatoes to share. The sides are family style so there was more than enough to share. We were both very pleased with our main dish choices, the swordfish was excellent and when my boyfriend saw the steak, he looked at it the way he looks at me sometimes, it was love at first sight. For dessert, we shared an apple cheesecake that was so delicious. I think it was made with ricotta cheese which made it really thick and flavorful. My boyfriend had the Italian beer that they serve, don't remember the name but it's the only beer that they have and he really liked it. I had a dessert wine that was surprisingly strong but very good. Our server was the best, and very knowledgeable about the menu which was super helpful for us. All in all, it was a fantastic dining experience, great food, awesome service and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Wonderful

Always a great meal

One of Memphis's better restaurants

Brussels Spouts are a must eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

After spending the previous evening on Beale Street my foodie father-in-law and I were looking for something different in Memphis and found Bari. Really nice place, service was great, and they squeezed us in without a reservation even though by the time we left the place was pretty full. Great food, ambiance, service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Bari is consistently a wonderful restaurant. They use the freshest vegetables and meat, and the chef has a really great way with Italian dishes. Their pasta carbonara is so good I just rarely get anything else, but everything else on the menu is great as well! It's one of my favorite restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Authentic Italian food in a quaint setting. Very intimate restaurant with romantic tables available. Great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent cuisine. Great place for conversation. Top notch southern Italian menu with cheese and wine to go along. Outstanding service staff with experience and knowledge. Highest recommendation, but get reservations as it is a small, cozy place.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Hands down the best Italian restaurant Memphis! Fresh food that is simple and prepared well, great staff. This is my favorite place eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Bari has been my go-to in Midtown for years. I have never had a bad meal here. White tablecloths on every table. Great bar. Also, easily the best cheese menu in Memphis. Great wine list. Many of the menu items have been staples for years, but Bari always has specials (on Friday they had a grouper, a halibut, and an organic ribeye, as well as a special dessert and side). The perfect place to get together with friends (bar or restaurant), have a date, special occasion, etc etc. Unreservedly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

What a nice surprise, I haven't been to a restaurant in a long time where I was actually astounded by the amazing menu. The cheese menu particularly. The food was amazing, our server, Bobby, was polite, knowledgeable, and had a good sense of humor, and the ambience was very nice. I'm glad Open Table suggested this as I may not have looked at Bari otherwise. I grew up on the East Coast and really didn't think an Italian restaurant out here could stand up to my standards, but this one did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The very tasty dishes were perfectly prepared and served by a very professional and knowledgeable wait staff. The wine selection is above par.

All dishes are served ala carte which can run up the bill. This makes Bari's a special occasion restaurant and not a place to visit on a regular basis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bari had been one of our favorites. But, the flavor and quality of the food was drastically less than on previous visits. Not sure if the chef was having an off night or if there was a new chef? Will not go back for a while.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. The halibut entree was a rather small portion although the prawns made up for it (heads in all!) I think the next time we diner there, ordering a couple of starters (fried zucchini and goat cheese was amazing), salads, and then 2-3 pasta dishes will be the way to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been dining at Bari for last 6 years and always had exceptional service. Was upset because waitress was not top notch quality as we typically get. It was very slow and she seemed to be in the kitchen quite a bit. Fortunately, we had bartender help us a few times.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love Bari! The carbonara is my favorite! Also a great place to meet for wine and cheese.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another good meal at Bari. Great salads, pastas, olives, and cheeses. Don't miss the cheeses!!! Also a great strawberry dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

If you are looking for great Italian food; this is the spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pasta offerings were not what I expected. There was no risotto. The side of pasta was tough and had little flavor. My halibut was a little "fishy" tasting. The meal was good, but not fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and great food, love the atmosphere. And the food was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Again, fabulous food like nowhere else in Memphis. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We LOVE Bari- always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We made our reservations for a party of 5 through Open Table. We were seated shortly after arriving on a non-busy Monday night. My husband ordered beer and they have only 1 kind so that was easy to decide upon. We were asked if we wanted some Italian meats and cheeses as an appetizer. We said yes and added olives to that order for I believe $7 or $8. One of the meats was prosciutto and the other was very much like a spicy pepperoni - these came out in thin rolls in which you have to cut off how much you desire. The 3 cheeses that came on the plate were minuscule and again, you have to cut your tiny serving from them yourself . This was hard to share among 5 guests at a round table. The server did pass around bread from a basket - it was good though not warm at all and you had to ask for more from the server because the basket stayed with her. After reviewing the menu, I noticed many items had tomatoes included many of the dishes and I am highly allergic to tomatoes so I was looking for something without them. One of the specials that night was amberjack, but it came with tomatoes. I told the server of my desire to have the amberjack, but I asked if something else could be used instead of the tomatoes because of my allergy (my husband reiterated this too). I was told that she could go ask the chef but she highly doubted he would make any adjustments to the dish. So, I chose the scallops instead. They were $24.00 for 3 scallops. They were good but the sauce / glaze on them was a bit too sweet. At the advice of our server, I ordered red potatoes. We ate a nice restaurant 2 nights before and I ordered scallops - dish at that rest. came w/4 large scallops served over risotto & 4 stalks of asparagus for same price. The appetizers were on our bill. After we left, we discussed it - turns out we were charged separately for the 2 meats $15 for one; $14 for the other & $8 for the cheeses. Olives were $8 so that was $45 for that app. Ambiance is very basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always Bari has some great food, the it is definitely a little pricey. Will go again, but not too often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.