Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Barcocina - Baltimore

From the group behind Bond Street Social and executive chef Marc Dixon, Barcocina, Baltimore's newest restaurant and social scene in Fell's Point waterfront. The restaurant features Mexican inspired cuisine with fresh ingredients and original twists meant to share amongst friends. Barcocina's cocktail list emphasize fresh squeezed juices for next level freshness and taste. With amazing outdoor space and uninhibited views of the harbor, Barcocina is a premier place to eat, drink and socialize. The beautiful and fully renovated space features glass and aluminum garage door walls that open to the harbor, so every seat indoor and outdoor will make the beautiful harbor view a part of the Barcocina experience.

1629 Thames St
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday through Thursday 4pm - 10pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 4pm - 11pm
Lunch Monday through Friday 11 AM - 4 PM
Brunch Saturday 10am - 3pm
Brunch Sunday 10am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Thames

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 563-8800

Website:
http://www.barcocina.com/

Entertainment:
DJ

Catering:
We have catering menus available for onsite private events as well as off site events. Allmenus can be found on our website.

Parking Details:
Multiple Private Parking Lots & Garages are just a couple minutes walk away.

Public Transit:
Multiple Bus Stops are walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dixon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a large private room that is capable of handling a large array of special events. Please contact us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Barcocina is the perfect place to host your next event! Whether you are celebrating a birthday, wedding reception, or a corporate event, we have the flexibility to offer an experience that is tailor made to your needs. We have a dedicated event coordinator that will assist you from beginning to end.

Barcocina - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Scenic View (24)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Casual (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (14)
People Watching (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (4)
Romantic (4)
Spicy (4)
Live Sports (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Always a favorite for us. Love everything we try here and the scenery makes for a good time!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great meal and atmosphere. Be prepared to have meals delivered to table as they are prepared from the kitchen. Some people may need to start eating so their food does not get cold while others won't have their food at the table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Busy night and was so loud couldn't hear anyone talk, but this was a pretty uncommon occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Located on the water in Fells Point. Excellent BBQ beef tacos.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was pretty awful. Service was fast, but with crappy food, it didn't really matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very disappointing experience from rude hostess to forgetful server, unavailable vegetarian 'special' to tasteless fish taco.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was absolutely great! However, can't say the same for the service. Our initial waitress was rude as ever and acted as if she didn't want to serve us. Her attitude was horrible.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Brunch was great! The drinks were delicious and the tacos were great! My fav is the Cheeseburger!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always delicious food, beautiful waterfront view, excellent service, fun atmosphere! Will be back again soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was very delicious! I love the view of the harbor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Barcocina has been consistently great with food and service and location -- i am from Ohio and visit Baltimore often since family lives in the area and we always make a point of eating at Barcocina!

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The corn salsa was incredibly bland - almost as if they forgot to add any seasoning, but the tacos (we had mushroom, spicy pork, Jamaican Jerk fish, and BBQ beef) were all delicious. The noise level was rather intense! Unless sitting outside, it can be a tough place to hold a conversation without yelling across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Worse service. Waitress barely stopped by table to check in. Asked a food runner for a napkin--couldn't help me. Don't think that this place was staffed properly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It's really loud inside. The food is OK, but not for the price. It's not great Mexican, it's Mexican with a twist that is essentially hit or miss.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was beautifully presented but mostly tasteless. We were surprised by how little flavor our tacos and the guacamole had. The salad was better but the $11 up charge for shrimp is eye-popping.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious! The service was lackluster.. our waitress made very infrequent trips to our table to check on our party, refill etc.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Just loved Barcocina and def worth the drive to Fells Point (if you live outside the city as we do). Very lively and the variety of tacos was awesome. Great margaritas too! Will def return!

Tags: Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fantastic service. Tried several appetizers, all very good but all salty. Signature guacamole was a great twist on the old stand by. Crab gnocchi​ was very good too. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We enjoyed our outside dining on a beautiful night and our meal. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had brunch with three friends. Food was pretty good service was kind of slow but tolerable. Restaurant has out door dining on the water, nice atmosphere. Bar was very lively and noisy. All and all the place has a younger vibe to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was disappointing when we celebrated a friend's birthday here last Saturday. The waitress kept disappearing for long periods and when she did appear at our table, she took just a few of our orders before disappearing again. Worst of all, we had a lot of leftovers since we were sharing multiple plates and when we accidentally left our boxed-up leftovers there, we returned 20 minutes later to find that they had already been thrown away. I've never been to a restaurant that didn't keep something you left there for the rest of the night in case you came back for it. We essentially spend a ton of money for dinner that we didn't even get to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Drink service was beyond slow and was blamed on the bar being backed up due to Bachelorette parties. Meal came prepared incorrectly - salad with dressing vs on the side and we felt rushed through the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to Saturday brunch and made a reservation ahead of time for our party of 12. We ended up running a bit late because we just got to Baltimore and had to check in our hotel etc and when I called the staff couldn't have been more friendly and understanding. When we got there our table for 12 was all set up and waiting for us and the food and drinks were so amazing! The restaurant was very busy but the servers/bartenders/kitchen do a really good job at handling the brunch crowd. I wouldn't recommend it for a quiet brunch just because it was a little loud in there but it was perfect for our bachelorette party group. Definitely will return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Couldn't judge typical dishes because we were there for a brunch, which has a limited menu...noise level (music & patrons) was a bit much...couldn't hear people at my table!
Service was very good.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The open air space was fantastic! Quiet Sunday dinner, perfect time to catch up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Even with a full house and my party running behind for our reservation, we were seated in no time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Britt was wonderful! It was our first time there, we came for brunch. We asked Britt what she suggested and she was on the money. My food tasted like heaven. Britt made sure our mimosas were always full. We even had to the pleasure to sit behind her parents and we told them how wonderful their daughter was. Will be coming back very soon! Definitely asking for Britt too! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Birthday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had brunch. Food was great. Nice space - beautiful view and tables not crammed. Service friendly but slow to clear plates.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food and great service with great view of the water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I wish I could write a better review but I was extremely disappointed with Barcocina. We went at 2pm on a Saturday and they were extremely understaffed. It took 45 minutes for our order to be taken and in that time everyone had finished our initial water classes and proceeded to sit and wait. Once we did order the food, drinks took another 20 minutes to come out. Several diners at our table ordered bottomless drinks for brunch but unfortunately due to the poor service they only received one extra drink before the bottomless time expired. Ten minutes after ordering one diner's food came out at our table, and 30 minutes after that did the rest of us receive our lukewarm food. Because the restaurant was "small plates" concept it was perplexing as to how it could possibly take 40 minutes to prepare a few omlets, that all came out no longer hot. The food overall was tasty but because of how long we sat and waited everyone at our table had to go outside to their car to reup their parking - not anticipating being at lunch for well over two hours. Three hours after our arrival we left, with all of us agreeing we would never return. Our server was nice but clearly overwhelmed and therefore she could not do her job properly. The icing on the cake for this restaurant was the bathroom situation. We were seated very close to the 10 individual stall bathrooms, only 3 of which were open for use. The seven that were not being used did not have signs on them, the doors just were locked and never opened. So in addition to waiting for your waiter to take your order, for your food to come, you also had to wait in like for the bathroom for a minimum of ten minutes, prompting all of us to leave and find another restroom elsewhere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

If you can sit outside, do it! Worth the waut

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was great and ambiance cool. Seating in the bar was a bit loud so difficult to talk. Service was very slow and seemed surprising since restaurant wasn't that busy. May just have been our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was great, didn't have to wait at all with our reservation. Waitress was very good, even helped me get a cocktail that wasn't on the menu. Food is superb, best bean dip I have had in a long time. Tacos are all good, great portion size for one, or even to share.

Only down fall was noise, but that is very typical of all restaurants in Fells.

Must try if you are interested, if not interested try it anyway!

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a great meal with family from out of town. Food was very tasty. Excellent setting on the water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food and service. Just sucked that I did make reservations and mentioned it was my wedding anniversary and would have liked to sit outside not in the inside corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch. Had a perfect view. Service was great. Everyone was friendly.
Food and drinks were very good. My mom has a gluten allergy and our Server was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food and the ambiance was great. The food is a good variation on Mexican, with delicious appetizers and even more delicious entrees. The drinks are good as well. The only issue we faced was that we were a party of 10 and our server seemed overwhelmed with caring for us. She did well, but she didn't have much help. After a while, she forgot us and we were left without water to drink and no refills on our other drinks. Then she just came around to clean up. Still, not necessarily her fault since she was busy and we were a big party. Finally, as the evening went by, it started getting louder and louder, and water from the rainstorm outside started coming into our table area. We all left with wet shoes, and the ladies left with wet purses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Noise level was extreme. If you are looking for a nice dining experience, you won't find it here. If you are looking for a fun place with lots of noise this is your place. Young at heart crowds.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Met a potential business partner there for lunch. Had a great seat next to the window, and all the windows were open allowing the breeze from the water to flow in. We received prompt and courteous service and the food was outstanding. I had the fish tacos and my guest had the chicken tacos. Flavorful, fresh and hot food. Great experience. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.