About Barcocina - Baltimore

1629 Thames St
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

From the group behind Bond Street Social and executive chef Marc Dixon, Barcocina, Baltimore's newest restaurant and social scene in Fell's Point waterfront. The restaurant features Mexican inspired cuisine with fresh ingredients and original twists meant to share amongst friends. Barcocina's cocktail list emphasize fresh squeezed juices for next level freshness and taste. With amazing outdoor space and uninhibited views of the harbor, Barcocina is a premier place to eat, drink and socialize. The beautiful and fully renovated space features glass and aluminum garage door walls that open to the harbor, so every seat indoor and outdoor will make the beautiful harbor view a part of the Barcocina experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday through Thursday 4pm - 10pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 4pm - 11pm
Lunch Monday through Friday 11 AM - 4 PM
Brunch Saturday 10am - 3pm
Brunch Sunday 10am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Thames

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 563-8800

Website:
http://www.barcocina.com/

Entertainment:
DJ

Catering:
We have catering menus available for onsite private events as well as off site events. Allmenus can be found on our website.

Parking Details:
Multiple Private Parking Lots & Garages are just a couple minutes walk away.

Public Transit:
Multiple Bus Stops are walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dixon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a large private room that is capable of handling a large array of special events. Please contact us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Barcocina is the perfect place to host your next event! Whether you are celebrating a birthday, wedding reception, or a corporate event, we have the flexibility to offer an experience that is tailor made to your needs. We have a dedicated event coordinator that will assist you from beginning to end.

Barcocina - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (16)
Scenic View (12)
Fun (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great Beer (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Unbelievable view of Baltimore's inner harbor and a lively restaurant. Fantastic selection of fine and rare tequilas and a unique selection of culinary options including salsas and quesos. My only recommendation would be a salsa with an increase in scoville units.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The food that we ordered was good however they were out of a lot of items we had ordered first at least five items that were on the menu they were out of including guacamole. Four types of tacos fried oysters and Mexican lasagna. What type of Mexican restaurant runs out of guacamole bad management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to eat with friends. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing guacamole appetizer! Service was good and the food was as well. Little loud but we did go on a Friday night. Lot of people enjoying themselves with good drinks. Been there before when it was quieter. It's our spot in Fells Point!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my second visit to this restaurant and both visits was a great experience. There was no wait and we were seated immediately both times. The food was delivered in a timely fashion with the exception of one dish and the manager gave us a sincere apology and took off the cost without a debate. The food was delicious and the drinks were tasty as well. There wasn't much of a wine selection which was one of the only setbacks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a great experience. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and understanding. Food was presented beautifully and I loved the ambiance. Will be sure to check it out when the weather gets warmer :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing tacos and guac, good drinks and reasonable prices

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We dined early on a rainy night in January, so the place was empty. I assume it gets really busy on summer weekends because it is located right on the water. The drinks were great and the food as well. We shared everything -- appetizers and tacos. The mushroom taco was particularly amazing. Overall, highly recommended! I will go back the next time I am looking for a nice casual meal, or even just drinks and appetizers, in Fells Point.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very creative taco menu. My husband had the Korean shirt rib and I had the lobster. Very filling. Cocktails had some kick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the staff was terrific!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Wine, food and service were amazing. I couldn't even believe how affordable this place was since it was all that good. Definitely going back asap.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Spicy, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food. Love the staff. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service and good are awesome. Our server was amazing, she recommended apps and delivered. The restaurant was very cool and happening, I would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lively scene, good value, want to go back in the summer when you can sit outside, great views

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very unique twist on tacos! And extremely yummy guacamole choices! Also great for large groups!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful menu especially the Sunday brunch. Great location on the water in historic Fells Point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was great, as usual, but the service was a bit slow. We ordered bottomless drinks and had to ask multiple times for them to be refilled and it seemed like our server forgot about us even though it wasn't crowded at all when we got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Fantastic and creative food! Ordered one dish with no cilantro and had to send it back when it came sprinkled with cilantro, but would definitely return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The mimosas were great but the brunch was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place to hang out in BALTMORE !!!! Love the waterfront view 👌👌👌😀

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We came with a group to celebrate a birthday, and while it was very loud (we were right next to the bar area), the food and ambiance were great. We could tell our server was too busy for us, it looked like she also had a full section outside. She didn't offer a second round of drinks, and service was very slow. I don't blame her for this, but think the restaurant must not have scheduled a full serving staff (on Saturday night during Fleet Week... obviously it was going to be busy...) Overall, we had a nice time, but I felt the restaurant was not prepared for how busy it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great location, our server was exellent and food was good. Bottomless mimosas were a win. We all had a good time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wow! This place has come a long way since the previous unsuccessful restaurants at this location.

We tried the new fall menu and it was awesome. The eggplant parmesan tacos are one-of-a-kind off the charts. We also loved the Fundido dip, although I'm not a big fan of the authentic think, crunchy Mexican chips which are more like baguettes. Crab gnocchi is also very good.

Ambience is lively, friendly, and the location is tops. Anyplace that features Clase Azul tequila like Barcocina always gets my vote.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Ours was a group of four dining at Barcocina on a Monday night in October. Indoor and outdoor dining was available. The waterfront view is lovely, but it was a bit too chilly for us to dine outside.

Our server was outstanding, and she seated us at a table with a beautiful view of the water. The food was authentic Mexican, and everyone enjoyed their selections. We started with the Barcocina Guacamole, and it was the best I’ve ever had. Then we all ordered various taco combinations (three to an order), and they were really yummy. The only disappointment was being told a number of items on the menu were unavailable. We also ordered wine. The wine menu is reasonably priced, and there’s a descent selection from which to choose. For cocktail lovers, the selection can’t be beat!

Thank you, Barcocina; we will return.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Sat outside for a friend's bachelorette. We decided to go family style in spite of a uniquely complex mix of preferences and dietary restrictions. The bride to be and I both fall squarely in the 'eat all the things' category and everything we ordered was delicious: especially the brussel sprouts, mango salad, shrimp quesadillas and lamb ribs. So good, a little noisy inside, but great ambience at the outdoor tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite spot for date night! Tapas style menu makes it super quick and easy to order a handful of fun plates to share. Located right on the water, the views are spectacular. Service is A+ even on a very busy night. Best spot in Fell Point hands down.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I love this place. Great location right on the water. Lots of tasty types of guac...

Parking is tough now that the hotel is being built right next door.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great spot but beware the noise level on a Saturday night is crazy! Hard to talk to group of friends because of this but still enjoyed our time here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is our go-to place whenever we have friends in town or just when we need a dinner out in our neighborhood. We didn't expect the band on the Saturday of Fells Pt Festival, which made it extremely loud inside (garage doors closed due to the rain) and made it hard to catch up over dinner without shouting with our friends who we don't see often. Nonetheless, our service, food & drinks were great! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Large bar with multiple TV's. Great waterviews. Some drinks unique and tasty. Food ok and low priced. Had great table near pier. Homeless person entered and solicited us. Otherwise reasonable spot for drinks and grub.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. The ambiance was great--the doors were open and there was a nice breeze coming off of the harbor, which made for a very pleasant dining experience. However, our server was terrible--and I'm a former server so I am usually very understanding. He rarely checked in on us. He forgot to put in some of our appetizers. And there are a few times when we had to try to find him to order something or pay the bill. I will go back to dine here, but I certainly hope the service is better next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Generally great. Love sitting by the water.

Service is quick and attentive in the beginning, but it always slows to a crawl. This doesn't work well with a toddler- we need to check and boxes quickly when it's time to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very accommodating with a last minute reservation change. The location was beautiful and our server, Andrew, was very professional and attentive, even though he was very busy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great view, great food, great service would definitely return to this establishment.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Came to brunch here while my family was visiting from out of town on Labor Day, as always the scenic views and open layout were stunning, and the food was very good. Service was a little slow that day, but nothing egregious. I recommend this place to anyone visiting Baltimore for the first time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesome! Service was amazing and so helpful when I had questions re: allergic condition!

Fun and food fresh and delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was decent, mimosas had ice in it, thus watered down. Service was slow due to busy period. Slow to refill bottomless mimosa. Ambiance was nice, albeit some belligerent patrons in attendance in the bar area, view of the water was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Highly recommended location if you're looking for brunch or a quick bite to eat. Outdoor seating offers great views of the harbor at Fells Point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Extremely loud! Couldn't hear server or each other, TVs were going and very energetic crowd. Would sit outside next time, probably would be better. Food was very good, tried different tacos and guac, everyone loved them. Lost server for a while when we wanted refills... Nice location on the water.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

tacos varied and flavorful (our group had lemon fish, steak, lamb, turkey chorizo); Brussels sprouts well prepared. Noisy room but still able to carry on a conversation across the table. Great water views and great location for an after dinner stroll.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The highly touted Barcocina Guacamole did not taste very fresh, and was clearly worked too hard by a food processor. You should be able to recognize that an avocado has recently been cut open in a nearby kitchen when you eat guac - this had been machined into a homogeneous green paste with no character of the avocado left to be enjoyed.

In addition, we had the Ancho Fried Chicken, which was nicely cooked (i.e. not over cooked), but was blandly seasoned, and had the annoying problem of the breading separating from the chicken where ever touched by fork or knife. The 'rice grits and legume salsa' was by far the highlight of the meal - delicious!!! Twenty bucks for mediocre chicken with delicious rice doesn't seem to be worth repeating though.

Finally, the restaurant was out of the one beer I selected, so I passed - yet that beer still showed up on the bill. To our waitress's credit, she caught this mistake between presenting the check and picking up my credit card.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great place to share soft tacos and beer. Our group was easily accommodated by the window view to the harbor and in an area away from the noise of the bar. We still had a view of sports on TV and could hear each other. Great value for waterfront dining and an easy walk to Insomnia for cookie dessert after. Obviously a fun spot for singles, but families can co-exist because the front greeters care. Wait staff and bartenders insure you have a good time and help you to navigate the best food and drinks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went with a few friends for a Sunday brunch, and overall had a good experience. We ate inside due to a sweltering heat wave, but the view was still fantastic and the inside is very modern. The mimosas were a bit on the weak side. The menu had a lot of great choices, and it was explained to us that most of the brunch meals were meant less for sharing than a typical Barcocina entre. Most of my friends enjoyed their food, in particular the chips and salsa trio was amazing. I got the benedict, and while it was maybe a bit bland for my taste it was still enjoyable overall. Service was good and I would definitely go again, but the food was just a little less than I was expecting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the guacamole, crab and tomato, just the start of a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and cocktails were wonderful, and the outdoor seating is the best in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was great! Friendly staff. Great job. Food was fair. Hash brown tacos too greasy. Pancake sliders underdone and sauce not very complimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great night out for dinner and drinks. Will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came as a group of 9 for a special 10 year wedding anniversary celebration. Excellent food as always!! Service could have been better. Bottomless mimosas turned into only 3 because our waitress was no where to be found majority of the time. I come here often and this could make me rethink that. Very disappointed in that. Also we had a few in the party that were waiting for her to come back to the table so they could pay because their parking was about to run out and that was a scare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lots of space especially for Fells Point. Good for groups. A little loud unless you're dining outside which is great on a summer night. You get the breeze from the harbor. Food is good. Fresh with clean flavors. I had some picky eaters with me and everyone was able to find something that looked enticing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Barcocina was great. Good was awesome - an eclectic Mexican flair with unique options and full of flavor. Our waitress was top notch. Cocktails very refreshing and delicious. The only thing that would have been better is the price. Drinks were outrageous! If it were less expensive I would be a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.