Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Barcocina - Baltimore

From the group behind Bond Street Social and executive chef Marc Dixon, Barcocina, Baltimore's newest restaurant and social scene in Fell's Point waterfront. The restaurant features Mexican inspired cuisine with fresh ingredients and original twists meant to share amongst friends. Barcocina's cocktail list emphasize fresh squeezed juices for next level freshness and taste. With amazing outdoor space and uninhibited views of the harbor, Barcocina is a premier place to eat, drink and socialize. The beautiful and fully renovated space features glass and aluminum garage door walls that open to the harbor, so every seat indoor and outdoor will make the beautiful harbor view a part of the Barcocina experience.

1629 Thames St
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday through Thursday 4pm - 10pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 4pm - 11pm
Lunch Monday through Friday 11 AM - 4 PM
Brunch Saturday 10am - 3pm
Brunch Sunday 10am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Broadway & Thames

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 563-8800

Website:
http://www.barcocina.com/

Entertainment:
DJ

Catering:
We have catering menus available for onsite private events as well as off site events. Allmenus can be found on our website.

Parking Details:
Multiple Private Parking Lots & Garages are just a couple minutes walk away.

Public Transit:
Multiple Bus Stops are walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dixon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a large private room that is capable of handling a large array of special events. Please contact us for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Barcocina is the perfect place to host your next event! Whether you are celebrating a birthday, wedding reception, or a corporate event, we have the flexibility to offer an experience that is tailor made to your needs. We have a dedicated event coordinator that will assist you from beginning to end.

Barcocina - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (36)
Scenic View (24)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Bar Seating (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Casual (17)
Fun (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
People Watching (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Tapas (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great Beer (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Sports (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Dancing (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

The salmon tacos were over cooked and dry. The steak dinner was a plate of corn and potatoes and 3 tiny pieces of steak. The food came out within 10 minutes. Everything seemed extremely rushed. Overall, not a good experience. This joint is an attempt at trendy Mexican cuisine but needs to be fine tuned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great graduation celebration! We had a busy table (10 people) but our waitress kept up and did a great job. Everyone loved their guar/tacos/etc.!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We chose this restaurant based on its menu online. When we sat down, we were told the menu had changed. I was extremely disappointed and annoyed. The old menu should have been removed from the online website. Also, we sat outside and there was a homeless man bothering us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a really great time here with excellent service! Really great brunch!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Loud she took forever for drinks. Main course came out at different times. Very loud

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Really delicious food. We loved everything we got but the lamb ribs and Cuban plantain meal was particularly awesome. Get the barcocina fundito as well! The only complaint I had was how noisy it was. But we are outdoors to get some more quiet. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

great for the celebration we wanted to have together--unfortunately the food was slightly cold when it got to us

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience and food! Love sitting outside and have great gluten free options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The staff was great from the moment we arrived. The food came quickly and the service was fabulous !!! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great service & lunch deal! Darrien was our waiter & very efficient. Definitely will be a new regular.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Really cool to sit outside. The jerk fish taco was super spiced and the fish was overdone which was disappointing. The pulled pork taco was delish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu sounds great but the food just doesn't deliver. Lucky the setting is great because the food was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was an excellent location for Mothers Day Brunch! The waterfront, the margaritas, the food my mother really enjoined herself and looks forward to the next event.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time. Sat outside on the side and the staff were attentive! Our waitress was wonderful and stopped back many times. Wonderful Mother's Day brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This place has gone kind of downhill. The margarita en Fuego used to be the best margarita in town but this time it was bad - clavel does it much better. I had the brunch chicken enchiladas verdes and the eggs were over cooked and the plate looked a mess - it used to be so pretty and delicious! Service was also slow and quite average. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

For the most part, we had a great experience! We had to wait for some food items, but our server was as attentive as she could be with a packed house. Noise level was fairly high so it was hard to chat across the table, but overall the ambience was high energy which was great for a Bachelorette party. Food was great, drinks were awesome, and the server was flexible and friendly with requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really loved the food and the quick service! It was very well organized.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food, great time and great mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Busy night but got right in with reservations. Food & service was great! Ate outside with a wonderful view of the water! Definitely will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food is good, imaginative menu, daily brunch is a great idea. They did not honor the reservation, we had to wait. Service friendly but slow.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food and service. Lovely location. Overall too loud for normal conversation - even at tables far from the bar.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The place was very energetic and busy. The food was great and the service was fast. I ordered the Steak and eggs and an order of guacamole. It was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a nice Sunday brunch here - it was a beautiful day so we ate right on the water. Our server was very nice, but was a little slow. Would definitely come back for brunch or happy hour on a nice day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I went for Brunch with 3 friends. It was a nice ambiance, and the server was friendly. However, my food (the lemon poppy waffle) was bland and not even remotely filling. I would have ordered another dish, but I didn't think it would be worth the extra money. My friends also said their food was bland. The location is nice, but I wouldn't return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was amazing! I have been to Barcocina several times, but this was the first time I decided to try something new and I was not disappointed. We were seated right away as soon as my party arrived. We were a party of six and for how busy it was, our food and drinks came out relatively quickly. The only three star rating I provided was the service due to our server who did not seem very personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch, great options on menu. Bartenders were efficient and made some awesome drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Bar Seating, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We decided to try a new restaurant. As this was our anniversary, we wanted something that we could sit outside and with a view of the harbor. We had read that the service was sketchy, but that was totally wrong as we had excellent service thoughout the evening. Food was very good, a touch pricey (especially the alcohol) but gotta pay for the view. We're definitely going back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I am from D.C. And usually do brunches every weekend here in D.C. My boyfriend, friends and I decided to come to Baltimore for the day. Our plan was to do brunch, enjoy the harbor and possibly a happy hour.
Barcocina seemed nice from a video review that I viewed. The atmosphere felt nice. The scenic view was great. But that's where it stops for me. The food was sub par and the mimosas were WHACK! In addition, our server gave us a feeling as though we bothersome to her. Overall I would not recommend for brunch. I will either find another place next time in Baltimore or just stick with the amazing brunch spots here in D.C.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had brunch with some friends. Delicious food, excellent service and a great view. Would recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall it was a good experience but room to improve. Drinks were a disappointment. We've had better Margaritas. Some side items were not well seasoned. Prices high for the quality of the food.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Having eaten lunch at Barcocina several times, I did not hesitate to book an evening reservation for a birthday dinner for our daughter. Food was excellent and very creative. Wait service was excellent also and a nice waterfront view of the Baltimore harbor. However at 7:15 on a cool Saturday evening, the noise level inside the restaurant was overwhelming. Music was loud and still difficult to hear over the bar noise. We would have been better seated outside, but the evening was quite cool and may be been uncomfortable for an extended meal. So on a cold Saturday evening, make sure you have a reservation and bring your ear plugs if you want a more quiet atmosphere. Or enjoy Barcocina at lunch time when the noise level is lower.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Worst experience at a restaurant in a very long time. We waited over 20 minutes for every drink order and an hour for our food. I'll never go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We love Barcocina! Tapas style, delicious eats, $13 bottomless mimosas and Bloodys for brunch. This visit, our server was wonderful but had so many tables I think she could have used some help! The view and atmosphere here is one of my favorite in Baltimore. Highly recommended for a friends get together, date, or just a lovely day to enjoy the setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Bottomless mimosas! Very good food!

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Was excited to try Barcocina with friends visiting from out of town- decided to take them and make a dinner reservation. Was disappointed when the hostess tried to seat us at the very back near the bathrooms when the rest of the place was empty. After asking they were able to seat us outside very quickly. The food was great, our water had floaties but wasn't lemon or lime! Overall would go back for the outdoor seating but not for a while

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very tasty, the queso with black beans was scrumptious. The maple sausage pancake sliders for brunch was breathtaking. Every bite was from heaven.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So loud you can't hear the person right next to you. I have an awful headache from an hour in there. The layout super congested, can't walk without bumping into someone or a table. Food was very sub par compared to the prices. I mean 13$ for 3 small tacos consisting of a lil meat and some kimchi. Sat us by a door so every few seconds gust if freezing air. Will not waste my families time or money again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was amazing, I will be coming back and would recommend others to do so too.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

An excellent dining experience. My friend was impressed by the beautiful view of the water. I was most impressed by the extremely attentive server, who was very helpful in providing guidance when we went to order, as our party consisted of two vegetarians and a vegan. The food was excellent, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We enjoyed the food, cocktails, and good service but found Barcocina to be a bit loud for us. We would probably go again though! 😃

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.