Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Avenue

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm
Bar stays open later.

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Casual (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Ave in Clayton for lunch is very popular. They were so very busy on our visit.
Would recommend their burger over the brisket. Burger was very tasty and brisket was very average. Salads were fine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mothers Day brunch spot! My mom loved it, I loved it, and my 23 year old daughter loved it. Nice to find a spot that pleases 3 generations. Food was yummy and dining outside made for a perfect brunch. Thanks Avenue--and especially our waiter Misty for being so sweet and helpful.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was average. Dessert took over 30 min, location was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Server, James, was absolutely terrible. Had to repeat orders, slow, got orders wrong. Example: James picked up an empty glass to refill, at that moment I reminded him he had served the Cheese plate with no bread or other accompaniment. He returned the empty glass to the table when he went to get the bread...slow, incompetent & made us in comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Enjoyed a nice lunch recently with my colleagues at Avenue. The menu provided a nice variety and the portions were a good size for the money. It was great to finally find a place in Clayton where we can have a "working" lunch that did not break the bank! (Service was a +!)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great dinner!! I had the soft shell crab appetizer which was one of the best that I've had and I'm from Maryland. I had the duck breast entree which was light and flavorful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food delicious, and service was extremely good! Very friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. I love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food, not great. It's easy to get into and the ambiance is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lunch was pleasant and we got our business done. Food was OK, not great. Service was a little confused....one person took our order, another brought it. I had the chopped chicken salad, which was kind of gross, actually. I like garbanzo beans and chicken, but chicken was cold and wet and just not too appealing. I almost sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A favorite restaurant in Clayton. I really enjoy the breakfasts.

John is the best server around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was important that we went somewhere that takes reservations. We had been to Avenue for brunch once before and really enjoyed it although we thought the coffee was a little thin and cool on both occasions. The menu f r brunch seemed to shrink between our visits which were six weeks apart. And, they were out of several cheeses so they had to come back to have me order a different cheese for my omelette three times. My guests ordered the biscuits with their omelettes. They each received two biscuits. I ordered the six grain toast and got one tiny piece of toast. It was noticeably strange, but at that point I didn't want to say anything--I was happy to have an omelette with cheese. Our server was the same for both visits and she was darling.

I think the food was better at our first visit but it was certainly adequate at tisi one.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was our first time there. We would like to try it again. I have some eating issues, and there were not lots of choices for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Avenue never wastes my time, always aims to please, adjusts to my food allergies and restrictions, and has specials that are becoming favorites. The staff are eclectic and energetic, while being very concerned with each guest's satisfaction.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, wonderful food. We were short on time for Easter Brunch, but they were able to serve us quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The ambience, exceptional service and delicious food makes this restaurant a stand out. Bryan Carr is a creative chef and a really nice guy. He comes out of the kitchen and sincerely thanks you for dining there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was on point! The service was very substandard. Not the typical experience at Avenue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been to Avenue many times and the food and service are consistently of high quality, this evening was no exception. This particular evening we had a speaker from out of town and wanted a good place for a late dinner. Avenue was perfect for the occasion. Our guest was from Boston and really admired the decor, and the feel of the restaurant, and the food. This restaurant is on par with excellent places from the East Coast.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Too loud to hear each other talk.portion sizes for lunch on the small side.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always delicious! Weekend brunch specials are fabulous, especially the quiche and when they do a breakfast burrito.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I selected Avenue because I loved Atlas and hoped this would be as good for my guests. Each of us enjoyed our meal and starters and desserts. We all agreed that we will go back. Our waiter had been at Atlas and was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

EAT THERTE ALL THE TIME ON SUNDAYS ! ASK FOR PAUL GREAT SERVER !

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch and found the selection to be carried - something for everyone and the food preparation was terrific.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We decided to try Avenue based on the positive reviews. Made a reservation to ensure good seating. When we arrived, the host ushered us to the table next to the kitchen when they were other tables available so naturally, I asked to be moved. We waited 20 min before anyone acknowledged our presence and got served by the waiting staff. The food is ok, nothing spectacular especially for the prices. My biggest disappointment was the slow service. It took over 2 hours to have a an appetizer (smoke salmon doesn't get cooked on the spot to my knowledge) and one main course. I mentioned that politely to the waitress and she brushed it off as if it was supposed to be the norm. Wished I can say something was special about this place, but it really doesn't compare to the quality of food and even atmosphere to the other adjacent fine dining establishments.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good sevice and food. Would like lower noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was beautiful day for sidewalk seating. Everything was very good!

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding experience. Server completely worked hard to keep us on time for our theater event. Both entrees were fantastic (1 halibut, 1 steak). Definitely will go again.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Oue quiet private brunch spot has been discovered. We've always had good experiences there before but I think today they just got overrun. But, the staff did very well in spite of it all. We'll be back soon anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place to dine both romantic and also great options, especially amazing sauces.

Tags: Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent service with good recommendations from the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had breakfast on a Sunday. Pancakes and French toast were excellent. Eggs dishes were good. Service was slow even though the restaurant was not very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food. Dominic provided amazing service. Had the trout and flounder. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again Avenue is amazing -- yes, I eat here often -- I may eat there more often than 90% of their customers. But I have to speak up about the Flounder special Bryan Carr had on the menu. Divine!!! Simpl. y Divine!!! Couldn't have been any better. Both my mom and I enjoyed immensely. Wonderful service from Dom (as usual) and I got to see Mark (another fabulous server) as well.
Tried a new Pinot Nior as well which was really a nice find -- Rex Hill -- check it out. They do change out their wines which is nice. Really enjoyed this one.
If they are ever offering Cinnamon ice cream (which they were on Saturday) be sure to try it!!! Delish -- my favorite. They make their ice cream in house and the flavors vary

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great. Amazing oysters. The steak with peppercorn sauce was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

No Valet, needed more characters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was having a lunch meeting with 6 other associates, they sat us in the front of the restaurant, we asked for a table in the back by the fireplace but they said we already have you set up here... the waitress wasn't friendly, just did her job and she brought the bill out without even asking if we wanted dessert or anything else. The food was tasty but small portion for the price. Needles to say I didn't feel welcome. There are so many good restaurants in Clayton that I doubt I will ever go back there.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day prix fix was delicious! I enjoyed the parsnip soup, fish and rum cobbler. My husband had the very rich linguini with lobster and shrimp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had the duck confit and it was amazing. I took a chance as I have had it elsewhere and it was dry. This was moist but crispy on the outside in a beautiful fig reduction. Perfection! The apples for Olivia dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever eaten. I would return just to order this dessert. Our server was very attentive. A great experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to Atlas and Pomme before. This place has some old favorites plus some new flavors. Wish we had all three choices, but StL doesn't seem able to support a thriving restaurant scene.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just don't sit by the kitchen. Very drafty and smells like cigarette smoke.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere, good location. But what happened to all the people in Clayton, was totally dead after dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.