Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Avenue

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm
Bar stays open later.

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had gone to the restaurant for a relaxing dinner but very disappointed with the selection on the menu and service. Had expected more. They did not have any vegetarian choices on the menu and did not want to do anything off the menu either. We ended up having some appetizers and went somewhere else for dinner. Service was also slow.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always good. I had the duck breast for a change from the trout and it was cooked to perfection and great. The wine was wonderful as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great restaurant- daily fish specials are outstanding

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a leisurely Sunday breakfast outside. The breakfast menu is small, but contains elevated versions of typical breakfast items. The pancakes and the biscuits & gravy were outstanding. The quiche and the potatoes that came with it were very good. The omelets and scrambles we saw delivered to other tables looked good. The servers were friendly and hospitable; they kept our water and coffee filled, and were quick to bring us whatever we asked for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the area. I have enjoyed several dinners here as well as breakfast. I have never been disappointed with the food or the service. Pleasant casual atmosphere with well prepared food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were there for a Saturday lunch and we're very disappointed with the menu which was brunch. Nothing interesting, and the items we chose were blah at best. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Caesar salad was tasteless. The gnocchi was better but extremely small, not even as an appetizer. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food is fresh, creative and delicious. The service is always outstanding and the waitstaff is on top of things w/o being annoying. We love the food Chef Bryan serves.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with friends sitting outside. Service was great. The Lobster Tail with Shrimp Risotto was outstanding! A little expensive, but such a treat. The coffee was excellent as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great service and yummy dinner!
Server gave us great choices to try!
The deserts were also quite tasty.
We will definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I love Avenue's brunch menu, which always has delicious seasonal options (we had Peach French Toast) as well as perfectly-executed classics, and top-notch service, too!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I love avenue. I always come here! I made a reservation since I was having a group of friends. There were 7 of us total and while service was friendly it took entirely too long. Other times I've been this hasn't been the case though so I will still come here! Busicits and gravy are to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Its a shame I cannot give this restaurant a better review because I actually really enjoyed my meal. However, our waiter was one of the most unfriendly, unwelcoming servers I can recall ever having, which set the tone for a very uncomfortable and awkward evening. He seemed rather put out to have to be there at all, much less wait on us, and if it had not already been close to 8pm, I would have gathered my family up and walked out. Unfortunately, I will not be returning for this reason alone. It might explain why on a Saturday night, when most restaurants were close to full on Open Table, this one had a ton of availability? It also took over 15 minutes for him to even approach our table, and took over 20 minutes to get my drink, and the restaurant was basically empty? I was also told when asked about the specials, to read the card myself that was laying on the table. They had a fish special, which he should have described to our table like most restaurants would do, but I had to ask him, which seemed to bother him even more?! Too many good restaurants in town to be spending my Saturday night out with bad service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a delightful brunch at an outdoor table. We chose the perfect weekend to be there and the wonderful service and lovely food made for a perfect morning.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Creative, well prepared food , efficient friendly service. Chef/owner is present and checks in with diners. Avenue is consistently very good and a neighborhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I'm addicted to this restaurant! Love the food, drinks, service. Vicky is my favorite part of the whole experience!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Server was excellent. Food was quite good/tasty, but the menu was pretty straight-forward for a somewhat pricey place. Felt more like a good place for a business meal than the special occasion we chose the restaurant for. Really nothing "wrong" that I can put my finger on, but I somehow had higher expectations. First time visit, and we may go back, but not a place that would come to mind when figuring out where to celebrate something.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I have enjoyed several meals here....breakfast and dinner. The service is always timely,pleasant and efficient.
The food is always delicious, well prepared and with nice presentation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food is excellent. Best trout I have ever eaten and so happy to see corn on the menu.
People in the bar were VERY noisy!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I might be getting addicted to this place. The management is great. I adore the bartenders. The wait staff is great. The chefs are great, especially Vicky! And the food is out of this world. I plan to go back next week as well. This is my new favorite place. I think I have a reservation for 11 o'clock next Wednesday!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Once again this restaurant did not disappoint. Nathan the bartender is absolutely the best. What a wonderful way to start the evening. Our waiter, Dom, was outstanding as well. I seriously could go to this restaurant every single night. What a find! Everyone in St. Louis and all visitors need to make Avenue a stop for lunch or dinner or breakfast! It's absolutely phenomenal! I can't wait to go back and, believe me, it won't be long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very attentive chef, delicious menu options and excellent service - perfect evening to share with good friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Meal was marvelous. Best Pork Chop that I have ever tasted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We experienced some great service, but the food was just average. I may return, but I'm not pressed to do so. The bartender was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great interior and quick service. Enjoyed our waiter he made sure not to bother us but gave us attention as we needed it. Had the rainbow trout it was delicious. Good wine selections would recommend

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Went for Clayton resatuarant week. It was fine, nothing outstanding for the price. Waited a while for our food and before the waiter greeted us. Food was average for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great. Going back soon. Staff is unbelievable, especially Vicky!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had three different brunch dishes and all were excellent. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I really like Avenue. Last night was exceptionally noisy for some reason.. until about 8 when many left. I'm trying to introduce friends to it..folks who liked Atlas or Palm. One issue.. the sun really comes in and is blinding in late afternoon/early evening. Try to fix that!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Waaaaay too loud! Crowded, all in one room. There over two hours; I knew what I wanted before I got there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Always enjoy the great food and thoughtful entrees. Brian Carr is a wonderful resource for dining ....just bring back Atlas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day and despite having made a RSVP we were sat and informed we would have to wait 1-1.5 hours for our food because the kitchen was backed up! The waiter encouraged us to leave but we stayed. The whole restaurant was chaotic and everyone was disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went to Avenue for Fathers Day. Possibly the worst dining experience of all time. One hour and fifteen minutes from the time we ordered food and the time it arrived at our table. Biscuits were not fully cooked, hurvos rancheros were terrible, one of the four pancakes was burnt black. Not sure how you in good conscience serve a charred black pancake, but they did. I will give the owner or manager credit for comping our entire meal. So they owned it, but we will not return. In fact this is the first time I've ever posted a restaurant review. If zero was an option, I'd take away the one star I had to award.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service is the best! I'm always happy to see the specials, because they are! Chicken and biscuits at breakfast or roasted chicken with spaetzle, this kitchen rocks! Remember how chicken really tastes? This is the place for quality, home-cooking and for inspired dinner combinations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Dinner with friends!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Far too noisy. Service was sporadic. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Salad was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. We celebrated a birthday but they avoided the cliched song - just a simple candle. Waitperson was excellent. We went early and the restaurant was almost empty but filled up by the time we left. GO HERE!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We dine here fairly often, especially for breakfast/brunch and an occasional dinner. We always enjoy the food, particularly the fish preparation and specials. The staff is always friendly and pleasant, but ,sometimes due to an unexpected volume of patrons, the food service can appear to be a bit slow.......maybe their prior service has "spoiled" me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ave in Clayton for lunch is very popular. They were so very busy on our visit.
Would recommend their burger over the brisket. Burger was very tasty and brisket was very average. Salads were fine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.