About Avenue

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm
Bar stays open later.

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Casual (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fireplace (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service with good recommendations from the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Had breakfast on a Sunday. Pancakes and French toast were excellent. Eggs dishes were good. Service was slow even though the restaurant was not very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food. Dominic provided amazing service. Had the trout and flounder. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again Avenue is amazing -- yes, I eat here often -- I may eat there more often than 90% of their customers. But I have to speak up about the Flounder special Bryan Carr had on the menu. Divine!!! Simpl. y Divine!!! Couldn't have been any better. Both my mom and I enjoyed immensely. Wonderful service from Dom (as usual) and I got to see Mark (another fabulous server) as well.

Tried a new Pinot Nior as well which was really a nice find -- Rex Hill -- check it out. They do change out their wines which is nice. Really enjoyed this one.

If they are ever offering Cinnamon ice cream (which they were on Saturday) be sure to try it!!! Delish -- my favorite. They make their ice cream in house and the flavors vary

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great. Amazing oysters. The steak with peppercorn sauce was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

No Valet, needed more characters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was having a lunch meeting with 6 other associates, they sat us in the front of the restaurant, we asked for a table in the back by the fireplace but they said we already have you set up here... the waitress wasn't friendly, just did her job and she brought the bill out without even asking if we wanted dessert or anything else. The food was tasty but small portion for the price. Needles to say I didn't feel welcome. There are so many good restaurants in Clayton that I doubt I will ever go back there.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day prix fix was delicious! I enjoyed the parsnip soup, fish and rum cobbler. My husband had the very rich linguini with lobster and shrimp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had the duck confit and it was amazing. I took a chance as I have had it elsewhere and it was dry. This was moist but crispy on the outside in a beautiful fig reduction. Perfection! The apples for Olivia dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever eaten. I would return just to order this dessert. Our server was very attentive. A great experience!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to Atlas and Pomme before. This place has some old favorites plus some new flavors. Wish we had all three choices, but StL doesn't seem able to support a thriving restaurant scene.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just don't sit by the kitchen. Very drafty and smells like cigarette smoke.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere, good location. But what happened to all the people in Clayton, was totally dead after dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Entrées too expensive for the portion sizes. Service was rushed. Salmon dish did not have much flavor. What was supposed to be blue cheese dressing on our salads was anything but. It smelled of very bad body odor. Blue cheese is strong but does not "stink". I really thought it was the waitress that smelled bad as she walked by. We were wondering why the table next to us returned their salad and we soon found out why when we ordered the same. We returned ours as well. We were excited to try the place with such great averaged reviews but our experience was less than stellar. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great brunch. Was hoping for the chicken and biscuits they had as a special, last month. Was a first for me and I really liked it! Always good things. Great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fireplace, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for a date night. Few wine choices by the glass, but nice bottle selection. Each dish was great, the pumpkin ravioli was particularly delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was fine, the sole was very good. The server was terrible, he didn't give us all the options available for Clayton Restaurant week, couldn't explain the dishes to us. I don't know his name, he was the only black man working that evening and spoke very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Just so, so with the food.

Looked like the bar and happy hour might be a reason to return

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food but noise level much to high

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a great experience. Is a frequent choice for us. Excellent fresh quality food and piped in music is usually very good. Best bread in town'

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We came. We ordered. We paid way too much for what we got. We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined here for NYE. Had the 4 course meal. Food was delicious, service was outstanding and ambiance was above average. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tried the special of the day. It was very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was quite good but gnocchi dish was too salty; otherwise, the duck confit was outstanding and the menu was fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food. Great service ( Paul was our server). I'm looking forward to trying a dinner at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Slowest service ever! One hour lunch ended up much longer due to slow server. Took forever to pay our bill. Definitely will meet friends at other restaurants in the area. This one has a kit to be desired.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of my favorite, most consistent places to eat. Always excellent for a business meal or with adult family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Three of the four entrees were very good. The brisket sandwich was dry underneath the cheese. There was no gravy for the beef. My husband asked for some sauce, explaining it was dry. The waiter did not apologize as said he could bring a steak wine sauce. It didn't really go with brisket that well. Later they took the entree off of our bill. The waiter could have better resolved it with an "I'm sorry". The fireplace room was closed. The Avenue is a great location and has a nice ambience. It's missing a friendly attitude. On a cold night the fireplace room would have been nice and would have spread out the noise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Met a good friend for brunch over the holidays - had a great meal - nice ambiance. Fabulous Huevos Rancheros!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A special of the evening was cauliflower soup. It was outstanding. The chef and owner Brian Carr has a talent with his cuisine and invariably runs a comfortable restaurant that has understudied elegance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Avenue was great! It is pretty small but if you are looking for a more moderate noise level and a cozy feel it is perfect!

The server was super knowledgeable and made great recommendations! She was also very attentive to us throughout the whole time we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Avenue was recommended by a foodie friend. As a first time customer I treated my brother to a birthday lunch. The food was fantastic, we had the ham & cheese sandwich and a burger. Our waitress Becky was friendly, helpful and provided excellent service. Will definitely go back - hear the BLT with salmon is delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've been coming to Avenue for 3 years and the food is always great. Fresh seafood and imaginative fare. I highly recommend it for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The restaurant was oddly almost empty. Our server seemed disinterested. When my meal arrived It was not what I ordered. When I pointed it out to our waiter he informed me the special I ordered was from the previous evening, they had not changed info. The four other diners in my party were served room temperature, reheated food, clearly not fresh. At the end of the meal our waiter tried to make things right by bringing a side dish that had been from night before special, so over salted it was inedible.

It was my birthday and I was so disappointed, especially when there are so many great restaurants near by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

another great meal---Brian is the man-----food, wine service---the trifecta

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fair at best. Bread and butter and desserts were very good, but our salad and main meals were just ok. A lot of money for just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, even tho went on a Monday, the chef's night off. Chose because have had excellent experience with Brian's cooking at other restaurants. Table of 4 celebrating a key birthday. Quiet because we were the only table for much of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal on an early Sunday evening. Trout almandine was outstanding--perfectly prepared with slightly crisped skin, toasted almonds, perfectly balanced amount of richness. Fair selection of wines by the glass, wish offerings were more interesting than a handful of Chardonnays, a SauvB and PinotG, but such is the scene in many STL eateries. Nice ambience, friendly waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pomme excellence reincarnated. Some innovative new items mixed with Pomme classics. A great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was good. However, the service was very slow! We were seated at least 10 minutes before anyone came to our table to bring coffee or take our order. The waitress did not charge us for our drinks. My sister ordered a Chai Tea, but that was delayed because the bartender had to go out to get the mix! The waitress told us three times that the kitchen was "plating" our food and it should be right out! She finally brought us some biscuits and jelly because she knew we must be getting hungry. The restaurant was busy but not crowded! I thought maybe the kitchen had a grudge against her or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Poor service marred my visit to Avenue. It appeared that they were inadequately staffed for the number of customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is the second time at Avenue. The first time was a lunch with my 2 sisters. We had such a

great time. We each drooled over the mac&cheese. This time I took our daughter and beau for

Sunday brunch. Everything was perfect. The food, service, table placement was great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

always great food and great atmosphere. waitstaff is always accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My daughter and I were visiting Washu and this restaurant was just down the street from our hotel. We stopped in for a quick bite after a long day. The atmosphere was great and the food was good. We were both a little underwhelmed by the beef with rigatoni but our dessert left us satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Surprised when charged for "special birthday" dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Poor service and server had "an attitude".

We did not get what we ordered.

Location is the only positive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious. Experience was disappointing because the bar crowd was sooo loud. It was over an hour after happy hour was over and there was still a large crowd present that was definitely not using their inside voices. Very disruptive for conversation. We asked to be seated in the back dining room and this was somewhat better but still too noisy for the prices Avenue charges.

The wine list was odd. Except for about 8 wines which you could order by the glass, all other wines were sold by bottle only.

Our server was very good. Attentive but didn't hover.

Perhaps eating there on a night with no happy hour would be better but I certainly couldn't recommend eating there on a Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My wife and I dined at Avenue for lunch, our first time there. The brisket sandwich was very tender, but needed more flavor. Fries were greasy. Also, the filling of the sun-dried tomato and spinach quiche was dry, and and the crust, which appeared to be store-bought, was soggy. We definitely won't return. We doubt this new restaurant will last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

great food, and nice decor. highly recommend for business meetings at a casual venue. they specialize in fish, but all of their food items are great, and dont forget to save room for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good brunch good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.