About Atchafalaya Restaurant

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (77)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Great for Brunch (67)
See All
Creative Cuisine (60)
Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (50)
Local Ingredients (49)
Authentic (43)
Romantic (40)
Casual (39)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Fun (30)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Live Music (26)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the Bloody Mary mix!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

The flavors at this restaurant are delicate and amazing. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely ambiance and impressive staff. I was sooo excited to try the bloody mary bar, and it did not disappoint. Truly unique and a great deal as far as craft cocktail prices go. Along with the wait staff, the food was off the chain. Jalepeno cornbread muffins are melt-in-your-mouth amazing, and I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals, if not THE best, that we have had in New Orleans. The chef has a way with ingredients that will blow your mind. The filet was to die for.

Service was fantastic, atmosphere quiet and perfect for social occasions and dates. We will definitely be sure to make Atchafalaya a must on every trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. Always fresh ingredients and new things to try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Everything was so delicious! Especially loved the fried green tomatoes, the fried chicken and the tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Delicious food, great service! We wanted to try everything on the menu. Would love to go back sometime!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Amazing food and attentive, friendly staff. And as always, the Bloody Mary bar was a hit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The best jazz brunch in town! The atmosphere is refreshingly casual but the food is anything but. Though I was initially skeptical, the lowcountry benedict blew me away with the red beans and rice cake. I was still not sorry about getting the fried chicken and biscuits with gravy, though. Can't wait to go for dinner sometime. Everything is good. Go here for brunch at least.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great brunch with live jazz. The Bloody Mary buffet was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding! The food was off the charts, and the service was incredible. If you're lucky enough to get the deck table, enjoy every second. We can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of our favorites and one of the top 10 in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant. Whenever we come to New Orleans (from Phoenix) we make sure to eat their shrimp and grits!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delish Sunday brunch. Jazz music was wonderful, fried chicken and biscuits and the benedicts were amazing! Took the street car from the french quarter and walked down to the restaurant. Fun to walk through the neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fun, good service and good food, but noisy. Enjoyed the brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Atchafalaya was a delicious option for Sunday brunch! I ordered the duck hash, and it was fantastic - very rich and paired perfectly with blackberries and mangos in a bacon vinaigrette sauce. Our waitress was attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was very trendy/local. Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting New Orleans!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The meal was outstanding. My dish was a creative blend of items not usually paired in an excellent sauce. The Atchafalaya Salad was one of the best salads I have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Atchafalaya and we were not disappointed. The food and the service were both great. We did a combination of shared plates, as well as entrees. We very much look forward to our return visit.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

What an amazing restaurant! The food was special...never had grits that good in my life. The bloody mary bar is fantastic too. The live music was an extra treat too. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Spicy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was an amazing dinner for my birthday celebration. The drinks and food were all just amazing. I had the shrimp and grits and it was the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible. Staff was great, friendly and down to earth. Space itself was clean and spacious but still intimate. Definitely will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2017

always inventive and surprising- in a GOOD way! and always a memorable and satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Came here for a brunch during my bachelorette party weekend and we were not disappointed! Food was amazing and had all southern classics. The chicken and biscuits were truly divine. This quaint restaurant is a must do on a trip to New Orleans. Always make reservations because they're always super packed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 31, 2017

One of my absolute favorite brunch spots in New Orleans. The make-your-own Bloody Mary bar is great! Have loved all the food I have ever eaten there. Try the fried green tomatoes appetizer, and the Crawfish etouffee omelet - yum yum. Raechael at the bar and Anna at the hostess desk are THE BEST things about this place! They make everyone feel welcome and right at home. 5+ stars from me...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Wonderful service and brunch! Loved the Eggs Atchafalaya and gumbo!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Shrimp and Grits is where it's at! The bloody mary bar was deliteful too! Had the fish chowder, added a little pepper and it was perfect. Everything that came out of the kitchen looked mighty delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We went for brunch before we flew home and the breakfast hash was mouthwatering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent brunch celebrating a wedding anniversary- they even provided complimentary glasses of champagne! Cute cute spot with live band and excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing local spot with tasty food and great menu. Try the Bloody Mary ans the fried green tomatoes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent dinner. The crab ravioli appetizer was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Have been wanting to try Achafalaya for a while, but you definitely need reservations for brunch, and make them well in advance. We were seated promptly, the live music was fabulous and the Bloody Mary bar had everything you could want, including homemade mix from green tomatoes! We had the crabcakes eggs benedict, which melted in your mouth, and the eggs treme, which was eggs benedict with crayfish and homemade sausage. Not a morsel was left on our plates. Very limited dessert options, but the myriad of appetizers and brunch items makes up for that. Would go back in a minute.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved the live music & Bloody Mary Bar! We enjoyed their Saturday Brunch & appreciated that they took reservations.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I wish all my meals started with The chefs fried oyster amuse-bouche. The crab cakes were incredible and the chicken entree we ordered was awesome! The staff was attentive and welcoming and we will be making a bee line for this place once we get back to town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I have lived in 40 states in so many years. This is my favorite restaurant, every time I have ever gone in I'm made to feel like a VIP. The food is so reasonable priced for what you get you feel like maybe they don't know and you worry for them while you sleep. The service staff is excellent, a true unforced politeness and pride in their job. They made flan taste good, decadent, like you wanted to taste since you were a kid and thought it was going to be silky smooth and delicious. Check it out for dinner, get served, eat the meal, meet the people and tell me I'm wrong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Cocktails before dinner were really good. The bar man knew what he was doing. The food and ambience was really nice too. Service though was not up to standards. We waited over 15 mins to have our order taken. Then half an hour for dinner to come out.... we ordered desert and it took over 20 mins to come out and it was after we have the waitress a nod.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious meal at Atchafalaya! Loved everything we had! Can't wait to go back and try the other menu items that sounded amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My wife and I met with a few friends for dinner. Place was great! Drinks were perfect and the food was awesome.
Definitely recommend the shrimp and grits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Overall fabulous food. Blue cheese flan not to be missed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As always, had a great meal, great music, and good service! Will return 🙃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.