About Atchafalaya Restaurant

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: (504) 891-9626

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (110)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Creative Cuisine (75)
See All
Good for a Date (75)
Special Occasion (70)
Local Ingredients (70)
Great for Brunch (65)
Authentic (52)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Cozy (46)
Romantic (44)
Casual (42)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fun (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Historic (19)
Live Music (19)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Two words: Jazz Brunch! This spot was perfect for the two of us (out-of-towners) for a jaunt to the Garden District. We got sat pretty soon after we arrived even though we were early for our midafternoon reservation, which was nice. We ordered a bottle of champagne and a carafe of oj since there was no bottomless option (unfortunate since I really wanted to try the Bloody Mary bar, but this was more cost-effective) and an order of the fried green tomatoes with a crab slaw - which was very yummy. For entrees, we'd recommend the Korean Po' Boy and the Shrimp and Grits! Would definitely go back when we're in town - and bring friends!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

5 Stars again. Anthony Bourdain doesn't give bad recommendations and neither do I, amazing brunch. Croissant French toast with muddled blueberries and a Duck Fat Sazerac.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Thank you Tony for providing the neighborhood with such excellent food, service, and bar program!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday, Mothers Day

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My son and I had the perfect Mother's Day brunch today. Monica was our awesome and darling server and our meal was delicious. He had the chicken and biscuits and I enjoyed shrimp and grits. This is always one of our favorite brunch spots! 5 stars consistently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had dinner with my wife and 2 daughters. Service was great and the food was fantastic! I have already recommended to other friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have eaten at Atchafalya several times and always have a very good meal and a wonderful time. We keep going back

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Brunch menu was amazing, we enjoyed the brioche french toast, chicken and biscuits and the grilled drum lunch special. All were well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ate brunch here twice on four day trip. Would have gone on Sunday, but booked for Mother's Day. Very friendly staff. Solid bloody mary bar. The duck hash was amazing. Had it twice. Epitome of southern friendly neighborhood restaurant. I wish it was in my neighborhood!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding food with comfortable surroundings and good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

really enjoyed the overall experience of this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Atchafalaya has become one of our "go to" places, especially with people from out of town.
It has authentic casual New Orleans feel, with really good food. The décor is different, but appealing. The gumbo is one of the best I have ever had. Even though the menu is somewhat limited, there is something there for everyone. It really is a "neighborhood gem."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My friends and I really enjoyed our brunch at Atchafalaya! Loved the Bloody Mary bar and all our food was incredible. Outstanding service- the staff was on point taking our orders and on top of refills during our visit. Love the whole look of the place- the ambiance is great. Definitely a must stop on your next trip to the Big Easy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great. Highly recommended. Friendly service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wonderful. Always a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Delicious flavorful local cuisine. Authentic seasoning, attention to detail, yet relaxed and very special. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The server was friendly and knowledgeable but relaxed and un-coached. He knew his stuff. The atmosphere was lively and fun but somehow remained intimate. Will have fond memories of Atchafalaya always!! Representative of all of the best New Orleans has to offer!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I go there every time I am in town. My favorite N'awlins restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is our favorite place for brunch, but we tried the dinner this visit. Excellent bar and wine selections. Chargrilled oysters are excellent. Goat cheese salad also very good. Meatballs with wild boar and crawfish sounds strange, but is excellent. All food is very good and creative. Worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent brunch and the bloody marys couldn't be any better. Would definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing gumbo and fish! Everything was absolutely delicious. Recommend the drum.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This dinner was a delightful experience. The staff made us feel welcome immediately, the ambiance was lovely, and everything we ordered was delicious (especially the shrimp and crawfish toast). Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very disappointing. Service below average. Server seemed like he could not be bothered. Ambience poor. Bloody mary bar disappointing. Food quality average. There was really nothing good about this reataurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Char grilled oysters are the best we've had in NOLA. the food and cocktails are truly fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

From the attentiveness of the wait staff, to the brilliant Willamette Valley Rosè recommendation from the Sommelier and the delectable grilled oysters, our meal was a gastronomic pleasure! Compliments to the Atchafalaya Team.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Historic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food is amazing and the bloody Mary bar was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wow! Amazing brunch and bloody mary bar!! I plan on returning next time I'm in NOLA!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In town for Jazz Fest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Appreciate the sommelier's suggestion of the Spanish wine. Amber was very pleasant and took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Went twice in 3 days and everything everyone had was Excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful!! Food and service excellent. Reminded me of visiting my favorite aunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The highlight of our dining experience in New Orleans.
This place is definitely fit for foodies as the menu is creative, nuanced, and well prepared.
Would love to come back again but I live in San Francisco!.
Try it, you'll like it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had an outstanding meal with first rate service. Highly recommend. Great little bar scene.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our first experience. A little overpriced in comparison to others with better quality at a lesser price. Service was excellent. Would like to try brunch next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is my favorite spot in NOLA which is saying a lot. Foodie twists on local specialties. Great ambiance. Don't miss it

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Amazing brunch, great bloody Mary bar. Definitely try the friend chicken and biscuits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Visited for brunch after hearing many positive reviews, was not disappointed. Had the duck hash benedict with blackberry and mango hollandaise, delicious! Great local art on the walls and a friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is a great restaurant! The food is delicious and beautifully presented without being fussy. The cocktails are well crafted. The staff are helpful and attentive without hovering. The space is inviting. I will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by owner, Tony Tocco. We requested a table outside and Tony made that happen despite being a bit short on help fir the evening. We had 4 different staff members wait on our table, they were working as a team to help out the bar tender who was actually responsible for our outdoor seating. Each staff member was pleasant and engaging, it was quite fun having a new person bring each dish. We started our dinner with fried green tomatoes and raw oysters in the half shell. Both were delicious. My husband also had the Duck Fat Sazerac which he said was smooth and tasty. For dinner my husband had the wild boar and crawfish meatballs. A very different combination of foods, they were moist and very tasty. I had the hanger steak which was cooked to perfection. The entire experience was wonderful and we will definitely return on our next trip to New Orleans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The Drum was amazing . My wife enjoyed her shrimp and grits. She didn't care much for the house Sauvignon Blanc

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My second visit here. Not as good as the first time, but terrific regardless. We will return.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.