About Arata

108 Main Street
Belfast, ME 04915
View Larger Map

This season we are hosting Arata at our culinary incubator, The Gothic. Japanese for fresh and new, Arata highlights the abundant and beautiful products available during the summer in Maine. Arata’s menu will include plant-based ramen noodles, steamed buns, desserts inspired by Far East flavors, and an original cocktail and organic wine program.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday- Sunday 11:30-3:00 and 5:30-9:30

Cross Street:
Beaver St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 338-4684

Website:
http://aratarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Winegard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Arata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
14 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about this restaurant is supe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this restaurant is superb! Wonderful drinks presented beautifully! The buns are extraordinary as are the ramen bowls!

We tried many dishes in our 2 visits and not one disappointed !! Highly recommend !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First vegetarian restaurant I've ever be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

First vegetarian restaurant I've ever been to. Chef is very imaginative, great combinations of tasting experience. Quality over quantity, and a bit pricey. Having said that, it was was more than an "art gallery " meal, where presentation of microscopic morsels sends one sprinting to a burger joint. Very high quality food here, and I'd readily visit again. Kimchee pancakes were to die for. "Make that your last kimchee pancake!" the Commandante said, then blindfolded me, put me up against the wall of the restaurant, and order his firing squad to....

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! Fresh and creative dishes. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent! Fresh and creative dishes. We were vacationing in Maine and were very excited to find such a great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have ever had!!! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had!!!! It was like we were in an episode of Top Chef: Maine where they were doing The Best Asian Food Ever!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An urban oasis in mid-coast Maine. Who ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

An urban oasis in mid-coast Maine. Who knew veggies could be so tempting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place itself is absolutely gorgeous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The place itself is absolutely gorgeous and the meal was delicious. I went with 5 friends and everyone loved it. I had spicy udon which was just spicy enough with crispy black bean tempeh. The "buns" were unique flavorful creations. I'm looking forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

100% vegan Asian-inspired menu. Nice sel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

100% vegan Asian-inspired menu. Nice selection of steamed buns, ramen bowls and appetizers like kim chee pancakes. All of the food was delicious and the cocktails were unusual but great. Our particular server was a little unfriendly, but the timing of the courses etc was fine. Overall we were quite satisfied with our experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a 6 hrs drive ,so our expectatio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We made a 6 hrs drive ,so our expectations were "very" high :).

And it was outstanding! One of the best restaurants ever!

We just had an experience at

Lemeac here in MONTREAL which is one of the finest restaurants here,which is not vegan by any stretch. But we took what was vegetarian ,it was great but price wise it cost double of Arata!

Would recommend to anybody who wants an culinary experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not a vegan and this place blew me ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I am not a vegan and this place blew me away. Everything was so flavorful and the price point was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I shared steamed buns, fri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My friend and I shared steamed buns, fried mushrooms, and each had a ramen bowl, and everything was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arata is a great new restaurant in an ar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Arata is a great new restaurant in an area of Maine that has a dearth of interesting and creative dining spots. The wait staff were a little inexperienced, but tried hard and I am quite confident by the time I go again, they will have become much more polished. The food is all vegetarian and delicious. One little warning, the bun menu item "King Smoked Oyster" is actually oyster mushrooms. Don't expect oysters from the sea! Overall the food is delicious, and the wine let, although small, is interesting and adequate. We had a bottle of Ruhlmann Alsace Pinot Noir Cuvée Mosaique which we already knew and it complimented the aforementioned bun, the ramen dish, and the salad item well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We quite enjoyed this first visit to Ara ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We quite enjoyed this first visit to Arata. We ordered two of the "buns" plates--roasted carrots, and eggplant; the steamed buns were delectable and the seasoning, quite interesting: who knew that wasabi would be so lively with roasted carrot? Service was friendly and restrained, like I like it. Non-alcoholic beverages, again, were lovely and fresh and interesting to the palate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we ate was inventive and tast ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything we ate was inventive and tasty, starting with the eggplant buns with crispy olives. Drinks were delicious and creative too. Truly a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent and interesting cocktails, del ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent and interesting cocktails, delicious food, and I didn't realize it was all vegan when I booked, but given that potential handicap, the food was even more impressive. I recommend the eggplant buns, they were amazing (from someone who doesn't usually like the texture of eggplant).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.