Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About ANZU

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Brian Healy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

ANZU is featuring a Prime Rib Brunch for Father's Day. The Brunch also includes breakfast items, and Dim Sum. Brunch is $41 for Adults. Full Bar is also available. $10 for a flight of beer, Bottomless Mimosas $15

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:30AM - 1:00PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 15 hours ago

This was our first visit to Anzu and it was well worth it. We started with "The Rock" and then moved on to their tasty sushi. The "Anzu Roll" was great and the service was excellent. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Daniel at the Bar was magnificent. The wait staff was attentive and the menu was creative. The food was fantastic. We both had the Artichoke tasting menu which was original and delicious. We will be back again and recommend Anzu to our friends and business associates.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The guests who I booked this for seemed to love dining with you. Thank you!!! I will recommend again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I booked this for guests staying at hotel zeppelin and they said it was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal with wine pairing. Food was excellent and great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent sushi, Japanese presentation and beef dishes and excellent service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful spot for dining near the theater district!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome staff and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nice but unfortunately nothing spectacular. It is convenient for those staying at the hotel but not a must do

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

What an unexpectedly fabulous meal! Every dish was both delicate and exquisite, and the service was first rate. We loved it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

ANZU is a fantastic find! My husband and I were celebrating our last evening on vacation in SF and stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant. The food was incredibly delicious and fresh, the ambiance and decor were refreshing and best of all, the wait staff were top notch. From the moment we were greeted, we felt like we were important. The staff was attentive yet not smothering. And oh so friendly. Our server, Acer, was one of our favorite parts of the evening. He took the time to engage in pleasant conversation and made us feel like we were his only guests. We truly enjoyed him and our evening. We will definitely be back to ANZU the next time we are in SF!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love Anzu. Everytime I am at Nikko for business I save my nights for dinner at this place. Very nice sushis, sashimis and the salmon tartare is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

You took a booking for 3pm. When we sat down, the waiter told us they were closing at 3pm and he would talk to the manager. A few minutes later, he told us we would have an hour to eat at the buffet. The diem sum was cold, the leg of lamb was cold and overcooked, the duck was overcooked and too dry to eat! As these items were the featured items, I was very disappointed. I had to eat the hot vegetable dishes and desserts to satisfy my hunger. For the price I paid, It ruined my Easter day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Exceptional service and great ambiance. Food was perfectly prepared, well presented, and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was great. Food was good, but not exceptional. We were attending a rock concert directly after, so I was "underdressed", but wasn't made to feel uncomfortable. They were able to feed us, and send us off in time for our show. I would go back...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

great decor, unremarkable food, and attentive service

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. Quiet dining on a Wednesday night. Asian-influenced food is creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is the only restaurant in Hotel Nikko. On this visit, it was Sunday at 11:30 am and
the only menu available was a breakfast menu; they do not serve lunch on Sunday. The service was very nice, the food was standard breakfast fare, the prices were reasonable. It was disappointing that the menu was so limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We've been coming back for over 12 years now every other month when we come to San Francisco. It is unbeatable. Best dinning in San Francisco and somehow hidden from the noisy crowd.
Striffeler, the chef, has done a great job. Recommendable are especially the sushi rolls, best in town. But the fish and the duck are great too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The hotel and Restaurant recently remodeled and beautifully done. Our Entrees very good. Seafood and appetizers were very flat with regard to flavor but presentation good.
Waiter very personable and accommodating though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is one of the best Asia Restaurants that we have been to and we were very happy with our mail. All of the food is excellent and the staff could not be more courteous. It is heads above other Asian food in S.F. and could easily be one of the best in the USA. We have a very nice table for two and enjoyed it completely.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful meal......a "must-have" for appetizer is "The Rock"......also their sushi is excellent......so fresh. We had the cod and duck for mains and both were fabulous. Well worth the experience.....will definitely be returning.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Staff was very helpful and friendly and food was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The new remodel is fabulous. But this review is probably not typical; they had not yet received their liquor license since the remodel and therefore, even though it was a Saturday evening, the crowd was pretty sparse and therefore the noise level was quite low. I would expect it to pick up when the bar is re-opened and the wine flowing. In any case, the food and the service were outstanding. We will be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I did not know the restaurant got renovation when I booked a table via Open Table. The restaurant confirmed our reservation and notified us that they would not serve any liquors, yet due to that renovation. It was no problem with our group. The food was very good as before. When you make reservation for early dinner, be careful with the time. We made for 5:00 via Open table and it was confirmed by the property, however the venue opens at 5:30. They were nice enough to seat us and provide water at 5, but we had to wait till the official time for the food served.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was decent, but pricing threw me off a bit as it did not match quality for the sashimi and caviar platter.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I usually avoid restaurants in hotels.....I booked tru open table and didn't realize it was in a hotel. Was great surprise! Closing for 3 months and opening as 5 star from 4 star....hmmmm

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Taste very good, and excellent service, but difficult to find the place...high recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We dined at Anzu with family while spending an evening in San Francisco. The service was great, and the food preparation was absolutely beautiful. Lots of special, artistic touches!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice Asian fusion food. Good service. Good wine selection. Nice seating comfort.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Serious sushi and innovative food-from cooking your own steak on a rock to exquisitely presented hamachi with caviar, ANZU is great for special occasions or a special meal when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The sushi was ok. The main dishes were very good. Service was good. The ambience was dead. They will be remodeling the Nico hotel as well as the restaurant in the next couple of months. That's really good because it's kind of plain and there's no ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went for our annual Christmas luncheon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Wouldn't return. Less than average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was overcooked or undercooked; drink was not well crafted or mixed; very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have been a regular for the past ten years. It's the best kept secret in San Francisco. Great food, wonderful ambience and lovely waiters. Could hardly be better. Their fish dishes and the freshly to order prepared sushi are worth the while.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a committee meeting with a colleague from out of town. The staff were accommodating and professional throughout the drink and meal, including splitting the bill across 8 credit cards! Everyone raved about their entrées as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wasn't too helpful when using a gift card. Didn't know what some of the garnishes were. Was just curious but at times got a little defensive (might just be me). Service stopped promptly as soon as I couldn't find the coupon code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were here for a concert at the Feinstein room and originally booked dinner there solely for convenience...but guess what we will be going back and we will be recommending it to friends. The service was attentive, helpful and happy, making our dinner experience outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.