About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Brian Healy

Private Party Facilities:
Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

Private Party Contact:
Marcia Striffeler: (415) 394-1146

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I usually avoid restaurants in hotels... ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I usually avoid restaurants in hotels.....I booked tru open table and didn't realize it was in a hotel. Was great surprise! Closing for 3 months and opening as 5 star from 4 star....hmmmm

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Taste very good, and excellent service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Taste very good, and excellent service, but difficult to find the place...high recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Anzu with family while spend ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We dined at Anzu with family while spending an evening in San Francisco. The service was great, and the food preparation was absolutely beautiful. Lots of special, artistic touches!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice Asian fusion food. Good servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice Asian fusion food. Good service. Good wine selection. Nice seating comfort.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Serious sushi and innovative food-from c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Serious sushi and innovative food-from cooking your own steak on a rock to exquisitely presented hamachi with caviar, ANZU is great for special occasions or a special meal when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The sushi was ok. The main dishes were v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The sushi was ok. The main dishes were very good. Service was good. The ambience was dead. They will be remodeling the Nico hotel as well as the restaurant in the next couple of months. That's really good because it's kind of plain and there's no ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We went for our annual Christmas luncheo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went for our annual Christmas luncheon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wouldn't return. Less than average.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Wouldn't return. Less than average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was overcooked or undercooked; drin ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was overcooked or undercooked; drink was not well crafted or mixed; very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Have been a regular for the past ten yea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have been a regular for the past ten years. It's the best kept secret in San Francisco. Great food, wonderful ambience and lovely waiters. Could hardly be better. Their fish dishes and the freshly to order prepared sushi are worth the while.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a committee meeting with a collea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a committee meeting with a colleague from out of town. The staff were accommodating and professional throughout the drink and meal, including splitting the bill across 8 credit cards! Everyone raved about their entrées as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't too helpful when using a gift car ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wasn't too helpful when using a gift card. Didn't know what some of the garnishes were. Was just curious but at times got a little defensive (might just be me). Service stopped promptly as soon as I couldn't find the coupon code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We were here for a concert at the Feinst ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were here for a concert at the Feinstein room and originally booked dinner there solely for convenience...but guess what we will be going back and we will be recommending it to friends. The service was attentive, helpful and happy, making our dinner experience outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

dELICIOUS BUT MY WIFE'S DUCK WAS A LITTL ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

dELICIOUS BUT MY WIFE'S DUCK WAS A LITTLE DRY AND THEY ALMOST FORGOT ONE OF OUR APPETIZERS BUT STILL AN OUTSTANDING PLACE AND WILL RETURN. Sorry about the caps!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good to excellent. Menu had not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was good to excellent.

Menu had not seemed to have changed much in months.

Cod was scrumptious and special seafood risotto excellent.

Soup and salad ok. Pot de cream very good but cheese cake average.

Service excellent

Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the overall dining experience cele ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved the overall dining experience celebrating a birthday and with 2 kids for our party of 6. The food was beautifully presented and equally delicious. We will definitely keep this on our list of go-to restaurants in San Francisco.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for Thanksgiving. The restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Visited for Thanksgiving. The restaurant is clearly not set up for hosting an elegant buffet, the food was mediocre and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was there for Thanksgiving dinner. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was there for Thanksgiving dinner. I realize it's not easy to prepare/cook for the masses, but I thought the food was just mediocre. The traditional Thanksgiving food was better than the Asian. It was our least favorite meal during our Napa/SAN Fran vacation and at $110 a person, the most expensive. So yeah, a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Where to start. Went here for their Than ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Where to start. Went here for their Thanksgiving buffet dinner, and let me tell you the food was magical. Have you ever watched a Ghibli movie where the food just looks scrumptious and you think, "Yeah I wish" Its just like that. It not only looks the part but tastes just how you imagine. The food was astounding, the variety was plentiful, the mood was jolly and heartwarming. Almost choked on my (lemon) water when i got the check, but man it was worth it. 10/10.

5 stars. Would choke again.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time at Anzu holiday buffet. I will ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

3rd time at Anzu holiday buffet. I will not go back. 4 for the Thanksgiving buffet, $359. We are water drinkers so no alcohol, etc. $70/pp, plus 18% service fee. It's a buffet.

Food was mediocre. I finally got to the turkey carving station and it was the end of one bird with a full bird sitting to the side to be carved. The carver gave me 1/2 slice of breast. When I let him know I wanted more. He scraped up some random pieces from the plate and tossed it onto my plate. Those random pieces included papers from the tray. It was ridiculous. When I figured out what was on my plate, I said it out loud in front of the server who just continued filling my water. The cranberry sauce was so sour I couldn't eat it.

Needless to say, there won't be a 4th time at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a family gathering dinner here on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a family gathering dinner here on thanksgiving. There was an amazing assortment to choose from in the buffet style dining. There were a your classic thanksgiving dishes, but with so many other options. I loved the salmon, oysters, prawns, sushi, prime rib, lobster bisque, etc. there must have been a dozen different desserts to choose from. The atmosphere is gorgeous. The staff so friendly. I think we may have just started a new thanksgiving tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A little pricey for seniors who do not e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey for seniors who do not eat much! Very attentive waiters. We went for Thanksgiving Dinner buffet--the presentation was excellent and we enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food was amazing. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and food was amazing. The first time ever using a rock to cook food. A must try if you visit. I also had the duck breast with foigras and it was very delicious. It was a small portion, but the richness in flavor was just enough to make you satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service! Appreciate the warm hosp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service! Appreciate the warm hospitality. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, excellent staff. Very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent staff. Very pleased at Any.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. I don't typicall ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food and service. I don't typically expect this level of restaurant inside a hotel. Will return next trip through San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible meal.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Terrible meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

ANZU is a very elegant, quiet restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ANZU is a very elegant, quiet restaurant in the Nikko hotel at Union Square in SF. We had a pretty simple but delicious dinner. I had a sunchoke and pear soup followed by an excellent duck breast, while my dinner partner started with the duck confit appetizer and finished with black cod. He seemed very satisfied, and so was I. (The hostess was very pretty, very charming, and actually helpful).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food tasted delicious. But it was no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food tasted delicious. But it was not made how we read it on the menu. It may have been because we were the last table to order.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Sushi was amazing. Will go back next tim ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sushi was amazing. Will go back next time we come to SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi chef was friendly and prepared ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The sushi chef was friendly and prepared the rolls in front of us at the bar. Limited selection to choose from. You rely on the bartender for your service, which means you get little attention when the cocktail bar is busy. It is a great choice if you don't want to leave the hotel for dinner. Above average for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing dining experience!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we enter Anzu from the outside nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

When we enter Anzu from the outside noise of the city, all of a sudden we are in an elegant setting far from the crowds and cars honking. The food is always well-prepared and delicious. Anzu is well-situated for a dinner before the theater in the heart of San Francisco. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent sushi. Surprised me with elega ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent sushi. Surprised me with elegant dessert for my birthday. Great service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All our dishes were delicious! The ambia ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 29, 2016

All our dishes were delicious! The ambiance is classy. The servers were prompt and very nice. The only thing I didn't like as much is that the tables for 2 are very close to each other, so you end up hearing your neighbor's conversation the whole time. But, other than that, everything else was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is still our favorite pre-theater o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is still our favorite pre-theater option. You can "go Japanese" or stay "Californian", the 4 course prix fixe is a great value, and with a 6pm reservation, the servers can pace the 4 courses so you don't miss the curtain! It's also quiet enough for easy conversation. Kudos to the chef for our recent special of the day scallops and branzino main course - delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food and great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dinner spots - great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

One of our favorite dinner spots - great for special occasions.. food is exceptional

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tuna and Salmon in the rolls were VERY u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Tuna and Salmon in the rolls were VERY unfresh. Cod dish is super small, with a bizarre soggy piece of scallion pancake laid underneath. Just disappointing.

The salad came with the cheap store bought ginger sauce--Very low end taste

Server was super nice, though I was there for the food

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Five spice chicken and the Anzu sushi r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Five spice chicken and the Anzu sushi roll were delicious. The smoky old fashion cocktails were superb. And the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.