Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About ANZU

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Brian Healy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for a delicious Thanksgiving Buffet. Reservation times are from 2pm - 8:30pm. The buffet features and array of salads, sushi and shellfish. Main Courses include turkey with all the trimmings, roast duck, prime rib, glazed ham, seabass & wild mushroom ravioli. Desserts include pies & more!

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Christmas Eve Prix Fixe Dinner includes a choice of soup or salad, choice from 4 entrees to include Braised Short Rib with polenta, Roast Turkey with stuffing and mashed potato, Butter Poached Lobster Risotto and a vegetarian Eggplant and Tofu Caponata. Dessert is a festive Buche de Noel. 5:30-9pm

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Join us for a delicious Christmas Day Buffet. Reservation times are from 2pm - 8:30pm. The buffet features and array of salads, salmon and duck. Main Courses include turkey with all the trimmings, roast pork, prime rib, glazed ham, lobster. Desserts include chocolate fountain, tarts, cakes & more!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Join us for an elegant New Year's Eve 6 course dinner . The meal provides choices for each course. We begin the dinner with smoky dungeness crab. Entree selections include, filet of beef, white seabass or yuba wrapped vegetable ratatouille. You may also select the optional wine pairing.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 7:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 7:00PM - 9:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 5:30PM - 5:45PM 7:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

78% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (15)
Healthy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Anzu was great. We were pleasantly surprised at how fresh and great the sushi tasted. The wait staff was understaffed but they did a great job keeping up with us. I would highly recommend Anzu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

My spouse and I went for lunch. Food was average at best, but service was attrocious..Skip the place, there's far better within a blocks distance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was bland and overpriced. Hotel dining. Elegant setting but so disappointing. Why the high ratings open table? We had the two course menu and it was just plain boring—for $57 for an appetizer and main course. Plus we didn’t even drink so that money was just for the meh food. Don’t waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great food and very friendly attentive staff. We will for sure be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This has become one of our very favorite restaurants in S. F. We come to the city often for plays and our usual choice is ANZU!!!! The warm hospitality and outstanding service warms our hearts each time we go there!!! What amazes us is that the restaurant remembers us each time we come back! We always leave with a warm glow in our hearts. Many thanks again!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I felt sick after eating soft shell crab sandwich. The lunch menu was very different from what I had in the past and was very disappointed.
I will not visit again unless I am invited by someone.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

spectacular food, great service. it was very loud and hard to have a business conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were hoping for a wonderful Sushi experience, and were disappointed with the narrow menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The quality of sashimi and the service were excellent. We enjoyed the whole time there.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Waygu beef was amazing! Sauces that accompanied it were average. Sushi roll was average. Wonderful customer service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our expectations were low for a hotel restaurant. Expecting mediocre food, with high prices. We were blown out of the water. Newly renovated, Asian fusion theme, Californian with lots of seafood options as well as steaks, pasta and sushi rolls. Given such a wide variety of menu options you think that they wouldn't be able to deliver, they knocked it out of the park. Our server Ace was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was better and selection prior to the recent renovations. Pleas bring back some of your popular old food menu especially the dessert with dry ice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Tried the special which focused on mushrooms of all types. The things done with the mushroom were amazing. All offerings were very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Had my 7 month anniversary dinner at Anzu’s. The atmosphere was pleasant, the food choices plentiful and the service outstanding. I had the seared Ahi and it was cooked to perfection. The Bar offered many Asian and American drink order. My favorite we the Bogart.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We arrived on time and 1 hour and 15 minutes still no food while others came way after us and got their food. Some even finished. It was the worst experience I ever had with an open table restaurant. When the manager came over after the hour and 15 minutes she said the sushi would be another 10 minutes. We left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The service was fantastic. The wait staff was very attentive. I had the udon with pork belly. The broth was refreshing and the pork belly was cooked perfectly with just enough crisp. I would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Powa is a very good sushi chef, Ryan is a great bartender, & Jordan is a great club manager/host at Feinstein's downstairs.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Live Sports, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Went there with great expectations since it's located in hotel nikko which is a Japanese hotel. The restaurant is dated and stale , I was hoping the food to be good and we had ordered sushi dishes and it ended up being the worst sushi we ever had
Coming from Vancouver the hub of Japanese i know my sushi but the food here was below average , waste of time and money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Slow service but good and unique food. Would like to share with others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We were served by the hostess and the manager. We had no waiter or waitress. We sat at 7pm and got our meal / appetizers around 9pm all at the same time. I don't think it was just an off night, it was a total disaster, seems like an ongoing problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Horrible atmosphere, kids screaming no one managing the place. Service by amateur kids, a complete Expensive disappointment . Actually I was embarrassed for taking my key customers there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The service here is always so personal and outstanding!!!! As well as the food presentations. Only disappointment this time was the chicken wrap--not as tasty as when I had it at a previous lunch. We had a delightful visit with Marcia Striffeler, the restaurants sales manager! And so enjoyed Joel and Carlo, who waited on us!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had high hopes for this place since my wife and I love sushi. We decided to order sushi, steak, and the cod. The sushi was mediocre at best. Nothing fancy. The steak was tough and lacking seasoning. I had to cover it in salt to make it taste better. The cod I was a little too fishy for my taste. It almost had a pungent smell that you would get underneath an old fishing dock.

The service however was outstanding. We were taken care of from the moment we walked in. The wait staff was very friendly.
This would be an amazing restaurant if the food would live up to the expectation. Are usually don't flinch when I see my bill and it's 200+ dollars. But this time I felt like I was Robbed. The food is not worth what they are charging. There are so many other spots in San Francisco I would have rather visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is good but breakfast is very slow unless you want the buffet at $34/person - our milk on the table was curdled so we had to wait ten minutes for a fresh cup of coffee and $49 for breakfast for 2 seems a bit excessive for eggs and toast, lunch is better and better priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We thought Anzu would be a good place for our daughter's birthday dinner while visiting SF. The dinner was okay, with the highlight being the wagyu beef appetizer. We had two sushi orders for dinner, one black cod and one salmon filet. The timing was terrible with the cooked meals coming out a good ten minutes before the sushi rolls. The chef needs to time the meals better given the price of the restaurant. The black cod was okay, but my local sushi spot on PA (Blue Fin) serves a better miso black cod so I was disappointed. Salmon was fair. Rolls were good. Overall, fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Awfully disappointing. The reviews, appealing menu and gorgeous food images on the website did not match our experience. San Francisco has a million better options with livelier ambience, finer provisions and more refined cooking.

Also, the pours of wine by the glass were really stingy and -- therefore -- overpriced.

Next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Anzu roll and the truffle Mac n cheese were amazing! I'd recommend while in San Francisco

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were shopping in Union Square and Anzu came up as Open Table's top recommendation for lunch. Big mistake. My food was over cooked; my wife's chicken was dangerously underdone. Slow service and poor menu. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our dinner was amazing. It was delicious and served at a perfect temperature. We were able to talk in normal voices although the restaurant was busy. The service and staff were great and attentive. It was a memorable meal! I had the special "Summer of Love" w the wine pairing. I had the melon & procuitto and the trout and my husband had the filet mignon w Chimichurri Sauce. I recommend this restaurant and found it on the Ap Around Me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

A quiet, attentive, creative restaurant located in the Nikko Hotel on the second floor.
I began with orders of Maguro and Hamachi Nigiri. Both items were very fresh.
My entree was the Grass Fed Hanger Steak with Wasabi Mashed Potatoes and Grilled Asparagus. The steak was very tender and cooked to perfection.
The Wasabi Mashed Potatoes were good and the wasabi was not overpowering. My choice of sauce was the Bordeaux Bordelaise which I highly recommend.
Every time that I have dined at Anzu, service has been always been excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the bay area. The food is magnificent and the service impecable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very prompt service, tasty food and nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, the restaurant is elegant without stuffiness. The food was a perfect mixture of Asian inspired flavors mixed with California cuisine like mashed potatoes with wasabi.

If you're looking for an off the trail, hiding in plain sight (in Union Square) beautiful room to have dinner, lunch or brunch Anzu is the right spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This was my first dinning experience at Anzu, it was really Great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was very quite ambiance when I visited to make a reservation since it is located on the second floor of the hotel, away from tourists keep coming and going. However, on that day, it happened to be a busy day with a crowd of guests who came for a convention. We could not sit in the middle of the crowd, so took the table in the cocktail area, and went to the bar to place our orders since all the waiters were too busy to come to our table. Otherwise, their services were pretty good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The dinner was absolutely awsome. The sushis were creative and the meat was so good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were a party of 8--with 4 being children ranging from 10 to 20. Service and good were wonderful and varied enough to appeal to a group with diverse tastes!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was a great meal. Very fresh Sushi and fish. Beautifully presented and yummy. Our guests don't do fish but ANZU is Asian Fusion and had steaks too. The steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious as well. We were celebrating an anniversary and they gave us a yummy desert very nicely presented on a plate. So why was it not very busy on a Saturday Night? It's in a hotel with no view. I suspect people who are visiting San Francisco want a view of the City and a trendy independent restaurant. We really enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.