About Amerigo - Memphis

1239 Ridgeway Road
Memphis, TN 38119
View Larger Map

Amerigo is a casual, energetic, affordable neighborhood Italian restaurant serving a blend of traditional and modern Italian cuisine. Authentic pastas, hand-made pizzas, fresh seafood and wood-fired steaks offer something for everyone at Amerigo. Our restaurant is warm and inviting, with friendly yet professional service. Whether it be a romantic dinner for two, or a family reunion for fifty, allow us to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00-2:00; Lunch Daily: 11:00-4:00; Dinner Monday-Saturday: 4:00-10:00, Sunday 4:00-9:00

Cross Street:
Park Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 761-4000

Website:
http://amerigo.net/

Catering:
Whether you're feeding 10 people or 500 people, Amerigo will deliver our fresh, hand-crafted meals right to your door! Family-style salads and made-to-order pastas make the perfect meal for your meeting or special event. We also provide full-service catering for large off-site events, such as wedding receptions, corporate receptions and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Ben Hickey

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event at Amerigo! We offer two private dining rooms for meetings, rehearsal dinners, receptions and other special events. Each of our two rooms can accommodate up to 20 seated guests, or you can book the full private space for groups of up to 40 people. Customized menus, wireless internet and an A/V screen are all available at no extra charge. Contact us today, and allow our staff to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience!

Private Party Contact:
Brittany Sloan: (901) 848-4009

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Amerigo - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always the food at Amerigo's was grea ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

As always the food at Amerigo's was great. The perfect 1 1/2 hour lunch to catch up with a friend. We sat in a bar booth and it was quieter than the open dining room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service was very good. The waiter was extremely polite and attentive although it was a busy Saturday night

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time, food was delicious and s ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Our first time, food was delicious and service was great! Will for sure be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over all good. Need some attention to d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Over all good. Need some attention to details for example waiting too long for a cocktail and than not correct. Bread arrived after salads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Get restaurant, with great servers. My s ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Get restaurant, with great servers. My server was very prompt and polite throughout the entire night. Constantly checking on me and my guest to ensure that everything we needed was taken care of. The host had us prepared we had no wait time at all, came right in and was seated in a comfortable booth. Thanks again Amerigo Memphis!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, , Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Very attentive to ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Very attentive to our requests. Specials were explained to easily understand. Selection of food and drink was very good. Quality of food was excellent and the portions were the right size. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, , Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Amerigo - Memphis about 4-5 t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We dine at Amerigo - Memphis about 4-5 times a year. We celebrated Valentine's Day on the 13th and this visit was a disappointment. They were out of the wine I drink, my husband had 1 glass of wine and then no more available. They were also out of chicken ravioli which was most disappointing. Our dinner was very slow arriving because of some computer error but our waiter was very apologetic and very helpful in offering a different wine. We will be back again because we have always had a wonderful experience but they were definitely not prepared that night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our food was delicious. Nice environment ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our food was delicious. Nice environment. Very good place to get some pasta and wine for a date night. Our main dinner food came before our salads so that wasn't great. But everything was fine otherwise. The spaghetti was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my second time here and the food ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my second time here and the food is AMAZING! Me and hubby decided to make this our Valentines Day Spot :-)

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

impressed with the variety of items on m ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

impressed with the variety of items on menu. Service was excellent. Food was excellent. Will definitely return

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything great EXCEPT lasagna was stil ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything great EXCEPT lasagna was still cold in center from fridge or freezer. Oregano or some spice too strong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

We eat at Amerigo's quite often for busi ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We eat at Amerigo's quite often for business lunches and I find the quality of the food to be getting better and better. Just terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good overall. We had a great table! Good ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good overall. We had a great table! Good food and well priced. My husband's veal was over cooked-they promptly took the meal off our bill. I would recommend and dine here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Met friends for an early dinner and 3 ou ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Met friends for an early dinner and 3 out of the 4 of us took advantage of the Early Bird Special which is offered from 4-6pm. My husband & I had a salad; he had salmon for his entree, I had the goat cheese pasta.

All 3 "specials" were excellent and HUGE servings. Our server was attentive....service is consistently good at Amerigo's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Austin was terrific - very at ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our waiter Austin was terrific - very attentive without being intrusive.

Wonderful business lunch .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, service wasn't as attent ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was great, service wasn't as attentive especially with only 5 tables of guests and one large private mystery dinner theater going on. Asked for somewhere private and sat right by the private party that was loud and used too many choice words that don't belong in a nice setting. Food was EXCELLENT! Just wish I didn't have a empty glass for for so long while waiting for main corse. Food took forever.....but again was very very delicious. I don't mind waiting for good food at such a great price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

The food was absolutely delicious and se ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and service impeccable. I will ask for Darrell to be our waiter every time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ate brunch here with a friend. We wan ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I ate brunch here with a friend. We wanted a place with some healthier choices that was not too loud or crowded. We had excellent service and were able to hear one another speak. I will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We eat at Amerigo's about once a month b ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We eat at Amerigo's about once a month but Friday night's meal was the best I've ever had. I ordered the Chicken Marsala and it was fabulous. Unfortunately I couldn't eat it all, but fortunately I got to eat the rest for lunch the next day!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This is the first time we have had a neg ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is the first time we have had a negative experience at Amerigo.

The restaurant was full but we waited over 20 minutes for just our wine to be served.

Appetizer took even longer. Server brought the oil for dipping but no bread.

Our server was friendly but definitely lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The restaurant was doing a huge business ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The restaurant was doing a huge business, looked like most all tables were taken at 7 pm. Our service was a bit slower than we liked but not enough to complain. Food was good and the wait staff friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for lunch Sunday with another coupl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went for lunch Sunday with another couple. The service was very good. We ordered Bloody Mary's that are rather weak. The bread and olive oil is very good and plentiful. I ordered veal piccata and they had no veal. Switched to chicken picatta which was a disappointment. Pasta was over cooked and the sauce tasted more like fettuccine with hardly any lemon or capers. Husband ordered salmon and said it was good but he's had better at Amerigo's. Our friends ordered the crab cake Benedict and said it was delicious and it looked good her husband ordered chicken marsala he said was good. No salad comes with the meal, that cost an additional $4.00.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal was like eating rubber. My husb ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The veal was like eating rubber. My husband and I could not even eat it. Sauce was too thick and gummy and Caprice salad had I slice tomato and one piece of mozzarella. Could not get bread until halfwY through dinner for it was still baking.

Overall it was not a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent sea food, good and rapid servi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent sea food, good and rapid service. Were next to the Bar but it was not noisy

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I truly enjoy this place! It's one of my ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I truly enjoy this place! It's one of my of my favorites 😊The only thing I don't like is they don't accept LARGE RESERVATIONS & that is a reason my large group hasn't gone back....even though we had a great time. The hassle of it all wasn't worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amerigo never fails to satisfy, and may ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amerigo never fails to satisfy, and may very well be the best bang-for-buck dining establishment in Memphis---outstanding food, exceptional value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just a good restaurant - good food, dece ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Just a good restaurant - good food, decent prices, good service. I've enjoyed everything I've ordered. Of course, I'm kind of stuck on the Caesar salad with grilled chicken - absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had dinner on NYE eve and the place w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had dinner on NYE eve and the place was quiet. Our server went above and beyond to make our experience nice. The wine I ordered was not availabe and he let me taste 2 others to make an alternate choice. The cedar planked sea bass cannot be beat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we eat there several times each month an ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we eat there several times each month and it is always consistently good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Casual, , Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good eatery!Nice wine selection. Fo ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good eatery!Nice wine selection. Food very good and portion ample. Quite noisy but still able to talk

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we eat there several times per month and ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

we eat there several times per month and recommend it to everyone we know!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, , Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch menu crab cake, portobello mushroo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lunch menu crab cake, portobello mushroom salad and bread are 10 of 10. Chicken Acuto was good but too "beany" (too many black beans and not enough carmelized onions, etc. in the mix.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I thought our reservation was for 630 fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I thought our reservation was for 630 for four people, we got there and they said it was for two people at 5:45. So they canceled it. That is the default for O pen table. , We had to wait additional 30 minutes before a table was ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The service was very rushed - salad pres ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service was very rushed - salad presented before the appetizer.

We then had 2 bites of Salad and the Entree was presented.

The Eggplant was not prepared well - little taste.

While we were eating our entree the waitress came and bagged up our salad.

We felt very rushed.

Then at the end of the meal, it took forever to get the check.

I have eaten there before for lunch and was thrilled.

This was my husband's first time to eat there and I was very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The food, depending on what you order, i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food, depending on what you order, is very good to excellent. They have a killer chicken picata. The servers are very good at showing up when you need them without being obtrusive. The ambiance is quite NY Italian and very pleasant. All in all a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding! Everything w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food is always outstanding! Everything was amazing as always!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birt ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Four of us celebrated my daughter's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was not too noisy so we could actually hear each other talk. We began with wine and calamari as an appetizer which was very tasty. We each had a different entree and were equally satisfied with chicken piccata, lasagne, mushroom ravioli and crab cakes on a bed of white beans salsa. The meal was finished with their chocolate pecan fudge brownie with a candle on top. The waiter had remembered her birthday and served the dessert with a lit candle and a smile!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. Three of the four ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was great. Three of the four meals would rate five stars. The fourth meal was okay but the chicken was tough and chewy. We will go back to see if this an exception. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always outstanding---never had a bad mea ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always outstanding---never had a bad meal or dining experience here!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Ordered pasta with grilled chicken. Came without the chicken. When it did come it was tough, like it was microwaved. Pasta was way overcooked and not hot. Told the waiter and he apologized, but no manager came by and nothing was done

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.