About American English Kitchen and Bar

1900 Harrison St
Hollywood, FL 33020-5018
View Larger Map

American English Kitchen and Bar is a new and exciting concept from Chef/Owner Russ Aaron Simon. Our mission is to offer a great culinary and hospitality experience in a comfortable and casual environment. The menu features an eclectic mix of regional American and globally influenced dishes. From Seasonal Fish Crudo to Fluffy Southern Style Biscuits with Pork Belly to Singapore inspired Chilli Prawns; American English offers diners an opportunity to experience a multitude of flavors. Our Wine and Cocktail program includes unique selections from the Old and New World, and from Classic to Craft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Social Hour - Featuring Drink and Bar Bites Specials
Tuesday - Friday 5pm to 7pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday 6pm to 10pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 589-0200

Website:
http://www.americanenglishkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available to our guests for $5. The valet stand is on 19th Avenue just south of Harrison Street.
Parking on the street in Downtown Hollywood is available where marked, and pay garages are located throughout the area as well.

Executive Chef:
Russ Aaron Simon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American English Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Finally, good upscale dining in Hollywoo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Finally, good upscale dining in Hollywood! Staff is friendly and helpful. Inventive spins on familiar dishes. Enjoyed our dinner, will certainly return and I recommend it highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Five Star quality ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Five Star quality meals. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Congrats. Continued surprises with outst ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Congrats. Continued surprises with outstanding new menu items. A rare spot of Fine Dining in Hollywood

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Reviewers lauded the Beignets which were ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Reviewers lauded the Beignets which were crisp and creamy, but the three of us were not as taken by them, matter of taste probably, though my wife and Belgium friend are serious potato lovers. For me, I would have liked a stronger bacon presence. The octopus, nicely presented in cups of lettuce skimped on the key ingredient. Linguini with wild boar ragu was good, but not sure what the wild did. The carbonara with a poached egg was big disappointment drowned in a thin sauce. My wife had red snapper, a small piece on attractive but overly charred cauliflower, her favorite vegetable. The menu suggested a short, but inventive sounding dishes, but it fell short of its promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The place was well laid out. Hostess was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The place was well laid out. Hostess was friendly. So were the runners and other members of the staff but our server stood out. She was wonderful and on point.

My mussels were good but not excellent. They were very small although plentiful and very tasty. Some were not fully cooked. I would still go back and try other dishes though. My date enjoyed his steak frites. Our appetizer of grilled octopus was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The potato bengiets were great. The lamb ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The potato bengiets were great. The lamb ribs were the size of beef ribs and loaded with fat. Not edible. Sent back. The boar ragu was chewy and fatty, not tender or shredded. Not sent back, but $18 for pasta as boar not edible. My friends mussels were tiny and the seasoning in the sauce was odd tasting. The waitress was terrific as were the cocktails. Hate to give bad food review but it was what it was. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We were welcome with graciousness at the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were welcome with graciousness at the bar as we enter the server constantly came back to make sure I water was filled and all is well the food was the licious and we had an overall outstanding evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Finally a premier food establishment in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Finally a premier food establishment in Hollywood. Eclectic appetizers, reasonable wine selection and our main course - Asian fusion shrimps - make this establishment that we will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was perfect and the food was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was delicious! We ordered a ton of food (pork belly app, octopus, swordfish, steak, boar pasta, arugula salad) and loved it all except the octopus, which was ok but not up to the same caliber as the rest of the dishes. We highly recommend it for the food, stellar service and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about this restauran ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved everything about this restaurant. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. The staff was friendly, polite and very helpful. I would highly recommend them to everyone. Loved the location too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried out American English Kitchen and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I tried out American English Kitchen and Bar during the Fort Lauderdale Dine Out series and was duly impressed with the food and service. I was looking forward to taking friends so they could see that, yes, Hollywood has great little restaurants just like their Las Olas locale, but a lot less pretentious. So, I succeeded as far as showing them a place that wasn't hoity toity but I was terribly disappointed in our service. The wait...... wait........ wait........ for drinks and dinner was ridiculous - and it wasn't even full!!! It seemed like they had enough wait staff but they just couldn't pull it together. That being said, my wine was delicious and some of our appetizers were very good while others were .... blah. I really hope they get their sh*t together, I would love to stay local and eat local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

American Kitchen was a wonderful experie ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

American Kitchen was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious. The cocktails too. Wanted to point out an appetizer that the entire party was raving about. Potato Beignets. You MUST have these.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been wanting to try this restaura ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been wanting to try this restaurant since it opened and because of the Fort Lauderdale dine, they were always booked. I finally got a reservation a month in advance and got to experience this place. The service was horrible. I had a gut feeling something was going on with the staff, etc because it seemed like no one knew what was going on and it was a Saturday evening. Once we received a drink it was fine, but it was a 3 hour dining experience and not because it was fine dining with many courses. We were there with friends and enjoyed their company and the food was delicious once it finally cAme out but there are a lot of kinks that need to be worked out or they will be closed in 6months. Customer service needs to be a priority ...we eat out often and will not run back here

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Average food at high prices; waiting tim ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Average food at high prices; waiting time between courses was unacceptable, and when pasta finally arrived, it was undercooked NOT al dente:

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We were very pleasantly surprised at the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food not to mention its deliciosity (is that a word?). Service was perfect. The chef-owner came to our table and told us his "story:" he trained with Wolfgang Puck for years in both Vegas and Australia! We find very few restaurants in No. Dade or Broward where we go back. We will go back here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was really delicious. Only pr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was really delicious. Only problem was that there were 2 desserts offered and the one we chose was not good. The apple pie was not served with ice cream ( a staple) so that was disappointing

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Attentive service yummy food if a bit pr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Attentive service yummy food if a bit pricey for the neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Snapper was delicious. Service was very ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Snapper was delicious. Service was very good. Excellent meal overall

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time back in two weeks! The ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our second time back in two weeks! The food is outstanding. The first time to this recently opened restaurant, the service needed improvement . This week, vastly improved. It's new and they're working out the kinks. Highly recommended. Concerned owners and managers and lovely young wait staff. Both times, with 6 people each time, everybody loved their selections. We ordered several appetizers, the potato beignets are the best! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

DINE OUT LAUDERDALE RESTAURANT CHOICE FO ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

DINE OUT LAUDERDALE RESTAURANT CHOICE FOR A SATURDAY NIGHT. GREAT ATMOSPHERE, STAFF SERVICE WAS A LITTLE SLOW. CHICKPEA HUMMUS WAS DELICIOUS AND THE CHOCOLATE CHIP CAKE WAS FABULOUS. BEEF TENDERLOIN WAS CHEWY AND THE FRITAS WERE TOO SALTY. UPGRADE TO STRIP STEAK WAS MUCH BETTER BUT HAD NO SIDE WITH IT. DRINKS FROM THE BAR WERE VERY GOOD. NEW RESTAURANT THAT SHOULD BE CHECKED OUT.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent. The service ter ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was excellent. The service terrible. Only 1 waiter for the entire restaurant. No back-up plan. Waited 2 hours for our main course. The staff tried but you could see there were problems...especially in the kitchen. We will give them another try it n a few months when they get the kinks ironed out. We loved the food and menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

My friend and I are both foodies, so wer ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My friend and I are both foodies, so were blown away by the delicious innovative food. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, the staff was friendly and efficient, and we would both highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hubby and I went and felt they were a li ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Hubby and I went and felt they were a little under staffed since the hostess took our order. We didn't mind because place was busy. We had the wine pairing with the Miami spice menu and I really enjoyed it. Food was absolutely delicious. The restaurant lacked ambiance a bit they should of had some background music since it was the weekend and it felt quiet at times. Luckily my husband is an entertainer. 😂 Will be going back again since we loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Kitchen staff was overwhelmed on a Satur ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kitchen staff was overwhelmed on a Saturday night. Had to wait much too long for each entree.

Waiter had to keep apologizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent dining experience. Food was s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent dining experience.

Food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent!! Can't wait to go ba ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent!! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went here for Dine out Ft. Lauderdale ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went here for Dine out Ft. Lauderdale and their selection was fabulous. When I go back I will be ordering a full order of the pork belly sliders. We also had, and thoroughly enjoyed, the hummus for our appetizers. The entrees were excellent as well, everything we ordered was great and the other selections on the menu all looked good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch and interesting food though se ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Top notch and interesting food though servers were a bit too attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You will not find a place like this outs ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

You will not find a place like this outside of going to trendy South Beach in South Florida. The food is so different then any place else. Top quality, great flavor, and an excellent chef. Hands down the best place in Tri-County area. This was my second time there, and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, interesting dishes, b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful service, interesting dishes, beautifully presented. Good value.

Totally enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend eating and America ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I would not recommend eating and American English. Upon entry we were greeted very warmly and immediately. No one else was in the restaurant. The bartender was quite pleasant and friendly. We were seated and ordered appertizers that were delicious, so I was looking forward to dinner. The entree I there for which was both on the website and on the menu was not being served (Soft shell crab in a chili sauce) but was substituted with shrimp ( a poor replacement Lobster would have been a better offering) so I the recommended braised veal shank. This was very disappointing. It lack flavor and the sauce was very tart and seemed lot a disjointed dish. My wife and friend ordered the gnocchi and lamb ragu, again the dish disappointed. The ragu had no flavor and very little lamb and the gnocchi were not very light. The last dish of our order was the carbonara and also was not very flavorful. My wife took my shank and I returned the ragu. The check was close to $400.00 and while the chef was making rounds to the other 2 covers that were in the restaurant he never approached my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food, clean, friendly, really nice ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, clean, friendly, really nice ambiance, trendy!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service great

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was delicious and service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice people and service. But our table ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice people and service. But our table was next to the open kitchen and the fans were inadequate to remove smoke and odor. Consequently, we suffered the smell throughout dinner. Menu was interesting but too limited. Food much to expensive for the ambience. Noisy. Not good enough to go back given the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I recommend trying this place NOW becaus ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I recommend trying this place NOW because once more people discover it you're not going to be able to get in. The chef/owner is truly gifted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great surprise. Never been here b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a great surprise. Never been here before and the meal was fantastic. The menu has your basic proteins, and I really enjoyed his preparation. You can tell the chef is holding back on his creativity. He blends the side dishes into a supporting cast of favors that do not conceal the main, but can stand on their own.

The bartender is really cool. I wanted a bourbon cocktail and he came over to help with something different. Then he took the time to share his love of scotch. Just a fun conversation and sharing of knowledge.

Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a new gem! We loved everything a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a new gem! We loved everything about our experience! Food is excellent. Chef came out to greet us. It was a charming experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and inventive cuisine. Great ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Delicious and inventive cuisine. Great service. Not always the best selection of music, but would otherwise highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was awesome. Chef Russ is very in ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was awesome. Chef Russ is very innovative & the service was excellent. We will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food by a great chef. Welcom ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food by a great chef. Welcome addition to downtown Hollywood. Fit for foodies !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.