Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About American English Kitchen and Bar

American English Kitchen and Bar is a new and exciting concept from Chef/Owner Russ Aaron Simon. Our mission is to offer a great culinary and hospitality experience in a comfortable and casual environment. The menu features an eclectic mix of regional American and globally influenced dishes. From Potato Beignets to Fluffy Southern Style Biscuits with Pork Belly to Singapore inspired Chilli Prawns; American English offers diners an opportunity to experience a multitude of flavors. Our Wine and Cocktail program includes unique selections from the Old and New World, and from Classic to Craft.

1900 Harrison St
Hollywood, FL 33020-5018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Social Hour - Featuring Drink and Bar Bites Specials
Tuesday - Friday 5pm to 7pm
Late Night Social Hour
Tuesday - Thursday 9pm to close, Friday & Saturday 10pm to close
Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm
Friday 5pm to 11pm
Saturday 6pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 589-0200

Website:
http://www.americanenglishkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available to our guests for $5. The valet stand is on 19th Avenue just south of Harrison Street.
Parking on the street in Downtown Hollywood is available where marked, and pay garages are located throughout the area as well.

Executive Chef:
Russ Aaron Simon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American English Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Interesting pairings. LOVE the option of portion sizes. Quickly becoming a favorite go to place for a nice meal in Hollywood

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My new favorite restaurant. Every dish is a signature dish, the chef is the owner, and the manager is also a sommelier/bartender. Great , great, great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The best restaurant in south Florida. what a find. Food, service act. AAA+++. Real FOODIE PLACE

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

There is no Steak compared to Chef Russ' s N.Y. Strip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is the 5th time here, and still has yet to disappoint on any level. My friends LOVED the tasting-sized plates, and we had grouper, shrimp, and tenderloin. The appetizer pork biscuits were sublime and well presented. Cocktails are always great here. My biggest concern is if the neighborhood will support a local, creative, well considered restaurant / bar. I support this place as much as I can, because it's the culinary gem of the area. Keep it up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The ambiance needs improvement but the food is good. Please get rid of the neon bar and match the music to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding food by a new, up and coming chef. Very creative ingredients prepared to perfection. Great selection of starters and unique salads, entrees were wonderful and the dessert selection was slim. Don't expect much in the way of decor - food quality far surpasses expectations of beautiful ambiance. Great find!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of the best N.Y. Strips ever! Pork Belly Sliders and the Octupus appetizers were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was excellent and way above average as far as quality of the cuisine. I had the flat-iron steak and it was probably the best tasting steak I had in a long time. They had 3 size options even as entree: tasting (small), full (I guess full), and sharing (I guess enough for 2). I chose the tasting size which was relatively small for an expensive meal but it was so good I didn't mind that much. I had one of their appetizers last time and I wasn't disappointed then either. Recommended for the taste but expect high cost.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The excellent food and service and the otherwise pleasant ambiance of this restaurant were completely degraded by the most jarring and incongruous playlist of headbanger music that no diner should be subjected to. Given the demographic of the clientele, the prices of the food, and the obvious efforts being made to create an upscale dining experience, the ridiculous "music" played at deafening decibel range made no sense at all. In addition, it adversely affected the owner's bottom line since we were compelled to skip coffee and dessert solely to escape the relentless soundtrack that blast throughout our meal. Come on, AE OWNER, with music appropriate for the lovely dining experience you are clearly intending to create so easily programmed via Pandora, Spotify, and similar products, there is no excuse for the mush pit music we endured the other night at your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Quickly establishing AE as best food experience in Hollywood. Congrats and thanks Russ.

Laura and I will be back shortly

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good food. Shaky but friendly service. We didn't realise it was Reggae Night and that the noise level would be so high. Not good noise either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Flavors good, but a bit off. Overall food quality is above average, but only slightly. Staff were friendly, but oddly over-attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Bad food. Awkward service. seem like nice enough people. just in the wrong business!

AND....sent a note to management....NO RESPONSE...telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is a great addition to the local dining scene. the menu is refreshingly creative, but not "out there" or overly expensive, relative to the quality. The bar is slightly more upscale than the norm for this are, and the bartender is strong. The dishes come out very visually pleasing and the staff does a reasonable job of being attentive. The chef / owner is starting to get his legs underneath him in this locale, and I am very happy to be a repeat visitor.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great menu and food!! Waitress Jessica and the chef (owner) were very friendly. Hope this restaurant succeeds in Hollywood!!
Nina and Audrey

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had the scallops, the monkfish and a piece of chocolate cake. All were delicious and the presentation was as creative as it was well thought-out. Bar was very well tended and the staff was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was sorely lacking in spite of the place not being that busy. Waitress (though very pleasant) came by several times and never once asked us if we would like another drink even though glasses were empty. If we wouldn't have asked it would have never happened. Food is pricey and my wife and I both ordered filet mignon (larger option) and when they brought the food out hers was 30% smaller. When asked the busboy tried to act as if it was normal and really just disregarded our question it felt like. (Sorry but I worked in 5 star NYC restaurants back in the day and know the difference between petit and regular)

Overall it was ok, not great and sadly not memorable. I attribute it more to poor service training from management than quality of fare. In the end we will likely never go back as there are plentiful options and this one just wasn't memorable enough to stay in the mix for me for the prices they command.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful choice of eclectic dishes not normally found in South Florida.
I particularly like the choice of portion size offered.
The owner and the general manage went out of their way to say hello and make sure that we were happy with the wine, food and service. We shall return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My pasta was undercooked (raw in the middle) and the dish was disgusting. I sent it back and they took it off the bill. No one came over to apologize or see why. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food and great service will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were outstanding.
Quite pricey and the potions are tiny.
My husband and I shared an appetizer and a dessert and 2 entrees.
We were satisfied, but not full.
The music was very loud and was not dinner music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

GM/Somm was very congenial and extremely knowledgeable about the wines. Good food well executed and creative. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Innovative menu, continuous improvements, great value!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent quality and preparation. Style of cuisine not seen in Hollywood in many years. a keeper

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The menu was creative,
The combination of flavors most interesting.
Everything was perfectly prepared.
Service was outstanding.
The staff made the four of us feel as if our happiness and comfort was most important.
All four of us would highly recommend this restaurant.
The potato beignets were most delicious as was the pulled pork appetizer.
I especially enjoyed the prawn main course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing! Has to be one of the best dining experiences in Hollywood.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was great and our server was the best we have ever had.
Get rid of the vinyl table covers.
You need to upgrade your decor to the level of your food which as I said before excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was a little empty when we went on a Wednesday to the ambiance was difficult to judge.

I have the blackened octopus which was very tasty and the filet mignon. The beef was cooked exactly how I wanted and was fork tender. The frites were the best I have had in a while in terms of the crispness and flavor. We were in town for a conference and when we go back to Hollywood again we would go back to the American English Kitchen and Bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Finally, good upscale dining in Hollywood! Staff is friendly and helpful. Inventive spins on familiar dishes. Enjoyed our dinner, will certainly return and I recommend it highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Five Star quality meals. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Congrats. Continued surprises with outstanding new menu items. A rare spot of Fine Dining in Hollywood

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Reviewers lauded the Beignets which were crisp and creamy, but the three of us were not as taken by them, matter of taste probably, though my wife and Belgium friend are serious potato lovers. For me, I would have liked a stronger bacon presence. The octopus, nicely presented in cups of lettuce skimped on the key ingredient. Linguini with wild boar ragu was good, but not sure what the wild did. The carbonara with a poached egg was big disappointment drowned in a thin sauce. My wife had red snapper, a small piece on attractive but overly charred cauliflower, her favorite vegetable. The menu suggested a short, but inventive sounding dishes, but it fell short of its promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The place was well laid out. Hostess was friendly. So were the runners and other members of the staff but our server stood out. She was wonderful and on point.

My mussels were good but not excellent. They were very small although plentiful and very tasty. Some were not fully cooked. I would still go back and try other dishes though. My date enjoyed his steak frites. Our appetizer of grilled octopus was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The potato bengiets were great. The lamb ribs were the size of beef ribs and loaded with fat. Not edible. Sent back. The boar ragu was chewy and fatty, not tender or shredded. Not sent back, but $18 for pasta as boar not edible. My friends mussels were tiny and the seasoning in the sauce was odd tasting. The waitress was terrific as were the cocktails. Hate to give bad food review but it was what it was. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Booked a large party. Food was good but service lacking. My friend ordered a steak and the plopped a different steak in front of her and said this is a better cut of meat and they ran out of the lady one. Dessert portions were so inconsistent that diners had to ask why. They left something off the bill, I mentioned it to the manager. He added it back on, never saying that you for noticing, or your honesty, or anything. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were welcome with graciousness at the bar as we enter the server constantly came back to make sure I water was filled and all is well the food was the licious and we had an overall outstanding evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Finally a premier food establishment in Hollywood. Eclectic appetizers, reasonable wine selection and our main course - Asian fusion shrimps - make this establishment that we will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was delicious! We ordered a ton of food (pork belly app, octopus, swordfish, steak, boar pasta, arugula salad) and loved it all except the octopus, which was ok but not up to the same caliber as the rest of the dishes. We highly recommend it for the food, stellar service and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved everything about this restaurant. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. The staff was friendly, polite and very helpful. I would highly recommend them to everyone. Loved the location too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.