Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About American English Kitchen and Bar

American English Kitchen and Bar is a new and exciting concept from Chef/Owner Russ Aaron Simon. Our mission is to offer a great culinary and hospitality experience in a comfortable and casual environment. The menu features an eclectic mix of regional American and globally influenced dishes. From Potato Beignets to Fluffy Southern Style Biscuits with Pork Belly to Singapore inspired Chilli Prawns; American English offers diners an opportunity to experience a multitude of flavors. Our Wine and Cocktail program includes unique selections from the Old and New World, and from Classic to Craft.

1900 Harrison St
Hollywood, FL 33020-5018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Social Hour - Featuring Drink and Bar Bites Specials
Tuesday - Friday 5pm to 7pm
Late Night Social Hour
Tuesday - Thursday 9pm to close, Friday & Saturday 10pm to close
Dinner
Tuesday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm
Friday 5pm to 11pm
Saturday 6pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 589-0200

Website:
http://www.americanenglishkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available to our guests for $5. The valet stand is on 19th Avenue just south of Harrison Street.
Parking on the street in Downtown Hollywood is available where marked, and pay garages are located throughout the area as well.

Executive Chef:
Russ Aaron Simon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American English Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great menu and food!! Waitress Jessica and the chef (owner) were very friendly. Hope this restaurant succeeds in Hollywood!!
Nina and Audrey

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had the scallops, the monkfish and a piece of chocolate cake. All were delicious and the presentation was as creative as it was well thought-out. Bar was very well tended and the staff was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was sorely lacking in spite of the place not being that busy. Waitress (though very pleasant) came by several times and never once asked us if we would like another drink even though glasses were empty. If we wouldn't have asked it would have never happened. Food is pricey and my wife and I both ordered filet mignon (larger option) and when they brought the food out hers was 30% smaller. When asked the busboy tried to act as if it was normal and really just disregarded our question it felt like. (Sorry but I worked in 5 star NYC restaurants back in the day and know the difference between petit and regular)

Overall it was ok, not great and sadly not memorable. I attribute it more to poor service training from management than quality of fare. In the end we will likely never go back as there are plentiful options and this one just wasn't memorable enough to stay in the mix for me for the prices they command.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful choice of eclectic dishes not normally found in South Florida.
I particularly like the choice of portion size offered.
The owner and the general manage went out of their way to say hello and make sure that we were happy with the wine, food and service. We shall return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My pasta was undercooked (raw in the middle) and the dish was disgusting. I sent it back and they took it off the bill. No one came over to apologize or see why. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food and great service will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were outstanding.
Quite pricey and the potions are tiny.
My husband and I shared an appetizer and a dessert and 2 entrees.
We were satisfied, but not full.
The music was very loud and was not dinner music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

GM/Somm was very congenial and extremely knowledgeable about the wines. Good food well executed and creative. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Innovative menu, continuous improvements, great value!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent quality and preparation. Style of cuisine not seen in Hollywood in many years. a keeper

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The menu was creative,
The combination of flavors most interesting.
Everything was perfectly prepared.
Service was outstanding.
The staff made the four of us feel as if our happiness and comfort was most important.
All four of us would highly recommend this restaurant.
The potato beignets were most delicious as was the pulled pork appetizer.
I especially enjoyed the prawn main course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing! Has to be one of the best dining experiences in Hollywood.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was great and our server was the best we have ever had.
Get rid of the vinyl table covers.
You need to upgrade your decor to the level of your food which as I said before excellent.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It was a little empty when we went on a Wednesday to the ambiance was difficult to judge.

I have the blackened octopus which was very tasty and the filet mignon. The beef was cooked exactly how I wanted and was fork tender. The frites were the best I have had in a while in terms of the crispness and flavor. We were in town for a conference and when we go back to Hollywood again we would go back to the American English Kitchen and Bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Finally, good upscale dining in Hollywood! Staff is friendly and helpful. Inventive spins on familiar dishes. Enjoyed our dinner, will certainly return and I recommend it highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Five Star quality meals. Pleasant staff.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Congrats. Continued surprises with outstanding new menu items. A rare spot of Fine Dining in Hollywood

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Reviewers lauded the Beignets which were crisp and creamy, but the three of us were not as taken by them, matter of taste probably, though my wife and Belgium friend are serious potato lovers. For me, I would have liked a stronger bacon presence. The octopus, nicely presented in cups of lettuce skimped on the key ingredient. Linguini with wild boar ragu was good, but not sure what the wild did. The carbonara with a poached egg was big disappointment drowned in a thin sauce. My wife had red snapper, a small piece on attractive but overly charred cauliflower, her favorite vegetable. The menu suggested a short, but inventive sounding dishes, but it fell short of its promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The place was well laid out. Hostess was friendly. So were the runners and other members of the staff but our server stood out. She was wonderful and on point.

My mussels were good but not excellent. They were very small although plentiful and very tasty. Some were not fully cooked. I would still go back and try other dishes though. My date enjoyed his steak frites. Our appetizer of grilled octopus was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The potato bengiets were great. The lamb ribs were the size of beef ribs and loaded with fat. Not edible. Sent back. The boar ragu was chewy and fatty, not tender or shredded. Not sent back, but $18 for pasta as boar not edible. My friends mussels were tiny and the seasoning in the sauce was odd tasting. The waitress was terrific as were the cocktails. Hate to give bad food review but it was what it was. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Booked a large party. Food was good but service lacking. My friend ordered a steak and the plopped a different steak in front of her and said this is a better cut of meat and they ran out of the lady one. Dessert portions were so inconsistent that diners had to ask why. They left something off the bill, I mentioned it to the manager. He added it back on, never saying that you for noticing, or your honesty, or anything. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were welcome with graciousness at the bar as we enter the server constantly came back to make sure I water was filled and all is well the food was the licious and we had an overall outstanding evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Finally a premier food establishment in Hollywood. Eclectic appetizers, reasonable wine selection and our main course - Asian fusion shrimps - make this establishment that we will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was delicious! We ordered a ton of food (pork belly app, octopus, swordfish, steak, boar pasta, arugula salad) and loved it all except the octopus, which was ok but not up to the same caliber as the rest of the dishes. We highly recommend it for the food, stellar service and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved everything about this restaurant. The food was delicious and prepared to perfection. The staff was friendly, polite and very helpful. I would highly recommend them to everyone. Loved the location too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I tried out American English Kitchen and Bar during the Fort Lauderdale Dine Out series and was duly impressed with the food and service. I was looking forward to taking friends so they could see that, yes, Hollywood has great little restaurants just like their Las Olas locale, but a lot less pretentious. So, I succeeded as far as showing them a place that wasn't hoity toity but I was terribly disappointed in our service. The wait...... wait........ wait........ for drinks and dinner was ridiculous - and it wasn't even full!!! It seemed like they had enough wait staff but they just couldn't pull it together. That being said, my wine was delicious and some of our appetizers were very good while others were .... blah. I really hope they get their sh*t together, I would love to stay local and eat local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

American Kitchen was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious. The cocktails too. Wanted to point out an appetizer that the entire party was raving about. Potato Beignets. You MUST have these.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been wanting to try this restaurant since it opened and because of the Fort Lauderdale dine, they were always booked. I finally got a reservation a month in advance and got to experience this place. The service was horrible. I had a gut feeling something was going on with the staff, etc because it seemed like no one knew what was going on and it was a Saturday evening. Once we received a drink it was fine, but it was a 3 hour dining experience and not because it was fine dining with many courses. We were there with friends and enjoyed their company and the food was delicious once it finally cAme out but there are a lot of kinks that need to be worked out or they will be closed in 6months. Customer service needs to be a priority ...we eat out often and will not run back here

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Average food at high prices; waiting time between courses was unacceptable, and when pasta finally arrived, it was undercooked NOT al dente:

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food not to mention its deliciosity (is that a word?). Service was perfect. The chef-owner came to our table and told us his "story:" he trained with Wolfgang Puck for years in both Vegas and Australia! We find very few restaurants in No. Dade or Broward where we go back. We will go back here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was really delicious. Only problem was that there were 2 desserts offered and the one we chose was not good. The apple pie was not served with ice cream ( a staple) so that was disappointing

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Attentive service yummy food if a bit pricey for the neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Snapper was delicious. Service was very good. Excellent meal overall

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our second time back in two weeks! The food is outstanding. The first time to this recently opened restaurant, the service needed improvement . This week, vastly improved. It's new and they're working out the kinks. Highly recommended. Concerned owners and managers and lovely young wait staff. Both times, with 6 people each time, everybody loved their selections. We ordered several appetizers, the potato beignets are the best! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

DINE OUT LAUDERDALE RESTAURANT CHOICE FOR A SATURDAY NIGHT. GREAT ATMOSPHERE, STAFF SERVICE WAS A LITTLE SLOW. CHICKPEA HUMMUS WAS DELICIOUS AND THE CHOCOLATE CHIP CAKE WAS FABULOUS. BEEF TENDERLOIN WAS CHEWY AND THE FRITAS WERE TOO SALTY. UPGRADE TO STRIP STEAK WAS MUCH BETTER BUT HAD NO SIDE WITH IT. DRINKS FROM THE BAR WERE VERY GOOD. NEW RESTAURANT THAT SHOULD BE CHECKED OUT.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was excellent. The service terrible. Only 1 waiter for the entire restaurant. No back-up plan. Waited 2 hours for our main course. The staff tried but you could see there were problems...especially in the kitchen. We will give them another try it n a few months when they get the kinks ironed out. We loved the food and menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My friend and I are both foodies, so were blown away by the delicious innovative food. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, the staff was friendly and efficient, and we would both highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Hubby and I went and felt they were a little under staffed since the hostess took our order. We didn't mind because place was busy. We had the wine pairing with the Miami spice menu and I really enjoyed it. Food was absolutely delicious. The restaurant lacked ambiance a bit they should of had some background music since it was the weekend and it felt quiet at times. Luckily my husband is an entertainer. 😂 Will be going back again since we loved the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Kitchen staff was overwhelmed on a Saturday night. Had to wait much too long for each entree.

Waiter had to keep apologizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent dining experience.
Food was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.