About American English Kitchen and Bar

1900 Harrison St
Hollywood, FL 33020-5018
View Larger Map

American English Kitchen and Bar is a new and exciting concept from Chef/Owner Russ Aaron Simon. Our mission is to offer a great culinary and hospitality experience in a comfortable and casual environment. The menu features an eclectic mix of regional American and globally influenced dishes. From Seasonal Fish Crudo to Fluffy Southern Style Biscuits with Pork Belly to Singapore inspired Chilli Prawns; American English offers diners an opportunity to experience a multitude of flavors. Our Wine and Cocktail program includes unique selections from the Old and New World, and from Classic to Craft.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday 6pm to 10pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 589-0200

Website:
http://www.americanenglishkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available to our guests for $5. The valet stand is on 19th Avenue just south of Harrison Street.
Parking on the street in Downtown Hollywood is available where marked, and pay garages are located throughout the area as well.

Executive Chef:
Russ Aaron Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

American English Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (1)
Romantic (1)
See All
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
16 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You will not find a place like this outs ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

You will not find a place like this outside of going to trendy South Beach in South Florida. The food is so different then any place else. Top quality, great flavor, and an excellent chef. Hands down the best place in Tri-County area. This was my second time there, and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, interesting dishes, b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful service, interesting dishes, beautifully presented. Good value.

Totally enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend eating and America ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I would not recommend eating and American English. Upon entry we were greeted very warmly and immediately. No one else was in the restaurant. The bartender was quite pleasant and friendly. We were seated and ordered appertizers that were delicious, so I was looking forward to dinner. The entree I there for which was both on the website and on the menu was not being served (Soft shell crab in a chili sauce) but was substituted with shrimp ( a poor replacement Lobster would have been a better offering) so I the recommended braised veal shank. This was very disappointing. It lack flavor and the sauce was very tart and seemed lot a disjointed dish. My wife and friend ordered the gnocchi and lamb ragu, again the dish disappointed. The ragu had no flavor and very little lamb and the gnocchi were not very light. The last dish of our order was the carbonara and also was not very flavorful. My wife took my shank and I returned the ragu. The check was close to $400.00 and while the chef was making rounds to the other 2 covers that were in the restaurant he never approached my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food, clean, friendly, really nice ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, clean, friendly, really nice ambiance, trendy!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service great

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was delicious and service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice people and service. But our table ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice people and service. But our table was next to the open kitchen and the fans were inadequate to remove smoke and odor. Consequently, we suffered the smell throughout dinner. Menu was interesting but too limited. Food much to expensive for the ambience. Noisy. Not good enough to go back given the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I recommend trying this place NOW becaus ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I recommend trying this place NOW because once more people discover it you're not going to be able to get in. The chef/owner is truly gifted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great surprise. Never been here b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a great surprise. Never been here before and the meal was fantastic. The menu has your basic proteins, and I really enjoyed his preparation. You can tell the chef is holding back on his creativity. He blends the side dishes into a supporting cast of favors that do not conceal the main, but can stand on their own.

The bartender is really cool. I wanted a bourbon cocktail and he came over to help with something different. Then he took the time to share his love of scotch. Just a fun conversation and sharing of knowledge.

Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a new gem! We loved everything a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a new gem! We loved everything about our experience! Food is excellent. Chef came out to greet us. It was a charming experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and inventive cuisine. Great ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Delicious and inventive cuisine. Great service. Not always the best selection of music, but would otherwise highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was awesome. Chef Russ is very in ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was awesome. Chef Russ is very innovative & the service was excellent. We will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food by a great chef. Welcom ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food by a great chef. Welcome addition to downtown Hollywood. Fit for foodies !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Octopus was absolutely one of the best I ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Octopus was absolutely one of the best I have ever tried. NY Strip was phenomenal!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We'll be bac ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service and food. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in downtown Hollywood! F ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best restaurant in downtown Hollywood! Food is amazing! They just opened this week and I've already been there twice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bar area upon entering restaurant. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great bar area upon entering restaurant. Food is delicious from tomato slices with burrata to grouper and steak. Best of all - chocolate chip cake for dessert! New restaurant - but servers and chefs were attentive and served food promptly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.