About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list. Executive Chef Shaun Brady hails from Tippiery, Ireland and offers an unforgettable dining experience.

Reserve is located downtown Kansas City, open 365 days a year. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch. You can enjoy Happy Hour Monday - Friday. Reserve can accommodate most dietary needs. All guests of Reserve can enjoy complimentary self-parking next to the Ambassador Hotel.

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Ambassador Hotel offers 3 unique private dinning options including our Grand Ballroom, Founders Room and Reserve Restaurant.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Historic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great but took awhile to come.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place? Service is over the top wonderful and food always great. Thanks so much for another lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Although we suffered through a few missteps our overall experience was great. Stuffed salmon entree was light and delicious. Please turn the lights up a little, it's too dark!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Concert at Sprint Center

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Consistently amazing! I always have a great experience -- Awesome food, drinks, and service every time!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great crab cakes for brunch. Could use a little dressing on the arugula to create a salad instead of just a garnish. Mimosas were nice. Bloody Marys looked wonderful, but I didn't sample them. Truffle fries with the burger were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Reserve at the Ambassador is among the best of what Kansas City has to offer. The beautiful, historical setting, menu options and service are all outstanding. My steak was done to perfection, and my husband's stuffed salmon dish was creative and tasty. Kudos to the chef and to all who help to make Reserve a favorite place to be!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Nikki was a fabulous server, very knowledgeable about the new menu options and her recommendations were spot-on. Excellent all around!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was phenomenal!!! The food was great....I had the maple bacon waffles.....perfect. The bloody Mary's were simple but extremely tasty! I will definitely be heading back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place bone marrow is so good and so is PEI mussles

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great staff! The beet salad was like none other. Ambiance is unique for KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We hadn't been to the Ambassador hotel, nor the Reserve restaurant, so we tried it out for our 10th anniversary. We were lucky enough to find an empty parking space on the street (doubtful that happens often), but the hotel staff told us that we could pull up to their private, gated parking and we could tell them on the intercom that we are dining at the Reserve, and they would let us in. When we entered the hotel, we weren't sure we were at the right place, because the restaurant seemed so small -- but it was, indeed, the Reserve. There was only one other couple in the whole place (it was a Wednesday, and a rare day that downtown seemed dead the days). Nevertheless, we were seated in a super-cool, cozy booth-and-table and we were loving the ambience. Cozy, sophisticated, comfortable, romantic. Servers were great, food was FANTASTIC, and price was expected (though not overpriced like many hotel restaurants). After a great meal and dessert, we reluctantly departed for home. We think this will be a great place to bring friends and family for happy hours and special occasions, because -- for one thing -- you can actually talk to the people you are with without having to yell over a crowd or loud music. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Liked the atmosphere, it was intimate with low lighting and couches to sit on if you prefer. The food was decent but not mind blowing. Cocktails were unique and well made.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

A hidden gem in Downtown Kansas City. It was date night happy hour and the ambiance was incredible. The staff were very attentive to our needs and the food was delicious. We liked it so much that we plan on spending a night at the hotel next time. I'm a little reluctant to share our secret date night getaway.😁

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

One of our favorites!! I don't know of anyplace in KC that treats its guests so well. They truly do hospitality as it should be! We love, love LOVE the Ambassador!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food is always fantastic. They have their own, gated parking next to the venue, at no extra charge. The chef is awesome and comes out and talks about the dishes you ordered and how he created them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The bar/lounge/restaurant is very posh and very comfortable. The menu is largely Irish comfort food as a result of Irish manager in the hotel and Chef Sean from Tipperary. He is enthusiastic and a joy talk to when he visits tables. We started with mussels in Guinness cream sauce served with very hearty bread. My wife had a steak with seasoned potatoes and broccoli. I had steak and Guinness pie with a salad. Dessert was an Irish Banofee pie. It all was great and accompanied with a broad wine selection. The service was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was romantic. We loved it and will return.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really enjoyed the food! Good size servings and wonderful taste. We shared a flatbread, which had a nice soft crust, which I prefer, and an entrée. Both were fantastic. The salads were also really good. I love beets, and the beet salad was amazing. The dessert was the real topper, though. A big, warm chocolate chip cookie in a little skillet with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. OMG!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing. This is the second time we have dying to hear. We loved it so much we went back in the morning for brunch. Fabulous staff, excellent service. The food is top notch. Absolutely fantastic. Highly highly recommend. Five stars plus. We had to wait a few extra minutes for our food and the manager came over to check on us if you times, then offered us a free dessert and 20% off of our bill, we did not complain about anything she offered it out right. Wonderful! Absolutely nothing to complain about it all. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner- great service. Would have liked the special menu to have been on the website when I made the reservation. Chef "touching tables" was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first time at Reserve and we really enjoyed it. The food was outstanding and the service was great. We enjoyed chatting with the chef, Shaun, and we definitely plan on going back to Reserve (probably several times with different friends). The ambience is very cool and it isn't a loud environment at all. Definitely recommend this restaurant and I want to go back and try some of the other entrees that look so good.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Such a beautiful place! Friendly service, excellent food and phenomenal specialty cocktails. If you want to take your sweetheart somewhere special this is where you should go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This place was unreal. Everyone NEEDS to try the bone marrow. Weird, I know. However, the flavor is fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went to Reserve for restaurant week. The place is small and very posh- a very lounge-y feel to it. I had the bone marrow for my first course- it was incredible- very rich and filling. I would go back just for that! I got the beef and Guinness pie for my second course, it was good, but not amazing. For dessert I had the skillet cookie, which was awesome! I barely had any of my second course, I took most of it home and ate it for lunch the next day. I would go back and just get the bone marrow and the cookie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This place was a great find! Cozy interior and glamorous feel. If you're looking for a unique dish the bone marrow was phenomenal!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and staff were fantastic. I loved the decor as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best hidden gems in Kansas City! Ambiance unlike anything else. Friendly bar keep and amazing food menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I think this was one of the best meals I've ever had. Every thing was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I came for the Restaurant Week menu with a friend of mine. I was very eager to try the restaurant which is near my apartment. Upon walking in, I had very high expectations. The actual facade of the restaurant is hip and expensive looking.

We had to wait quite a while for a server to eventually come and take our order. When someone finally came to greeted us, they asked for our first course. I ordered the bone marrow and my partner ordered the caesar salad. Then, not 5 minutes later, a different server came to introduce himself and asked for our entire first three courses? We weren't given any explanation as to what happened. The bread basket we received had some burnt slices with it. We also weren't given any butter an only olive oil for dipping, which my partner does not like.

The bone marrow was rich and delicious. The bread that was served with it was even better! I found the marrow to be a bit too rich and greasy. My partner's caesar salad was also well made and not overdressed.

We both ordered the sirloin steak medium-rare with a peppercorn sauce. I found my steak to be cooked superbly but with a distinct layer of chewy fat unfortunately. I also found some larger bits of peppercorn in my sauce which ruined the taste every few bites. The fries were a little overcooked for my taste although my partner enjoyed them.

The highlight of our entire meal was the dessert. I had the cookie skillet which was phenomenal!! If I returned, it would be to eat this. My partner had the berries and sorbet which were also delicious. The executive chef of the restaurant also personally visited the table which was a nice gesture.

Overall, it was a good meal but not worth the $33.00 each we spent on the meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our food came out cold, steaks were overcooked and dry, hollandaise sauce was super thick, and potatoes were soggy. Ambiance was great, but food needs a lot of improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were able to get a table for 12 on New Year's Day on just a few hours notice. The decor and ambiance were elegant yet casual. We arrived shortly before our 11:00 reservation and there were not many people there, but it started to fill up as the morning progressed. The service was excellent! Sometimes with large groups service can be a little hit or miss at some restaurants. The orders were all correct and served at the same time. When ordering I asked if the orange juice was fresh squeezed (why splurge if its not?). Although they normally serve OJ from concentrate, they went back and actually squeezed fresh juice for me. WOW! So nice! And there was no mistaking it was fresh squeezed. I ordered corned beef hash which was amazing with big, tender chunks of corned beef. We also shared some of the scones with whipped creme and blackberry preserves. Holy cow, so yummy. The soda bread served with the hash was ok, but I think I'd been spoiled by having the scones first. Out of our entire party only one person wasn't totally satisfied with their food, and he ordered a burger. He said it was kind of bland and unseasoned....but the sweet potato fries were great. Crisp on the outside even, sometimes sweet potato fries can be just mushy. We will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent going ranging from apps to dessert. I got the braised short rib and my wife got the salmon. It was delicious. My Ceasar salad and my wife's arugula was very tasty and fresh. The cheesecake...omg; it was the piece de resistance.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first time to Reserve at the Ambassador Hotel. The food was excellent, the vibe of the restaurant is upscale but quaint, service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing service food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a nice surprise! Found the Ambassador Reserve on Open Table's list of restaurants open on Christmas. Parking is fenced and right next to the hotel. Greeted warmly by the maitre d' at the door for an early (4:30) dinner. Started with a large glass (not a flute) of delicious prosecco. The house salad and baby beet salad were excellent. We then had wonderful baked stuffed salmon and the tender, tasty braised short ribs. Both were hot and generous portions. They could not have been prepared better. Given the quality of the meals, the price was right. As a bonus, we lost a license and ID in the parking lot; the hotel contacted us as soon as someone turned them in and their team could research our phone number. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My parents and I had Brunch on Christmas morning. The food was wonderful, as was the service. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Can't say enough great things about The Reserve! Every single time I've been here the service has been outstanding and the food is phenomenal. Great hidden gem downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our food was fairly tasty but not anything outstanding. We had the crab stuffed portobello as an appetizer and mushroom was dry and the stuffing was more bread crumbs than crab. Fact is, not even sure there was any crab in it.

Our main courses were well prepared but there was no WOW factor.

We dined on a Thursday evening and the place was virtually empty, except for a large birthday gathering and one person sitting at the bar. Our waiter was very "green" and our dining experience would have been better with a more enthusiastic and knowledgeable server.

My wife pointed out the lack of table cloths. She concluded that for the price of the food/ beverages and the retro decor, they should have been included.

This place is OK, but does not crack my top 20 list of restaurants in Kansas City.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had an exceptional dinner. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.