About Ambassador Hotel - Reserve

Reserve is a vibrant downtown dining gem, with a warm setting distinguished by a chic décor, elegant marble walls and lofty 20-foot ceilings.

For gourmet breakfasts, business lunches and intimate dinners alike, guests may select from an inventive, locally sourced seasonal menu perfectly complemented by signature cocktails and an impressive wine list. Executive Chef Shaun Brady hails from Tippiery, Ireland and offers an unforgettable dining experience.

Reserve is located downtown Kansas City, open 365 days a year. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch. You can enjoy Happy Hour Monday - Friday. Reserve can accommodate most dietary needs. All guests of Reserve can enjoy complimentary self-parking next to the Ambassador Hotel.

1111 Grand Boulevard
Kansas City, MO 64106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Bar/ Lounge: Sunday - Thursday: 7:00am - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 7:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-7700

Website:
http://www.reservekc.com/

Parking Details:
Private gated lot. Reserve patrons are welcome to share the lot with hotel guests free of charge on a first-come first-serve basis.

Executive Chef:
Shaun Brady

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weekend Brunch
Private Dining
Wine Dinners
Chef's Table
Holiday Parties
Rehearsal Dinners
Weddings

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Reserve is located inside the Ambassador Hotel with two unique private dining options, the Grand Ballroom and Founders Room. The restaurant dining area is also available for private events.

Ambassador Hotel - Reserve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat when in Kansas City if you want a quieter evening than what most other places downtown offer. Along with the service, the food was outstanding. I will most certainly eat here again when in Kansas City.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Our family enjoyed dining here for brunch on Sunday. There is parking in a gated lot just south of the hotel. You will need to buzz them, let them know you are dining in the restaurant and the parking is complimentary. We enjoyed the quiet ambiance, the impeccable service and the wonderful menu choices. I enjoyed the Breakfast Bowl with quinoa, eggs, and vegetables. At our table we also ordered Eggs Benedict, the Signature breakfast, pancakes and Avocado Toast. The only item that was not as expected was the Avocado Toast. But everything was delicious and the menu was extensive. What a lovely way to spend Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great place to meet friends for Happy Hour. Food and drinks are excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

While in town for the Charlie Parker Celebration Festival, I was able to get a good table and see the live entertainment here - with little notice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I come here all the time. In fact, it's one of my favorite places downtown. I was really disappointed on August 9. The menu was MUCH more limited than normal. No sliders. No mac & cheese. No jalapeño syrup for happy hour drink. Truffle fries were mushy, not crispy. Etc. Add to that the terrible service. I mean go to up the bar to get a second round of drinks because wait staff was MIA. Almost never came back to table even after we got our food. Forgot mayo we requested. And it was super loud. I'll be back because I am sure this had to just be an off night, but really hope they pull it back together. Usually love it -- very pretty bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We were staying at the Ambassador for our wedding anniversary and decided to give Reserve a try. We loved it! The steaks were very good -- prepared just as we ordered them. Each of the sides were plenty to share between 2 people. Great ambience and very good food made us come back for breakfast!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I went for my birthday this place is amazing with great service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Decided to try for breakfast. Very nicely done! Quality options. Quiet environment so great for conversation. Breakfast options were varied with something for everyone regardless of appetite. Food was served hot and presentation was very appetizing. Service was excellent. Check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is always my #1 place to go downtown. Awesome happy hour. Great selection. Nice people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great ambiance and food. Jazz singer was wonderful. Don't bother with dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Once again, the Reserve delivered. The exquisitely designed menu makes it almost impossible to make a decision. I have tried something different every time I have been, and I have yet to be disappointed. I am baffled as to why this place isn't packed every day - it is KC's best kept secret! No where else will you find such finely crafted food at such a reasonable price in such a classy atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

What a gem! This is a beautiful place for a special meal! Very intimate atmosphere with great ambiance. The service was great- even refolding my husband's napkin when he left the table for a few minutes.
There is parking beside the hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Love this place! Beautifully ambiance, great food and great service! Old Hollywood atmosphere- very chic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Brunch
Great service, good food, good cocktails, and neat set up.
Only negative was that is was a little warm for comfort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Really enjoyed having breakfast there with my husband for our anniversary. Very upscale but in expensive and the food is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I met with my work friends for dinner and drinks before the KNOTB concert. The ambiance, drinks and food were just perfect. We enjoyed the meatballs and truffle fries which were divine. They also have a nice variety of happy hour drinks and cocktails. Most of us ordered the stuffed salmon and it was amazing. I would recommend the restaurant for drinks or dinner with spouses or friends again. They also did a great job getting us out the door in time to make the concert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It was delicious!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Reserve is a gem restaurant, hidden in the five-star Ambassador hotel in downtown Kansas City. This creative chef's offerings are Ireland-inspired, and compare favorably to the finest steak houses in the Midwest. Local produce and proteins are featured. Well worth the visit, if nothing more than to enjoy the quiet ambiance and to taste the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

3 out of 4 dinners were below average. Crab stuffed salmon was pretty decent. Linguine (which was actually spaghetti) had no flavor. Flat bread with beef and Gorgonzola was DROWNING in balsamic vinegar. Pork chop was extremely dry. Appetizer came out with meal and with no apology. Too many other better options out there. Despite the cool venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Was hesitant to try given it was within a hotel but I know from a prior experience that the chef makes the restaurant, not the host building. Food was great, especially the steak my wife had, which was cooked and seasoned to perfection. Food was reasonably priced and my banana bread pudding dessert was excellent. Service was ultimately the driver behind the overall 5-star rating; wait staff were friendly and courteous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great but took awhile to come.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place? Service is over the top wonderful and food always great. Thanks so much for another lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Although we suffered through a few missteps our overall experience was great. Stuffed salmon entree was light and delicious. Please turn the lights up a little, it's too dark!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Concert at Sprint Center

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Consistently amazing! I always have a great experience -- Awesome food, drinks, and service every time!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great crab cakes for brunch. Could use a little dressing on the arugula to create a salad instead of just a garnish. Mimosas were nice. Bloody Marys looked wonderful, but I didn't sample them. Truffle fries with the burger were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Reserve at the Ambassador is among the best of what Kansas City has to offer. The beautiful, historical setting, menu options and service are all outstanding. My steak was done to perfection, and my husband's stuffed salmon dish was creative and tasty. Kudos to the chef and to all who help to make Reserve a favorite place to be!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Nikki was a fabulous server, very knowledgeable about the new menu options and her recommendations were spot-on. Excellent all around!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was phenomenal!!! The food was great....I had the maple bacon waffles.....perfect. The bloody Mary's were simple but extremely tasty! I will definitely be heading back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love this place bone marrow is so good and so is PEI mussles

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great staff! The beet salad was like none other. Ambiance is unique for KC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We hadn't been to the Ambassador hotel, nor the Reserve restaurant, so we tried it out for our 10th anniversary. We were lucky enough to find an empty parking space on the street (doubtful that happens often), but the hotel staff told us that we could pull up to their private, gated parking and we could tell them on the intercom that we are dining at the Reserve, and they would let us in. When we entered the hotel, we weren't sure we were at the right place, because the restaurant seemed so small -- but it was, indeed, the Reserve. There was only one other couple in the whole place (it was a Wednesday, and a rare day that downtown seemed dead the days). Nevertheless, we were seated in a super-cool, cozy booth-and-table and we were loving the ambience. Cozy, sophisticated, comfortable, romantic. Servers were great, food was FANTASTIC, and price was expected (though not overpriced like many hotel restaurants). After a great meal and dessert, we reluctantly departed for home. We think this will be a great place to bring friends and family for happy hours and special occasions, because -- for one thing -- you can actually talk to the people you are with without having to yell over a crowd or loud music. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Liked the atmosphere, it was intimate with low lighting and couches to sit on if you prefer. The food was decent but not mind blowing. Cocktails were unique and well made.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

A hidden gem in Downtown Kansas City. It was date night happy hour and the ambiance was incredible. The staff were very attentive to our needs and the food was delicious. We liked it so much that we plan on spending a night at the hotel next time. I'm a little reluctant to share our secret date night getaway.😁

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

One of our favorites!! I don't know of anyplace in KC that treats its guests so well. They truly do hospitality as it should be! We love, love LOVE the Ambassador!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food is always fantastic. They have their own, gated parking next to the venue, at no extra charge. The chef is awesome and comes out and talks about the dishes you ordered and how he created them.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The bar/lounge/restaurant is very posh and very comfortable. The menu is largely Irish comfort food as a result of Irish manager in the hotel and Chef Sean from Tipperary. He is enthusiastic and a joy talk to when he visits tables. We started with mussels in Guinness cream sauce served with very hearty bread. My wife had a steak with seasoned potatoes and broccoli. I had steak and Guinness pie with a salad. Dessert was an Irish Banofee pie. It all was great and accompanied with a broad wine selection. The service was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was romantic. We loved it and will return.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the food! Good size servings and wonderful taste. We shared a flatbread, which had a nice soft crust, which I prefer, and an entrée. Both were fantastic. The salads were also really good. I love beets, and the beet salad was amazing. The dessert was the real topper, though. A big, warm chocolate chip cookie in a little skillet with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. OMG!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Absolutely amazing. This is the second time we have dying to hear. We loved it so much we went back in the morning for brunch. Fabulous staff, excellent service. The food is top notch. Absolutely fantastic. Highly highly recommend. Five stars plus. We had to wait a few extra minutes for our food and the manager came over to check on us if you times, then offered us a free dessert and 20% off of our bill, we did not complain about anything she offered it out right. Wonderful! Absolutely nothing to complain about it all. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner- great service. Would have liked the special menu to have been on the website when I made the reservation. Chef "touching tables" was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.