About Almond

12 East 22nd Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Almond blends farm-to-table culture in a vibrant, comfortable atmosphere.

Co-owner and Executive Chef Jason Weiner creates seasonal & daily menus that are driven by market-fresh ingredients. Almond's local & sustainable fish offerings are illuminated through an open raw bar. Classic Almond dishes, beloved at Almond's sister restaurants (Almond Bridgehampton & Almond Tribeca), are highlighted with Brussels Sprouts Two-Ways and Steak Frites, amongst others. Unique to the menu is a selection of "Small Things," masterfully conceived dishes that can be enjoyed in a few bites that range from Roasted Chickpeas to Lobster Sausage.

The wine list, handpicked by co-owner Eric Lemonides, offers an affordable selection of wines. Specialty cocktails, NY craft beers, and raw bar selections, along with the entire menu, at the restaurant’s spacious 20-seat bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Mediterranean, French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch 10:30 AM Weekends ; Lunch 11:30 AM Weekdays; Dinner 6pm Nightly

Cross Street:
Broadway & Park Avenue South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-7557

Website:
http://almondrestaurant.com/s/flatiron/

Parking Details:
Multiple parking lots are available in the neighborhood.

Public Transit:
23rd Street Stop on the F, R & 6

Executive Chef:
Jason Weiner

Private Party Facilities:
Almond can accommodate sit down functions from 20-150, and standing cocktail events up to 225

Private Party Contact:
Bismark Irving bismark@almondnyc.com: (212) 228-7557 ext. 13

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

Meatless Mondays!

Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Amazing Locally Sourced Vegetarian Courses for $39. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy the Best of Upstate and East End Produce every Monday!. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Two Courses & a Glass of Wine or Beer for $27. Excludes Tax and Tip. Check out this week's menu on our website. Special valid Jan 10, 2017 - May 10, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Almond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (33)
Casual (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Seasonal (13)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

love the food, service and layout. very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

love the food, service and layout. very consistent and cozy.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. We went on the advice of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Disappointing. We went on the advice of a friend. Food took forever to arrive, restaurant was too loud, and when the food did arrive it was mediocre. What was unfortunate is of 3 out of 4 diners felt sick afterwards. Fortunately none of his did get sick. I had the "large" veal chop special it was at least 50 percent fat, the Mac and cheese with spec and truffle was mediocre. Our waiter was nice was all I can say positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is such a gem! It's cosy, ele ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This place is such a gem! It's cosy, elegant and welcoming without being pretentious. The food is delicious - healthy, comfort food all around.

I love it and will be back many times over.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have a simple rating scale ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have a simple rating scale for NY Restaurants because there are so many. 1. Won't go back. 2. Glad we tried it once. 3. Would definitely come back.

Almond is clearly a 3 - great, cozy room with attentive service and wonderful food. If you haven't gone, try it. You'll be back for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was good overall, though the salmon ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Meal was good overall, though the salmon special was a bit "fishy" - not as fresh as it should have been. Ambiance - the space is great. Have always liked the warmth of the design; however, it was uncomfortably HOT all evening (and we arrived at 6pm - not crowded but already hot). It only got worse from there. Hopefully this was a "one-off" situation, but it made the evening very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very good as always. My only issue with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good as always. My only issue with Almond is that the noise level rises as the restaurant fills up. Solve that and Almond is a grand slam.

For the record, the old fashioneds were excellent and the mussels and flatbread appy's were great. My salmon was excellent and my associates enjoyed their pork and chicken. Too full for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always it's fabulous! Never fails, lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

As always it's fabulous! Never fails, love brussel sprouts two ways. Genius!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So pleased with their creative menu; We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

So pleased with their creative menu; We went on their 'meatless monday' and thoroughly enjoyed the superb food and adventurous menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to catch up with a friend. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great place to catch up with a friend. The staff is great. The food is always good. I recommend trying the buffalo cauliflower

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place and also the Hampstons o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place and also the Hampstons one my ex found it for me !

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was amazing! Can't remember the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service was amazing! Can't remember the waitress' name but she had some cool and funky glasses.

Fish and Chips were awesome! Hostess was super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic brunch menu, nothing is "elevate ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Classic brunch menu, nothing is "elevated" or "reimagined" which is nice sometimes. Food is good, not spectacular. Efficient servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Girls Night Out, we had a few drinks on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Girls Night Out, we had a few drinks on a rooftop near by and we were actually early for our reservation. We were seated immediately. The menu has a wide variety of choices and everything was wonderful. We shared the mussels, I had the cavatelli with sausage, one friend had the chicken and the other the hangar steak. All were great. I would def go back with a larger group so we could share more of the appetizers, some really interesting choices.

Our server was knowledgeable and not overbearing. She was always around to answer questions and gave us our time while enjoying our meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's my neighborhood restaurant so I giv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It's my neighborhood restaurant so I give it a shot every once in a while. Today I had a business lunch and it was only disappointing experience. My risotto was super dry as a big hard lump . My clients steak was also very dry had no presentation. Sad story .

The service was nice as they tried to replace efficiently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We loved it! Such good food and good amb ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We loved it! Such good food and good ambiance

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always enjoy Almond for lunch and dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always enjoy Almond for lunch and dinner with friends and colleagues. The food is fresh and tasty--my favorite is their Brussels Sprouts dish. A delicious, dependable and lovely "go-to" in the Flatiron/Madison Square Park area.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very disappointed in this choice. At thi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very disappointed in this choice. At this price point, one would expect better service. Table was never wiped during the course of the whole meal, inadequate small plates and cutlery for the various courses (ordered pate and it was served in a small jar with no small knife or spoon to get it out of said small jar. Asked for a small knife or spoon, was handed a shrimp cocktail fork by the non english speaking and confused busboy, and said never mind). Ordered the sea bass, which was overcooked and served on a bed of fingerling potatoes that was so salty that I woke up in the middle of the night needing a glass of water. Never written a restaurant review before, will eat and tolerate almost anything, but at this price point this restaurant is totally unacceptable. Will not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food is always delicious at Almond. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is always delicious at Almond. The duck hash, get the duck hash. The service is great too. Even though it was busy for brunch but we were never rushed off our table. Its just a bit loud during brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My friend and I stopped in for lunch. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My friend and I stopped in for lunch. We both had the sunchoke soup which was really bland. We also split fries and had soft drinks. Our server was nice but it was a big bill for a tasteless soup and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I have been here before but never notice ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I have been here before but never noticed the pool table! So fun, will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed brunch before but were served ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed brunch before but were served way too quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Almond several times bef ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have eaten at Almond several times before and have always enjoyed the overall experience... food, food and service. This time though service left a lot to be desired. It was brunch on New Year's Eve, but the restaurant was not all that busy. The waiter did not keep an eye on us, and when we needed something (which we did on a couple of occasions-- maple syrup for the waffle, coffee at the end of the meal) we had to vigorously gesticulate in order to flag him down. He passed by a couple of times and I raised my arm as a signal to please come see us, but he didn't notice. At one point too we asked another member of the staff for what we needed... whether it was a busboy or other server I'm not sure, but he said "Let me get your waiter." Then nothing. So they were all rather distracted and unattentive.

I am not a fan of overly unctuous service, but I do appreciate quiet and polite attention. One should not have to expend the amount of energy we did in order to get simple attention... especially in an establishment of this caliber. I do like Almond and plan to return so I hope this was simply an aberration and that the servers are as lovely as we have experienced them to be in the past.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Loved everything we ordered, especially ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved everything we ordered, especially the octopus and shrimp scampi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a great find. Very nice managem ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a great find. Very nice management and an excellent menu at a very reasonable price. The restaurant has a very good happy hour at the bar offering a great deal on oysters and shrimp, as well as other tasty food offerings...especially the small lamb chops and the buffalo cauliflower. We will definitely go again...and for us it was relatively easy to find and get to...when staying in Midtown... just take the Lex 6 train... the subway station is on the same street... just over a block away.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took myself out for dinner as a Christ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took myself out for dinner as a Christmas treat, and the staff was so nice to my little party of one. My waitress knew I wanted to take my time, so she was very conscientious of not stopping at my table each time she walked by my section, but also never made me wait. She just seemed to know when I was ready for the next part. Also, the food was excellent. The steak was phenomenal, the oysters lovely, and oh my good god, every human on the planet needs to try the Brussels sprouts and bacon. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the end though, the waiter could use ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In the end though, the waiter could use a little more enthusiasm... but good overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliable and can always count on great s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Reliable and can always count on great service and food. Croque Gratin Monsieur and fries are a favorite menu item.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My entree was good, but both my companio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My entree was good, but both my companions got food that was not hot, and one sent his food back because it wasn't warm. It was difficult to get our server's attention throughout the evening. A food runner and a manager offered to remake the dish (my companion declined), poured a free glass of wine, and left the dish off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Spacious w/good ambiance. Background mus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Spacious w/good ambiance. Background music 🎶 doesn't interfere w/talking. Food is super delicious. Servers were accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sticky toffee cake is my favorite de ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The sticky toffee cake is my favorite dessert in the whole world! Also we told the staff it was our anniversary and we were surprised with a glass of champagne! Such a cozy, romantic atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great service, awesome staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great service, awesome staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful - very homey ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful - very homey, love the decor. The food was good, but all of our dishes were lukewarm - an established restaurant shouldn't have this issue. And the waiter was very arrogant. I had been wanting to go to Almond for years and was disappointed that it wasn't better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Our group dined here on a Sunday for bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our group dined here on a Sunday for brunch, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The complimentary biscuits and apple butter were so tasty and a great way to start the meal. I had the huevos rancheros and it was delicous with its tangy and savory sauces on the eggs and beans. I also tried my friend's Mac n cheese and it was quite hearty and delicious with the truffles. Our only other comment is that it took a bit of time for our server to take our order, but the restaurant was bustling, so it was understandable. The restaurant was overall very cozy and the food delectable. I will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot. Cozy. Romantic. Moderate no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great spot. Cozy. Romantic. Moderate noise level. Great wine and great food. Absolute winner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but service was lacking. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was good but service was lacking. Ordered coffee with milk. Coffee came, no milk. Had to finally ask someone else for it. Other drinks for the table also came piecemeal. Had to ask for everything twice because server never delivered after first request. Server never came around to check on things either. Had to chase her down for the check and again to pick up the check.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place to go with kids. Food is ver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place to go with kids. Food is very good and staff is very kid friendly. Plenty of place for strollers, kids to navigate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After 8 years, consistently excellent!! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

After 8 years, consistently excellent!! Our go to place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were terrific, as alway ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and service were terrific, as always. We are longtime fans of all the Almond restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We walked in and were immediately impres ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We walked in and were immediately impressed with the ambiance of the place. The food was great. I thought the price was reasonable. It was lunchtime and very busy, however, so all the servers seemed to be constantly running around and it took a while to get their attention. Overall great experience! This one gets added to our favorites list.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.