Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Aldo's

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine)

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 9:45 PM; Friday & Saturday, 10:45 PM; Sunday, 8:45 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, attentive staff, very delightful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I am a first generation Italian American and I was absolutely blown away by the food at Aldos. There aren't words or adjectives to describe both the level of service I was provided and the quality of the food. This is a full farm to table restauraunt In every sense of the phrase. The food tastes like it was made by an Italian grandmother in Florence adding love to every bite. I highly recommend this restauraunt to everyone and would make the 3 hour trip from NJ just to have a bowl of pasta at Aldos. il cibo era magnifico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was just as amazing as the service. Celebrated my anniversary with my wife and visited Aldo's for the first time. I would highly recommend Aldo's to friends and family and am looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Aldos is one of our favorites and we have eaten there quite a few times. Usually the service is amazing but this time not so much. It took a very long time for our waiter to take our order even though we indicated we were ready. He walked by our table numerous times and we finally had to ask him to take our order. It was equally difficult to get our bill when we were ready to leave. The service was just not what we have experienced in the past. The food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent meal and ambiance. All of the food was phenomenal and the service was impeccable. We felt totally taken care of. Aldo's is able to not be at all pretentious while providing a top notch dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was quite disappointed with this meal. The appetizer, salad, and entree that I ordered were all nearly inedible. The salad was so overdressed that the dressing was pooling on the plate, and the pasta was unbelievably salty. The only positive from the meal was the bolongnese sauce that accompanied my husband's entree. Otherwise, we were unbelievably disappointed and the meal was completely overpriced. We could have gone to so many other places in Little Italy for far less, and actually had delicious, authentic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

In the Italian part of Baltimore and convenient to the inner harbor, Aldo's has a well decorated and authentic Italian flavor that goes with the well prepared food. Service was a bit slow but each dish is individually prepared.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Aldo's in Baltimore Inner Harbor. Great food, service, and ambience! One of the best Italian dining experiences.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We spent the night in Baltimore with friends over Labor Day weekend. It was such a lovely surprise to see how much the city has built up its waterfront. Our meal at Aldo's was really fabulous on many levels. We couldn't have enjoyed it anymore. The service, wine, atmosphere, bread, salads, meal and desserts were wonderfully tasty and beautifully served. Well done! We'll definitely be returning. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic food, excellent decor & ambiance. Some items were pricey but overall the food was really good.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had not been to this restaurant before but liked the reviews and menu. We could not have been more pleased. The service was great, waiter delightful. The food was excellent and creamy lemon cello was divine. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I went to Aldo's to celebrate my 30th Anniversary! Along with the Limo ride over, the restaurant was the perfect topper to the evening's celebration! The food was great, as well as the service! I would highly recommend Aldo's for special occasions!

Charles

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome food, great service, fantastic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was great and the food was better than in Italy. All four diners agreed and all four had toured Italy in the last three years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I took my husband to Aldo's for his birthday . We had an amazing dinner! The food, service, and ambiance were all superb! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Absolutely the best Italian food in Baltimore, maybe the best food in Baltimore. Everything was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The best food ever. A must try. Stand out Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

It was amazing. Waiter was amazing, dinner was fabulous and the atmosphere was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server, Filip(sp?) was excellent , helpful & knowledgeable. Made our dining experience that much more enjoyable. We've never been disappointed with anything we have ordered. Kudos to the chef also

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Aldo's was wonderful! It was Restaurant week so we had the eggplant (flash fried), chicken marsala and catfish.

Food was prepared perfectly, all served by a wait staff that had pacing down perfectly.

wonder place and quite a good deal for restaurant week!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Aldo's hits all the right targets for fine dining. Everything is prepared to perfection. Price may be a bit high, but it is worth it. Give Aldo's a try and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent food served by an amazing wait staff. Aldo's is truly one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The special tuna carpaccio and crab cakes were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Aldo's. Victor was very knowledgeable and a pleasure to serve us. We will be coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

terrific service and ambiance. the food was outstanding

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our waiter was very friendly and made sure we were satisfied with our meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food, service, ambience all great!!! Aldo's is a great place for a celebration or just a everyday dinner!!!! We treated like a family in this place! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a superb meal, as always. Aldo is classy and the food is great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had a really wonderful time with my family. The food was awesome and service was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Yummy as always but I thought catfish was an odd choice for the fish selection and I had had beef that week so I was left with chicken which I eat all the time😢It was yummy though👏👏

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I can't begin to detail all the "pluses" about Aldo's. We arrived early for our 6:30 PM reservation and were seated anyway with cordiality and friendliness. Our"waiter"( in suit and tie and sparkling white shirt) was knowledgeable and helpful with suggestions..Our elegant bottle of chianti was an elegant accompaniment to dinner. We chose to begin with melt in our mouth beef carpaccio accompanied by just right sizes of rustic chewy crusty bread to dip in olive oil, followed by Filet mignon served to seasoned perfection, rare and bloody for my daughter and mediun rare for me..sizzling hot and accompanied by polenta..smooth and tasty... a good foil for the beef . A complimentary dessert with a candle for my daughter surprised and pleased us. we shared, but still had room for a large serving of dark chocolate mousse. Finally, cappuccino, perfectly brewed and HOT ..to die for. The personal service was impeccable: busperson as well..very, very efficient, timely, quiet, well organized and almost invisible (well it would have been to others...I notice things)
Finally, the manager gave us a gift certificate as an apology because the Aldo's bench outside was still wet from the rain when we left and because the contract valet parking man had not used the umbrella that was just inside the door to help keep us dry when we arrived in the rain. FYI. The dining rooms were filling rapidly as we left. Make reservation early.
I understand that ALDO himself is also a master wood craftsman and that he himself did the woodwork....the restaurant is beautiful, serene, welcoming and nicely laid out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Aldo's the other night! The food was excellent as was the service. Very cozy and comfortable. A great spot to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was awesome, ambiance was great. Would go again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We have dine at Aldo's many times, so we figured Restaurant Weeks was as good an opportunity as any. The service, the food , the ambiance never disappoints. Grazie to Chelf Aldo and the entire Vitale family and team!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I went with my wife and another couple after seeing the orchestra and we thought the food was good for the most part and very filling. When we were asked what type of water we would prefer, it wasn't made clear to us by our waiter that each bottle they brought us would be about $7.50. Apart from that hiccup, we enjoyed ourselves but there wasn't anything spectacular about the restaurant that would probably bring us back or tell friends that they had to go there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every bit of food ordered was superb! Outstanding service in a true fine dining environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very disappointed with the quality of the food and very pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. I was impressed that the kitchen could prepare off-menu items based on diners' special requests.

The eggplant appetizer special, and Bronzino were especially memorable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Took two Chinese friends for dinner last Wednesday, one who didn't speak English at all. Victor, our waiter, was wonderfully patient and informative. His wine recommendation was spot-on. The food was well-presented and tasty. Dessert, just right. We had a night we'll all remember.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.