Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Aldo's

“One of the best Italian restaurants in America” / "The wine list at Aldo's is exemplary, easily one of the best on the east coast” / “This is clearly a labor of familial love, and it shows in every dish" -- John Mariani (of Esquire Magazine)

Aldo’s is Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant. Aldo's features the delicately balanced southern-influenced regional Italian cuisine of Chef/Owner Aldo Vitale and his son Chef Sergio Vitale--all served in sumptuously-appointed rooms steeped in classical Italian tradition.

The media rave about Aldo's, calling it "An Italian Masterpiece" (NY Times) and have recognized Aldo's for offering Maryland's "Best Private Dining" (The Baltimore Sun) and "Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Private dining room options include a belowground, climate-controlled Wine Cellar and a Medici-inspired Library. Visit the website at www.aldositaly.com for a virtual tour.

306 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner nightly from 5 PM. Last seatings: Monday-Thursday, 9:45 PM; Friday & Saturday, 10:45 PM; Sunday, 8:45 PM.

Cross Street:
Fawn Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-0700

Website:
http://www.aldositaly.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered, available at $10 (higher on holidays). The Baltimore City-owned "Little Italy Parking Garage" is located at 400 S. Central Avenue (http://goo.gl/nwG6pc), approximately 1 block from Aldo's. Street parking available: 3-hour time limit, strictly enforced.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Vitale & Sergio Vitale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your next private dining event a memorable affair! Our Private Dining service is high-touch, making event planning seamless--and painless! Our experienced Private Dining Manager will work with you to orchestrate all of the details of your private dining event for a bespoke dining experience that exceeds your expectations and meets your budget. For more information, contact Margaret Occhiogrosso at 410.662.2284 or PrivateDining@aldositaly.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

"Baltimore's Best Private Dining Rooms" (Baltimore Magazine). Aldo’s is the ultimate setting for memorable private dining events. Event planning is seamless and stress-free as our experienced Private Dining Manager orchestrates all of the details for you.

Aldo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (13)
Private Room (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, our meal was perfection! We all had the appetizer sized portion of gnocchi. Aldo's gnocchi will make anyone a huge fan. They are ethereal, delectable, topped with a fresh light sauce of tomatoes with a splash of cream. Mains were delectable also, soft crabs, tournedos Rossini, and whole bronzini. Everything was very fresh tasting and consistency is always there.
Service was perfection and the restaurant is lovely. Definitely the best Italian restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food. I have been here several times and it is very consistent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific special occasion Italian food. Great ambiance, service and experience in general. A little expensive but in keeping with the quality of the food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I Love my first time experience here
, the manager walks around and talk to the guest other waiters/waitresses check to make sure your ok, the food doesn't take long to come out after ordering and the staff is very friendly and professional.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Aldo's is tops with regard to service and ambiance. The room is beautifully appointed in an old world luxe kind of way. One notes the double row of columns, the table linen and china, the warm decor and intimate spaces. The only comparable Baltimore space that comes to mind is the Prime Rib. The wait staff is dressed in formal attire, which harmonizes with the quietly posh ambiance. The service is attentive, considerate, knowledgeable, and interesting in fulfilling the patron's special needs. If one is interested in high quality Italian cuisine, this is the place to go. There are no surprises or unusual fare to expand the diner's gustatory experience. My martini was typical of the whole meal: perfectly traditional in a real martini glass (not something one can expect anymore) and chilled to the point where ice crystals floated on the surface. Just what one would expect from a perfect martini and a fine indicator of what would follow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Aldo's is consistently great again. As a longtime patron Aldo's never disappoints. It's always good to see Robert there as well. He's always with a smile and a genuinely nice guy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Ambiance , Food, Service could not be better ! Actually had my husband drive from New Jersey to dine at this fabulous restaurant !

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good food ,fresh ingridients , Excellent service with nice quiet atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

They had great food and great service. I put a note on our Open Table reservation that it was our first Anniversary, and they surprised us with a Canoli and Limoncello! Definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I came here to celebrate my 65th birthday. I have always loved Aldo's and it did not disappoint. My entire experience was a delight. My server was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. His recommendations were spot on(the veal bones and wine). Of course I had to have my favorite Aldo's dish- Tournedos Rossini. Superb as usual. I will continue to come here until I can't make it through the door. See you soon I hope.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were excellent.
Nick the bartender is first class. Knows his drinks, excellent demeanor.
Best old fashion I ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything is top notch at Aldos. Refined cuisine that is so delicious. We had the veal saltimbacco & the veal rib chop entrees & they both were amazing! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 2, 2017

What is good about Aldo's? Everything!! Food, atmosphere, decor, music, service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food and service but pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent attentive service, delicious food. comfortable chairs. all meals as expected and yummy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Have been to Aldo's once before and remembered an exceptional meal. Our diner this past Saturday night did not even seem to be from the same restaurant, as extremely disappointing. With appetizer, salad and main dish, the best of the night was the red and yellow beet salad. The special of salmon carpaccio was hunks of salmon, not thinly sliced with odd bread sticks and nothing was very tasty. The fresh fish of the day was a very tasty tiny piece of rockfish that sat on a glob of awful, cheesy tasting risotto. The entire dish for $36 was essentially a glob of risotto with a few bites of fish. My husband's beef carpaccio was a bit better and the pasta with boar sauce, that was highly recommend was just fair.

For an extremely expensive dinner, with so many choices in Baltimore, Aldo's is now off of our list and would not be recommended to others. Maybe when there is very large party, as was our first time there, they try a lot harder!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Aldo's has been one of our favorites in Baltimore for many years It is still at the top of its game with attentive service, good wine, and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and the staff was top notch. The plating was beautiful with melt in your mouth flavors. I highly recommend a visit. There is valet parking for easy access.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been to the very best dining establishments in the United States. Aldo's Is equal to or better in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

excellent food & service
Elegant & low noise level
Very attentive staff

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My visit to Aldo's in April, 2017 was my first time back there in 5-6 years. The restaurant had not changed a bit...great atmosphere, tremendous service, and a surf and turf entree that was out of this world. I'll make sure it's not another 5-6 years before I enjoy a meal there again!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The dining experience was EXCELLENT!! We were greeted with superb hospitality from the time we drove up to the valet to exiting the restaurant. The waiter (s) were very professional - attire, mannerism, etiquette, knowledgeable of menu and drinks. They knew how to engage in conversation without being intrusive. We were honored with a tour of the establishment - which was hand crafted and decorated by the owner himself. Will definitely drive 5 hours again to dine at this fine establishment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Aldo's never lets us down. We brought 2 couples who had never been before and they were wowed. The lamb chops were excellent, the veal chop was moist, tender and delicious. The pasta with the wild boar was a favorite. The chicken marsala was done very well with a risotto that really was delicious. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time at Aldo for us; food & service was excellent. We had leftovers from a pasta dish and it was just as good for lunch the next day! We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Good food and service. A great place to go for a splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I reserved a table for eight for a business dinner. When we arrived we were led to a small room with a table for eight - set beautifully. The room alone made us feel special. We had a bit of a time crunch plus needed separate checks. The waiter accommodated those needs beautifully - with all checks arriving on time so that we could make our next engagement. The food was delicious and every person in the group raved about the experience. I am extremely grateful that the evening went so well - we had wonderful food and wine and the room and table allowed us all to visit and enjoy each other's company. It was the best meal of our conference!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Every visit that we've made to Aldo's has been outstanding. The food is excellent, easily the best Italian food I've had outside of Italy. The service is stellar, the staff are friendly and attentive, but never obtrusive. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, great experience. Three of us all had an appetizer portion of the special Gnocchi. All three of us loved it. They certainly do a great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Solid fine dining date spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A great meal. I have been to almost every restaurant in Baltimore's Little Italy. This ranks as one of the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As usual, my dining experience at Aldo's was perfect. The food is delicious, the staff, helpful and friendly, and the ambiance was relaxing. It's always been a favorite of mine and although I've moved to the County, I will still return to Aldo's when possible.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food, service and location. This is the best place in Baltimore and I'll definitely be back. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding experience. This is some of the best Italian food/food that we've eaten recently. Quiet enough for good conversation and wonderful food selections. We celebrated our upcoming granddaughter in a fashion befitting of her and her parents

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent place to Dine restaurant staff owner everyone up to par food excellent up to par no complaints whatsoever will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everything I thought it would be and more ....some of the best food around without a doubt and the service was spot on ... I highly recommend Aldo's.... treat yourself you won't be sorry !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were there on a Saturday evening. We had to wait a while before wait acknowledged us.
My husband's drink arrived he had finished his meal...we were told the bartender was backed up.

Our food was very good. I ordered the eggplant parm. My husband, the veal chop. He thought it to be very overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful evening out. The tuna carpaccio I had was so tasty--the siracha aioli was a great addition. I also very much enjoyed the lobster fettucini (also liked that I could order an appetizer size for my main course--just enough without being overwhelming). My husband raved about both his mussels appetizer AND the boar ragout. Any finally--the apple tart was great to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Even though Aldo's is essentially an Italian restaurant, we went there for the crab cakes, which were rated #2 in the area, in an article I read. Actually, though, not a favorite. Good quality but bland and baked, I assume- we like them crispy and more seasoned. Just personal taste. They were served with delicious mashed potatoes and lightly cooked asparagus. We had a wonderful eggplant Parmesan special appetizer, and perfect mozzarella en Carozza. The rigatoni bolognese was just ok. Delicious cannoli for dessert, and we loved the way our after dinner limoncello and Liquor 43 were served. Great service all around, in a very pretty room. We came on time and we're seated immediately.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is always great and this time was no exception. However, because it was a continuation of Valentine's Day the service was a bit spotty. On previous occasions our waiters were spectacular. We will certainly go back, but perhaps not around a holiday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food. Many dishes have their own twist, and are delicious. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.