Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Alden and Harlow

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (147)
Creative Cuisine (133)
Handcrafted Cocktails (100)
See All
Good for a Date (99)
Tapas (92)
Special Occasion (87)
Good Vegetarian Options (84)
Local Ingredients (72)
Fun (69)
Hot Spot (69)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (62)
Bar Seating (62)
Romantic (59)
Modern Decor (59)
Casual (56)
Good for Groups (55)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Cozy (51)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Seasonal (41)
Great for Brunch (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Authentic (33)
Open Kitchen (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Healthy (28)
Family Style (27)
Great Beer (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Comfort Food (23)
People Watching (21)
Organic (19)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Business Meals (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vegan (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great spot the food and beverages, cute corner table was awesome thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food. My absolute favorite restaurant and the service is spot on as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent choices for vegetarians and vegans. In most restaurants it is hard to find more then one option that fits these categories, but here there are several. They are also flexible to offer gluten free options. Craft cocktails were very inventive and well done. Even desert and the coffee were very good.

The only negatives were we felt rushed and then neglected at the bar. Later the waitress took each of our drink orders and then failed to transfer them to the bar. So this sort of threw the timing off matching drinks with the meal.

Overall this is a very good place and I do recommend it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Alden and Harlow. The food was amazing, as my friend had promised. Our server was fun and efficient. Our water glasses were refilled regularly, which was great. We also were offered a taste of the wines we ordered - by the glass, not by the bottle - which is unusual, in my experience, and a very nice touch.

We had a reservation, and it was disappointing that we were seated at a high-top near the bar, which made for a lot of noise and traffic. I might have asked to be moved, but my husband was already seated by the time I came in.

My one suggestion -- which I offered to the (manager?) who came to speak to us when our meal was finished, and he received very gracefully -- is that most dishes be served with a serving spoon. When you're encouraged to share plates, you need to be able easily to move part of the food to your personal plate. This was difficult to manage with just our forks and knives, with several dishes that included lots of small parts (spring onions, pine nuts, etc.) and sauces.

Glad finally to have eaten here. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal. We eat meat but we only ordered vegetarian entrees and they were delicious. Creative food with great tastes. The "latkes" were surprisingly tasty. No potatoes involved mainly herds. I recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

The Sunday brunch menu was limited (in my opinion) and I found it difficult to select something I wanted without it being high caloric.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Friend in town for the weekend, stayed on the Cambridge
side of town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Saturday brunch with visiting parents (70- and 81-years-old). I had a nice Szechuan Bloody Mary garnished with pickled green beans (5-spice-powder?) Ordered five dishes -- plenty of food for four people. Sausage & Potato Skillet arrived first and was very good. The next four dishes: Radish & Grilled Nettle Salad, Spring Vegetable Hash, Hickory Smoked Pigs Tails, and Smoked House Rillette (blue fish with a rye bagel) were beautiful, with complex flavors. Service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Recommended by a local friend and worth the short trip from Boston to Cambridge. Really interesting food and flavors, and great handcrafted cocktails. Definitely goes on the list of food to have in Boston/Cambridge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

If you are interested in the secret burger, get there when they open as they only make a limited amount each night. They were selling out in about 1.5 hours the night I was there. Food is very very good and the services is absolutely the best. Kudos! My wife and I had the chips and 3-onion dip to start, followed by the kale salad, fried oysters, steamed clams (not a fan, but my wife liked them) and the roasted beets. Cannot wait to go back and try a whole new selection of amazing food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Interesting food, nicely designed, well executed, and very nicely presented -- oh, and it was really really good!! Would visit again 'at the drop of a hat'!
Bring money with you (but you'll leave with some of it, which is always nice!).
Great service! Bring good company with you and you've got it made!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great vegetarian options! Actually, so many options it was hard to choose. Great Staff as well!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A Tuesday night and not quite up to the usual standards. Both the charred broccoli and grilled Halumi cheese came out very quickly and together but both were room temperature which makes me wonder if they were pre-prepared. The Halumi cheese tasted like it was sprinkled with gravel-- some hard white substance that I think was intentional but it was unpleasantly hard literally like a small stone, worried about my teeth. The Polenta dish was kind of an insubstantial soupy mess. First time ever there where two of the dishes were underwhelming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great night out. Start with the chips and 3 onion dip. I could sit there all evening eating those. Creative small plates where you want to try everything. Overall a real hit in the crowded Cambridge dining field. Waiter was great and the timing of dishes was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent and creative. I loved the rabbit and the corn pancakes. The dessert menu is pretty limited but everything else was delicious. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we came for mothers day brunch with two small children. the day before when the restaurant called to confirm the reservation, they told us we would have a high chair, but when we arrived we found out they were all or if high chairs and we were seated in a tall booth. So, our brunch consisted of trying to keep our 11-month old and 4 year old from falling below and always having one arm on the baby. Not the experience we were hoping for and we have had many great experiences prior. The team was also not apologetic and just shrugged and said, "well it's mother's day, lots of kids". That was an extremely expensive brunch for not a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here for my 5 year anniversary with my boyfriend and everything was perfect! The service was great, everyone was so nice. Each snack/entree was unique and amazing! Cocktails: I tried the Norigami and Suspicious Minds and they were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Never disappoints. Great service, great meal. Will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really loved the food!!!! They are smaller plates for some of the items. The cinnamon bun was enormous and so was the crumble cake. I ordered an avocado on toast.. and the toast was to die for. If they'd given me just the toast without anything else, I would still have been happy. The virgin bloody mary was phenomenal and spicy! Really good coffee!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our first visit was truly outstanding! Great brunch options -- delicious!

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is my second time to Alden & Harlow. Everything is still very impressive. It has certainly become one of my favorite restaurants in Boston and the go-to restaurant in Harvard Sqr.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The ambiance was great, the food was awesome, and the wait staff was very accommodating and helpful. Lots of items on the menu that were great for sharing between a vegan, a pescatarian, and a regular omnivore. When I return to Cambridge, I will definitely return to Alden & Harlow.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went here on the Friday before Mothers Day for my GF's bday dinner. I made reservations for 6:15. We got there on time and the hostess seated two walk-in couples ahead of us, BUT our table was in a much nicer location so I was okay with that. I would absolutely recommend making reservations.

The place was very busy. The bar was standing room only. We got a table under the skylight so we were out of the hustle-and-bustle, but the rest of the atmosphere appeared to be equally intimate (save for the sheer number of people).

The menu was impressive and creative. Our server informed us that these were small plates and on average to order two plates for each person. I must say that "small" is an overstatement. Each plate was literally two bites. I could have eaten six plates by myself with no problem at all. I expected more for the price. The dishes were all very tasty; I don't have any complaints about the flavor, I wish the portions had been larger.

The beer menu wasn't overly extensive, but the choices were exceptional. The house mixologist
also had some great cocktail offerings! They were unique and stressed fresh ingredients.

Unfortunately we found the service to be lacking. Maybe it was just that busy, but it took a long time for somebody to take our order. On a positive note the food itself came out one plate at a time at a perfect speed - only about 3 minutes between when we finished one plate and the next one was served. Perfect! When it came to ordering another round of drinks, bringing the check, or running my credit card they were very slow. I assumed they would want to flip the table but I'd estimate we sat at the table for 20-30 minutes after we finished eating before we were fully cashed out.

Pros: food quality, innovation, the drink menu, and the atmosphere. Cons: portion sizes and service. If we go back we will make sure it isn't on a Friday and isn't near a holiday like Mothers Day.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The polenta dish we ordered tasted only of the pickled fiddleheads, too strong and vinegary. Shame as the polenta itself was really good. The pork belly dish and the chocolate bread pudding were very tasty however. We ordered a few other things, but they were forgettable. I loved the salt ice cream. The service was a bit rushed and unfriendly for a somewhat upscale establishment. I'd come again for the creative cocktails and a couple of the dishes, but I'd probably just sit at the bar and wouldn't recommend it for a special occasion (it was my wife's birthday and the dining experience was a bit lackluster overall).

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was the first time we were here. Our party of 7 was seated promptly. Our server Kate was fabulous. She explained the menu and was very careful to help one member of our party with an allergy modify some of the dishes. Loved trying the variety of small plates. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Everything was fantastic! each dish was great, especially the salmon tartar appetizer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Excellent service, wonderful craft cocktails, and artfully prepared delicious tapas. Love the dimly lit basement feel. Plus located in vibrant Harvard Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went there on May 7th, 2017 for wife's birthday with kids. Best brunch place in Boston. Menu very creative, but also mouth watering ingredients as you read the details. Food itself did not disappoint. We intend to go back again, this time for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The most amazing brunch!!! Staff was incredible- even gave us some nice gifts from the kitchen! Literally every dish was incredible. Thank you guys!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The entire experience was what you want from a restaurant. Reservations were easy and confirmed efficiently. We dined rather late but were surprised to see the establishment entirely full and even later diners coming in as we finished. The wait-staff was very professional and not obtrusive. The food options were varied and we were notified that dishes were smaller...intended to be shared. Our choices were well-explained, but one dish unexpectedly included pasta and was therefor a little heavy for our tastes. In general, the food was wonderfully fresh and fun! Our lone complaint was that at full capacity the restaurant was very loud. But it was fun to be in the action and overall it was a positive experience. We will go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding service, creative tapas menu with generous portions, and fun cocktail menu make this a must on the Boston dining scene.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a palate expanding experience with great service and fun things to share with your friends.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Organic, Authentic, Spicy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Limited menu as all availability was brunch. Too much eggs and bacon for me. Tasty , nevertheless. Service ok, not great. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was amazing, and drinks were even better! There was not one item we did not like. highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our server seemed annoyed and distracted. We were an easy table with no dietary restrictions and in&out in 1.5 hours (party of 5). We were celebrating my graduation dinner and she seemed to be having a bad night & subsequently not treating us very well. Food was good, nothing that blew me out of the water, which I was a little disappointed by since I had wanted to come here for the past year. I work in the restaurant industry and for some reason is disturbed me that when my boyfriend ordered a glass of Lambrusco - a different server/foodrunner quickly put down a full glass without giving him a taste of it first. Which I wish they did because it was sub-par. Overall I think it would be fun to go to the bar and have some snacks/cocktails. Don't think I'd come back for a formal meal again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We ordered four dishes -- loved two and thought two were good but not great. The wait staff was polite and attentive. We were disappointed when we were told the "secret burger" was out, but as we were paying our bill and about to leave, the table next to us ordered one and got it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A Welcome Addition to Harvard Square

I have had two excellent meals here, and appreciate the innovative, delicious tapas it serves. And who could resist a "Ubiquitous Kale Salad" (which I highly recommend)?

The noise level was high on both weekday nights I visited, and I'd not venture here on the weekend (unless, of course, you thrive on noise). Delicious food, and I'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was our 2nd time here and it did not disappoint. All the dishes had great flavor and the service was excellent. Be sure you're comfortable sharing dishes tapas style!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

They food is great! Awesome experience
The drinks menu's extensive. If you're into Bourbon they have great choices

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Alden & Harlow is well located, well cared for, and a nice place for a date or special dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.