Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Alden and Harlow

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (116)
Creative Cuisine (94)
Good for a Date (87)
See All
Special Occasion (69)
Tapas (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Good Vegetarian Options (59)
Fun (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Hot Spot (55)
Local Ingredients (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Bar Seating (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Romantic (42)
Casual (38)
Seasonal (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Healthy (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Cozy (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Business Meals (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Authentic (21)
Great Beer (20)
People Watching (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Vegan (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Organic (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Spicy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 hours ago

Best restaurant in Harvard Square

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 hours ago

Wow. The food here is insanely good. I brought my mom who was visiting from out of town, along with my boyfriend. My boyfriend didn't like the sound of "tapas" because he was under the impression that he wouldn't leave feeling full, but the portions were the perfect size. All of us walked out of there saying that was the best dinner we ever had. Unique menu, explosions of taste, clean ingredients, knowledgeable staff. A must-visit restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Went back after almost 3 years and the food is as delicious as we remembered! Corn pancakes, grilled broccoli ... amazing. The cocktails are fantastic as well. Had a wonderful time for a birthday.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Delicious food! Interesting dishes, definitely pricey, but worth the hype if you ask me!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience, especially as I had read the reviews and seen the restaurant high in the rating of Bostons places to eat. The setting was fine but cluttered and we were given a corner table with very little leg room and a small table. Our server was great at telling us what he liked but didn't ask us what we liked. He suggested that we should choose 4 items from the menu, which we did, not realising that all the items would arrive together, on full sized plates that didn't fit on our small table. The food took an age to arrive, was cold, and was so salty that several items were inedible. The chef has discovered a process that managed to cook peaches so that they remained hard, but had all flavour (expect salt) removed from them. Due to our wait we were given a complementary plate. A piece of soggy brioche with some sort of topping. Overall a very disappointing evening on my wife's Birthday. I like seasoned food and enjoy new menu experiences but this was just a chef trying to be trendy while not getting the basics right. Not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had brunch on Sunday morning, three people. Had been there in the past for dinner, all good.

But brunch experience was mediocre at best. Tuna melt described on menu as prepared on a bagel...when it arrived - late- it was on a half-bagel, and a rather small one Over-toasted, hard to cut. They served two dishes at least 5-10 minutes ahead of the tuna melt. One dish was excellent, other good, tuna melt pretty bad. We had to get some more food afterward. Service not great, waiter congenial, but not apologetic until I stopped him and asked where the tuna melt was. Won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Brunch is a great surprise for me that the food was so creative and delicious! It's far better than my expectation before!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Small plates perfect for sharing.
Dishes with creative flavors and texture.
Service was very nice
They didn't have the burger , was sold out.
Crispy rabbit Served with Celery and blue cheese is a must.
Chicken liver topped with blueberries was great.
Rush puppies were also very interesting .

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Sehr interessante Küche. Ohne Reservierung keine Chance

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious food. Skip the sesame dessert; it was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

well, goodbye Casablanca
had high expectations and was disappointed
Where to begin
table right next to us was discussing Trump and very loudly
ok, we are in Cambridge
Then the menu...per waiter small plates all for sharing
right, how about the hamburger split four ways
ordered as two couples sharing. One couple had three dishes to the other's one.
Still awaiting the second tuna dish while first one was done long ago.
I understand the eat when ready concept but totally disjointed in service which led to a schizophrenic experience

food ok but what exactly was in that dish?
nothing stood out nor apart from one another

oh well on to the A.R.T.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Some of the best food in the Boston area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

dinner before a play at American Rep Theater.
delicious special burger, nice queen city draft beer ...
the wait person recommended the chocolate bread pudding for dessert ...
overcooked, dried out .. that was the only down side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

we ordered two burgers and a tuna melt. Burgers came and were eaten before the tuna melt ever made it. I udnerstand that food comes out as its ready, but this is absurd.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall we had a great meal the only negative is that the restaurant is extremely noisy. It was difficult to have a normal conversation, but the food was so good that we would go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Love the burger here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Considering how Alden&Harlow has become a beloved fixture of Harvard Square, I'm so disappointed that my meal last Sunday was a letdown. I reserved for Sunday brunch to celebrate my 21st birthday. Since we were the first group to enter, we had the option to choose where to sit.
The food was excellent and came quickly. Everyone loved the 'Summer Vegetable Hash'; and the large potato wedges in 'Sausage&Potato Skillet' were delicious - thin, crisp skin + fluffy potato. The 'Soft Scrambled Eggs' could be a hit or miss, depending on how much you like herbs; the dandelion green verde flavour was too strong for my friend's taste.
It was what happened when I received my after paying the check that REALLY upset me. As I was putting the receipt and coins away in my wallet, our male server was watching me and turned back to say (this is word for word), "Just so you know, the tip isn't included in that."
I only responded with, "Yes, I know," but I was so upset. Not only did he have a rather off-putting attitude (no smile and not particularly welcoming), he had the audacity to basically tell me to tip him. I was tempted to not tip because of his poor service and rude attitude, but I still tipped 15%. Needless to say, I won't be returning considering their extremely tactless service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was amazing - the waiter was super nice and the food was delicious with unique dishes. I loved the share sizes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was my second visit and I really wanted to like A&H, but unfortunately it was no better than my first visit. The food is hit and miss - some dishes are good , while some are just ok e.g the beets was so average and not good value for the money at all. They never seem to have the special burger available :-(

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Inventive menu, delicious food! Fun place!! Centrally located. Great bar. All around very creative.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was delicious and very well made. The cocktails were outstanding and creative. The prices were steep for small plates but all together were filling. The service was lackluster and apathetic. We were tucked in a corner for my partners birthday very close to another table. All together the juice wasn't worth the squeeze but those chefs and bartenders are doing a great job.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

An incredible meal with incredible service. You made my husband fall in love with a kale salad, a thing I thought to be impossible. Everyone from the hostess to the wait staff went out of their way to make my first wedding anniversary so special. Thank you thank you. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Good food and good times are had at Alden & Harlow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I found this place using OpenTable's "top five" feature and I am glad I did! My (vegetarian) daughter and I had a great dinner here -- small plates that are more involved than traditional tapas and combined unusual flavors and ingredients. They were served seriatim like a multi-course meal. Perfect for sharing and exploring. I look forward to going back next time I am in Cambridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service rating has nothing to do with our server. He was very helpful.

The food and atmosphere are good, but I was immediately turned off by being shown to, what had to have been, the worst table in the restaurant (Table 27). There were other tables available as we passed to #27. I refused to sit there and was placed at one of the tables we had passed. Frankly, from want I saw, there shouldn't be a Table 27; it is cramped and beside a very busy wait station where the servers hover. The table for the wait station actually extends into the space of the person sitting closest to the station. To compensate the table looked more narrow than others. It says a lot about a restaurant when the "hostess" tries to take advantage of guests from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I made a last minute reservation for our anniversary and we were greeted with a prosecco toast when we were seated. The server was very knowledgeable and engaging throughout our dinner. The food was mostly small plates with some excellent flavor combinations.
We definitely recommend this restaurant as they understand the meaning of hospitality. After all, that is what its all about.
Cheers

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

if you are lucky enough to have Kate as your server - you will be in Great hands!! Myself, a vegan diet, she was amazing at adapting 4 sharing dishes to accommodate and have the dairy on the side for the others at the table to enjoy.
The burgers, ranks #1 for the rest of the family, in Boston so far -
A lively spot and friendly atmosphere - creative food dish to be shared -

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Vegan, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Joshua was our server and was so helpful working out paleo options for me. The staff is fabulous and the food is exceptional easily the best restaurant in Harvard Square. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My waiter was good, but the manager was very rude, which made the experience a lot less enjoyable. It was hard to enjoy my meal when someone was being demeaning. I enjoyed the food, but they lost my patronage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was our first Wedding Anniversary which we had in the notes. The moment I walked in the hostess said "here for your 9:15 reservation?" And when I said yes she said "ok well we have a special event and kitchen is closing early tonight so you need to order by 9:30." She never said sorry or anything just very short with me and then pointed at our table ... didn't walk me over. I figured she was just busy but then she just hung out with her coworkers talking all night. Our server, Gretchen was amazing. She's very attentive but doesn't bug you, explained everything nicely to my husband who has allergies and made it a point to acknowledge or Wedding Anniversary. Food was fantastic and well priced. Don't get the torched peaches, though. The jalapeño and red Onion is overwhelming on the plate and that's all you can taste. The chicken entree is by far the best thing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Typically our go-to restaurant in Cambridge but it seems the kitchen was "off" on this weeknight visit. Food came out at inconsistent timings -- we were served 3 plates almost immediately after ordering but then waited about 45 min for the pasta dish to come out. No apologies for the delay. Burrata was very salty and the broccoli dish, typically my favorite at A+H, tasted totally different and was also too salty. We left pretty disappointed. I hope this was a one time fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This restaurant is such a gem! The decor is trendy but classy. The music selection pleasantly surprised me: R&B. The food selection is amazing - we ordered about 10 dishes and not one thing wasn't delicious! They say that this restaurant is more like tapas place so they encourage sharing. It was possible but some dishes were tricky to. Most of all, I was so well impressed with the service! My glass was never empty and, the servers would recite each dish as they brought it to the table. Moreover, we got dessert drinks on the house! We couldn't be happier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Each dish was wonderfully original and worked! Especially tickled by the chicken liver snack. Portions were generous. Service right on. Cocktails were winners. Definitely will be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

great night out to celebrate a friend's birthday. Very knowledgable waiter. Great service -awesome drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Tried 6 dishes for 4 people- everything was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The only problem with this otherwise truly excellent restaurant is the noise level. We couldn't hear the server and he couldn't hear us. And this was a somewhat slow night-- or at least, not every table was occupied. I bet the noise level exceeds OSHA safety standards.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful service and fine ambiance, but the food was too salty. We ordered 3 dishes. The lamb-neck salad was great, with tender lamb (there could have been more greens, however). The other two dishes I found inedible. One was the tuna dish, the other the charred broccoli. Despite the welcoming atmosphere, I will not be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great time at Alden and Harlow. Food and service are top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

LOVE alden and harlow. SO glad we were able to make a repeat trip for a special date night out. The food is exuisite and interesting and they plentiful. Its not inexpensive but worth every penny. And the ambiance is cool, fun and hip without being over bearing or too hipster.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We drove in from Westborough to check this place out, and we're so glad we did! Very unique menu and overall great dining experience! I loved that the dishes were smaller, because we could try more that way. Would definitely make it back into Boston for this!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.