About Alden and Harlow

40 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
View Larger Map

Located at 40 Brattle Street in Harvard Square, Alden & Harlow serves thoughtfully sourced, honest American food in a subterranean, modern and comfortable space. Replicating the style of cooking he does for family and friends in his home kitchen, Chef Michael Scelfo prepares humble, unpretentious food that honors tradition of place in its quality. It's how he connects with anyone who joins them at their table.

While reservations are strongly suggested, we also save a portion of the dining room and bar for walk-ins in the event that your request cannot be accommodated. So please, come on in!

Parties of more than 8, please call to make a reservation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-1:00am, Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm - 2:00am

We serve our full dinner menu until 11pm nightly and then switch to our late night menu from 11pm-Midnight, Sunday - Wednesday; 11pm-1am, Thursday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Mt Auburn Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 864-2100

Website:
http://www.aldenharlow.com/

Parking Details:
University Place Garage at 124 Mt. Auburn St offers a discounted rate with validation.

Public Transit:
Alden and Harlow is accessible via the Harvard Square MBTA Red Line T stop, located just one block away at 40 Brattle Street, between Eastern Mountain Sports and the Cambridge Center for Adult Education.

Executive Chef:
Michael Scelfo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Alden and Harlow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (116)
Creative Cuisine (111)
Good for a Date (98)
See All
Special Occasion (76)
Handcrafted Cocktails (73)
Hot Spot (68)
Good Vegetarian Options (64)
Tapas (63)
Fun (59)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Bar Seating (56)
Casual (56)
Local Ingredients (56)
Romantic (54)
Modern Decor (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Cozy (40)
Great for Brunch (40)
Seasonal (39)
Healthy (34)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (30)
Family Style (29)
Open Kitchen (26)
Great Beer (24)
Organic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
People Watching (19)
Business Meals (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Vegan (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a nice quiet corner in the front. Our waiter was informative, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. He gave excellent wine recommendations. Kale salad and roasted broccoli were delicious. Go early for the burgers!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

This was so good we returned 2 days later. Great food options and excellent knowledge

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the opportunity to eat dinner there this past Wednesday with my wife and I must say in was an exquisite experience. We first had a drink at the bar and ordered the dip with chips, which was awesome! The martini though tasty and well prepared was a bit small for $12.

For diner we ordered the Ubiquitous Kale salad, Crispy Berkshire Pork Belly, verrill farm corn cakes, and a chicken and waffle dish. the pork belly was divine, the kale salad was well dressed and surprisingly good for this meat eater. We really wanted the burger, but it runs out fast. Next time

To the surprise

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

best burger in cambridge. perfect choice before a performance at the ART Theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious- people need to know it is a "sharing" menu...more like tapas! A lot of their sauces are a little too Hummous-y (if I can create that word- haha!) I liked the sauces but the kids in my group did not as they don't like hummous.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is amazing but very small portioned. it's hard to share a breakfast that size with people or just not enough to eat by yourself. Coffee is a little expensive.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Well thought out plates meant for sharing. It's great to be able to try many different things on the menu since everything sounded appetizing. We went for brunch and had the Smoked Gravlax, Pickled Corn Pancakes, Pain Perdue, and Berry Buckle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was my first visit. The server kindly explained how things work. The food comes out whenever it comes out. We were encouraged to share. Unfortunately, my two guests didn't want to share very much and they had to wait 20 minutes after their first courses were served before my first course came out. So they ended up with cold food at the beginning. The server was very nice, attentive, and responsive. We had a nice conversation during the long waits for food. Since we were early, the place was pretty empty. I would go back, but only with low expectations for food being delivered from the kitchen. We liked the food, but I didn't have any dishes I would come back specially to eat again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Memorable food! Great service. Nice ambience. Lovely all-around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Small to medium sized plates for sharing, we counted 20 items on the main menu, 12 veg and 8 non-veg. My wife and I ordered 4 dishes, 2 veg and 2 non-veg, for sharing which was just about right, we took a little bit home with us. WOW! I normally don't order veg foods, but the all the dishes sounded so interesting we decided to give the veg dishes a try and boy was it worth it. We ordered the chicken thighs, pork belly, veg dumplings and seared broccoli. My favorite was the chicken thighs, but a close second was the veg dumplings. All dishes were very, very good. There were a couple of dishes on the menu that I want to try the next time, hopefully soon.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went here for my girlfriend's birthday on a Thursday night. It was busy and we were a bit late for our reservation. They called us to make sure we still wanted it, which we appreciated. The food was expensive and not very filling. We got three entree's that all had something to dislike about them. The drinks we ordered were great tho. The ambiance was cool and it was nice inside. Overall an okay experience. The waiter however, didn't notice it was my gf's bday even though he looked at her ID.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Creative cuisine. Loved the combination of vegetable and meat dishes. Perfect dishes gurxshating, Great vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The meal was excellent. Portions were adequate. Value was very good. Service was attentive. Noise level was OK for conversation. Lighting was a bit dim, I like to see what I'm eating...

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Finally had the chance to get the "Special Burger" and while it was good, it was not, in any way worth the hype. Surprisingly rare for "medium." Would have been better off with other items on the menu.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Honestly, we were a bit disappointed. We had heard so many good things about the restaurant and the whole experience was underwhelming. We had five dishes. They started off great, but ended on a poor note. The beef neck was dry. Our favorite was the Farm Egg and the Rabbit.

Also, the biggest turn off was when we walked in the door, the restaurant stunk. I don't know if they were having trouble with the ventilation, but smell from the open kitchen was not good.

The atmosphere was nothing special. We feel like there are other restaurants that we'd rather go and spend our time & $.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delicious, inventive, very fresh and satisfying; seasonal ingredients in surprising but perfect combinations. Portions are plentiful and great for sharing. Service is wonderful, friendly, knowledgable; very accommodating of a food allergy without removing any of the flavor and creativity of the food. The atmosphere is simple, warm. The restaurant was full, busy and buzzing so the noise level is a bit high, but OK for conversation. Definitely recommend, will eat there again, it was a perfect place for dinner with a friend from out of town who loves good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Menu has new and wonderful additions, and has kept the fabulous kale salad. Adventurous cocktails. My cocktail featured a smoked flavor which I didn't care for and they replaced it with a standard I preferred. Great for foodies and reasonably priced when compared to Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambience was very cozy. The food was spectacular - not over/ under done, just right. They run out of their special burger quick so make a reservation early!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a lovely Valentine's dinner at Alden and Harlow! The decor is a bit hipster, but the service was impeccable and the kale salad is just as good as everyone claims. The specials were excellent as well, and the kitchen was extremely careful about allergies. Excellent experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I think this is one of the best restaurants in the Boston area! Our group had 2 celiacs, 1 vegetarian and they didn't make us feel like we were any trouble at all. We all had lots of options and were all able to have a full meal that was truly amazing. They even made us a gluten free dessert. Every dish is outstanding! I would eat here all the time if I could! Our waiter was wonderful and all the staff are very attentive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It might have been my bad choices in ordering but I didn't like the special cocktail I ordered (tasted like medicine) or the beef neck entree. Wasn't crazy about the dark, noisy space w/ candle that kept blowing out. just underwhelmed this time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first visit here was hit and miss. Of the 4 dishes we ordered 2 were fantastic, one was OK and one was disappointing (undercooked, gooey $17 dumplings.) The service was fine, given that it was valentine's day. The have a terrific wine selection.

I don't know what was going on in the kitchen, but, by the time we left, the place was eye stinging smokey. 3 days later, my coat still smells. So, for me, there's nothing so fantastic that would warrant a return trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fun and interesting food as always, but service (a bit slow and inattentive) not to previous experiences at Alden and Harlow's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've said it before, and I'll say it again... The food is always interesting and the flavors and textures are well balanced, but about half of the dishes I've had over three visits in the last 18 months have been too salty to the point that I primarily taste salt, and can't taste all the wonderful ingredients in the dish. Usually, I think this occurs in dishes that have salty ingredients, like fish sauce. In those dishes, the extra hit of finishing salt, or boiling the dumplings in salted water isn't necessary and it overtakes the other flavors of the dish.

That said, I'll most likely dine at Alden and Harlow again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Put this place on the list to visit and return often.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Crispy Brussel Sprouts is a little over fried, which makes it bitter. I love the pork belly and the Break Pudding, a must-try dessert here! A good place for weekends friends get-together

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 9:30, but weren't seated until after 10... and after waiting so long our table was next to the bathroom. Our server was great, but the food was pretty mediocre. Way to expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Alden & Harlow was incredibly delicious and a perfect date night spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went to brunch with my boyfriend and another couple and we all really enjoyed it. The food was all amazing and the environment was very pleasing. It was definitely a good find and I am sure all of us will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall the food was pretty tasty but nothing too special. I liked the smoked Steelhead trout and the brussel sprouts. The pork belly was way too crispy on top, to the point that you couldn't even cut through it. The broccoli came with a lot of recommendations but was just okay, probably wouldn't order them again. The restaurant was very full and lively, but the tables feel a bit cramped as they are quite close to one another.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Serious fun! Great food, good service, happy atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Awesome as usual! The farm corn pancakes are amazing! Still waiting to try that special burger...always sold out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was great but it was LOUD! Seemed like I was shouting across the table to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Delicious! Tapas style dishes but great for sharing and the variety is worthwhile

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Awesome and unusual food selection. Only negative is noise level.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great waitress and service. She was really knowledgeable with the foods. Loved the appetizers!!!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came here for an anniversary date. The food combinations were surprising and they did a lovely job (pickled green beans? almond butter with carrots? why YES). We got to be amused by the older folks next to us being loudly picky about their bottle of wine, and I must say the sommelier did a fantastically professional job with them.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

completely and totally awesome from the food to the service!

A perfect Sunday brunch

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a stellar modern restaurant in Harvard Square. We tried many different items on the menu and everything was outstanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a joy to come back and enjoy the seasonal changes on the menu. Was definitely loud and packed, but only goes to show the popularity. Looking forward visiting again soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great lunch. Very creative small plates. We shared 5 dishes and it was the perfect amount of food for 3 people. Everything was delicious. Fun, lively atmosphere and beautiful decor.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal!! I don't usually do reviews, but A+H warrants one. The drinks were some of the best in Boston. For whiskey fans, get the Born Again. Also, the appetizers of pickled green peppers had a great spice. Also, for steak eaters, their 8 oz has a great bite. It'll cost you, but great for special occasions. I will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had lots of fun there with the sharing and the food. The service was a little slow, but excellent once it happened. The garlic on the clams drowned out completely any taste of the clams, but the other dishes including the steak were terrific. Desserts were fun too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Alden and Harlow serves up small plates with a creative flair. Both the roasted carrots and the beets were delicious, as was the bread pudding dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Nice room, great food. Ambiance terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

the restaurant was so loud and the food incredibly delicious and incredibly rich.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent as always! Tried new seasonal dishes and the mackerel was terrific. My favorite continues to be the charred broccoli!

Handmade cocktails are memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good was interesting enough. Best were the brussel sprouts. Wine list is ok

Tags: Vegan, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was spectacular, especially the brown bread crostino, three onion dip and charred broccoli. The service was also great; our waitress was really patient with our questions and gave nice accurate descriptions of menu items, including cocktails. The only thing we didn't love was dessert. We had the earl grey pound cake and the flavor was just a bit off but I can't explain why.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Amazing food, and our server Craig was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.