About Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel

The Park Lane Hotel, The Palm Court
122 Piccadilly
London, W1J 7BX
View Larger Map

The Palm Court at Sheraton London Park Lane, is Mayfair’s premium meeting place. A beautiful setting in the heart of the city offering a glimpse into the magic and history of the roaring 20’s. Original Art Deco features set the scene, be it for breakfast, business, or a very special occasion. Join us in the Palm Court for coffee, cocktails or afternoon tea from our timeless British menu.

Considered "one of the most wonderful settings in which to take afternoon tea in London" by the Tea Guild, Palm Court has become the gathering place for guests and locals alike and is today one of the greatest places to enjoy afternoon tea in Mayfair. Savour our delicious “birdcage afternoon tea” with a selection of 27 tea blends, cakes, beautiful pastries, scrumptious scones & delicate finger sandwiches.

Afternoon Tea is recognised around the world as being something traditionally British. The Palm Court has been awarded with The Tea Guild's Award of Excellence 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
British

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 9am - 10pm

Afternoon Tea will be served from 12.00pm – 7.30pm with afternoon tea seating’s at 12.00pm, 2.00pm, 4.00pm and 6.00pm

Saturday & Sunday 13:30-17:30

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
£26 to £40

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
020 7499 6321

Website:
http://www.palmcourtlondon.co.uk/

Catering:
-The Palm Court signature “Bird Cage Afternoon Tea” from £37.00 per person with a Classic Loose Tea selection or £40.00 per person with a Rare & Single Estate Loose Tea selection -The Palm Court signature “Vegetarian Bird Cage Afternoon Tea” for £37.00 per person with a Classic Loose Tea selection or £40.00 per person with a Rare & Single Estate Loose Tea selection -The Palm Court “High Tea” for £39.00 per person with a Classic Loose Tea selection or £42.00 per person with a Rare & Single Estate Loose Tea selection (27 loose tea’s blends with our signature loose tea, the “Art Deco' blend)

Parking Details:
The hotel garage is located at the back of the hotel on Brick Street.

The charges for parking are as follows;
Up to 2 hours £10
4 hours £17
6 hours £22
9 hours £30
12 hours £33
24 hours £38 (hotel guest)

Public Transit:
The nearest underground station to the hotel is Green Park station (Piccadilly , Jubilee and Victoria Line), which is around 5 minutes walk from the hotel. When exiting the station turn right towards Hyde Park Corner, The Park Lane Hotel will appear on your right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Bennett MBE

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with us your special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Ramirez: 02072907323x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel
  • Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel
  • Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel

Promotions

Royal Afternoon Tea: £90 per couple

Promotions

Royal Afternoon Tea: £90 per couple
Details
Royal afternoon tea for Two £90 exclusive of service charge, including Lobster Omelette Victoria and a glass of champagne.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 5 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 5 People

Starts: June 9, 2016

Ends: September 30, 2016

Availability:
Daily 12:00PM-12:00PM 2:00PM-2:00PM 4:00PM-4:00PM 6:00PM-6:00PM

Afternoon Tea at the Park Lane Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.3

58% would recommend it to a friend

afternoon tea (9)
special occasion (4)
good vegetarian options (2)
See All
business meals (2)
good for groups (1)
outstanding value (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous - excellent service

vip
 (London)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Must try if you want to have excelled services at a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like McDonald's Taking Over The Ritz

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Incredible hotel with beautiful velvet interiors however we were sat in the middle of what felt like someones living room with burger & fries and curry on the menu. Very, VERY strange. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyable Experience after the Theatre

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Overall this was well worth it for a Birthday treat whilst out and about in London for the day.

Plus Points:

The food was lovely, well presented with lots of different flavours, textures and extra portions if needed. Also a wide selection of teas, and the waiting staff were very happy to refill as needed with tea or coffee. The service was spot on. Plus when the waiting staff realised this was my wife's birthday treat they brought over a special decorated plate with some cakes on. We booked for a reservation quite late in the day, (later than for the regular afternoon tea) - but the staff were fine about this and it was no problem.

Minus Points:

Not much really. The Tudor Rose room was not up to the Palm Court - but the latter is being renovated so was not available when we went. The Hotel itself seems a bit dark and in need of a facelift.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas dinner

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The dinner was overall really great, the dishes were good and there was for a little while a bit of live music. The staff was very kind, nevertheless they seemed overwhelmed and where very busy, we waited for 40 minutes for our second course to arrive but it was good! It was a very nice experience and I will definitely recommend it. The only thing is that this restaurant does not look at all like the pictures, it looked more as bar adapted into restaurant it didn't look bad it just wasn't what I expected.

Tags: afternoon tea, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Almost hilariously bad. Afternoon tea mi ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Almost hilariously bad. Afternoon tea might be nice but this is not a restaurant. Our group of 5 was seated in sofas for dinner which was much like eating dinner off your lap. There are 6 choice for main course. The curry tasted like a microwave meal and appeared in about 10 minutes so clearly reheated rather than cooked to order. Service was ok. 50% deal turned out to only apply to food not drinks with the meal despite the offer saying nothing to this effect.

I shouldn't be surprised really, what kind of place needs to do a 50% off offer the week before Xmas? Somewhere to avoid. That's where.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice environment and great service. The ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Nice environment and great service. The food is just so so and there is very little choice on menu. We went with the 50% off offer so it turns out very cheap so can't really complaint for that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant smelt of febreeze.

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

I couldn't stay here as the strong smell of some air fresheners affected my sense of taste. We had to leave before ordeing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

ABISMAL!!

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

We were ushered into a very big tea room -not the Palm Court- and instructed to sit at one of the coffee tables for dinner (???) Service was slow and sloppy, food was truly awful and overpriced. An experience to forget.

Tags: outdoor eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We enjoyed the curries in particular!

vip
 (London)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

We enjoyed the curries in particular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Would not recommend

 
 (London)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

It's not a restaurant, just a large lounge. We went for dinner but we decided to leave as it wasn't what we thought it would be. Looks like it's in the middle of closing down. Very strange place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Merits a detour to London!

 
 (London)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

We discovered this restaurant by accident on our second day of stay in London ... and went every day onwards for the rest of the week. We had business lunch, family dinner, friends's gathering (with young children) gathering, afternoon tea, and even vegan invitees!

The service was great and could manage all our expectations with patience and professionalism. The chef could accommodate 100% vegan requirements in no time.

The ambience is just wonderful, space is gorgeous.

... and the food was always delicious.

Tags: business meals, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Palm Court

vip
 (London)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

well spaced tables very helpful staff and excellent food =we will return

Tags: business meals, group bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

we arrived early but staff very welcomin ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 24, 2015

we arrived early but staff very welcoming and we enjoyed sitting listening to harpistVery pleasing ambience Dinner was served promptlyWe shared Kingprawn with chilli jam which was tasty the main courses were very tasty and well presented. we shared a dessert which was a tad disappointing supposed to be pistachio creme brûlée with raspberries The brûlée which was delicious but no sign of the fruit and no comment on this absence When I pointed it out the waiter was apologetic and consulted with chef Apparently the fruit was not good enough to serve We were not offered any token such as a free coffee just the apology But we enjoyed the meal and it was good value using the 50 percent off offerI had particularly keen to see the interior which was pictured in the book a table page So disappointed to find it was closed for renovation.Will try again when re-opened if the offer persists

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dreadful

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

I've been to most of the good afternoon tea venues in London & this is the worst by far. It's not cheap yet the portions were mean and the head waiter / manager is interpersonally challenged he should never be doing a job like this. He showed no appreciation nor concern for us and when we asked for more sandwiches additional to the 4 finger-sized ones we were served it was like drawing teeth - we grudgingly were served 3 between us! He is the worst waiter I've come across in many years. In fairness the 2 waitresses were really nice and helpful but he did not let them do anything for us. I was appalled. Needless to say we didn't leave a tip and I'll never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Afternoon Tea At The Park Lane Hotel

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

The afternoon tea my friend and I had at the Palm Court was exceptional-the service was friendly and attentive and the food was really special, especially as we had ordered vegetarian. Would highly recommend. (We used Tesco Vouchers to buy Red Letter Day vouchers, so in fact out tea was free, too!) Free or not, I'd still highly recommend it!

Tags: afternoon tea, good vegetarian options, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Anniversary Dinner

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Lovely ambience food was reallt good. Service a bit slow however but our waiter Manpreet was helpful and did his best to try and make sure we had a great evening. Surprised by the dessert which arrived as a gesture from hotel for our anniversary. Nice touch.

Tags: afternoon tea, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great setting, great service great valur

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

Really lovely setting, great atmosphere with the harp playing in the background. Had a lovely selection of tea, which were very nice and the sandwiches and cakes were moorish. Thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon here and would definitely go back again

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place but afternoon tea isn't amazing

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

Myself and my friend had a lovely time at the Palm Court. the service was outstanding and the surroundings were beautiful. The champagne was lovely but the sandwiches were a bit bland. the desserts were lovely to and the passion-fruit cream was delicious.

Tags: afternoon tea, business meals, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful afternoon party

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Delightful. Great atmosphere and superb service. Food arrived very promptly and was explained to us with the detail.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Had baby shower high tea here lovely afternoon with the girls amazing food and service - very special

Tags: afternoon tea, business meals, fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not special

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2015

Had champagne afternoon tea here (on a Groupon offer) with my sister as a belated birthday treat for us both. The lounge where the tea is served seems just to be a walkway to/from reception, etc., for the resident guests which did take the shine off the experience. The Harpist brought some lovely background music to the occasion and the service we received was very good, apart from an extended delay when asking for/waiting for and paying the bill. The champagne and tea were very nice and so was all of the food (finger sandwiches, scones and mini cakes), but nothing had the "wow" factor. Our joint feeling when we left was "that was OK" rather than "that was amazing". Worth a visit if you just want afternoon team somewhere but, in my opinion, it's not suitable for a special occasion.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great food, service. but requests ignored

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2015

The food and location was excellent however they failed to note my special requests despite me making them weeks before and when phoning me on the day to confirm dietary requirements they again confirmed my request (special birthday for my mom) , yet on arrival, did nothing.

They had also called in the AM to grr dietary requirements yet on arrival no note had been made and i had to repeat it again.

We were put in a table next to the large sofas despite my request for a special table and there being many sofas open. To add insult to injury, the lights were dimmed and special birthday tray with candle and music was played for a couples birthday. This despite ny request weeks before for just that and it being confirmed on the phone.

So a great venue and good food but it was ruined by them ignoring requests they knew full well about . Luckily i hadnt told my mom of the request so she wasnt disappointed, but I am and given she lives overseas, just lost her mother and it was her birthday on a special trip, the Palm Court ruined it in my eyes

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Afternoon tea with harp music

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

We enjoyed a lovely champagne afternoon tea here. Everything was of a high standard, especially the service. We sat right next to the lovely lady playing the harp and she even played a couple of Scottish songs for us as we had travelled down from Scotland. It was a very pleasant way to spend a very hot London afternoon.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'll definitely come back if they get the AC fixed

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

There was some miscommunication between the booking system and the kitchen. For some reason the kitchen was not prepared for the special theme afternoon tea set even though I booked it few days in advance. I came back in 2 days for the afternoon tea and it was worth it. Sandwiches and scones were very delicious. Pastries were not bad.

P.S. There was no AC in the lounge area, and it was really stuffy and hot in there while having my afternoon tea. I hope they get it fixed soon.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awful!

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Quite bad experience of afternoon tea at park lane. First of all I found it too dark as there are no windows in the dining area. Afternoon tea portions were measly and my companion and I were told we must pay for refills. Service painfully slow, took forever to get more tea and the bill. Was curtly informed in 2 hours or so of sitting down that other people have booked our table and we must leave. The only nice thing about the place was the harpist. For £35 a head I'd rather spend a little more and go to the Ritz or there are plenty of great afternoon teas for cheaper. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I have visited the Palm Court since the ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

I have visited the Palm Court since the 1970s when the Park Lane was family run. Sheraton made some changes when they took over, but the spirit of the area was largely maintained. I only hope that the impending closure of the Palm Court for a refit, does not change it beyond recognition; it still manages to be an oasis, and still largely conveys the atmosphere of an age gone by.

The playing of the harpist has always struck me as a pleasant variation on the piano which was a fixture in the past, and is soothing and relaxing.

The piped music which was put on when she was on a break, or had finished [after 18.00] was

a t r o c i o u s ! It was out of character, too loud, and too lively and upbeat for calm and peace, which is the natural feeling of the place.

Serving Mixed Berry jam. and Apricot jam with Cream Tea is all fine, but Strawberry needs to be offered as a standard. We were given this when we requested it, but it sort of goes with the territory... surely.

Tags: afternoon tea, business meals, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent venue well worth a visit. Serv ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Excellent venue well worth a visit. Service excellent and food delicious. Waiter was first class.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time around: as good as it gets

 
·Dined on June 19, 2015

Loved it as much as the first time. Quality/price-wise really good, considering you're in London. Superfriendly service and great food. Lovely harp music, great setting. We compared reviews on Tripadvisor between The Ritz and the Palm Court, relied on TA as usual and chose the latter, and we were not disappointed!!

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wouldn't recommend for afternoon tea

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Overall experience was poor. Have enjoyed much better afternoon tea experiences for similar cost ie Claridges. Room was dark, chairs were very deep, it was difficult to sit and chat comfortably. The harpist, although excellent, was loud if you were sat at a table close to her and she played almost continuously for two hours. The sandwiches were ok, presentation was uninspiring. People that were checking into the hotel were walking through the middle of the room with their suitcases. Service was ok, staff were friendly, but very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was very pleased with the hole experience.

 
 (Nottingham)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Felt very special I was very pleased with the tea provided.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxurious afternoon tea

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

The Park Lane Hotel hosts an indulgent afteenoon tea. Fantastic art deco themed interior where you are greeted by its friendly staff . There is also a wide range tea's to choose from. The selection of sandwich satisfactory, there isn't much of a choice for vegetarians which is unfortunate. However the french pastries are petit but extremely rich and they are brought out with a dual selection of scones which is accompanied by with orginal and infused cream & jam. Overall the experience is superb.

Tags: afternoon tea, romantic, special occasion, Sunday lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very poor service

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 4, 2015

Food was very good, but if you have to wait for almost an hour before any of the staff informs if everything is allright, I find it beneath the level I expect, especially for these prices!!!

VERY disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The service would be better.

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Although the food was ok the service was not outstanding, is a place where I am not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dissappointing

vip
 (London)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

I felt the food was nothing more then pub food on a fancy plate.

The room was beautiful but there was no ambiance. Dissappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

everything i expected

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Although initially a bit disappointed by the exterior ( scaffolding etc ) the Palm Court afternoon tea was all I had hoped for. The décor was in keeping with the occasion as were the silver teapots and art deco crockery. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty with a good selection of teas to choose from. Service was very attentive and I was even presented with a birthday "mini" cake complete with a verse of "Happy Birthday" played by the excellent lady on the harp, all in all a lovely treat for a special occasion.

Tags: afternoon tea, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Second time I went to Palm court for an afternoon tea and it was still very nice but not as good as the first time. The scones were not as succulent. Also we are going there to relax but the waiter was trying too hard to be nice and we got disturbed more than once for things such as hotel partner card to subscribe for, give a review with his name on TripAdvisor etc... Felt like we were on a promoting show. We are here to relax and enjoy ourselves so that part disappointed me a bit.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Average place/limited service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Tea area is just the normal coffee lounge for hotel guests, staff speak poor English and hover over you (reminding you about tips) as you pay. Harpist excellent but venue lacks atmosphere. Find a better place that's focused on Afternoon Tea only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Fantastic afternoon tea

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 6, 2015

Staff are amazing and fully attentive. Food was delicious. Beautiful harpist playing. Thoroughly recommend.

Tags: afternoon tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A calm oases

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

A lovely place to relax and enjoy afternoon tea in the most beautiful surroundings.

Tags: afternoon tea, outstanding value, romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Palm court . Afternoon tea.

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

Service and staff were excellent. We were offered seconds of the sandwiches and the scones. This was an unexpected surprise. Have had better sandwiches elsewhere but the scones were to die for, cakes were just okay. On the downside the room was dismal and very cold, we both needed to keep our coats on. One of those days when it felt warmer when we went back out to the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.